Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 10 (Showing 1-10)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Other Other Cris

Of course as I said, there are some rare good scenes in Picard or Discovery, but it is the case of all the bad series existing.
That watching a series of science fiction requires disregarding a certain logic, I fully agree ... but for the scientific part, and not for the development of the plot or the characters.
Take for example the stealth plan at the end of the episode where we see Raffi hold Seven's hand, didn't that shock you?
Not because of her obvious lesbian nature, but because it comes from nowhere! Ditto for the romantic relationship between Rios and Jurati or the friendship relationship between Seven and Picard.
Come on, tell me about the warning signs of these relationships, I'm waiting for you ...
The explanation for The Raffi / Seven relationship is simple, it is economical. We were treated to Stamets / Culber in Discovery, quite well constructed.
For Raffi / Seven, the producers said to themselves: well, there is a buzz not possible at the moment on #metoo and feminism. It can be a potential market ...
The openness to the social reality of the moment is in the genes of Star Trek and it is very good like that ... provided that this is argued Scriptwriting.
Just like contemporary references to vaping, soccer, vinyls ... it's pure economic opportunism!
Some seem to be annoyed by critics against a TV show they like (and it's respectable) .But if it was written as well as they think, this annoyance has no place to be.
By the way, I canceled my Netflix subscription taken for Discovery. I keep Amazon Prime for manga and other series including Justified.
And yes I admit, I will be the first to take out a subscription for Star trek ... when the Kurtzman team is gone.
And for those who love good, well-written space opera, The Expanse stretches your arms. Cheers.
Set Bookmark
batfunk
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 7:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Chabon is surely an excellent writer, but like a showrunner, he is not worth a tripod. Picard's rare good times come from his discussions with his former crew. Not Seven or Hugh, His old crew! All the new characters are traveling pictures, the fault does not lie with the actors. The only references in the series are the video game Mass Effect, Terminator and Firefly, which speaks volumes about the general level of culture of the writing team.
It's been a long time since I fired the screenwriters to choose more talented ones.
It is Clear that Kurtzman wants to set up a Star trek universe, like a Marvel universe, to infinitely decline series, films and derivative products.
I have nothing against comics, which have their place in popular culture but the humanist philosophy of Star Trek is far from the universe of comics. However, an excellent film like Logan, with the same Patrick Stewart, could serve as a matrix for Picard's intrigue, testifying to the ravages of time.
Picard, like Discovery, are complete artistic failures, of a poverty of distressing writing at the time of the golden age of TV series and that Patrick Stewart, Shakespearian actor by training, condones this mediocrity, I am sorry.
The JJ abrahms / Kurtzman era will come to an end anyway, but I gladly work on his burial in
stopping all viewing of their Star Trek productions, past or future.
I can't wait for someone more talented to take up the torch!
Until then, Live Long and Prosper!
Set Bookmark
batfunk
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

[B] Picard "Et in Arcadia ego" part 1 [/ B]

Here then comes the conclusion of this first season with this double episode.
[SPOILER] Picard goes with his crew to the home planet of Soji, chased by the Romulans [/ SPOILER]. This return to space is first of all a pleasure with its wide open spaces and a first confrontation with alien tusks, exotic to say the least, [SPOILER] Giant orchids [/ SPOILER] and a small space battle. Space opera, nice :)
But it will spoil very quickly with the arrival on the planet of synths. We first [SPOILER] the crashed Borg cube of Seven, who after helping the Serena, announces that she prefers to take care of repairs and x'bs rather than accompany Picard to visit the synth camp [/ SPOILER ]. And hop, thank you for everything. What ?! : blink:
As for the Synth Colony, nothing, but then nothing has evolved since the planetary explorations of Tng: same rustic buildings, same tribal social structures. It's simple, I thought I saw the Descent episode of Tng again, where Lore led with an iron hand a troop of Borgs cut from the collective and stirred up their hatred of humans.
[SPOILER] Here, we have a group of synths led by yet another sister of Soji, with the look of Lore (synthetic skin, yellow eyes) and ... A new doctor Soong, unpublished son of the first and brother of Data [/ SPOILER ]. This capacity of Kurtzman's St series to get characters out of nowhere comes out to me: |
We thus learn that [SPOILER] the apocalypse visions of the Artifact are in fact an informative message of a very old synth civilization, which the synths can call for help in case of problems. The concern is that this is information obtained by ... A mind meld performed by Soji's sister on Jurati. A synth knowing how to perform a Vulcan mind meld, [/ SPOILER] don't throw it away! : wacko:
Everything is for the best in the best of all worlds, except that Soji's sister learns that [SPOILER] 208 Romulan ships (not one more: trollface :) are on their way to destroy the Colony [/ SPOILER]. destroy a colony of at most 100 individuals, but of course ...: yeah:
Obviously, [SPOILER] Lore ... Sorry, Soji's sister, decides to call the civ civ synth for help. She joins forces with the Romulan of the captured Vhat sash, kills one of her sisters to provoke the ire of synths against organics and imprison Picard and his people. Soji, as a synth, decides to defend his own [/ SPOILER]. End.
Once again, there are a few good things: we [SPOILER] enjoy finding Brent Spinner, the Data Interpreter, but his Soong variants do not have the same Flavor, the best being that of Tng's original Soong and that of Enterprise, father of eugenics. [/ SPOILER]
The structure of the episode is pure Tng but mediocre version, as Descent was.
We are entitled to attempts to reinforce the links between Raffi and Picard, but that turns into ridiculous. [/ SPOILER]
In short, mediocre episode, there is work for part n ° 2 ...: tired:
4/10
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Fri, Mar 27, 2020, 5:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

