Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 42 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

This was a near perfect episode. I loved the pace at which the story unfolded, and like Jammer said, I had maybe 10 different theories about what was actually going on until they gradually revealed the actual back story. Seeing all the characters there but different was certainly fun to watch, and I did kind of like the Tom/B’elana thing tho I normally don’t like the Trek does romance. All in all, I’d give both 3.5 stars, it was only let down by the rushed ending, and some very terrible acting by Don Most. I don’t normally call out bad actors unless they’re distractingly bad, and Kadan was so distractingly bad, it reminded me of Bernie Casey in DS9’s “The Maquis.” In both episodes, a well written character was essentially ruined by blocks of wood. Otherwise, loved it.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

This episode actually made me miss Wesley Crusher. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I’m pretty sure all the Klingon lady did was aggressively pull on Neelix’s whiskers. That’s all my brain will allow me to imagine what happened. Overall, 2.5 stars from me. Slightly above average. I don’t mind Klingon stuff but I kinda want more this late in the game.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 2:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Very nice humorous episode, with surprisingly great comedic timing by Ryan. A solid 3.5 stars. Seeing as they already turned this into “Voyage of Seven”, they should have just done a buddy spinoff with Doc and Seven. I’d watch that for sure!
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 10:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

@Skeptical
“ (With apologies to No Doubt)...”

You don’t ever have to apologize to No Doubt. In fact, in many respects, ‘No Doubt’ was the ‘Voyager’ of music. Both took beloved cultural properties (The Star Trek franchise v pop/punk/alternative), both ultimately became corporate sellouts, neither had consistent depth, and despite having great talent, neither aged very well past the late 90s/early 00s.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

It was my assumption that when the Borg injected you with nanobots, not only did it start the assimilation process but it also had some sort of paralyzing/sedative effect, to decrease resistance, which is why you see victims go limp and pass out before getting assimilated. But with the neural suppressor, it seems like Janeway and co have total control over their faculties. Wouldn’t that make the assimilation process even more traumatic? Feeling the Borg cut into you and drill machinery into your head and body? So they should be even more traumatized than Picard. Other than the insane leaps over logic, I did find this interesting, and rather enjoyed watching someone actually team up with Voyager for an attack.... and a Borg sphere no less! 3/4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jul 24, 2020, 5:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Didn’t they crap on Kes’ character enough? Already they proved that they had no idea how to treat her character, so why bother bringing her back? To prove you never knew what to do with her? Through her initial run, she was either underused or overpowered, and now the writers show they can’t even decide what to do with her powers for 1 hour. Hard to watch, poor Kess and poor Lien.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jul 24, 2020, 5:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

I would have given it 1 star, but after reading your review, you’ve swayed me up to 2. Knowing this was Joe Menosky’s Voyager swan song, that feels about right. Menosky has written some of my Trek all time favorites and all time duds, so right in the middle is fitting. I appreciate what he did here, and the acting was great, it was just a little too on the nose for me. I found it to be rather pretentious as well. Not a terrible episode, but the pedestal you put it on is a little too elevated.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 12:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

I’ve been trying to watch all the Trek shows in order starting with TOS. Sometimes I can get through anywhere from 1/2 to 3 episodes a day depending on how busy I am and how interesting the episodes are. This episode took me 5 days to get through. I hated it and It did nothing to capture my interest. I don’t know if it’s as bad as “Threshold,” but at least “Threshold” was captivating for the first 1/3 or so. It was at least as bad as “Move Along Home” and “Sub Rosa.”

This was boring from the start, and progressed to utter stupidity. At no point did I care about these holo-characters, nor did the technobabble make sense, nor did I agree with or understand Janeway’s motivations. Boy did they screw Janeway’s character in this one. 1 star is indeed generous, this so far has made my top 10 worst episodes in all of Trek (I haven’t made it to Enterprise yet).
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 7:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Voyager Conspiracy

Pretty good in my opinion. What if Seven got hooked on InfoWars, or got sucked into a YouTube rabbit hole, and used all the facts to say coronavirus is a hoax! I mean she would have to be malfunctioning right?

