Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 59 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 3
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Wed, Jul 29, 2020, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

@ Mal - though I find this episode frustrating, I would agree with you that the ending is very good as each person faces their fate with quiet acceptance. It's the best scene of the episode, and Chakotay's observation is my favorite line of the story.

CHAKOTAY: Who knows what's going to happen when that ring hits us? We might be in for another long journey.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 1:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

The fact that they give the game away in the teaser is what makes this episode work so well. We and the crew know it's a trap of some sort right from the beginning, so while we start out skeptical with the entire crew, we end up with Seven and Naomi and the Doctor as the only ones not under the creature's influence. If the story had tried to fool the audience, it would not have worked. The wormhole is so obviously too good to be true that the story wisely never tries to hide that fact, but incorporates it into the narrative in an almost humorous way, given how the good news keeps piling up for everyone.

Count me in the camp of those who like Naomi Wildman. She's a smart and capable kid, but she's also still a child, hiding when she's scared and crying over the unconscious Neelix, needing to be carried and comforted by Seven. The actress does a great job being as young as she is, and I am always happy to see the character in an episode.

This scenario reminds me somewhat of "One" from last season, with only Seven and the Doctor to save the entire crew. The comparison suggests that while the ship can be automated temporarily, one person cannot do the maintenance required to keep Voyager running long term, which is what happened in "One".
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Gravity

Shuttle crash aside, as a variation on the "stranded crew members" type of plot, I thought this one worked fairly well and had a lot to offer. It's good to see Tuvok remaining faithful to his wife, even if he might never see her again. I enjoy seeing Tom and Tuvok interact in a survival situation, and the time differential between the area inside and the area outside the sinkhole allows for a lengthy survival situation for Tom, Tuvok and the Doctor while plausibly keeping Voyager in the area for months, because of course it hasn't been months for them. The location filming is very welcome, making a nice change from the standard Voyager sets.

I don't know that the episode needs to say anything greater about Voyager to be worthwhile. It's an incident along their journey that tells us something about the characters and is an enjoyable adventure. Good enough for me.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bride of Chaotica!

Gotta disagree with Jammer, this episode is so much fun. It's often very silly, gloriously so, and I'm glad to see the writers and actors can do an episode where they don't have to take everything dead seriously. Both my daughter and I identified with Tom trying to explain his hobby to someone not into the same hobby, and having to deal with the "I can't believe you waste your time on THIS" attitude. Hammy villains can be a lot of fun, and Chaotica could give emperor Palpatine a run for his money. The whole Captain Proton scenario is absurd, and the writers and characters know it and have a great time playing along, and so do I.

Second favorite line of the episode: Chaotica's enunciation of "Foooooooool!" which has to have four or five octaves and syllables in that one word. Hilarious. :)

My favorite lines are where Janeway and Chaotica discuss "underlings", and the look on Janeway's face is priceless:

CHAOTICA: Why this preoccupation with the Shield?
JANEWAY: Oh, forgive me. It's just that, as a fellow ruler of the cosmos I often have to do things myself.
CHAOTICA: Ah. Because of the incompetence of your inferiors, no doubt.
JANEWAY: Something like that.

Three and a half stars for this one. Love it!
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 7:28am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I have to admit, I'm not interested in Lower Decks, and I've only seen one episode of Discovery. I did enjoy Picard for the most part, but that show revisited old characters, which was the main appeal for me. Despite enjoying Star Trek, it takes more than just a show with that name applied to it to get me to watch.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, Jul 13, 2020, 1:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

As a conspiracy episode that becomes a "nature of existence" episode, I really enjoyed the questions that it raised. It's good for the show to occasionally remind us that the Doctor is not in fact a real person, but a simulated person. The question is, has he become such an enormously complex simulation that he is now essentially like Data, an artificial lifeform that is self-aware and as close to being genuinely alive as he can be? Have the Voyager crew, by treating him just like all the living flesh and blood crew members, in fact given him a soul, as Janeway asks? Would they have been right to wipe his memory back when he was first activated, but is is wrong now, after he's grown so much?

