Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 160 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 7
Set Bookmark
AMA
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 12:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Trekmovie.com reported that the season was inspired, in part, by Ursula K. Le Guin's short story, 'The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas.'

https://trekmovie.com/2021/01/10/an-ursula-k-leguin-short-story-inspired-the-big-mystery-for-star-trek-discovery-season-3/

I wish the season offered some sort of adaptation of the story (with permission, of course). The moral/ethical conundrum at its centre is well suited to the Star Trek universe, and I can imagine a similar story tied to either Next Generation's Force of Nature or what this series itself initially established, that use of the spore drive would come at the risk of individual life. It's a shame that such a rich and heady story inspired so much less.
Set Bookmark
Llamasaurus
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 11: The Heiress

Everything Matt w wrote applies to me as well. One of the few bright spots about the Disney takeover was that SW:TCW (best SW product since the original trilogy) and Rebels were classified by Disney as canon. Bringing back a character with so much depth like Ahsoka Tano-- and even checking back in on Satine's younger sister Bo-Katan's seemingly quixotic quest to restore Mandalore-- has taken an already enjoyable show to a whole other level.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 11:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I just want to add to my previous post that this season of the series addressed some engaging elements and ideas (e.g., loss, disconnection, trust), but it all seemed to be arranged rather haphazardly. It's a shame. Too many episodes left me asking, 'why didn't the writers spend more time developing and/or exploring this element/notion?' The pieces for a great season were there. The writers simply committed to shallower pursuits.

With that said, what led me to prefer this season to the previous two was that these engaging ideas were not lost in grossly overstuffed and messy story lines (e.g., a multi-episode trip to the mirror universe in the midst of a war; and a simultaneous chase for a time-travelling angel and fight against artificial intelligence for the survival of the universe).

Star Trek has often succeeded with 'small' stories, of the narrow and deep variety. The Discovery writers have stumbled upon some issues and ideas worthy of further exploration; I just hope they actually go the next step, and as the franchise has long done, explored as much.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 3:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

A very good episode. Better than expected. The finale offered some captivating action sequences; neatly wrapped up all the constructed story lines; and had a message to send, albeit one that was made incredibly overt. However, said message could have been conveyed and/or better served without either the Emerald Chain or the cause of the burn being tied to Su'Kal. Those two story elements were ultimately superfluous. The season could have just as well involved exploring the statuses of former Federation members and focused on Discovery rebuilding trust, communication, and connection with distant peoples.

Although I would describe the season as a whole as mediocre, I also found it to be considerably better than either of the first two. This would have made for a very good first season for the series.

Some final, random thoughts:

I found it incredibly bizarre that the series introduced a Lt. Ina in Episode 11 this season, seemingly in the place of Lt. Nilsson, only to bring the latter back for the closing scene. Bizarre move.

It was nice to see that the series did come back to Sahil and let the audience know that the Federation actually made contact with him. I was worried he was going to be stuck all alone for another few decades.

Osyraa ultimately turned out to be an incredibly weak villain. Same goes for Zareh. Both were uninteresting.

And the turbolift system in the Discovery is nonsensical. Based on what this and other episodes have shown of the system, one would be led to think that the inside of the Discovery is as massive and hollow as a Borg cube. I'm not usually one to nitpick matters of ship design, but this bit was so blatantly outlandish I could not help but do so.

LLAP
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Dec 31, 2020, 2:54am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

The episode contains an incredibly intriguing story line and premise: how might peace between the Federation and the Emerald Chain be brought about and what might it cost each side. I would have loved to have seen a season that properly set up the two sides and considered for how, if at all, they could possibly come together. I suppose the foundation for such an arc still exists. Unfortunately, this is not the story this episode cared to focus on or build. What was offered instead was a messier version of TNG's 'Starship Mine,' or Die Hard, and the episode paid homage to the latter by having Burnham crawl through tight spaces and run around the ship in her bare feet (a la John McClane). I say messy, moreover, because I can't truly comprehend Burnham or Osyraa's plans. Relatedly, I'm not certain what story the writers are trying to tell. As I don't believe the series has stuck the landing with either of the first two seasons, I don't have high hopes for next week's finale.

