Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 254 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Mark Antony
Sun, Oct 6, 2019, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I love this episode, Tom Russ is an incredible actor and ,as others have said, very underused in ST Voyager.

After the meld you can actually see Tuvok beginning to lose his Vulcan control and when he finally does Tim Russ’s performance in his quarters and in the medical bay are first rate. Also the interaction between Russ and Dourif are excellent!

On another note I couldn’t help thinking while watching Crazy Tuvok in this episode, remember the DS9 episode where Worf is forced to fight Jem H’adar warriors in single combat I that Dominion prison? Imagine Crazy Tuvok in that scenario......
Set Bookmark
Mark Antony
Sun, Sep 22, 2019, 5:11am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

Did anyone else think it was a shame that Seven went to all that trouble of preparing her shipmates a gourmet meal only for it to all end up on the floor?

Those damn spacial anomalies are a real nuisance aren’t they?
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sat, Aug 3, 2019, 3:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

It was a good episode but i thought it was a bad idea for Voyager to make contact with the Alpha Quadrant just seven episodes into the first season, it made it feel like getting back home wouldn't be that hard for them.
Set Bookmark
Devviant
Tue, Jul 23, 2019, 2:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

There's no other commenter on this site other than that Elliott figure that gets me to the point of teeth gritting disgust so easily and so quickly.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sun, Jun 30, 2019, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

“watch it with that in mind like spocks brain or star trek 5 or masks from tng...”

Or we could just not watch any of those and move on to more substantive episodes.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Sat, May 18, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

A former TV show personality sounds like a TV executive? Incredible!

Sometimes when Pope Francis is talking I swear I hear Benedict. Scary!
Set Bookmark
Anthony
Fri, May 17, 2019, 10:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

I think some of you are too hard on Kurtzman. His job depends on keeping the show fresh with modern audiences in mind and, for better or worse, the superhero craze has taken on and visual excitement is what will get people watching. That's why the studios hired him. They would have taken no interest in whether he could replicate the intellectual themes of TNG or political intrigue of DS9.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 5:00am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Talk about different strokes and all that. Jamahl's review makes me wonder if I was watching some other season finale.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Such a promising and exciting season, such a terrible ending.

We end up with lots of unresolved plots in the 24th century, an excess of unsubtle action and even more forceful plot points, and a very forced and sudden transition into an entirely new series engine.

I have seen people speculate that Control may turn out to be an early main component of the Borg, but I notice that it would require him to time travel back to the past at some point. Instead, I find it more interesting to wonder if Sphere is not about to become the ghost in Discovery's shell, and eventually become Zora from the Short Treck "Calypso".

I assume that the Spore Drive will be seriously limited in the next season, since IIRC it has been established that it can be used to travel through time.

The new series premise is remarkably similar to what Voyager was once expected to be. There is potential in that. But the episode itself fell just short of stating outright that we would never see Burnham or Discovery again. It looks like a repurposed series finale, instead of just a season finale. We are not even given a glimpse of post-jump Discovery. For all we know they jumped straight into a sun and were destroyed.

The human drama scenes were not too succesful either. I don't know why it is such a big deal that Spock shaved without warning. I don't think Tyler and Burnham have any chemistry at all. And the decision to just never speak of them again is made even more naive because Section 31 is apparently participating of it. Can you say cheaters? Sure you can.

I will wait for Season 3 with an expectation of a mostly-clean slate. There are a few plots already in the fire: Michael's mother, Sphere, Control, and dealing with a very different and strange new world in the Beta Quadrant of centuries beyond. Hopefully we will learn a bit more about the crew as well. And I have a hunch that Po will turn up in some capacity.

Still, a disappointing season finale.
Set Bookmark
Anthimos
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

This 900 years into the future thing piques my interest. It reminds me of the rumors I heard years ago about Gene Roddenberrys original concept for "Andromeda". I had heard it was written as a Star Trek series were a Federation starship was somehow forzen in time for many centuries and was released into a galaxy where Federation was a distant memory, the Vulcans had abandoned logic and were warlike and the klingon empire was destroyed leaving them almost gypsy like bands of refugees/pirates. The Federation captain decided to go on a one ship crusade to bring the ideals of the federation back to this bleak time. The story went that Roddenberrys wife nixed the idea because it's bleakness "wasn't Star Trek". Instead it was rework as that POS Andromeda. The Idea that somebody might have decided to brush off Genes original idea and give it a spin is exciting to me. Given since Rodenberrys death Trek has already gotten darker I think those old objections no longer hold weight. I for one would love to see something original to Trek like that. One ship against all the odds trying to rebuild the federation. And I say original knowing full well andromeda already did it. As far as I am concerned that show never existed and I bet most people under the age of 30 don't even know about it. Hell given it's rating even an older audience has probably never seen an episode of it. I think rehashing the concept in the Trek universe would work.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 10:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

