Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 5,916 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 237
Set Bookmark
Hotel bastardos
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 9:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Another tremendous episode- demonstrating that Klingon politics are every bit as full of shit as all other kinds... Plus it's good to see Monsieur Picard steaming into those slags.
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 7:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

Favorite DS9 episodes:

10. Past Tense
9. The Jem'Hadar
8. Call To Arms
7. Rocks And Shoals
6. Image In The Sand/Shadows And Symbols
5. The Siege Of AR-558/It's Only A Paper Moon
4. The Way Of The Warrior
3. The Visitor
2. Far Beyond The Stars
1. The Darkness And The Light

Least favorite DS9 episodes:

10. Children Of Time
9. Q-Less
8. The Emperor's New Cloak
7. Battle Lines
6. Dramatis Personae
5. Profit And Lace
4. Field Of Fire
3. Afterimage
2. A Simple Investigation
1. Extreme Measures
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 6:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: All Good Things...

Favorite TNG episodes:

10. Skin Of Evil
9. Dark Page
8. Conspiracy
7. The Best Of Both Worlds
6. Yesterday's Enterprise
5. The Inner Light
4. Reunion
3. Q Who?
2. The Offspring
1. The Most Toys

Least favorite TNG episodes:

10. The Child
9. Masks
8. Emergence
7. Force Of Nature
6. The Naked Now
5. The Royale
4. Interface
3. Shades Of Gray
2. Loud As A Whisper
1. Hide And Q
Set Bookmark
Ari Paul
Tue, Aug 4, 2020, 11:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: When the Bough Breaks

Oh right..... right right, I forgot about the PEDOPHILE EPISODE. Those poor kids...only they will know what truly happened to them down there...

This one probably has Maurice Hurley all over it.
Set Bookmark
Marlboro
Mon, Aug 3, 2020, 7:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

"What 18 year old teenager wants to watch 30 year old shows with mommy and daddy? "

Kids with decent parents?
Set Bookmark
Picard_Is_Wesleys_Father
Sat, Aug 1, 2020, 4:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Fourth Season Recap

I have so many mixed feelings about Star Trek: Enterprise in almost every category.

Positives: Unlike later Abrams Trek, Enterprise more or less maintained the Star Trek “feel” (especially in the latter third and fourth seasons). And unlike the bile of contemporary Kurtzman Trek, it demonstrated a general respect for the franchise. Did we *really* need to know why TOS Klingons had smooth features? No, probably not. But I remain in awe that this series had such a love for TOS and desire to honor the overall continuity that it gave us an origin story anyway. That “love-letter” to continuity ended up an albatross in the finale weaving in the TNG cast in a story that was not their own, but it at least proved the showrunners cared about the wider franchise canon. That’s commendable.

Visually, Enterprise is a good looking show. A little more drab than previous entries, but, again, considering how embarrassed Kurtzman seems of classic Trek uniforms, ships, and aesthetics in DIS and PIC, Enterprise honors the visual style of its predecessors, while still being slickly produced.

A number of the series’ characters are engaging, particularly Tripp. Likewise Malcolm and Doctor Phlox (disagreeing with the reviewer) are reasonably well-rounded and no member of the crew grated on the viewer like Wesley or Neelix. I remain a Travis defender in that Anthony Montgomery COULD have handled deeper, more abundant material. His bright-eyed optimism and divergent upbringing could have been a real asset if they had bothered to give him more screen time. If he appears “wooden,” perhaps it derives from so much time atrophying on the bench.

Enterprise also makes more of its premise than its predecessor Voyager. We see first contact with a number of classic races, in-depth looks at early relations with Vulcan, and a sense of the wonder, danger, and novelty of interstellar travel in their era. It isn’t flawless, but it does well as a prequel (again, shots fired, Discovery).

Negatives: The collective cast never gels in remotely the same way as the TOS Trinity or the TNG bridge crew or the wonderful noir ensemble on DS9. Even later Voyager managed to build meaningful dynamics between EMH, Seven, and Janeway or Tom and Belanna. T’Pol regresses in many ways as a character after ingesting toxic metals (emotion crack) losing her strength, competency, and distinctiveness. The continual “will they, won’t they” yo-yoing of her and Tripp’s relationship culminated in absolutely nothing and the reviewer rightly notes that all characters essentially end where they began. Character arcs need not be seismic to be profound (before senselessly killing Data off in Nemesis, his triumph was merely in incrementally becoming more human).

Archer ultimately never really worked as a character, especially when the writers unsuccessfully wrote him as a tough guy. A series of poor scripts resulted in Archer imprisoned or kidnapped too many times to count and the character fluctuated wildly between compassionate and aggressive (Janeway syndrome).

