Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 17 (Showing 1-17)

Page 1 of 1
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Wed, Dec 30, 2015, 6:43am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Course: Oblivion

Rewatching this one and wondering: what was the point?

Its parent episode S4's Demon gets unending flack, yet this dreck hits home? I wasn't buying what the ep was selling. Found this one to be as tasteless as Threshold. Knowing this crew was reverting back to a liquid forn because that biomimetic gel that gained self awareness was losing it's cohesion being so far away from that demon-class planet didn't make for very compelling storytelling. Seeing it even vaporize into nothingness at the end didn't generate even the slightest twinge of emotion except thank God it's over. Maybe its because the planet it spawned from remains perfectly intact. And more where that came from. I wouldn't be surprised if it continued to replicate itself and sent out more 'Voyagers' like a product on the assembly line, or more like a needle scratching thru a record.

The scientific inaccuracies the first one got slammed for became even more farfetched and unbelievable with this one yet somehow it made for better storytelling? Maybe it was the story and not the ridiculous scientific leaps that gave it more strength with reviewers.

Maybe I just couldn't get past the premise that it was nothing more than a gel that gained self-awareness and sentience thru genetic duplication of the crew. Knowing that the emotions this ep is supposed to evoke just doesn't work for me. Because there are no long term consequences to this voyage. And I mean that with both this biomimetic gel and the real crew. That lack of continuity makes it hard to get too wrapped up in standalones knowing the clock will be reset by next week's ep.

I could barely give this one half a star. At least it wasn't an all out assault on your senses like Threshold. But it was cutting it close seeing half liquefied visages that could barely speak.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Sat, Dec 26, 2015, 5:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

Petrus - This is the reason episodes like S1's Prime Factors make Janeway look like such a hypocrite. She came on quite strong in that one yet episodes like this one demonstrate that as a Captain its ok to break those same rules whenever they become inconvenient. And in this case it nearly got the crew killed. Once again putting another race over the safety of her own crew. Won't even get started about Equinox or Endgame.

Loved Seven's speech at the end towards Janeway after her sentence was doled out. She didn't have a choice in the collective any more than she had a choice with Voyager. But she clearly had her own mind and it was...inspiring to see her express it. All Janeway could retort with was "As you were".

Frankly they should have mutinied back in the pilot just before she destroyed the array. That's really where the bad decisions began for this crew.

This was an awesome ep regarding Species 8472. It didn't showcase them as total monsters despite their fearsome appearance. In fact, knowing they were the ones being attacked by first the Borg and now the Hirogen we can't really fault its actions. I think of poor Ripley from Aliens whenever I think of species 8472. First impressions will dictate your actions towards a race. But all this 8472 alien wanted to do was return to fluidic space.

But I still wasn't crazy about their story in S5's In the Flesh. The storyline would have been awesome if it were another species. It didn't really fit with 8472 tho.

I never really found the Hirogen to be all that interesting. No moreso than the Ka-zon. Tony Todd, however, did essay the role quite well. Still, I didn't find them to be as nearly as fascinating as their prey.

The pacing and the storyline itself were first rate in spite of Janeway's pious posturing and decisions that nearly turned the crew into flotsam. Oh yeah, and puttng the Hirogen hot on their trail. 3.5 stars is doable.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Sun, Dec 20, 2015, 6:17am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Voyager I am complete agreement with you. The Q were more than just 'parlor tricks'. The very nature of Q gives them insight and access to anything and everything - including human evolution. Hell, Q seemed to be the only one to really challenge Picard regarding anything! It sure wasn't most of the admirals on the show who put the 'in' in inept.

This episode lowers itself to the point that the Q are now being schooled by humans. Worse, the voyager crew. Uh, right. Can anyone truly name a captain whom kicked the Prime Directive in the family jewels more often than Janeway? I don't even think Archer broke it as many times. And they didn't even have a PD yet! They are the last ones the Q should be turning to in terms of anything regarding human development.

The Q episodes worked because they were a way of getting humans to think beyond the routine and the rote. They could be high brow or they could be more pedestrian but there was always an underlying message in all of them wasn't there? Q himself got a lesson in humility in Deja Q. I fail to see what the message is on either side of the equation in this ep. If omnipotent beings disagree and argue to the point of a fullscale war then that would spell certain doom for lesser beings and the universe I would think.

