Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 328 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 14
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Mon, Aug 12, 2019, 5:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

"Mine's bigger"

Best line of the episode. Good old General Laastok :)
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Thu, Aug 8, 2019, 3:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Clever use of the Ferenghi wail scream. Usually its for something daft like an ear infection, but this time, well Nog just lost his leg. That initial rush of cringe, followed by "hang on, that really means something this time".
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sun, Aug 4, 2019, 2:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

"Sounded positively defensive to me"

:D
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sun, Aug 4, 2019, 1:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

No, not a fan of Ezri so far. Its ensign Tilly with Trill spots. The main problem is that she is a season one character. Recalling what a cartoon Bashir was when we first met him, and what he developed into, I feel like I don't have the patience to watch Ezri go through the same slightly forced emotional gymnastics, and the Quark angle is something I would prefer was dispensed with. I just really miss season 3, where it felt like every episode was a 3-4 star-rer. From about the middle of season 4 DS9 seemed to have a 50-50 hit / miss ratio with some undoubtedly great moments, but the introduction of a new cartoon character after all the heft of the end of season 6 just feels like work. Maybe if I had had the year's break that the viewers of 1998 had before starting a new season, I would feel differently. Perhaps this is a side effect of Netflix binge watching, IDK.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sun, Aug 4, 2019, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Was there a republican president when they were making this, and someone at paramount wanted to get them onside? I half expected the planet they visited to be called Naz'reeth and Sisko's mother to be called Mary. Starfleet seriously equips away missions with three wise men garb? And Sarah was possessed by the holy spirit and gave birth to the messiah, and shortly after he was tempted by Satan oops I mean a Pah Wraith... and lo, The Prophets looked down on Deep Space Nine and saw that it was good.

Glad ezri is back but Star Trek: New Testament is starting to grate.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Time's Orphan

I executed a double skip maneuver on this and the last episode. With trek you start to get an uncanny sense based on the blurb and opening 30 seconds on whether its worth watching an episode, and with this one it was "ehhh The O'Briens and Molly ... skip". The comments seem to confirm this is one to avoid, but why so many weak offerings near the end of a season with so much great dominion plotting? Its giving me mid-season 7 TNG vibes.

Sub Rosa.....
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

I think the main problem with any "cadet" story, much like "The first duty", is it brings in not just a couple but a whole whole raft of fresh characters that we have no reason to care about, and who usually are precocious and unlikable. So the only interesting part of the story is how the people we actually care about will respond to them. As in this case we have two young characters, this just ends up feeling like a teen popularity movie with The Jocks of the Valiant and their Lord of The Flies schtick. The First Duty was bearable because it was played out in relief against the sobering influence of Picard, his disappointment in and the interesting dynamic of his father / son relationship with Wesley. With "Valiant" there is little to redeem it with Jake and Nog in the place of Picard and Wesley.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 2:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

......
hahahahahahahaha
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 1:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

"Most ... illogical"
Ahahahahahaha
hahahaha
oh hahahahaha
ha
ha ha
...
ohhh
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 5:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

He is the Venkman. His pagh is strong
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Thu, Aug 1, 2019, 1:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

If Sisko had been 'High Ranking Starfleet Officer Who Is An Old Friend of the Crew But Turns Out To Be Evil' of the Week over on TNG, the final scene would have been a brutal dressing down and speech from Picard. Then a scene of Sisko being hauled away by that huge dude and tiny lady who were the unnamed security officers, followed by another scene where Picard receives a report of the admirals who sanctioned Sisko's acts being arrested.

Very chilling, immensely gripping, and honestlu worrying where Sisko's mind is going. From Jesus to Saddam Hussein last season, and now he's basically an Obsidian Order chief. How the hell they will reconcile this down the line with his role as Bajor's Holy Messiah I have no clue.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Inquisition

Ve are section ein und drei├čig, und ve change into ze lederhosen und kinky threads of leazer ven we are found out, ja?
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 4:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Honor Among Thieves

Totally bought the dummy they sold us there, calling the character "Bilby". So close to "Philby", the name of the most famous cold war double agent in the world! I was just waiting for the scene where we see a photo of the Risiian weatherman and its... Bilby. Good red herring
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Tue, Jul 30, 2019, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

The bit when the rubicon booped the door release. Cute! and the waving from the tiny ship to massively headed klingon. Cute! Ship borne phasers at 100th size = hand phasers. D'aww :3 DS9 invents the tactical drone a decade before it saw widespread use in actual theaters of war. Cool!

I want a toy runabout now.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Far Beyond the Stars

Good, but the emotional payoff is definitely blunted by Brook's overacting. I was kind of willing him to have more of an effect on me, as I love trekkian catharsis scenes and speeches, but I found myself holding back a sense of unwelcome cringing. I felt like the director could have just held him back a little more.