Now the unfortunate standard, Enterprise pioneered season-spanning arcs far beyond even what occurred on DS9. Relying on ongoing narratives for an entire season necessitates that your core story be really good. And like eventual Discovery and Picard, much of Enterprise’s core plot threads were not very good. Particularly the Temporal Cold War which was a) confusing, b) largely unexplained and unresolved, and c) diverting and uninteresting. Anchoring so much of seasons 1, 2, and partially 3 in this plot marred many of the series’ episodes. DS9 paid dividends focusing on the Dominion War, but also showed the dangers of serialization with the P’ah Wraiths and the Prophets (in many ways seriously harming its own finale).

All in all, Enterprise is as worthy a member of the franchise as Voyager, if not in some respects more meritorious. Voyager and even TNG and DS9 all came into their own in their latter halves. With three more seasons and the promising changes of seasons three and four, Enterprise might well have become a great series, despite its flaws. Cut off at the legs as it was hitting its stride, we half to judge it as a half series. Yes, it’s tiptoeing into grittier material and serialization may have helped pollute the franchise of the latter 2010s. And no, Enterprise lacks a Darmok or a Measure of a Man or an Inner Light. But it tried something new, fleshed out the canon in a meaningful way, and showed great respect and care for a franchise we love.
Set Bookmark
Chris Varentrek
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 3:13am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Natural Law

@John C. Worsley
> Also apparently the Borg never assimilated a species that ever cooked or had to keep warm. "An exothermic reaction!" Yes, Seven, we call it fire!

I had a different interpretation of this that I really like! What's interesting is that the exothermic reaction is what was used to START the first. Instead of a flint stone or friction based bow drill. It just so happens that two local plants have some component in them that violently exothermically reacts with the other. (perhaps like how metallic sodium reacts with water). That does seem like it could be a very unusual thing.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Fri, Jul 31, 2020, 3:00am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

I too was highly disturbed by the Facial Tic Transfer Wand as it just comes completely out of nowhere with absolutely zero explanation
Set Bookmark
Hotel bastardos
Thu, Jul 30, 2020, 1:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

Well one thing he never got to experience it seems, was a hard on- maybe he'd have stuck around....
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Thu, Jul 30, 2020, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

This episode had some issues and could have benefited from some better editing. That said, I particularly enjoyed the father/son emotional type scene at the end. Good father son scenes are rare and I feel like Cirroc and Brooks had great on screen chemistry.
Set Bookmark
Picard_Is_Wesleys_Father
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 11:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: In a Mirror, Darkly, Part II

This was my favorite mirror universe episode since TOS. Sure, it was pointless. But considering what a slog some of the DS9 mirror adventures turned out to be, this was a breath of fresh air. Fan service is at its best when its contained to a bottle (like DS9’s wonderful Tribble outing). Keeping the plot relatively light and inconsequential is actually a good thing. Considering other (read: later) series infatuation with the overly serious Mirror stories, relegating this camp romp to its own, independent tale was smart. Plus we get a gorn, a fun twist, and lots of hammy invocations of Kirk through Archer’s overacting. This two-parter is a winner in my book.
Set Bookmark
Picard_Is_Wesleys_Father
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 4:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Bound

Yes, the episode is a mess. It deals in sexist tropes and its “empowering” reveal makes little sense in regard to t previous appearance of the Orions in an earlier episode. For a final five episode installment, shockingly poor.

But like DS9’s Profit and Lace, it isn’t nearly the worst Trek outing. Despite its many failings, it still has a light, comedic bent that makes it less painful. Some of the banter is fun and it was a treat hearing about the Gorn. But compared to TNG’s deeply problematic forays to planets of both Native Americans and Africans or Voyager’s butchering of both evolution and warp drive that sees Janeway and Tom mating as lizards, this was at least semi-watchable. Not great. Not good. But not mindnumblingly boring or canon-rending.
Set Bookmark
Marlboro
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 11:18am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Very insightful comment, Sen-Sors. I agree 100%.
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 5:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Big Wesley is my shining boy. He's the perfect son!
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 4:58am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Seventh Season Recap

Favorite Voyager episodes:

10. Persistence Of Vision
9. The Voyager Conspiracy
8. Gravity
7. Future's End
6. Someone To Watch Over Me
5. Warlord
4. Retrospect
3. Resistance
2. Counterpoint
1. The Thaw

Least favorite Voyager episodes:

10. Q2
9. The Q And The Grey
8. The Fight
7. Fair Haven
6. Spirit Folk
5. Inside Man
4. Fury
3. Dark Frontier
2. Endgame
1. Unimatrix Zero
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 12:26am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Nothing Human

I'm a huge Jammer fan. But this is a 3.5 star episode for me.

