Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,718 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 69
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 4:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Thirty Days

“wouldn't 0700 be breakfast?”

Exactly what I was going to say! I guess the writers had a brain fart and mixed up 0700 with 1900.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Thu, Aug 13, 2020, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

I liked this episode but I wouldn’t call it one of the series' best as many of you are saying.

What stands out for me more than the episode itself is the comment section. Some really interesting and thoughtful observations. I never thought of the interpretations Chris P and Green Tree Sky offered, but they really make a lot of sense. Food for thought.

Like others, I loved Torat. Why did they go so much further with his makeup and prosthetics than they typically do, I wonder? They did kind of kidnap him: that was ethically pretty shaky.

But I guess I have a different understanding of the Prime Directive than most of you do. I always thought that was only about not interfering with prewarp civilizations.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Aug 11, 2020, 8:40am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

I thought the story here was pretty weak. In particular I cosign grumpy otter's complaint that the deactivation of the vinculum made Tuvok's mindmeld superfluous.

But the episode is saved by Jeri Ryan‘s virtuoso acting. She was given a showcase for her thespian chops and really took full advantage of the opportunity.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 1:16am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

This comment section has been an even better read than normal. Wolfstar, I want to particularly give your comment a shoutout because although I didn’t necessarily agree with everything you said, it was extremely thought-provoking and very well written.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Aug 7, 2020, 3:02am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

This is going to be a boring take, that leaves me looking like I don’t want to pick a side, but I thought it was...not bad, but not great. Like, say, 2.8 stars on Jammer’s 4 point scale.

I definitely laughed several times. But the joke density was a little low, and at least as many jokes missed as hit. I like the characters reasonably well and I was not bored.

But I want to say for anyone who assumes that, since this creator was a writer on Rick and Morty, that they have an idea of how good that show is. They definitely do not. Rick and Morty is pretty much four stars every time, although you would probably have to give some episodes 3.5 just to indicate which ones are your favorites.

I will probably not continue with the show, but not because I dislike it. There are just way too many good TV shows and movies out there, plus a lot of other aspects of life to live. If I were in a doctors waiting room and there was the typical assortment of TV shows on but also this, it’s likely this one would win out. But if I had the nearly unlimited choice of everything else on various streaming services, then it would not. Even if I had just CBSAA, I might be more likely to catch an episode of The Good Wife (I’m still in season five) or Young Sheldon (I have only watched four or five episodes of that and I’m starting to realize it’s actually a really good show).

So, TLDR: shrug emoji.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Wed, Aug 5, 2020, 2:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Lower Decks

I knew Sito didn’t have plot armor, but it was still a kick in the gut for her not to survive.

Great episode. I have a couple friends who complain that the waiter character was poorly written, that a civilian worker on a ship would not act like that. It seemed fine to me, but I have no experience with the military.
Set Bookmark
GymCoach
Fri, Jul 24, 2020, 8:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

I feel like this could have been a movie. It went way too fast!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jul 21, 2020, 7:04am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

I liked this, but 4 stars seems a bit overblown. 3 stars for me. Best parts: drunk Seven; the visual of Voyager under the ice; and Giordi musing that he might do the same in their shoes but he has a responsibility to his own crew to try to stop them.
Set Bookmark
Grace Clyde
Mon, Jul 20, 2020, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fusion

The hypocrisy displayed in this episode was amazing. Archer, quite rightly, condemned Tolaris for psychic rape and for trying to force T'Pol to embrace her emotions against her will. Yet, he had no problems with attempting to interfere in the personal life of Kov, a person he barely knew, all because he had a wonderful relationship with his father and believed others should. Worse, he used Trip to enforce his will upon the young Vulcan. Tolaris' actions are condemned by the transcript and Archer's actions are not. What hypocrisy!
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Fri, Jul 17, 2020, 12:21am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The First Duty

@Peter G., I see your point but I think a lot of people in his shoes would be sorely tempted to see Wesley get expelled along with him.

My 10-year-old daughter and I watched this episode because we watched the “Boothby” (Species 2471 or whatever number it was) Voyager episode the other day, and when I mentioned he was on TNG, she wanted to see that—and it turns out this is the only episode he was ever on where it’s actually him. (She was initially confused when it appeared that Tom Paris was on the show using a different name.)

Anyway, I asked her about halfway through the episode whether Wesley should tell the truth or stick by his friends and she said stick by his friends, which I thought was interesting. After Picard’s speech, though, she changed her mind.

One other “from the mouths of babes” note. She has not seen the show Picard because it is rated TV-MA or TV-14 or whatever. But she has seen little snippets when she came into the room before I paused it. She opined that they must be using a “hologram” of Picard in the new show because TNG is “from the 80s” and it’s 2020 now, but according to her he looks exactly the same in both places. I told her Patrick Stewart would be flattered, but that he does look older now—and I showed her a trailer and then she saw what I meant. But he definitely has held up well!