It's little wonder the show returned to these questions again and again, particularly in the last season, and it's no wonder "Picard" has been exploring the implications of artificial life forms as advanced as we see on Star Trek. It's fascinating sci-fi material for storytelling.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Wed, Jun 24, 2020, 9:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

I may be in the minority here, but I enjoyed and appreciated this episode a lot. I've always enjoyed Nancy Hower's performance as Samantha Wildman. She's just calm and kind and down to earth and just feels friendly and like a normal human being in ways that many of the main cast, as much as I like them all, do not. And as the only parent with a child on the ship, there are some unique storytelling options with her than were rarely taken advantage of. This episode could not have worked with any other character. Scarlett Pomers is surprisingly good for a child actor of her age, and I enjoyed seeing the world of Voyager from a fresh perspective through her eyes.

I've long since come to appreciate Neelix and what Ethan Phillips brings to the role, and here he reminds us just what a sad person Neelix is beneath his cheery persona and how tragic his backstory is. The scene where Janeway insists that Naomi must be told what's happened to Samantha and Neelix gets so angry before being talked down is a highlight.

Tom and Tuvok's interactions with Samantha while she's injured demonstrate the benefit of giving the main characters scenes where they interact with Voyager's sadly underutilized secondary characters. Tuvok demonstrates empathy with a fellow parent, and Tom's understated concern for "Sam" is also nicely played with none of his usual bravado or joking.

Every now and then it's nice to be reminded that space travel is dangerous for the Voyager crew, and that it's a big deal when someone might not make it back. Extras get killed to provide extra drama, but it always works better when we get to know them first. Still, this is one time it would have been unforgivable to kill off a secondary character, so I'm very glad Samantha lived to see her daughter again. Not that we see her in the present day after this story, oddly....
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 16, 2020, 7:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Extreme Risk

This one's very nearly a four-star episode in my book. B'Elanna's depression and detachment from her life is good material for the character, and it's well played. I agree that evidence of B'Elanna's emotional turmoil should have turned up earlier, but better late than never. I'll give credit to the writers for addressing this issue in the end, and it did need to be addressed considering that some of the last Maquis still alive are present on Voyager. And I did not take the end of the episode as implying that everything was going to be rosy from now on, just that after her friend Chakotay's intervention, B'Elanna's healing process had begun. The problem has not been solved, but she's started down that road.

Good to see the Delta Flyer finally make its debut on the show.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

I'm not quite sure what to think of this one. I don't dislike it, but it is fairly middle of the road, and I don't find Virginia Madsen's performance all that compelling. I normally enjoy a Chakotay-focused episode, but this one does not really play to the character's strengths, apart from perhaps noting that kindness is one of his more prominent attributes, and it's what attracted Kellin to him. I agree with Jammer that there does not seem to be a lot of chemistry between the Kellin and Chakotay, and she never really seems as desperate as she should be, given her situation. I think a greater on-screen passage of time and a bit more intensity in the performances might have helped, but the episode is very low-key, for the most part, given what the stakes are meant to be. Like I said, not bad, but not terribly good either.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, Jun 15, 2020, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

My favorite line of the episode is after Tuvok notes that Vulcans are a "dispassionate people" and says that he has a wife. Mrs. Renn laughs and says, "I'm sure she's a fine, dispassionate woman!" Cracks me up every time.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 9, 2020, 3:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

It's nice to have a rare season ending episode in 90s Trek that is not a big, blockbuster cliffhanger or some game-changing story development, but instead bookends the season by looking at some of the consequences of Janeway's decision at the beginning. I enjoy how it picks up the damaged message from Starfleet and brings it back into the storyline, and with the slipstream drive it sets up Timeless, my favorite Voyager episode. The acting was quite good, and the crew behaved intelligently, noting that this "too good to be true" ship could be just that. It's a strong episode for this episodic series, showing once again that Voyager has had a major impact on the Delta quadrant, sometimes to the detriment of the native inhabitants.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

I come very close to calling this one the second four star episode after "Eye of the Needle", but the opening feels a bit hokey before the episode pulls things together nicely in act one and gives the crew a real dilemma, so I'll go with three and a half. Once again it's a given that the crew will not succeed, but the character choices made with B'Elanna and especially Tuvok, and the establishment of Seska as a solid supporting character really carry this episode for me. And Josh Clark makes me wish that Joe Carey had been a recurring supporting character beyond season one as a father who really just wants to get home to his family. Voyager would have benefitted from more recurring characters that could be developed a la DS9, and I really like the "engineering staff" that allow B'Elanna to have her own subplots apart from the main cast.

