Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 302 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 13
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 6:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Firestorm

this was the first episode of Orville I ever got a glimpse of.
was randomly scrolling through channels and I stumbled across this thing with a vaguely Bajoran-looking girl getting into trouble, and a robot's eyes turning red as it turns evil and tries to kill her.

thought what I saw was passable albeit nothing truly stunning, and it was good for killing time while it was on.
Set Bookmark
Alex Williams
Tue, May 8, 2018, 1:22am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Lessons

@ Ross Carlton

I agree with all of your points. But an Fminor does not contain an A, it has an Aflat. The difference between an Fminor and a diminished D is, in fact, a whole tone ~ from Cnatural to Dnatural; from the 5th of the Fminor to the root of the Ddiminished.
Set Bookmark
Miss Alexandra
Fri, Feb 2, 2018, 8:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: What's Past Is Prologue

I do not always agree with you, Jammer, but I endorse every single word you wrote about this episode. I have been a huge fan of Discovery, Isaacs was a big part of that, and turning a wonderfully complex character into an eeeeevil cartoon absolutely enraged me. Of all the things they could have done with Lorca, they made the worst possible choice. I agree the action sequences were great (they finally made use of having a martial arts star to work with!). The other thread of this episode, contrasting how the crew behaves under Lorca's effective but repressive rule with an atmosphere that is so very Starfleet, and completing Saru's journey to self confidence, was masterful, but the price was too high. My excitement for the next episode dropped about 50% from where it's been.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 2:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Whispers

this is a hard one for me to watch.
the episode sets up a really uncomfortably atmosphere from the get go, and tells you in virtually every way that something is wrong.

I clicked on it by accident one evening when I was looking for an episode to chill out with and had to turn it off again because I was on edge as soon as Miles and Keiko had that really weird dinner.
Set Bookmark
Alex
Wed, Jan 24, 2018, 12:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Marauders

How did clingons managed to harass colonists for five seasons if the whole show had run for incomplete two seasons?
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 6:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Gooz, I would say that Bashir came off that creepy because Melora wasn't written strongly enough.
she got turned into this really vulnerable, almost helpless, character, just sitting around and waiting for the good doctor to make it all better.

if she'd been written with more strength and could actually look after herself, Bashir might not come across as a complete creep any more.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Jan 22, 2018, 6:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

to be honest I don't see the point of this episode.
it could have been used to introduce a new character but Melora wouldn't appear again until the Star Trek Titan novels, could have been an opportunity to talk about disabilities and overcoming challenges but didn't really go for that angle, and overall it was very very boring.

the only scene that really stuck out to me was when Melora got rid of her equipment and was floating around in her quarters, but that got used for a really sappy scene with Doctor Bashir. seriously, I thought that should have been really cool but it just wasn't.
and Bashir didn't come out of this looking too good either. the writers made him fall in love with his patient in the space of an hour, which didn't give it the sense of emotional impact, that it could have had if they built up the romance as a subplot through the season.
not to mention that Melora came off as way too vulnerable, which in turn made Bashir seem like he was preying on her.

as for the gear that Melora was dragging around , surely we would have advanced past that by the 2370s. nearly four hundred years into the future and we're giving people leg braces and really heavy wheelchairs.
come on, think of more advanced stuff, even in the minor details. surely she'd have an anti-gravity floating wheelchair like Professor Xavier seeing as this is the 24th century. hell, Bashir could invent something for her as a way to show off.


Set Bookmark
Alex
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 1:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Encounter at Farpoint

THE GOOD
Seamlessly establishing a new cast and setting is never an easy thing to accomplish in ninety minutes of television but EAF largely manages to achieve it – all the characters are present and correct and their personalities are for the most part as they would remain for the rest of the series. There are a few rough edges here and there (perhaps most notably Picard who comes across as much more stern and abrasive than his character would become in later episodes). But the core group are there, and performances are mostly sound (but more on that later).

Particularly engaging are the exchanges between Q and Picard. There’s an instant chemistry between John De Lancie and Patrick Stewart, one which would be maintained throughout the series’ run. Personally I’ve never been a huge fan of Q as a character but it’s impossible to deny that the relationship he and Picard share is both interesting and entertaining, particularly given that John De Lancie nails the character right from the off and plays Q with such relish it’s hard not to like. It’s only a shame that his interactions with the other members of the crew are largely restricted to cheap jibes and mockery.

