Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 60,020 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,401
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 10:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Sorry, the article does mention Spock.

But he still could return.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 10:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Bummer (re-trekmovie article). He could stay onboard for another year(s) and still be within cannon.

Mount's Pike has been outstanding.

Notice the article sisn't mention anything about Spock. :-)

Booming, what do you mean?
Set Bookmark
Meister
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Who Watches the Watchers

I was torn between 8/10 and 9/10 for tackling a topic such as the evil that religion can be.

At first glance I enjoyed this but there were some awful weaknesses (and then I came to enjoy it again.)

To start with the weaknesses: the anthropologist suggesting reintroducing a god is better than letting them know there are other species in space? ridiculous! The arrogance in that worldview is astonishing - may I say especially for an anthropologist?

I would suggest that being spied on is worse than knowing there are other species with superior technology. What gives the federation the right to spy on others like that. Yes I agree with what Picard says: that it gives insight into earth's past...or does it? to what extent and does that justify spying on others?

We study animals on earth but often it is because we need knowledge both to enjoy them but also to do the least harm to them.

The better part of the episode to me was the observation (whether intended or not) on religion and what it means to be advanced. The premise Picard and the Anthropologist debated here -the Prime Directive - was that the planet people needed to socially advance as well as technologically advance. And that is the Roddenberry arrogance - that humans have some how fundamentally changed socially through experiences to become more advanced...it isn't only the technology per se.

Ironically , the Star Trek universe is full of beings that are technologically advanced yet our Star Trek characters comment on their social backwardness: turning their noses up at the Klingons for example. In contrast, the Bajorans are considered advanced enough despite their deep religion.

Even if we don't live in the Star Trek era, we have advanced a lot in the last few hundred years. But have we changed fundamentally? Would we not go back to chaos if society breaks down (like in a war)? We have experienced cooperation, peace, democracy and know it is possible and can build towards that in fact insist on it. But I believe our nature would have us go back to chaos and the state of "lack of advancement" first (even with our technology) before we moved back to stability and our current advancement. Look how easy it is to introduce harm back into society with the ignorance of antivaxxers. A little bit of stress (fear) and people have thrown out science.

So what could a Prime Directive realistically ask for? Isn't it mostly technological advancement? What level of social change would be a true change in a set of beings?

The critique of religion was awesome and well shown not just told (although there was some of that in the heavy handed TNG fashion.) Although the religion being described here was couched as "superstition without guidance". Is that to placate present day religious people with a dig at cultures that worshipped the sun, for example, but don't have ever so superior "book of guidances"?


Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 9:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Emanations

Janeway steals the show in the last 2 minutes of the episode. Just remarkable. The first tear jerker in VOY for me.

3 Stars!
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 9:13am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

It would be nice if Discovery would start to do it's own thing.
Set Bookmark
Mertov
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 8:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

As much as I am enjoying Pike and Spock, loving Saru as a character, I'd prefer to see a new captain and watch Discovery develop its own adventures without any additional characters. Mount said when the season began that he was in it for a year so this is not really news (and some outlets reported it so back then). I am not sure Saru is fit (yet) to be captain either with the recent changes to his personality traits.
Set Bookmark
Yair
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 7:48am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

From what I'm seeing, just about every fan wants Saru promoted to captain in S3, and that's also the right call for DIS. The problem with Saru now is that the show took away his biggest characteristic. Perhaps there's one more episode returning to Kaminar, and then what?

DIS needs a new touch for the character lest he turns invisible. So far the showrunners concentrated on Saru's super-vision and that's nowhere near enough (apparently, computers can't zoom or do UV analysis in the future). Promotion would be the ticket for putting him in the spotlight again.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 6:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Well you're not alone, Booming. A lot of people didn't like Lorca. Personally, many of my favourite Trek captain stories have been the ones where they either went off the rails or came dangerously close to it. I wouldn't want it all the time, but it always made them seem more real to me when we saw that yep, they were just human themselves and could get their buttons pushed too. (Janeway in "Equinox" is my favourite story of this type. Mulgrew could bring on such a cold fury when she was given the opportunity. The cargo bay scene with Lessing and Chakotay makes me shiver just thinking about it.)

Similarly, I think that's what I found appealing about Lorca's character, and why I found it so frustrating when he got vaporised. As always with this show, YMMV.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 6:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Second Skin

Well, someone certainly decided this one was a good idea.

"We need to move the Dominion storyline forward."
"Are you kidding, we still have another 20 episodes to write. I know... what if KIRA IS A CARDASSIAN?"
"..."
"Ok guys, let' brainstorm the completely necessary 'Freedom Fighter Is Really The Enemy' ep."
Set Bookmark
Booming
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 6:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@ Tim C.
I didn't like Lorca from start to finish. I have seen Jason Isaacs in good roles (also in bad ones) but Lorca never worked for me. For a regular Starfleet captain he was to ruthless and when we found out that he was MU his behavior made more sense but also turned him into a one dimensional villain. When he got the axe I didn't feel anything.

