Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 5,167 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 207
Set Bookmark
Barfunk
Wed, Nov 6, 2019, 5:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

A bad, bad, really bad episode. Yuk.
First, lack of creativity is obvious. This revamp of "Perfect Mate" is an insult to one of my favorite tng episode. While there is a perfect chemistry between Patrick Stewart and Famke Jannsen(her first TV role!), Lakshmi and Trineer one is fake.
Lakshmi is a queen of beauty(like Femke) , I'll give you that, but she can't act, period.
Turn "Perfect Mate" in a screwball comedy was not a bad idea(remember "Tng's Captain's holiday" with vash), but childish script, dialogs and bad acting ruined it.
Obviously, this episode was inspired by 1998 movie "Six Days Seven Nights" with Harrison Ford. Not bad, but scriptwriters should have watched 1934 "New York-Miami" with Clark Gable, that's a hell of screwball comedy!
To conclude,this episode is pile of garbage and belongs to the top 10 st worst épisodes, "a night in sick bay" included.

0 stars
Set Bookmark
Archideus
Mon, Nov 4, 2019, 9:23am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

Two things that annoyed me:
1) Sim - child's thick accent - I'm not an English native and sometimes couldn't understand a word he said.
2) I cannot believe that noone predicted the moral consequences of keeping Sim conscious amd having him around, knowing him, getting emotionally attached and having to explain him his purpous and finally, with all that bagage, kill him. Why couldn't he be just sedated or kept in a coma or something and be harvested without ever having to wake him up. That also bothered me with Tuvix.
Set Bookmark
Harry's Swollen Throat
Sun, Nov 3, 2019, 11:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

Am I the only person annoyed af at Kirk. Every damn woman no matter who they are he gets in their pants. I want to face palm myself so hard.

Also not great to make Nona the main focus. Was rooting for her to die within the few seconds I saw her lol. Would have liked more klingon action than anything.

What even is a prime directive these days....sigh....
Set Bookmark
Harry's Swollen Throat
Fri, Nov 1, 2019, 11:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

Did not like the episode though it had potential. Suits are an exception however 😍 Kirk and Spock were looking toight.

Plot goes:
Sent to planet to fix mess of their interference < fixes mess < interferes again with Bone's communicator < makes a joke and laughs it off < The End
Left the way it started.

Cool. Legit just an episode of cat and mouse.

"We dont want to use our technology" ....
Uses transportation and phasers towards end.
Legit could have saved 30 minutes of "action" . Wanting those 30 minutes back thanks 😂
Set Bookmark
Harry's Swollen Throat
Fri, Nov 1, 2019, 6:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

Agree with the review and star rating.

THO I do agree with what most people have said, that the last scene is probably the ONLY thing that saves the episode. Shana is so underappreciated, vulnerable and quite a beautiful woman in all sense of the word. Beautiful words at the end! I teared up unexpectedly...

However I was cringing through the episode at how Kirk was using Shana at her expense. The cliche at getting into another womans pants because he "cares". Lol nope. But then they kissed and he punched her two seconds flat. I literally gasped. Goddamn so much is wrong with the way he behaves....

This episode ended with anticlimactic. 1/4 stars if that.
Set Bookmark
Snootybaronet
Wed, Oct 30, 2019, 4:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

Enterprise was vastly superior to Voyager. I make that determination strictly on characters. The only bearable characters on Voyager were the Doctor and 7 of 9. I was not offended by any of the characters on Ent. Even the vacuous characters like Mayweather were non offensive. The English guy was fine. Whereas idiotic characters like Harry Kim thrive on Voyager. The Vulcan on Voyager was a complete bore. T'pol had depth. I could care less about the Klingon hybrid on Voyager. I liked Hoshi. Scott Bakula was believable. Captain Annoyance on Voyager grated. Don't even get me started on Neelix and Kes, ugh.
Set Bookmark
Harry's Swollen Throat
Wed, Oct 30, 2019, 4:20am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Wolf in the Fold

This was one of the least morally wrong episodes for me. I don't really get the whole sexism issue as it was literally not about the women but the murders. Think people were focusing on the wrong thing.

