Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 473 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 19
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Sat, Sep 25, 2021, 12:58pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

It's probably fair. It's a very disappointing conclusion to the Sequal trilogy, with some good bits throughout to keep me entertained.

I honestly like ROTS more than this film, which I would give a 3 out of 4, with ROTJ a touch below.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Sep 24, 2021, 8:24am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Where Pleasant Fountains Lie

Another 3 out of 4 for me. Jeffrey Combs as the evil computer was worth the admission alone this week.!

I think last week was the worst episode of season 2 for me, though that was a 2.5. This week we had a lot more great character work.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Sun, Sep 12, 2021, 9:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: An Embarrassment of Dooplers

I'm definitely enjoying the series more than Jammer. The show isn't always laugh-out-loud funny, but it does build relationships.

I think that was a 3 out 4, for me. I'm a sucker for the Mariner/Boimler and Tendi/Rutherford dynamics, so always enjoy it when they are developed.

The Data bubble bath was such a funny visual gag, although some may be Lores.

I was laughing at poor Doopler desperation at everybody being annoyed by him. Then everybody having to piss him off at the end was also as fun.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 8:37am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: We'll Always Have Tom Paris

This was easily the best episode in season two so far.

Paris mistaking Boimer for a Kazon was hilarious, but I'm still on a high from the T'Ana in the box gag at the end.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Sun, Aug 15, 2021, 1:31pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: LD S2: Strange Energies

I much preferred Strange Energies to Second Contact. It took three or four episodes to warm up during the first season, but I just had a better vibe with this one.

I may have only laughed a few times during this episode, but I felt more of an emotional connection to the characters, like the second half of season one.

Did Riker's enthusiastic face right at the end have anyone else howling with laughter?
Set Bookmark
Andrew E
Fri, May 28, 2021, 1:11am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

The idea of a government trying to control a population through introducing an untried vaccination during COVID 19, was found to be bogus and unsubstantiated by the Reuters Fact Check Team.
Set Bookmark
Andrew E
Fri, May 28, 2021, 1:10am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TOS S3: The Mark of Gideon

The idea of a government trying to control a population though introducing an untried vaccination during COVID 19, was found to be bogus and unsubstantiated by the Reuters Fact Check Team.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Lloyd
Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 11:28am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part I

These are my least favorite episodes. To begin with, the acting comes off as pure community theater quality. I suppose this is because of the premise which is basically "act evil." The performances border on satire. This brings me to my second issue with these episodes. I watch Star Trek for the basic message of goodness and progress that it embodies. The mirror universe episodes turn that on its head. If the mirror episodes came off as more believable I might enjoy the contrast, but they do not. Finally, until Discovery, the episodes play no substantive part in the broader themes and story lines of the Trek series. The very worst mirror episodes are definitely from DS9. Watching Kira slink around all seductively comes off as an SNL parody skit. Kira is my least favorite Trek character and she is at her worst in the mirror episodes. The best of the mirror episodes is Discovery because they do play a broader role in the story, and aren't just an excuse to dress women in skimpy clothes and have everyone act like dime store thugs.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Jabore
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 3:45am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

I adore this movie.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 11:49am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

It's the whole point of doing reviews in the first place, by expressing your opinion of something.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 6:51pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

Wow! Such an intense ending, though it raises some important questions.

Ahsoka seemed to suggest that Grogu could turn to the dark side and it would be better if her were not trained. "There is much fear in him" similar to Yoda's comment about Anakin in Phantom Menace, and she says it's better if Grogu's abilities waned over time. But Luke takes Grogu without hesitation, and I wonder if just means Grogu should have been with Luke all along, or if Luke is making an error by deciding to train Grogu.

Also, the sequel trilogy seems to say that Luke's trainees were killed by Kylo Ren, so Grogu going with Luke is actually not a good sign. Does this mean Grogu is off the show? Or will he come back somehow? I feel like Disney has made so much money off of Baby Yoda dolls, that's it's hard for me to believe that Grogu is off the show.