Worst Q episode ever. At least Q2 attempted to restore the status quo and structure to the continuum. And no, that episode wasn't exactly much better than this one, barely half a star more. That one (and this one for that matter) were too juvenile for my tastes. But that one had a more plausible excuse seeing as how it was his son and not grown Q that were beyond galaxies and time. The Q deserved more than this low brow effort by the writers.

1 star.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Sat, Dec 19, 2015, 10:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Cold Fire

Strange that after this episode the caretakers were never heard from again. But then again can't keep track of the number of species in this series that we could apply that to. I suppose the fact that Voyager was simply leaving the sectors they occupied is a somewhat credible reason.

But how could that apply to the caretakers? For them 70,000 light years is a blink of an eye. Only the Q could pull off something like that. No amount of space should keep the caretakers from having another run-in with Voyager. So once again careless writing is the only thing I can think of.

It's too bad Kes didn't get the chance to enhance those abilities to a tee before they jettisoned her in the 4th season. She would have been able to resist Tieran's mind invasion completely from what we've already seen of her abilities.

I did find it odd that the caretaker's mate was still so young compared to him. I guess those 'fertile grounds' he mentioned kept her from aging. But it also looks like it kept the array from expanding as well. The size differences between hers and the pilot's were night and day.

Also found it strange that given their vast powers she did not know that voyager was not responsible for her mate's death. He simply died of...old age. But I'm guessing when the caretakers pass away they all become some chunk of mineral rock. But we really don't know, do we?

That's pretty much my point. Too little explained in this. And we still know next to nothing about these caretakers. And like the tricobalt missles used to destroy the first array we would not hear from either of them ever again. Not even one followup.

1 to 1.5 stars is all I can give. At the very least they could have confronted the caretakers once and for all considering they were the ones who kickstarted this voyage to begin with.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Mon, Dec 14, 2015, 9:56pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Prime Factors

So shortly after their being stranded in the Delta Quadrant we get an episode dealing with directives and rules. The story and execution (not to mention Seska) were first rate. I don't have much to add on to the story that hasn't been mentioned by the previous commenters. (One response to Hlau - I got the impression the Sikariians gained pleasure from giving others pleasure. Chasing Voyager like prey would most likely not give them pleasure as it sure would not have given Voyager any pleasure being hunted).

Anyways regarding ethics and Prime Factors...I just can't help but facepalm the title given all of Janeway's lack of adherence to those same "Prime Factors." Here she is lecturing Tuvok on something that required no emotion on his part, simply a logical choice not allowed To the Captain. Now while I agree with her line about logic's flaws we can fast forward to her actions in S5/6's Equinox when she was willing to turn that ship over to the aliens. Or the fact that her future self decided to change the past knowing clearly it was a violation of the Temporal Prime Directive. Or the fact she was willing to 'unravel all of history' to get answers about Seven's mission in Relativity.

Not to mention the fact that she was the sole reason all of these things were happening. I still think it was too early for this level of coziness between Starfleet and The Maquis, essentially a gang of outlaws. Especially when one considers it was her destroying their only means home. I'm rather surprised they didn't try to commandeer the ship themselves before that. But chuckles just seemed to go along with her decision. He was perfectly ok with being stranded 70 thousand light years from home yet was willing to go rogue over the Cardassians occupying his tribe's home space. Uh, right.

So seeing all this emotion in her when the crew took it upon themselves to barter for the technology struck me as hypocritical and frankly, dishonest. I wished the technology would have worked. Then they would have found themselves back in the Alpha Quadrant. Of course it would have been tough to court martial since a) it obviously worked, and b)they can always counter it wouldn't have been necessary if the captain hadn't gotten them stranded in the first place. Helping another race out entirely over her own people. And a race that only lives 8 years at that.

I'm all for peaceful resolution, too. But in this case it was far too swift and sanguine. The first season alone should have been more of what State of Flux was regarding the dissension in the ranks. When these first aired I was surprised the Maquis were so accepting of all of this. And even the crew itself.

I just wonder what it would have been if they spread the conflict out much longer than they did. But that would have involved both continuity and something original, something the writers seemed to balk at.

