Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 122 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Plan

I would give this 2 stars max, personally. It was a better executed “Shades of Grey.” And only better because of Stockwell’s acting and the better source material. Other than that, a glorified clip show. Even Cavil’s fill in dialogue was pretty bad. He went from Agent Smith to Dick Dastardly. The acting really sold it, though, so it wasn’t a complete crash and burn. After the finale, did anyone really need this?
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 4:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Someone to Watch Over Me

@Onigirli Tighs exclamation of “What the frak!?!” when “All Along the Watchtower” started playing is the best line reading of any scene in any show of any series. Ever, lol. Also, I don’t believe it’s ever explicitly stated that Baltar left the note for Adama, but in the movie “The Plan”, the scenes are placed together in such a way that it pretty much eliminates any doubt that it indeed was Baltar. Finally, as regards Boomer: of course they locked her up. Not just for shooting Adama. I mean you could pour syrup on her as much as she’s waffled throughout the series. I believe her to be a defective model. Something just ain’t wired right.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Mar 16, 2021, 10:30am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Deadlock

I find Ellen’s hypocrisy to be particularly troublesome in this episode. She’s appalled that Tigh would sleep with a Cylon. “They’re our children!” she yells at some point. But she slept with a Cylon she designed after her own father. Why? Because she didn’t know better, and neither did Tigh, and they were both hurting. It’s overall a mess, and the Ellen/Six/Tigh/Baby thing was pretty hamfisted.

And yet, this is still much more captivating than Picard or Discovery so I’d still give it 3 stars easily.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Mar 9, 2021, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Road Less Traveled

I’d give this 3 stars max. It wasn’t bad, and I am enjoying the Baltar arc. As they said on one of my favorite comedy shows, Stella, Baltar has had more reinventions than Thomas Edison (or Madonna). Everything they did wrong with Gul Dukat in DS9, this show manages to really knock it out of the park with Baltar as a villain turned cult leader.

The letdown for me has been Starbuck this season. Her character was already wearing thin last season. And her death was actually done well. So to bring her back like this has been.... tedious. Her bipolar, self-destructive, over-the-top, hypocritical tendencies really took her from a regular, flawed character I rooted for early in the series, to someone I can’t really stand to watch anymore (no offense to Sackhoff, it’s her character, not her acting that bothers me.) In effect, it’s the opposite of my reaction to Baltar. I really didn’t like him early in the series, and while he’s by no means a hero, I do find his character compelling, even though he’s still a narcissist and probable sociopath.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Mar 5, 2021, 7:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Razor

I enjoyed this movie, but overall I’d probably give it a 2/4. The actress for Shaw was so 1-note it really took me out of the story. The story itself had some pretty big holes, and I saw Shaw’s sacrificial death coming from about a parsec away. But Forbes salvaged it for the most part.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 10:15am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: You Can't Go Home Again

@Booming
I have done the same thing since I’ve written off Discovery. I couldn’t agree with you more on all of your points. Including Doc Cottle, gotta love that guy. Granted, there are a few clunkers coming up, but even the so-so episodes on BSG are somehow more entertaining than many of DSC’s best efforts. Thanks for being so succinct in your post.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Unfinished Business

“Bitch ‘n’ a half” would make a great T-shirt.
3 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 12:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Sacrifice

This episode wasn’t so bad, considering that this was a send off for Paul Campbell, who played Billy but had other commitments. Now when you need to kill off a character, you could go “Skin of Evil” style, or actually give a decent episode. I liked how it subverted expectations, addressed friendly fire and whatnot... all in all I’d say it’s a 3 star episode.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 9:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Black Market

Lee always came off as this squeaky clean guy, so I understand the desire to give him more of an edge. But man, to go from the rule-following son of the admiral, to a guy who 1. Ditched his girl on Caprica because she couldn’t get pregnant, 2. Has frequent flyer miles with a space hooker and 3. Is willing to shoot a civilian point blank in front of a crowd.... Man. It’s like the opposite of when “30 Days” on Voyager where they try to give Paris his edge back but didn’t really go far enough.... this is the opposite direction. Too far! 1 star because for all this attempt to make Apollo an antihero, it just wasn’t compelling TV, and the flashbacks were just crammed in there with no backstory being ever established before. For sure the dud of the season so far.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Final Cut

@SlackerInc I really enjoyed them using the original BSG theme in the show as well. It almost made this show salvagable. But not quite.

