Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 43,532 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 1,742
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 7:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Hunted

I know that Danar's ability to sneak around the Enterprise and hack into systems just advances the plot, but is the security on the ship really that bad?

I can't even log into my work email without a password, but the Enterprise controls can be accessed by anyone who walks up to them. The sensors can't find Danar 100 feet away, but it can detect life on a planet in orbit 200k feet above it. Plus, haven't they ever heard of security cameras?
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 5:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: 11001001

Wesley's jumper - yes, it's the 3 stripe special again.
Riker smarmy sleaze fest. Yukk!
Set Bookmark
Maq
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 4:08pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Unnatural Selection

Why on earth did they need to put in the telekenesi in it? I do accept that star trek science is just invented. Still I prefer to have it concistent. Genetically enhance humans wit telekenesi is not neccessaray. The main issue was that when the scientist whare playing god it did not really turn out the way they thoungt. I get the moral and understanding of that. Plot OK but not special in any way.

Pulaski for or against. I am for , mostly. Jet Reno in DIS is very similar but Pulaski is more controlled. She is a contrast to both Picard and Data. Personally I am not to fond of abrasive people. I feel more comfortable with Crusher. Still the contrast increases the pulse or tension. She is not evil she wants to do good things.

O'Brians technobabble is wonderful. He is such a genuin character. Here on earth you may find him in a good DIY store as a sales assistant.
Set Bookmark
Rahul
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 3:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

@Robbie

Season 7 is DS9's best season IMHO although it starts out weakly. Stick with it!
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

"I think Voyager running the same time as DS9 had a lot to do with that as well. "


That's actually a very good point that I had never really considered before. I didn't watch VOY until sometime around 2015, I think as it wasn't aired in my area during its original run. I can definitely see the PTB thinking it would be a good way to hedge their bets by doing one show in a (semi) serialized fashion while doing the other in a traditional episodic format. Having two shows on at the same time in the same format probably wouldn't have worked as well.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

" what's up with implying that all these characters are a figment of someone's imagination INSIDE THE SHOW??? "

It was dumb when St Elsewhere did it and it's even dumber on DS9. I also (kind of) agree about Ezri. I don't hate the character, but I hate that she was introduced at the height of the Dominion War story. Every episode that doesn't feel tied to the main storyline in some way feels like a distraction to me.

I do urge you to finish the series, however. There are a several more episodes coming up soon that you will probably dislike, but there are still some very good ones too.

p.s. Nice to know that I'm not the only one not enamored with Far Beyond the Stars.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 11:23am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

^ I got so caught up in my response to DonMel that I forgot to leave a comment on the episode itself!

It's a good one. One of my favorites from the first three seasons. One thing I think Voyager did well was creating new alien races; the Vidiians are one of my favorites.

"Welcome to the bridge" is also an awesome moment; one of the most memorable from the entire series.
Set Bookmark
Frank Offenhaus
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 11:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Apocalypse Rising

I love this episode but the biggest problem which I never see pointed out is the timing of the event that moves into Act III namely when Sisko is discovered by Martok.

The entire setup of the devices is ready to go and Sisko is literally about to activate it which would've caused everyone to see the Martok changeling. But when his fake name is called by Gowron, he just stops and walks up to Gowron to be discovered. It makes no sense at all. It's not like anyone knows what this guy looks like off the top of their head. So a little confusion about where the guy Gowron called ensues just before Martok is exposed.

Why Sisko stops and decides to walk up to Gowron can only be explained by accepting that the plot needed to move forward as written in the script which is a big problem for me. instead, they should've had Sisko's fake name called while Odo was dealing with getting the final device into place. This isn't the first episode in which poorly directed / timed events made me go "uh... what?"

That's a lot of writing to cover what is basically a minor annoyance. 3 stars seems fair.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Wed, Feb 24, 2021, 11:16am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

What's the premise of Voyager?

It's about a ship a long way from home surrounded by danger both from enemies and nature itself while being totally cut off from the help and support of the Federation. "How will they survive to make it home?" is a question at the very heart of the series.

But it rarely felt that way. Problems like damage to the ship or being low on supplies were magically solved between episodes. One minute the ship is low on energy, the next we're having a holodeck adventure - because "holodeck energy is different."


Voyager is like Robinson Crusoe...if Crusoe had a McDonald's and a Home Depot on his island.




It also completely abandoned the (brilliant) idea of having a ship manned by Federation and Maquis which would have given the show some much needed drama, conflict, and character growth.


What you are left with is a watered down TNG, with a weaker cast, and without all the worldbuilding that had been done with the Alpha, Beta, and Gamma quadrants.