I still rate it 3.5 stars for both its execution and because it was nice seeing Seska taking initiative as she always did. Whatever it took was her motto. Maquis to the core. With Cardassian ruthlessness and Starfleet precision.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Sun, Dec 13, 2015, 10:34pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

Peremensoe - hit the nail on the head! Killing without guilt only produces more carnage. The indifference towards her tears is a bit scary. It means they've become desensitized to things like the death of an entire civilization. Or maybe it just needs to happen to them or someone they love to empathize. Have we as a society become that cold towards one another? At this point it's a rhetorical question at best and naivete at worst.

"After all, you never know who will end up giving birth to the next Hitler after you save them..."

That line easily justifies what you are arguing against. The very thought of that scares the hell out of me, to be honest. No parent wants to believe their bundle of joy will grow up to be a genocidal killer.

We really don't know what tomorrow will hold for any of us. The next 10 seconds aren't even guaranteed. Victims of natural disasters probably weren't giving them a thought....until one actually occured. A life gone in an instant. It's a sobering thought, indeed.

I don't know...maybe the best thing to do is be aware of those dangers, but not to the point that it keeps one from enjoying life to the fullest.

But man made atrocities? How does one prepare for that?

We don't have full on answers for our own planet. It only makes sense to avoid them on another planet altogether. That's probably partly the reason a Prime Directive was initiated. Because we saw what the best of intentions led to in this case. Or what it could have led to. ENT showed that much with episodes like "Dear Doctor".

Personally what I find more appalling is the assumption that all these alien races are just variations of humans that just happen to speak proper English far too often. It's more likely we would come across aliens that don't come close to resembling anything we've ever seen. I give more credit to ENT at least for showing the Xindii as multiracial with bipedals and clearly nonhumanoid races. I would expect aliens with appearances more like that silly movie from the 80's "Explorers". Or more like Species 8472. Well, before S5's In The Flesh, anyways.

These 'aliens' were far too similar in likeness to humans to the very layout of the land for me to believe they were ever on another planet. I just wish there were more aliens that were completely different from anything earthly. But that would be a tall order, I guess.

Story and plot were doable, nothing to marvel at. Another time travel related ep. 1.5 stars would be preferable, but I guess two works. The extra half star was for the kind and gentle Kes whom still seemed more human than...well...humans. Their reactions weren't much different than Tuvok's.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Mon, Dec 7, 2015, 3:09am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Deadlock

An excellent S2 outing. We get an anomaly that doesn't completely strain scientific credibility. We certainly don't have to stretch that credibility as thin as the usual technobabble we are accustomed to on ST.

The theory behind that quantum mechanics discourse that Janeway mentioned to explain both the ships' situation was somewhat sound. Enough to where I didn't dig too deep into the quantum mechanics books myself for specific answers.

As for the the anomaly that caused it I suppose you could call the writing either ingenius or BS, depending on how you feel about cloud anomalies I guess. Cloud anomalies I believe have happened on all the ST incarnations. Not sure about DS9 since I haven't watched the series yet. I don't know how this particular one caused a replication on the atomic level but in all fairness there wasn't a whole lot of time to study it in detail.

Which leads us to the Vidiians. In truth they were far more interesting (not to mention scarier) than the Ka-zon. The Ka-zon stuggled with just basic things like acquiring water. The Vidiians didn't have any issues with that. It was the phage disease that consumed their days as much as their bodies. It's what made them deadly. And scary. In this ep they were as cold and efficient as any borg. In their case their very survival depended on it.

Yet we also known the Vidiians were more than just that, though. I keep remembering the kind, gentle Denara Pel. And she was very much humane. So in some ways it seemed like the Vidiians could not blame the phage completely on their heartless ways. Practicality and survival are paramount, yes, but we know the Vidiians were not just a totally reactionary species like, say, the Klingons and the Ka-zon. Denara and the first Vidiian we met in S1's Phage were clearly not the generic monsters-of-the-week.

So seeing the Vidiians in this taking organs as they needed puts them in a different light. It was horrific, yet we knew it wasn't about harvesting for some sick black market. They weren't the cardboard cutouts the Ka-zon were. Their very survival depended on it. I wish we had seen more stories with them. The episodes are most fascinating to watch.

