Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 18 (Showing 1-18)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
Abby
Thu, Jan 30, 2020, 11:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Brian Lear, if you were writing, I guarantee Picard would be good. Great post and it gave me the chuckle this Trek lacks.

I think you’re right about them doing these shows for the “Joes” and “Jills”. Something to grab one’s attention, but provide very little thought.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Thu, Jan 30, 2020, 11:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

Yep, agree with Dick and John. I’ve never attempted Discovery for all those reasons. And what’s with the captioning on the screen? Wouldn’t the universal translators be top notch by today?

Hate that this show is just like all the other new age stuff going around our streaming programs. No witty writing or fun future ideas of humanity.

Just random aliens and futuristic machines. With regular 2020 world issues.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Thu, Jan 30, 2020, 10:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Maps and Legends

I only am watching this to see where the old Trek characters fit in. In the previews we saw 7 of 9, Riker, and Troi.

Story seemed interesting enough, but, wow, nothing else is like my precious TNG and Voyager. Too dramatic, vulgar, and nasty.

Where is the humour!? Think that’s enough for me. I’m one of the few people to never have liked Picard. So a whole show about him, bleh. But I will give the actor credit - he’s got to be 80 or so?
Set Bookmark
Abby
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 6:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Q2

Agree with Ben, JB, and Mom. Plus, I liked the kid’s acting. He cracked me up when he still had his powers. You really need a good sense of humour to appreciate how great this show was.

Loved every Q episode in Voyager. In TNG I couldn’t stand the character. Love the chemistry Mulgrew and DeLancie had together.

I haven’t come across a bad episode in season 7, yet. “Muses” was the last bad one and I see that that was season 6.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 12:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Man, don’t leave the “eh, petulant” out of my quote, Omicron! Eek, looks like I’m the goon who said there was that many seasons.

That’s what I thought, Chrome. That UPN just didn’t have enough viewers to begin with. Since a new network and all.

True about the polls potentially being skewed, Top Hat. I mean, I’d have fun voting.

But I see it the same as DS9 being skewed to all the internet posting fans liking that Trek the best. So in the end I say watch what you like and still support our aged series the best you can.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 7:24am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Season 7 of Enterprise, eh, petulant?

That is one Trek I never tried, but even I know it only goes to season 4. Someone is a funny man.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 7:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Okay, okay, here's the poll link:

https://ca.startrek.com/article/poll-fans-most-watched-star-trek-series-is

Sure, only a group of 25,000 people asked, but it has to have some weight. Came up as first search result in my "most watched Star Trek poll" Google find.

And the Netflix results:

https://nerdist.com/article/star-trek-netflix-most-rewatched/

But you can get links to those stats just by doing any "most watched Star Trek" and "Netflix" search. That was just one link that loaded the quickest.

Although, I'm not saying that millions are wrong. I know DS9 features all all these Trek sites. But I'm just saying what I liked, what I've tried to watch, and what my favourite is out of them all. Nice to have found links to support that.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 10:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

I was referring to a poll about what Star Trek series people had seen. In that poll, Voyager beat everything but TNG. I shouldn’t have mentioned “on the air” since I have no clue about Nielsen ratings and such.

Wasn’t Voyager released on the new Paramount network? Would that alter rating results? I also saw that the most watched Star Trek episodes on Netflix are Voyager ones.

I am watching both season 7’s of TNG and Voyager right now. Voyager is 100% more entertaining. And I grew up with Next Generation.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 9:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Prophecy

Loved the episode, too. Any episode with much intended humour is usually a good watch. I also like that the head Klingon is smart enough to mention that the scrolls could have been written by some crazy guy in a cave. However, he is finding the believable aspects in them to help his people make a home. And perfect that all worked out and B’Elanna saved his family. Obviously all a coincidence, but the gang can go on believing the prophecy.

The Neelix stuff was funny. Any time he can bother Tuvok is the best. And saving poor Kim from the lady - perfect. These episodes are simply comic relief and I welcome them after some of the intense and dramatic episodes. As some poster mentioned above, I am probably in that group of people that Voyager writers were catering to.

I also read that when Star Trek was on the air, more people watched Voyager than all the other series besides TNG. So the writers must have been doing something right.

I don’t need character development in my shows, just fun characters experiencing life.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Wed, Jan 15, 2020, 11:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Lineage

I agree that season 7 has been very good. And this episode fits right in.

Love the Tom/B’Elanna exchange when she tells him about her dad. You can see how much he loves her there. And you can also she why she hesitates around him. This is definitely an episode that makes me like the two characters together. One of the best things Voyager did.

Depending on your life experiences, you will most likely adore or despise the episode (as we’ve seen in the heated chat above). But you can’t deny the great acting. I believed everything that happened and felt they did a great job of making B’Elanna react so crazily when she saw her baby. She really thought the Klingon side would not show by being with Tom. And them showing the fix of the spine certainly gave her ideas.

The only thing I’d have wanted them to add was Tom saying that B’Elanna’s Klingon side was one of the things he loved about her. It is a cool feature and makes the character interesting.

Glad the pregnancy factor could explain her behaviour with the Doctor. Extreme, but I believed it.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Mon, Jan 13, 2020, 6:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Flesh and Blood

I really love reading these comments after watching each episode. To know that they’re still going strong after 10 years shows us how amazing Trek was.