The mystery of Farpoint is kind of interesting, if a little lightweight. But this episode is more about introducing the new crew than providing a thrilling plot. For its part it ticks the necessary boxes and I liked the idea of a city that is actually a shape-shifting alien being that is being held against its will.

The Doctor McCoy cameo is nicely done and well played by DeForest Kelly. It would’ve been very easy to take this scene down the ‘this is all very different to my day’ route but placing Bones alongside Data and having him compare him to Spock is a nice way of bridging the two series.

The effects are pretty impressive (for the time) and there are some nice shots of the ship and Farpoint station, particularly in the blu-ray version.

THE BAD
Firstly, it’s quite evident that they struggled to fill the ninety minute run time with the material they had. There’s so much filler here – Picard ordering Riker to perform a manual recoupling of the ship (for no obvious reason), followed by a long scene where we see the saucer section slowly re-dock with its other half, being the most egregious example. There’s also plenty of pointless dialogue – at one point Picard pulls Q up on his promise that their trial would be fair and even has data read the court transcript back to him, only for Q to brand it “completely irrelevant”. If it’s irrelevant then why not say so in the first place? And more to the point why do we waste time dwelling on it?

The editing is also painfully clunky – shots hang for far longer than they should and pretty much every scene feels bloated and drawn out. You can’t help but feel that the original planned run time of sixty minutes would’ve been more appropriate for the material and allowed for better pacing.

Secondly, some of the performances on display leave a bit to be desired. Denise Crosby’s constant overacting (particularly in evidence when she gives her “you should get down on your knees!” speech) is jarring, whilst Marina Sirtis is just plain tedious as Troi delivering her empathetic cries of “Pain! Pain!” and “Terrible loneliness!”. This isn’t a slight against either actress as they’re both better actors than this, as they would go on to prove, but you get the impression that with tighter direction they could’ve given a better account of themselves. As it is their time on screen often grates and, in the case of Troi, made me constantly want to skip to the next scene.

I could also have done without Wesley in this episode. It seemed a little odd that Riker appeared to already know him but not Beverley – presumably if he’d have met Wes before then he’d have met his mother? His scenes don’t add anything and just add to the already overly-long run time. He could easily have been introduced in a later episode.

As for the plot itself, it’s perfectly fine, but given that it’s supposed to be the ultimate test by which humanity can prove it has moved on from its savage ways and become a sophisticated space-faring race, it all seems rather simple and inconsequential. I figured out what was going on after the first scene with Riker and Zorn, and it stretches credibility somewhat that it takes Picard and his crew so long to do the same - Q even alludes to the simplistic nature of the puzzle at the conclusion of the episode. Now it’d be churlish to expect an intricate thriller of Crichton-esque proportions as a first episode, but the whole thing comes across as perfunctory rather than particularly smart.

RATING: ★★
Set Bookmark
Alex
Thu, Dec 21, 2017, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

Terrible episode. Nonsensical idea poorly executed. That anyone could even entertain the idea that the existence of a holiday planet could bring down the Federation is laughable. As is pointed out in the review - going on a holiday is a simple indulgence that I'm sure most species in the Star Trek universe enjoy. That's before you even get to the garish visuals, terrible acting and awful script (Worf's soccer story being a particularly bad example).

Have to agree that this is worth zero stars.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Wed, Dec 13, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Blink of an Eye

this was my favorite episode of the series when I was little. I thought it was so fascinating watching an entire civilisation develop.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Dec 11, 2017, 4:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

BORING!
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

@Ubik
I absolutely adore Doctor Who and will get nerdy about it, but the previous show-runner has a record of using the Time War as an excuse to screw around with the lore. which is probably necessary when you have a 54 year old show about a time-travelling alien.

earth was supposed to be wiped out in the 2900s as shown by The Ark in Space? no problem. you can show a rebuilt earth in the 200th century, and then destroy it again in the year 5 billion, you just blame the Time War for the obvious inconsistency.
I can see why the fan-base doesn't care that much about making sense of the lore, when anything and everything can happen which contradicts the established lore so long as the writers have a handy excuse.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Wed, Nov 15, 2017, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I know I commented earlier but its a 7/10 for me if I have to use a scale.
it was a very pretty episode, and I finally started to give a damn about more characters, as well as not being annoyed with Burnham in the slightest.
rather I was too caught up in the drama to have a chance to get annoyed with anyone really.

the thing is I can't get over all the stuff we've put up with up to this point, I kept rewinding because I somehow didn't understand the Cornwell situation (which was admittedly my fault), and I still don't like Saru in the slightest.
I'll give it a seven, even though I'm getting really fussy with my complaints, but if the writers can improve on this level of quality I will go to an 8 or even a 9. and for another thing, please can we kill Saru?

