Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 28 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Fri, Oct 30, 2020, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Has anybody here actually watched all 10 episodes and still doesn't like it?
Set Bookmark
Ben S
Mon, Mar 16, 2020, 9:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Wink of an Eye

While I can overlook almost all the flaws in this episode, the one that always gets me is that Kirk fires a phaser on the bridge, but it doesn’t appear in real time (even though it should). The story just kind of ignores that he did it.
Set Bookmark
Ben S
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

This episode thrilled me in the same way that the early Borg episodes of TNG thrilled me. As others have said, haven't felt that kind of excitement in a while.

After the episode was over, I realized the Kaylon are more like the Cylons of BSG than the Borg. The Borg were only half-machine and it was their humanoid side that proved to be their big weakness. Cylons, on the other hand, taken from the original BSG were full machines with only one goal: The extermination of all humans.

This, I think, could make the Kaylons more dangerous overall. An enemy that has no trace of human emotions or compassion is going to be harder to deal with. I hope they become a regular group of villains for the crew to contend with.
Set Bookmark
ben sisko
Wed, Oct 10, 2018, 11:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

@Togu Oppusunggu

“It's naive to think that race has just disappeared completely by the time of the Star Trek universe, no mater what Rodenberry thinks. I's certainly still with us, and expressions of "get over it" always smacks of insensitivity to the realities of the issue.”

Funny you should say that, because “get over it” is basically the message advocated in this episode. Sisko doesn’t even come clean to Bashir about why he doesn’t like his program. That could’ve been a good discussion, but - the opportunity for actual discussion between different races was lost.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Fri, Jul 27, 2018, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down

I know I’m a little late to the game here but for anybody reading this, BSG is such a good show that even it’s sub par episodes are entertaining. Like many great shows or movie franchises, it’s the characters that make it watchable or not. I love these characters so much that I could watch them play cards and drInk all episode and still be amused.
Set Bookmark
ben sisko
Mon, Feb 12, 2018, 7:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

“So as I understand it, the whole plot of solving the cloaking secret and getting back from the MU was (to reference KT's correct observation) yet another shaggy dog episode that meant nothing”

Lorca used the crew’s desire to beat the Klingon cloak to get back to his universe. Those multi-jumps and scans allowed him to find a viable path to the MU. So, it was a relevant part to his story, as it showed how much he could con the Discovery. By the time Starfleet finally got the cloaking secret, it was too late for it to turn the tide of the war, even if it helped a little. This was addressed last episode.
Set Bookmark
ben sisko
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

Guys, Sarek didn’t have a goatee in the trailer. The only MU character brought over was Georgiou.
Set Bookmark
ben sisko
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 9:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Vaulting Ambition

I'm sure the writers are building up to yet another big reveal. If they wanted Lorca's reveal to be a dramatic turnabout, they would've saved it for the finale or something.

Also, whoever is ranking Janeway above Picard I must ask, are you also from the Mirror Universe? Because that's the only explanation I can think of for that ranking.
Set Bookmark
Ben S
Sat, Nov 18, 2017, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

When it comes to The Orville, I always try to remember that it's not Star Trek. It's a comedy series with a Trek feel. I don't hold it up to the same standard I would reserve for actual Star Trek. It's a silly universe where silly things happen, so I can overlook plot holes sometimes and just go along for the ride. The fact that The Orville sometimes manages to make an actual statement or squeeze in convincing drama around the comedy is just icing on the cake.

This episode was better than the last. I spent most of the episode trying to decide if the whole thing was just in Alara's head, but the show kept tricking me into believing there was something deeper here. Others could see the clown. Others were attacked by spiders.

About the time Alara was alone on the ship, I thought it was surely all in her head. But then, Isaac showed up. And I thought I was wrong again.

In the end, it wasn't quite in her head...but it was close. But the episode did a good job of keeping me guessing. And honestly, there were some really tense moments. The lighting and music were fantastic.