As for a couple of positives: I enjoyed the manifestation of the sphere data, or Zora; and it was nice to see Kenneth Mitchell again, playing a human for the first time in the series. I really enjoyed Mitchell's turn as the scene chewing Klingon Kol in the first season of the series and thought he did the best, of any actor, in working through all the prosthetics that were involved in the redesign of the species.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 5:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

@ Peter G.

Fair enough. It was a mediocre episode.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 9:56am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Rahul "Does one have to have seen all the Star Wars movies to be able to follow / understand / have the background needed to appreciate “The Mandalorian”?"

In my opinion, no. The series, for one, is set before the newest trilogy, so the events of the latter don't really affect the narrative. There are elements from multiple animated series that make their way into the show, but you can still enjoy The Mandalorian without having seen anything beyond the original trilogy. I'm loathe to raise anyone's expectations regarding most anything so I'll just say that I think most anyone who enjoyed the original trilogy of movies would enjoy The Mandalorian.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 4:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

It is a bit difficult to provide an accurate judgment of this episode as it appears to be the first part in a trilogy to close out the season. With that said, the inhospitable nature of the terrain in the holoprogram did seem to be an odd choice; Osyraa again was a bit cartoonish and ineffective; and the reveal of the source of the burn was, at least to this point, underwhelming. I'm hoping something more is said and/or made of Su'Kal's tie to the burn, but I'm not certain as much will come. I did enjoy Burnham's turn as/taking on the role of a holocharacter. And given that Saru and Culber have been my favourite characters this season, I'm looking forward to seeing what becomes of their further interactions with Su'Kal.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 3:46am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@Leif, Mark

In short, from my perspective, The Mandalorian feels at home in the Star Wars universe and it delivers in much the same way the original trilogy of movies did, as a space western that pits hero(es) against villain(s). It may be a shallow formula, but it's one that works, for me.

Star Trek: Discovery, alternatively, and again, from my perspective, has felt largely out of place from its universe. This may be, in part, because of a fairly radical aesthetic redesign (e.g., ships that seem out of place with their time, given what was previously presented in universe; and new alien makeups without any real explanation). It may also be because the thoughtfulness engendered by past series has generally not been seen: rarely has Discovery provided an examination of the human spirit, or morality, ethics, and values. Moreover, and given the turnover of the writing staffs in the first two seasons of the series, it should not be surprising that some, including myself, might find the season-long arcs have been disjointed and ineffective.

I continue to watch not because I want to harp on or hate Discovery, but because I love Star Trek and want to love every of its newest iterations. I might compare it to being a fan of a sports team: you may be disappointed by how your team performs in any given season, and even hate at it times, but you stick around, hoping they can achieve something far more. Maybe modern Trek won't ever offer the same depth it previously did and it just is what it is now. Should that be the case, however, Star Wars offers a far better space opera/western. I've just always thought of Star Trek as offering something more.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:20am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

At the risk of opening a Pandora's box, I wish the newest era of Star Trek shows was anywhere near as satisfying as this one series from the Star Wars universe. The Mandalorian can be a bit rote at times, but it has certainly provided multiple awe-inspiring episodes, this one included. Wow. Love this series.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 3:24am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