The show is still ok. There are some truly great episodes that rank amongst the best of Trek, imo. But it will always feel like a missed opportunity to me because, on paper, this really could have been something special.

If they had had the guts to stick with the original concept, they would have combined the best of DS9 (characterization) and the best of TNG (exploration and high concept sci-fi).
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 4:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Angel One

Wesley's jumper - not a jumper but there is a silver padded jumpsuit, with tank top and matching headband. Snazzy!
Then back to his gold, red, blue stripe thing.
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 1:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Rules of Engagement

I like the story and especially the presentation. The characters reliving the scenario and interacting directly with the camera while stepping out of the scenario is effective and draws you in. My only real problem is that we've been over the fact that Worf has had every rank. privilege, and holding that was Klingon stepped away. The idea that they could demand the return of someone they don't recognize as a real Klingon is a step too far, and should have been Sisko's first argument.
Set Bookmark
Jeffrey Jakucyk
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 1:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Coming of Age

"Bonus amusement at the idea of Starfleet bringing in failed actors for low paying gigs for corporate training (something I've personally done) instead of just using holodeck tech..."

I would hope that the "lab" was at least in a holodeck even if the actors were real. Otherwise that's an awful lot of construction for a two minute test of one cadet candidate.
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 12:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

I'm assuming the Jem'Hadar didn't know that Odo was on the runabout, because there's no way they'd kill a god.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 11:44am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Up the Long Ladder

This episode is a relic of the old days of tv where every Irishman was loud and obnoxious, every Gypsy a thief, every Texan was a rich oil tycoon, and every southerner a hillbilly. Amazingly enough, the broad Irish stereotypes were the least offensive thing about the episode.

The clone plot could have made an excellent episode; I would have loved to have seen a more in depth examination of a culture based on only 5 people. Unfortunately, it's completely half-baked. Bob pointed out several of the things I was going to complain about so I won't bother rehashing all of that.

After rewatching several season 1 and 2 episodes recently I've grown to really dislike Riker. He's smug, arrogant, and his interactions with women come across as smarmy instead of charming.

RIKER: You want to clone us?
GRANGER: Yes.
RIKER: No way, not me.
GRANGER: How can you possibly be harmed?
RIKER: It's not a question of harm. One William Riker is unique, perhaps even special. But a hundred of him, a thousand of him diminishes me in ways I can't even imagine.
GRANGER: You would be preserving yourself.
RIKER: Human beings have other ways of doing that. We have children.

I'm sure Granger was just chomping at the bit to clone a chunky balding middle-aged guy. Whatever will the colony do without those magnificent tromboning skills?!
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 11:31am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Conspiracy

Here's an animated gif of the infamous head explosion scene if anyone is interested:

https://i.imgur.com/zHrItTV.gif
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 11:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

Yeah, I don't think Data was in character. I think that he would have realized the PD issue quickly and reported his actions sooner. Worf was way too dick-ish, too, imo.


The dialog in this episode was very unnatural. The crew meetings felt like a bunch of college kids sitting around debating stuff. It felt like a group of people who were studying the PD for the first time instead of career officers who had years of experience dealing with the various facets of it under their belts.

The Wesley subplot was boring and useless as usual.

He's such a Mary Sue. The first officer of the flagship of the fleet is personally responsible for Wes' education? The ship's department heads spend a staff meeting hashing out how Wes should be shepherded into adulthood? Wes is enchardged with leading a project to save an entire freaking planet?! And he succeeds of course. He triumphed by telling an extremely laidback dude to run a scan, which the guy immediately did. Such conflict! Such character growth!
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

Probably already been pointed out but the basic premise of this episode is flawed.

If the Doc's memory can be altered, why not 1) do it in a non half-assed way to begin with or 2) just do it a second time


Seems a lot easier than a massive ship wide conspiracy that nearly drives the EMH insane.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

That's funny because going by their jobs it's Odo who is Louis. Which I guess fits better than you'd expect. Odo did basically collaborate during the occupation, just Louis had far fewer illusions about his role.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

"the Prime Directive is invoked almost always elicits an eyeroll from me because it's clear that it only matters to the writers when the plot demands"


Yep, it's the plot driven inconsistency that bothers me the most.




There is an interesting moral dilemma it this episode, but the setup is too implausible.


Problems:

1) The drug addicted planet isn't plausible because the populace seems to have devolved to the point that they have the intelligence of Pakleds. I suppose this was done to explain why they were incapable of figuring out what was really going on with the "medicine" but it makes their society seem unrealistic.

2) The drug dealing planet isn't plausible either, because if they are smart enough to run this scam for this long they are smart enough to realize that they can't depend on their customers for transportation.