Going into the season 2 finale, considering Ahsoka's statements and Grogu's absence from the sequel trilogy, I thought they were setting it up to have Grogu not be trained, and instead be raised as a Mandalorian, just as the main character was rescued as a child and raised to follow "the way." Also, this season they've gone out of their way to have Grogu not be completely good, such as with egg eating, cookie stealing, force choking etc., so if he just goes on his merry way and becomes a Jedi, that seems too easy.

Very cool episode though. When that X-wing flew in, I knew things were about to get real. Fan service at its best. People just love seeing R2-D2 beep, even though it's unclear whether R2-D2 had an prior connection to Grogu.

When the dark troopers were blown out into space with the push of a button I said out loud "that's convenient" so I was glad when they came back to raise the stakes. Though I agree, why doesn't the empire rely on them more, instead of stormtroopers who can't hit anything or the incompetent droid army of the prequels.

Like others, I wish Boba Fett had more to do, but apparently he is getting his own show??? Seems odd to have two shows running simultaneously that both involve Mandalorian bounty hunters, but what do I know? I worry Disney will react to the success and acclaim of The Mandalorian by churning out a ton of shows that are of lower quality.

But this episode was so enchanting. Can't wait until Season 3. Hope to see more of "Kara Thrace" Bo Katan.
Set Bookmark
AndreRhineDavis
Wed, Dec 16, 2020, 5:09am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 15: The Believer

I guess it sort of makes sense that the face scanner could simply let anyone in as long as their faces aren't on some "unauthorised" list (of known criminals and such), but it would make much more sense for it to only let people in if they're on some "authorised" list (of imperial officers and soldiers).

Then again, this is the same Empire that allowed any droid aboard the Death Star to just plug in and control any system without any sort of authorisation check, as R2D2 was able to do in A New Hope. Security in the Star Wars universe is incredibly lax in comparison to modern cryptographic standards.
Set Bookmark
AndreRhineDavis
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 12:54am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

With all the politically charged people on this forum, I'm surprised nobody mentioned the "bodily autonomy" themes of this episode, with Michael Burnham arguing for Adira to have autonomy over her own body, while some of the Trill arguing that the symbiont should be removed from Adira's body against her wishes. I guess it's sort of inverted compared to the usual abortion debate (with Adira wanting to *keep* the symbiont and the other people wanting to *remove* it from her), but it personally reminded me of the whole abortion debate with the whole theme of bodily autonomy.

Like I said, I was surprised that nobody here even mentioned it. Then again, the episode did spend relatively little time even dealing with this issue.
Set Bookmark
Andrew Taylor-Cairns
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 12:07pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

It's such a disappointing end to the new trilogy.

I wonder if Jammer has put the review off as he knows he'll have to watch it again, making in-depth notes.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 5:00pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I do think the episode acknowledges its darkness, Jake's obsessiveness, while combining it with sweetness. Sisko saying that he is OK now is also him believing, hoping, having to believe that Jake will be OK now, that it was losing him at that time and way that was wrong and that he can be a better father so that Jake would not be so distraught at losing him later.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 4:45pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S4: The Visitor

I did think this episode was just OK when I first watched it (on video, and having mostly just watched the last two seasons), I think because I thought it just crammed in/rushed through too much story and concepts in one episode and maybe tried a little too hard to pull on heartstrings and otherwise wasn't that different or more impressive than other look-at-possible-future and/or reset episodes.

Rewatching and in the concept of the whole series, it is one of the best episodes (although 3.5 stars, and barely that, rather than 4), I think mainly because it effectively combines the sentimentality and also being pretty dark in themes and implications, it acknowledges that Jake Sisko becomes obsessive, even arguably wasting his life, Benjamin Sisko sees and is unnerved by that and yet doesn't condemn him, understands it. I don't think altering the timeline/history is necessarily a monstrous thing but it is a big thing and the episode realizes that without harshly condemning it.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 10:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Overall I loved the episode. The depiction of the war, both the space combat and depiction of the Cardassian Resistance, was some of the best it had ever been, appropriately much more intense than in most episodes, and the conclusions were strong. The conclusions to Kira's and Odo's stories both together and individually were really strong.