Set Bookmark
Alexandrea
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 4:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

If each episode must be an action blockbuster, at least we get a good one! Jammer nailed it on most points here.

I've felt uncomfortable with the portrayal of Tyler as a male with PTSD from sexual assault for the simple reason that we the audience know that his story is false, because we know that L'Rell was not in the place he describes for most of the time in question and suspect he is in fact a Klingon sleeper agent. There may be ways of resolving this contradiction that do right by the themes raised, but treating this trauma primarily as an expedient plot point, or ultimately showing the scene between him and Burnham to be based on something unreal, does the issue a disservice. We'll have to wait and see.

I would also very much like to see the bridge crew given character depth. We have a very thin cast on this show, so there's no reason we can't devote more time to *all* of our characters in lieu of all the stuff blowing up.

But at least the stuff blowing up had stakes and felt entertaining. I'm cancelling my CBS All Access until the show comes back, and I don't like how much it costs, but Discovery has managed to keep me on board.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

I found myself cringing when Stamets took that last jump.
Discovery finally got an emotional reaction out of me other than laughter!

I'm not kidding, this episode is the most emotionally invested I've been all through and I think I've started to care about Stamets.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 9:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

okay yeah, that was crap.
for me it wasn't any one thing, and I can't write you an essay about why I didn't like it, but it was borderline unwatchable.
I got through about twenty minutes and started fast-forwarding, because I was bored and wanted it to end.

@Karatasiospa
the reason I like some darker shows is because they take their ideas seriously, and they put their characters through tough situations. it isn't just because of darkness, but because of the opportunity for character work and also because it allows the upbeat moments to mean more to me.
I don't have a problem with Trek doing this so long as its done as well, and it has been before.

the episode of Galactica where they built the blackbird is one of my favorites because its a lighter and brighter episode after weeks of suffering and misery, and it actually gives that crew something to celebrate.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 7:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

Jarvis, I think the writers were trying to be clever.
this is supposedly a set up episode before next week's blow-out, hence "if you want peace prepare for war"

the reason it doesn't make sense is because we've been at war since the pilot episode, and the pilot was the only good time to have a title about preparing for war.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sun, Nov 12, 2017, 3:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@skupper
"none of them are the good time fun girl who likes to give advice to everyone"

I know I'm being pedantic but I know guys and girls with Autism who are like it.
thing about Autism/Asperger's it gets all of us in different ways. I love to give advice and I'm always getting involved with stuff, but you won't find me at a disco because I'll have a seizure and have to be led back out.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 3:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@ Paul M.
not trying to wade into an ongoing row but Tilly was literally the first character I picked up on when we were introduced to the show.

without getting all social justice-y I thought it was pretty cool that they bought on an Autistic character who can actually do more than exhibit repetitive behaviors and act sheepish around other characters. she's an actual character, not a severely uncomfortable stereotype, and I like that we get to see her act like a human being.

I would want to see more of her, not just because she has the same condition as me, but because I find her character to be quite quirky and bubbly, and she's just a lot more fun than some of the others.

she may or may not have been a diversity pick but the actress and the writers have made her more than just a token, and the one criticism I do have is actually her character development. Tilly needs an arc just as much as Burnham or Stamets, and we need to be able to see change in her by the end of the season.
Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Gul Densho-Ar
damnit!

I suppose I could wait for the next episode, and watch them back to back.
tolerate this then move straight onto the next one before I realise what I just watched.

Set Bookmark
James Alexander
Sat, Nov 11, 2017, 6:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

so the episode fell on its face in other words.
am I okay to skip this one or will I have to watch it for next week's finale?
Set Bookmark
Alexandrea
Fri, Nov 10, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Cupid's Dagger

So all those times of our playing Yaphit's sexual harassment of Finn for laughs was buildup so that we could play Finn having sex with him while drugged for laughs?

