Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 273 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 11
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Mon, Oct 26, 2020, 9:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Body Parts

Jammer, I appreciate the site and your (usually) sharp insights. But I don't understand your constant criticism about the Ferengi society ("...a Ferengi caricature, spouting Rules of Acquisition and being greedy just because the guidelines the writers have set down for the Ferengi as a culture demands it.") The Founders are just as one-dimensional (the Solids must be destroyed) but I don't see complaints from you about that.
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 9:59am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Retrospect

Seven of Nine **is* the best thing that ever happened to "Voyager," and that's the problem. Clearly the creators had no clue what to do beyond the first episode.
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Sun, Aug 30, 2020, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Hunters

I agree with your assessment of Neelix -- the "Mr. Vulcan" shtick, the optimism fluffiness -- but at the end of the day, that's on the writers and the director, not on the actor.
Set Bookmark
pfk505
Fri, Aug 28, 2020, 8:55am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

Came here to say the same thing as Gavin and orbops.

On my current rewatch I have been really enjoying Icheb so far, he's a better written (and acted) character than I remember. I find him thoughtful, interesting, full of potential, and a great mentee for Seven. To know that this character has been so utterly and pathetically disposed of by the Picard writers for shock value and faux-continuity only further cements the position that current-gen Trek is a waste.
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 10:37am (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Lower Decks

Some people would pay to watch a Herbalife infomercial if it had the Star Trek name on it. I really think that is what CBS and Paramount are counting on.
Set Bookmark
Newhouse75
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 10:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Gerontius, Too add a little bit more to the discussion. My relavent contribution. Dr Marr was right to destroy the creature. It was playing them. Plain and simple. Any theories that Data or Dr Marr came up with were all based on The Enterprise not being able to establish normal communications with the entity. We all know the entitiy understood perfect english. Are we forgetting that Lore directly spoke to the entity and told it what to expect. That he would identify himself as Data. The entity would of killed everything on The Enterprise the minute they would of dropped their shields. It was a malevolant creature that survived off living energy. Any living energy. Nature, organic beings, power sourcess. It devestated the planet
Set Bookmark
Newhouse75
Sun, Jul 19, 2020, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Silicon Avatar

Does anyone else think that Riker was really pissed off because he was going to get a nice piece of arse that the entity ruined for him =P
Set Bookmark
pfk505
Thu, Jun 4, 2020, 5:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Unforgettable

Just bad.

Everything that happens after the midway point (i.e. Chakotay's otherwise inexplicable about-face) is Neelix's fault.

I can't say I blame Chakotay entirely. To paraphrase another commentator higher up in this thread, if Virginia Madsen showed up at my house claiming to be in love with me, I probably wouldn't turn her away either.

1 star, tops.
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Fri, May 22, 2020, 12:54am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Are we sure this isn't an episode of Voyager? It's just technobabble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble babble ...
Set Bookmark
pfk505
Tue, May 12, 2020, 9:11am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Day of Honor

I agree with Lt. Yarko's original comment on the suit. I think Jeri Ryan is stunning but it looks ridiculous compared to the Starfleet uniforms and I can totally understand why the other female leads might have taken issue with it. It's out of place and it doesn't fit. It has nothing to do with Seven the character or Ryan the actor - both were among the best parts of the show. Thankfully they toned it down somewhat.

I also disagree with the implication that Paris had "ulterior motives" for his kindness towards Seven. I didn't get that vibe at all - more like "we all have a past" as he said.
Set Bookmark
pfk505
Mon, May 4, 2020, 9:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Best part of this episode? 3 seconds of Patricia Tallman smashing Harry with one of those ceremonial rods.

Absolutely irredeemable virgin-fantasy garbage.
Set Bookmark
pip25
Wed, Apr 29, 2020, 2:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Symbiosis

One thing I did not see mentioned which made the moral dilemma all the more interesting in this episode: this "symbiosis" made the Brekkians just as dependent on the Ornarans as the other way around. Their society has become so accustomed to the Ornarans providing everything for them that, by their own admission, it does not produce absolutely anything but the drug.
If Picard and crew helped the Ornarans to (relatively) quickly overcome their addiction, it would have doomed the Brekkians as a whole; surely not all Brekkians would have deserved such a fate. What makes Picard's decision smart here in my view is that it does not turn the situation on its head, but lets both races know that present arrangements cannot continue in the long-term: the Ornarans can no longer maintain their vessels, thus the drug trade WILL eventually stop - but it gives a chance for both races to prepare and, hopefully, arrive at a better solution.
Set Bookmark
pip25
Sun, Apr 19, 2020, 1:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Innocence

The twist at the end of the episode felt incredibly forced to me. The kids, supposedly heading to a most sacred ritual, crashland on the moon, and no one among their race seems to care. When they do start looking, they send search parties armed to the teeth, even though they KNOW the children might not recognize their own situation and, again supposedly, they just want to help them reach the end of their lives in peace.

