Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 94 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 4
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its not a paradox its a loop, just like in Mission:Earth when the Enterprise was supposed to have been involved all along. You saw the scene. You know what she got out of it. I'm not saying you have to like it, but it does explain how Sarek knew where to be and when. Just like with all the other 4 Red angel appearances that lead the Discovery this season.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Future Burnham has been moving along a process of setting up events to achieve whatever final goal she desires in response to events which occured in her past. One of these events is saying goodbye to her parents on the Discovery before heading to the future, which is in her past but current Burnham's future. Sarek and Amanda make the journey because Michael asks them to because she remembers needing their support for what she's going to be doing. Its really simple time travel mechanics.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Brian Lear

Not sure what your problem is with plot twists, cliffhangers and WTF moments. That's what entertainment is all about
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its very simple. future Burnham told him where and when she needed him to be.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

How are Janeway and Chakotay SUPPOSED to act after they returned to Voyager?

I think they DID become a little closer after this episode. If they were on the planet a little longer, than maybe something might have developed. But they got rescued, and we'll never know. They'll never know. And after returning to the ship, maybe they would be too afraid of rejection or something.

I thought this episode was awesome. One of Voyager's best.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

The best Dr Crusher episode, and you give it 1.5 stars ???

You actually rate several terrible season 1 episodes higher than this episode. You are totally crazy!

You gave Symbiosis from Season 1 two stars, but Suspicions, which is the best Crusher centric episode of the entire series only 1.5?? It boggles the mind.

This is at least a 2.5 star or 3 star episode. At least.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Once again, you're review sucks!!!!

The Masterpiece Society is a great episode. How could you give Remember Me a higher rating? The Nth Degree a higher rating? You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating!!! Those were the WORST episodes!!!

Anyone who doesn't give Redemption the 4 stars it deserves, I can't take anything they say seriously.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Your reviews are total, absolute crap!!

You gave Nth Degree a higher rating than Redemption, which, besides Way of the Warrior, is the greatest Klingon episode of all time. You gave Remember Me a higher rating than this episode too? You gave Remember Me a higher rating than Tin Man and Legacy as well!!! Do you even watch these episodes and pay attention???

You gave Devil's Due one star ???? Why ???

All the greatest episodes of this series you gave 3 star ratings or even less: The Offspring, Tin Man, Legacy, Redemption, Clues... all 4 star episodes!

You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating then Redemption. You are totally stupid!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Ooh - I’m also really glad that they clarified that Arian was an augmented human or “half-robot”.
The character has kind of annoyed me since her introduction since if they had artificial life in the 23rd century that’d make Data much less of a marvel.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Am I the only one who is sad that they killed the Andorian and Tellarite admirals?
The Andorian has quite a few scenes before and I think the Tellarite did, too.

Although I suppose I could just be being racist. Maybe it’s not the admiral we have seen previously.

Also, I agree with Robbie. I kept waiting for Burnham to check on Nhan while she was suffocating, but apparently no one cared. Although, I was also wondering why Nhan didn’t just put her EV helmet back on..... Nice to hear that she’s a Barzan. That’s cool continuity.

Great episode! Except for the upside shots.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

I re-watched this episode today and a thought popped into my head that I couldn't get rid of.

The Prophets say that they are "Of Bajor." I was wondering if this is literal. The Prophets are the Bajorans, from the distant future. They evolved on Bajor, eventually becoming non-corporeal somehow. Since time is meaningless to the Prophets, they could have 'been born' (for lack of a better term) in the distant future. It would explain why the Prophets care what happens to Bajor.

What do you think? I think it's kind of a cool idea, if a bit timey-wimey.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 4:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Matt,
The two goodbyes were Alara and Alara.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Tue, Jan 1, 2019, 4:08am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

I really liked the episode. I’ve always liked “day in the life” stories. I agree with whomever above said it would have been ruined by a Voyager-style jeopardy of the week.

It was a bit brave to open the season with a quiet one, but I really loved it, and the expansions to the ship with the restaurant and the school made it feel more like a real place.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Dec 21, 2018, 12:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chrysalis

I'm surprised so many hated this episode. I didn't think it was so bad and actually liked all the mutants. So many star trek characters are wooden and formulaic, but the mutants aren't.

For those interested, the main actress has an interesting background on this episode which you can read here:

https://www.wnyc.org/story/241634-hitting-high-notes/
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Dec 21, 2018, 12:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Why didn't they use Odo as a player? As a changling...he could have been quite good. He could have stretched his arm to make a catch and turned into a fast animal when running the bases.