Mount's Pike was good and was a very important factor in turning the USS Titanic away from the iceberg. With him the whole tone of the show changed. Sure he was the classic hero (which is the male version of Mary Sue, I guess) but he played that role very well. Would I like to see him continue to be captain. Yes. Could Saru be an even better captain. Probably.
Now that you mentioned it. Saru's whole two season arc seems to have prepared him to become captain. I would be ok with this soft and newly improved giant. Would be nice to see how he deals with the aftermath on Kaminar if he is actually in the captains chair.
Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 4:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Wayneio

Burnham didn't press the button because of the guilt she has about not doing anything when her parent's were killed that Spock had just reminded her, and provoked the PTSD she still has from that event. So this is a harsh reality that Burnham had to face and this is her not handling it well.

PS. She didn't start the war with the Klingons or fire first. Everyone who watches the series knows this. Hard to be a good judge of the writing of a show when one is ignoring some pretty basic facts about it.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 4:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

I'll be very, very sad to see Anson Mount go. He's been perhaps the brightest highlight of season two, and I think he's put a very definitive stamp on Pike. Much like I'll never really accept anybody but Shatner playing Kirk, I think Mount has a good claim to ownership of Pike now.

That said, I'm not feeling his loss as keenly as I did that of Jason Isaacs in the first season. Contrary to a lot of the opinion I see online, I actually didn't mind his reveal as a Mirror Universe villain. What I *did* mind was the lost storytelling opportunity of showing us how the influences of each world could impact a man like that. The show dropped the ball by not showing us how the lack of ethical constraints granted by a MU Captain could help or harm a Starfleet ship in a time of war, and then it dropped the ball *again* when it posited that his undercover time as a Starfleet captain hadn't changed his character at all.

(They may try again at exploring that ground with Emperor Georgiou, but I don't think Michelle Yeoh's performance is as nuanced as Isaacs'.)

Lorca (and Isaacs' portrayal of him) had layers, and could have remained a great fountain of character work for years to come. Pike has been great, but he's very very much a traditional hero, and such a character is more easily replaced.

Personally, I'm hoping they promote Saru. Doug Jones has earned it. His work this year has been great and I would absolutely tune in to see him in the big chair.
Set Bookmark
Waynieo
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 3:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Just one question. Why didn't Burnham press the button and release Airiam herself? Of course she didn't want to do it. But this show showed a lot more promise in its very its very first episode, and down the track its lost something. Consider that Burnham actually started a war by firing on the Klingons ..it was a mistake..A season down the track she can't decided to whether to relaese airiam and ultimately, although the show revolves around her a bit, a minor character has to do it for her. The show could be so much more if it had the courage to make serious decisions on behalf of the characters. To subject them to much harsher realities and to see how they cope. I suspect that that is where the better writing lies...
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 3:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Well, folks — on a completely different note — I'm afraid our time with Anson Mount's Pike comes to an end after S02 is done:

https://trekmovie.com/2019/03/18/report-anson-mount-not-returning-for-star-trek-discovery-season-3/
Set Bookmark
belfastbiker
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 12:38am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Wonderful review as always, you're always one I check when doing rewatches. :)

Set Bookmark
spinalatte
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 12:18am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Cogenitor

I found Archer's reaction a little hard to take. So far in this series, this crew has been all over the map and SO inconsistent with what they are doing with first contacts. Archer was right in saying "he has not set a good example," as it easily could have been Archer obsessed with righting the wrongs of another species, instead of joyriding through the atmosphere of a hypergiant star when this was all going down.

All in all, I enjoyed it, Trip went a little overboard, especially when two lectures from the doctor and two from the science officer still did not seem to derail his intentions to muck about in this species' affairs. (pardon the pun) 4/4 is too high for me, 3.5 would be closer to what i am feeling.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 12:12am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Menagerie

This is a great ep, the best so far. It has some flaws, but the pilot footage was used very creatively and a compelling, touching story was told.

Deforrest Kelly is so great as McCoy and Nimoy is really coming into his own. The story drags a bit when they're showing the transmission from Talos, but not too badly.

Miss Piper is the mandatory, gratuitously sexy lady in this ep, batting her eyes at Kirk and flirtatiously mentioning his past dalliance with a friend of hers. But Susan Oliver and Jeffrey Hunter win the all-time gorgeous couple award. Wow. Pretty people.

The guy playing disabled Pike is effectively cast, and the yes-or-no beeping was surprisingly moving. A sense of urgency was conveyed despite the limited communication. It was surprisingly obvious that Pike cared for Spock, still had a captain's sense of responsibility toward him, and was begging Spock not to endanger his life and career.

Nicely done!

