Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 63,171 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,527
Set Bookmark
Springy
Fri, May 24, 2019, 3:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Tholian Web

Some goofy stuff going on and things don't make much sense, but overall, a good, entertaining story is told.

The McCoy Spock stuff was a bit awkward and overdone, but still the best part.

I'm having a hard time getting through TOS, but I'm going to persevere to the end.

This messy, goofy, awkward offering seems above average to me.

How many more of these do I have?
Set Bookmark
R
Fri, May 24, 2019, 2:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Collaborator

@Max
Just too many stupid comments, I'm afraid.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Thu, May 23, 2019, 11:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

How about: when Janeway altered the timeline in "Endgame", Voyager's early return caused a butterfly on Earth to flap its wings, which lead to Starfleet's Chief Of Fashion making a different call on 2390's uniform design, and also his choice of sandwich for lunch.

Fun fact: I'm in my tenth year of military life and my fourth uniform (fifth if you count the new dress uniforms!) Starfleet's got nothin' on the ADF.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Thu, May 23, 2019, 10:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Both the gray topped uniforms and the monochrome tops are consistent across the futures of most of the series (alternate or not) and were even used by the Enterprise crew in the movies so I can't see a reason for not using them.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Thu, May 23, 2019, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

^^ Chalk it up to alternate timelines, I guess.

There's a teaser trailer now, too:

https://youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=f3om4V_-Y0Q

Like DSC, the production values at least are gorgeous.
Set Bookmark
Lupe
Thu, May 23, 2019, 7:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Captive Pursuit

I'm a bit confused as to how O'brien 's actions constitute trampling all over the Prime Directive. I realise it can be a rather rubbery concept, but it is generally invoked when dealing with pre-warp civilisations (e.g. Starfleet Captains are prepared to let pre-warp civilisations go extinct rather than lift a finger, but will gladly shove asteroids out of the way if a warp-capable society is involved). In the case of a warp-capable civilisation the PD does get invoked in certain situations, such as not taking sides in the Klingon Civil War, but I'm doubtful that O’Brien's interference in The Hunt could possibly be construed as anything close to that.

Well, anyway, other than it bringing back memories of those boring Hirogen episodes of Voyager, which of course were years away, I enjoyed this ep, as I have all the DS9 eps so far. Season 1 may not be up to the high standard the show would achieve later, but with the minor exception of Rom, the show hit the ground running.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Thu, May 23, 2019, 6:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

So the Picard teaser:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3om4V_-Y0Q&feature=share

It's fine. It's a teaser. There's obviously a mystery about where Picard's been. He's no longer in Starfleet. He's downcast. It's beautifully shot. Didn't make me more or less excited for the show.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Thu, May 23, 2019, 5:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@William B, it's amazing how many people forget that, but it's so true. Reboots can actually be good if you actually get good writers and have some good ideas. Battlestar Galactica and Rise of Planet of the Apes are to me the gold standard for reboots.
Set Bookmark
Tom
Thu, May 23, 2019, 5:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

Wouldn't the uniforms be what we saw on All Good Things? Picard certainly looks older in the trailer than he did there.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, May 23, 2019, 5:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

^

I'm ever so slightly optimistic about this ... I like that someone in the production was wise enough to resist the urge to tinker with the labels of Chateau Picard wine or the way the vineyard looks or the uniforms! (I can accept that the Starfleet designers -in the"actual" future- didn't go with those ugly-ass uni-color uniforms. )
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Thu, May 23, 2019, 4:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Oh, and nice musical call-back to the TMP/TNG theme at the end.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Thu, May 23, 2019, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Ok. Just saw the teaser trailer for Picard. Not sure what to think yet. Though the vineyard footage was beautifully shot.

On another note, I wonder why they’re using the TOS rendering of the Star Trek wordmark in this logo, but not for Discovery.

Also, @Jammer: maybe time to create a new section of comments for the Picard show?
Set Bookmark
Snitch
Thu, May 23, 2019, 2:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

CBS took down the Star Trek:Picard trailer, but the internet never forgets

https://streamable.com/ad5re

It reveals a bit what happened to Captain Picard since we saw him last.
Set Bookmark
William B
Thu, May 23, 2019, 2:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

It's weird and cool that there's a new DuckTales and people like it. I haven't followed it (and have only the vaguest childhood memories of the original) but it is kind of neat -- if symptomatic of the endless reboots. I guess my general rule is that if reboots are good, they're good. Tautology but hey.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Squire of Gothos

Very enjoyable, mostly because of Campbell's extremely solid acting.

3 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Jammer
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I haven't really watched much of it, but my 6-year-old daughter really likes the new DuckTales. She doesn't get all the social media references, but hey.
Set Bookmark
Dark Kirk
Thu, May 23, 2019, 6:37am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

Rewatching this episode, I'm struck at two things about Sisko. He is O'Brien's antagonist, right up to the last piece of dialogue in the episode, and often is O'Brien's antagonist throughout the series. Also, when he authorized Kira to talk to the Bajoran scientist even though she said would not set foot on Bajor, it was played as if he realized what she planned to do. It was an early instance of him being desperate enough to cross an ethical line because everyone on the station, including his son, was in jeopardy. Good writing.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Thu, May 23, 2019, 2:23am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: For the World Is Hollow and I Have Touched the Sky

A great concept, poorly executed.

The McCoy Instant Big Romance was more convincing than Jadzia's in Meridian, because at least he had the excuse of terminal illness to explain his crazy decision. But points off this ep right there, for making me think of Meridian.

Very little chemistry though the actors were charismatic enough. Natira looked about 20 yrs younger than the Doc, which didn't help. And there was almost zero interaction before undying love was declared. Ugh.

Some good Spocky moments and I liked the interaction with Christine.

