Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 269 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Grant Kerr
Wed, May 13, 2020, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

There are bad episodes (Woman King for instance) but this episode is extremely irritating. The writing is heavy handed and capricious. Adama and Roslin's villainy is pantomime and jarring. Baltar's ludicrous messiah complex burgeons and that it's recieved sympathetically doesn't make any sense (he sentenced Chief's wife to death and now she's reading his Marxist pamphlet). Pilots are held up as the epitome of a loafing upper class when in fact they were only just flying convoys through radiation clouds. Chief is a representative of the underclass despite living in a massive (relatively speaking) apartment... etc.

Hate it. Feels like it was written by a college kid.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Thu, May 7, 2020, 7:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Does anybody know where i can find out what viewers Deep Space Nine got?
It's not on wikipedia for some reason!
Set Bookmark
petulant
Wed, Apr 22, 2020, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The Last Jedi was the only Disney Star Wars film i liked. I thought the scenes with Luke and Rey were the best but found the scenes with other characters a bit silly.
I wish Rian Johnson had directed all of the sequel trilogy but with less silliness.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 9:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

@petulant

If you keep using the name petulant, people will think you're me. I've been using that name for some time on here.
I find it kind of weird and more than coincidental that you not only chose the same name as me but also chose to spell it with a lowercase p.
Pick your own name.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 9:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

@petulant

If you keep using the name petulant, people will think you're me. I've been using that name for some time on here.
I find it kind of weird and more than coincidental that you not only chose the same name as me but also chose to spell it with a lowercase p.
Pick your own name.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 9:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

If they hadn't dumped Ro Laren in the pointless Maquis she could've been in the TNG films, it's probably for the best though because the TNG films were a mess.
Rick Berman and Brannon Braga have a lot to answer for.
Set Bookmark
Antispam answer = PICARD
Sat, Apr 11, 2020, 12:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

... then Picard wakes up and the whole show was just a dream ...
Set Bookmark
antispam answer = picard
Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

What happened to that dude who says "I Am Tosk".

Did Q transport him to Sherwood Forest?
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

“Hahaha. You're such a bitch.”

Language, please! I used to be able to come here and read these boards with my children, but between you and Jammer it’s becoming very difficult.
Set Bookmark
AnthonyE1778
Fri, Feb 14, 2020, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

What is with everyone who “expected a TNG feel”? Both the show runners AND Patrick Stewart were VERY clear for many months before the show premiered that it would NOT be a TNG show and that it would be very different from TNG days. In fact, it’s one of the main reason Stewart agreed to do it; that it was not the same thing he was doing during TNG. Accept it and move on, please. It’s getting tiresome. As are pointless and frankly inept complaints about the cursing. Get over yourself.

As for the episode, it was entertaining enough. Nothing too special though. The Seven cameo at the end was pretty thrilling. Elnor is a promising character, but didn’t have too much to do. Some of the banter was pretty amusing, and Alison Pill’s character continues to delight, even if her ‘clueless’ character personality was a little overplayed this time around. I look forward to where the story goes next.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 7:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

This episode went right over your head, eh George?
Set Bookmark
AntonioE
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Impressive so far. Patrick Stewart is every bit the magnanimous actor he is always been. That interview scene gave me goosebumps and it was all because of Patrick Stewart’s wonderful, utterly convincing performance. Unfortunately this episode is not much to go off of since I know we have not been introduced to the other half of the main cast of characters. But so far it is looking promising. The writing is better so far than Discovery. The main titles and Jeff Russo’s main theme is certainly interesting and gets the job done but is a little too simplistic and around the middle of the credits sequence I felt very bored, Wondering if anything was going to happen. It was a strange feeling to feel during a credits sequence. Otherwise the music was fine.

The story is intriguing so far they. They have kept just enough hidden to keep me interested. So far the show is the very definition of slow burn but if that slow burn pays off that then I am in it for the long-haul. Overall, this was a very good episode and it is wonderful to see Captain Picard again.
Set Bookmark
Nobody Important
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 8:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: ANDR S2: Una Salus Victus

The motto, "una salus victus," is a misquotation: it should be "una salus victis." Sorbo consistently (across several episodes mentioning Argosy Special Operations) pronounces the last word "victus" (with a long u sound). The original line is from Vergil's Aeneid 2.354: "una salus victis nullam sperare salutem." For anyone who knows Latin, it's painful to hear and read "una salus victus." Somehow, that seems to encapsulate a lot of Andromeda: it had some good ideas that got wrecked in execution.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 7:09am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I read a poll where Enterprise beat every other show on television. It also had the highest rated season 7 on YouTube somewhere. These sources are indisputable facts!
Set Bookmark
Pedant
Thu, Jan 16, 2020, 7:29am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

Contrary to popular belief, there's no such thing as the Star Wars Christmas Special. It was the Star Wars Holiday Special, and the holiday in reference was Thanksgiving.
Set Bookmark
Mark Antony
Sun, Oct 6, 2019, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I love this episode, Tom Russ is an incredible actor and ,as others have said, very underused in ST Voyager.

