Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 255 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
Maaz
Sun, Dec 1, 2019, 4:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Survival Instinct

I liked this episode in the way it showed the Borg regaining their old selves when they are seperated from the Collective. They can't just group link when they are away from the hive mind, it would be silly to think that individual drones could communicate with the collective from light years away and maintain the hive mind.

If the central transmitter (for lack of a better word) is lost from a cube or sphere, the drones become lost. The Collective has trillions, possible quadrillions of drones. A few lost here and there means nothing, they aquire billions from every assimilation.

The desperation of the drones, (as seven says they've done from white noises of many to the clear thoughts of 3) as they try everything to get peace is tragic in its ending. And the guilt plays on Seven.

The only thing about this is they should have had the Bajoran stay for a couple of episodes as a guest star. Like Ransom's crew, just to show that everything wasn't forgotton but neither were.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Edwards
Sat, Oct 26, 2019, 4:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

An ambitious misfire, this film is the closest to Gene Roddenberry’s vision but also one of the more boring entries in the series. The film desperately wants to be the Star Trek version of 2001: A Space Odyssey, but ends up feeling lost and ponderous. Skipping it wouldn’t hurt your viewing experience, but if you like ambitious and existential sci-fi you might find some enjoyment here.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Fri, Aug 2, 2019, 11:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

The Federation is faced with an overwhelmingly superior adversary with easy access to the Alpha quadrant. Why the founders just let the crew go home at the end is nonsensical, because the obvious thing for the Federation to do is to blow up the wormhole. But then the series is over, isn’t it? The changeling leader says maybe she’ll visit Odo, but it is evident from the mind control bs that the crew is willing to blow up the wormhole. Yet the leader doesn’t give this a second thought because she knows that the writers can’t allow Sisco to blow up the wormhole because that would end the series. That’s the cop out and it’s why this whole plot line never should have started.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Fri, Jul 26, 2019, 10:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

Glad some folks enjoyed the episode. I’m always happy when Nana Visitor has a big role. But man, what a boring episode, and I hate the vision sequences, which remind me too much of 7th season TNG.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Thu, Jun 27, 2019, 9:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Invasive Procedures

Generally I agree with Jammers reviews or I’m close but this episode is a real stinker. Quark sabotages the airlock to let Klingons take over the station? A female antagonist strong enough to kick Kira’s butt but so weak she pines for mr wimpy bad actor and will do anything for him? A plot so predictable I, a bad writer, could have written acts 2 and 3 in my sleep? Come on this is zero or one star.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, May 15, 2019, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Picard’s dialogue doesn’t suit his character. The only time he seems like Picard is when Patrick Stuart is reacting silently; he’s a great actor. OTOH, Jennifer is so badly acted that it ruins my suspension of disbelief—similar to the dude who plays Michael Burnham’s boyfriend on STD.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, May 12, 2019, 10:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

So many comments! Mine, briefly: 1. Shouldn’t have killed Sisko. 2. Paghwraith stuff was idiotic. 3. Good to end with Kira, a hall of fame Trek character. 4. Finally, thanks to everyone who made this show, which is fine and enduring entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Thu, May 9, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

What have you done with Spock’s brain?
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, May 8, 2019, 10:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Great episode. And they’ve brought the main characters back to center stage where they belong; too often in season 7 they’ve been pushed aside.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 11:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

So, the wife of the guy O’Brien befriended as a spy just so happened to be killed by the brother of the woman who received Dax—a troubled soul driven to murder by his mother. Talk about manufacturing a plot. This is DS9 meets Days of Our Lives.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 11:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