Love this take on Jack the Ripper. My husband and I agreed this is one of the best episodes we've seen on tos for a while. Good job!
Set Bookmark
Larry
Tue, Oct 29, 2019, 7:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

Yes it’s slow moving but I like the scenes where the lass speaks in tongues when attacked by the lights. Face contorted “Glarble glarb rrrr” with that funky slip-sliding music over all. I’d like to know how they did the voice sounds, and whether there is actually something being said pre-manipulation.
Set Bookmark
Harry's Swollen Throat
Tue, Oct 29, 2019, 8:49am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Journey to Babel

I actually liked the episode EXCEPT for the mother. She didn't want to potentially put spock at risk but then when the whole ship was in danger didnt give a toss and kept guilt tripping spock into doing the operation. I mean YES mothers are moody like that. But I expected a bit more respect/resolve from a human woman who has been married to a Vulcan for years. She couldn't understand the logic. Really after all this time. Slapping spock was super uncalled for in my opinion.....

Oh and also McCoy not relaying Spock's important info to Kirk just before he went into the operation. I mean typical every time -.- Bones is always like "hush hush you're a patient.......who cares if the information could save the whole ship you need to rest lmao XD"

Other than that the episode was awesome and I enjoyed the story!
Set Bookmark
Harry's Swollen Throat
Tue, Oct 29, 2019, 8:40am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Friday's Child

- unnecessary dying

- behaviours and attitudes constantly changing and shifting

- klingon not klingon like at all. Didn't fight honourable and quite a coward.

- what's an inexperienced officer doing on an away mission. Bruh.

- no continuity of characters. Just no sense at all.

I would give 2 stars because it HAD potential.
Set Bookmark
Larry
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 8:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: That Which Survives

H&I network has been showing TOS nightly, I’m enjoying it tremendously, even after so many viewings since it was first broadcast. It’s the best show ever, with great ensemble acting, fantastic vision and smart concepts. At this point even the bad episodes seem good to me - including That Which Survives. Star Trek TOS survives, and that is great.
Set Bookmark
Archideus
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 4:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Xindi

That T'Pol/Tripp sex-but-no-sex scene was just awfull.
For all and any future Star Trek screewriters and/or producers:
Do NOT force sex into Star Trek because fanservice!
We've got them Rule 34 ***** for that, thank You very much.

And on another note: why did T'Pol cover her breasts ?
No, really, a legit question.
I, as a viewer watching a tv show, know why.
But from the character's POV: why would a Vulcan do it. Humans cover themselves when nude because they are shy/feel ashamed. But these are emotions which the Vulcans should not have or have them surpressed. Maybe it is cannon somehow, I'm not that much into Star Trek, but it seems strange to me.
Set Bookmark
Archideus
Mon, Oct 28, 2019, 4:44am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Regeneration

The thing that annoyed me the most was Archer's killing spree on the borg vessel.

Borg body count on the Enterprise: 1.... 2..... sorry, that's it, they've adapted.
Borg body count on the Borg vessel when Archer is shooting: 1... 2... 5.... 29.... 1500 ..... Bloodiest Movie Ever!

And why on on earth would the Borg trasport the drones off Enterprise, where they had the upper hand, back to the borg ship seconds before it was destroyed. Some kind of "live together, die together" rule ?
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Sun, Oct 27, 2019, 8:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

Just watched this episode for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was surprised at the identity of the saboteur, too. All that said, all of Jammer's critiques are valid. This isn't great drama and has a lot of holes. But I did have a good time with it all the same.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Edwards
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

An ambitious misfire, this film is the closest to Gene Roddenberry’s vision but also one of the more boring entries in the series. The film desperately wants to be the Star Trek version of 2001: A Space Odyssey, but ends up feeling lost and ponderous. Skipping it wouldn’t hurt your viewing experience, but if you like ambitious and existential sci-fi you might find some enjoyment here.
Set Bookmark
Harry's Swollen Throat
Fri, Oct 25, 2019, 11:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Metamorphosis

@BobbingtonMcBob

Oml legit what I said.

