Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 65 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Oct 20, 2020, 1:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

I’d say 3 stars is about right. It wasn’t a great first season, but what Star Trek series (besides TOS) has ever had a great first season? I expressed my displeasure in part 1 as being an Augments rehash, but thankfully they made up for it in the last half of this one. It almost made me forget about the über dark tone, unnecessary cursing, red herring buffet, and having so little of Picard in a show called Picard.

But to bookend this exploring Picard and Data’s relationship was fantastic. I think it was a way to bridge the gap from a great finish on TNG, through some bad movies, and into new territory. Time will tell if the journey was worth it, but if the follow up is more like the ending and not like the 8 episodes of exposition and filler, I’d say we have a lot to look forward to.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Oct 19, 2020, 5:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

I was enjoying the show until this episode. So you’re telling me a group of humanoids, who possess superior intellect, speed and strength, are hunted down because they are feared, hide out with a crazy scientist who they view as their father(a Soong no less), who must inevitably turn on his own “child” when he finds out the leader is planning a mass extinction....

How is this not a complete rehashing of the Augments arc from ENT? They even made the same mistake as the Augments arc, namely they give the main character a personality, and all the rest they made mindless drones (one guy likes a soccer ball, cool).

It’s not that I didn’t like the Augments arc, it’s just I didn’t wait 30 years, sit through 8 episodes, and pay for CBS All Access to see it all over again.

1 star from me. Also Seven... women drivers ammiright? I’m just kidding but that’s how the show runners make it seem.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Oct 2, 2020, 10:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Awakening

The entire time watching this I kept thinking “Man V’Las is acting like a Romulan.” LOL! Yes, this is a step down from the previous episode, but not glaringly so. I found it to be good storytelling, but then again I love Vulcan, Klingon, Romulan, etc culture exploration, so this was right up my alley.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Oct 2, 2020, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Forge

I’m not sure what else you’d want in a Trek prequel to give it 4 stars. This had a little bit of everything, and I loved the sehlat, ST III and TOS references. Maybe you only gave it 3.5 stars because you were jaded at how these arcs turn out (see: The Augments), but it was a sold 4 for me. Intriguing, sucked me in.

I particularly liked the beginning discussion about humanity, how you can’t put us in a box. I think that’s the problem with people today, we’re too busy picking apart our differences when we should be celebrating our differences. That’s the true meaning of IDIC, I think. The reason the Vulcans fear humanity seems like the same reason the Q fears humanity: the unknown potential.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Oct 2, 2020, 10:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Augments

I have to agree with many commentators on here and say the biggest problem of this arc is Malik. He was written very 2-dimensionally (maybe 1-dimensionally). Also, the actor just didn’t cut it. Montalban was equal parts menace and charisma, while this guy was about 90/10 in that ratio. I guess you can only do so much with what you’re written. I especially hated the ending part “might take a generation or two...” You know, we get it, writers. I was waiting for him to say something like “the positron is brain would have to store a lot of... data.... yeah, data.” Ugh.

Despite those glaring annoyances I’d give this a 2.5, slightly above average. While the execution fell through at the end, the arc does bring up some interesting sci-fi questions, and it was kind of cool seeing Data’s great grandfather, or whatever he is.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 9:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Third Season Recap

I’m with Jeff, you could have taken out all the filler, dedicated 2 whole episodes to fleshing out the Xindi races, and still been able to tell the entire story in about 10-12 episodes. Then you could face the next threat or start exploring again. This season was definitely a step in the right direction tho, and was very DS9 in nature, but the execution was still very Voyager, namely, starting a story halfway thru, and then going back and filling in the gap. Voyager burnt me out on that crap, and it feels like a cheap attention grab technique. But overall, definitely the best season of Enterprise so far, and probably better than all the pre-7 Voyagers and early DS9/TNG seasons.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 3:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: The Council

