Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 432 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 18
Set Bookmark
BB
Wed, Apr 14, 2021, 7:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Had to Google this episode to see if anyone else was as annoyed as I by this ridiculous episode.

Janeway, turn off the emitter and finish this nonsense!
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

It's made even more ridiculous by the fact that Sisko isn't remotely bothered that the Vegas characters interact with frickin' BAJORANS and KLINGONS and FERENGI and SHAPESHIFTERS without batting an eye (which isn't historically accurate either), but he chooses to get his panties in a twist over the "nonaccuracy" of how HUMAN characters are treated. What incredible stupidity.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

The more I think about it, the more negative I feel about this episode. I got sick and tired of the whole “holosuite/deck malfunction” trope which was done to death in TNG, and I don’t like it any better here. The whole “Sisko (actually, Brooks) gets on his racial soapbox” thing REALLY pissed me off. Others have made very good comments on it. Once again, the show essentially said “fuck the whole Star Trek premise, fuck the illusion that this is a show about the 24th century when human racism is dead and buried, and has been for centuries, and it makes no sense for a man of the 24th century to talk about ‘our people ‘ in 20th century terms, because we want to earn 20th century merit points”. It’s utterly ridiculous that Kassidy has to give a speech to Sisko about ideals that have been held and practiced for HUNDREDS OF GODDAMN YEARS. Idiotic.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 12:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

Beautiful, touching episode that has so much to say about what it means to love someone and the issue of prejudice against the "other". Far superior to the much ballyhooed Far Beyond the Stars, which did not grow organically out of the show's premises. The final scene was immensely moving. Four stars at least.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Sun, Feb 28, 2021, 10:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

Godawful waste of time. This is the first season where I've been skipping episodes.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 10:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

Bashir did cross an ethical line by getting romantically involved. His loneliness is no excuse. I noted a contradiction in Trek technobabble in this one. O'Brien says that precision at the synaptic level is impossible due to "quantum fluctuations", ie that he can't break the laws of physics, yet transporters are routinely capable of precision down to the atomic level (if not lower), and O'Brien himself said in TNG that transporters have "Heisenberg compensators", something he apparently forgot about.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Meh. The whole thing seemed like an excuse for the DS9 actors to pretend to play baseball. It wasn't funny, and it wasn't (if you'll pardon the expression) logical.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 1:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Ugghhh. For some time, I had been thinking that this was looking like the best Trek series. Some really good episodes, touching at times and hilarious at others. But I have a bad feeling about Season 7. I can't stand all the mystical mumbo jumbo, and what's up with implying that all these characters are a figment of someone's imagination INSIDE THE SHOW??? Ezri seems like a useless, immature juvenile. At this point, I barely even feel like I want to finish the series.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

Just watched this episode. Not really liking Ezri. Adding her to the cast seemed pointless.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Ok, so the episode was preposterous, but it did make me laugh at the sheer silliness of it all.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 18, 2021, 11:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Bleah. I don't like the Prophet-mystical-gobbledygook mumbo jumbo stuff at all. This is like something out of an old Hammer or Roger Corman movie. It has no place in an SF series. And the Winn character annoys the hell out of me. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 17, 2021, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: His Way

I very much enjoyed the episode. Darren's singing was a little weak, but I thought he did a great job with the character. I'm a big softie for romance, and the banter leading up to The Big Kiss was superb! Very reminiscent of classic romantic comedies. I was laughing my head off! Best laugh I've had in a long time!
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Feb 17, 2021, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

Please excuse me if someone mentioned this, but I view Sisko’s actions as being Garak’s enabler. This is the kind of scheme that Garak has always demonstrated he’s capable of implementing, and I’m sure he was pleased when Sisko went along with it. I agree with those who are annoyed by Brooks’ overacting, and Sisko’s previous actions make his handwringing rather inconsistent.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Booming, millions of Bajorans died in slave labor camps under the Cardassians. Not so different from what happens to the Jews, except that there wasn't an all out campaign to eradicate them. But the point I was making is that Sisko is VERY familiar with what happened to the Bajorans. He does NOT need to be Benny to know that full well. And yes, racism is long gone in the Federation, which means that Sisko has no emotional connection to it at ALL, nor does any family member in his memory, his father's memory, or his father's father's father's memory. That's why Benny's breakdown makes no sense.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Sorry, not buying it Jason. Sisko has PLENTY of knowledge about the horrors perpetrated on Bajor. He knows people PERSONALLY who have experienced it. Besides, if that REALLY was the purpose, a MUCH better situation to put Sisko in would have been as a Jew in WW II Europe, which is much closer to what the Bajorans suffered. This episode was purely an exercise in 20th century political commentary, nothing more.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

