Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 141 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 6
Set Bookmark
AMA
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 2:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

A pretty mediocre episode overall, worse than last week's.

It was nice to see the crew coming and working together, but there is little else to take away from the episode, except that the villain courier will almost undoubtedly make another appearance this season and the alien contingent and their ships will likely come to the aid of the crew in the future and join a slowly expanding Federation.

Was frustrated by Stamets, who effectively put the ship in greater danger by not passing off necessary repairs to another crew member (notably the name-checked Nilsson); and continue to dislike Georgiou, who has largely been given a pass despite having tyrannical tendencies. Would not be surprised if, as part of the Federation's rebirth, Georgiou becomes the head of a new Section 31 and the new series, if it still comes to fruition, is set in the same time as Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Wesley's pyjamas
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 3:39am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Did anyone catch what the purpose of using the phaser during the crash was meant to be? I think Saru said something about cushioning the impact, but how would that work? It couldn't be by applying inverse force to the ship, because that would mean anytime a phaser is fired the person or ship would be propelled backward. The only other thing I can think of is melting the ice.
Set Bookmark
Rama
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 3:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

The thing that never made sense to me is why they developed a religion around hiding the identity of the generational ship. Wouldn’t that just make it more difficult to correct accidents, like the one that almost happened?

I think that McCoy getting married is 1960’s for “had sex”.

The takeaway I have is that Arthur C. Clarke seems to have gotten a small seed of inspiration from this episode for his Rama series- at first, they think it’s an asteroid, but it turns out to be a generational ship. His story is better in my opinion though.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Book as a protector/saviour of endangered species is perhaps my favourite element in any of the new Trek. The story of Aditya Sahil was also heartening.

I have some hope again for this series. Whether it will last is another matter.
Set Bookmark
Bill Adama
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 11:44am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Dismissing a show outright from a trailer is just silly. If you are a real Star Trek fan you have to give it a chance even if it looks and sounds different than what you are used to.
Set Bookmark
Kabraman94
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Remco_Spock_Helmet

Seriously.... some people need to lighten up. It's like their entire world is crumbling.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Wed, Jan 29, 2020, 4:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

The Romulans were referenced in ST FIRST CONTACT when Picard informs the bridge crew of his orders to stay away from the battle with the Borg cube and go to patrol the Neutral Zone, in-case the 'Romulans decide to take advantage of the situation'. Now at face value this can be taken as simply a random excuse to keep Picard away from the battle, but perhaps there is a little more to it than simply just that.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Sun, Jul 28, 2019, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

"the anticlimax of ending the story before the would-be dramatic payoff is just flat-out wrong."

They should have simply ended "Season 4" with the episode "Terra Nova" and then marketed "These Are The Voyages" as a Special Episode which essentially serves as a Goodbye To The Fans. The reality is that the show was cancelled and that also meant Star Trek as a franchise was going away for a long time (On Television at least) after 18 years of continuous production (that's obviously a very long time, the amount of time it takes to reach adulthood!)
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 3:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

Voyager just wasn't scoring enough in the ratings. It's as factual as it gets as to the reasons why Voyager abruptly ends like it does here. But it's not that simple.

I'd argue that the writers have to take a lot of the blame for all this.
The Voyager writers, producers, whoever, they didn't plan for Voyager getting home at all, clearly. They tried to simply do a two-part episode that really should have been more like a six-part epic that leads to Voyager returning 'home'.
I feel that this episode should have at least been the Season 6 finale.
Season 7 could have been an opportunity to explore the aftermath and to explore ideas relating to what returning home actually means for all these characters.
I see no reason why that would have been boring. I think it would have been an exciting change of pace, and would have allowed for more resolute ending.
Hell, the Borg could still be a feature for this hypothetical season back in the Alpha Quadrant. Don't think the Borg would be going quietly for sure.

Season 7 had some good episodes in the TNG spirit but to be absolutely honest Voyager was totally squandered as a premise by this point.
The writers had given up even trying. "Endgame" plays like a rerun of "All Good Things" to just tee-up the TNG honor worship this series has been.

