Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 5,242 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 210
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 10:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Faces

Four stars for Roxanne as the split selves.

Three stars for the rest of the episode. Very solid but with some flaws as others pointed out.

So 3.3333 stars from me. And I concur with Caz's comments above about the Vidiians. "Voyager" didn't break much new ground, but the Vidiians were a different kind of beast. We should have had a few more episodes with them.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Cathexis

Just good enough to not be memorably bad "Trek." Among other things, it committed the sin of being kind of boring.

And I'm more easily entertained that most.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 3:00am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

“All I could think of was that TNG spliced-up parody video, created in the early-to-mid 1990s, where Data announces, "I have six aces!" and then laughs maniacally (using the audio from "Deja Q").”

That sounds hilarious. Does this video still exist somewhere on the internet?
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jan 25, 2020, 2:56am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Loved the review. Definitely agreed. Glad to see it was a pretty long one too. That’s bound to happen with the first episode at least.
Set Bookmark
Omar
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 6:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Bold Helmsman

"Others of us would like to have sci-fi that actually talks about contemporary issues, rather than reveling in some outmoded version of the past that was only a utopia for some people"

Then make your own sci-fi series with non-gender specific holograms and bash the U.S. and nationality sovereignty all you want. Leave Star Trek alone.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 5:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Oh, and it understands the audience has an attention span and doesn't have to be constantly distracted by fast cuts, circling cameras and snappy wisecracks. The two fight scenes are there because the plot intrinsically requires them and not because 10 minutes of dialog have passed so There Has To Be An Action Scene Now. And it has an elegiac feel in a way that I really connect with.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 5:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

A relatively auspicious start - I liked it, and I like it more the more I think about it. I loved the score, and really appreciated the calm, measured, sensitive tone, and the fact there was a strong focus on just two characters throughout the episode, instead of trying to introduce multiple new figures or frenetically switching between settings. It pulls back from many of the things I dislike about our "peak TV" era, and has a literary sensibility; you can tell an experienced novelist worked on this. It understands implicitly that Star Trek does not have to mean "space adventure", something that I thought the franchise's stewards for the past 15 years had forgotten. It's coherent, and reveals its hand slowly and logically. And it's so refreshing to have a prestige drama like this centered around a 79-year-old. Finally, Isa Briones is excellent - her skilled, naturalistic performance earned more genuine compassion from me in one episode than SMG has in two seasons of talentless gnashing and gurning. 3.5 stars - I'm on board.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 2:09am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

@Jammer thank you for continuing to maintain this site and your reviews. I don’t know what your job is or what has your schedule ever hectic, but thank you for making the reviews happen. Honestly it wouldn’t be Star Trek without a Jammer review to go with it.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 12:11am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

If I had a complaint, it’s the music, or at least the theme. It was pretty bad. Not at all memorable or standout like a theme should be. Especially a Star Trek theme.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 12:08am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

That was quite a good a start. Considering Discovery was constant mind numbing action and melodrama from minute one, I was really worried about Picard and I’m glad I was wrong.

It was well paced. There was time for the story to breathe which was great. Shockingly not everything in the trailer ended up in the first episode which I really thought would happen.

Picard felt like Picard. As much as I usually groan at fan service, the moments like that in this were well done and definitely touched me.

There’s just no hiding the fact that Brent Spiner is a 70 year old man, but I quickly got over the looks. It helped that he was only shown sparingly. I’m sad that B-4 didn’t make it. I loved that aspect of the Countdown comic, that the memory transfer worked.

I’m confused as to how Picard’s rescue attempt on the Romulans was connected to the “rogue synthetics” destroying the Mars shipyard. That journalist was basically blaming him for it.

I’m also confused how Starfleet had a slave race of androids anyway. Wasn’t that the point of Measure Of A Man? I guess they weren’t sentient?

At any rate, I’m intrigued where it’s going. I was actually engaged and it felt both familiar and new, which is what I want from new Star Trek. I can’t wait to see more.
Set Bookmark
Geekgarious
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 9:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Pretty good, I’m definitely intrigued. The score and ending Felt straight out of the JJverse, and I was sad to see Dahj go so quickly. Looking forward to learning more about her sister at least.
Set Bookmark
Marco
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 9:16pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

I had forgotten what a good actor can do with ANY material! I am 63 and if Stewart were to yell at me to tie up my shoes, I would burst into tears...But I digress. This is a very good beginning. Clearly the two Romulan are not servant, they are refugees! And live in the big house, and they care for Picard . And when He gets righteously angry over the interviewer not knowing anything about Dunkirk...Chills.

The story line arc probably will drop off at one point (it is pretty nice though, right now) but, frankly, who cares. I can watch the Old English dude work his craft, and I'll be happy.
Set Bookmark
Clark
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 8:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

4/4 for me and very interested to see where this goes, especially after that look ahead. With a serialized season arc, so much will depend on how this all ties together and how the rest of the cast gels, but really off to a great start. Was a relief to see that the didn't sit in the nostalgia but aren't forgetting what came before. If this is done well enough, it could add depth to re-watches of TNG.

... just hoping we don't see Q or section 31 anytime soon
Set Bookmark
Karl Zimmerman
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 8:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

On the whole it was very promising beginning to the season, but not a totally flawless one. Still probably the best pilot episode that a Trek series has ever had.

There were many things to love here, some of which have already been mentioned.

