Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 26 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

3 stars this week, after last week's 4 stars.

The end was very good but I couldn't help but not be completely won over by Airtriam, and how the crew feel about her. She's been a minor character up until this episode, so it's hard. Tilly crying though...

The episode did a good job at trying though. I loved learning more about Airtriam and what she was like pre-implant.

It seems like the show is actually calling out the S31 of this era on being so out in the open. It all seems very intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 5:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Shadowplay

After the drivel that was Paradise, this light, amiable piece actually felt quite welcome. I think the only effective part of the story was Odo's with the little girl, which was a joy to watch.

I can't actually rank this more as average, but as fluff goes, it's good fluff.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Thu, Jul 7, 2016, 5:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

What a mediocre episode. I'd forgotten it existed until I watched it again, wish I never bothered!
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jul 5, 2016, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: First Season Recap

I think my Top 10 for this season would be:

Duet
In The Hands of The Prophets
Progress
Dax
Captive Pursuit
Vortex
Emissary
Past Prologue
Battle Lines
The Forsaken

I think my top 2 are the only excellent episodes this season though.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jul 5, 2016, 1:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Siege

So I'm on my (latest) rewatch. I (finally) made it through to Duet and In The Hands of The Prophets, and of course the excellent Circle trilogy.

The Siege is definitely the weaker part, as the crew stalling on the station manages to slow any pace that had been built up in the previous two episodes.

I still also feel that it is an absolute waste to go the trouble of creating and building up Li Nalas, just to kill him off in a heartbeat. I wonder what role he could have played in later Bajoran stories. Oh well.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Mar 4, 2016, 5:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

An excellent episode! It's so sad seeing K'Ehleyr dead, but Worf's reaction, and then murdering Duras, was all fantastic to watch. This is one of those episodes that never loses its power over me.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Wed, Feb 24, 2016, 9:33am (UTC -5)
Re: Site Version 7.0 (2016)

I love the new design, it looks really good on my phone. On my laptop the writing looks huge, but I always take it down to a 90% zoom for browsing anyway as it's the trend with modern websites to be mobile friendly.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Wed, Feb 24, 2016, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Samaritan Snare

What a weird episode. The Pakleds are kind of fin at first, but there isn't enough to them to have an entire plot dedicated to them. They're the kind of race that probably would never master space travel, so it's an oddity that they meet the Enterprise here.

The other plot where we learn about Picard and his heart is the most interesting, and is very intriguing.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Feb 19, 2016, 6:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Skin of Evil

This episode always gets me, but it sneaks up on me.

I think Armus is a terrible villain, and I think a lot of the scenes on the planet were bland and repetative. Yar's death was a bit botched, even if I do agree with idea the writers had to give her a random death. The type of death a security officer should face all the time (as it did in TOS all the time).

Two things save the episode for me. After Yar died, Armus asks Data what should happen to him, Data says "I think you should be destroyed." The way he says it almost shows emotion, and I loved that moment. It hints back to the almost special relationship they had after having sex during The Naked Now.

Of course, her holo-funeral at the end hits me every time. I don't know why, being as Yar was only in season one, and her lack of development was one of the reasons Crosby left was the lack of development. Nevertheless, talking to each character gets me misty eyed.

I always wonder what Yar could have been like in Michael-Pillar-TNG in season three. You know, besides changing the timeline back to how it should be.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Sun, Feb 7, 2016, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

Well in the midst of a lot of season 3 episodes that were fluff/out of character/ridiculous/boring (delete as applicable), The Savage Curtain was OK. I was certainly entertained, but there just wasn't much substance here.

It was much better than watching The Way to Eden last night before bed, where I was worried about having song montage nightmares. Now that is a monstrosity of an episode, and I would advocate giving it a minus score.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jan 26, 2016, 10:50am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith

I think 3 out of 4 is fair for this one. I'd actually rate it just above the also flawed, but also entertaining ROTJ.

The lack of chemistry between Anakin and Padme again hurts the film but there is so much other stuff happening that your attention is diverted. There was a general sense of everything going to hell in this film.

I think Palpatine/Sidious's rise to power was the one truly interesting theme that ran through the trilogy, and I feel that Ian McDiarmid steals the film.

Lucas's big problem with the prequels was that he only had enough of a story to make one good film. It would have been interesting to let other directors and writers in on the process like he did with the original trilogy.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jan 26, 2016, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: Attack of the Clones

I think TPM is slightly more watchable than AOTC; I would rate both of them 2 stars (or 2.5 at a push for TPM). As people have said here, the stilted Anakin/Padme relatuonship is a hard sell, and it hurts the film more than Jar-Jar in TPM.