Seriously though, to try and take the jumbled mess that was Voyagers first few seasons and make a semi-coherent conspiracy theory was actually kind of impressive. I don’t have an issue with Janeway and Chakotay investigating more, I think it’s less of them getting sucked in and more of an obligation to investigate. I see it all the time at the hospital. Someone comes into the ER with chest pain after eating 5-alarm chili, and you know it’s probably 99% heartburn, but you gotta check the heart out to make sure it’s not the other 1% heart attack. The fact that 2 sentences of dialogue diffused the situation shows they didn’t take it too seriously.

Good SF really helps you view the current situation, and I think now more than ever you can see how dangerous it is to take isolated facts, and twist them to your own agenda. I’d give it a 3/4
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Jul 6, 2020, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: The Fight

Finally a chance for Beltran to show off his acting chops. Too often he comes off as a sedated Marlon Brando and they don’t give him anything to work with. Personally, I worry about Alzheimer’s disease in my family and my future with it, so some points hit home. Unfortunately the vision quest sequences were too much like a poor man’s Prophet Sequence from DS9. They almost got there, and it was enough to pique my interest, just not enough to hold it. 2/4
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Dark Frontier

I really enjoyed this episode with 3 glaring exceptions:
1. The whole “no Borg has regained their individuality” thing that has been nitpicked to death already
2. The last 2 minutes: “we managed to get another 20,000 light years out of the transwarp coil before it gave out...” Huh??? It just gave out? And that’s it? No replicating it? No studying it to apply its mechanics to your warp system?

Other than that, fantastic stuff. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 5:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

I just wanted to point out how hard I laughed when Tom was like “look Tuvok, you need to accept this is home and the crew probably left without us,” and when we first see Voyager, the first thing they mention is that the shuttle’s been missing for an hour!

That was before they explained the time differential, but I still got a kick out of imagining Tom giving up hope after an hour. “Well this is our life now, better cheat on your wife, Tutu!” I could see that in Chakotay actually.....
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Jul 4, 2020, 5:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

“Itchy and Scratchy” did in 10 seconds to Poochie what this episode took 45 minutes to do to the Silverbloods. I can almost guarantee you that this was made solely for the purpose of tying up that loose end made by “Demon” where fans (and probably quite a few in the writers’ room) were left confused about what would happen with an entire duplicated crew in the Delta quadrant. Yikes, this was their answer?

I just rewatched the ending to “Demon” and the duplicate crew is standing in a crowd watching the real Voyager leave. They didn’t know they were duplicates then? Also if they are exact duplicates, why hasn’t the original crew figured out “enhanced warp?” They needed a Demon class planet to survive, but all their away missions on M-class planets went ok? The entire ship was degrading but they expected their time capsule to not degrade? In the entire quadrant they just so happened to find the other Voyager with minutes left? The Doctor never noticed that the crew now needed a different atmosphere to breathe, an atmosphere he said himself couldn’t be safely replicated?

I understand the emotional payoff of this episode, but with all these ridiculous plot holes, it comes of as manipulative rather than authentic. 1 star
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

I normally can’t stand holodeck episodes. And honestly towards the end of this one I kept checking the clock to see how much time I had left (something this season of Voyager has drastically improved upon!) But dang if Satan’s Robot didn’t make the whole thing worth watching for me. Technobabble and slow pace aside, I’ll give it a 2/4 just for that robot.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jul 1, 2020, 12:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

Tom Paris v the Trump administration.
3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 3:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

This isn’t just the best episode of the series so far, it’s the best episode of the series so far. It didn’t have that typical thing where Voyager gives us 44 minutes of amazing sci-fi with the last 2 minutes where they kill everything cool about it. This was great through and through. I typically don’t like Trek time-travel stories, but the 3 main exceptions are Trials and Tribble-ations, The Voyage Home, and now this one... all for very different reasons. 4 stars from me!
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

To me, starting with Sloan’s and Gowron’s deaths, this final stretch of DS9 strikes me as “what would happen if George R R Martin wrote Trek?” And I don’t mind it one bit.

For me, however, TNG’s finale is the gold standard, and TOS’ finale is the crap standard on the other end of the spectrum. DS9’s finale is nearly as good as TNG’s, but what TNG did was make a great finale that was also top-notch sci-fi. This episode was not great sci-fi, and the elements in the first half that were, were much more “Star Wars” than “Star Trek.”