Set Bookmark
belfastbiker
Tue, Mar 19, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 1

"The unforgettable image I will take from this episode, above all others, is when Roslin crosses that line. Here is a woman so ill, so frail, that she can barely walk. She shakes with every step. But she is going. Roslin's determination and courage in this moment was so moving, so emotional — such a victorious scene of triumphant will — that I just lost it. This BSG viewer wept at the screen. "

Same here. My current rewatch was done a few years after mum died of various cancers, and she lived with me in her in her last year, every day.

The familiar courage brought me to tears.
Set Bookmark
Daya
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@Drea:

Very interesting. Consider the ending of Jorney to Babel. "Emotional isn't she.." The way I see it, Spock / Sarek are clearly joking about Amanda. It is only thinly veiled as logical discourse. They are fooling no one, especially not themselves. (It's amazing by the way how Lenard manages to show even lesser on his face than Nimoy.)

So I submit to you that at a superficial level Vulcans do have feelings and their culture makes them obsessively hide those feelings and deny any emotionality to their behaviour. At a deeper level, though, Vulcans' access to logic is far better than other species. In a sense the latter is what Surak really proposed, the former being superficial social norms that have developed around it. (You can draw parallels with religions, especially Oriental ones -- there are a core set of philosophical beliefs, which develop into many social behaviors as philosophy develops into religion.)

Maybe I am saying the same thing you are. But at least in TOS, my understanding of Spock / Sarek was not *just* "Making decisions on emotion and using whatever logical explanation it takes to justify those actions". I specifically wanted to stick to TOS and not bring in the rest of the canon. I do agree that ENT Vulcans are described well by your statement. And in many other comments, I have myself commented on TOS Spock's passive-aggressive tendencies. Only I think that he was well beyond his superficial passive aggression.

For example, Spock / Sarek's disagreement over Spock's career had a clear father-son ego clash vibe to it. But at a deeper level, there was a real philosophical disagreement as well - about how Spock should best use his gifts in service of the greater good. I hope I am making some sense.

I will review Balance of Terror per your recommendation. Thanks for the discussion. I would be happy to be enlightened further.
Set Bookmark
Alan Roi
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 8:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

@MadManMUC

Those of us whose watching of Star Trek predates 1987 understand that the ensemble isn't the only way Star Trek has been written. Over the course of TOS we never learned much about anyone not named Kirk, Spock and McCoy. Neither Uhura nor Sulu were even given first names. Did Star Trek suffer creatively? Not according to any list of outstanding episodes of the franchise ever compiled. TOS regularly is represented in double compared with any following series.

I don't disagree that those taught that the 1987-2004 era is 'proper trek' and are upset that the bridge crew isn't the be all and end all of what a Star Trek should be about, but like DS9, Discovery is a ensemble, just not a TNG, VOY, ENT ensemble.

That being said, Discovery has offered focus on 5 members of the ships crew (Burnham, Saru, Stamets, Tyler, Lorca/Pike) plus an additional 7 ancillary characters in each season on external recurring characters including Sarek, Amanda, T'Rell, Admiral Cornwell, Spock, Culber, Georgiou, each of which have had as much light shone on them as lesser ensemble members of any Trek show. That is an ensemble of 12 recurring characters over a course of a mere 24 episodes.

One doesn't like the ensemble as it is constructed, fair enough, I didn't care for the milquetoaste and dilute ensembles featured in TNG, VOY and ENT either. One pretends there is no similarly broad ensemble of characters in the show at all? That's pathological denial.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I usually don't criticize something without exposing myself to it with an open mind. But that's just me.
Set Bookmark
Perry
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 7:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Blood of Patriots

If Orville's season boring already, then look no further. Here's one: https://www.reddit.com/r/TheOrville/comments/b2gjjn/it_is_sad_day_yaphits_body_was_found_inside_a/
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 6:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

Any more episodew like this and I'm calling the Angry Marines.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 6:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S1: Old Wounds

I don't understand The Orville. I haven't watched it, as I don't want something that seems almost like a parody of Trek. I'd rather just have a well written and produced Trek show. Discovery is Abramsverse Trek, craps all over the idea of canon, the characters are all awful and the battle scenes are nearly impossible to tell what's happening as the ship designs are horrid and convoluted - DS9 did it loads better. And yet... I'd watch season 2 of Discovery rather than start watching The Orville.

I mean, the first episode according to Jammer is about a captain whose marriage has just broken up... who gives a toss about marriage? Let's have an adventure or something, preferably without purely ripping off a beloved franchise.
Set Bookmark
NoPoet
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

This episode should have appeared halfway through the last season.

Tucker shouldn't have died.

The pointless 6 year time jump should have been shitcanned (screw you Braga, you soulless one trick pony you).

If those conditions had been met, this would easily have been one of my all time favourite Trek episodes. Warm, witty, with wonderful performances all round and that good old nostalgic pang to see the 1701 D recreated so faithfully, a decade after the show was over and the ship was destroyed. This was the impossible made real. Still one of the best crossover episodes by miles, undone by a few serious, appalling, unforgivable oversights by everyone's favourite morons.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,401
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.