Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 104 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 5
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 6:41am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

A satisfying episode and a rare look into the workings of starfleet academy, something that I think was neglected by all of the shows. Also brings Wesley down to Earth again but enables his sensibility and morals to develop and shine in a much more believable and relateable circumstance, without needing to delve into the prodigy silliness.

Also: a door with a handle and no bell? what was all that about?!
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 6:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Cost of Living

There is little redeemable in this episode. Usually an instant skip in any rewatch.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 10:35am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Power Play

See I far prefer this one to conundrum, mainly for the pacing of the final resolution and the lack.of Swiss cheese plot. You get the impression that Riker and Co really are trying every trick they know of to break the siege, and Picard is also clearly thinking on his feet as the situation deterioates around him. After finally getting a one up on the entities, he throws a moral choice at them that they cannot ignore, but it took a lot to get to this point. It's a much better buildup and payoff than in conundrum, where its all over in a matter of seconds.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Tue, May 5, 2020, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Hope and Fear

I thought "Hope and Fear" was one of the better VOY episodes in that it least had some sci-fi moral tension befitting classic trek - that Voyager has created havoc in the Delta quadrant & Janeway's decisions had significant ripple effects. It's one of the few times the writers forced Janeway to come face-to-face with negative consequences of what she's done.

The acting in this one was better than usual from the principals, there were at least two good scenes between Seven and other characters, and the actor who played Arturis was good.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 12:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

I thought this was one of the best all time Voyager episodes. The only thing that bugged me was...if these missiles were so great, why didn't we see them all the time? Cardassian ships are considered to be slightly inferior to Federation ships...so why should a missile many times smaller than a standard Cardassian ship have such superior shielding and weapons (not even counting its warhead which apparently can take out a small moon).

To me an interesting plot twist would have been if Cardassian had instead modified large asteroids to crash into enemy planets. Perhaps engines would have been embedded and hidden in the asteroids to make them more deadly. That would have been much more sneaky and logical to attempt.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 12:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Not a fan of this episode. Hollywood loves to portray murderers as robots that kill without reason...but in reality almost all murderers have very specific reasons. Usually it is a distorted sense of protection or justice.

The truly psychotic who actually kill for no reason are extraordinary rare and would not have been as stable and eloquent as Suder was...they would have been disjointed, arrogant, and perhaps with a twisted sense of humour. The motive part of the story just seemed to cliche for me.

Tuvoc going mad didn't work for me either. It was too one-dimensional, boring and predictable (like most going mad stories). Tim's acting wasn't top notch...he could have varied his cadence more, used more eye movement, vocal inflections, arm movement etc...even when emotional he came off as robotic. What bugged me was that Tuvoc was only suppressing violent emotions, when in reality vulcons suppress all emotions. Tuvoc losing control should have been more varied and not simply being turned into a robotic killer.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Mon, Apr 6, 2020, 12:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Threshold

This episode wasn't THAT bad. The concept of breaking the Warp 10 barrier was cool as was the concept of occupying all points in space at once.

What hurt the episode were the middle acts where the focus is on Tom suffering from his transformation. It's too simplistic and boring...it also seemed like a horror cliche. Had the transformation to a lizard man happened much faster, it would have been a much better episode. We don't need to see Tom spit out his tongue...

The show missed a big opportunity not to keep Tom/Janeway's lizard kids on board. They could have been pets and the source of many interesting future stories. TNG had spot...Voyager could have had lizard kids.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Thu, Mar 12, 2020, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Broken Pieces

I really, really liked that episode. I was happy that it was a bit longer and slowed down the pace a bit. I’m glad that all of the “good guys” shared their knowledge and got on the same page.
It was great to see some more of Rios’ background.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Wed, Jan 29, 2020, 6:18am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

@SkepticalMI it's 6 1/3 years since your comment but your point about Dr. Crusher really bothered me too on my most recent viewing.

I would have loved to hear Dr. Crusher mention Jack at least once, or have some emotional reaction to the Stargazer.

Even Picard's reaction to a ship that he commanded for 20 years and spoke in "Relics" about being his first true love is overly subdued and lacking - but then, he did have a headache :D

Also to @Jason R's point about the log not holding up for any length of time. That kind of bugged me on my most recent viewing, too. Why did Bok bother trying?