This was probably the worst episode so far imho. 1 star from me. I think it was supposed to be an homage to MASH, but it just didn’t work. I normally like “slice of life” anime type stuff, but this was too cheesy, too forced and poorly scripted. “Lower Decks” was a better way to handle slice of life episodes. On top of that, I saw the big twist coming a mile away.

I also don’t like that, out of under 50,000 total survivors of humanity, such a large percentage appears to be in the press. Don’t get me wrong, I know the press do a vital job in today’s society and helps keep the government in check, but when humanity has dwindled to the size of a small suburb, don’t you think people would chip in for more more necessary jobs like food processing, water refinery, etc.?
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jan 20, 2021, 12:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Resistance

This was done really well. There was some heavy foreshadowing with Cally, where I thought to myself, “she’s going to do something crazy.” But then, I got so caught up in the rest of the plot that when Sharon got shot, it totally took me by surprise. Just engaging in all aspects, I’m really loving this show, I can’t believe I missed out on seeing it for so long.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Random thought: now that we know empaths can pilot the spore drive, why not build a fleet with Betazoid navigators?

I don’t know.. I think to make sense of this show in my own head, I just have to assume this is taking place in a separate universe, not Prime, Mirror or Kelvin. So in the BU (Burnham Universe), maybe more of this plot makes sense.

This is a universe where Spock had a sister, heterosexuals are the minority, sexist Klingons choose a female leader, look and sound more like monsters and say “Kahlesssshhh and Kronosshhh”, Section 31 has more government oversight, repeated insubordination is rewarded, and most problems are resolved with phaser fights instead of diplomacy.

It’s essentially a “What if...?” universe.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 6:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@DataLore
How dare you besmirch the good name of Galaxy Quest like that? Just kidding. Also, I can watch the classics on Netflix.

I know I sounded negative earlier, and there were some good parts, but not enough to win me over. The final scene where all the starships formed an aisle for Discovery to fly through? Awesome. Doug Jones’ performance? Stellar, as always. Seeing the innards of a turbolift? Pretty dang cool. But nothing in the plot made me think. Nothing would inspire debate. Nothing made me feel anything for any of the cast. I felt more for that little EVE bot. Oh well, I just didn’t want to sound too much like a stereotypical “this ain’t Trek!” guy. I’m not mad that it isn’t Trek. I’m upset that it isn’t good.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 5:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I just cancelled my CBS All Access subscription. For good.

I have no desire to watch “The Chronicles of the Crying Captain”, who managed to cry twice in this episode.

I have no desire to watch the resurrection of Grey so I can see the absolute bottom rung of acting talent.

I have to desire to play “Representation Bingo” and watch woke agendas being pushed at the expense of actual story telling.

I have no desire to see a 3-month Galaxy-threatening McGuffin strung along towards an ultimately underwhelming resolution.

I also have no desire to see cyber-Picard, Futurama-lite, or an insufferable Georgiou spinoff.

Now mind you, I am a completionist, so I’ll probably watch new episodes to keep my OCD at bay, but I definitely won’t be paying for it. These shows are not worth the subscription, and nothing else one CBSAA is remotely entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming
I don’t think you’re analogy holds up. Now if you’re boarding the plane and notice the pilot is doing the maintenance outside, then starts loading the luggage herself, then starts passing out drinks mid-flight, and because she’s so overworked accidentally lights the cabin on fire— now we’re talking Discovery. This show revolves around Burnham as the center of the galaxy, and you cannot separate the travesty of Discovery from the poor development of her character. They put her in every scenario, no matter how impossible, stack the odds against her, raise her up like Christ himself, and drag us along for every tear-soaked minute. Ask yourself, as bad as Discovery is, take Michael out of the equation, and if it were a true ensemble cast like every other iteration Trek, wouldn’t it be better? Even with these half-brained plots, I know I’d enjoy it much more.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 7:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Flesh and Bone

3.5 stars from me. Well-acted, well-scripted. Intriguing stuff.

Speaking of torture, what about those 5,000 word long posts up above, ammirite?
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 6:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Six Degrees of Separation

I would give this 4 stars because even with the suspense, I haven’t laughed that much at sci-fi in a long time. Maybe an episode of season 1 Orville, Trials and Tribbleations, or The Magnificent Ferengi. But this was so good. It converted me from the mindset that Baltar is just the poor man’s Bashir, to me actually liking him as a character. 4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: You Can't Go Home Again

I actually got choked up with the line “if it were you, we’d never leave.” Dang, what a line delivery.