C3P0 was very annoying in the factory scene too.
Set Bookmark
Andrew T
Wed, Jul 16, 2014, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

When Neelix's lungs were stolen Janeway said if these organ stealing aliens attacked the crew again, it would be met with the deadliest of force. Here they attack the crew again, killing a redshirt, and what does she do? Nothing. At this point I wouldn't really want to be serving on the voyager crew.
Set Bookmark
Andrew T
Sat, Jul 12, 2014, 1:03am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

This was a fairly poor episode to me. 'A matter of perspective' was 10 times more interesting than this episode to me because the holodeck made it fun. On the plus side Tuvok was pretty cool in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Andrew T
Sun, Jul 6, 2014, 4:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rightful Heir

What shocked me in this episode was how insensitive they were to the Kayless clone who had to listen to them all call him a fraud, while he was probably trying to deal with the fact he had just been declared a clone.

Still I do like this episode and Birthright, so I feel season six was pretty strong with klingon episodes that I enjoy.
Set Bookmark
Andrew T
Sun, Jul 6, 2014, 12:40am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Think I'd probably give this one just a slightly higher score.

I'm not a fan of Guinan but ironically I like her in this one. She finally gives some advice that ends up helping the person unlike many other episodes where she just insults the person (Geordie). I'm cool with this being her final episode.

This was an ok episode to me, I really like Beverly in this but the ending felt like a cheat. Because in the beginning they go out of their way to say he was dead despite his unique biology. Then they just flip flop on it at the end. Still, I was really engaged in the investigation plot.

I kind of wish Worf was more involved, he should be all over a possible murderer on board like he was in the drumhead.
Set Bookmark
Andrew T
Sat, Jul 5, 2014, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Frame of Mind

I like this episode for the trippy scene with the phaser and the concept of the TNG crew putting on stage plays.

But this episode is kind of exhausting to watch, like being stuck in a fun house for an hour.

As far as Riker being stuck in a fictional reality, I much prefer Future Imperfect.
Set Bookmark
Andrew T
Thu, Jul 3, 2014, 11:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I love this episode. That poker scene was just great. It's just a little constrained by the format.

I agree with the first commenter though, Tom Riker wouldn't be as well adjusted.

Has anyone seen 'Moon'? It kind of illustrates how years of isolation would change you. The main characters in that was talking to plants and that was only after 3 years. If Tom Riker was alone for 8 years he'd be nutty.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor
Tue, Mar 4, 2014, 3:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Meridian

This is a clear 1 star mess. Dax and Deral had no chemistry, their dialogue was stilted, and the whole relationship was so rushed. Was their a proper discussion regarding the symbiant?

Totally pointless.

However, the light B-story is pretty funny stuff, which is perhaps just enough to make it 1.5 stars. It marks Jeffrey Combs' first appearance in DS9, so it's a bit of an easter egg to see him here.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor
Mon, Mar 3, 2014, 5:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I think an average 2.5 score is fair. It's pretty much brainless fun, as thinking about things for too long will raise more questions. I agree with the notion of this being a season one episode.

I think TNG did it better with Disaster, and the fish-out-of-water problems the crew had to face. In fact, it was the kind of story that would have fit in better on TNG, as the Tech Mystery was more prevalent there.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor
Mon, Mar 3, 2014, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Abandoned

I loved it sorry. It was a great show for Odo, and more development of the Dominion was welcome after The Search Part 2's letdown.

The B story of Sisko seeing how quickly Jake was growing up was very sweet too.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor
Sat, Mar 1, 2014, 10:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Equilibrium

Just finished watching this one again for the first time in a while. I always used to like Dax when I was younger when I first watched the series, and I find that even though Terry Farrell is probably the weakest of the main cast, I still have a soft spot for the character.

In terms of the symbiant episodes Dax had, this is easily the best one. The music she constantly hears was haunting, and I enjoyed how crazy it made her behave with her friends. I liked that Sisko was going to go to any lengths to save her.

Special marks go to the hilarious teaser with Odo taking an interest in cooking. Auberjonois's face is priceless as he moves the bowl around trying to whisk the souffle.

The whole scene was a nice portrayal of the DS9 crew as a family.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor
Mon, Feb 24, 2014, 5:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Necessary Evil

Excellent episode. Definitely a Top 10 entry for me.

When I was younger, the revelation of Kira being the murderer totally floored me. Now I'm older, having just watched the episode again, it should perhaps be obvious that a former Bajoran terrorist murdered someone. It's still a wonderfully constructed episode though, and does so much to establish character backstory.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor
Mon, Feb 24, 2014, 5:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

I just watched this episode on my great DS9 rewatch yesterday, and it really bugged me how the story contrived an evacuation of the station one episode after the evacuation in The Siege. Badly positioned, really.

I didn't like how it was only the cast that was left on the station, and Quark being there was really odd. He certainly deserved punishment for what he did.

Basically, if you ignore the many misgivings, the episode is saved by John Glover's before and after performance of Verad. A very interesting character indeed.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 5:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Liaisons

Oh my god, the 'LOVE ME!' epiode. Me and my sister used to crack up so much at the trailer for this episode, which featured this line. The episode as a whole is pretty dull, but a bit of unintentional humour helps you make it through.
Next ►Page 1 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.