I liked the team name, uniforms and hats (where part of the station forms part of the baseball).
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Tue, Dec 18, 2018, 8:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Not a perfect episode, but good enough. Star Trek is a somewhat authoritarian show in that the chain-of-command is often seen as absolute and as an end unto itself. Where is democracy in the Trek universe? Why do we never see the characters voting on anything?

This is a nice change-of-pace episode that critically examines the chain-of-command and its authoritarian tangents. The medals, the obsession with rank, the absolute commands...it was great to see a critical light cast on these story telling elements that traditionally Trek rarely challenges.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sun, Dec 16, 2018, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

Among the worst ever DS9 episodes. I'm surprised this was written by Ron Moore as typically he is a good writer. The story's focus is focused way too much on the "internal" and not enough on the "external". Sitting around in a cave for 45 minutes listening to Dukat's psychological problems is not good television.

The other problem is Dukat's inconsistent character. The writers try to make him out to be a super villain which is boring, cliche, two-dimensional and inconsistent with occasional bouts of humanity we do see from him.

What would be much more interesting was if Dukat really WASN'T a villain of the occupation. That would be a fascinating twist and a breath of fresh air for his character. Instead we are stuck with Dukat as the 2-dimenensional villain and the bajorans as a 2-dimenensional race whose sole focus is victimhood.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Wed, Dec 12, 2018, 11:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Soldiers of the Empire

Ok, but a bit disappointing for a Moore episode who is usually better. The story had potential but was too inward focused and lacked sufficient outward focus. The plot focused on cheesy prattle and conflicts among the klingon crew inside of the ship instead of the search for the Klingon ship and dealing with the Dominion (which were much more interesting). For all the talk of battle...we don't have one battle scene in the entire 45 minute episode.

Something else that was a bit annoying was the inconsistency the writers have shown with relative ship strength. Based on other episodes one bird of prey is nowhere near as strong as one jem'hadar ship. Yet in this episode the implication was otherwise.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 8:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

Not a good episode. A story needs change of direction...unpredictability...twists... This had none...this was a basic fight/flight/survival episode that remains the same from the beginning to the end. 10 minutes of substance stretched over 45 minutes...it didn't work.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Smith
Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 7:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Sword of Kahless

Starts out as a good adventure story, but then devolves into boring quibbling between the crew. With better editing and a b-plot for filler this could have been a great episode.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Thu, Nov 15, 2018, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

This was Avery Brooks' least favorite episode. I actually kind of liked it especially with the Quark storyline. Those of us that grew up with DND are likely more apt to appreciate this.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Thu, May 24, 2018, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

This is a pretty terrible episode obviously. For some reason Worf's soccer speech reminds me of the scene in Gremlins (spoiler alert!) where Phoebe Cates tells the story of her dad dressing up in a Santa costume and breaking his neck trying to slide down the chimney at xmas. Both are WTF? moments.
Set Bookmark
Aaron B.
Tue, May 22, 2018, 4:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Move Along Home

I agree with those who said this feels like a TOS or TNG script, which fits poorly into DS9. How many times were those crews stuck helplessly into a fighting arena or puzzle by an advanced alien of one sort or another? The only difference here is the aliens came to them.

The biggest problem is the lack of consequences, but DS9 wasn't that heavily serialized yet, so that makes it seem worse in hindsight. It's one of the worst episodes of Season 1, but that just shows how strong the season was overall.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Thu, Nov 16, 2017, 5:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

"DS9's worst episodes have been Ferengi ones"

For me, they're by far the best. They're vibrant and funny, in stark contrast to DS9 which is for the most part dull and monotonous.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sat, Sep 23, 2017, 12:28am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: About a Girl

Also in more general terms,

Jammer, I'm so happy that you're reviewing again. I'm sure this is one of the sites on the Web that I have been visiting the longest. I was definitely here back in the 20th century. I still re-read your old reviews regularly as I re-watch Trek.

I'm happy and cautiously optimistic with Orville. I enjoyed episode 2, and episode 3 was clearly a step up and a bit of a change in tone. I'm looking forward to where it goes from here. I am terrified it will get cancelled and I hope that it has a chance to find its niche.

Also - and I know it's off topic for this thread - but I'm looking forward to checking out Discovery in a couple of days, too. I've been avoiding reading much about it on the Internet. A) Scared of spoilers, and B) too much negativity! Fingers-crossed!!
Next ►Page 1 of 4
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.