After the meld you can actually see Tuvok beginning to lose his Vulcan control and when he finally does Tim Russ’s performance in his quarters and in the medical bay are first rate. Also the interaction between Russ and Dourif are excellent!

On another note I couldn’t help thinking while watching Crazy Tuvok in this episode, remember the DS9 episode where Worf is forced to fight Jem H’adar warriors in single combat I that Dominion prison? Imagine Crazy Tuvok in that scenario......
Set Bookmark
Mark Antony
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 5:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Did anyone else think it was a shame that Seven went to all that trouble of preparing her shipmates a gourmet meal only for it to all end up on the floor?

Those damn spacial anomalies are a real nuisance aren’t they?
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

It was a good episode but i thought it was a bad idea for Voyager to make contact with the Alpha Quadrant just seven episodes into the first season, it made it feel like getting back home wouldn't be that hard for them.
Set Bookmark
Devviant
Tue, Jul 23, 2019, 2:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

There's no other commenter on this site other than that Elliott figure that gets me to the point of teeth gritting disgust so easily and so quickly.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

“watch it with that in mind like spocks brain or star trek 5 or masks from tng...”

Or we could just not watch any of those and move on to more substantive episodes.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sat, May 18, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

A former TV show personality sounds like a TV executive? Incredible!

Sometimes when Pope Francis is talking I swear I hear Benedict. Scary!
Set Bookmark
Anthony
Fri, May 17, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

I think some of you are too hard on Kurtzman. His job depends on keeping the show fresh with modern audiences in mind and, for better or worse, the superhero craze has taken on and visual excitement is what will get people watching. That's why the studios hired him. They would have taken no interest in whether he could replicate the intellectual themes of TNG or political intrigue of DS9.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 5:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Talk about different strokes and all that. Jamahl's review makes me wonder if I was watching some other season finale.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Such a promising and exciting season, such a terrible ending.

We end up with lots of unresolved plots in the 24th century, an excess of unsubtle action and even more forceful plot points, and a very forced and sudden transition into an entirely new series engine.

I have seen people speculate that Control may turn out to be an early main component of the Borg, but I notice that it would require him to time travel back to the past at some point. Instead, I find it more interesting to wonder if Sphere is not about to become the ghost in Discovery's shell, and eventually become Zora from the Short Treck "Calypso".

I assume that the Spore Drive will be seriously limited in the next season, since IIRC it has been established that it can be used to travel through time.

The new series premise is remarkably similar to what Voyager was once expected to be. There is potential in that. But the episode itself fell just short of stating outright that we would never see Burnham or Discovery again. It looks like a repurposed series finale, instead of just a season finale. We are not even given a glimpse of post-jump Discovery. For all we know they jumped straight into a sun and were destroyed.

The human drama scenes were not too succesful either. I don't know why it is such a big deal that Spock shaved without warning. I don't think Tyler and Burnham have any chemistry at all. And the decision to just never speak of them again is made even more naive because Section 31 is apparently participating of it. Can you say cheaters? Sure you can.

I will wait for Season 3 with an expectation of a mostly-clean slate. There are a few plots already in the fire: Michael's mother, Sphere, Control, and dealing with a very different and strange new world in the Beta Quadrant of centuries beyond. Hopefully we will learn a bit more about the crew as well. And I have a hunch that Po will turn up in some capacity.

Still, a disappointing season finale.
Set Bookmark
Anthimos
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This 900 years into the future thing piques my interest. It reminds me of the rumors I heard years ago about Gene Roddenberrys original concept for "Andromeda". I had heard it was written as a Star Trek series were a Federation starship was somehow forzen in time for many centuries and was released into a galaxy where Federation was a distant memory, the Vulcans had abandoned logic and were warlike and the klingon empire was destroyed leaving them almost gypsy like bands of refugees/pirates. The Federation captain decided to go on a one ship crusade to bring the ideals of the federation back to this bleak time. The story went that Roddenberrys wife nixed the idea because it's bleakness "wasn't Star Trek". Instead it was rework as that POS Andromeda. The Idea that somebody might have decided to brush off Genes original idea and give it a spin is exciting to me. Given since Rodenberrys death Trek has already gotten darker I think those old objections no longer hold weight. I for one would love to see something original to Trek like that. One ship against all the odds trying to rebuild the federation. And I say original knowing full well andromeda already did it. As far as I am concerned that show never existed and I bet most people under the age of 30 don't even know about it. Hell given it's rating even an older audience has probably never seen an episode of it. I think rehashing the concept in the Trek universe would work.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.