The real issue was the pagh-wraith wrapup which was not “Star Wars” nor “Star Trek,” but “Harry Potter.” I also didn’t like how this season opened with Sisko going through this hunt to find the Orb of the Emissary, and that doesn’t come into play? The final scene with pagh-Dukat would have been much more interesting if Sisko would have been on equal ground with the Orb on his side, rather than some deus ex bookina resolution where burning a book traps a near omnipotent force in the fire caves.

Aside from that big letdown, it was fantastic and emotional and leaves the fan imaging “what’s next?” As you know the series is over but these stories can go on, which is what a finale should do. 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

It seems to me that when Menosky, Behr and Wolfe wrote “Distant Voices,” they made someone promise way back then that they’d use this “walking through the subconscious” idea as a cool callback at the end of the series, regardless of what else is going on around it. That’s the only reason I can wrap my head around why they would put all the other plot lines on hold basically for this mediocre outing so close to the finale. If this were anywhere else in the season it would be 3-3.5 stars, but man the show runners stumbled a bit here at the end. I’d give it 2.5 because it is definitely better than average and still fun to watch, it’s just not necessary for cool callbacks and buddy romps.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Jun 27, 2020, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: 'Til Death Do Us Part

With much fiction, I have to give it the “Superman” treatment when it comes to disguises. You put glasses on Superman and nobody bats an eye when Clark Kent walks by? It’s fine, I give it a pass... it’s like reverse “Count of Monte Cristo” where no one can fathom that someone who bears a striking resemblance to another person couldn’t possibly be that person because of the sheer gap in social status (and in this case, also being a different race). Penumbra was a 3/4 I agree, and I’d give this one a 3.5 and the next few crescendo to 4s in my opinion. How all these plots are masterfully set in motion is something you see in a few newer TV shows(for example, This Is Us), but rarely executed well (for example: Lost). Unlike Jammer in the original review, we have the benefit of being able to binge all these episodes, and if there’s ever a chunk of any Trek series to binge, DS9’s final chapter is that chunk.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jun 24, 2020, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Normally I’d give this ep 2 stars but I knock it down to 1 because with the exception of Ezri and Miles, the acting is HORRIBLE. Norvo is ok, but everyone else is like a Days of Our Lives reject. I can appreciate what they’re trying to do, but the direction and guest stars let it down big time.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Jun 21, 2020, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

I hate baseball and find it boring, but I do love underdog sports stories, including baseball spoofs a la Benchwarmers, Major League... even Moneyball. I’d lean towards a 4 on this one. The comedy can be cheesy, sure, but for Trek, one of its funniest comedy hours.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jun 17, 2020, 5:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

If this episode happened midseason I’d give it a pass. But as a finale? Cheap. 1.5/4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jun 10, 2020, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I’m not sure if this was taking an abortion or war-on-drugs approach. The thought that you cause more problems by making something illegal is an interesting notion. Much like Prohibition gave rise to organized crime in America, or how making abortion illegal leads to back-alley abortions that are even riskier, outlawing bad thoughts would logically give rise to underground violence porn. I’m surprised that there wasn’t a similar situation on Vulcan. I doubt that the whole planet said “well, we’re done with emotions!” I suppose the group that didn’t want to submit just said, “we’re out of here, and we’re calling ourselves Romulans now, losers!” At any rate, I found it to be great sci-fi 3 stars
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Jun 10, 2020, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

They seem to be writing Chakotay as very weak-willed. When him and Janeway were suck on that planet with the virus, he was like, “well guess is this my life forever, best if I just give up after a week.” He allowed the Reformed Borg to link with him and then take him over. He was brainwashed in the jungle in almost no time. And now he’s buying into Annorax’ plight as a victim in this episode and Paris has to talk him into action. I at times really like Chakotay, but overall, the writers don’t do him justice.

Chakotay stuff aside, I’d give Part I 4 stars for the great setup and Part II 3 stars for the weak payoff. Such is the plight of Star Trek 2-Parters that aren’t called “The Best of Both Worlds”.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.