But seriously though. This episode would have been half believable if Cochran didn't throw a massive spat finding out what they were doing for 150 years was mindf**king each other literally. Then he yells at kirk and co for pointing it out. He was in denial and pissed off. "Let that thing crawl inside me". That "thing " a few hours later ends up living the rest of her life together with him.....OKAY.

Not only that but so much of this episode is illogical.

1.
IF the companion wasn't evil then why keep them there until she gets what she wants at the cost of an ambassador trying to prevent a war. Suddenly she has the ability to save her for her own use. Bones could have saved her. That was made so damn clear. They begged and pleaded. But inevitably she died because of the companion not because of her "disease" that was curable. Plus Cochran on the verge of dying can be cured but not this woman. Really? Are we really going to believe that?


2.
Are we going to ignore that the companion brought down the shuttle, shocked spock, almost killed spock and kirk and refused to let them leave. Something sinister about this being even if it is in the name of love.


3.
Not really illogical but damn SPOCK is one heckin' smartass. Just whips up a translator for a superior being that they could not make contact with. Kirk tells him to do it so he DOES IT. Just like he whipped up a computer to see the future during the 1930s Depression. 😂 Can we please give Spock a round of applause.


4. Kirk's last comment about finding another (specifically) "woman" to stop the war was shocking!
I turned to my partner as he turned to me. Baffled. Like hmmmm why a woman specifically? Was the woman going to be married off or something? Is she really that expendable and disposable? Do they have another one of her laying around? She seemed pretty damn important in the beginning..... the part where she starts rambling on about regretting to not love was just weird and out of character. Even though she knew she was dying all she was worried about was the war and how frustrated/uncomfortable she was. Could see her and Bones being a better love story than the companion and Cochran....No sense. She gave Cochran no interest when he first flirted with her, but was willing to give her body up so he can plant his fig tree in her? Okaaaayyyy???

That's my rant over. Have to give it 2 stars as it had potential if they kept up the continuity even a little bit.
Set Bookmark
Marc
Thu, Oct 24, 2019, 6:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Maquis, Part II

@Iceman

"Or, to take another example, Garak in "The Die is Cast" discovers that he no longer has the stomach to be a ruthless Cardassian interrogator, suggesting that liberal values will spread by association-no cultural imperialism needed."

Influencing another culture to take on your mores IS cultural imperialism
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Thu, Oct 24, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

What Peter said.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 1:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Waking Moments

It's a neat episode, but it just falls short. A perfect example of the missed opportunities of this series:

In a nutshell, it's too cynical. Once again the voyager crew outwits an alien adversary and then, sayonara, they're on their way to the next episode. It's a plot driven episode with no emotional weight or moral and it's a shame because these things could have easily been woven in.

At the end, Chakotay should have reasoned with them, explaining that they can't live their lives in paranoia about other people, that not all races are the same, and that they can be friends etc. Outwit and defeat the enemy, and then use it as an opportunity to redeem them and bring humanity to them. Chakotay should have been like: "look, we can kill you all right now, but we won't, because that's not who we are! We come in peace, we mean you no harm! You cannot judge other people to be the same, let's be friends! I love you!" Then the aliens could come back and have one of those little cocktail party things they do in star trek and the final scenes could be the aliens thanking everyone with really happy dreams... each dream is different, except Kim still winds up with seven.

That would be cool.
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 1:26am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Random Thoughts

I'm going off memory here so I may be wrong, but,

It never quite sit with me well that the voyager crew basically left that alien guy (the guy who traded in the negative emotions and "caused" the violence) in the hands of that planet's twisted and evil justice and morality system, probably to be locked away forever, simply for the "crime" of thinking bad thoughts.

