Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 250 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 10
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, May 15, 2019, 10:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Emissary

Picard’s dialogue doesn’t suit his character. The only time he seems like Picard is when Patrick Stuart is reacting silently; he’s a great actor. OTOH, Jennifer is so badly acted that it ruins my suspension of disbelief—similar to the dude who plays Michael Burnham’s boyfriend on STD.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, May 12, 2019, 10:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: What You Leave Behind

So many comments! Mine, briefly: 1. Shouldn’t have killed Sisko. 2. Paghwraith stuff was idiotic. 3. Good to end with Kira, a hall of fame Trek character. 4. Finally, thanks to everyone who made this show, which is fine and enduring entertainment.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Thu, May 9, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Extreme Measures

What have you done with Spock’s brain?
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, May 8, 2019, 10:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Tacking into the Wind

Great episode. And they’ve brought the main characters back to center stage where they belong; too often in season 7 they’ve been pushed aside.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Thu, Apr 25, 2019, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

So, the wife of the guy O’Brien befriended as a spy just so happened to be killed by the brother of the woman who received Dax—a troubled soul driven to murder by his mother. Talk about manufacturing a plot. This is DS9 meets Days of Our Lives.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, Apr 24, 2019, 11:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

@ William B,
Although there is some debate about the meaning of the last act of Shane, it is not about an indestructible gunfighter. Indeed, the book makes it pretty clear that the opposite is true. Although the ds9 episode reveals the ending of the movie, I still highly recommend Shane as a great American movie, and the book is also excellent.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Apr 21, 2019, 10:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Above average for season 7. Not boring, but not 4 stars. The “war is he**” theme has been done so well in so many places that there is nothing new or insightful here, nor does it advance the characters or story arc. I enjoyed seeing Sisko kick butt; he is the Trek captain most like Kirk. Other than that—well, I already know that war is he** and don’t need a bunch of red shirts to tell me again.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:50am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its not a paradox its a loop, just like in Mission:Earth when the Enterprise was supposed to have been involved all along. You saw the scene. You know what she got out of it. I'm not saying you have to like it, but it does explain how Sarek knew where to be and when. Just like with all the other 4 Red angel appearances that lead the Discovery this season.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgaosn
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Future Burnham has been moving along a process of setting up events to achieve whatever final goal she desires in response to events which occured in her past. One of these events is saying goodbye to her parents on the Discovery before heading to the future, which is in her past but current Burnham's future. Sarek and Amanda make the journey because Michael asks them to because she remembers needing their support for what she's going to be doing. Its really simple time travel mechanics.
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Brian Lear

Not sure what your problem is with plot twists, cliffhangers and WTF moments. That's what entertainment is all about
Set Bookmark
Aaron Yorgason
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 1:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

@Booming

Its very simple. future Burnham told him where and when she needed him to be.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 10:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Valiant

Not much happened. Odd for a 43 minute episode to have so much filler. Okay, so the captain pops pills—this leads nowhere. Alright, the first officer thinks the captain is tired—and this is important later? No. And, it’s the big pep talk from the captain before the battle! Then they all die. It’s bad writing.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 9:38pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Although I’ve only watched around a quarter of ds9’s episodes, this is the worst one by far. At least Spock’s Brain had a semblance of a sci-fi premise.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 12:06am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

How are Janeway and Chakotay SUPPOSED to act after they returned to Voyager?

I think they DID become a little closer after this episode. If they were on the planet a little longer, than maybe something might have developed. But they got rescued, and we'll never know. They'll never know. And after returning to the ship, maybe they would be too afraid of rejection or something.

I thought this episode was awesome. One of Voyager's best.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Suspicions

The best Dr Crusher episode, and you give it 1.5 stars ???

You actually rate several terrible season 1 episodes higher than this episode. You are totally crazy!

You gave Symbiosis from Season 1 two stars, but Suspicions, which is the best Crusher centric episode of the entire series only 1.5?? It boggles the mind.