Nice to see a Starfleet crew on the receiving end of a "prime directive" for once and having to just live with that. I thought that particular reality could have used a bit more discussion in the episode, maybe leading to some flexibility on the topic down the line.

Like ovaduh, I love that this episode is referenced in "Picard". I didn't expect so many Voyager references in that show, and most were quite welcome, this one in particular.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

The is the first four star episode of Voyager, an episode that is patient and thoughtful and in which the plot takes several unexpected turns, and which uses Voyager's unique premise very effectively. They really do just about everything right here. Yes, it's a given that Voyager will fail to find a way home by the end of the episode, but it's honestly unreasonable to hold that against the episode, given the premise of this series.

I enjoyed watching the crew investigate, get their hopes up, run into an obstacle which dashes those hopes, only for a solution to present itself, at which point the cycle repeats itself. It's a nice example of this crew working together to problem-solve and find alternatives until they finally hit a dead end and are forced to give up. And the Romulan scientist is a nicely written, well-acted antagonist who becomes a friend by the end, so much so that we're genuinely sad to hear that he died before Voyager even left in the first place.

Four stars, easily.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Jun 2, 2020, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Ex Post Facto

I think it's clear that Voyager was still trying to find it's way and identity in these early episodes. That being said, I enjoy the film noir detective story approach, and I quite like that Tom's eye for the ladies really gets him in trouble this time. This is not a terribly ambitious episode, but as an early "still getting to know the characters" type of drama, it works fairly well. Yeah, it's not hard to see where the plot is going when it comes to the two Baneans having an affair behind the old professor's back and setting Tom up for the fall, but the twist of using Tom's implanted memories to smuggle information to the Numuri worked well the first time I saw the episode. Like Tom, I assumed the symbols were part of the punishment and didn't think any more of them.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, Jun 1, 2020, 6:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Race riots, arguments over interpretations of history, attacking museums... this episode suddenly became very topical after this past weekend. Eerily so.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, May 19, 2020, 9:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

This is NOT a "holodeck malfunctions" episode. It's an "aliens abuse Voyager's unfamiliar technology" story, and I thought this was actually one of the more creative uses of the holodeck, with the Hirogen driving it well beyond what it was designed to do. The Kazon could not get a single replicator to work properly, but the Hirogen are smarter, taking the ship and making the crew do the work for them. The story fits right in with one of Voyagers ongoing themes, that of how this single ship can massively affect the region of space they're traveling through. The HIrogen leader is both extremely cruel, and yet more visionary than the others we've seen so far, seeing the potential of the holodeck to bring his wandering and increasingly scattered race back together. As an aside, I like the way he's decorated Janeway's ready room with his trophies, showing just who is now in charge on the ship and what it's purpose is.

This is an increasingly anarchic episode as the story progresses, I agree about that. The Hirogen don't quite understand what they've unleashed by turning the holodeck safeties off and running a war simulation. Unlike Jammer, I enjoy the chaos of part two as the whole situation escalates and falls apart. It works on the level that the Hirogen don't truly understand what they have with Voyager's tech, and it comes back to bite them. In the end, a negotiated settlement and Voyager's crew getting away with their lives and ship is probably the best they could have done. It's a wonder the whole crew aren't traumatized and suffering from PTSD after what the Hirogen put them through. Being forced to take near-fatal injuries over and over again only for the Doctor to heal the victims and send them back in to fight again is as sadistic as it gets.