The nostalgia and sense of farewell was earned, appropriate, effective. Worf becoming an ambassador was definitely random, even a little half-hearted, but still a fine end as was Bashir and O'Brien parting and, though a little obligatory, Bashir and Dax ending up together at least for now. Sisko being with the Prophets and not anxious to return also felt a little random but in-line enough with his characterization and plot threads through the series.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sun, Aug 2, 2020, 10:06am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

The impact of Jadzia's death had frankly been overfocused on already especially "Penumbra", that episode already concluded the focus on her, not having her in Worf's memories in the series finale was a *little* odd but understandable and not a big problem.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S Gill
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 11:20pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: DS9 S5: Trials and Tribble-ations

I just started binging the entire Star Trek timeline starting with the TOS which I absolutely loved. I thought TNG was good, but I'm liking DS9 better though not as much as TOS. I have to say this episode is probably my favorite Trek episode I've watched to this day. I don't think I've seen a better show do a better job paying homage to its predecessor as well as this episode did..

5 out of 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, Mar 26, 2020, 10:18pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Did anyone else see that Seven and Raffi were playing Kal-toh? I just love little tidbits like that.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Feb 22, 2020, 6:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

I think jammer is over reacting the gore scene, TNG had gore (Conspiracy) the episode wasn't great and i didn't liked it but condeming the entire series just for one or two small scenes? C'mon...
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 7:07am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Absolute Candor

@Peter G.

"For instance, Picard needs a bodyguard why?"

I had the same thought, but it kind of makes sense when you think about the Zhat Vash attacks he's been through and witnessed in the previous episodes.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S.
Thu, Feb 6, 2020, 11:15pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: The End Is the Beginning

I enjoyed this episode but I’m a little worried they’re setting up a major retcon of the Romulans that won’t hold water.

We already have a ”Romulans hate androids” plot which seems to conflict with the line from “The Defector” about “Romulan cyberneticists” who would have like to study Data. I suppose it could be explained that those Romulans cyberneticists were people like Agnes from this show who want to study it even though it’s banned, but probably the writers just missed this inconsistency. Admittedly, I didn’t catch it until others brought it up.

But they seem to be hinting that Romulans have some fundamental problems with being assimilated which of course directly contradicts “Unity” from Voyager. Also, didn’t TNG’s “The Neutral Zone” and “Q Who” establish that there was some contact between Romulans and the Borg in the Romulan neutral zone? I really hope the writers wouldn’t be so sloppy as to mess that up. But I’m a little nervous because when Hugh says “these are the only Romulans assimilated as far as I know,” that’s clearly wrong because Hugh as a Borg presumably would have been aware of Orum from “Unity” and the attacks on the Romulan neutral zone in TNG season 1. Maybe for some reason it’s just that these particular Romulans, (who were the last ones assimilated) are the only ones with the “disorder” but it didn’t to be where things were going. We’ll see.

