Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 22 (Showing 1-22)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Tue, Nov 9, 2010, 1:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

Worst Borg episode ever, for 2 reasons:

- Voluntarily assimilation = insane
- Motivation of the Borg Queen = insane

"Ahm a gonna bloooow up my own ships! You better stop meeee!!!" As a starfleet captain, I would be ecstatic. Since it is unlikely that most borg drones could ever be saved, and that billions of individuals WOULD be saved from future assimilation, it's a no brainer. Sure! Let's blow up more of those cubes, can I help?

As for their lack of trauma vs. Jean-Luc in 'Family', remember that Jean-Luc was forced to lead an attack and betray and kill thousands of starfleet officers. Not the case here.
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Wed, Oct 13, 2010, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

I complained about the massive complaining because most of the other complaints are unfair. I could take the best episode of Star Trek and drone on endlessly about minor details. The cake? Janeway's hair? Seriously?

This is at least a 3-star episode. I'd now maybe push it up to 3 1/2. The story was engaging and plausible, the characters were in-character and believable. The topic was unusual and thought-provoking. Where else could we have this kind of morality tale? This is Star Trek at its best, when instead of focusing on "the battle of the week" and the shields being at 29 percent, it tells a real, human story that wouldn't be possible in our real, human world.
Set Bookmark
Bill T.
Sun, Oct 3, 2010, 5:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Scorpion, Part I

- Prime Directive should have been mentioned, agreed.
- Couldn't Voyager have used a transwarp conduit? Seems it wouldn't have taken that long using those.

and the biggest issue:

- If the Voyager crew was so sure they'd have to cross vast stretches of Borg space to get home, would they REALLY have tried to get home at all? Think about it. The odds of getting home would be slim even in safe space, and it would take decades (in fact it DID take decades in the original, unaltered timeline.) On top of that, you're passing through enemy space with thousands of enemy ships, any one of which could potentially destroy you. Suicidal much?
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Tue, Sep 28, 2010, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Basics, Part I

The voyager crew almost left Chakotay at the hands of the Kazon. They almost left Chakotay and Janeway as victims of a bug-borne illness. Now we are to believe they would risk all their lives for a rape child? A child who might very well have been killed? And into a situation that is probably a trap? Whew, they deserved to lose their starship.
Set Bookmark
Bill T.
Tue, Dec 22, 2009, 3:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

Man, what a rip-off of Voyager's "One". Enterprise ripped off a lot of previous ST scripts, unfortunately.
Set Bookmark
Bill T.
Mon, Dec 21, 2009, 12:30am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

I'd give this 3-3.5 stars. My only major gripes are with the total implausibility/impossibility of the memory transfer -- but you have to admit they HAVE done that before in ST cloning. And Archer didn't spend enough time agonizing over the moral issues -- even though I believe he would have killed Sim. Throw out the "Sim can LIVE!" plot thread at the end, add in more moral quandary for the crew and exploration of self for Sim, and provide a better explanation for the memory transfer, and it would be almost perfect. Well, for Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Bill T.
Mon, Dec 7, 2009, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Augh. Emory seems like a terrible actor. Really bad reads on much of his dialogue. Was the transporter at the end based on voice command? He sure didn't bother to like, push any buttons, or even look at the control panel...
Set Bookmark
Bill T.
Tue, Dec 1, 2009, 2:11am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

3 stars is 2 1/2 stars too many.
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Mon, Sep 7, 2009, 5:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

This is a fantastic episode, has far less plot holes and is far more interesting and well-written than most time-travel episodes.

- 48 -> 8000 people is no problem, so shut up
- Young Odo couldn't warn anyone, he couldn't do much more than languish in a bucket. As for Old Odo teaching him how -- I'm sure it's a skill which needs to be learned and practiced. I can hand someone a calculus book and even walk them through it, that doesn't mean they'd have any clue how to do it without enough practice
- The Dominion didn't know about the wormhole until 5 years before this, so for 195 years of its existence this was just some lonely colony out in the middle of nowhere. For the remaining 5 years, they could have either not discovered it, not cared about some small primitive colony living behind a dangerous energy barrier, or not had the ability to get past the barrier. And what would the Dominion gain by penetrating the barrier -- stealing some bushels of wheat?
- If the Female Changeling can go from waging pre-emptive war on the Alpha Quadrant, and committing genocide against Cardassian cities to surrendering and sending Odo home, then Odo can certainly change a timeline to save his true love. And think about the changelings that infiltrated Starfleet. They had to work along side humans and the Federation for months, years... think of the Bashir changeling, all the solids he was interacting with on a daily basis, getting to know them as people, their hopes and fears, and that what they really wanted was peace. And he was still very willing to fly his ship into a star to blow up their entire star system.

