Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 111 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 3:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Random thought: now that we know empaths can pilot the spore drive, why not build a fleet with Betazoid navigators?

I don’t know.. I think to make sense of this show in my own head, I just have to assume this is taking place in a separate universe, not Prime, Mirror or Kelvin. So in the BU (Burnham Universe), maybe more of this plot makes sense.

This is a universe where Spock had a sister, heterosexuals are the minority, sexist Klingons choose a female leader, look and sound more like monsters and say “Kahlesssshhh and Kronosshhh”, Section 31 has more government oversight, repeated insubordination is rewarded, and most problems are resolved with phaser fights instead of diplomacy.

It’s essentially a “What if...?” universe.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 6:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@DataLore
How dare you besmirch the good name of Galaxy Quest like that? Just kidding. Also, I can watch the classics on Netflix.

I know I sounded negative earlier, and there were some good parts, but not enough to win me over. The final scene where all the starships formed an aisle for Discovery to fly through? Awesome. Doug Jones’ performance? Stellar, as always. Seeing the innards of a turbolift? Pretty dang cool. But nothing in the plot made me think. Nothing would inspire debate. Nothing made me feel anything for any of the cast. I felt more for that little EVE bot. Oh well, I just didn’t want to sound too much like a stereotypical “this ain’t Trek!” guy. I’m not mad that it isn’t Trek. I’m upset that it isn’t good.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 5:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I just cancelled my CBS All Access subscription. For good.

I have no desire to watch “The Chronicles of the Crying Captain”, who managed to cry twice in this episode.

I have no desire to watch the resurrection of Grey so I can see the absolute bottom rung of acting talent.

I have to desire to play “Representation Bingo” and watch woke agendas being pushed at the expense of actual story telling.

I have no desire to see a 3-month Galaxy-threatening McGuffin strung along towards an ultimately underwhelming resolution.

I also have no desire to see cyber-Picard, Futurama-lite, or an insufferable Georgiou spinoff.

Now mind you, I am a completionist, so I’ll probably watch new episodes to keep my OCD at bay, but I definitely won’t be paying for it. These shows are not worth the subscription, and nothing else one CBSAA is remotely entertaining.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 8:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming
I don’t think you’re analogy holds up. Now if you’re boarding the plane and notice the pilot is doing the maintenance outside, then starts loading the luggage herself, then starts passing out drinks mid-flight, and because she’s so overworked accidentally lights the cabin on fire— now we’re talking Discovery. This show revolves around Burnham as the center of the galaxy, and you cannot separate the travesty of Discovery from the poor development of her character. They put her in every scenario, no matter how impossible, stack the odds against her, raise her up like Christ himself, and drag us along for every tear-soaked minute. Ask yourself, as bad as Discovery is, take Michael out of the equation, and if it were a true ensemble cast like every other iteration Trek, wouldn’t it be better? Even with these half-brained plots, I know I’d enjoy it much more.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 7:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Flesh and Bone

3.5 stars from me. Well-acted, well-scripted. Intriguing stuff.

Speaking of torture, what about those 5,000 word long posts up above, ammirite?
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Six Degrees of Separation

I would give this 4 stars because even with the suspense, I haven’t laughed that much at sci-fi in a long time. Maybe an episode of season 1 Orville, Trials and Tribbleations, or The Magnificent Ferengi. But this was so good. It converted me from the mindset that Baltar is just the poor man’s Bashir, to me actually liking him as a character. 4 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: You Can't Go Home Again

I actually got choked up with the line “if it were you, we’d never leave.” Dang, what a line delivery.

The main drawback was piloting the Cylon ship. My issue is not even the patching up and operating the ship, it was how she outmaneuvered Apollo, a brilliant pilot in his own right, by taking on 2 slimy Slim Jims like she was working a Muppet. But otherwise, this was an interesting character drama, not as good as part 1, but I’d give it 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Jan 5, 2021, 5:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming
Allow me to kindly answer ALL of your so-called “mysteries”

- Why is Starfleet and Federation headquarter in a bubble which seems to be located in the middle of nowhere? Why not on a member planet?
To give Michael Burnham something to search for.

- Why are the transwarp tunnels full of destroyed ships?
Michael Burnham accidentally destroyed them in her Red Angel suit.

- Why did Earth not know where Starfleet headquarter is?
Because Michael Burnham wasn’t there to tell them.

