Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

3 stars this week, after last week's 4 stars.

The end was very good but I couldn't help but not be completely won over by Airtriam, and how the crew feel about her. She's been a minor character up until this episode, so it's hard. Tilly crying though...

The episode did a good job at trying though. I loved learning more about Airtriam and what she was like pre-implant.

It seems like the show is actually calling out the S31 of this era on being so out in the open. It all seems very intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 5:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

After the drivel that was Paradise, this light, amiable piece actually felt quite welcome. I think the only effective part of the story was Odo's with the little girl, which was a joy to watch.

I can't actually rank this more as average, but as fluff goes, it's good fluff.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

What a mediocre episode. I'd forgotten it existed until I watched it again, wish I never bothered!
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jul 5, 2016, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

I think my Top 10 for this season would be:

Duet
In The Hands of The Prophets
Progress
Dax
Captive Pursuit
Vortex
Emissary
Past Prologue
Battle Lines
The Forsaken

I think my top 2 are the only excellent episodes this season though.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jul 5, 2016, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

So I'm on my (latest) rewatch. I (finally) made it through to Duet and In The Hands of The Prophets, and of course the excellent Circle trilogy.

The Siege is definitely the weaker part, as the crew stalling on the station manages to slow any pace that had been built up in the previous two episodes.

I still also feel that it is an absolute waste to go the trouble of creating and building up Li Nalas, just to kill him off in a heartbeat. I wonder what role he could have played in later Bajoran stories. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Mar 4, 2016, 5:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

An excellent episode! It's so sad seeing K'Ehleyr dead, but Worf's reaction, and then murdering Duras, was all fantastic to watch. This is one of those episodes that never loses its power over me.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Wed, Feb 24, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Site Version 7.0 (2016)

I love the new design, it looks really good on my phone. On my laptop the writing looks huge, but I always take it down to a 90% zoom for browsing anyway as it's the trend with modern websites to be mobile friendly.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Wed, Feb 24, 2016, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

What a weird episode. The Pakleds are kind of fin at first, but there isn't enough to them to have an entire plot dedicated to them. They're the kind of race that probably would never master space travel, so it's an oddity that they meet the Enterprise here.

The other plot where we learn about Picard and his heart is the most interesting, and is very intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 6:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

This episode always gets me, but it sneaks up on me.

I think Armus is a terrible villain, and I think a lot of the scenes on the planet were bland and repetative. Yar's death was a bit botched, even if I do agree with idea the writers had to give her a random death. The type of death a security officer should face all the time (as it did in TOS all the time).

Two things save the episode for me. After Yar died, Armus asks Data what should happen to him, Data says "I think you should be destroyed." The way he says it almost shows emotion, and I loved that moment. It hints back to the almost special relationship they had after having sex during The Naked Now.

Of course, her holo-funeral at the end hits me every time. I don't know why, being as Yar was only in season one, and her lack of development was one of the reasons Crosby left was the lack of development. Nevertheless, talking to each character gets me misty eyed.

I always wonder what Yar could have been like in Michael-Pillar-TNG in season three. You know, besides changing the timeline back to how it should be.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

Well in the midst of a lot of season 3 episodes that were fluff/out of character/ridiculous/boring (delete as applicable), The Savage Curtain was OK. I was certainly entertained, but there just wasn't much substance here.

It was much better than watching The Way to Eden last night before bed, where I was worried about having song montage nightmares. Now that is a monstrosity of an episode, and I would advocate giving it a minus score.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jan 26, 2016, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

I think 3 out of 4 is fair for this one. I'd actually rate it just above the also flawed, but also entertaining ROTJ.

The lack of chemistry between Anakin and Padme again hurts the film but there is so much other stuff happening that your attention is diverted. There was a general sense of everything going to hell in this film.

I think Palpatine/Sidious's rise to power was the one truly interesting theme that ran through the trilogy, and I feel that Ian McDiarmid steals the film.

Lucas's big problem with the prequels was that he only had enough of a story to make one good film. It would have been interesting to let other directors and writers in on the process like he did with the original trilogy.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jan 26, 2016, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I think TPM is slightly more watchable than AOTC; I would rate both of them 2 stars (or 2.5 at a push for TPM). As people have said here, the stilted Anakin/Padme relatuonship is a hard sell, and it hurts the film more than Jar-Jar in TPM.

C3P0 was very annoying in the factory scene too.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.