Also, the Borg in this episode now resemble nothing of what they originally appeared to be back in TNG. The Queen even refers to herself as "I" and seems to literally be a ruler that is guiding the Borg collective rather than speaking with it.
That wasn't even explored really. Is the Queen some sort of Individual separate from the Borg Drones, or what? It's all just not answered.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 3:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Thia episode has what I believe is one of the best scenes in the whole series. The scene I'm talking about is the one where Q quotes Hamlet and then Picard gives one of his trademark Shakespearean speeches.
Even here in Season 1 there are sprinklings ofgreatness that hint at how good TNG would eventually become.
Set Bookmark
Amazed
Sat, Jun 29, 2019, 4:47am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Killing Game

This episode is incredible! In fact, it’s the reason I started watching Star Trek at all. It was randomly on one night and I got hooked. Before that I looked down on sci-fi. Great action, characterization and an awesome WW2 setting. And sevens gorgeous singing voice. Hands down 10 out of 10!
Set Bookmark
Amala
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 9:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Lynos

Yeah, you cant tell people that this character who was created only 3 years ago, and was never part of the trek's lore, is the most important person in SPOCK's life and the reason why he is Spock and kirk&spock are friends, and then get surprised when fans find it way too forced, or even a little bit pathetic and trash from a writing standpoint. They really couldn't help themselves.

Michael is a mary sue and people who like Discovery and can't accept criticism need to get over that because it's delusional to deny the evidence she's a self insert fanfiction character created by a writing team who has no respect for 50 years of canon and characters that they don't own and have no credit for.
It's like Spock was so iconic and they selfishly wanted a piece of that, as if people need to thank them for the creation of this character who was unique but now is just used to make their own character important. How selfish is that? Their ego is huge!
If Nimoy were still alive, he'd be disappointed. Not only they diminished the character integrity, they created a backstory that doesn't even make sense with the Spock you see later.
Set Bookmark
Amala
Fri, Apr 19, 2019, 8:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I agree with those here who felt Spock's monologue about how Michael made him balanced and how she saved him was way too over the top.

I suppose Kurtzman only wants you to acknowledge the latest story he is getting paid for, but I'm not going to pretend he didn't literally co-wrote a Spock in the movies who doesn't have a sister but not only still finds a balance, he does that before Nimoy's version did. He even has a girlfriend! It seems like his life was better without Michael's influence anyway or she isn't that relevant to his evolution and his ability to acknowledge his feelings. I always thought that it was his human mother who helped him understand some things, anyway. He's human too, he could never escape from who he is.
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 12:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Just two things about this episode that really made it work for me:

1) The epic light show of a FIREFIGHT that you KNOW who the participants are and what they're firing

2) NO RESET BUTTON! This is the big thing here with Isaac: the fact that he won't be welcome back on his home planet, and the fact that he will have to win back the crew's trust (and ESPECIALLY that of the good Doc and her children).

I also loved how the writers and the directors utilized Yaphit and how Claire's son Ty got to be a bit of a hero too
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Dave in MN

"Really enjoyed the doctor's plot .... I was pissed at those parents for easily condemning Marcus very easily and calling Claire a liar, so yes, Isaac shutting them down was very satisfying. (Great casting/ acting from all the kids)."

I agree COMPLETELY with your assessment there. Isaac's assmentment was completely on point here. (Trust me, I was rooting for Claire and Marcus the whole time, calling Jody and Nathan's BS.) The sweetest part for me was Claire asking Isaac to be her date for Bortus' Ja'loba. And the acting there was absolutely ON POINT.

"I was ready to hate the character of Cassius immediately (I like Kelly and Ed as a couple), but kudos to the actor for making him likeable and believable."

So was I, until I saw Cassius in his teaching role. Also, I LOVED when Ed came knocking, apologized to him, and showed Cassius how to make it up to Kelly. I think the two had more in common than they realized.

John as Gordon's love advisor? Almost priceless.

"Also, Topa grew!"

I just about forgot about baby Topa. Nice to see him age into a handsome ten-year-old Moclan.

I've been a lurker here for some time, but I watched all 12 episodes of the Orville's first season. And let me say that I really liked ALL the episodes. And I just watched "Ja'loba" for the second time, on demand. I enjoyed it even more than when I watched the premier yesterday. (I wonder if Alara and John were dates together for the event since the near ending showed then together at the piano.)
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@Dougie yeah. Bortus peed.

My general thoughts on this episode
- Even in 25th century space, racism and the problematic single mother trope is inescapable. What really pissed me off (no pun intended) was Marcus' "friend" James' mom and dad acted so much like they were better than Claire.

- Ed's drive-by past the window of Kelly's quarters? Really?

- The zipper jacket John made for Gordon, and the simulator difficulty from 1 straight to 8.