I loved the debate in the conference room with Harry and Janeway on one side and Chakotay and Tuvok on the other. Like the best "Treks," I found compelling arguments on both sides.

In the end, I agreed with Janeway's call.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 28, 2020, 12:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

3.5 stars for me. Great episode.

I particularly enjoyed Jeri Ryan's Ferengi.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 9:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Unimatrix Zero, Part II

Just to counter some nitpicks Jammer has

The virus they released was a Borg computer program as evidenced by the graphics in sickbay in part I. So I do t have an issue that a borg program could be released undetected or unchallenged I also assume for Torres to be able to have it on Her person it just have been stored in some Borg tech implanted in her before going on the mission

As far as Tuvok. Yes you’d think he would be last person to succumb to the collective give. His mental discipline but you also have to remember Vulcans are telepaths so I’m sure that made him
More susceptible to the collective
Set Bookmark
Adam Marsland
Mon, Jul 27, 2020, 2:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Brent Spiner is miming real guitar chords during Data's guitar sequence, but it doesn't correspond at all to the music we hear.
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 11:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Once Upon a Time

Two and three quarter stars.

And I like the holonovel. This is a much better use of the holodeck than the usual BS of safety protocols off, etc.

Naomi is cute. Nice character moments. Good moments in the shuttle.
Set Bookmark
Picard_Is_Wesleys_Father
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 10:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: United

It seems plausible Shran simply viewed “incapacitation” as impossible in a battle with serated blades. Archer took advantage of the secondary element of the ushaan-tor, the tether, to choke Shran and then unbalance him by slicing off his antenna. So I think it’s fair to say “duel to the death” is fueled more by the practical and emotional considerations of Shran than the explicit rules themselves.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 6:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Night

This episode's worst aspect is that it had the writers commit themselves to an aspect of the show that was essentially a 5-year insult to our intelligence.

I am referring to the matter of Harry Kim. Simply put, when something wasn't happening to show how "green" he was, he was shown to be unfailingly loyal, highly capable, and completely trustworthy. Given that even a mediocre officer typically makes lieutenant in three years, it is simply not plausible that an excellent one remain an ensign for seven.

This episode held the perfect opportunity for the writers to quietly, painlessly sweep their mistake under the rug. Two months have passed. All they need to do is have Harry show up at the initial briefing with a black pip on his collar. No "Janeway sticks a pip on Harry's collar and everyone claps" ceremony required. No fanfare. It's just "Harry's a lieutenant now, we've all moved on."

The writers chose not to do this. I can infer from this decision that they thought the viewers were too stupid to notice a glaring and completely unnecessary inconsistency. That is an insult.

As a writer who has never profited from his craft (and likely never will), it offends me that professional writers could be so incompetent.
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 3:24am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

This is what I expected. Couldn’t agree more with everything you said regarding Trek just being a soulless product now.

There’s nobody at the helm trying to preserve the soul of Star Trek and keep it going. It’s all money men looking to make as much cash as possible as quickly as possible before the audience burns out on this era of Trek. That’s all that matters. Anything else these producers and execs say is a lie.

The Lower Decks trailer was painfully unfunny. I don’t blame you for not wanting to review it. I do hope that you’re able to review something else in the near future. Your reviews are just as entertaining to read and interact with as the thing you’re reviewing, sometimes more so. Whether Trek related or not, it’s always great to have something new to read on this site.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 12:23am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Ok, this episode was a trainwreck, and deserved one star (maybe). But I still enjoy it, especially when properly intoxicated. For the following reasons...
1. Phlox's tongue.
2. Archer and T'Pol's pissing contest.
3. T'Pol's remarks about dogs and toilets.
4. The escaped bat.
5. Archer and Phlox's batcatching efforts.
6. Hoshi's bat grab.
7. Phlox's doggie funeral scene.
8. T'Pol's vanishing wardrobe.
9. #7 segueing into #8.
10. Phlox owning Archer as indicated above.
11. Archer, dreads, a chainsaw, and gibberish.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 12:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Let He Who Is Without Sin...

This was far from Trek's best episode, but I don't feel that it deserved 0 stars, that's a rank best reserved for dreck like "Threshold". This episode at least made sense, and the premise of the ever-serious Worf on a pleasure planet had some nice "fish out of water" moments.
Next ►Page 1 of 237
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.