Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 12 (Showing 1-12)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Randie
Tue, Jul 23, 2019, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan

how can anybody go this long without mentioning THAT EAR SCENE? Have to say I was very pleased (and disturbed) with the continuation of subjecting Chekov to the worst mind control and disgusting torture possible like they had during the series.

Anyway, that scene is AMAZING. Gave me a phobia I’ve never gotten over. But damn... it’s worth it.
Set Bookmark
Randie
Tue, Jul 23, 2019, 11:24am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Spectre of the Gun

I’m pretty biased in favor of TOS, having been raised on this series and none of the following ones, so the fact that this is one of my favorite episodes probably doesn’t hold much weight compared to somebody with a broader perspective. But, alas, I’ve always loved this episode, even given all of its long and repetitive dialogue and minced plot.

The reason I enjoy TOS so much is its unapologetically theatrical execution. The sets are evidently fake, the performances are overdramatic, the costumes are ridiculous, and the dialogue is preachy - and I adore it. I think I loved Spectre of the Gun so much because it exemplifies all of that to an extreme. The half-constructed western town was so fascinating to me as a child, especially the buildings without walls and randomly designated edifices. There is something so unnerving about an empty stage before or after a performance, and that’s just what the charicature of Tombstone captures in SotG.

I’m a sucker for actors who take their roles completely seriously, and Star Trek TOS required that from its cast. The dedication (and overacting) of the actors help suspend disbelief and create a light-hearted atmosphere of “look, I know this is fake, but humor me”. The guest actors who play the Earps and Doc H are absolutely phenomenal and genuinely creep me out. Often my least favorite part of Trek is the guest characters (motives hard to believe, backstory ridiculous, etc) but the stone cold performances really gave our leads something to act with.

The dialogue is slow and redundant, but I’m the kind of person who enjoys a scene where the characters are just bantering back and forth, even if it is meaningless. My favorite part of TOS is the main characters and their ongoing dynamic. I appreciate Spectre of the Gun because it was one of the few episodes that actually included Chekov.

Okay.... Chekov. What a mess. I love the character, and I love the actor, but I hate the writing. While I’m appreciative that SotG gives the character an opportunity to do something, it vexes me that he was written so lamely and almost out of character. That is, if there was any character to write him out of. Why would he jeopardize the entire mission to be with a random girl who - when they first met - basically molested him...? And, also, if he’d really do that in this episode, why in The Way to Eden does Chekov’s old girlfriend say he is rigid, correct, and straight-laced??

The problem with chekov is it seems no one ever knows what to do with him. Does he HAVE any personality traits besides flirty, Russian, and occasionally psychopathic? Even though Chekov is my favorite character in the series (unpopular opinion, I know, but I’m a sucker for hard luck cases), I feel the only reason he has a somewhat consistent personality in the series is due to Koenig making the best of every line he’s given.

I think that speaks for the rest of the episode, and the series, too. In TOS the producers and the actors just had to make the best out of what they were given. SotG really demonstrates that in its writing, set, and costumes. I don’t know... for me, the most enjoyable part of the show is not just its fakeness, but the reality it wants you to accept.
Set Bookmark
Keith R.A. DeCandido
Tue, Mar 26, 2019, 9:47am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Airiam wasn't an important character to the viewers, but she was an important character to the other characters, and the funeral reflected that, as it damn well should have. I am so incredibly sick and tired of fictional characters' reactions to a person's death depending entirely upon the billing of the actor playing the dead person. To us as viewers, she's an extra, but to everyone on Discovery, she's a valued crewmate who died tragically, and she abso-damn-lutely deserves a big-ass funeral.
Set Bookmark
grandinq
Tue, Aug 7, 2018, 2:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Fun little episode. I had one nerdy nitpick:

The episode ends showing the baseball the team signed. Why would non-humans know how to write either print or cursive? Why would handwriting still be a thing at all for anyone in this century? That would be like having me write with a quill and ink; it’s a skill that isn’t needed anymore.

I’m not bent out of shape about this. Just a bit of fun.
Set Bookmark
Brandinooo
Sat, Jul 15, 2017, 11:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Found this page on Google and watching the episode on BBC America after discovering it in the Alternate Realities DVD set (I must have missed the original release on some kind of 7th grade thing). I am forever ticked off that the time capsule was destroyed. What's the point!? Argh. This review gave me solace is that others were ticked off by it. :)
Set Bookmark
Bandit
Sun, Oct 2, 2016, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Sub Rosa

I actually laugh my ass off every time this episode came on.....I just found the whole thing ridiculously funny, almost like Timescape.
Set Bookmark
Andi
Mon, Sep 26, 2016, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

@Jay
What about quantum computers? Now on the horizon of science research. That could be the next big thing after binary technology.


@George Monet
"Finally, how the heck did these Saurians even discover that one single human skeleton"
A Kazon could have heard or examined what the Voyager people did on the planet and could have tried to trade in that information. Other aliens, who were in contact with Voyager over time could have extracted their DNA (secretly) and also trade these informations. Like in the "Fair Trade" episode, those stations are full of dubious traders who would sell you even secret receipts of their own grandmother.

"Furthermore, it is impossible for this species to have left absolutely no fossil record on Earth."
The Dinos could have been taken by advanced aliens, maybe as new farm animals. And then they slowly evolved on that other aliens planet, up until they made their fossil records and all technology traces on that planet. The only thing that is proofed by Gegen is, that their DNA comes from Earth. Nothing is said about the exact history of their further evolution.

