Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 131 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sun, Jun 16, 2019, 11:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

What bothered me about this episode is that technically speaking, Nog was the ranking officer on the ship since everyone else were cadets. The command was his, and he should have immediately turned the ship around and taken it home. At the end, Nog blames Captain Watters for being a bad Captain when Nog himself is actually responsible for the death of Red Squad via his inaction.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Jun 8, 2019, 4:24am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Statistical Probabilities

The whole premise of this episode doesn't fly with me.

I think it's our society's stigma with genetic modification that would lead the writers to concoct a story where being genetically engineered could inadvertently put you on the autism spectrum. We can modify plants today with incredible precision. I would think that centuries from now, we would have figured out genetic engineering a bit better than what's depicted here.

Bashir and company, we're told, are incredibly smart, however they are apparently not smart enough to realize that their projections are probably unreliable given the near infinity of unpredictable events that could unfold. By having these "smart" people neglect to account for the unaccountable, they come across as more naive than intelligent.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 2:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: First Flight

I agree completely with Yanks from a few years back - this episode hit the right notes, even if it was compiled of familiar elements.

I’m what you might call emotionally gullible, so it took me about ten minutes to realize that the episode was going to have a tearjerker moment, but for me it was the final line of T’Pol. But more generally, the whole sense of drive for scientific exploration was beautiful but of course a bit melancholic, given how far that is from the public consciousness these days, at least in the US. Ultimately I think that’s why Trek continues to resonate for me beyond my affinity for science fiction, is that it dares to imagine humans as at least a little better than we are now.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Jun 6, 2019, 9:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

Thoroughly enjoyable episode, AND:

If there are any fans of the very Trekkian game FTL: Faster Than Light (which is basically crew and resource management in ship to ship battles), I feel as though this episode gave that game the blueprint - specifically in how Enterprise and the crew engages against the borg - trying to target particular systems of the ship rather than going for warning shots, or, on the other hand, total destruction. Plus the remote control of the airlock and venting the assimilated species into space.

In spite of all that, this episode was super gratifying. I loved the references, and it made me glad I waited as long as I did to watch Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Jun 4, 2019, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Behind the Lines

I found it very strange to have Dax commanding the Defiant. She's a science officer. I would have thought you'd have to be in a red uniform to take command.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sun, Jun 2, 2019, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

(Naturally MRAs have shown up in the comments. If you ID as such, my comment will probably not delight you.)

This is my first time through Enterprise, so I don’t know how the portrayal of Vulcans changes through the rest of the series BUT:

Is it so hard to believe that the Vulcans of this era somehow evolved into what we saw at the point of TOS? Societies can change a lot in 100+ years. Canon seems to indicate that Vulcan attitude became less extreme in that regard. It makes perfect sense to me that in their first generations of encounters with humans, that they would treat humans with more kid gloves than they did once the Federation was established.

I absolutely saw T’Pol’s encounter with Tolaris as having the signifiers of rape. Not sure if this is what the creators intended, but it almost definitely comes across that way, both in the scene which portrays it as well as the aftermath. Archer seems noble in intent, but misguided, in how he reacts, and in T’Pol choosing to try and conceal the fact to avoid stigma. It’s a bit more subtle than the more obvious anti-LGBTQ message, but still feels awkwardly handled.

Casting Trip as comic relief in an innuendo-filled comedy of manners is a bad idea. Didn’t work when he got pregnant either. Certainly the pairing of the A and B plot did undercut what they were going for with the A plot. Almost as though the writers just threw darts at a list of “sex related plots” and came up with one extremely serious one, and another that was total fluff. Ultimately that’s what makes me not like this episode, and agree with Jammer’s review, even though I enjoy how much lore of Vulcan society we’re getting in some of these episodes in the first two seasons.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sun, May 26, 2019, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: By Inferno's Light

Years later, and no one has mentioned the alien in the cell that really looks like the disguise that Leia wore at the start of Return of the Jedi.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, May 25, 2019, 12:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

I don't think I disagree with any of Jammer's reviews more. My least favorite DS9 episodes are the ones focused on Bajor's religion. I found this one to be a snooze fest, with far too many inexplicable events that characters are just supposed to take on "faith."

This episode is not in keeping with Gene's vision of the future, which I've always found to be optimistic. It is not optimistic, but rather pretty depressing that hundreds of years from now, belief without evidence is held in such high regard. Especially given all of the nonsense that religious faith is putting us through in the present day. 1 star.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Vox Sola

I enjoyed this episode quite a bit. Other commenters have mentioned the phenomenal, innovative score for this one, but given it’s a rare trek that deals with a non-humanoid intelligence, I especially appreciate the premise here. It’s far from perfect execution but what they give us is excellent food for thought. I’d rate this one a 3.

