Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 14 (Showing 1-14)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Adrian Lopez
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I give this episode two-and-a-half stars. It's an interesting premise, and somewhat entertaining, but I just can't forgive Will Riker's hostility toward Thomas Riker. Riker's animosity comes out of nowhere and vanishes just as quickly by the end of the episode. The writers could have come up with a better way to explore Will Riker's growth as a character than to have him be a jerk to the man he might have become.

Great idea with some interesting scenes, but poor execution.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Tue, Dec 4, 2018, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Dramatis Personae

I must be one of the few people who thinks this ranks among the best DS9 episodes. I give it 3 1/2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Adrian Martin
Mon, Sep 17, 2018, 10:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

@Ari Paul

You won't get any argument from me. Timescape is still in my Top 10 as well. :-)
Set Bookmark
Adrian Martin
Wed, Sep 5, 2018, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cause and Effect

When I was 15, I wrote out a list of my favorite Next Generation episodes. The top three were:

1. Cause and Effect
2. Frame of Mind
3. Timescape

Clearly, I loved having my mind warped by Brannon Braga when I was a youngster. Though my tastes have evolved since I've entered adulthood (now I tend to gravitate toward Ronald D. Moore's stories of high drama and political intrigue), this episode is still in my top 3. It's just pure, nutty science fiction, and I love watching the characters gradually put the pieces together each subsequent trip through the loop.

I began watching Next Generation regularly halfway through the third season, at the tender age of seven, but it was this episode that solidified my TNG fandom - from the moment the ship blew up in the teaser. Thank you, Mr. Braga!
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Fri, Sep 19, 2014, 11:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

The sheer ridiculousness of this episode is personified by Farris, the ship's first officer. She's written and performed like an 8-year-old child instead of the elite Starfleet cadet she's supposed to be.

"What's going on, Mister Sisko, *in case you haven't noticed*, is that *we* are in the middle of a *war*," she says, delivering the line with the gravitas of an elementary-school know-it-all. "I don't remember anyone inviting *you* to the bridge," she tells Jake in another scene as if speaking to her annoying little brother. Ridiculous!

The people on that ship are mostly caricatures of young and eager cadets. A terrible episode, although certainly not the worst.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I just can't believe O'brien would choose to abandon Keiko, Molly, and Yoshi to save a group of people who would otherwise just never be born.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Sat, May 3, 2014, 11:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

The scene with the four "mutants" breaking into improvised song must be one of the most annoying scenes in Star Trek history. The "mutants" themselves are likewise some of the most annoying characters ever to appear on Star Trek.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Sat, Jan 18, 2014, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

This episode wants us to believe Trip's behavior was unethical, but it is T'Pol's condemnation of Trip's interest in the cogenitor, Phlox's indifference to its status, and Archer's apparent ignorance of the Vissian's treatment of its cogenitors that is truly immoral. It's not a question of human rights versus alien values, but of the kinds of values that would deny basic freedoms and liberties to any sentient being that desires it.

One may speak of non-interference and of how something like the Prime Directive might have influenced these character's choices, but I don't think taking an interest in and discussing matters of personal rights with those you are interacting with would be consiered a form of interference under the Prime Directive. It's one thing not to impose your values upon other cultures, but quite another to speak as if the ethical treatment of sentient beings is simply a matter of cultural relativism. Even if Trip was wrong to go about things the way he did, for Starfleet to condone continuing ties between themselves and aliens whose society condones slavery would itself be a kind of interference far less ethical than anything Trip did in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Wed, Jul 8, 2009, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

karatasiospa:"And DS9 departed, partly, from this vision allthough not completely. I would say that DS9 was about the resisrances that such a society had or had not when it faced a grave danger."

Excellent point. Especially considering the presence of Section 31.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Mon, Jul 6, 2009, 1:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

karatasiospa:

Star Trek has never, ever been consistent in it's utopian vision of a world without money. They may say it often enough, but lines like "Are you buying dinner?" (Measure of a Man), "I have wagered heavily in the ship's pool..." (Peak Performance) not to mention countless DS9 references to gold pressed latinum or any number or currencies.

Personally, I cringe whenever I hear a line of dialogue regarding how "we don't have money in our time" because its never really held water. The writers of the various incarnations have had it both ways since the beginning.

To Genre-Buster: You raise an interesting point that I haven't thought of. Except it was Uhura ordering the beer, not Kirk. But I will second your argument about the "sexy" eps being of lower quality, generally.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Fri, Jul 3, 2009, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek (2009)

Hi everyone- just a few comments:

A couple posts were upset by the Budweiser reference in the bar near the beginning of the movie. Here's where I'm at with it, and would like to know if anyone agrees. One of the most annoying things about movies, tv shows, etc. is when a character is at a bar and he says to the bartender "I'll have a beer please" and not ONCE do you see the bartender ask the natural, follow-up question: "What kind?" Try going to bar and ordering just "a beer" and see what response you get. The Budweiser drop was product placement, yes, but believeable since it was part of a normal dialogue and we never once saw the logo or bottle, unlike the Nokia ad.

I did enjoy the movie a great deal, and have no problem accepting this version despite my life-long fandom with the franchise from TOS to DS9. The end, however, did bother me as much as it bothered others, namely, blasting away at Nero when he was already going to die. But...

Point to the Kruge scenario all you want, but it still gave us the line: "I...have had....enough of YOU!" which, c'mon, is a very 80's, "hero has a funny line while dispatching the villian" feel to it.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Fri, May 8, 2009, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Not to jump the gun, or start a new thread, but....

Jammer, will you be reviewing the new Star Trek?
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Mon, Apr 13, 2009, 5:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Ok perhaps it was a little blunt. A kneejerk reaction to what I've been hearing and reading for the past few weeks.

The problem with the whole "series finale" concept is that it builds up audience expectations that are rarely fulfilled. And whilst "All Good Things" was brilliant, "What You Leave Behind" I found to be a flawed end to an outstanding series. Let's not get started on The Sopranos......

Regarding a previous post about Galactica's condition, keep in mind the damage sustained by the initial barrage, the ramming of the colony, and the fact that Galactica jumped away without retracting the flight pods (if you go back and look, you can see things falling out of the flight pods when Galactica arrives from the jump!).

To Jammer: Take your time. I've been reading your reviews since DS9 was on the air and consider them to be one of the most intelligent discussions of these shows anywhere on the web. I wish you were able to review any and every show you mention watching, like 24, The Wire, The Shield, even old episodes on Homicide: Life on the Street (a criminally underrated show). Anyway, its been fun to read and I'm looking forward to future NextGen reviews too.

With thanks to Ryan B. and Colin for reigning me in.
Set Bookmark
Adrian
Thu, Apr 9, 2009, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Too all those upset with the finale:

Get over it. It ended the way it should have. I will gladly take Kara vanishing into thin air over some "ship of lights" nonsense. The abandonment of technology doesn't sound too far fetched, given what these people have been through. Besides, they did at least keep some of their raptors.

If you really hated the finale, then, to paraphrase Dr. Baltar "Be glad you found love in the first place."

I am a fan of many sci-fi series, be it BSG, Star Trek: The Next Generation, DS9, Doctor Who, whatever. Its hard to watch those other shows now, thanks to Galactica.

Future television writers of the sci-fi genre should take note. The bar for excellence has been raised. Considerably.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.