3) The scale is way off. An entire planet is being supported by what can be carried on three cargo ships?


With a little tweaking (ahem) the plot could have worked.

What if the drug addicted planet knew the "medicine" was nothing more than dope, and just didn't care? Or, at least, weren't willing to go through the pain of withdrawals. Change from two dimensional drug pushers to three dimensional characters who are dealers but who also have some shreds of guilt over being enablers; deep down they are still doing what they do for selfish reasons, but they rationalize it as doing it to "help" their poor neighbors.

Picard's dilemma would still be the same: do the right thing for planet B and there will be unknown and potentially disastrous consequences for planet A. Except now you don't have an easy situation where it feels like the villains are simply getting their just deserts and the addicts aren't simply blameless victims.


As it ends now it feels like a cheat. Picard will be able to stick to the letter of the PD, and still give Crusher what she wants; the drug addicted planet will overcome its addiction. The good guys win! The problem is that it's going to cause the exact same problems that Picard was worried about: there will undoubtable be dire consequences for the drug dealing planet; their entire way of life will be destroyed. (Question: Was the entire populace in on the conspiracy?) Heck, there could even be war between the two planets. Who cares? Picard just orders the Enterprise to haul ass out of there and doesn't look back.

If that is an acceptable outcome, then why did Picard "interfere" in the first place by saving the crew of the cargo ship? The only difference is a matter of scale.


Wouldn't a better ending be one in which the Federation agrees to help both planets? Help planet B kick its habit, and agree to send economic advisors and trade negotiators to planet A to help them overcome the upheaval to their economy? At best, you save a lot of lives and gain two new allies. At worst, you have a situation that is still better than the one Picard ultimately left them with.
Set Bookmark
Buckbart
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 10:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Crossfire

Every time we get some of that good "Louis & Rick" banter, it makes me happy. This was one of the best.
Set Bookmark
zanki
Tue, Feb 23, 2021, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

7 out of 10, the fact Qark annoyed the prophets into submission is worth it
Set Bookmark
Skater777
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 10:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Bonding

If you overlook the goofy alien aspect of this episode, you can appreciate the character development shown here. Picard has come full circle from the awkward encounters with children in Season 1 to his touching "no one is alone on the Enterprise" comment. Wesley and Beverly really show their human side as they are still dealing with the death of Jack. Worf shows the touch of fatherhood that we will see again with Alexander. I appreciate that they dealt with a real issue of losing a loved one in the line of duty, even if other parts of the episode were weak.
Set Bookmark
Bob (a different one)
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 6:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Arsenal of Freedom

I agree with you Crobert, but I think I like this episode a little less than you do. It's ok, but it feels like (several) missed opportunities. Lots of good ideas badly handled.

1) Vincent Schiavelli: When Trek has a good guest star you really need to take advantage of it. Particularly in season one where the regular cast is still so raw. I wish he had had a bigger part to play. I hate that "gets worms" line, too.

2) Picard & Crusher: The hurt/comfort trope is one of the oldest in existence, mainly because it's a very easy way to get audience sympathy and create character chemistry. It completely falls flat here. They go through the "caring for an injured person" part but seemingly forget that they're supposed to work on the chemistry part of the trope. A vet working on a kitten would have been more involving than what we got here.

3) Riker & Tasha: The action plot. Should be good, but it's poorly directed. The Good Ship Lollipop bit goes on forever; he's not the real Captain Rice - we get it. Riker gets it. Everybody gets it. But they just keep stretching it out. The actual action scenes are a little better, but the effects make the bots seem so slow that it robs them of a lot of their menace.

4) Geordi: This is my favorite part of the episode. I think Burton is an underrated actor; he always seemed more "natural" than many of his co-stars. He gets a shot at the spotlight here, but as you said, the conflict between him and lead engineer seems incredibly forced and over the top. How many times was this plot reused on TNG?


Not a terrible episode, but I think it had the chance to be a really good one. If it had succeeded we would have had the first TNG episode with real conflict among the crew, a deeper understanding of the Picard/Crusher relationship, some exciting action scenes, and a chance to see one of the most memorable character actors of the 1980s leave his mark on Trek history.

Instead we get an episode that is just "fine."
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 4:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Bob

I know you're being ironic, but nowadays it's actually not the easy to express certaun opinions on the most popular websites.

And I must point out that (for the most part) people aren't being tribally political. There is a genuine give-and-take here.

That being said, I'm glad to see you've stuck around. New users are always intriguing!
Set Bookmark
Frake's Nightmare
Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 4:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Datalore

Wesley's jumper - again with the tricoloured striped grey blue thing. What does he wear off duty ?
Next ►Page 1 of 1,742
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.