'm sure that many people like this as an exercise in social commentary, but it has essentially nothing to do with the fundamental premise of DS9 as a TV show. It essentially smashed the fourth wall and dropped any pretense that they were doing a show about the 24th century. It does not grow organically from any of the premises in the show. Benjamin Sisko has no emotional connection to racism at all. The very premise of Star Trek is that racism had long since ceased to exist. Neither he nor his grandfather nor his grandfather's grandfather would have experienced racism. It's a relic of history, so there would be no reason at all for him to dream about this kind of scenario (the episode doesn't even bother to explain why he experienced it). I also found Brooks' over the top scene chewing acting in the breakdown scene to be quite off-putting. I hated the character cliches, namely, depicting a left winger as the only white character strongly opposed to racism. Pabst gets no credit at all for hiring Benny in the first place, or agreeing to publish it as a dream story. He's just another example of the businessman that Hollywood loves to hate. Two stars for seeing the actors out of makeup.
Set Bookmark
Bibble
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 6:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

Neelix suffered, 5 stars
It wasn't real Neelix, 0 stars

Therefore, 2.5 stars

In a parallel universe, they made a version of Sub Rosa where Neelix bangs a scottish space ghost.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 5:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Darmok

I agree with some others here that this episode must have meant a lot when you *first* see it, and don't know the revelation or what to expect.

Because of this, I ended up not rewatching the episode nearly as often as other ones, maybe only 2-3 total viewings over the years. It turned out I really didn't remember much, so even on a rewatch a few days ago, it felt pretty fresh!

I'm in the minority, but I thought the ship combat scenes were quite good for the limitations. You can tell they save on cost when they only show isolated shots of each ship firing or getting hit, but the concussive sounds and punchy effects (and yes, the shaky camera) had some serious weight to it. I can remember a good amount of TNG battles with Birds of Preys and Warbirds where there was absolutely no punchiness.

And yes, Peter's gif is GREAT.
Set Bookmark
Richard Webb
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:47am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

It boggles my mind that Jammer is not reviewing The Expanse.
Set Bookmark
Richard Webb
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 3:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I'm not really sure how to feel about this - I mean, it wasn't a terrible episode. No episode from this season was truly terrible. It's just than none were particularly good either.

Star Trek series are notorious for slow starts, but I don't think DSC is going change. By this point in TNG or VOY they had already hit their stride, while DSC seems to neither have the shocking, borderline unwatchable first season episodes of TNG nor the absolute gems. It's always just meh.

DSC always touches on interesting concepts, ideas (trans identity discovery, resource scarcity, diplomacy with an enemy) but it's always so superficial with its execution and ramps up the sentimentality and action, which makes every episode feel rather empty. Compare this to the Expanse (which delves much deeper into socio-political issues) or the Mandalorian (which was more honest about just being a Space western - and embraced it). At the end of the day I'm not really sure what DSC is about. It seems like a show run by committee.

The ending? Contrived would be the best word. The fact that Burham is captain defies belief (mutiny after mutiny......) and that the best character Saru is now apparently off the ship doesn't fill me confidence.

I don't think it's the car crash many people think it is - for that it would have to challenge its ideas and push something forward in order to fail. You can't truly be that terrible if you're always middle of the road.
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

Am I the only one who saw a significant plot hole, namely, why the Defiant didn't bother to cloak on its way to Earth? The battle with the Lakota was dramatic and all, but still...
Set Bookmark
Robbie
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 12:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Little Green Men

Nitpicks aside, I found this hilarious. I LOL at the "moogie" scene. Nice homage to 50s SF movies!
Set Bookmark
Richard Webb
Sat, Dec 26, 2020, 3:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I thought this was a pretty decent episode and had some nice world-building with the Kelpians and I liked the ‘child raised by holograms’ conceit. The fact that it ended with more of a classic Star Trek ship takeover rather than a silly battle was a positive.

Some people don’t appear to like the explanation for the Burn - but let’s remember this is no more crazy than caretaker in Voyager or the prophets in DS9.

Honestly, this episode reminds me of Star Trek Voyager more than any other - if the Emerald Chain is playing the Kazon role who want the ship ‘because of its technology’ and the mystery on the planet is connected to a force they don’t understand (e.g a caretaker role).

Tilly in charge is still silly and makes very little sense - but I’m happy to say everything else did.

3/4
Set Bookmark
Pebbles Dod
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 7:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Something was bound to go wrong since there was still an episode left. But even if I did not, I completely expected the hundreds of storm troopers in that episode to take hundreds of shots and miss their targets hundreds of times from a few feet (eyeroll) and then jump out in front of their enemies so they can get zapped, and watch that pattern repeated over and over again for 20 minutes in the middle of the episode. Yayyy!
Set Bookmark
Pebbles Dod
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 6:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Squarely in the camp of the few let down by the ending. For me personally, it’s also why I could never get into the Star Wars franchise as much as several of my friends did. Too much laser use, too many fights with white-armored and black-armored army always getting knocked by a hero named Luke, Han Solo, Rei or another, or in this case, the Mandalorian. Yet, I really thought it would be different with this series because it started out so well. The first season had a couple of intriguing characters, and this season was promising early. Somewhere along the season, for me once the fifth episode ended, it slipped away and turned into the same ole battles and fights, with hardly any plot. I second the commenter above who saw no tension. I didn't either late in the season. Where is the tension when each pocket of fighting yields the expected ones as winners no matter how long those scenes drag, and boy they drag.
Next ►Page 1 of 18
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.