I wonder if Jeff above would think it creepy to email 6 years after his post - since he did post an email. Agreed with most of his character assessments. Really, it’s the characters in both TNG and Voyager that keep me coming back. Space stuff is just a fun side to see how all these guys live and interact.

And Prince of Space, funny guy for sure. Adore the language here though. Tells me people like to think and analyze.

I agree with Elliott on the DS9 views. I tried watching a handful of episodes and didn’t like the character conflicts. That one with “Tom Riker” - can’t believe they turned him evil. No more attempts at viewing after that.

Now about this episode, all was good. I understood Janeway at the end with the doc. He is the result of people programming him. He could never be punished how the others have been. Love that Trek can make him feel so real. But really, nothing but a bunch of light beams, right?
Set Bookmark
Abby
Sun, Jan 12, 2020, 10:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Body and Soul

Agree completely with the first 3/4 of the comments. Curse that sceptical guy for showing up and spoiling our fun and bringing the naysayers after.

This episode deserves a million stars. I actually saw the doc for most of the show. Great acting and just pure fun. Even the potential uncomfortable scenes went smoothly. Well written and every aspect was resolved by the end.

As for Tuvok, he’s, what, 300 years or so? He may feel the effects of the “flu” more so because he’s old, but he’d have amazing control once he got with the wife. Remember, he’s not a young adult like I imagined Vorik to be.

I bet the actors had a blast filming this one. I find those feelings come through when the material is this great. Seven and Doctor characters should always feature.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Sun, Jan 12, 2020, 5:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I was wondering how the third episode of Troi and Barclay would go. Turns out the writers did a great job of making things believable. Him following her to the vacation spot was totally him. And didn’t feel awkward at all. Loved the personality change of the hologram, too.

I don’t understand the hate with the Ferengi. I think they’re funny. Mind you, I was unable to ever watch DS9 - too dramatic for my tastes. I really love the makeup for that species. Better than all the forehead bumps with no other features suggesting “alien”, races.

So far the only episode I’ve greatly disliked this season is that “Muses” one.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Tue, Oct 16, 2018, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

Anyone just watch these episodes to enjoy them? I liked the chemistry the actors had together (Brahms/Geordi). Sure the storyline was creepy, but that’s what we needed to see as anyone interacting with a holo character is weird. I more so took away that you shouldn’t assume the imagined person you’ve been chatting with is the actual when you finally meet them.

People overthink these issues way too much. Great episode, even if the dialog was awkward at times.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Wed, Aug 22, 2018, 10:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

I agree that it’s sad when a main character leaves, but for Voyager, this one made sense. Kes was simply too powerful by this point.

I remember something the actress of Troi said for TNG. That if Deanna was on the bridge when those folks met certain races, TNG wouldn’t have a storyline since Troi would have been able to tell everyone what was really going on.

Same problem with Kes in this show. She could easily solve problems - like removing that Borg implant with just her thoughts. I’m not a huge fan of telepathy or telekinesis in shows, so I understood the writers changing the focus to Seven. Always love a good “figuring out humans” theme. More relatable to the viewers.

I did love how calm and relaxed Kes was though. Was a favourite in the early episodes.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Mon, Aug 20, 2018, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

*shrugs*

I liked this episode quite a bit. The ideas involved are what makes it interesting. A group of people stealing ships and putting the occupants in aquariums, basically. Kind of what we do with zoos. If you think of it like that, it explains Janeway’s disgust.

Just ignore the tidbits here and there that don’t make sense - like say, Tom and B’Elanna not picking up the weapons. So many folks above couldn’t let that idea go. Great episode for their relationship. And I anticipated the outcome of Voyager the whole way through. I don’t dwell on some of the tech stuff that doesn’t make sense. Unique episode and I enjoyed imagining what this alien spaceship might look like.

Better than the dinosaur episode that came before it. Seriously, who could imagine the dino people building their ships with those clunky claws and giant nails? That’s more the idea that I can’t unsee while watching space shows.
Set Bookmark
Abby
Tue, Aug 14, 2018, 11:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: The Thaw

The first time I saw this episode it stood out. Just plain creepy and unable to be forgotten. I anticipated it when watching Voyager again. It’s all about being stuck in a bad dream or nightmare...for 19 years. Can you imagine? And then knowing that you could die if something happens in the dream. Voyager peeps did a great job on this one.

Anyone feel bad for baby Harry though? That poor kid had to experience the fear for real. Sure hope the real life set was a whole lot different that what we saw on video.
Set Bookmark
Skabby
Tue, Nov 14, 2017, 1:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Some of the archaelogical facts in this episode are wrong.

They say that humans and hadrosaurs evolved from Eryops, both of which almost certainly aren't true. And that it lived in the Devonian Era 400 million years ago. Actually it is from the Permian Era about 295 million years ago. Reptiles didn't even evolve on Earth until 310-320 million years ago.

A better fit would have been some sort of early synapsid or therapsid species, from somewhere around 250-320 million years ago.

But, I guess that's not that important for the episode. :D

The fact that they have had this 'doctrine' for at least 20 million years is pretty unbelievable. Any species would have had significant societal and cultural changes over that time. Not to mention evolving physical and mentally. That's a long ass time.

And after being so technologically powerful for millions upon millions of years, they would be known everywhere in the galaxy I would assume, if not absolute rulers of it.

If you completely overlook the silliness of the whole setup, it's a decent episode.

3 stars.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.