I really liked Degra, he reminded me of a more fleshed-out version of Jetrel from Voyager... someone who made a hard decision that resulted in the deaths of millions, then had to live with himself. Degra had the benefit of being able to develop over an entire season, whereas Jetrel had to compress this journey in 1 episode because Voyager. So that’s not surprising. What IS surprising is that Degra was developed far more than Reed or Mayweather. Everything was done well, I personally didn’t appreciate how obviously Degra’s murder was telegraphed, but I mean hey, we all knew it was coming eventually. 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Sep 26, 2020, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Butt.
2/4
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 7:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

Only 1 minor complaint. You build this elaborate fake shuttle, and don’t double check it for potential weapons? Really? Other than that, 3 stars for me as well, I also saw the double twist coming, but it was satisfying, particularly due to some great acting by Degra. That whole episode hinges on a great performance from him, which he thankfully rose to the occasion.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 25, 2020, 6:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

The biggest divide in Britain after the arrival of Christianity was the heated debate between Celtic and Roman Catholicism. The core division? The calculation of Easter, which was only about 7-10 days difference. Never mind the fact that Christ told his followers to commemorate his sacrifice and not his resurrection, so both sides were wrong and were steeped in pagan fertility customs by the 4th or 5th centuries. I don’t think the divide between factions here is any more unbelievable or stupid than our actual history. That being said, something in the execution was just.... meh. Voyager did something similar but better with “Savior,” but this still kept my attention and moved the plot along a little, 2.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Sep 21, 2020, 9:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

0.5 stars from me. Unrelated: Why did T’Pol’s pajamas get redesigned to resemble something a 14 year old boy would draw on a T’Pol anime version? Is there a less practical pajama? And what use do Vulcans have with all that silicone if they only pon farr every 7 years? As far as the episode goes, lame. It was boring, and the DNA “science” made no sense. You can catch a virus that aside from all the other stupid hair growth and bone growth stuff, can also make you speak a new language? In about 10 minutes??? Never have I been more thankful for the Netflix 1.5X speed feature than this episode. And the ending? This is my first watch of Enterprise, I realllly hope they don’t bring that virus back for a sequel nobody wants (a la “Demon” and “Course Oblivion”). This might be my least favorite of Enterprise so far, but it’s not particularly offensive, so I wouldn’t give it a 0.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

“Theres no reason to assume they’re hostile.”

“Uh, sir, this arm alone is equipped with a bone saw, a projectile weapon, and an engraving of a human skull with a the words ‘Resistance is Futile’ encircling it.”

“....You’re fired.”
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

3/4 stars is about right for me too. The flashback scenes were done well, and they seemed to learn from the mistakes of Carbon Creek. It wasn’t great, but it was nice putting some meat on the 100 year skeleton we have between the 21st and 22nd centuries.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

After seeing how the Ferengi were retconned into Enterprise, I was not excited to see a Borg episode. I was happily surprised however, and enjoyed this episode quite a bit. I groaned initially but it was because I had forgotten about First Contact (some would say if I can manage to forget all the TNG films, I’d be one lucky fan). Seeing Archer make the hard choice of blowing up the Borg was a bold move, and Phlox remains my favorite character/actor with the believable trials he had to put himself through to fight against this new microscopic enemy. 3/4 stars
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Sep 18, 2020, 9:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

4 stars seems a little high in my opinion, but your mileage will vary with a lot of these better episodes. I found the premise interesting, but Trip came off as mansplaining and condescending. Maybe that’s the point. Maybe the point to have him act like an idiot and possibly ruin a first contact is because sometimes humans can act like idiots and mess up first impressions. The final scene was powerful, though, and like some others, I feel it’s Archer lashing out at his own guilt of setting a bad example for this crew. Good stuff, 3.5/4
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 9:48am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Crossing

I don’t think Travis ever got possessed. Probably because his acting is so bad you wouldn’t be able to tell the difference.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 9:46am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Horizon

I think Enterprise fell victim to the trap a lot of early 2000s shows did, namely feeling the need to stack the cast with nothing but beautiful people with less than 5% body fat. Every guy on the main cast is ripped for some reason, and T’Pol is a silicone injected sex symbol. Even Bakula looks like he significantly buffed up for the role. I wouldn’t be surprised if Phlox took of his shirt at some point and you find out Denobulans have an 18 pack (a 6-pack for each wife of course).

