Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 5,029 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 202
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Fri, May 24, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Re: Picard trailer. Was that SMG doing the voice over?! There is no escape from Michael flaming Burnham...
Set Bookmark
Dark Kirk
Thu, May 23, 2019, 6:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Rewatching this episode, I'm struck at two things about Sisko. He is O'Brien's antagonist, right up to the last piece of dialogue in the episode, and often is O'Brien's antagonist throughout the series. Also, when he authorized Kira to talk to the Bajoran scientist even though she said would not set foot on Bajor, it was played as if he realized what she planned to do. It was an early instance of him being desperate enough to cross an ethical line because everyone on the station, including his son, was in jeopardy. Good writing.
Set Bookmark
Casey Argall
Mon, May 20, 2019, 8:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Rejoined

Trills are parasites and would never gain entry to the federation.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Mon, May 20, 2019, 1:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

Ugh. Mediocre. I haven't watched one of these season 1 episodes in a while. It was so slooooooow, just drags along. The only character who seems to have any energy is Geordi. Picard seems really un-Picard like here and quite nasty and rude to Data, I'm surprised @LizzyDatalover hasn't complained...
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Sun, May 19, 2019, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

@Lizzydatalover

Doesn't Pulaski start off obnoxiously prejudiced against Data (which as we've seen lots of him we get angry with her for), but then as she works with Data and spends time with him she learns to appreciate him and her prejudices are softened? I think this particular plot strand is actually exploring the nature of prejudice. Pulaski was hostile to Data before she'd even met him just because he's an AI. Meeting and working with the reality of an AI her prejudices are challenged.

And @Booming is right. Data's feelings can't be hurt and so he can't be insulted (therefore Pulaski is wasting her time trying to wind him up).

I wonder if the writers weren't also trying to replicate the sparky nature of the Bones/Spock relationship to a certain extent. Think how baffled Bones was by Spock and his Vulcan ways and how he used to get really riled by him.

I liked Pulaski, at least she had a personality (plus the actress playing her was a massive improvement on Gates M as well). Yes, she's abrasive but that's preferable to blandness and Bev is soooooo very very bland.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Thu, May 16, 2019, 1:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

A good episode. Better than I remember (this is one of the few that only saw once way, way back in the day).

The yeoman du jour was kind of intriguing.

Kirk got over the loss of his brother and sister-in-law a little too quickly. Such was episodic TV in those days.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Wed, May 15, 2019, 11:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

My favorite "Original" Trek and very, very high up on my all-time, all Treks list.

I'll always think of Edith Keeler as Kirk's greatest love. Here's an aspect I haven't seen any comments on:

Joan Collins and William Shatner were two over-the-top, hammy actors. But they both toned it way down for this, and it was pure magic.

I usually roll my eyes at Kirk's "loves," but I totally buy in to why Kirk fell so hard, so fast for Edith Keeler, thanks for Joan Collins' on-spot performance.

My favorite part in an episode that was excellent from first to last minute was indeed that last minute back on the Guardian planet. I'm so glad they didn't do the usual yucking it up on the bridge at Spock's expense.

The ending leaves you with such as strong sense of Kirk's loss.
Set Bookmark
Charles
Wed, May 15, 2019, 7:58am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Siri and Alexa are alive too. They say hello and goodbye, they let me know what songs I should listen too before I even ask, and they’re just so darn polite. I can’t stand it when people are rude to Siri!
Set Bookmark
Gary
Mon, May 13, 2019, 8:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

An ongoing complaint, applying particularly to Discovery, but to some extent to at least the last three ST series:

As others have noted, the writers just feel they Must Top Everything that came before. The most egregious example, courtesy of the mycelial network: all humans could be wiped out? No, all life in the galaxy? No, all life in this universe, and All Other Universes.

In this episode (and, to a lesser extent, to the Short Trek predecessor): Queen Po can recrystalize dilithium, way back before TOS. OK... a bit much, but OK. But now... they need lots of energy. No, not "lots"... Supernova Lots. So she can make one, with a bit of hand-waving and a few hours using pre-TOS tech. That is an absurd level of power - more, I think, then we've seen harnesssed in any future Trek. Of course, like the spore drive, it'll never come up again, and that's the basis for my beef: please, writers, stop introducing super-powers that then need to be forgotten.

On the same topic of upping everything: unless I misheard, were we not told that any one of the section 31 ships could give the Enterprise a stiff fight? But of course there are many, to make the situation just that much more hopeless. (We're surrounded! Umm, in 2D, at least!) And tying oh-so-cleverly into my complaint that super-weapons are constantly introduced but discarded: since it's now established that ramming is a viable tactic (we're always told these battles are taking place at thousands of kilometres, but are plainly shown they are often with a few hundred metres): an AI with drone ships, or magically-transformed crews, can quite happily ram a few into the Enterprise, letting the rest dismantle Discovery at leisure. This battle is for all the marbles, after all.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Mon, May 13, 2019, 3:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

@Jason R. I completely agree and always found it odd that this episode even had a lukewarm reception among fans, when nothing that happens in it makes even the most minimal amount of sense. Even as a little kid, I always found this episode completely ludicrous on every level. The slow and repetitive execution stops it from even being goofy/campy fun.
Set Bookmark
Harris
Mon, May 13, 2019, 9:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Through the Looking Glass

Maybe Eddie’s that kid from The Sixth Sense.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Sun, May 12, 2019, 8:36am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

I love this episode and would give it three and three quarter stars. I like that we get a real sense of life lived on board. Lots of nice touches as well that show how well the writers and actors know the characters by now.

My favourite scene is Worf and Data shopping for wedding gifts. Wonder if Worf ended up getting the swan!

