Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 113 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

It's amazing that DS9 was renewed after its first two seasons, which were largely boring snore-fests like this episode. If this show didn't carry the Star Trek name, we likely would never have gotten the awesome Dominion Wars arc in later seasons.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Sanctuary

Oh Chief O'Brien... You can't ignite a radiation leak. It's not like gas!
Set Bookmark
Adam
Fri, Oct 12, 2018, 11:10am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Thine Own Self

An entertaining episode, 3 stars for me. As a radiation physicist however, I feel compelled to point out that Data's cure for the radiation sickness makes no sense. If the villagers were exposed from an external source such as these metal fragments, the damage would be done. Radiation damage is done by the radioactive particle transferring energy to damage the DNA which causes DNA breakage and/or mutations later on. The radiation will either pass through the body completely or be absorbed once it runs out of energy, all in an instant. So when Data says his concoction will "neutralize the particles," there are actually no particles left to neutralize. He would have to make a concoction that somehow restored their DNA to its original state.

End rant.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 1:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

@Rahul

The nice thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Oct 6, 2018, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Lots of silly things in this episode, but I don't think anyone has mentioned Troi being able to sense emotions in data. One would think that the betazoid telepathy would have some biological basis, but apparently they can just sense emotions, period.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Oct 1, 2018, 4:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Chase

The episode itself is fun and enjoyable, but I've read enough of Richard Dawkins and Jerry Coyne to know that the payoff at the end is unscientific nonsense. The idea that some alien species designed humans to be the way they are completely ignores everything we know about natural selection and the various forms of life on Earth. Quite a shame for Star Trek to get well established science so horribly wrong.
Set Bookmark
Adam Genga
Mon, Jun 18, 2018, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

I think this is possibly one of the most controversial and perhaps most commented on Jammer reviews ever, I can't believe it's still going!!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Dec 18, 2017, 11:35am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Wars: The Last Jedi

The franchise developed "Lost" syndrome - just shrugging and cutting characters and threads they didn't know what to do with.

Snoke, Phasma, and Holdo being the two most obvious ones. So much buildup, so NOTHING revealed about either one of them before they're just randomly killed. Nothing interesting done with them whatsoever. I gotta give credit to Gwendoline Christie for still being able to act like crazy using just her voice and one eyeball, but...massive disappointments, both of them. Also, a very unceremonious exit for Ackbar. He deserved better.

The plot structure was weird. Way too much filler. The whole mutiny and casino subplots were pointless and easily circumnavigated by sensible decisions by the characters. Rey dropped out of the entire latter fourth of the film after being its heart and soul. Bizarre.

And I'm also left without any idea what's the gripping impetus for another movie. Empire Strikes Back at least gave its sequel a strong reason to exist (i.e. the recovery of Han). VIII just gives us a vague "rebuilding a rebellion", even though the First Order seems all but dead itself at that point.

Just sloppy writing.

There was certainly potential. The long, drawn-out pursuit could have been really affecting and the transports' destruction did get me going. The Kylo and Rey dynamic was awesome. Yoda's appearance and his decision to destroy the Jedi texts FELT right, even though I thought Force ghosts couldn't "interfere".

But there was so much squandered. The more I think about it, the more I hate it.

Ugh.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Nov 8, 2017, 5:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

To be honest I found Dark Page much harder to get through than this and masks. The concepts are slightly absured and some of the DNA science is questionable, but I suppose as Jammer says what comes under your view as Sci-Fi. (That's not me saying they're great episodes just ones I can watch with a few laughs, I particularly enjoyed Deanna's line at the end of the episode which certainly is a change)

A few side

Overall I felt genisis was well directed by McFadden the spoder scene even made me jump.

I'm suprised from my brief scroll through (sorry if anyone has) that no one has mentioned the follow up from lower decks with Alyssa it was a small moment but I enjoyed it and its unusual seeing how episodic TNG normally is.
Set Bookmark
Adam Genga
Mon, Oct 23, 2017, 9:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Lethe

@John Harmon

No you're not xD I keep noticing it too.



Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Tue, Jun 13, 2017, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Magnificent Ferengi

"It looks that way" is still one of the franchise's finest moments. I don't care what anyone says.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, May 29, 2017, 10:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Very surprising to see Theodore Sturgeon's name under the writing credit at the end. Often a guest writer may get a killer plot and totally fail to integrate it into the tone and formula of the show (I'm looking at you, William Gibson-penned-X-Files-Episodes) - here we get kind of the opposite.
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, May 1, 2017, 8:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Just how big IS this cast anyway? Aren't we up to, like, 20?
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Fri, Apr 14, 2017, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

EPISODE VIII TRAILER REVIEW
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Mar 9, 2017, 10:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Sons and Daughters

I have never liked how they did Alexander. He was conceived at the end of season 2 in TNG and we first see him in season 4. By season 6 of DS9 he's only 10 at the most in human years (Since DS9 started showing during season 5 of TNG). They never aged him properly nor explained to any satisfaction the Klingon aging process.

Because he is shown as perhaps an 18 year old, he either ages twice as fast as humans or they just f'd up bad with him!
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Mon, Feb 27, 2017, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

trekmovie.com/2017/02/27/star-trek-discovery-to-premiere-by-early-fall/

Discovery to premiere "by early fall".