If anything, I felt that they made the reveal a little bit too soon. Usually, in Star Trek, if they make a reveal about something similar, the story shifts to the people outside trying to help the person inside...but instead they just went back inside. That removed some of the tension and I think was the biggest misstep of the episode. Once you knew that, you knew that she wasn't going to really be in any danger.

Overall, I liked the episode. It was better than the last, for sure, but didn't quite reach the height of some of the past episodes. Felt very much like a TNG episode, which is interesting when you consider it's not even Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Ben S.
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

Love this show, overall, but felt this was probably the weakest episode yet. It was a bit predictable but did have its funny moments (the elevator scenes were hilarious).

Unlike some people on here, I'm not offended by the story or how it progressed. This is comedy and I don't think we're meant to take it that seriously. So, I didn't.

Hopefully the episodes will get back to better stories, though. All series, no matter how great, will stumble and have bad episodes from time to time.
Set Bookmark
ben sisko
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Skupper

You don’t need to keep reposting the same thing, even if I didn’t quote it, it doesn’t mean me or others aren’t reading it. I’m not really sure it was intended to be the surprise you make it out to be. Still, you don’t really explain how they can “just show it” without setting off your corporate conspiracy radar. Should they have presented them as a couple in the middle of the episode? When would it not be a “surprise revelation” unless you comfortable seeing two men being intimate?
Set Bookmark
ben sisko
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 3:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

“If it was a normal thing on board, why save it for the final act of episode 5, in sort of a surprise ending type of thing? If they wanted to have a gay character or two, fine, but why present it that way?”

To be fair it was pretty heavily hinted Stamets was gay back in “Context”. The only surprise about that ending was that Stamets was having strange reactions to the spore drive. I’m not saying the couple brushing their teeth was a superbly crafted three minutes of television, but there was certainly nothing offensive about it. If you go read the comments section here, every openly gay commenter said the scene wasn’t a big deal. It’s certainly no more offensive than DS9 revealing Dax and Bashir are together by showing them half naked together in bed during the cold open of that episode.
Set Bookmark
ben sisko
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 12:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Skupper

You haven’t described why it’s clunky, though. You bring up Sulu in the movies, but he’s a different case since (a it’s a retcon and (b his being gay added nothing of substance to the movie other than diversity. Contrast that with Stamets whose gay and consequently worries about his partner getting in trouble if he reports his medical condition. Wouldn’t you say one of these examples weaves better into the story than the other?
Set Bookmark
ben sisko
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

“DIS judged people by their color, sexual orientation, etc. before they even started”

What are you even talking about? When does the show ever make that sort of message? The only judgmental messages along those lines I’ve seen are coming from the fan base, and usually from daftly-named trolls.
Set Bookmark
Ben S
Tue, Oct 24, 2017, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

To the people who think that old Trek fans are being unfair:

This show would be terrible even if it wasn’t Trek. In fact, you can watch it and pretend it isn’t Trek. The Klingons could be any alien race and Starfleet could be any generic military organization.

Without the coat of Star Trek paint glossed over it, you are left with a pretty terrible sci-fi show that people probably wouldn’t have even noticed, let alone paid money to see.

The primary reason for this, I believe, is that the characters are so thoroughly unlikable, it is impossible to be invested in them in any way. If you don’t care what happens so them, there’s no motivation to continue watching them.

I recently finished a run of TNG. Even though I knew those characters wouldn’t die, I spent time worrying how Data or Riker would get out of a situation or how Geordi or Picard would escape their danger or whatever; because I liked those characters.

On DISCO (hehe), even though death is a real possibility, I am not invested in any character enough to care. Their deaths are meaningless. And that, is why the show is awful.
Set Bookmark
Ben S
Fri, Oct 13, 2017, 8:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

For me, this was the best episode of an already good show. Orville beats Discovery in my mind, so I hope they continue to deliver.
Set Bookmark
Ben S
Tue, Oct 10, 2017, 4:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

...and this was the episode where I quit trying. I shut it off three quarters of the way through and turned on an episode of TNG to wipe the bad taste out of my mouth. If this is the future of Trek, I’m out.