What the hell was T'pel wearing on her head when trying to trick Data into giving her info?! It was like a Vulcan pixie hood with special cut outs for the ears. Hilarious!
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Sun, May 12, 2019, 2:39am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Renewed! Hurrah! Praise be to Avis etc.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Sat, May 11, 2019, 1:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: The Mind's Eye

Very good, tense episode, I'm surprised there aren't more comments.

I would love to know what Picard swore at Vagh. Any Klingon speakers out there?!

Kell's banquet of Klingon food though, blurgh. Shudder.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Fri, May 10, 2019, 8:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: A Taste of Armageddon

Has anyone every noticed that McCoy is always by the captain's seat, needlessly questioning every decision of whoever is in command?

Scotty, who had the situation well in hand, should have sent him down to Sickbay with orders to stay there.
Set Bookmark
Karl
Fri, May 10, 2019, 6:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Mad Idolatry

Can science tell us whether the universe it studies in such detail is real? And if not, what relevance does what it has to say about its alleged lack of meaning have to a potentially unreal universe?
Set Bookmark
Robert Larson
Fri, May 10, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: True Q

Zero stars. This gave us no new insight to the Q, and who cares if it did. This was poorly written and acted. Boring beyond description. One of the worst episodes ever. Deep conversations about nothing. Rascals is a much more entertaining episode than this snooze, and you gave it a lower rating.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Thu, May 9, 2019, 2:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

It was a good episode right up until Riker MURDERED those two people.
Set Bookmark
No scarcity economics
Tue, May 7, 2019, 8:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Excuse me, source of the Eichner radiation agitation of deadly substance is what I meant to say.
Set Bookmark
No scarcity economics
Tue, May 7, 2019, 8:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

You found out Ian was born to Troi to learn the human life cycle? Was this stated in the episode or was the conclusion made from the obvious implication of Ian's existence? I don't recall the child ever explaining himself, besides that he was the source of the "deadly substance", which was called a plasma virus by the way.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Tue, May 7, 2019, 3:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

Haplo, Yanks - I've seen the DS9 documentary. I gave it an 8/10 (or a high 3 on the Jammer scale). It was great hearing all the actors talk so intelligently about their roles. For me the season eight part was the weakest element - admittedly they only had one day to come up with it, but I didn't think the writers' ideas worked and a lot of the groundwork and character choices seemed to have been borrowed from the relaunch novels. A shame there was no discussion of The Visitor or In The Pale Moonlight at all in the two-hour runtime, and no discussion of the geopolitical side of the show either (the parallels between Bajor/Cardassia and eastern European countries recovering from Soviet domination in the 1990s, Changeling paranoia in relation to terrorism fears in the U.S., etc.). I did really enjoy it, but it was a little too much of a love-in and nostalgia fest - which is entirely warranted, as the show is awesome, but I'd have preferred a slightly more sober and analytical look at what made DS9 so resonant and timeless, rather than lots of scenes of the cast singing and fooling around.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Sat, May 4, 2019, 2:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

@Gerontius
Eek no, I don't want it to be remotely like Discovery in terms of plot. I was thinking more of episodes that could stand alone but were within a wider story arc (a bit like DS9 I suppose).

Re Kelly's cleavage. It all fell flat to me (no pun intended!) I didn't like the 'joke' about her liking to be on top either.
Set Bookmark
Artymiss
Fri, May 3, 2019, 11:02am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Finally got to see it but... I was disappointed by it. It wasn't terrible but it was very predictable and I got a bit bored. I truly hated Kelly's wonderbra cleavage, was that really necessary?! Do your buttons up love.

Still really hoping for a season 3 though.

I would've liked the previous episode to have been the season finale with season 3 exploring the ramifications of younger Kelly's actions rather than cramming it all into this one episode.

Why can't the Kaylon shoot straight?! They are absolutely hopeless shots, can't think how they managed to destroy so many civilizations...
Set Bookmark
ticonstar94
Thu, May 2, 2019, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Starship Mine

I've read in the 50 year mission star trek book that, Patrick Stewart kept wanting more action and romance for Picard. Paramount/Berman & Co worried he wouldn't renew his contract for season 7 so this episode is a direct result of that.
Set Bookmark
Hardy
Tue, Apr 30, 2019, 6:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

Science fiction by it's definition requires the viewer to suspend their belief. Many actions of powerful beings, futuristic science, or unusual phenomenon conflict with Einstein's theory. Good writing ADDRESS those issues. The closer an object approach a black hole, the greater the speed and power (energy) they would need to escape that massive or near infinite gravity from its collapsed object.

As the embattled crew was finding the perfect "viewing" parking spot, my offense of physics logic was there wasn't an attempt of a MacGuffin. An event horizon of a black hole is the most awe inspiring spacetime effect in our galaxy. I was hoping for a sentence of dialogue to address any physics (for those interested in that "science thingy"). Also, to expect the C̶y̶l̶o̶n̶s̶ Kaylons would have human emotions like experiencing the trepidation of pursuit, boredom, or assuming their deaths was darn lucky for the "broken mirror" crew.

To clarify a person's previous comment, because mass causes gravity, and gravity causes orbits, the spiral galactic orbital paths of all objects in the galaxy are in orbit around the center of the TOTAL MASS OF THE GALAXY, and not the mass of the black hole that happens to be at the center. If "The Q" were to remove the black holes, (with exception of nearby celestial objects now having an adjusted gravitational effect), the gravitational pull of the spiral galaxy wouldn't change.

My previous review of 3.5 was based on storyline, entertainment, design sets, direction, and the outstanding VFX effects. The Orville has potential.
Next ►Page 1 of 202
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.