- And the relationship woes continue for Alara.

All of this leading up to Bortus' Ja'loja (the Great Release). Well, at least we may see something between the captain and Lt. Janel Tyler.
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: General Discussion

Well, it's come and gone. All I will say is that it has something to do with the Great Release 😆
Set Bookmark
Entropic Amalgam
Sun, Oct 7, 2018, 8:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

When we say a scientific fact is 'true' we are relying upon a whole range of metaphysical assumptions which science rests upon. So-called 'facts' need a substratum in order to be verified in reference to it, and because you can never get beneath the final substratum (because that would require another substratum) you cannot really call something the truth.

Most competent scientists understand this and do not consider it to devalue their work.
Set Bookmark
Amaris
Wed, Feb 14, 2018, 3:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I figure that the writers were handed a goose egg by Bryan Fuller, who started building a grand vision, and then just left with the scaffolding and half the foundation remaining to be built. The writers filled in the holes, and did as much as they could, but they had to work with the frame already built, because it would have been impossible to start from scratch after they were already committed to the project as it was at that point.

I think they did the best they could with what they had, and to be honest I enjoyed it. Sure, there are holes big enough to drive a starship through, but it's all wrapped up now, and they can really start to create a great universe for us by next season.

Also, Tilly ate space whale. I laughed.
Set Bookmark
Ramanujan
Sat, Apr 22, 2017, 8:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Finally a believable realistic scientist on the show. Bravo. Brilliant episode.
Set Bookmark
Noshama
Thu, Apr 13, 2017, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: False Profits

Janeway seems to be anti-wormhole, even though it may bring her whole crew home in a nanosecond.
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 3:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I just watched this episode for the first time and I thought the main part was awesome. About Suder, what I got was: You know Deanna Troi lost her empathic powers only temporarily. Now imagine the Betazoid who never had any empathic powers, who perpetually sees other beings (including, even, himself) as flat, with no dimension whatsoever. (This is what I get when asked if he had any feelings on the matter, Suder says, "Nothing.")

Being as such, I think that for Tuvok to have experienced the extra impact of the meld (struggling even more than usual for a Vulcan to suppress those violent thoughts), Ensign Suder had to have just enough telepathic ability to imprint (or trade) that violent tendency for more self-control. Also, thinking about Suder's punishment makes me think that executing him would have been too easy, so just keep him in isolation under armed guard would be more of a real punishment for him.
Set Bookmark
AmagnonX
Sun, May 1, 2016, 2:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Repentance

Tried to watch it - got to Doc's BS anti death penalty BS and skipped to the next episode.

If they were already sentenced, then they should have been dead already - time wasting and drawing it out is torture - just kill them and be done with it.

This BS about rehabilitation .. bah .. society is forced to pay for the crimes once .. just kill them cheaply and quickly and move on.
Set Bookmark
AmagnonX
Sun, May 1, 2016, 12:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Shattered

Obviously time - travel is fantasy and not science fiction, so this show worked for me.

The theory that time is a dimension (ie. Einstien's GR) is obviously mentally retarded - just like the guy who thought it up. Space-Time is a concept - it is not a substance, as such it does not physically exist - its an idea (and a stupid one). Therefore it cannot bend light around the Sun, cannot effect the perihelion of Mercury etc etc ..

The vacuum is a substance, it is the spacial extension of the isotropic vector matrix - it is a fluid under tension, and is in a state of hyper-flux .. it cannot achieve static equilibrium, it is therefore in a state of dynamic equilibrium. The vacuum is not just an idea .. its a substance that has variable apparent density - depending on apparent flow of high complexity polyhedra, which is why 'gravitational' fields bend light, and .. ah bah humbug ..

.. may as well go talk to some rocks ..
Set Bookmark
AmagnonX
Sat, Apr 30, 2016, 4:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Nightingale

Harry just needs to set his phaser to kill - then exterminate all of the annoying people who are retarding his growth - mainly these people are script writers.

However, I would like to see Harry stabbing Janeway repeatedly in the head with a letter opener - it would certainly have me tuning in. Its about time Harry lost his cool - and kicked Chakotay in the nuts, and rammed his head into the coms panel for added effect.

Unlike most people, I really like Harry, but he has certainly been on the wrong end of the script for long enough - its time he went FULL RETARD! Get your self respect back Harry - its going to cost a lot of lives - but so long as its members of the Voyager crew - then all those lives are meaningless.
Next ►Page 1 of 6
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.