I'd give both episodes three stars. This is a very "Voyager" episode that probably would not have worked well if at all on TNG or DS9. The spectacle is fun and helps to soften the harshness of the ideas behind the simulations. The cast all get plenty to do and allow us to see all aspects of life on the ship under HIrogen occupation.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Wed, May 13, 2020, 7:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I'm not sure what people around here wanted from the Hirogen. I found the scenes with them genuinely unsettling, as these two aliens stand there and talk about butchering Tuvok in front of Seven so she can see what's going to happen to her. It doesn't get much more sadistic than that, particularly since it's clear to the Hirogen that Seven and Tuvok are sentient beings, and they just don't care. And like last week, the Hirogen scenes are setup for the next few episodes, and the amount of time we spend with them feels about right.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, May 12, 2020, 7:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Message in a Bottle

This is a pivotal episode in Voyager's overall storyline, without a doubt, and it's interesting that so much of it is played for comedy. It's not that the whole situation isn't dramatic, because it certainly is. There is the possibility that Voyager could lose its only doctor, who the crew genuinely cannot afford to lose. There's the risk of Starfleet losing their experimental new starship to the Romulans. There is the dangerous new adversary in the form of the Hirogen, not to be taken lightly as the next few episodes will show. So there are plenty of high stakes events going on in the episode.

The comedy comes from the Doctor being out of his depth and having to think on his feet and improvise as he deals with the stolen starship and bunch of Romulans. Picardo's role doesn't feel forced, while the EMH Mark 2 does. I always have a hard time taking Andy Dick's EMH seriously as a medical program given the way he plays the character so broadly. Even so, the episode is successful as a comedy team-up between two egotistical EMHs who can barely stop competing with each other long enough to cooperate, and it's always fun to watch. It's also good to see that time has moved on back in the Alpha Quadrant with the updated Starfleet uniforms and mention of the Dominion war.

The ending scene is just so well played, particularly Picardo's earnest delivery of the line "I did it!" For once the Doctor is not puffing himself up, he's genuinely excited to convey the news that he let Starfleet know that the Voyager crew is alive and well. It's a sincere payoff for both the episode and for three and a half years of Voyager.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, May 11, 2020, 1:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

I appreciate the fact that Star Trek sometimes goes for whimsical concepts like "Captain Janeway goes on an adventure with a hologram of Leonardo da Vinci". Every episode can't be dead serious drama, and I enjoy both John Rhys-Davies' performance (and that amazing voice) and the conceit that Da Vinci believes that he's in America. A lesser actor might get lost in the shuffle, but Rhys-Davies has the presence to make the episode work, in my opinion. Even so, Jammer is right, Janeway ought to just turn off the holographic emitter, put it in her pocket, and things would go a lot faster because she wouldn't have to debate the nature of existence with a simulation!
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, May 11, 2020, 1:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Mortal Coil

What a grim episode. It always feels to me like the writer had a spiritual crisis and turned that into a story for one of the Voyager characters. I'm not sure any of the main cast would have been suitable for this story other than Neelix, with the possible exception of Chakotay, given how humanistic the standard Starfleet belief system is. It's odd how Star Trek so often has to use one of the alien characters to explore religious beliefs when religion is so typical of human experience throughout history. But maybe a fictional alien belief system is a way to get around stepping on the toes of any real world beliefs, and that's probably for the best.

I've long since moved past any dislike for Neelix, and so I'm often rooting for him when we get an episode focused on the character. Ethan Phillips showed how good his performance can be back in "Jetrel" and he demonstrates it again here, showing once again that Neelix's cheerful front is just that, and that there's a lot of anger and sadness beneath the surface. Any of us who have been through a crisis of faith can understand his despair in this episode, and the struggle to work through it. Chakotay makes an appropriate sounding board for Neelix since he's the only other character on the show with anything resembling spiritual beliefs, and I was glad to see him argue against Neelix abandoning his faith. The idea that a living mind might not understand what's on the other side of death is a logical argument to make under the circumstances.