- Why did Starfleet never find the Dilithium planet on the other side of the transwarp tunnel?
You can only make relevant discoveries with Michael Burnham on board.

- Why have we never visited Terralysium?
They have changed their religion to Michael Burnham worship, and seeing God would throw their entire culture into chaos.

- Why is everybody at Starfleet headquarter Human?
They are actually from various planets, but use advanced holo-technology to appear human in order to make Michael Burnham feel more comfortable.

-Why did the chicken cross the road?
Because Michael Burnham was on the other side.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 1:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Dave in MN
That was my bad, I got my classic movies mixed up. I thought I was quoting Die Hard 2 and was actually quoting Lethal Weapon 2 lol!
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 12:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

@Booming
“ Why start a peace process with a hostile act? ” — Maybe because she thought she had “diplomatic immunity”.

@Dreubarik
“ Either the negotiation is done in exchange for her getting her hands on the Spore Drive or she already has the Spore Drive and she doesn't need to negotiate.”
Exactly. She has a brilliant scientist AND the spore drive. Take the spore drive out of the Federation’s reach, and now you have literally all the time in the galaxy to reverse engineer it. Now you have all the resources of the emerald chain to build a fleet of spore-driven ships outside of the Federation’s reach, and THEN you march into Starfleet HQ with a list of demands. You’d think 900 years of galactic military history would be put to better use.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 10:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Act of Contrition

Fantastic episode. I have seen some of Olmos’ roles, but this is the best I’ve ever seen him. Just masterful. All the crew is portrayed very well, and these last 2 episodes showed that powerful drama can happen without inserting the Cylons into the mix. They only show up very late here to accelerate the acceptance and repentance the story needed to get to. Very nicely done. I really wish Discovery would have fleshed out its characters like BSG. I’m only 5 episodes in and feel more of a connection with about 6 characters than any single character in Discovery through 3 seasons.

Also I know this is really late, but the scenes on Caprica that are kind of “throwaway” scenes. Moore stated that he wanted a story on Caprica, but actually had no idea where it was gonna go! So he just inserted these quick Helo scenes as a reminder to the audience that Caprica and Helo were still there, until he could flesh out what kind of story was going to unfold. Pretty bold move, I think Lost did that with considerably less success.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Wed, Dec 30, 2020, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Bastille Day

I think the word “slavery” gets thrown around too much. Nobody’s treating them like slaves, it nobody calls Zarek on his BS either. Kind of interesting Apollo was experimenting with socialism in college, lol. Wonder if he smoked any Caprican herb too *gasp*

3 stars for me. Discovery got me burnt out on Star Trek, and I’m just shocked how even this weaker episode is still better than most of Disco’s stronger ones. So far so good.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 11:06am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I say for a bunch of people who complain about the excess crying in Discovery, there sure is some excess crying in your posts.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 12:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Dave in MN
“ I think you'd all have a lot more fun with Discovery if you just embrace the failure.”

I wish I could. But frankly I don’t find it bad enough to laugh at MST3K style, but it’s not good enough to take seriously.

@Saru’s ganglia
I see tons of people who hate-read on Fox News boards just to say how much they hate Trump. And I see tons of people hate-read CNN articles just to say how much they hate Biden or Obama. (Yes I follow both and try to find the truth somewhere in between). My point is, hate-watching is common, and why judge someone for that? Maybe they want to identify as a hate-watcher. The other main camp, which I’m a part of, desperately would like to see some good Trek on TV and despite moments of promise (like this episode), are repeatedly let down. Read through the Enterprise comments, this is nothing new. Still others may simply watch because they’ve invested many hours, if not years or decades already in not just Disco but all of Trek, and even others watch only to have a discourse on these message boards (even if they hate it), and even others might just be completionists and want to see every episode (even if they hate it). I don’t understand why you feel the need to repeatedly defend your position that haters should just shut up and stop watching, but for someone who harps on people for wasting their time, you’re REALLY wasting your time.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Dec 25, 2020, 11:10am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

I would also like to point out that the actor playing Gray
is terrible. He strikes me as some YouTuber who makes reaction videos and acts like a teenager way past his prime. It’s hard to watch and hard to listen to.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 8:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@Eric Jensen
“ Reno is under utilised. Just to make one comment? There had better be more next episode. Could there be a mole on Discovery?”