During the reveal, one the natives claims that her people feel a calling towards the cave, yet the three children spent the entire episode frightened by it, and even right then and there, the girl does not want anything to do with it at first (only to magically remember everything seconds later, because otherwise the ending would have involved and unfortunate firefight between the Voyager crew and her people).

I agree with the person above that this twist feels disconnected from everything that came before it, and even the Memory Alpha article suggests that it was tacked on after much of the episode had already been written, because the original writer initially had no idea how to wrap things up.

It's a shame, because I for one enjoyed seeing Tuvok as a father in this episode. He really makes the whole Vulcan philosophy work. All too often is it portrayed as some misguided tradition that his race practices because they're too afraid of confronting their emotions - or at least one may get such an impression from looking at Spock alone, simply because for Spock, as a half-Vulcan, this philosophy could have never been a perfect fit. But Tuvok faces no such issues, and he really manages to show the, well, the logic behind it all. :)
Set Bookmark
pfk505
Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 8:51am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Future's End, Part I

First, I won't dispute that this episode was fun and, unlike a lot of early Voyager episodes, held my attention throughout.

But one thing has been really irritating me since I watched it and it can't be just dismissed as "they just didn't know any better in 1996" : apparently 20% of voyager's computer can be not only stored in but ACCESSED BY a PC from that year. This strains credulity in an extreme way even for Star Trek. Even if we hand-wave away the fact that Ed Begley Jr. somehow taught himself to access 29th century tech and maybe harness the timeship's storage device, he's still using the equivalent of a pentium 90 or whatever to hack voyager's transporter buffer and access their main computer (which of course has no security whatsoever).
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Fri, Apr 10, 2020, 8:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

< Seven has a phaser drawn on Narissa and could just stun her, but no. She stupidly gets close enough to have the gun knocked out of her hand so we can go through the motions.>

"But before I kill you, Mr. Bond, I want to explain my evil plan in excruciating detail."
Set Bookmark
pip25
Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 2:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

Given the infamy of this episode, I went in expecting something horrible, but frankly I was blown away. I think we may forget that part of the Enterprise's mission is about "exploring strange new worlds" - this episode was exactly that, depicting a culture that seems to communicate through symbolism and mythology.

I was having a lot of fun trying to understand the meanings of these symbols along with the Enterprise crew. I absolutely loved the fact that the viewers were able to experience the mystique of the situation instead of being spoon-fed immediate answers. It was very satisfying to realize the answer of Korgano being the moon just a few minutes ahead of the cast, long enough for it feel like an accomplishment, but short enough not to be annoyed by the characters following a false lead at first.

This episode lets the viewer draw their own conclusions concerning the meaning of these myths even at the very end, and I feel this gesture is genuine, not something like "well, we had no idea what we were doing but hopefully the audience will think of something". There seemed to be a lot of thought put into the mystery, the symbols, the personalities "possessing" Data, and it paid off overall.

I personally arrived to the conclusion that the civilization in question might have fallen victim to a cosmic disaster that destroyed the moon around their planet, and made the sun much more deadly than it previously was (perhaps by altering their planet's orbit). That is why Korgano was not present as a personality on the artifact and Picard had to take his place, resolving the cataclysm that artifact's builders fell victim to, at least in a symbolic manner. Of course, that's just my take on things after seeing the episode once, I believe other valid interpretations definitely exist - and for me, that's one of the Masks' strengths, instead of a weakness.
Set Bookmark
AR-559
Sun, Mar 29, 2020, 2:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 2

Trent wrote:

"And nobody batted an eyelid at Jadzia's sexual appetites."

But a small amount of research says:

'Due to its inclusion of a kiss between two characters of the same gender, this is one of the most controversial episodes in the history of Star Trek. The episode was broadcast at a time when it was highly controversial to feature homosexual relationships on television. According to Ronald D. Moore, "Some felt betrayed, didn't want to see this in their homes. An affiliate down south cut the kiss from their broadcast."

Terry Farrell agreed, "There were quite a few people that were upset, that had thought there should be a warning, because they were upset that they couldn't have a conversation with their children about what the episode was about."

René Echevarria said, "My mother was absolutely scandalized by the episode. Shocked and dismayed. She told me 'I can't believe you did that. There should have been a parental guidance warning.'"

Steve Oster recollected that a man called the show and complained, "You're ruining my kids by making them watch two women kiss like that." It was a production assistant who took the call. After hearing the man's complaint, the PA asked if the man would've been okay with his kids seeing one woman shoot the other. When the man said he would be okay with that, the PA said, "You should reconsider who's messing up your kids."'