Frak this show. My line is crossed. I'm done now.

If the comments thread needs to be full of "is it really rape?" then your show is doing it wrong.
Set Bookmark
Alexandrea
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 4:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

@Skupper

Why does representation matter in television, you're asking? Imagine if every movie released in theaters starred lesbian Muslims with autism. Maybe there's a straight White guy in a bit part, but the deep characterization, the heroics, and the narrative substance always go to a particular category of person, and one unlike you. Hey, you have nothing against lesbians, or Muslims, or people with disabilities. Some of these stories are great, others not so much. But people who look like you, or have your cultural background, or your life experience? Sidekicks at best, maybe a villain sometimes, and when they do appear Hollywood gets your culture embarrassingly wrong.

You have no role models in film and no portrayals of people like yourself, or what portrayals do exist make you out as untrustworthy or dangerous. What does this do to your self-esteem? Your estimation of your life chances? And how does this affect others' perception of you when they meet you?

In our real world, neurodivergent people have poor representation in film, and you did not even know who or what they are. Have you observed that people tend to respond with with less trust to the unknown or unfamiliar? Can you argue that it does not matter if people are treated with less respect because differential representation in mass media renders them unknown, or familiar only in particular roles?

Martin Luther King famously asked Nichelle Nichols to stay on the original series when she was thinking of leaving, because she should not underestimate the importance of millions of Black girls seeing a Black woman in a professional role on television for the first time. Representation matters, and it matters on Star Trek more than most places, because supposedly we are seeing a future in which persons of any creed, nation, or ethnicity have equal opportunity to serve and to achieve.
Set Bookmark
Alexandrea
Thu, Nov 9, 2017, 12:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

The conversation over diversity and representation is an interesting one. I'm thrilled to have Black, Pakistani, non-straight, and neurodivergent characters on a show with a pretty small main cast. I can't side with criticism that discounts the significance of this diversity, but I can agree that the human crew feels very culturally American, and portraying both humanity and other species as not culturally homogeneous could benefit the show.

@Hank
I think we're making different critiques, but both are legitimate. I'm pointing out that Discovery values rapid movement of plot points over exploring depth in the themes it raises, and you're raising that the plot points in question don't even make consistent internal sense.
Set Bookmark
Alexandrea
Tue, Nov 7, 2017, 4:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum

It's a shame Discovery can't develop its stories as well as its space battles, since we have a logical sci-fi premise. The Discovery begins losing against Klingon cloaking technology, so an away team has been sent to a planet with naturally occurring subspace "sonar" that could reveal cloaked ships if amplified. The planet's ecosystem turns out to be an interlinked intelligent life form itself, which built the organic technology in order to contact other worlds. A crew member begins valuing the inherent peacefulness of this planet above his mission, and conflict ensues. Meanwhile, L'Rell attempts to defect by posing as the captured admiral's interrogator and escaping with her, but instead is caught, resulting in her capture and the admiral's death.

The trouble is that the episode races through each beat more as a narrative shorthand than as a developed story in its own right. Trek fans recognize the trope of a crew member on a paradise planet inhaling the flowers (I truly hoped that Saru would start craving some mint julep tea) and so the writers (or editors?) believe we can rush the implications as a foregone conclusion. We don't get to know these Pahvans, and the episode doesn't seem to care if we do. Similarly, the trope of coming to understand your enemy is one that the show supposes that Trek can take for granted, so that they don't really bother to show us L'Rell and the admiral doing it.

The episode was short and evidently had scenes cut that might have addressed these issues. Does CBS not understand that it is streaming this show? Not all added length is good length, but it's not by accident that most popular serialized television has slowly crept toward longer episodes, not shorter ones.

Still, it's not only a problem in this episode. The writers seem willing to raise Trek tropes as a kind of narrative shorthand in service to plot points rather than as meaningful explorations. The tardigrade served as the Trek story in fast forward of coming to know a seemingly hostile creature as peaceful. Internal Vulcan politics? One of the strong points of Enterprise appears in Discovery merely as a contrived way to put Sarek in jeopardy. "You already know this jazz," the writers seem to wink, "so we're playing this tune in double-time so we can get from A to B." It's like we're getting skins of Trek stories without their substance.
Next ►Page 1 of 13
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.