Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 121 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Tim C

Never let it be said that I'm not a man of my word. Paying up now.

But I'm ticked off about what was now obviously just an elaborate fake-out by the writers. ;) It's not like I just made up the connection. The similarities were too close and drew too much attention to themselves to be interpreted any other way.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I wonder why this episode was rated up at the season end. I’m watching through ENT for the first time and really did not find much enjoyment out of this one - but I wonder if, in hind sight, this one gets a better rating, in the same way many of the early Bashir/O’Brien eps from DS9 did, for being the beginning of what would become a more active friendship?

I’m reminded of Quark and Odo nearly freezing to death on the top of a mountain sometime early on in DS9, although I find their banter much more amusing - Trip here is especially annoying in the first half of the episode, although I find the things that bug me about him to be relatively consistent with his character so far.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

It is unreal to me how many commenters here have no patience for character developing plots. Is it especially well handled? No, but the whole point of this franchise is not just space action, but CHARACTERS handling space action. Watching enterprise for the first Time no, I am really living for these little details, and I like how quickly enterprise is digging into them whether or not they are relevant to the plot.

I’ve found this first season of Enterprise, therefore, to be pretty satisfying, except for how T’Pol is written.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

OH, YOU!!!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Tim C

I'll take it.

I'd forgotten to mention that the stabbed-in-the-eye thing has also been done by a certain cybernetic collective we're all familiar with...
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 2:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'd be surprised if it wasn't the Borg at this point. You've got holo-Control telling Leland "struggle is pointless" and choosing to adapt another's face and body as its representative in chilling reflection of Locutus. The similarities seem pretty clear, and intentional. And we know Discovery lacks the shame to pick from yet another existing Trek element.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 3:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Good ep and I wouldn't worry too much about the 'sabotage' of Isaac's character. My guess that he will end up saving the day in Part 2, redeeming himself and wrapping up the story thread with the kids about him not feeling anything.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Fri, Oct 19, 2018, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

I'm surprised to see such high praise for this episode. It continues the second season trend of characters making morally questionable or reprehensible decisions with little to no lasting consequences. I'm not sure who to be more disgusted with - Dax for murdering a bunch of Klingons to help her friends get revenge or Sisko for allowing her to get away with it all for the price of a scorned face. I mean, she's a Starfleet officer for cripes' sake.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

It's amazing that DS9 was renewed after its first two seasons, which were largely boring snore-fests like this episode. If this show didn't carry the Star Trek name, we likely would never have gotten the awesome Dominion Wars arc in later seasons.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Oh Chief O'Brien... You can't ignite a radiation leak. It's not like gas!
Set Bookmark
Adam
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

An entertaining episode, 3 stars for me. As a radiation physicist however, I feel compelled to point out that Data's cure for the radiation sickness makes no sense. If the villagers were exposed from an external source such as these metal fragments, the damage would be done. Radiation damage is done by the radioactive particle transferring energy to damage the DNA which causes DNA breakage and/or mutations later on. The radiation will either pass through the body completely or be absorbed once it runs out of energy, all in an instant. So when Data says his concoction will "neutralize the particles," there are actually no particles left to neutralize. He would have to make a concoction that somehow restored their DNA to its original state.

End rant.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Rahul

The nice thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Lots of silly things in this episode, but I don't think anyone has mentioned Troi being able to sense emotions in data. One would think that the betazoid telepathy would have some biological basis, but apparently they can just sense emotions, period.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Oct 1, 2018, 4:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

The episode itself is fun and enjoyable, but I've read enough of Richard Dawkins and Jerry Coyne to know that the payoff at the end is unscientific nonsense. The idea that some alien species designed humans to be the way they are completely ignores everything we know about natural selection and the various forms of life on Earth. Quite a shame for Star Trek to get well established science so horribly wrong.
Set Bookmark
Adam Genga
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I think this is possibly one of the most controversial and perhaps most commented on Jammer reviews ever, I can't believe it's still going!!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The franchise developed "Lost" syndrome - just shrugging and cutting characters and threads they didn't know what to do with.

Snoke, Phasma, and Holdo being the two most obvious ones. So much buildup, so NOTHING revealed about either one of them before they're just randomly killed. Nothing interesting done with them whatsoever. I gotta give credit to Gwendoline Christie for still being able to act like crazy using just her voice and one eyeball, but...massive disappointments, both of them. Also, a very unceremonious exit for Ackbar. He deserved better.

The plot structure was weird. Way too much filler. The whole mutiny and casino subplots were pointless and easily circumnavigated by sensible decisions by the characters. Rey dropped out of the entire latter fourth of the film after being its heart and soul. Bizarre.

And I'm also left without any idea what's the gripping impetus for another movie. Empire Strikes Back at least gave its sequel a strong reason to exist (i.e. the recovery of Han). VIII just gives us a vague "rebuilding a rebellion", even though the First Order seems all but dead itself at that point.

Just sloppy writing.

There was certainly potential. The long, drawn-out pursuit could have been really affecting and the transports' destruction did get me going. The Kylo and Rey dynamic was awesome. Yoda's appearance and his decision to destroy the Jedi texts FELT right, even though I thought Force ghosts couldn't "interfere".

But there was so much squandered. The more I think about it, the more I hate it.

Ugh.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 5:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

To be honest I found Dark Page much harder to get through than this and masks. The concepts are slightly absured and some of the DNA science is questionable, but I suppose as Jammer says what comes under your view as Sci-Fi. (That's not me saying they're great episodes just ones I can watch with a few laughs, I particularly enjoyed Deanna's line at the end of the episode which certainly is a change)

A few side

Overall I felt genisis was well directed by McFadden the spoder scene even made me jump.

I'm suprised from my brief scroll through (sorry if anyone has) that no one has mentioned the follow up from lower decks with Alyssa it was a small moment but I enjoyed it and its unusual seeing how episodic TNG normally is.
Set Bookmark
Adam Genga
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@John Harmon

No you're not xD I keep noticing it too.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

"It looks that way" is still one of the franchise's finest moments. I don't care what anyone says.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, May 29, 2017, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Very surprising to see Theodore Sturgeon's name under the writing credit at the end. Often a guest writer may get a killer plot and totally fail to integrate it into the tone and formula of the show (I'm looking at you, William Gibson-penned-X-Files-Episodes) - here we get kind of the opposite.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, May 1, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Just how big IS this cast anyway? Aren't we up to, like, 20?
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

EPISODE VIII TRAILER REVIEW
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Mar 9, 2017, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I have never liked how they did Alexander. He was conceived at the end of season 2 in TNG and we first see him in season 4. By season 6 of DS9 he's only 10 at the most in human years (Since DS9 started showing during season 5 of TNG). They never aged him properly nor explained to any satisfaction the Klingon aging process.

Because he is shown as perhaps an 18 year old, he either ages twice as fast as humans or they just f'd up bad with him!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Feb 27, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

trekmovie.com/2017/02/27/star-trek-discovery-to-premiere-by-early-fall/

Discovery to premiere "by early fall".

So, January 2018 then. ;)
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

The whole episode I was screaming at the TV. Just act zombified and the second those kids look the other way hit them with a haymaker! There is a world of wiggle room between killing and knocking them the hell out! I hate this episode with a fiery passion.
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.