Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Anthimos
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This 900 years into the future thing piques my interest. It reminds me of the rumors I heard years ago about Gene Roddenberrys original concept for "Andromeda". I had heard it was written as a Star Trek series were a Federation starship was somehow forzen in time for many centuries and was released into a galaxy where Federation was a distant memory, the Vulcans had abandoned logic and were warlike and the klingon empire was destroyed leaving them almost gypsy like bands of refugees/pirates. The Federation captain decided to go on a one ship crusade to bring the ideals of the federation back to this bleak time. The story went that Roddenberrys wife nixed the idea because it's bleakness "wasn't Star Trek". Instead it was rework as that POS Andromeda. The Idea that somebody might have decided to brush off Genes original idea and give it a spin is exciting to me. Given since Rodenberrys death Trek has already gotten darker I think those old objections no longer hold weight. I for one would love to see something original to Trek like that. One ship against all the odds trying to rebuild the federation. And I say original knowing full well andromeda already did it. As far as I am concerned that show never existed and I bet most people under the age of 30 don't even know about it. Hell given it's rating even an older audience has probably never seen an episode of it. I think rehashing the concept in the Trek universe would work.
Set Bookmark
anthimos112
Mon, Jan 29, 2018, 7:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@wolfstar

You ask me to stop "berating people" for attacking the show they make an informed choice to watch every week yet go on to defend this comment section as a forum where people can have dissenting opinions. Do you not see the hypocrisy in that posistion? I have no problem with critcism, what i have a problem with is CONTINUED whining. Week after week after week. Nitpicking for the sake of nitpicking. Any reasonable person can agree that the show is not perfect and still come from a place of positivity, a place of "here is where i hope the show is headed" or "I would like to see this". Instead most of these reviews are simply bashing and listing of faults show after show. A reasonable person would also stop watching a show that brought them such displeasure. Unfortunately a big part of Trek fandom is made up of unreasonable, perfectionist complainers who enjoy the critique of a Trek show more than they do ENJOYING a Trek show. They feed of off the nitpicking and complaining. I have seen it for 30 years. Some Trek fans just want to whine, plain and simple. They are free to do so. I am also free point it out.
Set Bookmark
anthimos112
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@AR

Oh i never once thought you would tune out. That isn't what people in the modern "complaint culture" do. You will watch 10 seasons of this and complain trhough 90% of it if you had to. That is WHY you watch it. And the show can handle the week to week analysis just fine it is the other trek fans that have to suffer through week after week of nitpicking nonsense that are the worse for wear. Trek fandom seems to have been split into two camps...those who want a new trek show to enjoy, and those who want a new trek show for them to enjoy not enjoying.
@Shannon
I agree with everything you just wrote.
Set Bookmark
anthimos112
Sun, Jan 28, 2018, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

@ AR

Stop trying to trek geek your way through the plot and just try and enjoy it episode to episode for what it is. Then look back on the show and as a whole. If people were to have spent half as much energy analyzing and critiquing each episode of the original series as trek "fans" spend on every series that has come since, the whole franchise would have died after some of the first seasons less interesting episodes. I for one am interested to see how they use the idea of exploring not just space like traditional trek but alternate universes and timelines.
Set Bookmark
anthimos112
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 11:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

@ Peter G.

"Except that we're told point blank that the Empire is a "humans only club". That doesn't leave much wiggle room for interpretation. And I also don't buy that the Vulcans were enemies of the Empire (merging their tech with Klingons) and yet Spock is an exception, since in Mirror, Mirror he uses the threat of having Vulcan allies to keep others in line. The direct implication of Spock's comment is that the Vulcans are especially notorious for being ruthless, which tonally puts them on the same side as the Empire."

I think you are missing certain historical parallels. Don't think slavery and subjugation ala american slavery, think of it more along roman times because that is where the MU draws most of its inspiration I think. The romans conquered and subjugated dozens on nationalites and races and clearly viewed Roman society and Citizens as superior to all others. yet they also incorporated the conquered into the empire. Non Roman foreigners and even freed slaves were given high ranking and powerful positions in both the millitary and government. The Romans were loath to waste talent when they saw it, their prejudices not withstanding. Now that doesn't mean these people were ever 100% accepted into Roman society, but it does mean seeing a conquered German or Provincial Greek in a high ranking position of power was not rare.
Set Bookmark
anthimos112
Mon, Jan 8, 2018, 11:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