[B] Picard "Et in Arcadia ego" 2nd part [/ B] [SPOILER]

Come on, double ration this week and surely my last contribution on this series.
Ouch, is that bad? How to say...

Well, at the start of this conclusion, Picard is held prisoner and the synths set up a transmitter to call the civ synth. How will he get out of it?
Before that, return to the Borg cube, where the incestuous brothers and sisters meet, with the sister who decides to take control of the cube's weapons. Well, the sister is still as naughty as a cartoon [/ SPOILER].
[SPOILER] Jurati decides to release Picard, pretending to help Soong in his work, tears out the eye of the dead synth (gore again) which serves as a pass. Snapshot of action movies, again. Back on the Serena, Picard decides to sacrifice himself in front of the Romulans to encourage Soji to stop the emitter. Don Quixote. We are therefore entitled to a very nice battle between the Orchids and the Romulan fleet, led by Ho, still just as bad (Kill the touuuuusss !!!). Picard, by a sleight of hand, delays the deadline while on the Borg cube, Seven gets rid of the incestuous sister. Champagne! : trollface :.
At the same time, the cavalry arrives, led by Captain Riker. Summary: go or we kick your ass. Nice! : wub [/ SPOILER]:
From there, everything goes to town and the evil forces of Kurtzman will prevail: vomits:

[SPOILER] Soji opened an interdimensional portal to the Synth civ and ... Metallic tentacles begin to escape. These same tentacles seen in Discovery and Sent by .. Control !!!! : wacko: I feared it, the junction is indeed fault with Discovery ...
 Soji finally decides to close the signal, portal closed, phew! Convinced (Huh?), The Romulans are leaving, Star fleet too. We're headed for a happy end Except that
Picard collapses on the bridge and dies ...: wtf: Farpaitement. [/ SPOILER]
What follows is a disgusting litany of tears and moans, worthy of a Brazilian telenovela. I specify that almost everyone has known each other for 10 episodes. : | I'm about to smash my Oled 4k with 3000 balls with high kicks when ...
The most beautiful scene in the series comes ...: mellow:
[SPOILER] Picard, dead, wakes up in an elongated room and in front of him, a smiling Data in his last death suits.
Then follows a wonderful conversation full of warmth and affection between the two friends on the mortality of human life. Data finally asks Picard to go away and unplug it permanently. What? You will tell me, how can an organic dead man argue with a saved cybernetic consciousness and how could he return to life?
Do you remember the golem of Dr Soong from the first part? Do you have it now? : trollface:

And there, under my horrified eyes, Picard wakes up, under the benevolent gaze of Jurati and Soong. A 94-year-old Synthetic Picard, smiling, joking and asking if they made him eternal. Hahaha: vomits: and Jurati announces that she would never have allowed it without her authorization and that it is equipped with a cell degeneration system. Phew! :throws up:
How can we boast the preciousness of a finite life in a magnificent scene and the second after, to impose on an unconscious man, without his consent, a resurrection, in violation of any individual right? A rape, no more, no less!
The worst part is that the writers are aware of it because the Picard Synth is deadly. They knew it was contrary to the humanistic philosophy of Star Trek and hypocritically attenuated their bullshit by making it deadly.
Awful.
Happy end of course, with this new Picard, in his ship, with his new crew, to bodly go where no man was before ... [/ SPOILER]
It will be without me.
CONGRATULATIONS, Alex, Star Trek is officially dead.

