Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 11 (Showing 1-11)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

3.5/4 stars from me. I liked this episode, but the last 3-4 minutes were not all that great. The kiss, among other things. To me it looked like that one happened on the bridge, in front of the whole crew, but it would have made a lot more sense is that scene had happened in the captain's quarters or somewhere else private.
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Sun, Sep 29, 2019, 6:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Tomorrow Is Yesterday

I generally like the time-travel episodes in all of Trek - no matter how silli or illogical they are. This one, however, was one of the more clever ones. Quite enjoyable. I'm probably one of the few who has seen every Star Trek series except from TOS, but I finally started watching this as well. 4/4, indeed!
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Mon, Feb 5, 2018, 6:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The War Without, The War Within

I loved this episode! Easily four stars from me. Captivating dialogue, nice "spore-regrowing" scene, among other things. Some scenes nearly brought a tear to my eyes.

The only thing that made me question this episode is why Discovery wasn't spotted and attacked by the klingons, considering the vast prescence the klingons seem to have all around. I guess that's to come in the next episode.
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Mon, Nov 13, 2017, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Into the Forest I Go

Loved the episode, it had me on my toes most of the time, such suspense! Four stars.

Why does it have to be the mirror universe they travel to, as so many of you suggest? I got the general impression on Lorca / Stamets that there is an infinite amount of parallel universes within their grasp with the spore drive. I'm expecting a parallel universe, but a mirror universe done cleverly, should be interesting to watch. "After Trek" usually provides a sneak peek of the next episode, and after tonight's episode run, I HAVE to see that sneak peek. That one isn't available on Netflix in Norway yet. :/

Too bad it's way too long until January.
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Thu, Oct 19, 2017, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Choose Your Pain

To the comments about swearing: What's the big deal? It's a perfectly natural part of any person's vocabulary, throughout the world. Personally, I hate the fact that swearing is censored by a "beep" on most american TV shows. It's ridiculous.
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Wed, Oct 11, 2017, 1:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Butcher's Knife Cares Not for the Lamb's Cry

I'm enjoying Discovery more and more! Captain Lorca is at war, and he knows it, but he must be doing something right, as he seems to have (most of, anyway) the crew with him, on the more questionable decisions as in this episode. Obviously, he sees something in Burnham that others don't.

Did anyone else notice how the "new" klingons have features that reminds of the remans in ST: Nemesis? That's been my first assosciation all along, which is kind of disturbing. However, judging the timeline this series is set to, Starfleet doesn't know too much about the klingons yet, so I think it makes sense to portray them the way it is done!
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

@Filip : The accidental run-in with Michael and the klingon on the klingons' sacred structure in space which resulted in the klingon being killed, might have been a final blow to start the war? Just a thought. The klingon scenes before that also suggested that war plans were obviously already being made, of course, but this might have finally triggered it.
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Mon, Oct 2, 2017, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

I've watched all of Star Trek except from a few episodes of TOS, and I'm digging Dicovery this far. I would, however, have preferred that the new series took place after Voyager chronologically, as it would obviously make any continuity issues a lot simpler, and the technology more plausible, as far as plausible goes in sci-fi.

Characters getting a chance for redemption is nothing new. Ro Laren is mentioned above, but the same can be said about Tom Paris in Voyager, who was extracted from the penal colony to serve a purpose for a mission with Voyager, and in time he earned the crew's respect. One might even count Garak in for this comparison, since he apparently had a dark past as well. I'm sure that the Michael character's realations with the rest of the crew will improve in much the same manner throughout the series., as already seen with both her roomate and Saru. The fact that Michael gets this opportunity, gives me assosciations toward the trustworthiness in human kind that we know from Trek, and that everybody deserves a second chance, after all.

I don't think there have been any Star Trek series without one or many weak episodes (think 1st season TNG), so I for one will give the whole season a chance, no matter what. I'm already looking forward to next monday, which is when it is released on Netflix in Norway. :)

Breath scan: SILLY! But come to think about it, of course we have never heard of this invention from TOS 10 years later - just look at how easy it was for Michael to fake it. It must just have been a fad for a very limited time period and soon forgotten about. :P
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Mon, May 30, 2016, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Badda-Bing, Badda-Bang

Loved this episode! Good entertainment, although I wonder how the station gets by with all or most of its senior staff spending a significant amount of time in the holosuite.

As a musician, I found the music in this episode genious - The usual DS9 theme transformed into big band feelgood-jazz. Nice!
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Sun, Apr 24, 2016, 4:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: For the Cause

I woud rate this episode 3 or 3,5 rather than Jammer's 2,5. It has quite a few great moments, and the surprises keep coming. I'm not too distracted by the lack of a back story for Eddington's reason to suddenly become a Maquis, because the fact that he's been hiding it so well thus far, suggests that this had to happen quickly, and doesn't need any further explanaiton for me.

The side plot with Garak was also amusing, I actually would have wanted more of the two om them in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Akkal
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 6:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Forsaken

I can't even beginn to express how much I hate Lwaxana Troi. I really don't understand your support, even with the ending scene in the elevator. She is annoying, fake (not caring to be ordinary) and remarkably self-centered. Oh, I just hate everything about that character! I wish they'd never get stuck in that elevator, it was painful to watch, and I felt sorry for Odo having to capitulate in the end. I've got to hand it to the actor, though, portraying such an annoying character. Since I dislike the character that much, it's a sign of convincinv acting.

I aggree on the overall rating though, the episode had its moments. I think I'm also, slowly, growing more fond of DS9, this is my first time watching the series.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.