You know what after giving it some thought I think MU Burnham might be the emperor. Piecing the clues together... The emperor is described as "faceless" meaning it would be easy for a coup to replace one with another without the majority of the empire knowing it had even been done. It is said that MU burnham was killed by MU lorca trying to pull a coup and then lorca was killed by the emperor. So burnham is "presumed dead" meaning no body. So what if what really happened was Burnham killed the emperor, assumed the throne quietly, declared Michael Burnham dead and killed lorca to cover it all up? Stamets prophetic "Don't go into the palace!" Is a warning because when our Burnham tries to present our Lorca to the Emperor she doesn't realise that she is in great danger because the emperor knows she is an imposter. Personally I like the Idea it is Georgiou because of the conflict that will bring Burnham, but it would be interesting also if Burnham were made to confront the "Ruthless" version of herself as emperor. We have seen our version of Burnham act ruthlessly before, what if the MU is a chance for Burnham to see what she COULD have become without the mentorship of Sarek and Georgiou? All I ask for is a good story. Either one of these could work if done right.
Set Bookmark
anthimos112
Sun, Jan 7, 2018, 9:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Despite Yourself

While I am slightly disappointed they seem to be going simple MU rather than something more interesting I have to say I am going along with this arc for now. Any bets on who the emperor is? My money is on Captain Georgiou. But maybe it is Lorca somehow and that's how they get found out. Outside bet is Hoshi.
Set Bookmark
Anthimos112
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Chrome

While I agree with you it is important to avoid a "Star Trek: Sliders" I think if done right it can be an exciting prospect. The secret would be balance. Not just a new AU every epsiode but multi episode arcs exploring the differences in the realities and raising interesting moral questions along the way. For instance how would Discovery react to finding a Ship of alien refugees who were our realities versions of Klingons fleeing a Milliteristic Federation? How would they react at that discovery? How would it affect their future behaviour? There is soooo much ripe material to be covered using this AU premise the question is how will they handle it. I admit it CAN be done cliched. But I alos see the pontential for great stories and in the end isn't that why we all love Star Trek of the fantasy of Star Wars? My argument with Thomas and many others posting here is all they seem to want is what is familiar to them about Trek. After 50 years I say lets go boldly into the unknown!
Set Bookmark
Anthimos112
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 10:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Thomas

Don't cherry pick my words. I said "original for a Star Trek show". There has never been a Star Trek show that has made exploration of alternate universes a major part of the show. And no, based on your words, I don't think you want a "bold adventurous new star trek series". I think what you want is a rehash of past series you loved with new characters and slightly different plot points but with the general themes and structure of storytelling you have received from every Trek for over 50 years. I don't think you want something genuinely new based upon what you have communicated here. Because this IS GENUINELY NEW. This is what new looks like and I don't think you like it very much at all. Which is fine. I'm just saying maybe this isn't for you. Maybe this is for people who actually want a NEW Trek. A new viewpoint in an old setting. The ability to view alternate universes would give us a chance to view Trek through multiple different lenses that dogmatic adherence to continuity and "Gene Rodenberry's vision" never would have allowed us. I am anxious to see if the writers actually use the opportunity they have here. You obviously are not. Fine. Move on.
Set Bookmark
Anthimos112
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Thomas
How I read what you wrote...
I despair that the Discovery writers will do something original for a Star Trek show and not give me the "Trek by numbers" I and other continuity geeks long for. Why does anything ever have to be different??? I like formulaic Star Trek. Something that fits like a comfortable old shoe. Heroic yet flawed enough to be human captain. Wise and steady first officer. Bridge crew that we can love but alos at least one to pick apart as awful or wasted as a character. Villains that we hate but also like to quote and have as our wallpaper on our PC's. And stories that make us think but rarely ever question our beloved crew our the general rightness of starfleet and Saint Rodenberry's Utopian visions of our future.

If you want all that go watch reruns. Plenty there for you. Let some of us have a different Trek without all your bellyaching.
Set Bookmark
Anthimos112
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 9:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Alternate Parallel Universes. APU. I like it. I like it alot. It answers annoying questions about continuity while at the same time freeing Discovery from the shackles of rigid minded trek geeks. If done properly this could be a great vehicle for some real interesting stories. Discovery could be the first Trek ship dedicated not to eploration of space but to exploration of alternate realities. The ethical and moral questions they would face along the way could dwarf any first contact with an alien species. Imagine the possiblities of what both Discovery the ship and the show could accomplish if not bound by continuity Nazis. An APU where Captain Georgiou is still alive. An APU where the klingons are closer to ours and not theirs and the discovery crew has to deal interact with them. . An APU where the federation doesn't exist. An APU where Burnham was never spocks sister. An APU where overrun by the borg. Maybe each episode they return back to there reality to report to Starfleet like true explorers or maybe due to some trauma to stamets they are lost.Like voyager they are struggling to return home only not across space but through realities. The possibilities are endless. I just hope this show has the chutzpah to go through with it.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.