I really hope we don’t have a “we’re Cylons and we have been from the start” thing where all Romulans are actually robots. That seems to rewrite the trek canon a bit too much. The Phantastic Geek podcast also speculated that perhaps the Romulans of ancient times actually created the Borg, which strikes me as an intriguing theory, but unclear why that would translate to the need to destroy all androids. The Borg aren’t really androids, and didn’t Locutus basically say androids are obsolete? Maybe I’ve just revealed myself to be a nitpicky nerd and none of this is really as big a deal as I say it is.
Set Bookmark
Andrew S.
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 10:13pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I really enjoyed the first episode of Picard!
-It's great to finally have a sequel set in the main Star Trek universe. No more prequels or reboots or alternate timelines, which frankly, have often been kind of a let-down.
-The writers clearly know their Next Generation. Lots of callbacks to the series: the reference to Bruce Maddox (the guy who tried to have Data dismantled), the stuff in the storage locker like the Captain Picard Day banner, Data painting and having a daughter, poker, the French vineyard, etc.
-This may make people mad, but I'm kind of glad Data is actually dead. I didn't really like Nemesis (though admittedly I haven't seen it in a while), and I didn't agree with the decision to kill Data in the first place, but I'm glad they're not running from the decision. I remember someone had told me that various comic books had made B-4 just like Data reincarnated, which is definitely a stupid and way-too-easy way out. Though I would be ok if this show had a long drawn out "Search for Data" sort of thing going on where they try to bring back some aspect of him.
-In many ways, Data was kind of the heart of Next Generation, so I really like how even in death he's still a central figure in the story.
-I remember being annoyed with the decision made by the J.J. Abrams team to blow up Romulus in the prime timeline for no good reason. On a side note, I've noticed J.J. Abrams movies have a tendency to blow up planets out of nowhere as a cheap way to raise the stakes. (See e.g. the Star Wars sequel trilogy). But anyway, like Data's death, the writers did not run away from or ignore the decision, and the destruction of Romulus is a major plot point in the story. Even after just one episode has made for some really compelling ideas.
-Which brings me to the "interview scene." To me this might have been the most captivating scene in Star Trek since...well...maybe 1999? This is classic Picard, being the moral voice of Starfleet, and completely unwavering in his view that the Federation should have saved as many Romulans as possible even though Romulans are old enemies. One can't help but think of the parallels with the U.S. failure to take in Syrian refugees, and how the true test of a country is its generosity to others during times of a crisis. So when Picard says he left Starfleet "because it was no longer Starfleet," that really really hits home. The show seems to be off to the right foot because it realizes that the best scenes in Star Trek are not usually space battles but instead really compelling stories.
-I was intrigued by Picard's Romulan assistants And I think it was trying to show how people who used to be enemies from a different planet can get along and make wine together. It's sort of a callback to the original Star Trek "Balance of Terror" where the unnamed Romulan commander right before his death tells Kirk that under different circumstances they would have been friends. I thought it was interesting that Picard's Romulan's assistants appear very human in their clothes and hairstyle.
-I want to learn more about this rebellion of synthetic lifeforms, and how the interviewer seems to hold Picard somewhat responsible for what happened. Maybe it's just because people now hate artificial life forms and Picard has always been a champion of the rights of artificial life forms (see "Measure of Man"), or maybe there is something else going on.
-I really hope the show doesn't turn into shoot-em-up action next week, but if this episode is any indication, I think we're on the right track as far as good storytelling goes.
-This might actually be the best Star Trek pilot episode. DS9's "Emissary" is pretty poorly paced, but is way better when you have seen the end of the show because you see how much of the groundwork for the show was laid down right from the start. But as a standalone episode, I think Picard is hands down the best Star Trek pilot.
-My girlfriend and I watched Battlestar Galactica and Season 4 of The Expanse recently, so she made the joke that it's easy to get Picard confused with these other series since we have android sleeper agents and people living on Mars.
-So what's going on with the Borg, anyway? The trailers had totally given away the big reveal of the cube at the end. The finale of Voyager was such a mess I honestly don't remember to what extent the Borg collective is still around or if they were all wiped out by Janeway (or did they ever tell us?). But anyway, the cube no longer appears to have any Borg on it and it's just being used by Romulans as an outpost. I really hope this show doesn't overuse the Borg on this show like Voyager did.
Set Bookmark
Andrew
Sat, Dec 7, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Reacting to the theatrical cut ...
It's very ambition, kind of enjoyably majestic, weighty (the best part was the crew both being different and close enough to how they were before and reuniting), deep/thought-provoking, impressively so different from rather than trying to be Star Wars, but a bit too weighty rather than dynamic or fun and even in its deep themes at times a bit too awkward, abrupt and/or repetitive. It's interesting both in itself and in retrospect how much this film seems like a precursor to the Borg and to TNG-style generally but not really doing it well, TNG definitely did both the style and some of the specific themes much better.
The Kirk/Decker conflict is good but a bit too overdone, the idea of Spock maybe not being loyal way too awkward (McCoy quickly becoming suspicious too out-of-character), too much of the Decker/Ilia relationship, before and after she is replaced, feels too just there to be there and overfocused on. The crew in general, though seeing them reunite was fun, is too often too lacking in energy or warmth/chemistry and does get too overshadowed by the effects (which are strong but too often feel excessive).
A lot of Jerry Goldsmith's music is really good but a lot of it, though mostly with regard to the Decker & Ilia relationship, also feels a little too obvious and clearly-present and repetitive.
Next ►Page 1 of 19
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.