Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 8 (Showing 1-8)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, May 9, 2020, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

Also, forgive me if I’m wrong, but in order to have Chakotay’s baby, she stole his DNA which would mean she would have to directly fertilize her egg with that specific DNA sample, making it impossible for the baby to be anybody’s BUT Chakotay’s. That’s not just lazy, it’s dumb.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, May 9, 2020, 12:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Basics, Part II

I’d give it 2, maybe 1.5 stars. And that’s ONLY for how well Suder was portrayed, and to see his redemption completed was pretty strong stuff. But the stuff on the planet? Yawn. And on top of that, you take Hogan, who started off annoying (like Neelix), but eventually became more and more likable (like Tom), and eventually became one of my favorite side characters.... and you kill him off screen like some Random Randy Redshirt? That, plus all the weird veiled Native American digs, it just didn’t live up to expectations for me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, May 6, 2020, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

It’s crazy, I grew up on TOS and TNG and when Sisko fired those missiles, my brain couldn’t comprehend it. I kept thinking, maybe those missiles just had aspartame on them, or it was some kind of optical illusion. Nope, he really did it.

In Sisko’s defense, Eddington DID start a war by attacking the Malinche. So really, the Federation had been pushed and pushed and pushed and I can see some retaliation being necessary. But that decision coming from Sisko alone is insane to me. He should have be punished severely, and laughing it off at the end was truly the biggest sin this episode committed.

3/4 seems about right, but there should have been consequences.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, May 6, 2020, 12:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: A Simple Investigation

I would have to give this episode a 1/4 stars. It’s not terrible, but it is way below average. If I wanted to watch a soap opera, I wouldn’t be watching sci-fi. And nearly all Trek romances that feature a love interest of the week have soap-level acting and direction. I almost expected them to randomly climb a tree like in Meridian. The problem in this one having Odo fall for someone after hearing a terrible pick up line in a bar. I haven’t heard the phrase “bedroom eyes” in 20 years, much less believe it would be used by a different culture centuries in the future.

I was giving it a little slack due to some great acting by Rene Auberjonois, but then suffered brain damage by the ridiculous ending. It was like Poochie on Itchy and Scratchy, where to get him off the show he was like “I’m an alien from another planet” and dies on the way back to his home planet off screen. That’s the same level of dumbing down we have to accept when Soapy McSoaperton says “I’m married.” Oh really? And your husband was fine with wiping your memory, being sent away from him to risk your life, break laws, fall in love, etc with no memory of him? That’s quite the family dynamic. They must be really close.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, May 6, 2020, 11:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

I thoroughly enjoyed this episode and would give it 3.5/4 stars. But then again, I’m a sucker for Klingons AND a sucker for underdogs. A lot of aesthetics and details harken back to “A Matter of Honor” with the twist of a crew that has lost its honor. The knife fight reminds me of when Godzilla was defeated and they kind of jump-started him with a nuclear bomb. This fight was the jump start for Martok to remember what it means to be a Klingon.

It also reminded me of Voyager, where Tuvok absorbs some of the serial killer sociopaths tendencies and realizes that killing a hologram is not the same as the real thing and thus unsatisfying. As much as Martok tries to remember what it is to be a Klingon by fighting holosuite programs, it’s just not the same.

Then the part at the end where Martok extends the invitation to join House Martok... man, that’s worth 3 stars just in its own. The only part I didn’t like was that there WAS a bit of filler, and then the final battle was totally skipped. They could have skipped the filler, shown Martok satisfying his bloodlust in an actual battle, and greatly improved this episode.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Apr 28, 2020, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Many people on the previous review wondered why “Trials and Tribble-ations” only got 3.5 stars. I think Jammer actually gave this one NEGATIVE 0.5 stars and had no choice but to deduct it from one the series most beloved episodes.

I never followed DS9 after TNG when it was originally airing (I was playing more video games than watching TV at that point in my life), but I can only imagine being a new viewer who maybe was into TOS, and “Trials and Tribble-ations” finally won them over to DS9, and they’re thinking, “man this show is great, I can’t wait to see what’s in store next week!” And then you tune in for this episode and get an open-faced crap sandwich.

That’s why this deserves 0 stars. Because of the juxtaposition next to one of the greatest highs of the series, you put the lowest of the lows? The only episode as bad is probably “Shades of Grey” because of the insult to injury factor of putting a terrible episode as a season finale.

I know Trek loves to put characters we love into situations outside of their comfort zone and seeing how they tick. But how the pitch question of “Hey, how would Worf react to being on a pleasure planet?” was answered with “well, naturally he’d join a terrorist cult” is baffling.

I actually didn’t mind the soccer speech, because there actually was some character depth revealed. The whole seen was watchable (mind you, I didn’t say “good”) because their argument puts out several points that we as the audience thought about these two. When Dax says she knows more about Klingon culture, I was thinking “yeah, why didn’t she go undercover in Apocalypse Rising?” Then when Worf says that doesn’t make her a Klingon, I thought the same thing. And when Dax replies with “well you’re not like any Klingon I’ve ever met” we all know at this point he isn’t. And his soccer story helps flesh out that character trait and explain why he is so different and reserved.

That little revelation wasn’t enough to save this pile of junk though, and like Jammer, I was embarrassed to watch it. I had my wife watch “Tribble-ations” with me and was so happy she fell asleep before this episode started. I don’t think I’d ever get her to watch another episode with me again.

Also, side note,!when Dax shows off her bikini to Worf, why would that change his mind about staying? We’ve already established these two are spending a lot of time in the Bone Zone already, how is that a game changer?
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Mar 1, 2020, 9:54am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

I was under the impression that the holodecks used Einstein’s theory to treat matter as a form of energy. Thus, even though all this energy is being used to create a simulation, once you end the simulation; doesn’t all that matter get converted right back to energy? It’s the same reason Paris tells Kim not to worry about drinking alcohol, it’s not technically real and once the program ends it goes right back to the ship. This seems different from a replicator which PERMANENTLY converts energy into food or a ball or whatever. I could be wrong, but that was the least bothersome part of the hologram scene. My problem is that Paris is like “hey man, come check out my sex program with me.” Weird.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 14, 2020, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

I think 2 stars is spot on. Although I might give it an extra 1/2 star for the scenes with the Klingon chef. I think my favorite Trek series would be a spin-off featuring them at guy!! Maybe in like a reality cook-off “Gladst in the City” starring Chef K’Taz.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.