Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 9 (Showing 1-9)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sat, Jan 18, 2020, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Future Tense

I spent most of this episode being angry at how stupid they're being. They've dealt with any number of weird contagions and mysterious gases in their explorations, so they should know to be careful. They even have that whole decontamination chamber.

But when they find a derelict pod, they just take it into Enterprise and open it up. The hull even blocked them from sscaninginside! They have no idea what's in there. Could be a chlorine armosphere or something. Could be that whatever made it go derelict is still lurking inside, too. But no, they just stand around it with no protective gear and open it up.

Then later with the Trip and Malcolm scenes, they're not even wearing gloves. They're just touching everything (including objects covered in strange fluids) with their bare hands. It was icky to watch.

But I guess the writers had told them that this was not a "mysterious disease" episode so they had nothing to worry about.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sat, Jan 18, 2020, 8:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

I had to roll my eyes when Archer was upset that the Vulcans wouldn't cure the disease because of political reasons. Archer did exactly that to an entire species!

But now the shoe is on the other foot. Protagonist-centered morality at its finest.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sun, Jan 12, 2020, 11:12pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Carbon Creek

I'm assuming she dealt with Mestral by killing him and incinerating the body. You don't leave loose ends like that on an uncontacted planet.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sun, Jan 5, 2020, 3:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: The Andorian Incident

The fight scenes always make me angry about how stupid they are.

Here they had surprise and cover, from that face wall with the three holes. They could have simply shot both Andorians through the holes. What do they do instead? They blow up their cover, then stumble through and give the Andorians time to shoot one of them and run away. Why?

They might as well have come through the front door.

I guess they're super lucky that the Andorians used stun weapons too.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sat, Jan 4, 2020, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Unexpected

Sigh... I was just thinking "at least with all the tech being this old, there's not gonna be a holodeck. Yay!". Like literally between episodes 3 and 4 I was thinking that. And what do we get? Holodeck!

Oh god I jinxed it
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Mon, Dec 30, 2019, 8:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

@Sean Hagins
I can't stand the immorality they show on TV either. In just this episode we've seen abduction, mind control, government corruption, violations of medical ethics, and unauthorized free drinks. All profoundly immoral. I'm glad there was a nice love story to distract from all that.

@Gooz
You commented on the inefficiency of this way of acquiring workers, compared to just paying them more. But keep in mind that this is a criminal conspiracy. They don't have to be efficient, they just have to make money for themselves, even if it's a net loss for the company.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 11:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

CAPTAIN'S DIRECTIVE, TO TAKE EFFECT IMMEDIATELY

Group dinners, poker games, or any other activity involving humorous banter in private quarters are now forbidden. It always leads to some dang anomaly interrupting it and then we all have to deal with that.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Tue, Dec 24, 2019, 3:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Have tractor beams ever worked in this series? It seems they always get broken out of somehow.
Set Bookmark
Amtep
Sun, Dec 15, 2019, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: One Small Step

I think the chances of Voyager encountering the same anomaly that captured the Mars orbiter are not so bad if we assume that there's only one of it and it just gets around a lot. In 300 years it's had plenty of time to crisscross the galaxy.

We also know it's attracted to EM radiation and Voyager on its long lonely journey is probably the brightest object for lightyears around. (Not counting the stars, but if the anomaly were attracted to stars it would have been swallowed by one long ago)

Consider also that this EM-attracted object showed up around Mars, not around Earth which is much noisier in terms of emissions. So it might be that it's particularly attracted to EM sources that stand out against a silent background. This again makes Voyager a particularly likely target for it.

Don't mind me, I'm a professional plot hole filler just doing my job.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.