This is at least a 2.5 star or 3 star episode. At least.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M.
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

Once again, you're review sucks!!!!

The Masterpiece Society is a great episode. How could you give Remember Me a higher rating? The Nth Degree a higher rating? You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating!!! Those were the WORST episodes!!!

Anyone who doesn't give Redemption the 4 stars it deserves, I can't take anything they say seriously.
Set Bookmark
Aaron M
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 11:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Redemption, Part I

Your reviews are total, absolute crap!!

You gave Nth Degree a higher rating than Redemption, which, besides Way of the Warrior, is the greatest Klingon episode of all time. You gave Remember Me a higher rating than this episode too? You gave Remember Me a higher rating than Tin Man and Legacy as well!!! Do you even watch these episodes and pay attention???

You gave Devil's Due one star ???? Why ???

All the greatest episodes of this series you gave 3 star ratings or even less: The Offspring, Tin Man, Legacy, Redemption, Clues... all 4 star episodes!

You gave Time Squared from season 2 a higher rating then Redemption. You are totally stupid!!!!!
Set Bookmark
Bnaact
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 1:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Meh...

https://youtu.be/bZapcomLk7I?t=35
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Ooh - I’m also really glad that they clarified that Arian was an augmented human or “half-robot”.
The character has kind of annoyed me since her introduction since if they had artificial life in the 23rd century that’d make Data much less of a marvel.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 4:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Am I the only one who is sad that they killed the Andorian and Tellarite admirals?
The Andorian has quite a few scenes before and I think the Tellarite did, too.

Although I suppose I could just be being racist. Maybe it’s not the admiral we have seen previously.

Also, I agree with Robbie. I kept waiting for Burnham to check on Nhan while she was suffocating, but apparently no one cared. Although, I was also wondering why Nhan didn’t just put her EV helmet back on..... Nice to hear that she’s a Barzan. That’s cool continuity.

Great episode! Except for the upside shots.
Set Bookmark
Isaac
Sat, Mar 9, 2019, 2:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Why would the Talosians want Burmans bad memories of her falling out with Spock? The Talosians (from The cage) do not like Negative emotions. Also, why did the Talosians not use the blackhole to prevent Section 31 ship from find their planet?
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Accession

I re-watched this episode today and a thought popped into my head that I couldn't get rid of.

The Prophets say that they are "Of Bajor." I was wondering if this is literal. The Prophets are the Bajorans, from the distant future. They evolved on Bajor, eventually becoming non-corporeal somehow. Since time is meaningless to the Prophets, they could have 'been born' (for lack of a better term) in the distant future. It would explain why the Prophets care what happens to Bajor.

What do you think? I think it's kind of a cool idea, if a bit timey-wimey.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 8:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

So this fellow Eddington is a master hacker who implanted a virus that left the Defiant and the Station vulnerable to complete destruction? Wow. He’s a genius and the Federation is inept.

So there’s a toxic gas that only kills Cardassians (no other life) and it works slowly enough to allow them all to evacuate? And there also just so happens to be a toxic gas on the Defiant that only kills humans (no other life) and it works slowly enough to allow them all to evacuate?

Forget about the premise that Sisko uses WMD with no assurance that people won’t die, even though there is no ticking time bomb scenario (Eddington having repeatedly stated that he doesn’t kill innocents, and he spares Sisko more than once); the episode is an utter contrivance. Zero stars.
Set Bookmark
Tanstaafl
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 9:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

It’s an ambitious episode, which I appreciate. But issues of war and its effect on the human psyche are very hard to get right and this episode falls well short. The word “hackneyed” is perfect for this episode. Every cliche was used and every bit of stilted pretentious dialog was spoken. M.A.S.H. did it much better and was funny too.
Set Bookmark
Aaron
Sat, Jan 12, 2019, 4:38am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Matt,
The two goodbyes were Alara and Alara.
Next ►Page 1 of 10
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.