I still fail to understand why they didn't just take B'elanna and do exactly what was done in S1's Faces. That would have been the end of the phage right then and there. It's like the writers completely forgot about that when they wrote S5's Think Tank. Either way it was sloppy and lazy the way it was handled. Especially after all these episodes where we witnessed the Vidiians' struggle. This episode alone also showcased the levels of cold efficiency they were capable of in their harvesting. All to stay ahead of the phage.

I agree with Tuvok in the end when he and Janeway were discussing the paradox both Janeways were facing. Can you imagine trying to convince yourself of an outlook you both know will avail none but still trying to preserve the other? That kind of paradox I sure wouldn't want to deal with. Could most people? Trying to outmaneuver yourself? Whilst being both the doubter and the doubtee? Maybe this is one of those rare moments where I am thankful for lack of spatial as well as temporal anomalies.

I give this one a 3.5 to 4 star rating. Thought about knocking that star off when Janeway offered to send cant-get-a-lock kim over to the other ship. But I guess someone had to carry little Naomi.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Wed, Dec 2, 2015, 4:52am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S1: State of Flux

I can only watch this one these days all starry eyed...I sho loved Seska. (Though I admit it's weird hearing them refer to her as 'Ensign' Seska. I forgot she was part of the crew like this back then.) I generally watch her after she'd defected and restored her Cardassian physiology, so going back to episodes like these is such a treasure.

There really isn't much more to add to what Jammer said. Outstanding. Well paced. Never overdone nor underdone. This ep introduced us also to Mage Culluh. Obviously someone we will forsee again in the future. But at this point we didn't know much about his sinister ways. Though we would learn very quickly in this episode alone.

I just can't help but gush over Martha Hackett as Seska. I think the reason I stopped watching this one as much was because I was reminded of how she could have been quite a...diversion...if she had stayed a part of the chain of command. And let's face it, it made for some compelling storytelling.

Still, I can't believe the writers decided to write her out. She had so much character and presence...easily on the levels of Tim Russ and Robert Picardo. I just can't forgive the writers for that guffaw. And yet they had no issues keeping the other ensign? Come on, How many times can you not get a lock on something the size of candlestick park? Not to mention his acting. Jack Nicholson is in no danger of losing an Academy Award to this guy. (ok, not many people could compete. Maybe Dustin Hoffman or Harrison Ford, but you get the point)

But no sense beating that dead horse, you good folks know your feelings on it.

Back to Seska. I also keep forgetting the Bajoran look was just a ruse. I admit there was something about her as a Cardassian that made her more sinister in appearance. And irnoically we kept seeing her in all her maternal radiance at that point. Which I didn't mind. Made her all the more compelling I would say. I just don't understand how the producers could just let her go. Her acting never once felt wooden at all, even at this point.

I really enjoyed seeing how she played chuckles like a fiddle. Call me sadistic but she ripped right thru his self righteous shields like those temporal missiles ripped thru Voyager in S4's Year of Hell. And she'd pour salt on those wounds in Maneuvers.

I do like how the show played with those utopian ideals and showed that not everyone was going to be in agreement with them.
I believe that was why the maquis were created in TNG. To shake the status quo up just a bit. Show external/internal strife.

I haven't watched DS9 as of yet but if i'm not mistaken (please correct me if so) it dealt moreso with the politics of Starfleet. Not just black and white fundamentals like TNG. But the 'gray area' issues that were the cornerstone of orders and missions doled out by Starfleet command.

But with Voyager they decided to downplay the maquis dissidence. To try to adhere to the original ideals Gene Roddenberry laid out in TOS. But then they let Janeway break the prime directive whenever it became inconvenient. Talk about being unclear on the concept.

They still could have shown a less ideal environment in the first two seasons alone regarding the two crews. Seska wasn't the only maquis who felt the way she did. She just went a little farther than the rest. And let's face it, it made for some awesome storytelling.

And the fact that it was the captain herself who stranded both crews in the Delta Quadrant was the perfect catalyst for some kind of mutiny. And yet all we got out of it was Seska defecting. meh. Looking at it some 20 years later Seska's reaction seemed more realistic than chuckles, who jumped into the first officer role a little TOO readily. He seemed to suddenly forget why he joined the maquis in the first place. Truthfully he never came off as any kind of malcontent to begin with.