The main drawback was piloting the Cylon ship. My issue is not even the patching up and operating the ship, it was how she outmaneuvered Apollo, a brilliant pilot in his own right, by taking on 2 slimy Slim Jims like she was working a Muppet. But otherwise, this was an interesting character drama, not as good as part 1, but I’d give it 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming
Allow me to kindly answer ALL of your so-called “mysteries”

- Why is Starfleet and Federation headquarter in a bubble which seems to be located in the middle of nowhere? Why not on a member planet?
To give Michael Burnham something to search for.

- Why are the transwarp tunnels full of destroyed ships?
Michael Burnham accidentally destroyed them in her Red Angel suit.

- Why did Earth not know where Starfleet headquarter is?
Because Michael Burnham wasn’t there to tell them.

- Why did Starfleet never find the Dilithium planet on the other side of the transwarp tunnel?
You can only make relevant discoveries with Michael Burnham on board.

- Why have we never visited Terralysium?
They have changed their religion to Michael Burnham worship, and seeing God would throw their entire culture into chaos.

- Why is everybody at Starfleet headquarter Human?
They are actually from various planets, but use advanced holo-technology to appear human in order to make Michael Burnham feel more comfortable.

-Why did the chicken cross the road?
Because Michael Burnham was on the other side.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 1:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Dave in MN
That was my bad, I got my classic movies mixed up. I thought I was quoting Die Hard 2 and was actually quoting Lethal Weapon 2 lol!
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 12:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming
“ Why start a peace process with a hostile act? ” — Maybe because she thought she had “diplomatic immunity”.

@Dreubarik
“ Either the negotiation is done in exchange for her getting her hands on the Spore Drive or she already has the Spore Drive and she doesn't need to negotiate.”
Exactly. She has a brilliant scientist AND the spore drive. Take the spore drive out of the Federation’s reach, and now you have literally all the time in the galaxy to reverse engineer it. Now you have all the resources of the emerald chain to build a fleet of spore-driven ships outside of the Federation’s reach, and THEN you march into Starfleet HQ with a list of demands. You’d think 900 years of galactic military history would be put to better use.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Act of Contrition

Fantastic episode. I have seen some of Olmos’ roles, but this is the best I’ve ever seen him. Just masterful. All the crew is portrayed very well, and these last 2 episodes showed that powerful drama can happen without inserting the Cylons into the mix. They only show up very late here to accelerate the acceptance and repentance the story needed to get to. Very nicely done. I really wish Discovery would have fleshed out its characters like BSG. I’m only 5 episodes in and feel more of a connection with about 6 characters than any single character in Discovery through 3 seasons.

Also I know this is really late, but the scenes on Caprica that are kind of “throwaway” scenes. Moore stated that he wanted a story on Caprica, but actually had no idea where it was gonna go! So he just inserted these quick Helo scenes as a reminder to the audience that Caprica and Helo were still there, until he could flesh out what kind of story was going to unfold. Pretty bold move, I think Lost did that with considerably less success.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 11:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Bastille Day

I think the word “slavery” gets thrown around too much. Nobody’s treating them like slaves, it nobody calls Zarek on his BS either. Kind of interesting Apollo was experimenting with socialism in college, lol. Wonder if he smoked any Caprican herb too *gasp*

3 stars for me. Discovery got me burnt out on Star Trek, and I’m just shocked how even this weaker episode is still better than most of Disco’s stronger ones. So far so good.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 11:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I say for a bunch of people who complain about the excess crying in Discovery, there sure is some excess crying in your posts.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 12:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Dave in MN
“ I think you'd all have a lot more fun with Discovery if you just embrace the failure.”

I wish I could. But frankly I don’t find it bad enough to laugh at MST3K style, but it’s not good enough to take seriously.

@Saru’s ganglia
I see tons of people who hate-read on Fox News boards just to say how much they hate Trump. And I see tons of people hate-read CNN articles just to say how much they hate Biden or Obama. (Yes I follow both and try to find the truth somewhere in between). My point is, hate-watching is common, and why judge someone for that? Maybe they want to identify as a hate-watcher. The other main camp, which I’m a part of, desperately would like to see some good Trek on TV and despite moments of promise (like this episode), are repeatedly let down. Read through the Enterprise comments, this is nothing new. Still others may simply watch because they’ve invested many hours, if not years or decades already in not just Disco but all of Trek, and even others watch only to have a discourse on these message boards (even if they hate it), and even others might just be completionists and want to see every episode (even if they hate it). I don’t understand why you feel the need to repeatedly defend your position that haters should just shut up and stop watching, but for someone who harps on people for wasting their time, you’re REALLY wasting your time.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.