It was like, "This is horrible! Thoughtcrimes! How utterly barbaric and Orwellian and evil, we've got to find a way to rescue B'Ellana!"

--after saving b'ellana--

"yeah, we found the guy who had the negative thoughts we're gonna turn him over to you to punish horrifically. have a nice day, see yah later!"

Just didn't seem noble.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Fri, Oct 18, 2019, 6:13am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Civil Defense

I'm the same, I loved this episode the first time I saw it but it's never really worked for me since. It's great upon first viewing because it's basically a "ride" episode - plenty of surprises and you never know what's gonna happen next, as the stakes keep being amped up. But on subsequent viewings I never found it that compelling - and yeah, the Garak/Dukat material just feels off. Dukat's conduct is certainly in character but Garak feels too on the nose. I'd still give it 2.5 though.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Tue, Oct 15, 2019, 3:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Imagine there are two patients, both in need of a heart transplant to live. One of them has a lethal disease that will kill him in just a couple years. The other patient does not have the disease and will likely gain decades of quality life years with the new heart. There is only one heart available. Which patient should get it?

This episode initially asks us to judge the relative utility of saving a race that will eventually die out anyway, versus doing nothing. It then seamlessly transitions to asking us to consider the larger question of whether we should even be concerning ourselves with the first question in the first place. And I think that's where a lot of people fell off the train. The first question wasn't really answered. But the second question was. They decided not to answer the first question, because they couldn't. Not that time, not that place.

That non-answer is what really threw people off this episode. But I urge those of you in that category to reconsider. My enjoyment of this episode does not hinge on the decisions made. If it does for you, I suspect you are too close to the material, and not seeing the big picture. Take a few steps back and re-watch it. Try not caring whether they answer the question or not, and just enjoy watching them wrestle with it. It's the journey people, not the destination.
Set Bookmark
Paul Hardwick
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

I watched this episode today for the first time since I was a kid and I was genuinely impressed with the build up. Very eerie setting and the kids playing havoc with the new grups by throwing things at them at singing the "nyah nyah, na nyah nyah" was just brilliant. When the zombie like creature first enters at the start when Bones takes an uncharacteristic interest in the wheel of trike was an excellent action sequence with some great (for the day) makeup.

The premise is both intriguing and absurd. With a little more care with the writing, perhaps allowing some better character development and maybe playing off the whole Kirk, Miri and Jand love triangle with more aplomb may have led this episode becoming a true classic.

Unfortunately we have some jarring dialogue (Bones : I've never seen so much bacteria, enterprise, send down some virus scanners!) and kirks final speech is pretty lame. The ending left me agog with the Enterprise leaving orbit and leaving the kids there on the planet!

So a great start to the episode but it doesn't meet its promise of a true classic.
Set Bookmark
Brian Lear
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Terra Nova

Disagree, I thought this was a good episode. Your vision for what "could have been" on Terra Nova, is definitely the more predictable scenario. I like how they didn't go that direction. They did something different, and, while it didn't succeed wildly, at least it made me sit up and think. The idea of an isolated colony of humans converted to subterranean life after a natural disaster is a good one. I would have liked to see a thriving and complex society down there too, it would be fun. But I think the more realistic scenario is the one we got. Humans completely isolated on a planet with few supplies and forced underground. Do you really think they would have come up with the type of underground society we saw in the caretaker, in just a couple generations? Those types of societies take thousands, maybe tens of thousands of years to evolve.

I do agree that the novans should have gotten better dialogue.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 2:58am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

Re: original Borg plan

The original idea was to open season two with the Enterprise discovering the Borg has destroyed the Romulan Empire and the crew discovering that the Romulans found a way to destroy the Borg cube

The crew were to run into more Borg and would need to figure out how the Romulans destroyed the first cube
Next ►Page 1 of 207
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.