I can somewhat see B'elanna trying to fit in with Starfleet. She would always default her disagreements with it to her Klingon side. Being in Starfleet even under forced circumstances might be her way of feeling in control of her temper. And thus, defeating her Klingon half.

And yet the writers couldn't decide how to fit Seska into this motley crew. *facepalm

We probably should have guessed where Seska was headed based on the previous Ep. Still, I never saw her siding with the Ka-zon coming. They sure didn't seem all that powerful. Or intelligent. And she seemed far too ahead of them intellectually to put up with that primitive way of thinking. Starfleet, Cardassian and Maquis experience. Quite the resume she put together. Should've made her the Captain.

Strong 3.5 to a solid 4 stars is where I put this one.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Fri, Nov 27, 2015, 10:44am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

A story with a simmering subplot, tho at the time we had no clue where it was going. Next episode deals with that.

As for the main story I didn't realize just how awesome an actress Susan Diol is. The chemistry between she and the Doctor was natural, unrushed and flowed perfectly. And the good doc still had time for quips (both intended and unintended).

I had seen her before, but prior to this ep I didn't make the connection. Admittedly I wouldn't until I googled her.

Not sure if anyone would know this but she was in two particular episodes of Quantum Leap. She was Rear Admiral "Al" Calavicci's first wife, Beth. There was in fact an episode that dealt (indirectly) with that. I remembered it because I thought she was adorable then, too. (well, that and after he returned from Vietnam he would be plagued by failed marriages and alimony, bit of a running gag on the series. But it was clear Beth remained the only one he loved unconditionally). And the final leap for Dr Beckett was in fact, to her to give her some good news. Nice touch to give at least Al a happy ending if not Sam.

And she was in one TNG episode briefly. Anyone care to take a guess which one? I'll let you good folks know later if you don't already know...

Which brings us to this awesome ep. Whod've thunk that she would be as charming as she was? I might have to watch other films/shows she's done. She has screen presence no doubt. It's subtle but its there. She seemed to establish a rapport with practically everyone. Too bad she didn't become a regular on the show. It would have been a perfect addition to what Jennifer Lien was as Kes. This is what I miss about the earlier seasons.
They flowed more organically and not so by the numbers as the last few seasons would become far too often.

Maybe this was another changing of the guard. Later seasons felt as if the writers' attention spans began to narrow in pursuit of multitasking and cramming too much into an ep. And here we are, some 20 years later. Multitasking has become par for the course in life. Doesn't seem like life is getting any better for most of us. Is it any surprise the earlier seasons stand the test of time better than the later seasons? (Ok, S4's Witness is classic trek in any ST mythos, let alone any season. I liked it more than even S5's Timeless.)

Sometimes it's just better to let things flow naturally instead of rushing it. I know we all have a limited amount of time on this earth but cutting corners just to get a product out doesn't make for a quality product.

This ep was near perfect because it didn't rush itself. Indeed it paced itself quite well. Yet at the same time those 45 minutes went by wayyyyyy too fast for me! That's how immersed I was in this ep.

It kind of felt as it could have been some kind of romantic comedy with just the right touch of drama. Which is a testament to the acting chops of both Picardo and the lovely Ms. Diol.

It also showed that the Vidiians were capable of humanity and great acts of kindness. And yet their condition had forced them to take draconian measures just to survive. We've seen them at their best-and worst. Deadlock clearly juxtaposes what we see here.

I almost forgot about S5's Think Tank, which I have not watched yet. I think it was mentioned a cure was found for the phage in that ep. Nice, but we already knew Klingon DNA was resistant to the phage. It would have been better to actually show an ep showing the steps it took to create a cure rather than just write it off. It would have been even more awesome to have seen it involve B'elanna one more time too.

Another reason I can't understand why she hated her Klingon side so much. It clearly gave her advantages a normal human would not have. Like oh, say, immunity to a disease that has killed millions of a race for how long? 2 centuries? Can't remember the exact timeframe. I just hate the way they make her sidestep that fact in that scene with Dinara. She is literally a cure for the phage but they never pursued her again? Talk about missed opportunity. In S6's Fury all they needed was to kidnap B'elanna and BAM! instant cure. And at this point in time they must have known about her Klingon DNA being the cure since it was discovered back in S1. Shame on you writers...

