Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 63 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Jun 10, 2021, 11:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

I love the surrealist aspect of this episode. It's really unique in the franchise. Surreal imagery, surreal staging, surreal dialogue. Yet somehow it works and it's captivating.

This episode captures why I really like the 2nd season. You could tell the writers were really trying to do all sorts of different things, taking risks, to make the series unique and pull it away from the original series 2.0 that the 1st season was shaping out to be. A lot of people talk about the third season as being the first real season when things come together and become the TNG we all love. But for me it's really the 2nd season when this happens....albeit still with those spandexy uniforms...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, May 23, 2021, 12:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

The only problem I have with this episode is a pretty big one in my mind:

The connection between the parasite little brother storyline and Data's storyline. The needed to be connected in the sense that Data (and his father) SHOULD NOT ALLOW ANY RISK OF LIFE to happen to the little parasite brother boy in sickbay. Soong should have informed Data that there was no risk to the boy, since he has scheduled the Enterprise to divert in time. Or, even better, Soong could know--through Data--what the little boy was suffering from and give him an antidote when Data first arrived on Soong's planet ("Oh, but here's an antidote just in case you don't reach that staircase of yours in time my boy..."). You could make it one step better by having Lore not care about Data returning to the Enterprise--wanting him to stay for his own emotional reasons, or Lore could even smash the antidote in a fit of rage.

Whatever...

The only thing I'm driving at is that Data (and Soong) seem to be quite callous at not considering the child's life being endangered by the diversion of the Enterprise. There is simply no mention of it. The writers could have used the opportunity to nicely tie in the Data/Lore storyline and keep Soong and Data sympathetic to the child's life.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 1:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

The scenes with keiko and O'Brien were pretty hot. otherwise this one's a dud.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Oct 9, 2020, 11:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

Kaczynski, as in Ted Kaczynski, author of the books ANTI-TECH REVOLUTION and TECHNOLOGICAL SLAVERY and the manifesto Industrial Society and Its Future. The pro-wilderness and anti-technology anarchist terrorist and social theorist.

I always thought it was ironic that his name is used in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Sep 3, 2020, 10:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Speaking of Ashley Judd in Star Trek:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghVSZNYPXtw
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Sep 2, 2020, 12:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

I like this episode, but hear me out and I'm going to be serious here:

My big gripe with this episode is that Sarjenka is so UGLY. I mean, the character is just poorly designed. It makes you cringe just looking at it. They could have made her look much cuter, and even if they wanted to make some social commentary re: non-judgement and difference of appearances etc., they could have given the alien look more integrity. For example, the klingons are "ugly" in a traditional sense, but they have a lot of integrity in their look, such that their appearance is respected and eventually admired. But the Sarjenka alien design is just so poorly thought out and sloppy in my opinion. Further, her design evokes stereotypes of old witches and dying, balding female monsters. The hair, and the high brow for example. It's just a bad design that is so bad I would go so far to say it negatively affects the character and thereby the story.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Aug 16, 2020, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Way to Eden

This episode absolutely rocks. Stupid hippies--who accomplished absolutely NOTHING and didn't (and fundamentally couldn't) help humanity or the earth in any way but were just self-indulgent masturbators all get blown the hell away in this wonderful rejection of hippie culture by Gene Roddenberry and crew.

I just wish they all died.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 3:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

This is a guilty pleasure of mine. I just like the imagery and music. It's a cool combo to have the Indiana jones feel mixed with TNG. It's just nice to have the episode playing in the background without having to get into it too much, nice ambiance.


There are a few episodes like this in trek that by themselves are pretty boring, but their tone and music and overall feel is soothing.

It soothes me.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Home Soil

I agree with Jammer's rating. This is a rare 1st season gem of an episode. It's just basic, essential idealism and star trek at its core: protect the innocent---protect life. It also manages to instill a sense of wonder and awe in the subtle magic of the universe and life in all its forms, which again is star trek at its most basic and most compelling. Sometimes the simple stuff is some of the best.

But what makes this work so well for me are the performances, especially from the guest stars and especially from the female scientist Kim. She is played by the actress Elizabeth Lindsey, and she just does a fantastic job injecting this episode with the required charm and emotion.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Oh right..... right right, I forgot about the PEDOPHILE EPISODE. Those poor kids...only they will know what truly happened to them down there...

This one probably has Maurice Hurley all over it.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 12:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

What the $#@! is wrong with this &*^%$'s voice? She sounds like she was kicked in the throat and every so often the pitch vacillates up randomly, like she's a robot stuck in opera theater mode! Somebody muzzle it!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Nov 18, 2019, 11:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

the kid is a terrible actor.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 1:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

It's a neat episode, but it just falls short. A perfect example of the missed opportunities of this series:

In a nutshell, it's too cynical. Once again the voyager crew outwits an alien adversary and then, sayonara, they're on their way to the next episode. It's a plot driven episode with no emotional weight or moral and it's a shame because these things could have easily been woven in.