I heard Tig Notaro’s interview on Star Trek: The Pod Directive podcast (it’s co-hosted Paul F. Tomkins, one of my all time faves), and she said that Kurtzman was a personal friend and fan who said basically “whatever you can do for us in for, we’ll take it.” She’s busy with her own stuff and Just pops in for a few lines when she’s available. All in all, not a bad gig.

As far as the episode, I actually quite enjoyed it. I think Peter G. is correct and it is like battered-wife syndrome, the analogy actually fits. Discovery always promises me it’s learned it’s lesson and it’ll be better this time. Then it goes right back and does the same thing. But you know what other show made me feel like that? Voyager. And there are many things about Voyager I look back fondly on. But man was it frustrating watching it the first time.

I’d give this episode 3, maybe even 3.5 stars. Burnham didn’t cry, the ship is in legitimate danger, Doug Jones acting was off the charts, and it advanced the plot, albeit towards a semi-ridiculous conclusion. BTW Vance is in on it. He’s gotta be. He’s tried to separate Discovery from her crew from day one, and Osyrra just so happens to track them down when only Vance and the crew know the captain will be off the ship. And I’m sure they’re monitoring for outgoing signals, so who does that leave? Vance. He probably gave her Tilly’s Starfleet record.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 12:00am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Yanks
“I wish Boba would have planted Mercedes on her ass. What was all that attitude about?”

So once Boba began speaking, she knew he was a clone, albeit not in the same vein as the rest of the clone army. And since Jango was not technically a true Mandalorian, he was apparently held in pretty low regard by Mandalorians, and I assume his clones would be regarded as even poorer copies of a pretender.

I really enjoyed this episode. And yes, storm troopers did what storm troopers do, namely get shot in the face and scream, but that’s literally been all of Star Wars. You can’t blame them for staying true to form. I give this 4/4 stars, but I do feel bringing in Luke was maybe a mistake. I enjoyed this taking place outside of the Skywalker saga, and to have him brought in as Jedi Ex Machina seems like a genie you can’t put back in the bottle. But I can’t say this enough: just masterful. Respecting all the source material, representation in a way that doesn’t beat you over the head, great characters... heroes, anti-heroes, villains.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 6:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Yanks
“Discovery through the end of Season 2 has had 29 episodes. For argument purposes, let's equate that to the first season of any of the Star Trek spin-offs.”

I will say I have higher expectations from a season that is half as long. When you’re cranking out 26 episode seasons there’s gonna be some filler in there, but with a shorter season, every episode counts that much more. Maybe Stranger Things and The Mandalorian have me spoiled, but they managed to have very few clunkers, with Stranger Things being highly serialized, and Mandalorian being highly episodic. Discovery aims for both, but achieves neither. The beginning of Season 3 was actually a big improvement, but all the cliches and predictable tropes have really left me wondering what the showrunners are thinking. I will say this much: after this season I will almost assuredly be canceling my CBSAA subscription. I’m not saying I’ll stop watching forever, but I certainly don’t think Disco or Picard are particularly worth paying money for.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 6:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

As with most episodes, Saru was the best part. Unfortunately, just as I said a few episodes back, now we’ve set up this season-long big bad problem, and we’re cramming a resolution into the last 2 or 3 episodes. Forgive me for not being excited about the end of this season. This wasn’t by any means a bad episode, I’d say maybe 2.5-3 stars, but as another commentator put it nicely, Georgiou’s send off just wasn’t earned. And I was also hoping to get through more than 2 episodes without Burnham crying. Jeez, can you imagine Janeway or Torres being so emotional all the time? But, the GOF was a great idea, and he played it great in both episodes. Carl’s a great name for him lol.



Side note, any guesses on when the PU and MU split? I’ve heard theories that it was WWII, but during WWIII would strike me as more likely. If they did a spin-off, I would enjoy seeing the universes split during the Eugenic wars. But we’ve already seen how current Trek handles Khan, so maybe I should be careful what I wish for.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sun, Dec 13, 2020, 10:18am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

I’d give this episode 3 stars, possibly 3.5. It was still very good, but not the same caliber as the previous 3, all of which were 4 stars in my opinion. The pirates scene in particular was ok, but not great. One thing I did like about it was when Mando got hit, he was like “Ouch. This stormtrooper armor really sucks compared to my armor.” Maybe they’ll explore this later in an Iron Man “does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man” type of story.

The shot of the villagers as a Vietnam allegory was a nice touch, adding some humanity to a universe where entire planets can get kablooied in the blink of an eye. I also enjoyed the Magnificent 7 vibes. One question though, if Mando never takes his helmet off in front of other people (and I think the loophole here is that he’s not taking HIS helmet off), then why does he bother trimming a mustache? It’s more work.

