Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 64,949 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,598
Set Bookmark
trill me not
Wed, Sep 18, 2019, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Who Mourns for Morn?

@chrome... he didn't have lines because that's the joke... paramount wasn't being cheap... i knew people who worked there and i can tell you that wasnt the case... you're talking about a show that had like 30 recurring characters... tossing morn a line here and there wouldn't have broken the bank... it was much more charming that he never spoke but you always heard how he never shuts up... plus the makeup was not the best for talking... he just moved his eyes for a reason... he started out as a minor joke in the background then just grew... it was organic and funny and worked perfectly

great fun episode... 3 to 3.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Trish
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 10:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Ascent

I have to say I'm a bit surprised by the generally positive reactions to this episode. It just doesn't do much for me. It seems like an hour of exposition.

"Show me, don't tell me." But the dialog is mostly the characters in the adversarial/bosom buddies pairs TELLING what they are and how they see each other. Despite the painfully high stakes for Odo and Quark, there really isn't much of a plot, and what little there is has holes in it like Swiss cheese. (Not only, as Quarkissnyder said above, is there no way they'd survive without water, but they should be suffering from altitude sickness, which makes dehydration even worse. The whole point in climbing the mountain is to get to thinner air.)

And yes, after Odo is injured, it should be perfectly obvious to them both (and to the writer, and to us) that Quark should continue the ascent alone. If their plan works, a rescue ship will come and can use its scanners to locate Odo, apparently the only other humanoid on the planet. If it doesn't, their mutual problem will soon reach its dire resolution.

I have nothing against a good bromance. Heck, they could have thrown in a C plot with Bashir and O'Brien. But even a character story needs a story.
Set Bookmark
C.T. Phipps
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 10:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Birthright, Part II

Guys, it's a prison camp.

These guys were kidnapped from their colony, put in a detention camp, and forced to live there for decades. Their children have grown up in bondage and any hybrid children born aren't there entirely willingly if just due to the power dynamic. This is no different than Bajorans living under Cardassian rule.
Set Bookmark
Jordy
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: The Void

I can't believe no-one has namechecked Jonathan Del Arco.
Set Bookmark
Mirror worf
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 2:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Emperor's New Cloak

"Your Intendent needs you."
Ha!
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 2:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

@ Q,

I find your point #3 interesting and definitely worth discussion. I would like to highlight this aspect that you brought up:

"It's the privilege of every captain to decide when an emergency warrants the sacrifice of a member of the crew."

Admitting this point as relevant would require admitting one other point into relevance: that Tuvix was a member of the ship's crew. Asserting this point is quite a big deal and requires actually repudiating most of the arguments made in favor of Janeway's decision (i.e. that Tuvix wasn't really an individual but just two crewmen smooshed together; or that this is really just a sort of medical problem for Neelix and Tuvok that needs repairing). And if sacrificing Tuvix can be justified by virtue of him being a member of the crew, who in turn are completely under the command of the Captain (a point in which I agree with you completely, and the dangers of which are frequently examined in TOS but rarely later), what happens if the crew member resigns their commission rather than obey, as Data tried to do in Measure of a Man? I would think the overwhelming opinion in Measure of a Man was that Data was being treated unjustly; first because he was going to be destroyed 'for science', but more importantly because he wasn't going to be allowed to resign. The latter point could only be justified if he was considered to be Starfleet property, which the hearing finally determined he was not. He didn't in fact have to resign as it appeared that Cdr. Maddox withdrew his transfer order once he saw the quagmire he was in.

Getting back to Tuvix, is he Starfleet property? If not, why can't he resign rather than obey an order? Starfleet Captains have no jurisdiction as far as I know to require civilian passengers to undertake life-threatening experiments. All of this has been granting the assumption that Tuvix is in fact a member of the crew, which your point #3 requires. But let's say he isn't one: after all, he's a seemingly new life form of a new species (Vulcan/Talaxian blend), who despite having the memories of two crew members (remember: Data has the memories of an entire colony) has never interacted with this crew before. Due to his skills he apparently volunteers to help out with duties he can do well, but as far as I can tell Janeway goes along with this more out of whimsy (heck, why not?) than out of deciding to give him an official commission with Tuvok's old rank. So I don't really see any sign that he's conscripted into Starfleet in this episode. I also don't know if I accept that the Voyager is in a crisis during this episode, nor that by being stranded this ship is 'perpetually in crisis' because that would basically mean the Captain could invoke "emergency measures" at her whim regardless of how stable or unstable the situation is, and that doesn't sit easy with me. Compard to most of the races they meet I think the Voyager crew is doing just fine. Actually this is a chief complain of some viewers, especially BG fans, which is that VOY should have had a lot more of the ship in trouble and lacking things (re: infinite shuttles). Considering they seem to usually have enough of everything I doubt I would accept that an emergency condition here warranted sacrificing someone; unless the emergency in question is "Neelix and Tuvok are in trouble." And in that case we revert back to the original question, which is whether it's acceptable to summarily sacrifice an unwilling civilian because Janeway prefers to have her two colleagues back instead.
Set Bookmark
Q
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 1:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I have been giving consideration to the legality of Tuvix's death at the hands of Captain Janeway. In the case of Voyager, there are three legal ways to look at this:

1) The JAG Officer. I do not believe Voyager had a JAG officer appointed, so no legal opinion was available at the time. If this incident took place in the Alpha quadrant, I think the issue would have been taken up by the Starfleet JAG corps, absent an emergency (see #3).