Stewart always elevates material - even when it's dreck like TNG's first season. Fortunately this is far from dreck, but his acting has only improved with age and every line he gives is a pleasure. Picard is back baby! Isa Briones surprised me in a very pleasant way as Dahj as well - the trailers didn't really show much of her after all, but she's a powerful enough force onscreen to not wither away in the presence of Stewart. Spiner is in perfect form in his two little bits as Data. Alison Pill's character leaves me a bit cold so far, but the supporting roles were generally speaking excellent.

I am very happy that this series is a lot slower paced, warmer feeling, and more naturalistic than Discovery. There was none of the jarring use of purposefully weird camera angles, fast cuts, harsh lighting, or loud music that makes Discovery episodes distracting. So far Picard knows that it's important to make the quiet parts quiet, and I very much appreciate that. Most of the dialogue seems natural and at ease. The focus on character so far reminds me quite a good deal of Deep Space Nine - my favorite Trek by far.

The one aspect I didn't like is the episode had a bit too much expository infodump for me. Two interactions in particular just stood out as not good. One was Picard's "interview." Although Picard's reactions to the interrogation were an excellent chance for Stewart to show off his chops - and the writers to show how many people in 2397 don't like Picard much - the questions the interviewer answers seemed like they were there for the purpose of elucidating us as the viewer. Worse still was the whole of the interaction with Jurati at the Daystrom Institute, which involved both badly-done exposition and some really suspect technobabble (Reconstructing all of Data's brain from a single positron? They always have to be twins? Seriously?). It's a shame, because except for these two scenes, everything was perfect.

On the whole I'd say in Jammer's rating system it is either 3 or 3.5 out of 4 stars. I'll be generous and give it 3.5 because he rated Emissary that high - and I think this is a better pilot.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Thu, Jan 23, 2020, 1:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

Awful, misguided episode. The fact it neuters the 8472 isn't even the main thing wrong here - it's just really poor drama; insipid, pious and nonsensical. It's bad, but not in the ways that Voyager is more typically bad. Several of the dialog scenes are horrendous, then there's the issue of Walston's performance. Just a really ill-thought-out script that should have been either a) nixed at concept stage, or b) once it did make it into the draft phase, needed a hell of a lot more work.
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Wed, Jan 22, 2020, 3:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Brothers

It’s a good continuation of ‘Family,’ mostly because of Spiner’s tour de force performances. But the entire addition of the youths and artificial deadline is so contrived. Much more believable to simply have Data lock up and say,”Captain, I have just received an internal message. It appears to be ... from Noonien Soong.”

Picard’s frustration over losing control of his ship could have filled the extra time much better. Coming on the heels of his assimilation and heart-to-heart with Robert, it would have been an excellent way to further our introduction to the man inside the uniform and how he handles being helpless.

For once, Riker gets the best line: “ The only way we knew we had come out of warp was by looking out a window.“ Speaks well of the work done in space dock on the inertial dampeners!
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Pulaskis "folksy" racism and bigotry was cringe inducing. I know she was meant to "challenge" the rest of the crew but you can do that without utilizing such a totally loathsome character.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 9:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Heroes and Demons

The holodecks should be shut down as long as Neelix is cooking in the kitchen. 'Nuff said on that.

Voyager has already made a cliche of energy searches revealing new life forms, just 12 shows in.

A few lines of clever dialogue and nice performance from the Doctor just can't salvage a bad idea, but do make it go down much more smoothly.

This would have been a good time for an aftermath episode from the previous episode -- menace of another sort from a different Kazon faction.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jan 21, 2020, 7:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

Very good episode for all the reasons Jammer and other fans of the episode have well-stated.

Martha Hackett is wonderful. This episode shows what "Voyager" could have been if the writers/producers had been allowed to take the show in more of a stronger story arc direction.

Two more random things: I think "Voyager" has the best theme music and intro. It's also the most visually appealing of all Treks to me.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 11:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

As someone born in the early 1990s I did not find the frozen people relatable at all. They just seemed greedy and self centered
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

Very good outing on all fronts. For those of us who feel like "Voyager" didn't live up to what it should have been, it's because of episodes such as "Prime Factors," which did live up to the promise. We just wanted more than we got.

So far into Season 1, I rate the following as "good or better":

Caretaker / Phage / Eye of the Needle /Prime Factors. That's out of nine episodes. That was certainly more than Next Gen at this point.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 3:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Parallax

Way, way, way, way too soon for an anomaly episode.

This should have been an aftermath episode with much, much more Star Fleet / Marquis conflict ... OR ... another visit from the Kazon (or both). I didn't love them, but they were the first villains they came up with. We probably should have gotten another visit.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 3:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

This should have been a Star Fleet / Marquis conflict episode, not some time anomaly filler.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 3:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: The Cloud

The character-building moments were pretty good. The cloud plot was tired.

My question: What would have been wrong with an hour of character building, with maybe a short encounter with a Kazon ship or something?
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jan 19, 2020, 3:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Eye of the Needle

I really enjoyed this episode -- granted, it starts to fall apart if you think about it too hard. So I just don't, and I like it!

I liked the Romulan and I liked the twist that he was 20 years in their past. I also liked that they restrained themselves from making every episode about getting home or getting home faster, but you needed a few those along.

This was a good way to do it.
Next ►Page 1 of 210
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.