Changelings are !@%$%@! HARDCORE CRAZY. (9/11 parallels I will leave to your own imagination.)
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Thu, Jan 15, 2009, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

To me, the absolute worst thing about this episode is its placement in the season. Janeway and Chakotay get stranded, living in a primitive environment, and eventually and finally rescued, with a poignant moment on the bridge that they were returning to a life in space. And next week THE ENTIRE CREW (basically) gets stranded, living in a primitive environment etc etc. Man oh man.
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Thu, Jan 8, 2009, 11:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

It just occured to me how selfish the motivations in this episode actually are. B'ElAnna successfully resisted the phage. Had she remained as a lab rat, she would have probably helped them cure it, and been honored as their greatest hero. How many lives would that have saved, not only Vidiian (which you may term criminals) but also all of the Vidiians' victims from other races? Millions? Durst was killed anyway, B'Elanna would have survived, Tom may or may not have been spared. So basically it was all cause Tom & B'Elanna just HAD to escape that the phage couldn't be cured, at least until sometime before Think Tank.

Hmm, I wonder what price the Vidiians paid the Think Tank to cure the phage?
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Sat, Dec 13, 2008, 9:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Don't get goofy now, 'Threshold' is definitely worse!
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Mon, Dec 8, 2008, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

Agreeing with most of the above, for once I won't criticize people's criticisms. I'll just add something no one seemed to notice.

Kashyk lists the telepathic members of the Voyager crew. The only vulcans listed are Tuvok and Vorik. It's been implied several times throughout the series that there are more vulcans on the ship, such as when Tuvok can't be helped in his medical condition (Endgame) by mind-melding with any other vulcans on the ship because "none of THEM are compatible." THEM. Vulcan perfection wouldn't use that word to describe only Vorik. I'm sure it was also implied in the Vorik pon-farr episode, and possibly elsewhere.

I've been meaning to watch the whole series again, painstaking analyze every scene of every episode, and make a running tally of crewmembers with names and faces, when they were mentioned or shown, how many people have died and possibly who died (if known), and see just how much of an utter mess the final count would be. :D I'm betting if I included screen captures of all the random people shown on Voyager, it would probably be over a thousand people. :)
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Mon, Dec 8, 2008, 8:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Man you people complain about EVERYTHING.

The only problem I had with the "equal choice" thing was the fact that Ensign Kim was a bridge officer. Doesn't that count for anything? It's all spitting hairs though. Regardless of how airtight the setup was, it was a valid and interesting story, and well-executed.

I agree with the 3-star rating, though it doesn't seem to match the endless criticism below it...
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Sun, Nov 30, 2008, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

This is a great episode. Imperfect but still really great. I think Jammer's anger at the previews clouded his assessment. He'd probably increase his score in retrospect or more viewings. 3 stars (at least.)
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Wed, Nov 26, 2008, 7:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Ties That Bind

Personally, I don't think Tory is like the other "three." Tyrol, Tigh and Anders have all gone through lots of on-screen turmoil. I haven't seen much from Tory, and what I have seen seemed like an act, to convince the other she was "as messed up as they were." Airlocking Cally just confirms it for me. I think Tory has known all along what she was, and is just playing the other 3...
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Fri, Sep 26, 2008, 1:00am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Hero

Just watched this one again on DVD. 4-star episode. Nothing more need be said. I suggest you watch it again as well (and compare it with some of the utter crap in later season 3 & season 4.0...)
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Fri, Aug 29, 2008, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 2

I'm with Alan. The whole show is turning into garbage, or at least a shell of its former self. I'd like to know what writers left between seasons 2 and 3 (probably before the giant stinkbomb webisodes) because they must have been the ones truly making this show great. I've just watched seasons 1, 2 & 3 all for the first time, in only a period of weeks, so they are all fresh in my mind, and the distinctions are glaringly obvious. Seasons 1 and 2 were almost homogenously amazing. Since season 2 it's been aimless, and now finally, ridiculous. Season 3 was like someone taking the beautiful tapestry of BSG and throwing paint all over it like Kara and her mural. Now there's some sad poetry.