@NonRelativist
Interesting idea to agree with the traditions of the Dinos, just because it seems to have worked for so long so very well. Maybe only firm traditions can stabilize a society over many thousand and even million years. So it's a nice touch of this great VOY episode to show how strong the traditions are and that they are not overthrown by first sight of some DNA proof. Maybe they only need some more time, give them 200 years or so, to slowly incorporate Gegen's theory into their mainstream culture without destabilizing anything.

Absolutely great, fresh, fast-paced episode that gives you something to think about.
Set Bookmark
YeomanDirty
Sat, Jan 3, 2015, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek Into Darkness

First I haven't seen STID, so I can't rate it but here are my rankings for my favorite Trek movies I have seen.

1. Star Trek: The Motion Picture
2. Star Trek: Nemesis
3. Star Trek III: The Search For Spock
4. Star Trek VI; The Undiscovered Country
5. Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan
6. Star Trek V: The Final Frontier
7. Star Trek IV; The Voyage Home
8. Star Trek: First Contact
9. Star Trek: Generations
10. Star Trek: Insurrection
11. Star Trek 2009
12. place holder for STID once I've seen it

this is my personal list it might change by day, hour, minute, second, milli-second, it might have changed two or three times already. But I have always like the 2001 inspired look of TMP, and why Nemesis is Number 2 I even question, I like Tom Hardy's Shinzon, the Data-clone B4, but better than Khan? I also like ST:VI The Undiscovered Country alot- Captain Kirk on trial in Klingon Courts, sentenced to life w/o parole on that ice asteroid.

I saw ST09 once and kinda liked it at the time-
it may have rekindled my yearnings for the original canon.
Luckily I have hundreds of television series episodes to watch on streaming services, including STID at this time, which I just haven't watched yet, want to catch up on DeepSpace9, see what Enterprise is all about. Thanks for your reviews JammerI
I hope you review STID sometime because your reviews have been great on all things Trek.
Set Bookmark
Andi
Wed, Sep 26, 2012, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Rascals

I think there is one big misconception about this episode.
I don't think it is meant for adults. I watched it the other day with my 7-year old. He laughs, whenever he sees a Ferengi because the ears are so funny to him. And when saw that Captain Picard as a boy, he felt like he could be the Captain, too. It was very exciting for him, how the children could trick the adult Ferengis.
Also, seeing Picard give Riker a hug made him laugh a lot, making him want to pretend he was my father :-)

I feel, to really appreciate this episode you have to watch it with a child.

If you don't like the episode, maybe it's not that the episode is bad, just that you are maybe not in the target group of this particular one.
Set Bookmark
Andi
Sat, Sep 22, 2012, 1:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Treachery, Faith, and the Great River

The story didn't work for me at all.

How could Odo believe that he is not infected?

Why would Odo be the last one? What about the other 100 that were sent away?

It just doesn't make any sense. Also, the Runabout destroying the Jem Hadar Attack Ship with one phaser hit? Come on.
Set Bookmark
Keith R.A. DeCandido
Fri, Jun 22, 2012, 4:13am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

In fact, "Chain of Command" was intended to be more of a lead-in to DS9, insofar as the Ferengi middleman in Part 1 was supposed to be Quark on the Cardassian station Terok Nor, but because they weren't premiering DS9 until a month after this one aired, they changed it to a generic Ferengi. The scene was filmed on DS9's replimat set.
Set Bookmark
Andi
Wed, Mar 21, 2012, 8:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

I have a few issues with this episode.

The first thing is the premise that Dukat is going on trial for war crimes... Prior to Cardassia's entrance into the Dominion, Sisko and Dukat, and even Kira and Dukat, were on fairly cordial terms. Kira and Dukat even teamed up a few times and, although Kira didn't exactly like him, she was on decent terms with him. She helped him track down that Klingon ship, she helped Ziyal, she even joked with him a few times, etc. Knowing Kira and her past and remembering her reaction when she thought she really did have a war criminal on the station (in Duet), I can't believe that Dukat is, in fact, a war criminal. If he was a war criminal, why would Kira, of all people be so cordial to him? It's unfathomably. In Duet, it was mentioned that Bajor had a list of war criminals who, if ever on DS9, were to be turned over to Bajor and tried for the crimes they committed during the occupation. Obviously, Dukat, a fairly frequent visitor to DS9, was not on that list. If the fact that he was in charge of Bajor during the occupation makes him a war criminal, why was it never addressed before this episode? Why was he never previously brought to justice?

My second issue with this episode is that Sisko, who knows that Dukat is hallucinating, comes out of the encounter believing that Dukat is "evil"... I don't think that anything that Dukat says here can be seriously taken as his "actual" beliefs. I've certainly heard of mentally ill people hearing voices or seeing people that tell them to kill people, etc, but I would never assume that this constitutes "pure evil"... they're mentally ill. And it's clear, with Dukat carrying heated conversations with imaginary people and even firing his phaser at thin air, that Dukat is suffering from severe mental illness and that his words are the ravings of a lunatic, not the truthful confessions Sisko takes them to be.

And overall, I don't like where they've gone with Dukat this season. DS9 is about exploring shades of gray, be it Kira's past acts of terrorism, Eddington and the Marquis, Cardassians occupiers (like in Duet), and even the Jemhader (like in Rocks and Shoals). Up until this season, Dukat was a shade of gray, something rarely seen in a TV "bad guy". But now,season six, they want to paint him black. Sure he's an opportunist, sure he's an arrogant, self-serving asshole... But evil?
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.