Anyway, great episode, very nuanced and good to see Wesley get dirtied up a bit, although I would have liked to see his mother’s reaction after he confessed. (My daughter said “I guess in the future kids can tell their parents what to do” after Wesley told her not to interfere, LOL.)
Set Bookmark
SpaceCadet
Thu, Jul 16, 2020, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

I’m not renewing my subscribing to CBS All Access just for this season either (10 half hour episodes for 5 hours worth of content) plus I had no real interest in it to begin with, which this trailer pretty much cemented.

Yes, I think the obvious business plan here is to have at least one new Trek series on at any given time spaced out that fans remain subscribers year-round. I do believe though that Discovery season 3 shortly after Lower Decks season 1 ends. Discovery season 3 had already finished filming and started post-production as COVID-19 began. That post-production was slowed down some as people had to finish up work on the series from home, but I think by this fall/winter it will be ready to air. I’m looking forward to it and it’ll probably be our last season of live action Trek for sometime since the pandemic will push back filming on other Trek series like Picard indefinitely.
Set Bookmark
Bractor
Wed, Jul 15, 2020, 7:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

The idea of an aged Kes returning to visit Voyager is a good one, but this episode really is a mess. There's some novelty in traveling back in time and seeing the characters back in the setting of season one, but otherwise I agree with the sentiment of most of the previous comments that the plot really needed to be tightened up. Kes finding Voyager nearly 3 years after her voluntary departure to exact revenge because she felt abandoned, even though there's really no moment from 'The Gift' that can be retconned to legitimize this storyline? Just weird and unconvincing.

Any why does Kes hail Voyager to ask Captain Janeway if she can come aboard if she just was going to immediately crash her shuttle into the ship? I never understood that.

I do like watching this episode though because Jennifer Lien's commitment to the role is so hilariously half-hearted that it inadvertently turns into a meta take on her feelings about her dismissal from the show for me. It's hard to tell if the annoyance and impatience that Kes exhibits toward her former crewmates are completely Lien's acting choice, or if Lien was just not into being there for this episode and her resentment bled into her performance. Either way, I'm entertained but probably not for the right reasons.
Set Bookmark
Bractor
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 9:17am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: The Haunting of Deck Twelve

Proteus: I think you need to rewatch the last few minutes of this episode. The story that Neelix told did happen to the ship.
When the lights came back on and the Borg kids walked to their alcoves to regenerate, they accused Neelix of making the story up. To placate them, Neelix pretended like the kids were right and he had been caught inventing the entire story. Then right after, in the final scene of the episode, Neelix went to the bridge where Janeway and Harry showed Neelix the nebula where they released the entity. Neelix wishes the being a happy ending in its new home.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 12:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

I really liked this episode too. I should give Jammer all the credit for leading me to it. I have been watching Voyager with my wife and daughters for several years now, along with a little bit of TOS (we recently watched “the one with the whales”) but never TNG. Just the other day we watched the Voyager episode that had the imposter Boothby, and I commented that he was from TNG. That got my youngest daughter curious about this show, so I decided to find an episode for us to watch together.

But I have probably only seen a couple dozen TNG episodes myself, and the ones that came to mind were either too atypical (“Measure of a Man”, “Inner Light”), or too scary (Borg), or both. The same problem came up when I googled “best TNG episodes”.

So I decided to just scroll through the listings here and look for four-star episodes that sounded like they would be a good introduction to the show. There are probably others that would be better to illustrate how things actually work on the ship (and my daughter still wants to see the “real Boothby”), but I was very happy with how this turned out.

I found Riker having sex with the alien woman amusing and didn’t think much more of it than that. But reading the discussion here I can see that it is a legitimate perspective to see it as a kind of rape, coming from coercion. I would thread the needle and say that instead, Riker basically temped as a sex worker. If the woman had held a gun on him when he was walking down the street and taken him prisoner and told him he could not leave unless he had sex with her, that would be rape. But she was not really the agent in charge of his custody, and she was willing to offer him something of value at risk to her own status in exchange for the sex, so it was really a kind of barter.

Jason R. wrote:

————
If you were an astrophysicist and we were discussing, say, neutron stars, that would be one thing. That is such a discrete arcane discipline that most people wouldn’t dream of challenging a bona fide expert.

But unfortunately, sociology is a discipline that overlaps with a lot of everyday topics like politics, philosophy, anthropology, that everyday laypeople must be entitled to an opinion on and can't just agree to defer to "experts" on without effectively surrendering their inherent human right to participate in the public square.
————

Both my mother and wife are sociologists, and I agree with Jason about this (sometimes to their chagrin, LOL).

@spmsmith: Great point about the doctor.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Tue, Jul 7, 2020, 7:10am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

LOL, Spock's Ears, fair point. I enjoyed the episode, but you guys have convinced me of its many flaws.
Set Bookmark
Jack
Tue, Jun 30, 2020, 11:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

It’s funny to see people complaining about the immorality of this episode who would bitch if someone complained about the immorality if that episode where Jadzia had a lesbian kiss.