I know Klingons don't honor being a lab rat per se but a savior is a savior. How in the world did they develop any kind of technology given their mindsets, let alone space travel? Voyager's writers treated them like intellectually challenged primitives who barely discovered fire. Which is practically a slap in the face to the pains TNG took to show them to be more than that. Much more.

In the midst of all this Dinara remained strong and resolute without losing any of her easy charm. She even seemed to allay B'elanna's fears and suspicions with her calm but reassuring demeanor. It never once felt forced.

The writers should have had her be the one to create the cure for the phage rather than the lip service we got in Think Tank. By then the show was too rough around the edges. Her appearance would have been much appreciated.

The rating jammer gave it speaks for itself. Why, we even got to see Seska ever so briefly. Icing on the cake! It ended just as it was beginning. A heartfelt episode with a developing sinister subplot.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Tue, Nov 24, 2015, 1:02pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

The ep wasn't terribly thought provoking. Time related ep's have as many probabilities as improbabilities you could literally spend a lifetime deciphering them and still barely scratch the surface. I only had two things to say, though they are both towards Jammer's interesting reviews.

As one reviewer already noted, Tasha's daughter was indeed an after effect of TNG's Yesterday's Enterprise. Small wonder it wasn't mentioned. The story went nowhere. Denise Crosby wanted to return to the show once it had achieved success that was tentative at best during its first season.

The writers came up with the ambiguous 'Tasha's daughter' concept. One that they really couldn't sustain. How could they? The way the events folded out had me scratching my head as well. When the timelines were restored they'd naturally have no memory of Tasha being sent to the previous enterprise. Even that decision was odd by Picard's standards. I think her last appearance was in the S5 two parter Unification. After which we never heard from her again...well, regarding the daughter storyline anyways.

Regarding the 2nd comment. This one I've been mulling over. This is in regards to the Krenim. In S3's Before and After they were never seen. Their actions on the other hand were certainly felt. From this two parter we learn quite a bit about them. (Has anyone wondered how these aliens from the delta quadrant can still look and act human, speak flawless English and have the exact specifications for sustaining life as humans? I guess I had my own expectations of them after S3 as well and humanoid wasn't one of the expectations. I know that's how ST has always been but I long for more Species 8472 types that are so alien to us. But even they defaulted in S5's In the Flesh, didn't they?)

In regards to the Krenim I guess there was something about them that despite what had happened to Voyager I didn't find them to be the ruthless monsters the way B&A seemed to set them up to be, either. Not exactly a Stockholm Syndrome effect but it's a lot harder to hate them when you see real emotions as the source of their motivation. In this case, loss of a loved one and guilt because your own actions caused it. Being driven to do anything and everything in your power and beyond to get them back. Playing God with time is excessive, to say the least. But at least there is a solid motive. The means was certainly there. Still in spite of all those calculations Keana Prime was never to be restored. 200 years of incompetence? Or was there some other force at hand really punishing him? Maybe the Q? (Unlikely. The lesson wouldn't be complete without Q to appear and show him the true meaning of Christmas after the fact. But amusing thought.)

In B&A we never saw them. They remained faceless. All we saw were the repercussions of their actions. Which were pretty reprehensible. So our imaginations were left to fill in the gaps. We perceived them to be the lowest levels of {inhuman}scum our imaginations could conceive of. Things were a lot simpler I would say in B&A regarding them. Still, I wonder if the sympathy vote would have been there if it were revealed that they looked like giant insectoids or something? Probably not. If anything they'd be demonized even further.

Should they have remained faceless? For some viewers I'm sure it wouldn't have made a difference one way or the other, they'd hate em just the same. But jammer's review doesn't seem to hold the Krenim with the same contempt it did in B&A. It changes things when the enemy looks like you and has the same motives doesn't it? Especially guilt. As for this reviewer I don't think it mattered much since everything would be undone. Now if they hadn't reset the clock and the longterm effects of their actions were a permanent part of the series it'd be easier to say. I'd either hate them or respect them. Maybe both.