Still, the eerie quality of Picard's flashbacks kinda work for me. It might have something to do with me first seeing this episode when I was about 6 or 7. It was very spooky and it stuck with me!
Set Bookmark
Aaron Edwards
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

An ambitious misfire, this film is the closest to Gene Roddenberry’s vision but also one of the more boring entries in the series. The film desperately wants to be the Star Trek version of 2001: A Space Odyssey, but ends up feeling lost and ponderous. Skipping it wouldn’t hurt your viewing experience, but if you like ambitious and existential sci-fi you might find some enjoyment here.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its not a paradox its a loop, just like in Mission:Earth when the Enterprise was supposed to have been involved all along. You saw the scene. You know what she got out of it. I'm not saying you have to like it, but it does explain how Sarek knew where to be and when. Just like with all the other 4 Red angel appearances that lead the Discovery this season.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Future Burnham has been moving along a process of setting up events to achieve whatever final goal she desires in response to events which occured in her past. One of these events is saying goodbye to her parents on the Discovery before heading to the future, which is in her past but current Burnham's future. Sarek and Amanda make the journey because Michael asks them to because she remembers needing their support for what she's going to be doing. Its really simple time travel mechanics.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Brian Lear

Not sure what your problem is with plot twists, cliffhangers and WTF moments. That's what entertainment is all about
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its very simple. future Burnham told him where and when she needed him to be.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

How are Janeway and Chakotay SUPPOSED to act after they returned to Voyager?

I think they DID become a little closer after this episode. If they were on the planet a little longer, than maybe something might have developed. But they got rescued, and we'll never know. They'll never know. And after returning to the ship, maybe they would be too afraid of rejection or something.

I thought this episode was awesome. One of Voyager's best.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

The best Dr Crusher episode, and you give it 1.5 stars ???

You actually rate several terrible season 1 episodes higher than this episode. You are totally crazy!

You gave Symbiosis from Season 1 two stars, but Suspicions, which is the best Crusher centric episode of the entire series only 1.5?? It boggles the mind.

This is at least a 2.5 star or 3 star episode. At least.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Once again, you're review sucks!!!!

The Masterpiece Society is a great episode. How could you give Remember Me a higher rating? The Nth Degree a higher rating? You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating!!! Those were the WORST episodes!!!

Anyone who doesn't give Redemption the 4 stars it deserves, I can't take anything they say seriously.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Your reviews are total, absolute crap!!

You gave Nth Degree a higher rating than Redemption, which, besides Way of the Warrior, is the greatest Klingon episode of all time. You gave Remember Me a higher rating than this episode too? You gave Remember Me a higher rating than Tin Man and Legacy as well!!! Do you even watch these episodes and pay attention???

You gave Devil's Due one star ???? Why ???

All the greatest episodes of this series you gave 3 star ratings or even less: The Offspring, Tin Man, Legacy, Redemption, Clues... all 4 star episodes!

You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating then Redemption. You are totally stupid!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Ooh - I’m also really glad that they clarified that Arian was an augmented human or “half-robot”.
The character has kind of annoyed me since her introduction since if they had artificial life in the 23rd century that’d make Data much less of a marvel.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Am I the only one who is sad that they killed the Andorian and Tellarite admirals?
The Andorian has quite a few scenes before and I think the Tellarite did, too.

Although I suppose I could just be being racist. Maybe it’s not the admiral we have seen previously.

Also, I agree with Robbie. I kept waiting for Burnham to check on Nhan while she was suffocating, but apparently no one cared. Although, I was also wondering why Nhan didn’t just put her EV helmet back on..... Nice to hear that she’s a Barzan. That’s cool continuity.

Great episode! Except for the upside shots.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

I re-watched this episode today and a thought popped into my head that I couldn't get rid of.

The Prophets say that they are "Of Bajor." I was wondering if this is literal. The Prophets are the Bajorans, from the distant future. They evolved on Bajor, eventually becoming non-corporeal somehow. Since time is meaningless to the Prophets, they could have 'been born' (for lack of a better term) in the distant future. It would explain why the Prophets care what happens to Bajor.

What do you think? I think it's kind of a cool idea, if a bit timey-wimey.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 4:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Matt,
The two goodbyes were Alara and Alara.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 4:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

I really liked the episode. I’ve always liked “day in the life” stories. I agree with whomever above said it would have been ruined by a Voyager-style jeopardy of the week.

It was a bit brave to open the season with a quiet one, but I really loved it, and the expansions to the ship with the restaurant and the school made it feel more like a real place.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Dec 21, 2018, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

I'm surprised so many hated this episode. I didn't think it was so bad and actually liked all the mutants. So many star trek characters are wooden and formulaic, but the mutants aren't.

For those interested, the main actress has an interesting background on this episode which you can read here:

https://www.wnyc.org/story/241634-hitting-high-notes/
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Dec 21, 2018, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Why didn't they use Odo as a player? As a changling...he could have been quite good. He could have stretched his arm to make a catch and turned into a fast animal when running the bases.

I liked the team name, uniforms and hats (where part of the station forms part of the baseball).
Next ►Page 1 of 5
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.