Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 6,674 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 267
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Thu, May 6, 2021, 4:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Ensigns of Command

Zappy thing trumps discussion every time. Zap! Get the humans off or zap. Data arguing with Gorsheven. Zap. Data persuading the colonist. Zap.
And how come no-one's talking about the Sheliak's lovely Klimtesque robes and subtle mood lighting.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Tue, May 4, 2021, 4:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

A very sad tearjerker of an episode where Riker remains alive.
My favourite bit is where Pulaski says 'He's dying' and Picard says 'is there anything I can do to help'.....bit harsh, but you can see where he's coming from.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, May 3, 2021, 4:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Shame they hadn't been augmented with some sewing genes. Have they been wearing the same clothes for 10 years?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, May 3, 2021, 3:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

What happened to the leprechauns?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Apr 30, 2021, 2:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

'Hello we're the Vulcans and in this version of Trekiverse we've controlled every emotion except rampant snittiness. Luckily being patronising isn't an emotion or we'd have problems with that too. And by the way our guests have to do all the cooking. Welcome, I'll show you to the kitchen.'
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Thu, Apr 29, 2021, 4:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Wesley's Jumper - forget it. This episode is all about Picard's Cardie, roll neck and flat cap combo. all in earth and nature tones. The perfect outfit for the French gentleman's riding fantasy.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 5:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Icarus Factor

The mystery of why Riker is a dick is solved....it's because his dad's a dick.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 4:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

It feels like the crew has started to come together even if the stories are still just as silly silly.
If I killed myself in the future could I be found guilty of my own murder?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Dauphin

Got to love those hairy beast costumes.
Wesley's jumpers - still in the 'ensign' grey union suit. Maybe he'd have had more luck if he'd romanced her in one of his old knitwears?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Wed, Apr 28, 2021, 3:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part I

And the question is: how come they only made 4 series ? and the answer is: every blessed episode of every blessed season......as if the last omnishambles was insufficient, well they've certainly trumped that.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Tue, Apr 27, 2021, 2:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

At last space nazis....can't wait for the robot gorillas!
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 4:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

There was so much wrong with this episode that my brain melted. Luckily I had a trace in the transporter so I just fixed it.....did the same thing last week when I lost my arm. Handy!
Set Bookmark
Chard
Sun, Apr 25, 2021, 4:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country

I’m torn between which is my favourite Trek film - this or Wrath of Khan. The Undiscovered Country has some great scenes - anything with Chang in, the whole ‘let them die!’ scene. Unfortunately I don’t see the point of the whole Kirk fights Kirk scene which I thought was naff. The only reason for it I can fathom is that it teased viewers in the trailer with ‘Kirk’ being shot to get them in the cinema perhaps? But that aside it’s a top notch film - and one I always end up watching yet again whenever it’s on telly!
Set Bookmark
CeliaStarTrekker
Wed, Apr 21, 2021, 11:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Chimera

The only thing that really bothered me about this episode was the guest changeling's harsh opinions about humanoids and the fact the behaviour of the people on the station (including Sisko) towards the changeling seemed to corroborate this.

In my opinion it went against Gene Roddenberry's original message which for me has always been about exploring space, discovering the unknown and celebrating difference.


Two examples come to mind:

Star Trek the Motion Picture
TNG - Encounter at Farpoint

I'm sure there are many other episodes that show the beauty of space and the different life forms - this is where Star Trek shines for me and what drew me to it in the first place.

I get that by DS9 (and even TNG) the Star Trek message had been rehashed and turned into a melodramatic reflection of current human issues and the way we treat each other, but I'm just not buying the idea that 99.9% of humanoid species would be anti changeling and treat them badly/with suspicion.

Aren't humans of the 24th or 25th century meant to be evolved?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

I think Reed and Major Hayes have been watching 'Women in Love' on movie night! 'Wrasslin', but in a manly way.'
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Tue, Apr 20, 2021, 3:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

More suggestions for movie night - 'Alien' and 'Invasion of the Body Snatchers'.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play makes phlox a dull boy all work and no play
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 2:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Stratagem

I think I've seen this episode of Mission: Impossible repeated in the 80's. No latex masks this time.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Sun, Apr 18, 2021, 4:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Schizoid Man

Yet another sleazy male character, but I suppose 'to know him was to love him, and to not know him was to love him'.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Sun, Apr 18, 2021, 3:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Chosen Realm

'Hello unkown aliens in a strange and threatening part of the universe. Would you like to come on my ship and wander around unsupervised, after a bite of supper? Oh dear it doesn't seem to have gone well again. Well, better luck next time!' Duh Duh Dur Dur Dur Dur ........
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 3:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Luckily I managed to go back in time and stop myself from seeing this episode. I watched Conan instead. Do you think they watch much of Schwarzenegger's 80's oeuvre on their film nights ? I think they would enjoy 'Commando'.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Fri, Apr 16, 2021, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Similitude

"One would have to have a heart of stone to read the death of little Nell without dissolving into tears...of laughter". Oscar Wilde (reputedly).
Set Bookmark
Evan Chartrand
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 9:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Profit and Lace

Why is no one talking about the disgusting and unforgivable scene at the beginning where quark sexually exploits his Dabo girl by threatening to fire her. Only for her to at the end say umacks sound like fun. Truly awful and this was certainly written by a man who knows literally nothing about women.
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 4:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Loud as a Whisper

For some reason I started thinking marry, shag avoid ?
And another candidate for Next Gen ultimate sleazoid list - do you mind if my slave watches ?
Wesley's jumper - yep he's firmly established in the grey ribbing jumpsuit - 'Ensign'.
Set Bookmark
StarTrek Fan
Thu, Apr 15, 2021, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Twisted

People, please, don't act like you're shocked by how someone can like an episde you didslike (or the other way around).

Don't forget that everyone has their own tastes and visions for everything, including episodes of any show.

Opinions and preferences are NOT facts. So they can't be right or wrong.

That's the nature of opinions: it's something very individual, how someone's brain feels about certain things. Even if those feelings might be objectively illogical or inconsistent, or not being shared by majority of others, everyone still has one right: to like or dislike things that give them entertainment or pleasure: movies, shows, games, food, etc.

It doesn't matter if some episode has some objective issues with writing, or acting, or continuity, or anything else.
It still can be liked or disliked by every individual, and it shouldn't shock you to see that.

Your'e free to like or dislike what you wish, and let others do the same.
Next ►Page 1 of 267
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.