The episode did as best as perhaps could be expected to make Georgiou anew, as someone who was sincerely reshaped by her time in the Prime Universe. However, from my perspective, too little was previously done to suggest she had grown to the extent seen: I may be mistaken or overlooked something in some previous episode, but there was never a moment, such as at the end of 'Mirror, Mirror,' where the character seemed to pause and consider for a possibility other than they which they knew and/or for something more. That is, even if her bravado was false and hiding fear, there was rarely, if ever, a moment where Georgiou so much as intimated that the Prime Universe may be an aspiration to work toward. For this reason, her suggested reformation is a bit off and undermines the episode. With all that said, I appreciated that the episode finally made me care about Georgiou's fate. I also really enjoyed the twist that was tied to Star Trek lore, but wish it were used toward an end other than getting Georgiou to a different time and Michelle Yeoh to a spin-off. Would have loved to see it used by the main cast for just about any standalone story. Nevertheless, the episode exceeded expectations. A pretty good outing.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Dec 10, 2020, 11:57am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 1

The following may be and seems to be a minority opinion, but I am of a mind that most every, if not every, modern mirror universe episode has done a disservice to the original (i.e., 'Mirror, Mirror'). Yes, progress is rarely linear or easily come by, and alternative realities may be fun to play around in, but I just haven't been able to invest myself in a universe where Mirror Spock's efforts ultimately failed and evil won the day. I'm not particularly interested in that story. For that reason, once Georgiou crossed back, I became bored with this episode. None of what followed that moment really mattered, to me. And to dedicate two episodes to the universe when the seasons are so short... (exasperated sigh).
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 10:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Another okay, but far from great episode. Culber is perhaps my favourite member of the Discovery crew at this point and Wilson Cruz was again effective in the role. I'm also enjoying Saru's continuing turns as a diplomat, and the scenes of him trying to land on a catch phrase were charming. The threat of Osyraa and the Emerald Chain was underwhelming, perhaps because not enough has been done to establish the scope and power of the alliance. Multiple episodes now have also hinted of an era in which the Federation acted in an ethically questionable manner and it would seem worthwhile to clarify some of their perceived wrongs. Lastly, I'm still not particularly interested in Empress Georgiou as a character, and I'm not looking forward to the prospect of one-two episodes that focus on her. Again, another okay outing.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 8:42am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

A good but not great episode. Appreciate the tie to past Star Trek and seeing the fruits of Spock's 'cowboy diplomacy,' Saru's continuing growth as a diplomat, and Burnham's compromise to keep the peace between the Vulcans and Romulans.

Inserting Burnham's mother into the story felt like an unnecessary twist and, to echo the sentiments of others, the promotion of Tilly to first officer strains credulity. Tilly is an intelligent and capable member of the crew, but she has rarely, if ever, shown the confidence or assertiveness necessary for the position of first officer. Moreover, Saru's reasoning for the move, tied to the jump in time, equally applies to most every other member of the crew. Tilly will clearly be well supported in her growth into the position, but the move, in universe, makes little sense. Suggestively, someone from Starfleet headquarters ought to have been inserted. In that way, at the very least, the crew of the Discovery would not be constantly uninformed on current events and the state of the universe.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Nov 19, 2020, 2:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

A solid episode. Not great, not bad. Burnham's fragile relationship with Starfleet is intriguing. Linus supplied a nice comedic break. And I appreciate how this season has managed to find a good balance between episodic and serialized story telling.

Burnham and/or Discovery will let Sahil know about the Federation, right? Poor guy.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 4:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Die Trying

A step down from last week's episode. The episode featured several favourable elements, including the reintroduction of the Federation and a most welcome relatively low stakes mission of retrieving seeds. With that said, too little was done to acclimate the crew and viewers to the reality of the new Federation (cf. The Neutral Zone from TNG) and too little was previously invested in the character of Nhan to make her departure and the difficulties surrounding as much very meaningful. Lots to like in this episode, but it was just okay. Still better than most of what was offered in either seasons one or two.
Set Bookmark
Rama
Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 2:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

I think I figured out the “a technological society’s descendants become a religious society on an asteroid” angle.

It is probably based on The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester (aka Tiger Tiger in the UK), which was written about a decade before TOS. In a chapter that would be completely offensive today, the main character crashes into an asteroid. The original inhabitants, 200 years prior, were scientists, but the descendants are “savages” (Bester’s words) who practice superstition and are very religious.