2/10
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Wed, Mar 4, 2020, 5:46am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

I was first delighted when I learned that Patrick Stewart will be part of production team as executive producer. I thought, after Discovery disaster, that he will be the guardian of Star trek spirit, point to bad scripts, plots holes, inconsistanties...
But I was wrong. As good actor as he is, he takes advantage of his producer role to inject his own interests as liberal English citizen:brexit, immigration, democracies difficulties... I don't think he cares about Star Trek values, he doesn't want to play Tng stuff-like again because it bores him. Picard is his last chance to be in the forefront and to have extra cash, I don't blame him for that, it's human.
But if he really cares about Star Trek heritage, he must have watched Picard episodes. He didn't. Obviously.
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Tue, Mar 3, 2020, 7:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: The Impossible Box

I love jammer's reviews and I agree with most of them.
But I'm very surprised with this 3 stars and a half note.
Come on, is this episode as good as Tng Third season "The offspring", which had only 3 stars? No way!
Of course, it's better than the previous episode, so is an Andromeda one lol.
Same thing about Discovery, ratings are too high for its real qualities.. Except a few episodes(the pilot, into the forest I go, the sound of thunder and if memory serves
), it's médiocre at best and most of the time, a complete piece of trash. Best episodes look like classic trek(exploration, stand alone form...) and it's not by accident. But anyway, none of them will stand out in the star trek hall of fame.
My point is that Discovery was so bad that we lowered our expectations for Picard. Sure, it's less action driven than Discovery, but it's as bad in the story. Full of plot holes, meaningless fan service, hammered contemporary references(brexit, immigration, vaping).
Yeah, vaping, binge drinking and smoking are so cool and badass...
Same writing team, Same characters(Tilly/Jurati), Same bad characters interactions, same taste for unbelievable conspiracies...
since the end of nineties, we had hundred of great TV shows better than these new st shows. I'm following at the same time The Expanse and it's a great space opera, not as good as Tng or Bsg2003, but a very well written show and a real science fiction one.
And don't give me the excuse that Star trek shows need Three seasons to be good. It's bullshit now,no serious broadcaster wait so long to dump a bad show.
I stopped watching Discovery after two seasons and Picard will take the same path after one season.
Are we so addicted to ST to accept so bad tv shows?
Wake up!
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Fri, Jan 31, 2020, 11:12am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

A mediocre episode, even as a transition one.
The Good:
-Further exploration of Picard personality. I like the way writers show he' a dinosaur. Star fleet reception scene is priceless, and shows a new Picard's trait:self-esteem. Self esteem was at the bottom when a pissed off Amiral, outraged by Picard's declarations to the press, refuses his requests. Nice.
The news of his disease is a nice TNG touch and we know now that's Picard last mission. I hope writers will give him an adequate end, not like Kirk awful one...
-Great performances of Picard companions:Even If we don't know how those two ex-Tal Shiar became so close of him, we feel their respect and humorous protectiveness. Really moving and appropriate, this is Star Trek!
The introduction of Picard new companion is also fresh, funny and full of fellowship. Since Picard refused to involve his old teammates, I hope the same level of
Camaraderie with his new ones.
-A credible political environment :Federation stopped helping Romulan refugees because of threats of scission from some members. As Europhile, it talks a lot to me...
-nice fan service(Asimov, Enterprise holos...)
-Quiet pace(and no ninjas)

The Bad:
-once again, an intergalactic conspiracy.. I'm fed up with this!!! I know that Romulans aren't angels but a synthetiphobic super Tal Shiar? Really?
Same for the Féderation.. Infiltrated by Romulans(again?) and traitors(Amiral Ho is really Vulcan?why killing Dhaj?)
At least in Tng, the story of an infiltrated Star fleet command was fun because campy and over the top. And it lasts only one episode.
I'm OK with a sleeping and stagnant Féderation but a racist, paranoid and isolationist one, no!
Come on, we're in 2020!this is a proof of lazyness from the writers. There's a ton of good shows now which don't need complot to be interesting. Learn, guys, learn!!!
-the Borg Cube story is still messy for me. Is it only a Romulan research center? If so, what are they looking for?

Well, I don't like the duality of this show. The Picard part is great, the conspiracy one is lame.