As for the lasting impact on the story, I hope this is revisited. I wasn't 100% sure what the show was really trying to say. I get the social commentary, and perhaps something similar to what Pabst said could often be heard in the offices of Paramount, but I could not see the linkage with the end or the inclusion of the prophets / this being a vision.

I will admit to also feeling alarmed that the "it was all a dream" idea was carried forward into DS9's reality, suggesting none of it was real, or perhaps some of that TNG / Wesley / Traveller "time and space is thought" hokum. I might rewatch this at some point to see if I pick up on something I missed.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

@Chrome

I'm not sure why you would think that about Cheers. Europe had Cheers and Frasier on repeats (re-runs) for years and were massive hit shows, and its written all over the place that Morn is an anagram of Norm. We all get the joke, that much is old news.

However none of that explains why they wouldn't just give the guy a credit, which of course was because of the Actor's Guild rules and a touch of Paramount Quark-level penny pinching. Unlike Vera he did at least appear in the episode. Sure he didn't speak, but the * entire episode was based around his character *. I just think they could have bent the rules a little this time.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Mon, Jul 29, 2019, 3:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

Never realised latinum was a liquid bound up in gold dust. Finally makes sense of the pressing and the gold and the latinum and the whatsits whatsyer doodle. "Gold... some primitive cultures consider it quite valuable"

But for pete's sake, just give Morn a bloody line. The entire ep centres around his existence, and they couldn't give the guy a credit? Side note: I have never, ever before noticed the credits that crawl across the opening few minutes of each show, I usually phase them out. God there's a lot of producers. Not as many as on discovery (11) but still, a lot.

HIS NAME IS MARK ALLEN SHEPHERD YOU CHEAP B*ST*RDS
Set Bookmark
bobbington mcbob
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 3:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

"Ferenghi Comedy"
Episode skip parameters: Exceeded.
Review and synopsis: Read.
Netflix "next video" button actuated.

....
OK FINE I'll watch it
Set Bookmark
bobbington mcbob
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

Hari, Hari Seldon
Set Bookmark
bobbington mcbob
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Resurrection

But he has a wonky eyeball.

Its the only thing I can see in every scene.

MU eps in DS9 are still better than the dreadful offerings in every other incarnation of trek, but I would agree that its ground already well mined and unworthy of further visits, unless they are going to use it to gain some tactical advantage over the Dominion. After all, I assume there's a wormhole and changelings in the MU? Something tells me we'll never know. Shame we had to pull away from the excellent dominion arc for this.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sat, Jul 27, 2019, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

Talking of hearing, do the Jem Hadar really have such poor auditory capacity that they couldn't hear Rom, Quark and Leeta plotting from 12 feet away at full conversational volume, nor think of stepping closer to the huddled, conspiratorial group? And, they deactivated Odo's listening devices too? Yeah, I know, suspension of disbelief. It just always feels harder to do in a sci-fi.

Great episode, and the ongoing split with Odo is interesting. Kind of hoping Odo is doing some hyper clever undercover thing that he can't even tell Kira about (give the founder the impression he's on their side? I dunno, you would have thought she would sense that in the link). Am also hoping there isn't some super disappointing reset switch. I am guessing he will just come around at the last minute and help the solids, and things will go back to some semblance of normality. But I was veery angery at Odo too. What a spanner.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sat, Jul 27, 2019, 6:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I need to add "episodes that include Alexsander" to my list of auto-skip parameters, along with "an alien force is in control of a crew member", "any of the troi family or anyone from betazed are the main focus", "crew member is sexually violated by alien" (a subset of the former usually) or "ferenghi comedy".
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Rocks and Shoals

Gave me tingles, and had to pause the playback at the hanging. Did I really just see that? In *Star Trek*? Bold.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 10:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

Yeah I am kind of struggling with this one too. If anyone is still reading that agreed with the 4 star rating, what were the moments that really hit you, and what emotion was it you were feeling? For me a 4 star is usually one that hits me with awe, or perhaps sadness, or just completely grips me with its plotting. I didn't really feel any of those things. I didn't feel impatient or annoyed for sure, like with Ferenghi Komedy episodes ... but a 4 star for me is the likes of Measure of A Man, the "blew my socks off" episodes. In which scenes / in what way were your socks figuratively liberated from your tootsies, if I may ask? I don't mean it as a challenge, I just honestly want to know what I am missing!

Coombs is awesome though.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Thu, Jul 25, 2019, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Empok Nor

I cannot for the life of me understand why season 5 is always voted so highly against past trek seasons. So far for me this has been the weakest of all DS9 seasons, finding myself annoyed and rolling my eyes just as often as I feel that old DS9 sense of "wow".

This episode was ok, though in a way I wish there had been a little more of the "real Garak" in there, especially after his willingness to torture Odo at the prospect of being readmitted to the Obsidian Order. Never quite knowing if he's on 'our' side is what makes him so fascinating, and in a way this episode kind of denied us that.
Next ►Page 1 of 14
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.