Personally, I think it’s cool to see how sci-fi stories influence each other. For example, Discovery’s new storyline about being flung into the future makes me think of Tau Zero by Poul Anderson, in which the ship’s crew must deal with the psychological effects of being flung very far into the future. And Tau Zero itself seems to have been influenced by TOS in some respects. Tau Zero’s constable character also seems to have influenced the character of Odo in DS9.

I could go on all day long but yeah sci-fi is cool :)
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Nov 5, 2020, 3:47am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Forget Me Not

Great episode. One of the best in the series to date. Addresses the difficulties of past trauma, the catharsis that may result from confronting as much, and the role that close others may play in the process of healing and growth. Star Trek is often at its best when it turns inside and examines the individual experience and this episode is evidence of that.

One quibble: Georgiou continues to be a detraction to the tenor and content of the continuing story line. Her departure from the series cannot come soon enough.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Sat, Oct 31, 2020, 11:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: People of Earth

The third episode is the best of the season to date. Although I found the pace uneven, the universe building lacking, and both the 'Earth First/Alone' ethos and the death of millions of Federation members unsettling, the central story did reflect a bygone era of Trek. The episode ought perhaps not be given too much credit for merely reflecting what may be argued to be the core of the franchise, but, given the content of the first two seasons of the show, that bit of change is much appreciated.

Given the mention of Mandalorian, I will add that that series, although more shallow than most any in Star Trek, seems to better capture, reflect, and build upon the universe in which it exists. I'm still waiting for Discovery to consistently do the same.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 2:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

A pretty mediocre episode overall, worse than last week's.

It was nice to see the crew coming and working together, but there is little else to take away from the episode, except that the villain courier will almost undoubtedly make another appearance this season and the alien contingent and their ships will likely come to the aid of the crew in the future and join a slowly expanding Federation.

Was frustrated by Stamets, who effectively put the ship in greater danger by not passing off necessary repairs to another crew member (notably the name-checked Nilsson); and continue to dislike Georgiou, who has largely been given a pass despite having tyrannical tendencies. Would not be surprised if, as part of the Federation's rebirth, Georgiou becomes the head of a new Section 31 and the new series, if it still comes to fruition, is set in the same time as Discovery.
Set Bookmark
Wesley's pyjamas
Fri, Oct 23, 2020, 3:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Far From Home

Did anyone catch what the purpose of using the phaser during the crash was meant to be? I think Saru said something about cushioning the impact, but how would that work? It couldn't be by applying inverse force to the ship, because that would mean anytime a phaser is fired the person or ship would be propelled backward. The only other thing I can think of is melting the ice.
Set Bookmark
Rama
Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 3:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

The thing that never made sense to me is why they developed a religion around hiding the identity of the generational ship. Wouldn’t that just make it more difficult to correct accidents, like the one that almost happened?

I think that McCoy getting married is 1960’s for “had sex”.

The takeaway I have is that Arthur C. Clarke seems to have gotten a small seed of inspiration from this episode for his Rama series- at first, they think it’s an asteroid, but it turns out to be a generational ship. His story is better in my opinion though.
Set Bookmark
AMA
Thu, Oct 15, 2020, 9:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 1

Book as a protector/saviour of endangered species is perhaps my favourite element in any of the new Trek. The story of Aditya Sahil was also heartening.

I have some hope again for this series. Whether it will last is another matter.
Set Bookmark
Bill Adama
Sat, Jul 25, 2020, 11:44am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Dismissing a show outright from a trailer is just silly. If you are a real Star Trek fan you have to give it a chance even if it looks and sounds different than what you are used to.
Set Bookmark
Kabraman94
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 1:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

@Remco_Spock_Helmet

Seriously.... some people need to lighten up. It's like their entire world is crumbling.
Next ►Page 1 of 7
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.