Granted, TOS had a lot of ladies in mini skirts, but they still had realistic looking bodies, plus it was the 60s and Roddenberry was a little sexist. What I’m getting at is while the acting is generally acceptable, It’s the weakest of all the series and it becomes more and more apparent as the series progresses, these actors were hired for all the wrong reasons. In an effort to pack a Starship with a super sexy cast, they also made it the blandest ship in the quadrant.

2/4 stars from me. Also, if the guy who played Paul was actually casted as Travis, it would have probably helped the series.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Sep 16, 2020, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Canamar

I’m with Carbetarian, the best part of the episode is the annoying alien and Trip’s building frustration. There’s a part where the alien gets nervous and starts stroking his weird gill things that I feel was probably an actor choice and not scripted. Unfortunately, the overall plot was pretty contrived and was probably 20 minutes of good stuff they had to stretch out to fill the whole hour. 1.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Sep 15, 2020, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

I’d give this one 3.5 stars. Maybe it was just nice to step out of the pool of mediocrity that was season 2 and see something relatively fresh. Yes, some of the themes are familiar but at least it shows glimmers of the Enterprise taking its place in the larger tapestry of the show, and not just a means to an end.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Sep 15, 2020, 1:29am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

Winston Churchill might say this episode is a banality wrapped in a cliche inside an ambien.

1/2 star
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Sep 5, 2020, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Shockwave, Part II

For me, letting Silik go ruined a lot of the episode. He’s a mass murderer, terrorist, and apparently war criminal. “By the time he wakes up, we’ll be long gone” says Archer confidently. He frees a bunch of Suliban earlier this season and let’s the leader of a terrorist cell go free after he had him unconscious. Maybe the Vulcans have a point...
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 8:51am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Two Days and Two Nights

I know saying an episode is the best “Risa” episode is like trying to pick your favorite “Lwaxana Troi” episode, but the closest thing Voyager has was “Prime Factors” with that weird European guy, DS9 had Worf join a Doomsday Cult for no apparent reason, and TNG gave us an extremely tedious episode with Picards extreme V-neck. I did find myself checking the clock with about 12 minutes left wondering how they were gonna tie up all 4 storylines that quickly and wondering if they were connected somehow. And I was happily surprised they weren’t and actually really liked that ending shot with all of them in the Shuttlecraft. Phlox was great in this episode too, but I wouldn’t give it more than 2 stars. It’s got its funny parts but it’s just...Mehhh
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 11:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

What I never understood about Voyager (and to some degree Star Trek as a whole) is why when it comes to 2 parters or 2 hr special events, they always rush the ending. You have all this time to tell a great story, but by the time you get to the end, it’s like the writers forgot they had to wrap things up. You have all that extra time, start from a compelling and interesting ending, and work your way backwards. I guess it’s kind of Stephen King-esque to write a compelling plot and have a hard time finishing it, but it does leave us with a sense of “uh, that was it?” 2.5 stars from me, in my opinion the second weakest of series finales I’ve seen (I haven’t seen Enterprise, but I don’t know if that ending can be worse than “Turnabout Intruder). I’ve seen every ST episode in order and now I’m on to Enterprise. I’ll probably never watch Voyager all the way thru again, especially knowing how it has such a meh ending, but I’ll certainly watch my favorite episodes in the future, because when Voyager was good, it was GOOD.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

This was a near perfect episode. I loved the pace at which the story unfolded, and like Jammer said, I had maybe 10 different theories about what was actually going on until they gradually revealed the actual back story. Seeing all the characters there but different was certainly fun to watch, and I did kind of like the Tom/B’elana thing tho I normally don’t like the Trek does romance. All in all, I’d give both 3.5 stars, it was only let down by the rushed ending, and some very terrible acting by Don Most. I don’t normally call out bad actors unless they’re distractingly bad, and Kadan was so distractingly bad, it reminded me of Bernie Casey in DS9’s “The Maquis.” In both episodes, a well written character was essentially ruined by blocks of wood. Otherwise, loved it.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

This episode actually made me miss Wesley Crusher. 1 star.
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.