2) From the point-of-view of the Doctor, Tuvix was a sentient life form and he correctly decided he could not forcibly take his life, absent a court-issued death sentence conviction. He may have performed the procedure under protest if the Captain ordered him to anyway, but she did not. The Doctor undoubtedly made a medical log entry documenting the incident.

3) With respect to Peter G., it is a long-standing rule that the Captain is master and commander of their vessel with absolute and unquestioned authority over, and responsibility for, the ship, cargo and crew. It's the privilege of every captain to decide when an emergency warrants the sacrifice of a member of the crew. Who can deny there was an emergency? Voyager was stuck in a remote and hostile part of space and the two members of her crew that were made unavailable by the transporter incident were deemed essential personnel by her captain.

The decision to terminate the life of Tuvix was justified using #3. Janeway's actions (and the Doctor's logs) would of course be reviewed by the Admiralty at a convenient time and place. As we saw both in the first part of Endgame (which occurred after Tuvix and before the timeline change) and in Nemesis (which also occurred after Tuvix and presumably -but not necessarily- after the timeline change), she was promoted to an Admiral rank. If the Admiralty disagreed with her decision about Tuvix (which I personally doubt they did), it was not enough of an error to preclude her from being promoted.

The worse case scenario for Janeway here would be a reprimand for her decision. The probable case scenario is either a decision of justifiable homicide in an emergency situation with no adverse action taken, or no comment or discussion about the incident at all. In either instance, it probably made for a good debate in an ethics of command class at Starfleet Academy.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 10:11am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

I'm sure the food tastes differently regardless. Even food grown on different farms can taste different, and I'm sure the few varieties programmed into the replicator are quite different from what you'd grow in your back yard, depending on soil, etc etc.

That said I find it amazing that the amount of complaints DS9 in particular gets that comes from all sides. Some people don't like the pretense of being beyond economics and claim that the Federation as stated is a bunch of nonsense; therefore the criticisms of the Ferengi green are ill-founded. Others argue that DS9 puts way too much emphasis on Jake getting a job, and here on the Sisko restaurant being some kind of throwback to capitalism. No matter what Trek does it will either be too fantastical or not fantastical enough, so it's hard to win under those conditions.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

I don’t recall DS9 ever saying homegrown food actually tastes better as a matter of fact - rather, it’s an opinion. It could be that the labor put into growing, picking, and preparing your own food has a psychological value that feels good regardless of the actual flavor.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 12:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

@BRIAN
"DS9 also really strains credibility with their world building. So wait... Siskos dad just loves running a restaurant? I guess for no money. And he loves peeling potatoes? What? I'm not following."
Yeah, there are people who do things and money is only a byproduct. Cooking for people, creating something unique that makes people happy is a very respectable profession.

"I guess DS9 makes explicit that “real” food is better than Replicated food but..... I thought the whole point was that we don’t need to grow food in a post scarcity society."
It is post scarcity because of replicators but given the choice quite a few would probably enjoy a meal made out of real vegetables and so forth. It is certainly not forbidden to grow food.

"I guess Sisko is both an awful son and father, dragging around his elderly dad in the desert?"
I thought the Ben's father wanted to come.
Set Bookmark
Matt
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Bliss

Am I the only one that had a problem with Naomi on the mission? Why on earth would her parent, or any responsible starship captain allow a child on a mission like that? Especially with how often the Voyager shuttle missions go awry!
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 9:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Evolution

Really boring.

Eggs and mothers and reproduction . . . they're going for something here, but it's hard to care.

Did not like it at all. Dull, nutty technonabble, sorta preachy . . . some nice special effects, though.

Onto episode 2 with hopes the rest of the season will be better.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Image in the Sand

This two parter was garbage and this episode simply awful. I usually like Siskos Acting but he was dreadful in these two episodes.

DS9 also really strains credibility with their world building. So wait... Siskos dad just loves running a restaurant? I guess for no money. And he loves peeling potatoes? What? Im not following. I guess DS9 makes explicit that “real” food is better than Replicated food but..... I thought the whole point was that we don’t need to grow food in a post scarcity society. How many farmers are needed in this future? Are there factory farms? Or all small homegrown farms?


