Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 65,762 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,631
Set Bookmark
Elliott
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 2:24pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Looking for Par'mach in All the Wrong Places

Teaser : ***.5, 5%

Bashir and Quark are (independently) eavesdropping on the O'Briens having an argument in their quarters. Well sort of. Keiko strolls up the corridor and snidely greets them as she enters her home. It turns out that Miles and *Kira* are the ones getting into a spat. All in all this is pretty creepy. Moving on.

Worf and Jadzia are talking Klingon opera. I'll concede that any time the writers try getting technical with musical terms, it's completely nonsensical, so I extend to the scientists who watch Trek some sympathy with the usual technobabble. The idea that a singer would vary his performance “by a half-tone,” is ludicrous. Varying one's performance by a half-tone is called failing to sing properly. The point of this little tiff is of course:

DAX: You know, for a Klingon who was raised by humans, wears a Starfleet uniform and drinks prune juice, you're pretty attached to tradition. But that's okay. I like a man riddled with contradictions.

Juicy. *Prune* juicy in fact. Speaking of, Grilka and her entourage step onto the Promenade, causing Worf's heart to skip a beat. He gawks at her for a moment before following her to Quark's. Upon seeing her embrace her ex-husband, Dax recalls her identity and relays the goofy conceit of “The House of Quark” to a scowling Worf.

Act 1 : **.5, 17%

Quark and Grilka catch up over drinks and she lays out the premise for this week; the war has cost her house money, er, somehow. Quark agrees to take a look at her financial records.

Meanwhile, Dax finishes recapping “The House of Quark” for Worf in Ops, before diagnosing him with “a bad case of Par'mach,” which is Klingon for “aggressive boner.”

Back to the B, or C plot...Julian prescribes Miles a face-mask to tame Kira's pregnancy sneezes and a trip with himself to the holosuite for some fun...of the decidedly platonic type, unfortunately.

O'BRIEN: I can't go to the holosuite tonight. Kira and I have some things to work out.
BASHIR: Still fighting, huh?
O'BRIEN: Who said we were fighting?
BASHIR: Word gets around. It's a small station.
O'BRIEN: It's a huge station.

Why, why...it can hold almost 300 people, it can! As they converse, it becomes clear that his relationship with Kira is becoming complicated by their surrogacy situation. This is one of those times where Trek ages poorly. What in 1996 was pitched as such a far-fetched premise that it yields (allegedly funny) sci-fi circumstances with which to deal, is not remotely weird or particularly funny through the lens of 2019.

In Quark's, Worf throws Morn out of his seat and demands a drink from the bartender before engaging in further stupid Klingon courtship rituals by screaming at Grilka's aid. Tumek, the old counsellor calls off the charade before explaining to Worf, calmly and clearly, that he's a bastard pariah of the Empire and that Grilka would sooner re-marry Rom than mate with him.

Act 2 : ***, 17%

Dax consoles Worf on the Defiant mess but is interrupted by Worf's favourite Ferengi. Quark admits to her that he's been invited to Grilka's for dinner and is hoping to spin the evening into a rekindled romance. