Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 49 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Oct 5, 2019, 10:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

"It's pon farr night at the Vulcan nightclub."

Wow. Just wow. I wonder what that's like.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 12:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

My favorite part of this episode is how abrupt and trite Picard's farewell is to all the Romulan kids.

--AFTER EVERYTHING FAILS COLOSSALLY--

Picard: "What will you do now"

Romulan chick: "What we have always done. Continue to teach. Pass on the ideals to a new generation. Work for the day when new thoughts--- [[PICARD THINKING TO HIMSELF: "Yeah yeah yeah, move on with it you dumb bitch I've got to get back to my ship already."] ---may be spoken aloud."

Picard (now in stiff diplomat mode): "The federation will welcome that day" [[PICARD THINKING TO HIMSELF: "Fat chance. Ugh I can't stand naive hippie chicks... god damn it, the federation's gotta stop sending me to these stupid, utterly naive 'movements'"]]

Data: (programmed to get Picard out of these situations): "Captain, we will need to reach our transport site in 14 minutes."

Picard: (relieved) [[THINKING TO HIMSELF: well, this is awkward, what should I say to these morons. gotta say something...um...]] "I wish you well." (moves away sheepishly).

Romulan kids: "Thank you. Thanks. Thank you captain." [[standing around all awkward and shit]]


---Moments later the Tal Shiar shock troops move in and torture or exterminate all the remaining dissidents. Their cries of pain reverberate up the caves and throughout the empire.---
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Nemesis

I just have to say, Robert Beltran is a very, very good actor. Actually, I think he is superb. Definitely the best part of the show, in my opinion, and it's a shame they didn't use him more...even though they used him a fair amount.

I am surprised that he hasn't had a bigger career, but I wish him the very best for the future.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Fri, Jul 19, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Call to Arms

the whole odo / kira relationship never worked. i'm sorry, but it's just flat. not believable. no chemistry. nothing. it's awful really.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, May 9, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

It was a good episode right up until Riker MURDERED those two people.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Mar 12, 2019, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Outcast

lol "urges"
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 1:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Legacy

I keep thinking about Linda Hamilton when I see this guest star in this episode...specifically the Terminator movie. Then there is the fact that Linda Hamilton has a twin sister, which is extra intriguing...

I think this guest star's career was probably negatively affected by Linda Hamilton's success. I mean, if you're a casting director, aren't you telling yourself "Do I really want the Terminator chick in my production?" Think about it. It's not just the looks, but it's the whole vibe.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sun, Jan 13, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Price

Love the music. The score of this episode is uniquely great, as with the overall tone.

I feel like season three is unique in that all its episodes are much more different from each other in tone and flavor than in the other seasons.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Jan 5, 2019, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

Question: What was Jennifer Lien like to work with??

Cuz if she was a pain in the arse, then the writers probably just wanted to have a good laugh shi*&^% on her character after they forced her off the show. I wouldn't blame them in that case...
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

"As you know, I provide the most memorable deserts...hhhmmmmmhhhmmmyyeahhhmmmmmmmmmmmarggggggggaahhhahhhh"


Now THIS is sexual harassment. But you see how we men handle it? We handle it with class. Instead of filing a complaint with HR, Riker makes the chick feel like her advances are wanted, and he playfully reciprocates. I mean, what's the harm? He'll just avoid her later on.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

lol
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Nov 22, 2018, 10:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

One of the great strengths of TNG, is that even in the silly or trivial episodes, there are moments that are so very sincere and sentimental and powerful. A perfect example of this is the final scene of this episode, when the adult Guinan is leaning over a (child) Ro as she is playing with crayons. Embracing the play of childhood for the first time in a while, she becomes very creative, which leads her to drawing a picture of her mother. She tells Guinan that she never thought to draw a picture of her mother before becoming a child, and Guinan says: "That's the thing about crayons, they can take you to more places than a starship."

God, this is Whoopie Goldberg's best role. She's just so wonderful, so tranquil, so serene as Guinan. Wish we had a bit more of that character.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Nov 19, 2018, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

OK, two things I love about Stewart's performance here:

1) Just watch the way he deliver's this line:
Worf: A Promelian Battlecruiser?!
Picard: With its lang-cycle fusion engines still intact!

I mean, come on! Just look at his delivery! Stewart is running on all 8 cylinders and just milking the most out of this. It's awe-inspiring.

2) When Picard steps in on Georgi in the Holodeck when the sh*t it really hitting the fan, and Geordi introduces the captain to the holographic Dr. Leah Brahms. Picard just looks briefly over at Brahms and then stares at Geordi for a good while. It's so awesomely awkward, and awesomely full of tension and Geordi knows in an instant that he has slipped up allowing his feelings to get before his duty to the captain and the ship. It's so subtle--- just great acting.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Nov 7, 2018, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Ship in a Bottle

My favorite scene in this episode is when Picard and Data are in engineering and Data is explaining to him that they are actually on the Holodeck and everything is a simulation including everyone else on board....... right in front of Geordi...while they completely ignore Geordi.

I mean, Geordi just stars blankly at them as they discuss how everything isn't real, its a pretty surreal scene.

It would have been really funny if the (holographic) Geordi started to get visibly anxious when Data tells Picard that its all a simulation, and starts to freak out...all in the background of the scene. Picard and Data could be having their little talk about how Geordi isn't real and it's all fake and in the background you could just have the holographic Geordi pacing back and forth and saying "Oh my God, Oh my God, Oh my God..."
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Sep 22, 2018, 12:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@ Chrome

Well said, and astute.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Sep 15, 2018, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

Don't get me wrong she's still good looking and I would have sex with her. I'd probably even breed with her, so long as she was always supervised around the children.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Sep 15, 2018, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

no.... not Democrat. I'd say her insane ramblings about periods at the "Women's march" qualifies as radical.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Sat, Sep 15, 2018, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Oh yeah! Levar! Levar's career actually improves without the success of TNG. He get's lucky in a number of castings, but really trikes it big when he strikes up a friendship with director Ridley Scott while acting in 1492: Conquest of Paradise. Ridley casts him as a supporting character in a string of his films. He moves on to a successful directing career and has just now (2018) released a documentary film that got awarded at Cannes. His career took a bit of a dent through his close relationship with Weinstein, but he's recovering.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, Sep 6, 2018, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Suddenly Human

This whole episode feels like it's from the first season. Strange episode.

And couldn't they think of something else for the kid to do when upset other than that stupid "Banar" Good God was that annoying!
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 10:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part I

The sequence where Data dreams he is a bird and he flies through the ship and eventually out into space is one of the most mesmerizing, beautiful, and creative sequences in all of dramatic art. It's just so awe inspiring! It's sequences like this in TNG--sequences that are "out-there" and unique in a highly creative off the wall sort of way-- that make TNG not just a great dramatic show, but a wonderful work of cinematic art. It's stuff like this that transcend the medium and make TNG a mythology that becomes part of the collective consciousness. Totally heavenly.

For this sequence alone, and similar sequences, this episode is worth 3 stars. Plus a pretty good story...equals 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 10:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

@Adrian Martin

Timescape is wonderful. It's a gem! It's just so creative and beautifully directed. It has such great ambiance and tone and it's the perfect blend of adventure, wacky sci-fi ideas, humor and character.

it's certainly one of my top ten favorite episodes.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

Anyone else pick up on the interracial sexual stereotype subtext?

The prim, proper white engineer who's lived her delicate life in the sheltered cocoon of her "institute" and the big, muscular, virile black man who's out "in the field" doing the grunt work.

I'm not offended by this, I just found it highly erotic. Clearly Dr. Brahms lusts after Geordi's BBC--she's just begging to be "thrust" out of her boring academic life into the wild jungles of open space adventure. The sexual tension here is palpable. There is a mutual respect of course, but it's likely impossible for this relationship not to have sexual undertones. It's an archetypal dynamic.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Sep 4, 2018, 10:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Just imagine if you will an alternate timeline:

Imagine that the writers strike continued for another year. Imagine that shades of grey was just the beginning of a continuous run of clip shows that went on to compose the entire third season...all regurgitating the same tired crappy episodes in some stupid way only slightly different from each other.

Then the show is cancelled after its third (mostly clip show season)

TNG never becomes the global phenomenon that it is today. No more star trek spin-offs are produced. Star trek dies a quiet death in early 1990.

The actors all drift around in quiet desperation, living unfulfilled lives. Broken dreams.

Mirinia Sirtis gets into hardcore porn to pay the bills...but contracts AIDS and dies in 2001.
Michael Dorn quits acting and becomes a successful commercial airline pilot, flying for Delta.
Patrick Stewart returns to England and stage acting. He can never get the roles he once did, even in small English productions. Occasionally he does commercials for local companies. Most of the commercials are spoofs at the fact that he was "that other star trek captain."
Brent Spiner quits acting and goes into insurance sales
Jonathan Frake's career starts to dry up. He gets smaller and smaller roles. Refusing to give up the dream, and saddled with emotional distress, he drifts and flounders. He becomes addicted to meth. In and out of rehab, he later dies of suicide.
Wil Weaton still goes to conventions, and makes his living doing star trek appearances. His life is more or less the same.
Gates McFadden retires from acting and becomes a drama teacher at a rural high school somewhere in middle america. She is beloved by her students and her community. She marries a wealthy real estate developer. She remodels houses in her spare time and was even featured in one of those remodel shows.


Yep...it all almost happened. And it could have happened, if things didn't pull themselves together after the early seasons of TNG. Let this be a reminder to everyone never to give up. Persistence. Good Humor. Faith. Hard work.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Sep 4, 2018, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Game

"devoted her life to humanitarian interests like treating AIDs and preventing poverty"

this isn;t the tragic part. you can still do the above without a political affiliation...and without going full radical.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Sep 3, 2018, 10:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

I like this episode! It's certainly a guilty pleasure! I just appreciate all the ironic humor ("room service?" "It was a dark and stormy night----not a very good start" etc.) Plus it's got an upbeat tone to it. But most of all I do genuinely feel a good deal of suspense here. This place is purgatory, and the desire to get out, and the sense of danger, is just so wonderfully palpable.

Having said all that I know that there are flaws and that the story is pretty simple without any big morality issues etc. Nevertheless, it's a load of good fun.

2 stars.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.