Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Calvin
Wed, Dec 30, 2015, 4:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

In my opinion B5 is the greatest show of all time. It is hands down, the most complete series ever created. It certainly helped that the guy who created it, wrote 50 or so episodes in a row so most of it all made sense. I remember that series finale and it was powerful, I cant think of any show that had anything that good.
Set Bookmark
Calvin
Wed, Dec 23, 2015, 12:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

"With Abramsverse, I'm not sure what I'm watching. One minute it's a loud blockbuster, the other it's a strange overwrought homage to older movies, the third I'm wincing at breweries posing as machine rooms, the fourth I'm wondering if I'm looking at the bridge or a supermodern exhibition hall/cell phone store, the fifth there's silly sitcom humor barely rooted in the character dynamics. I just don't get the feeling that all these disparate parts amount to something more. The movies -- the first two, that is -- are just set pieces piled on top of each other without any narrative glue to hold them together."

As im reading this im thinking im reading a review of the PRequel Star Wars trilogy hahaha.
Set Bookmark
Calvin
Mon, Dec 21, 2015, 2:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: New Trek Series Coming in 2017

"Let me get this straight. CBS is launching a new Star Trek but people are going to have to pay for it? They are just screaming,"Pirate our show. Please.""

Its going to be based in the new universe so I will be pirating it without question.
Set Bookmark
Calvin
Mon, Dec 21, 2015, 11:08am (UTC -6)
Re: Trailer: Star Trek Beyond

"To cap this largish post off: I watched Force Awakens yesterday (I already said upthread that I'm not a diehard fan of Star Wars). And man, what a difference. *That* is how you respect an iconic franchise and iconic characters. Story, characters, themes, atmosphere, production design, sentiments, EVERYTHING was true to the spirit of Star Wars. Although it most definitely is a huge blockbuster (as the originals were), it has soul and it exudes the confidence of something that knows what it wants to be and how to get there. It IS Star Wars, whatever one may this of that particular franchise."

I agree 100% with this assessment of Star Wars. Whats weird is the guy who respected the Star Wars franchise so much is the same guy who destroyed the Star Trek franchise. I dont really get it.
Set Bookmark
Alvin
Tue, Apr 10, 2012, 10:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I am in the process of re-watching all of DS9. I had never seen this one before.

It was awful. Just ludicrous. Worst kind of bottle show. 24th century Federation citizens playing Lord of the Flies. The colonists come off as dolts, no regard for consequences, willful torture of Starfleet officers by Federation citizens, I can go on and on.

Best forgotten, this one. I am strongly resisting the urge to go on and on about it.
Set Bookmark
Alvin
Tue, Feb 28, 2012, 7:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

Just rewatched this. The way the ending was handled was so moving, I actually shed tears. A fitting end to the classic character, and a triumphant final performance for John Colicos (who passed away shortly after).

Jammer, I would love for you to watch this one again and comment on it; see how it has aged with time for you.
Set Bookmark
Alvin Cura
Sat, Jan 21, 2012, 2:22am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

I enjoyed DS9 a lot, especially at the end. But I also think of TNG as the best Star Trek.

Without a huge diatribe about what I like so much about DS9 (where I think of it as great TV but bad Star Trek); here is the easiest way I think I can explain it.

I watched DS9 on DVD after Babylon 5 ended. And I liked it a lot, because it did a lot to fill the void and hunger that Babylon 5 left behind.

A great show, to be sure. Wonderful production value. Awesome cast. Good stories. Great continuity. Huge story arcs with real consequences ranging from subtle to apocalyptic.

Kind of like B5. With Paramount's money.

Awesome show. Not great Star Trek, IMO.
Set Bookmark
alvinc
Wed, May 4, 2011, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Cloudane:

I think it's hard to quantify the US as "heavily Christian"; especially in light of the age-old struggle of practicing what one preaches.

I guess it would be more concise to say that, Christian or not, the US has issues with the principle of forgiveness.

I had mentioned earlier in this thread that in my view, the death penalty isn't justice. It's killing.

Although that said, sometimes there is a good reason to kill somebody.

It's a can of worms.
Set Bookmark
alvinc
Thu, May 27, 2010, 2:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

I rather enjoyed this episode. I thought it was well acted, decently written, and for all of the obvious twists that I knew where coming; I didn't find it particularly contrived.

With regard to the episode's commentary about the death penalty... I think the episode sucessfully depicts the death penalty as a can of worms. Which I think it is.

My personal views on the death penalty are, in my view, rather simple. And I don't find the episode to be very contradictory of it.

I don't think the death penalty is justice. I think it's killing. And I think that sometimes, there is a really good reason to kill someone. It's a can of worms, but there it is.
Set Bookmark
alvinc
Wed, May 26, 2010, 6:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

I think Bad Horse (the thoroughbred of sin?) has an important point. The ratings mindset translating to the death of network TV.

Still, I enjoyed Voyager. Not as immensely as perhaps I would have liked. On more than one occassion, I've been rather frustrated with the lack of exploration into the setting and characters they had. I would have liked to see Christie Golden's books (of Voyager after its return) realized on screen.

I have been a Trek fan for decades. TNG was a great series to me, and I can watch any single episode of it and usually enjoy it sufficiently, and for the great ones enjoy it immensely.

I warmed up to DS9 eventually, and have become very fond of it. But let me be honest... I love DS9 because it's Babylon 5 in the Federation universe.

I thought Voyager did well in the formula of episodic TV. But my disappointment was that the premise and the cast could have done a lot more. I think it's fine just as it is. But with that cast and setting, I think it would have been a great candidate for longer reaching story arcs.
Set Bookmark
Alvin Brinson
Tue, Mar 17, 2009, 1:46am (UTC -6)
Re: Return of the Anykey

Just found one of these sitting in a friend's closet in near perfect shape. Haven't had a keyboard like this since 1996 when I sold my Focus FK 9000 (that one had a built in calculator as well as the 124 keys and macros)... I just wish this had the clicky feel like the old IBM PS/2 battlekeyboards.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.