I'll admit I'm not quite sure how Neelix finally resolved his dilemma at the end other than to choose to live for the sake of others. Did he lose his faith, or is he still working out exactly what he believes? I'm not sure it's ever addressed.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Mon, May 11, 2020, 9:35am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

This is another fun episode, with a genuinely creepy alien design. I'm glad to see Chakotay still getting to be the lead character in some of these stories, because I had the impression that he had largely faded into the background by this point, but it just goes to show how the memory cheats. The "is it real or still a dream" fakeouts are nicely done as well. The humor works well (Tuvok going to the bridge naked, Seven's "resistance is futile" when making a move on Harry, etc.) I can't say I have any complaints, this is just a solid adventure story with a creative adversary. The image with all the aliens sleeping in the cavern is very nicely done. I like this one quite a bit.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 3:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

"I've got an Ocampan who wants to be something more and a Borg who's afraid of becoming something less." - Janeway sums up this episode

The last time I watched this episode I thought Kes got short shrift in favor of Seven, but in reevaluating this time around I thought the two plotlines were fairly well balanced. The two characters never speak to each other, but Kes saves Seven's life and prevents her from contacting the Borg, so the two storylines don't feel entirely disconnected.

Since this is Kes's final episode as a regular cast member, I did enjoy that she got to spend time with all the characters she had the closest relationships to over the course of the series. The final scenes with the Doctor, Tuvok, Janeway and Neelix were all appreciated, even if I could wish that a bit more time was spent on Neelix and Kes's former relationship. And it seemed very appropriate to me that the final actions Kes took were to protect her friends and cut ten years off of their trip. All in all, as much as I hate to see the character go, it's not a bad sendoff. If only they hadn't botched the character in "Fury", but we'll see how that episode looks when I get to it down the road.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Thu, Apr 30, 2020, 2:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

This is just a fun episode. I love Tom and B'Elanna's juvenile behavior. I love Chakotay and Neelix one-upping each other on how bad they have it. I love Janeway's crankiness and reckless course of action at the end of the episode, along with Tuvok's dry commentary. And Seven's investigation where she can see the aliens everywhere is nicely done. I honestly don't care about the plausibility (or lack of) of the science, I just enjoy watching the crew react to the situation and take on some pretty loathsome aliens.

Tuvok's "I'll share a glass of wine" moment with Janeway shows a level of empathy and caring that we don't often see from the character. It really does show what good friends they are, in a very quiet, understated way.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Fri, Apr 24, 2020, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

We need a crossover where the Voth take on the Borg. I bet the Voth would win that fight. They seem like a race not to be trifled with. They don't even have to use firepower to wear Voyager down in a fight like most hostile aliens, they just capture the ship and depower it without breaking a sweat. Pretty impressive.

I'm not quite sure why this episode appeals to me so much. I think Jammer hits on at least one of the reasons: Gegen is a sympathetic character who is pretty much the protagonist of this episode, and I enjoy following his investigation and sympathize with his dilemmas all through the episode. His enthusiasm for his investigation is well played by the actor. In the end he's just a fundamentally decent person put in an impossible position.

I enjoy the look back through this season, with poor Hogan's bones and part of his uniform discovered in the teaser, and then the trading station by the Nekrit expanse revisited. It's a nice bit of continuity and it shows that Voyager has made an impression at some of their ports of call. Chakotay gets another good outing as the representative for humanity in front of the Voth, and he acquits himself well, even if he can't break through Voth dogmatic thinking any more than Gegen can.

In the end, this feels like our crew of explorers encountering "new life and new civilizations" in the best Star Trek traditions, and the Voth feel like a suitably powerful and mysterious race of the type we needed to see in this unexplored part of the galaxy. I think it's one of my favorites from the season.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Thu, Apr 23, 2020, 1:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

Rahul, that to me is one of the values of having multiple Star Trek shows, that each one can approach the same basic concept from a different angle and give us different results. Voyager does have the misfortune of being the third series of the 90s, so a lot of the best ideas had perhaps already been done by TNG and DS9, but Voyager could still produce some good episodes and the occasional great. Everyone's mileage will vary, of course!

And Neelix doesn't bother me either. Like so many, I found him very annoying at first, but I've since learned to appreciate the character and Ethan Phillips' performance. Episodes like Jetrel and Fair Trade showed us that a lot of his annoying cheerfulness and exuberence is a front covering a pretty insecure and angry person with a selfish streak, but beneath it all he has a good heart and a lot of loyalty. Yeah, he makes some dumb mistakes, but what Trek character doesn't?
Next ►Page 1 of 3
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.