Anyway, since this meltdown of a great show is what we are forced to analyze...

- Roslin isn't the final cylon. Cylon hybrid blood cured her cancer.
- The Adamas are father and son. If one is a cylon, it would stand that the other is as well (unless switched at birth), and there's only one final cylon. And if one of them is somehow a cylon, it destroys the father/son dynamic.
- There's no way that Priest Cylon could have known that Tyrol was a cylon. None of the seven knew who the final five were. So he didn't even have to be lying, it is ironic though.
- Don't forget that Starbuck is the "Herald of the Apocalypse." How'd she survive a massive explosion? And get to Earth and back in a lone viper without any support? She's my #1 choice for final cylon, although it's still a stab in the dark.

Oh, and thanks Season 3 Writers, for making me come to hate almost everyone on this entire "frakking" show now, other than possibly Lee. Like Alan said, who gives a you-know-what? Except I'd apply that sentiment to the survival of these characters we see on the screen every episode. How can I invest emotionally in the survival of people who trample all over their own humanity, throw each other out of airlocks, ignore the law, justice and anything else it means to be an evolved human being? Oh, and Admiral Adama calling his son a liar with no integrity, now I hate him too.

You know... I think I'll start rooting for the cylons.
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Tue, Apr 1, 2008, 8:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

If the Delta Flyer can make it home in a slipstream, why not build 9 or 10 more Flyers, cram the crew on to those and leave Voyager behind? :)
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Tue, Jan 15, 2008, 8:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Demon

... You can have opinions about episodes, but if you have such a negative view of the show overall, don't you think that will color your reviews?
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Tue, Jan 15, 2008, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Real Life

I can't watch this episode, it's too "weepy" at the end. Enough trauma in my real life, thanks - I don't need to watch an hour of 'Lifetime'.

But as for the B'Elanna thing - I always thought she just gave the program a general direction and "life of its own" of sorts, incorporating random consequences, not that she directly programmed the kid to die. That would be too heartless, even given her constant irritation around The Doctor. Then again, who knows what she/they really intended (I doubt they even thought much about it, Voyager isn't exactly "deep"...)
Set Bookmark
Bill T
Sun, Jan 6, 2008, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

Agreed with Immanuel - this should be much higher than 1.5 stars, more like 2.5-3. Your comments about this being a "DNA episode" are fairly unfounded. It was certainly used, but is mainly just a plot-enabling device, and far from being the heart of the episode.

If I had any criticism, it would be the strong similarity to the TNG episode "Where Silence Has Lease" (which you gave 3 stars by the way) - another where aliens treat the crew like lab rats. Particularly the part where the powerless captain sees the death of the nameless bridge officer, flips out and takes an extreme course of action to stop it.

Anyway, 9 years later and the essential story still works, probably as well as "Silence", but with a new twist. Seeing (through Seven's eyes) interphasic aliens roaming the ship, watching the crew haplessly go about their routines as bizarre experiments are run on them, and Seven's required dispassionate reaction to it all - very smart, and creepy. And of course, "Captain Insaneway" comes out in full force here (with an actual REASON for her insanity this time!) and it works brilliantly.

A lot of the banter/dialogue is actually well written (unusual for Voyager) - the pairings of Tuvok/Janeway, Seven/Doctor, Chakotay/Neelix and Paris/Torres, all mostly successful and at times brilliant. The juxtaposition of horror and comedy is also unusual and well done. I can't help but chuckle at the dialogue for the Chakotay/Neelix sickbay scene, even though I usually don't like their characters, and Tuvok's comments were some of the best. "(Reckless was) a poor choice of words. Clearly it was an understatement!"

And the ending, the climactic "screw YOU!" to the villains of the hour is a vicarious experience for most, I would imagine. Who hasn't felt powerless like that at one time or another? "I don't think you realize - you are NOT in CONTROL HERE ANY LONGER!"

Very fun, lots of replay value. One of the better episodes.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.