At the end, Chakotay should have reasoned with them, explaining that they can't live their lives in paranoia about other people, that not all races are the same, and that they can be friends etc. Outwit and defeat the enemy, and then use it as an opportunity to redeem them and bring humanity to them. Chakotay should have been like: "look, we can kill you all right now, but we won't, because that's not who we are! We come in peace, we mean you no harm! You cannot judge other people to be the same, let's be friends! I love you!" Then the aliens could come back and have one of those little cocktail party things they do in star trek and the final scenes could be the aliens thanking everyone with really happy dreams... each dream is different, except Kim still winds up with seven.

That would be cool.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 1:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I'm going off memory here so I may be wrong, but,

It never quite sit with me well that the voyager crew basically left that alien guy (the guy who traded in the negative emotions and "caused" the violence) in the hands of that planet's twisted and evil justice and morality system, probably to be locked away forever, simply for the "crime" of thinking bad thoughts.

It was like, "This is horrible! Thoughtcrimes! How utterly barbaric and Orwellian and evil, we've got to find a way to rescue B'Ellana!"

--after saving b'ellana--

"yeah, we found the guy who had the negative thoughts we're gonna turn him over to you to punish horrifically. have a nice day, see yah later!"

Just didn't seem noble.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

"It's pon farr night at the Vulcan nightclub."

Wow. Just wow. I wonder what that's like.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

My favorite part of this episode is how abrupt and trite Picard's farewell is to all the Romulan kids.

--AFTER EVERYTHING FAILS COLOSSALLY--

Picard: "What will you do now"

Romulan chick: "What we have always done. Continue to teach. Pass on the ideals to a new generation. Work for the day when new thoughts--- [[PICARD THINKING TO HIMSELF: "Yeah yeah yeah, move on with it you dumb bitch I've got to get back to my ship already."] ---may be spoken aloud."

Picard (now in stiff diplomat mode): "The federation will welcome that day" [[PICARD THINKING TO HIMSELF: "Fat chance. Ugh I can't stand naive hippie chicks... god damn it, the federation's gotta stop sending me to these stupid, utterly naive 'movements'"]]

Data: (programmed to get Picard out of these situations): "Captain, we will need to reach our transport site in 14 minutes."

Picard: (relieved) [[THINKING TO HIMSELF: well, this is awkward, what should I say to these morons. gotta say something...um...]] "I wish you well." (moves away sheepishly).

Romulan kids: "Thank you. Thanks. Thank you captain." [[standing around all awkward and shit]]


---Moments later the Tal Shiar shock troops move in and torture or exterminate all the remaining dissidents. Their cries of pain reverberate up the caves and throughout the empire.---
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I just have to say, Robert Beltran is a very, very good actor. Actually, I think he is superb. Definitely the best part of the show, in my opinion, and it's a shame they didn't use him more...even though they used him a fair amount.

I am surprised that he hasn't had a bigger career, but I wish him the very best for the future.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

the whole odo / kira relationship never worked. i'm sorry, but it's just flat. not believable. no chemistry. nothing. it's awful really.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, May 9, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

It was a good episode right up until Riker MURDERED those two people.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

lol "urges"
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

I keep thinking about Linda Hamilton when I see this guest star in this episode...specifically the Terminator movie. Then there is the fact that Linda Hamilton has a twin sister, which is extra intriguing...

I think this guest star's career was probably negatively affected by Linda Hamilton's success. I mean, if you're a casting director, aren't you telling yourself "Do I really want the Terminator chick in my production?" Think about it. It's not just the looks, but it's the whole vibe.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Love the music. The score of this episode is uniquely great, as with the overall tone.

I feel like season three is unique in that all its episodes are much more different from each other in tone and flavor than in the other seasons.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Question: What was Jennifer Lien like to work with??

Cuz if she was a pain in the arse, then the writers probably just wanted to have a good laugh shi*&^% on her character after they forced her off the show. I wouldn't blame them in that case...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

"As you know, I provide the most memorable deserts...hhhmmmmmhhhmmmyyeahhhmmmmmmmmmmmarggggggggaahhhahhhh"


Now THIS is sexual harassment. But you see how we men handle it? We handle it with class. Instead of filing a complaint with HR, Riker makes the chick feel like her advances are wanted, and he playfully reciprocates. I mean, what's the harm? He'll just avoid her later on.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

lol
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.