Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 30 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
bluejfk
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

The Red Angel is a woman... Look at the hips.
Set Bookmark
Blue_Mike
Sat, Feb 16, 2019, 1:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

I'm still not sure where people are getting the impression that the Section 31 of the late 24th century didn't have access to ships. There is literally nothing in the dialogue to suggest this, and besides which, where do people think the holodeck they had Bashir in for most of "Inquisition" was situated if not on a ship?
Set Bookmark
bluejeans
Fri, May 4, 2018, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

The uniforms in the nightmare sequence are First Contact style, how could anyone have had Knowledge of this style (apart from seven)?
Set Bookmark
LongDarkBlues
Mon, May 29, 2017, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

The best Trek movie by a mile

It's certainly long overdue for a cultural reappraisal - having recently rewatched the whole Trek film series, the others - even the beloved Wrath of Khan - all fail to even approach the heights of this ambitious, thought-provoking, and deeply psychedelic
Set Bookmark
Sandy Blue
Sat, Feb 18, 2017, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I loved this episode. Anybody who has a dog and has gone through an agonizung sickness with it understands Archers feelings. So those of you who boo this episode....well boo you. Im a dog lover and thats my sole argument. So. Pfffffft!!!! Loved it.
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Fri, Dec 30, 2016, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Just a quick comment to say that Greg's earlier comments are the biggest load of misogynist rubbish I've had the misfortune of reading in quite some time. Spectacularly ignorant of almost every level.

'How to deal with women'....haha.

Incredible stuff.
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Fri, Dec 23, 2016, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

Excellent episode, poor review (again).
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Thu, Dec 22, 2016, 2:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Another excellent bottle episode. A well executed concept, superbly acted by Billinglsey and Blalock.

As usual, the main review and the majority of comments are (in my view) deeply misguided and betraying pre-existing biases and prejudices.

This is infinitely superior to lots of TOS, TNG and Voyager episodes.
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Tue, Dec 20, 2016, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

Agree entirely with Petrus.

These reviews are becoming so biased, and I'd even say agenda driven, that they are becoming largely unreadable. The show hasn't been given a fair chance by Jammer from the off in my view, and by now he sounds like somebody operating entirely on confirmation bias.

Excellent parts of the show (of which there are many) are mentioned briefly or ignored altogether, and minor issues or flaws are blown out of all proportion.

Without wishing to be too harsh or personal, I've lost all interest in reading the reviews because I can see the biases a mile away. I predominantly come here to glance at the comments for each episode now.
Set Bookmark
Bluedylan
Tue, Dec 20, 2016, 3:09am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Rajiin

These reviews are far too negative and biased. Enterprise is a much better show than you're giving it credit for, and Season 3 is one of Star Trek's very best of any incarnation.

Many of the things you criticise Enterprise for are on display in the precious TOS and TNG in much greater quantities.

It's pure snobbery.
Set Bookmark
Barstool Blues
Fri, Sep 30, 2011, 5:54am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Epiphanies

The way Roslin gets cured of her cancer was one of the weakest plot points in the entire series. This and the way people seem to just heal miraculously from bullet wounds were the two weak plot points that annoyed me in season 2 the most. First Adama basically gets shot twice in the stomach/chest, is in a coma for a week then manages to go hit up his home boy Tigh...right. Apparently in the future people heal 50 times at the rate of real life. Tigh was in charge an entire week...*shakes head*. The curing Roslin of cancer was even worse. The fact that she had cancer was built up for nearly two entire seasons and it ends with Gaius doing a House like 'pull it out my ass aha moment 45 mins into the episode' and completely curing her...right.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Sat, Apr 4, 2009, 1:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Just wanted to say: Great reviews, Jammer. I read them as I watched the series, and you really enriched the experience by offering a few perspectives I hadn't considered. Kudos.

Rich: Perhaps the changeling from "Chimera" was their species' equivalent of a genius or super-athlete? If humanity consisted solely of Albert Einsteins, I bet we could conquer the universe pretty quickly, too.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Sat, Mar 28, 2009, 1:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

The Dominion War has been going on for what seems like ages now, and I must give props to Ron Moore & co. for letting the war actually unfold and for taking some risks in allowing episodes that fit within the greater arc but are pretty non-sensical on their own.

I do think that the Changelings have been surprisingly quiet for a really long time now- too quiet. Perhaps their being cut off from the Gamma Quadrant has made the Changelings stuck in the Alpha a lot more cautious and unwilling to risk themselves in espionage and sabotage?
Set Bookmark
Blue
Wed, Mar 25, 2009, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

EP, if Trek is supposed to be so naive as to not allow something like Section 31, then I'm glad DS9 is nothing like Trek. I guess I don't really like Star Trek; it's too sterile and boring. DS9 is at its best during its darkest, anti-Trek moments.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Tue, Mar 24, 2009, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

Trek is not serious sci-fi and never has been. It should recognize that and stop shoving technobabble down our throats to compensate for its complete lack of plausibility. This episode does just that, focusing on entertainment through an absurd premise, and just like the Magnificent Ferengi, it succeeds. You need real emotional drama and depth of characters to sustain a series, but episodes like this are a really good way to break up the tension.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 11:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