Sources: (Star Trek: Deep Space Nine Companion and What We Left Behind)
Set Bookmark
AR-558
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 4:00pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Dave in MN

In fact, I agree with you that "fired" and "terminated" are the same thing and I doubt either word looks great on an employment record. My point was that companies still realize that being "fired" is bad so they may lay-off instead which is a completely different process with unemployment benefits and perhaps no real fault of the employee implicated. I don't see much point in mincing words over the same concept, although changing the whole deal to a lay-off is a nice professional courtesy and not simply a pedantic word change.

@Flip

Fair enough. I don't find doddering to be offensive nor am I advocating censorship, but at the same time I don't like people discounting Picard as a character because he's doddering. It's not really accurate, either. The whole mission to save Soji exists because of Picard. Most likely Soji would've been dead on the cube a few episodes back if not for his efforts. So credit where credit is due.
Set Bookmark
AR-558
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 2:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

@Dave in MN

I see what you're saying, but it doesn't sound like you get that different words have different specific meanings in the business world. Whoever is to blame, "He/she got fired" looks really bad on a record. That may make you want to throw your hands up in the air and sigh at the biases of society, but that doesn't mean companies should just go ahead and use whatever words they want without considering how they can hurt an employee.

As for doddering, it's definitely got a negative connotation. It's hard to imagine someone saying "Donald Trump is a doddering president" and understand that as a compliment.
Set Bookmark
AR-558
Mon, Mar 23, 2020, 1:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Et in Arcadia Ego, Part 1

"Remember when "terminate" was constrained a preferable buzzword for companies to use (in lieu of "firing")?"

That's still true. It's not about using a buzzword just to be oversensitive as you seem to be implying. If a company wants to let a person go but not affect their future job prospects, they are careful not to put any language of "firing" in company records. It's a professional courtesy, although of course it's still optional what language they use and they may very much want to punish them depending on the conduct that led to said firing.

Choice of words is very important.
Set Bookmark
pfk505
Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 12:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tattoo

The first half of VOY S2 is just so weak and this actually stands out as strong episode for me as well. Yes I can see why people (including Beltran) have problems with it. I think most of that comes from the constraints of the format, being that we have to introduce, explore, and resolve this week's problem within a set amount of time. It doesn't allow for much nuance. But I found myself surprised to be actually engaged.

I liked the Chakotay backstory. A bit cliched and predictable, sure, but well done overall. It gave his character some depth and motivation, especially his spiritual side. The "sky people" angle might be a bit overdone (what was it? a "genetic imprint"?) but I can forgive that a little I suppose. I also liked the fact that this race didn't actually have some magical technology they would have to deny the Voyager crew but rather travelled to the Alpha quadrant on generational ships. Nice touch.

I'm rewatching Voyager for the first time in years and I must have blocked this out of my memory. I can't honestly recall ANY good Chakotay episodes, so I'll treat this one as a bonus. 3 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Wolf359
Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

So my first thought when I saw Bjayzl was "is that Deanna"? Once I figured out no, my second thought was where is Riker and Troy scene from the trailers? Did, I miss something?
Set Bookmark
wolf359
Fri, Jan 24, 2020, 11:48am (UTC -6)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

The episode itself was interesting. It was much more than I was expecting. However, I am struggling to understand the time line. I searched around for an answer and the only thing I could find was " Picard exists in the Prime timeline, so those movies didn’t change anything that happened to the TNG cast."

Historically in the series every time the past has been "changed" the future is also changed (City of the edge of forever, the Enterprise C, Gabriel Bell). Clearly the supernova wasn't stopped. If the events from ST2009 happened, shouldn't this be the Kelvin timeline? Where it be kinda the same but different? If the Enterprise (and A) where radically different, would the Enterprise D be different? Does 200+ years allow the time lines to somewhat re-converge and become more similar? Wouldn't Starfleet know of the Romulan sun going supernova? Do you think the Starfleet didn't care because they knew it would fail?

Is this a plot hole or did I miss something?
Set Bookmark
dg54321
Sun, Dec 29, 2019, 1:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

@ ANDRE

Except that every implementation of said socialism ends up exactly as shown here: Your political standing determines your care, decided by an unfeeling, uncaring drone of an organization. A person can always find ways to earn more money.

There are definitely things that need fixing in the US healthcare system. Most of those things are a direct result of people saying "Government needs to get in the middle of it".

This childish ignorance of human history in believing that a more powerful government under socialism cares, about anybody, but their own government officials, as shown repeatedly throughout history, is really quite revealing inasmuch as how our schools are actively failing their students.
Set Bookmark
B5
Sat, Oct 12, 2019, 2:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Favorite Son

Anyone else catch Patricia Tallman kicking ass? But yeah, this episode wasn't so great. I noticed another B5 alum playing Valen in "The Void." Babylon 5!
Next ►Page 1 of 11
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.