Loved this episode. Great characterization, interesting plot. The most genuine Trek we have had in a long time.
Set Bookmark
Thiago Santos
Sun, Mar 17, 2019, 4:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

There we have it. The first 4 stars episode: well deserved.
Set Bookmark
Luis Dantas
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 6:22am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I liked Landry's last scene. It was a perfect display of characterization for both her, Michael and Lorca. Lorca is _way_ over his head and using entirely inappropriate tools for a task that he grossly underestimates, and it shows.

Michael is his direct opposite, because she respects her challenges enough not to engage in destructive shows of daring-doo.
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 12:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Just two things about this episode that really made it work for me:

1) The epic light show of a FIREFIGHT that you KNOW who the participants are and what they're firing

2) NO RESET BUTTON! This is the big thing here with Isaac: the fact that he won't be welcome back on his home planet, and the fact that he will have to win back the crew's trust (and ESPECIALLY that of the good Doc and her children).

I also loved how the writers and the directors utilized Yaphit and how Claire's son Ty got to be a bit of a hero too
Set Bookmark
VantaBlack
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 8:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

"And I really wish they would stop using 'race' instead of 'species'. These were not 2 different races. They were different species."

They are only different species if you know for a fact that they cannot breed with each and produce fertile offspring.

Since they both call that planet home (and presumably evolved there) it is perfectly valid to categorize them both as *the* humanoid species of that planet. Their divergent genetics would fairly be classified as their race. And if they were animals, it would be correct to refer to them as being different breeds of the same species.
Set Bookmark
petulant
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 1:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

The number 25 is clear evidence of the Unicorn Illuminati at work again.
Set Bookmark
Bantu
Sun, Feb 10, 2019, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Code of Honor

Some people may not realize this but Star Trek is a racist program when it comes to people of African descent. And who created Star Trek? A white man did so this is no surprise.

We shall review the facts:

The original television series - The one African character, Uhura is nothing more than a telephone operator and note how she sits at the BACK of the bridge. She also protrayed as an object of lust.

Star Trek: The Motion Picture - The first Star Trek film released in 1979 features no new African characters which is odd considering that by the 23rd Century there will be over 6 billion Africans on Earth and less than a billion white people. Yet the Enterprise crew appears to 99.9% white.

Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan – This is one of the most despicable and racist of the Star Trek films. An African Starfleet captain played by the late Paul Winfield is captured by an evil white man and controlled like house slave with an alien slug placed in his brain. Later, after failing his “master”, Winfield’s character kills himself in shame for failing to serve the commands of his white master.

Star Trek: The Voyage Home – We learn in this film that the Federation of Planets (which is supposed to be diverse union of many races) is led by a white alien.

Star Trek: The Undiscovered Country – An African Starfleet Admiral played by the late Brock Peters is portrayed as being an evil, untrustworthy character.

Star Trek: The Next Generation – This new series has African actors play characters who are either blind (Geordi La Forge) with the temperament of a house slave or violent aliens such as Lieutenant Worf.

Star Trek: Deep Space Nine – Star Trek manages to redeem itself somewhat with the character of Benjamin Sisko. The series begins with an evil pale alien creature refusing to help Sisko save his wife but at the end of the series it turns out his character is not really African at all but some kind of alien puppet whose fate is controlled by beings who appear to be white women.

Star Trek: Insurrection – In this Star Trek film, the Enterprise comes across and defends an all-white race who are being attacked by a darker skin tone people.