What was the point of the violent commercial cliffhanger of Sisko getting stabbed if they heal him in like two second after it happened?

I guess Sisko is both an awful son and father, dragging around his elderly dad in the desert?

Just wierd all around. Im glad the series has improved since this ep.
Set Bookmark
BRiAN
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 8:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: The Siege of AR-558

Watching the show for the first time in 2019, I was really starting to lose interest by the end of season 6 and the awful Star Wars wanna be two parter that started this season. Im glad theyve had a great run of episodes and diving back into the Dominion War in a less silly and more intelligent way.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I was getting a fashy vibe from those grey uniforms in the opening scene... I knew we were dealing with a society with messed up beliefs.
Set Bookmark
Machias
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

To all the folks that claimed Species 8472 have been "neutered" and that no alien race would be empathetic, your response is so very human, albeit, American human.

As I continue my journey through Voyager from beginning to end, this episode has been one of the best.
Set Bookmark
Archideus
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Rogue Planet

And at the end when Archer took the hand of the Alien/Woman and looked here in the eyes, I heard a voice in my head. It was the Cinema Snob shouting "And then they banged. HARD!"
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 9:26am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek V: The Final Frontier

So I watched movies IV - VI this weekend because they were free on Amazon Prime. The infamous Row, Row, Row Your Boat scene is ironically a setup for a pivotal moment of the climax. When meeting !NotGod, Bones asks Kirk if this is all a dream, and Kirk answers “If that’s true then life is a dream.” Yeah, the rest of the rowboat song is the punchline of the film. They even put a boat steering wheel on the ENT-A so we’re sure not to miss the analogy. Let that boat analogy sink in (get it, sink? I kill me!), because apparently this is meant to be taken as mystic wisdom the film imparts.

Anyway, Jammer’s review is great. This is easily the worst of the Trek films - with Nemesis hot on its heels. The one thing I think it gets right is the idea that Kirk, Spock, and Bones need not fear death alone because they have each other. This almost makes the film worth it, but honestly after Search For Spock it feels like a message that could’ve been left unspoken.

Finally, I nearly jumped out of my chair reading William B’s review until about 3/4’s the way when I picked up on the gag. Bravo, sir!
Set Bookmark
Alvez
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 10:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges

How cool would it have been if Commander Sela, Tasha Yar's offspring from the "Yesterday's Enterprise" alternate timeline, whom we haven't seen since TNG's Unification popped up in this episode. Even cooler if she was somehow connected to Section 31...
Set Bookmark
Alvez
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 10:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

Two more things:

1) Will Riker's disguise as a Bajoran is far-fetched. As the First Officer of the Federation Flagship he would be very recognizable, even with nose ridges.

2) It would be cool if Ro turns up in the PICARD series!
Set Bookmark
Alvez
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 10:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Preemptive Strike

It is interesting that the Marquis episodes in the last season of TNG and the second season of DS9 were designed to set up Voyager, but are actually more interesting than any of the Voyager Maquis episodes, perhaps with the exception of Repression.

I thought it would have been interesting if Ro had become part of Chakotay’s crew and wound up as a regular on Voyager, (like O’Brien moving from TNG to DS9) but that likely would have taken B’Elanna’s place and they probably didn’t want a major Bajoran character on two series airing at the same time...
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Counterpoint

That kiss is one of the most beautiful moments in Trek history. And that last shot ...

4 Stars. A perfect episode.

PS. The end did NOT feature Tuvok on the bridge.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 8:14am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@ Booming

That was hilarious!!

Yet I try to remember that as a whole, The Star Trek franchise, at it's worst is better than many programs on TV nowadays. Thank you for your post!
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Sun, Sep 15, 2019, 8:08am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@OmicronThetaDeltaPhi

Thank you for the advice. It sounds interesting and I will look forward to exploring this hopeful option!!
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Sat, Sep 14, 2019, 6:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

@TIM -1
"Sadly, I am midway through S-6 and getting closer to the end of the last virgin- viewing episodes of Star Trek as I have known it. I think I will start stretching them out...like a child making the candy last."

You might want to give "The Orville" a shot, if you haven't done so already. It's a show inspired by Old Trek that shakes a few details up, including the fact that the crew relies far less on magic technobabble to solve their problems. They don't even have transporters (and I think you'd really appreciate their take on the holodecks as well). So if you like TOS and Enterprise, you should definitely check this one out.

A fair warning:

Fans of Old Trek tend to either adore the Orville or hate it with passion. The show has some comedic and dramatic elements that aren't for everyone. I, personally, fell in love with it immediately, but I've also seen Trekkies having the opposite reaction.

So I suggest you treat this as an experiment. Give the show a chance and see where it leads. If you end up loathing it, no biggie. Just stop watching. But if you end up liking it, than that's 26 fresh Trek-like episodes for you to watch (with another season coming up next year).
Next ►Page 1 of 2,598
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.