I think maybe there was meant to be some parallel between McCoy's hollowness and the asteroid's, and how crisis can reveal what's lacking and give direction and purpose to our journeys.

Average.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Thu, May 23, 2019, 1:56am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Day of the Dove

Plusses: Getting a bit of emotion out of Spock. Michael Ansara.

Minuses: Boring because of repetitive stretches and its insanely obvious predictability. Who didn't know, right from the beginning, when Kirk was remembering things differently from Kang, where this was going?

Below average.
Set Bookmark
Hapleha
Thu, May 23, 2019, 12:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Dear Doctor

Amazing Episode.

I read all the comments and it was, mostly, very interesting. I feel like it is one of the rare episode were the subject was too vast for a TV show and certainly for one episode.
I love the a/b plot structure of classic trek - so far Entreprise did not use it enough, whilst Orville is becoming a master of it - but, as someone noted before, the B plot may have taken too much time for a clear exposition of the dilemma at hand.

Dilemma is the keyword. Many here have oversimplified the topic by saying it was only a matter of giving help or not.
The strength of this script is that it never tried to show a biased vision of this new world. Too many time in Star Trek the point of view of the captain (and the viewer) is quickly shown as a very simple very basic social issue that the mighty Starfleet will try to resolve in a few days. For this to work, the writer make the conundrum simple by exaggerating the divisions and the arguments of each belligerent. DS9 was at his best when dealing with Bajoran politics and the complexity of the situation because they took the time to expose it.

Here, it would have been very easy for the writers to help our candide captain by making the dominant species vile, ill-intended or more clearly supporters of slavery. The script could have shown a immediate and certain bad side effect of the so called “cure” but they use no shortcuts. The letter structure allowed a clear, even distant, description of the situation by a non-human point of view almost like an omniscient narration.

In my humble opinion, the situation should have been presented this way: Is it the Entreprise right to alter the DNA of an entire species, even at their demand? The rules of self-determination are of no use here because the aliens are not developed enough to do the alterations themselves and understand the consequences. The rules for genetics modifications in the Federation are the result of a war and decade of thinking.Amazing Episode.

I read all the comments and it was, mostly, very interesting. I feel like it is one of the rare episode were the subject was too vast for a TV show and certainly for one episode.
I love the a/b plot structure of classic trek - so far Entreprise did not use it enough, whilst Orville is becoming a master of it - but, as someone noted before, the B plot may have taken too much time for a clear exposition of the dilemma at hand.

Dilemma is the keyword. Many here have oversimplified the topic by saying it was only a matter of giving help or not.
The strength of this script is that it never tried to show a biased vision of this new world. Too many time in Star Trek the point of view of the captain (and the viewer) is quickly shown as a very simple very basic social issue that the mighty Starfleet will try to resolve in a few days. For this to work, the writer make the conundrum simple by exaggerating the divisions and the arguments of each belligerent. DS9 was at his best when dealing with Bajoran politics and the complexity of the situation because they took the time to expose it.

Here, it would have been very easy for the writers to help our candide captain by making the dominant species vile, ill-intended or more clearly supporters of slavery. The script could have shown a immediate and certain bad side effect of the so called “cure” but they use no shortcuts. The letter structure allowed a clear, even distant, description of the situation by a non-human point of view almost like an omniscient narration.

In my humble opinion, the situation should have been presented this way: Is it the Entreprise right to alter the DNA of an entire species, even at their demand? The rules of self-determination are of no use here because the aliens are not developed enough to do the alterations themselves and understand the consequences. The rules for genetics modifications in the Federation are the result of a war and decades of thinking.

I agree with those who said that the destiny of this planet is certainly not over once the Entreprise left. We know that everything that happens on a Starfleet starship is studied and scrutinized by the hierarchy and acadamy and it is certainly truer for the flagship and only deep space ship. Archer just decided that he was not capable to make a immediate and world-changing decision and took a temporary one.

P.s.: Apologies for the uncertain grammar, English is not my native language.
Set Bookmark
Ellert
Wed, May 22, 2019, 11:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: The Masterpiece Society

It was very frustrating to watch this episode in this day and age, as the extreme stance against genetic engineering doesn't seem to fit the reality of genetic engineering at all.
The rigid painting of this society as a result of genetic engineering seems very short sighted and the disgust of Picard and Geordie towards ANY genetic tempering seems a bit childish.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Wed, May 22, 2019, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

What do we all think about the five seconds of leaked ST:P footage?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhnXRrRv5oM

Seems like Picard is no longer a household name twenty years post-Nemesis.

There’s also a leaked set photo here:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D6shNmRXoAQropK?format=jpg&name=large

At the very least, it’s fun to see 24th century uniforms again!

(I left this comment on Jammer's Blog, but I don't think it shows up in the comment stream on the reviews site, so it felt appropriate to leave it here instead as the last appearance of Picard.)
Set Bookmark
Michel Filion
Wed, May 22, 2019, 8:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resistance

It got me all sad at the end when the poor man dies with his head turned towards the camera and then on the wide shot 2 seconds later it is turned away from the camera... I doubt very much Janeway flipped it! I liked the episode. Pretty great acting from Joel and Kate.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Wed, May 22, 2019, 5:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

@Chrome, yes, that's the one. I tuned in because I was a Darkwing Duck fan, but came away very impressed. It also had some interesting things to say about what it means to be a fan. I agree, it's a bit puzzling that Ducktales has better social commentary than the current Star Trek show.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, May 22, 2019, 4:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Tapestry

'No use crying over spilt milk.'
In this quite decent tale we are reminded of something all of us know instinctively-that everything that happened to us led us to who we are now.

Stewart and De Lancie are great in this one and the story resonates in 'All Good Things' later on.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,527
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.