As Jammer wrote, this was a ridiculous episode, but finally the writers had the guts to go so over the top that the show becomes genuinely funny. It was good stuff, and well deserving of 3 stars, in my opinion. And much, much better than most other Ferengi episodes and other comic crap like the TOS fan-wank Trials of Tribble-ations.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

STD, Bashir's reasoning isn't really flawed, despite that whole bit about long-term results being more predictable than short-term ones. The key point here is that individual events can often galaxy-shattering consequences; Sisko's intervention with the Prophets that swallowed up an entire Dominion fleet is 100% unpredictable and changed the entire course of the war. So much is not included in even the best projections as to render them fairly hopeless in predicting large-scale events.
Set Bookmark
blue
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I really liked the finale. After investing four years and wondering where all the plot twists and turns would end up, I think the writers did a good job tying (most) of the loose ends together. Sure, it wasn't perfect, and yes, there were a few things I wanted clarified. But I liked the way it ended. I like little touches, too... like incorporating the original BSG theme music as the fleet sets course for the sun.

As for those who are so angry that they need to make an anguished laundry list about what was wrong: I swear, I read them with Dean Stockwell's voice in my head. It's like you're all channeling Cavil's petulant need for perfection, approval and answers to everything. Get a life! It's a TV show!

I'm just glad that RDM and company gave me four years of entertaining television, and I hope it raises the bar for future shows. I neither have time or energy to nitpick (sorry, I have a life.) I would just like to thank the BSG crew and Jammer for his great reviews and insights. It's been a fun, fun, fun ride.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

One thing that I really liked about this otherwise mediocre episode is the Quark-Kira dynamic. Before the Dominion War, Kira still had fairly undisguised contempt for the Ferengi, but here, even when Quark attacks someone Kira's very attached to, she listens attentively and even trusts Quark's judgment enough to confront Bareil. She also doesn't have that usually snippy attitude toward the barkeep. I like how they show this subtle consequence of Quark's heroism during the War, though I would have liked some greater acknowledgment of it from the other characters. Here's hoping that the writers don't forget and have Kira contemptuously dismissing Quark again in the future...
Set Bookmark
Blue
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 5:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

It sorta does, Anthony. She wants to make Odo feel a similarity between them, so she takes on his style of humanoid. She wants to present a consistent "face" so she maintains this form for the solids, too.

I thought this was a very nice episode, and deserving at least 3.5 stars. Hit a lot of great notes, such as Sisko's usefulness as strategist --> REMF (rear echelon mother-frakker), Quark, Kira and Rom's dissension plan, Kira & Odo. It just felt right. That said, I thought Dax repeating Sisko's speech was really heavy-handed, glaringly so. On the whole, though, another great war ep.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Sat, Mar 21, 2009, 4:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

Great episode, they were firing on all cylinders here. I'm SO glad they're not trying to wrap up the war arc quickly; the occupied DS9 brings a wealth of mine-able material, and they should tap that vein dry.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Thu, Mar 19, 2009, 10:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

Honor! Ka'plaugh! We must fight! Die with honor!

Klingons are 12 year old children playing at war. I wish they and the Ferengi would all just die. And this was one of the less boring Klingon episodes...

Sigh, yes I've started watching DS9 since September last year; at first I really liked it, but I hate hate hate these stupid stereotypical races and their stupid stereotypical storylines.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Thu, Mar 19, 2009, 5:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Ferengi Love Songs

I have to disagree with you Andreas, this episode was awful. If anything, Jammer was being TOO generous with 1.5 stars. I watch DS9 on my computer, and I ended up switching to my web browser half-way through and just listened to the audio for much of the second half, it was THAT boring. The characterization is just so dull and stereotyped, and when you couple that with Super Lame Ferengi Plot, it truly is agonizing. I would forgive it if it was funny, but I smile more during O'Brien torture episodes or even the ones about Cardassian concentration camps. Bleh.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Wed, Mar 18, 2009, 8:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

Deep Space 9 is the best of the bunch, but Trek is so damned annoying with regards to romances, and consequences, and reset buttons in general. What's the point of all these one episode love affairs? They're so meaningless and inconsequential, especially when 99% of the time there are no lasting effects on the characters whatsoever. If they seriously want to play it for drama (instead of laughs, where one-ep flings are fine- Dax was fine at this), it needs to last. Sisko + Casidy was a good example, though the whole Maquis storyline was rushed and emotionally odd. Rom + Leeta was also a decent slow-burner, though I don't particularly enjoy Rom's character at all. Would it kill the Star Trek guys to hire guest actors for multiple episodes? That way, the audience wouldn't necessarily know which are the flings and which are the "real" relationships, adding much-needed realism to the whole sorry affair.
Set Bookmark
Blue
Wed, Mar 18, 2009, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

Eddington was the far more sympathetic character in this one. Sisko was barely pretending that this was anything but revenge, and he resorts to using chemical weapons on ex-Federation colonists that they'd just condemned Eddington for using! Wouldn't he be under a war crimes tribunal?
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.