@ William B,
Although there is some debate about the meaning of the last act of Shane, it is not about an indestructible gunfighter. Indeed, the book makes it pretty clear that the opposite is true. Although the ds9 episode reveals the ending of the movie, I still highly recommend Shane as a great American movie, and the book is also excellent.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 10:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Above average for season 7. Not boring, but not 4 stars. The “war is he**” theme has been done so well in so many places that there is nothing new or insightful here, nor does it advance the characters or story arc. I enjoyed seeing Sisko kick butt; he is the Trek captain most like Kirk. Other than that—well, I already know that war is he** and don’t need a bunch of red shirts to tell me again.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its not a paradox its a loop, just like in Mission:Earth when the Enterprise was supposed to have been involved all along. You saw the scene. You know what she got out of it. I'm not saying you have to like it, but it does explain how Sarek knew where to be and when. Just like with all the other 4 Red angel appearances that lead the Discovery this season.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:18am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Future Burnham has been moving along a process of setting up events to achieve whatever final goal she desires in response to events which occured in her past. One of these events is saying goodbye to her parents on the Discovery before heading to the future, which is in her past but current Burnham's future. Sarek and Amanda make the journey because Michael asks them to because she remembers needing their support for what she's going to be doing. Its really simple time travel mechanics.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Brian Lear

Not sure what your problem is with plot twists, cliffhangers and WTF moments. That's what entertainment is all about
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:53am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its very simple. future Burnham told him where and when she needed him to be.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Not much happened. Odd for a 43 minute episode to have so much filler. Okay, so the captain pops pills—this leads nowhere. Alright, the first officer thinks the captain is tired—and this is important later? No. And, it’s the big pep talk from the captain before the battle! Then they all die. It’s bad writing.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 9:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Although I’ve only watched around a quarter of ds9’s episodes, this is the worst one by far. At least Spock’s Brain had a semblance of a sci-fi premise.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

How are Janeway and Chakotay SUPPOSED to act after they returned to Voyager?

I think they DID become a little closer after this episode. If they were on the planet a little longer, than maybe something might have developed. But they got rescued, and we'll never know. They'll never know. And after returning to the ship, maybe they would be too afraid of rejection or something.

I thought this episode was awesome. One of Voyager's best.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

The best Dr Crusher episode, and you give it 1.5 stars ???

You actually rate several terrible season 1 episodes higher than this episode. You are totally crazy!

You gave Symbiosis from Season 1 two stars, but Suspicions, which is the best Crusher centric episode of the entire series only 1.5?? It boggles the mind.

This is at least a 2.5 star or 3 star episode. At least.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Once again, you're review sucks!!!!

The Masterpiece Society is a great episode. How could you give Remember Me a higher rating? The Nth Degree a higher rating? You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating!!! Those were the WORST episodes!!!

Anyone who doesn't give Redemption the 4 stars it deserves, I can't take anything they say seriously.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Your reviews are total, absolute crap!!

You gave Nth Degree a higher rating than Redemption, which, besides Way of the Warrior, is the greatest Klingon episode of all time. You gave Remember Me a higher rating than this episode too? You gave Remember Me a higher rating than Tin Man and Legacy as well!!! Do you even watch these episodes and pay attention???

You gave Devil's Due one star ???? Why ???

All the greatest episodes of this series you gave 3 star ratings or even less: The Offspring, Tin Man, Legacy, Redemption, Clues... all 4 star episodes!

You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating then Redemption. You are totally stupid!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Bnaact
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 1:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Meh...

https://youtu.be/bZapcomLk7I?t=35
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:48am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Ooh - I’m also really glad that they clarified that Arian was an augmented human or “half-robot”.
The character has kind of annoyed me since her introduction since if they had artificial life in the 23rd century that’d make Data much less of a marvel.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Am I the only one who is sad that they killed the Andorian and Tellarite admirals?
The Andorian has quite a few scenes before and I think the Tellarite did, too.

Although I suppose I could just be being racist. Maybe it’s not the admiral we have seen previously.

Also, I agree with Robbie. I kept waiting for Burnham to check on Nhan while she was suffocating, but apparently no one cared. Although, I was also wondering why Nhan didn’t just put her EV helmet back on..... Nice to hear that she’s a Barzan. That’s cool continuity.

Great episode! Except for the upside shots.
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.