@CaptainMercer: “ I watched it again.. Burr is so damn good. Like I know almost nothing about him, but his timing, his delivery.. it's really good. And his facial expressions throughout the mess hall scene.. just so damn good”

Bill Burr prior to this, is one of my favorite comedians. Blue, but not offensively so. If you think his acting timing is great, his comedic timing is amazing. Like you though, I had no idea about his acting chops. He was fantastic in this episode and the previous one he was in.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 5:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

Plot: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Discovery. Its 800-year mission: to cry upon sparsely populated worlds. To revisit old stories and seek out woke civilizations. To them them they where no them has every they’d before.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 2:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 14: The Tragedy

This was another 4 star outing for me. I’m not anti-fan service, in fact I welcome it. A little bit of fan service would have done wonders for “The Last Jedi” instead of them doubling down in the subvert-all-expectations nonsense they were going for.

To get the original actor who played Jango was pretty awesome, and again, this series continues to amaze me by building a universe around a random Mandalorian to bridge the gap between the original trilogy (the good), the prequels (the bad), and the sequels (the ugly). To maneuver within these parameters and still tell a meaningful story while also incorporating Legends and Animated content is insane to me.

I do agree with those of you that feel that the small scale stories of season 1 are regrettably turning into larger, galaxy-impacting narratives. But it was bound to happen. The Avengers morphed from a rich guy kidnapped by terrorist to the savior of half the life in the universe. (I also didn’t mind the fan service in that movie fwiw)
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 12:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Miles I respectfully disagree. I have no qualms with representation of gender and sexuality. But this is blatant misrepresentation. It’s estimated that throughout history, about up to 5% of our population has been LBGTQ (more conservative estimates put it at about 2%). The writers of Discovery would have you believe it’s about 1/3. BUT if you look at the crew members this season that we actually know their sexual preferences we have: Burnham (straight), Booker (straight), Tilly (straight, *I assume) Stamets (gay), Culber (gay), Adira (non-binary), Reno (lesbian), Georgiou (bi). Detmer, Owsekun, Dr. Pollard, Rhys and Bryce have all not been addressed, and Linus and Saru presumably have alien physiology.

In short, in season 3, a whopping 70% of crew members that have had their gender/sexuality addressed are not straight. This is not “representation” as you say. This is either
A. The writers having an agenda of some sort, or
B. The writers arbitrarily ticking off boxes in the name of being “inclusive” or “progressive” or “woke” or what have you.

This misrepresentation in the name of diversity I believe is what leaves a bad taste in peoples’ mouths. The problem I believe is in the writing, not in our reaction.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 11:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

This was a 2/2 episode if I’ve ever seen one. It’s not bad or offensive, but it’s also not good or interesting either. The A plot was pure filler. I can’t say I’ve really cared less about a planet, and the arrival of Osyraa felt contrived. I think for her to be as menacing as they make her out to be, they probably could have shown her misdeeds a little more in the weeks running up to this episode, rather than a mustache-twirling “feed my nephew to worms” prologue.

I liked the Tilly/Saru moments. I would love him to say “pedal to the metal”, but that’s just me. As far as Georgiou, I do agree with previous posters who tire of this one-liner factory, but I think they did enough to keep me interested and flesh out how people are really trying to help her even as she pushes them away.

Adira and Stammets probably have the best acting chemistry on the show. However, and I’m sure this is going to be an unpopular view, this whole “she/them” issue just reeks of the writers saying, “Look how progressive we are! We don’t just have the L, B, and G, but now we got the T, Q, and I !!!” Its hard not to see this and feel like they’re just pandering.
Set Bookmark
Austin
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 9:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 13: The Jedi

Fantastic episode. Completely different from the last episode where the action was jam packed from start to finish to a point where it allllmost felt rushed. But this episode took its time to breathe, some real long pauses while Ahsoka pondered over Grogu.

This is two 4/4 episodes in a row for me. The 1-on-1 fight at the end was great, especially when she flipped her lightsaber around! I turned to my wife and said “oh, she dead.” Grogu’s name was.... eh? But it definitely sounds like it could come from the same place as someone named “Yoda.”

Any theories as to who the previous owner of the second lightsaber was? It couldn’t be Anakin’s could it? I never finished the cartoon.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.