So many things I hate about this show. So many. I gave it 3 3/4 episodes to impress me, which is more than some shows get, but it failed on so many levels.

They could have stripped out everything that references Star Trek and had a workable grim sci-fi show that was its own thing. But, no, they had to try to cash in on the Star Trek name with something that is clearly not Star Trek. Doesn’t work for me. If I didn’t already pay for CBS for other reasons, I would cancel my subscription.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Tue, Oct 3, 2017, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@PeterG,

Maybe you should re-watch the show again in its entirety before agreeing with Jammer now in 2017. I found a great appreciation for this show now in retrospect and maybe you will too.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@Chrome, TNG and DS9 were amazing shows, some of the best TV of all time. So, to say Voyager was maybe not quite as good as those shows, still says a lot about how wonderful this show truly was. But, from reading Jammer's reviews as a whole, I never got the impression he appreciated what he was watching most of the time. Again, this really comes through in his last few reviews of the series, where his overall disappointment of the series becomes quite clear to me. I just finished rewatching the entire series again, and I have really come to appreciate how good this show was, and how it's possible we may never get a Star Trek show as good as this again. I definitely get that impression after watching the first couple of episodes of Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 12:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Let me sum it up for all of those haters on Voyager which call themselves Star Trek fans, of which Jammer is really included:

It was a great show that had plenty of Sci-Fi intrigue, mixed with action and heartwarming stories about humanity. A wonderful addition to the Star Tek universe, which is miles better than Discovery at this point. Discovery hardly resembles a Star Trek show. Very disappointing through 2 episodes so far.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Sun, Sep 24, 2017, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

@Chrome, if you have read every review Jammer has done on this show then it's the mistakable conclusion that he is disappointed with this show as a whole. And I just want to voice my opinion that I disagree wth that general sentiment and am very fond of this show as a whole.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Fri, Sep 22, 2017, 9:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Renaissance Man

I disagree with Jammer's assessment of the series as a whole. I found many of Voyager's episodes to be moving and thought provoking. An excellent series overall and a wonderful addition to the Star Trek saga. I'm glad I passed my love of this show along to my children.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Sat, Sep 9, 2017, 1:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

I'm glad some people recognized how great the scene was with Janeway and Neelix near the end. She didn't want to see him go but she caught on very quickly where the conversation was going and you can see it in her eyes and in her facial expression right before and during the dialogue where she devises that Delta Quadrant ambassador role. Well written too and well acted too by both Mulgrew and Phillips. Voyager was a very special show and gets overlooked becaue of TNG and DS9.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 11:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

C'mon guys, obviously Janeway doesn't believe that exploration in general doesn't justify the loss of life. Nobody in Starfleet would believe that, especially not Janeway. She was referring specifically to this probe and that in retrospect, the sending of this probe for the purpose of exploration wasn't justified due to the loss of life experienced here since it's been Starfleet's policy for a long time not to give technology to civilizations that aren't ready for it. That's all she meant by that line.
Set Bookmark
Ben Sisko
Tue, Sep 5, 2017, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Author, Author

I can't believe anyone is not happy about watching the latter part of this episode because it has similarities to Mesaure of a Man. Doesn't it make sense that there should be a legal decision as to whether Holograms as advanced as Doc should be considered a Person? Would that legal determination be any less interesting because we saw an episode many years before on a different Star Trek show that involved the legal rights of Androids? Not to me it doesn't. It's a totally logical progression of events based on everything we've seen on Voyager. Like Jammer, I was wondering about this issue for some time and it was great to see a payoff of some here. I commend Voyager for exploring the issue of sentient holograms to the full extant it did after the issue was first introduced but not really explored many years before on TNG.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.