Here is something for you, unless you want to argue that morality comes down from a higher power, then there is no such thing as “real” morals. They’re just man’s opinions, “letting a species die out is bad” has as much objective truth value as “Parsifal is better than the Ring” “veal is delicious” or “cats are better than dogs” that is to say that they have no objective truth value at all, no moral claims do.

That isn’t to say that something needs to be objectively true to be true for YOU, but nothing can be moral or immoral in the way that something can be say...blue, or physically dead.
Set Bookmark
Bractor
Sun, Jun 28, 2020, 9:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Alice

I thought the casting of the Alice avatar weakened the impact of the episode. Alice should have been a really charismatic and manipulative seductress, but the portrayal from Claire Rankin just gave me clingy, overbearing Donna Reed.

The best scene of the episode for me was at 13:20 when Tom blows off some scheduled Holodeck time with Harry. Something about the way Garrett Wang spins around and marches away is hilarious.
Set Bookmark
Sam Dracula
Sat, Jun 20, 2020, 9:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Lights of Zetar

I found this episode having a lot of potential but instead of focusing more on the antagonist, we have the Montgomery Scott turns into an obnoxious pussy. I’d still give 2 stars but after watching it tonight, I’m hoping Mr Scott gets stuck in a Jeffries tube.
Sometimes, I think the writers were high and decided to cut corners out of laziness
Set Bookmark
Bractor
Mon, Jun 8, 2020, 8:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

This was the first episode of Voyager I ever saw. Ironically, considering the title of the episode, and for reasons I can't explain, the way Virginia Madsen delivers the line about pudding lodged itself into my brain and has stayed there since 1998. I'll probably be on my deathbed and will think "...and you refuse to eat pudding because you think it's slimy."
Set Bookmark
Mr. Peacock
Fri, Jun 5, 2020, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I was just waiting for Riker to sniff out a new skirt to lift when he busts a move on Lal. I busted a gut when Data asked him what was his intentions with his daughter. Riker, stage left from 10 Forward!
Set Bookmark
Jack
Sun, May 24, 2020, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

I'm with those that rate the episode better than Jammer did.

It also has the return of one of my pet peeves - naming something with a planetary adjective and a terrestrial noun.

If the fruit/vegetable Janeway is planting is indigenous to Talax, it is not a tomato. Call it whatever word they do on Talax...a word that almost certain has an "x" in it.

They've done it already... they called the staple in Neelix's kitchen " Leola root", instead of "Talaxian beet".
Set Bookmark
Grace Clyde
Sat, May 23, 2020, 1:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Strange New World

My only real problems with this episode was some of the exaggerated acting from the cast - specifically from Connor Trineer, who became one of my favorites, ironically; and the narrative's failure to have Archer realize that his initial approach to the planet was rather careless.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, May 18, 2020, 11:31am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

@Trent, glad I am not the only one who found the stuff at the end (with Picard “dying” and Data dying) really weak.

@OTDP, I agree with you that AI is still sentient if it is complex enough—that it doesn’t have to be formed from the same physical components as our brains.

Relatedly, two recent science fiction series I have really enjoyed are Devs on Hulu and Upload on Amazon.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, May 18, 2020, 5:32am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Drone

8,000 cubic kilometers per hour, lol. Hard to imagine they would need to bother moving the ship. The edge of the nebula is almost certainly approaching them slower than an old man using a walker. Probably slower than a snail.

But I did really like this episode, and the ending really “gave me all the feels” in a way that rarely happens with Trek (“Inner Light” and “City on the Edge of Forever” come to mind, not that this episode is necessarily quite in that stratospheric company).

I did initially see it the way @Nick did, though: “Janeway should have aborted the drone fetus in a heart beat”. But my feelings about it evolved along with Seven’s, and I was tearing up right with her when One died.
Set Bookmark
Lostinspace
Sun, May 17, 2020, 4:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Genesis

I'm with Iceman on this one. Aggressive, "I can believe what I want" nonsense in relation to a theory generally backed by actual experts, quoting from possibly one of the least credible sites I've seen. Big whoop, someone from Coventry University doesn't believe in evolution. And they're a credible academic. Do you know how academics there are out there? That you've managed to dig one or two out that don't believe in evolution as a theory means absolutely nothing. It's like the climate change deniers that dig out a scientist who doesn't believe in anthropomorphic climate change and go "SEE! SEE! This respected expert says it isn't true, that totally counters your 99.9% of ALL OTHER EXPERTS who say it is!".

You're entitled to believe what you want. But you're sure as hell going to come off as a monumental jerk if you insist flimsy evidence isn't actually flimsy, and get angry about someone calling you on bad logic.
Next ►Page 1 of 69
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.