4/10
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Well, I have mixed feelings about this first episode.
The first 30 MN are nearly perfect. The first scene is a perfect transition with last Tng episode.
The ordinary living of an retired Picard is well retranscribed:he's very old, bored and out of place. His dog named Number one, among other things, is an evidence of his nostalgia and melancholy.
The media interview is a smart way to introduce current political contest and Picard's dogma:10 years ago, Romulus was no more. Picard organized refugees evacuation and a act of terrorism committed by rogue androids cause Federation withdraw of rescue operation and deactivation of all androids.
In protest, Picard resigned.
Even I would have preferred that this show had no link with Kelvin time-line, the context is credible and typical of good Science fiction:this identity withdrawal of Federation echoes our real world and Picard will probably fight this, opposite to real values of Federation.
A moment, I hoped that the show will dig deeper (one more episode) in Picard's melancholic mind and bored life.
Direction was smooth and quiet, dialogues were great and funny until, Bam! ... The ninja scene. Boy, what a shame.
Wasn't there an other way to introduce Dahj character? Jason Bourne style? Come on...
On the contrary, the way to reveal her real identity is fine. Reference to dreams and later to Data's paintings were well made, because it makes use of Trekkies memories. A Really nice touch.
Once again, I hoped the show will explore further in Picard's paternal desires and Bang!, Ninjas are back again(dressed like Dead Space Hero) and Dahj died...
10 MN, faster than a blind date. Shame!
After that, the show was on Discovery mode:Picard, not very moved by Dahj's death, learns in Daystrom Institute that she has... A twin! (drumrolls) and revealed that ninjas were... Romulans! (jawdrop).
And of course, the shocking last shot: the Romulan recovery barge is a... Borg cube!!! (My. GOD.)
Next:an intergalactic conspiracy, with probably a "back from the Dead "Lore manipulating outraged Romulan. Or not.
Well, this episode reminds me a lot Discovery Pilot, which was very respectful of Star Trek ideals, except that here it lasted only 30 MN...
A schizophrenic episode and I hope that producers realized that Patrick Stewart is nearly 80 years old, a bit old to act in an action show(Shatner stopped ST at 64...).
Damn,the beginning was so good...

3 stars
Set Bookmark
batfunk
Wed, Oct 16, 2019, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I watched it. His new version of Endgame is much better. Janeway trying to save Galaxy from Borg Apocalypse is more relevant than destroying future to save egoistically a few friends.Borg Apocalypse reminds me a fine episode of Tng, where Riker tries to survive in an alternate reality.
If you add the promised reunions(Paris father and son, Tuvok and his family...), Voyager destruction and my bittersweet moments and ending, you obtain a fine episode, with great issues, action and believable human behaviors.
On the other end, his original final episode is underwhelming:no great issues and it's a rehash of a previous Barclay episode. Not good.
A finale episode and preferably a last season should resolve all issues satisfactorily.last season and Endgame does not:Paris/ father janeway/chakotay doc/seven Tuvok/family and on and on... Strangely, only Neelix got a great conclusion in a full episode!!!

Finally, my re-watch of Voyager didn't change my first opinion :it's a fun but inconsequential show, far behind Tng and DS9, with very few great episodes.
But better than Enterprise and Discovery (ugh)

See you in a few months to deliver my own finale episode of Enterprise, after it's first re-watch.... Lol
Set Bookmark
Batfunk
Wed, Oct 16, 2019, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

I love your ending, grumpy_otter, specially the Tuvok part(I thought exactly the same scene).
But I think your version is not enough bittersweet. We learn with Endgame that Voyager lost a few officers, I think it's fair.My version would include the loss of the innocent Harry.
The loop wouldbe complete with another Caretaker sending the crew back. Janeway must destroy Voyager to permit the crew's return(I don't know how and why...), another heartbreaking scene. Maybe with Chakotay preventing Janeway to sink with her ship, (by declaring his love?) .
I imagine Harry's parents looking for him in the crowd at the dock.Then a sad Janeway arrives in front of them... No words.. Just her sad face. Heart breaking...
I think also that some officers, after so many years of action,as war veterans, will not adapt to civil life, specially Janeway. After a year of living with CHakotay holidays, unsatisfied with her new life, she broke and take the command of another ship.
A final meal scene, with the ancient bridge crew, before Janeway departure, with a vacant seat for Harry, a toast to the lost crew, emotional crossed looks and a large final shoot of the table, where life resumes with enjoyed talking and smiles.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.