Reminds me vaguely of DC Comics' Green Lantern back in the mid-90's (few years prior to this ep). Hal had lost his home city and it drove him to the point of amassing as much power as he could to restore it, going so far as to reset all of time. If it were Brainiac then the situation would have been cut and dry. Instead it was a founding member of the JLA that did this. It certainly changed the way the heroes acted didn't it?

Anyways I enjoyed the ep nonetheless. Kurtwood Smith always seems to have an underlying intensity to everything he does. Tho it didn't make me like him much as a lad when I first saw him in Robocop :)

Solid performance from Tim Russ as always. Not enough scenes between he and Jeri Ryan. Seemed a natural match. Borg perfection meets Vulcan precision. Emotion is irrelevant in both instances. Except during Pon Farr. lol.

Moderate 3 stars works.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Sat, Oct 31, 2015, 10:15am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Worst Case Scenario

I always loved Martha Hackett as Seska. The writers for some reason didn't know how to use the character so they decided to make her a Cardassian spy?? What the what?? I found her to be more compelling as an actress moreso than Jeri Ryan. But Jeri was quite the eye candy whilst scenery chewing as an ex-Borg. And seasons 4 - 7 were watchable for that alone. So I'll call it even.

Couldn't think of a better lead for the mutiny than chak. Never liked him much in the series and for some reason it makes perfect sense he would have spearheaded a mutiny if ever there was one.

He must have felt he had a big "kick me" sign on him or something. It was like half his maquis crew had other intentions. But then again they were band of outlaws so he shouldn't be too surprised. Still, between Paris' selling out, Tuvok being a Starfleet spy and finally Seska as a Cardassian spy posing as a Bajoran I'm surprised he didn't have a crisis of faith. lol.

This episode is one of those ones that gets better with time. Mind you I enjoyed the epi immensely upon it's initial release all those years ago. 3 stars is about right. I admit I would have given it a half star more, but what the hell.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Tue, Oct 20, 2015, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Repression

Another Tuvok-specific episode. Enjoyable as always. The story was a bit farfetched but I guess they had to play the Maquis angle one more time even tho by this time there were no more Maquis. Still, considering Tim Russ rarely got to demonstrate his acting chops he managed to turn nothing into something entertaining. I give it 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Tue, Oct 20, 2015, 10:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

I don't understand why Tim Russ was so underutilized on the show. I thought he and Robert Picardo were the standouts. Picardo at least got the recognition he deserved but Russ seems to remain an unsung hero. His portrayal of a Vulcan was easily on par with Leonard Nimoy but with a bit more logic applied to his judgements (tho to be honest Spock was half human).

He also remained the most consistent on the show from start to finish. Sometimes in season 7 everyone seemed to just go thru the motions (the aforementioned two being the exception, as well as Jeri Ryan). And whenever he was actually given screen time he easily stole the scenes he was in. I felt he actually had more presence than even Avery Brooks, and that's saying a lot. He would have been a fine addition to the Next Gen crew. At least the doctor got a little screen time with Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Wed, Apr 15, 2015, 6:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Agree w/ John TY regarding the Vulcans. Their emotions are too close to the surface. Understandable in T'Pol's case (if a little too convenient) but the others did not act in any logical, detached manner. The writers really should have paid more attention to the original depiction of Vulcans played by Leonard Nimoy, Mark Lenard, and even Tim Russ.

Ironic that Spock himself was half human. Yet he chose to embrace the Vulcan half of his heritage. His wanting (and succeeding) to be more Vulcan than a full blooded one really exposed a particular human trait, namely desire.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Thu, Apr 9, 2015, 8:07am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Detained

Couldn't stop grinning with the scenes between Dr. Beckett and Admiral Calavicci. All I kept thinking was "Goodbye, Dean. Goodbye, Scott!" Awesomeness.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Tue, Mar 24, 2015, 7:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Most Toys

I always wondered what would have occurred had Fajo found Lore instead of Data. I believe Lore was floating out in space at this time.
Set Bookmark
45 RPM
Sun, Mar 22, 2015, 6:59am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

"...and I like even more how Phlox explains that he is unsettled by T'Pol's pure logic, which seems to be missing something that an emotional catalyst might add."

He should ask her again during her Pon Farr. I'm sure he would get a completely different response.
Page 1 of 1
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.