Star Trek: Nemesis - At the end of this film, Picard selects another white male to be his First Officer.
Set Bookmark
Anthony G
Tue, Jan 29, 2019, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I once heard about an interesting phrase written on someone’s tombstone. It said something like, “ I am now the wisest among you”.
The deceased, now knew if there was a God or not. The tombstone quote may or may not have been a real story but it was clever.
We can keep going back and forth discussing our religious beliefs or lack of beliefs but I doubt if anyone will sway anyone else. We’ll be under a tombstone some day and be wiser than we are today so maybe for now we can attempt, through our little place on this platform to try to encourage The Orville to keep making better and better episodes by sharing our ideas.
This episode, as many have already stated above, should have been much better without the many plot holes and the rushed ending. Maybe they should have re-written parts of the the script or make this a 2 part episode. The Orville has had some really good episodes and I guess I expect more from Seth M. and his team, which is unfair.
Let’s remember, that even the great Gene Roddenberry gave us “Spock’s Brain” as an episode in TOS so we can forgive. Unlike those earlier TV shows that produced 20 to 30 episodes per season, you just can’t afford to make too many bad episodes since in today’s world you’re only producing 12 to 15 episodes a season. This was not a terrible episode but it could and should have been better.
Thanks Seth for giving us a great TV show to enjoy and to discuss.
Set Bookmark
GiantEnemyCrab
Tue, Jan 22, 2019, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Heart of Stone

I thought this was one of the best episodes so far. Easily in the top 10.
There was suspense, character development (Nog, Odo) and some touching moments. And I wasn't bored during this episode unlike so many other episodes.

The only kinda weird thing was when Sisko jumps on Nog close to the end. I almost thought he would Sisko-punch(tm) him but at this point I expect Sisko to act with sudden intensity at random moments. And it kinda amuses me, actually.
Set Bookmark
dantz
Sat, Jan 19, 2019, 11:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Great review! I’ve experienced virtually no problems streaming Discovery on a 5 year old roku device. But is it worth it to buy a roku just for one show? Ehh maybe not
Set Bookmark
SmarterThanTheAverageJoe
Mon, Jan 7, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

RIP. William Morgan Sheppard. Great performance in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Anti-nerd
Fri, Jan 4, 2019, 1:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

It seems that a lot of the hatred toward Klingons comes from racist white boys who see the Klingons as a culture with values more in line with most of humanity (read: non-white, non-western people) and can’t stand to see that, that you are so obsessed with and insecure about your own supremacism that the existence of values that do not fit into the degenerate western paradigm are too much to even acknowledge!

Jons, when you say that you hate masculinized cultures that hold honour as a paramount virtue, what you are really saying is that you hate Africans and Arabs and in my book that sort of racism warrants jail time.
Set Bookmark
Anti-nerd
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 5:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

The edgy comments about how it’s preposterous how demonstrable gods can do things that gods do from the likes of Sean and others is pretty disgusting, as is the notion that a culture with religion is primitive. Taking us out of the show for a moment, filthy-white-man-Sean must think himself more superior than most humans, because most humans have religion. Sean, on what basis do you decide that cultures are primitive? Because they don’t conform to your white, western, wealthy (and yes you are, otherwise you wouldn’t have internet access) urban/suburban notions of civilization? Newsflash white boy, you represent about 5% of humanity and that number is shrinking. White westerners are not the standard for humanity, most people live in Asia and Africa, their cultures are the standard.

This franchise is implicitly bigoted by equating white western urban culture with human culture but at least they made a tiny tiny tiny bit of progress away from the anti religion (that is white supremacist, because it is only in white countries where that is a culturally acceptable stance) and that makes white boys cry.
Set Bookmark
GiantEnemyCrab
Thu, Jan 3, 2019, 7:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Duet

@Cetric

A better comparison than Eichmann would be Oskar Grönig who was dubbed "The Accountant of Auschwitz" by the media. He was on trail as recently as 2017 in Germany at the age of 96 years. He publicly regretted being part of the death machine - even though he was "only" an accountant.

In contrast to this DS9 episode, he was sentenced to imprisonment by the German court, though.

I had to think of his case the whole episode through.
Set Bookmark
GiantEnemyCrab
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 2:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: If Wishes Were Horses

I'm watching DS9 for the first time. I cannot understand how you can give absolute trash like "The Storyteller" 3 stars and then complain about this episode when this one actually had some funny and entertaining bits - but to each their own I guess.

I mean, for example the moment when O'Brien goes back into his daughter's room and you just know Rumpelstilzkin will actually be in there was just hilarious I thought.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.