I am also certain that Anthony Montgomery would have grown into the role if they’d given him something to grow with, an actual role and more consistent characterization to work with.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 5:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Welp, Endgame reviews are upon us, so Jammer's run out of time to keep us interested in his review. See y'all in August :P
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Sat, Apr 20, 2019, 1:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Tim C

Never let it be said that I'm not a man of my word. Paying up now.

But I'm ticked off about what was now obviously just an elaborate fake-out by the writers. ;) It's not like I just made up the connection. The similarities were too close and drew too much attention to themselves to be interpreted any other way.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Apr 17, 2019, 1:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I wonder why this episode was rated up at the season end. I’m watching through ENT for the first time and really did not find much enjoyment out of this one - but I wonder if, in hind sight, this one gets a better rating, in the same way many of the early Bashir/O’Brien eps from DS9 did, for being the beginning of what would become a more active friendship?

I’m reminded of Quark and Odo nearly freezing to death on the top of a mountain sometime early on in DS9, although I find their banter much more amusing - Trip here is especially annoying in the first half of the episode, although I find the things that bug me about him to be relatively consistent with his character so far.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 8:12am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Silent Enemy

It is unreal to me how many commenters here have no patience for character developing plots. Is it especially well handled? No, but the whole point of this franchise is not just space action, but CHARACTERS handling space action. Watching enterprise for the first Time no, I am really living for these little details, and I like how quickly enterprise is digging into them whether or not they are relevant to the plot.

I’ve found this first season of Enterprise, therefore, to be pretty satisfying, except for how T’Pol is written.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Apr 1, 2019, 9:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

OH, YOU!!!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 5:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Tim C

I'll take it.

I'd forgotten to mention that the stabbed-in-the-eye thing has also been done by a certain cybernetic collective we're all familiar with...
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 2:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'd be surprised if it wasn't the Borg at this point. You've got holo-Control telling Leland "struggle is pointless" and choosing to adapt another's face and body as its representative in chilling reflection of Locutus. The similarities seem pretty clear, and intentional. And we know Discovery lacks the shame to pick from yet another existing Trek element.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 3:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Good ep and I wouldn't worry too much about the 'sabotage' of Isaac's character. My guess that he will end up saving the day in Part 2, redeeming himself and wrapping up the story thread with the kids about him not feeling anything.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Fri, Oct 19, 2018, 1:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Blood Oath

I'm surprised to see such high praise for this episode. It continues the second season trend of characters making morally questionable or reprehensible decisions with little to no lasting consequences. I'm not sure who to be more disgusted with - Dax for murdering a bunch of Klingons to help her friends get revenge or Sisko for allowing her to get away with it all for the price of a scorned face. I mean, she's a Starfleet officer for cripes' sake.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

It's amazing that DS9 was renewed after its first two seasons, which were largely boring snore-fests like this episode. If this show didn't carry the Star Trek name, we likely would never have gotten the awesome Dominion Wars arc in later seasons.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Oh Chief O'Brien... You can't ignite a radiation leak. It's not like gas!
Set Bookmark
Adam
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

An entertaining episode, 3 stars for me. As a radiation physicist however, I feel compelled to point out that Data's cure for the radiation sickness makes no sense. If the villagers were exposed from an external source such as these metal fragments, the damage would be done. Radiation damage is done by the radioactive particle transferring energy to damage the DNA which causes DNA breakage and/or mutations later on. The radiation will either pass through the body completely or be absorbed once it runs out of energy, all in an instant. So when Data says his concoction will "neutralize the particles," there are actually no particles left to neutralize. He would have to make a concoction that somehow restored their DNA to its original state.

End rant.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Rahul

The nice thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Lots of silly things in this episode, but I don't think anyone has mentioned Troi being able to sense emotions in data. One would think that the betazoid telepathy would have some biological basis, but apparently they can just sense emotions, period.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Oct 1, 2018, 4:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

The episode itself is fun and enjoyable, but I've read enough of Richard Dawkins and Jerry Coyne to know that the payoff at the end is unscientific nonsense. The idea that some alien species designed humans to be the way they are completely ignores everything we know about natural selection and the various forms of life on Earth. Quite a shame for Star Trek to get well established science so horribly wrong.
Set Bookmark
Adam Genga
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I think this is possibly one of the most controversial and perhaps most commented on Jammer reviews ever, I can't believe it's still going!!
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.