So, January 2018 then. ;)
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 4:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: And the Children Shall Lead

The whole episode I was screaming at the TV. Just act zombified and the second those kids look the other way hit them with a haymaker! There is a world of wiggle room between killing and knocking them the hell out! I hate this episode with a fiery passion.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 3:11am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Unification

One thing that is never made clear is what will happen if unification is successful. "Romulans and Vulcans will be one!" Okay, but how? What form will it take? Would Vulcan leave the Federation and become a superpower with the Romulans? Would they form a new faction? Is it supposed to bring peace between the Federation and Star Empire (which seems to not be a priority of Spocks)? Would Vulcan become a neutral system between the two powers, being friendly to both sides at the same time?

There simply is no telling what the end game is beyond "We'll be friends!"

Also, the resolution is really ridiculous. Sela (who I have always viewed as one of the better Romulan commanders, although she doesn't seem as bold as she is just cunning), leaves them alone in a room with access to a computer. A computer that apparently has no safeguards in place. A computer that she just showed could project holographic images and left them alone! Her failure is cringeworthy.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Jan 28, 2017, 3:02am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

One of the things that has always amazed me with TNG (especially as I've gotten older and can understand more of the deeper meanings of the stories being told), is the fact Picard has been given such a free pass by Starfleet Command.

After the Borg incident, where he helped the Borg destroy 11,000 fellow Starfleet Officers, 39 capitol ships and at least 3 smaller defensive vessels around Earth, Starfleet doesn't force him to take an extended leave of absence. No, they act as if a few sessions with Troi will fix everything.

During "Inner Light", he lives an entire lifetime in 24ish minutes, wakes up, clearly is having very difficult time remembering the Enterprise and his life in general, but they don't have him take time off to get his memories back but just keep him in charge.

Then this, where he was tortured and broken at the very last (you even see it in his eyes at the last that he could no longer see just four lights), but they don't send him away to recover. They leave him on the ship and act again as if a couple of heart-to-hearts with Troi will fix everything.

Now, Picard is very capable of rebounding from these bad experiances. Yet, as I watch these types of stories, it boggles my adult mind as to why Starfleet didn't make him take time-off from command of the Enterprise at the very least. Especially when they go so far as to order him to stay away from engaging the Borg in First Contact because they believe him to be an "unstable element".
Set Bookmark
Brandon Adams
Thu, Jan 19, 2017, 10:47am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

No date offered.

I think we're officially in development hell.

I figured out a while ago that all this "subscription lets us do graphic stuff we couldn't on networks!" and "sci-fi sucks on networks!" is really just studio-code for "we're going to have a gay character and he's going to be kissing men". I wonder if that was a source of conflict between the various parties.

But between them putting it behind a paywall and the Axanar studio, I can tell you I have no intention of supporting Discovery. Moonves is just putting forth a token doomed effort so he can go "See? Nobody wants it!" and dodge further criticism.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Wed, Jan 18, 2017, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: A Matter of Time

I think the most important question is... where is the toilet on that guy's tiny ship?!
Set Bookmark
Adam C
Wed, Nov 23, 2016, 3:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

It just occurred to me that the Lantree quarantine beacon would be like a dinner bell for the Ferengi. They could have tried to salvage the ship or scavenge from its contents, potentially proliferating the disease despite Our Heroes’ best efforts. Would have made for an interesting (if grim) sequel.

Also, the more interesting and path would have been to leave Pulaski to die, presenting a true cost of her folly. One supposes they might have done just that, had the episode fallen near the end of the season.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Sat, Oct 1, 2016, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Just finished a rewatch of this series, and this finale is much more hollow than I remember it being. The whole thing screams of utterly sloppy writing. There is the borg civil war from Unimatrix Zero that is completely ignored. It was earlier established that Seven could NOT have a relationship because of one of her implants, yet now she has one with Chakotay with no issues (a relationship that just came out of nowhere and is not believable in the slightest.) Why would Admiral Janeway go to that particular point in time? Why not use the technology to simply bring Voyager back across the galaxy? Why is the exit point of the transwarp hub so close to Earth? Wouldn't it have been seen before? (They allude earlier that the exits are static: "That one leads to the Delta Quadrant.") If the Borg have trans-warp hubs, why haven't they ever sent an army to cripple Earth? With that kind of traveling power, one would think the Battle at Wolf 359 would have been a cakewalk for them.

I love Voyager but it could have been so much more. The whole story line with the Maquis is left unanswered - it's alluded to earlier in the series that the Maquis will face severe consequences when they get back! How does Seven integrate into society? What about the Doctor? Echeb?

My hope was that with the new Star Trek Discovery, we would at least get to see what happened to some of these characters via guest appearances, but turns out the series will be set before TOS. I don't have much hope for the Trek franchise anymore.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Mon, Sep 12, 2016, 6:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

Disappointed that the series is taking place in the pre-TOS era. Enterprise failed and the new movies are already in that time frame (albeit a different dimension).

Was excited to have a new series that took place after Voyager and that gave TNG, DS9 and Voyager actors a chance to make guest appearances.

Trek has been a disappointment for the last 15 years and I hope the new series breaks the wheel.
Set Bookmark
Adam
Thu, Sep 1, 2016, 9:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Life Line

I liked the premise of the episode, but it grew tiresome after so many scenes with the Picardos shouting at each other. Zimmerman's behavior was not believable at all. I would think a scientist, especially one near death, would be eager to exhaust every treatment option.

The constant references that the EMH Mark 1's were scrubbing plasma whatevers was ridiculous. The programs could be upgraded or deleted. That's like saying "my Windows Vista is outdated so I have it relegated to being my calculator."
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.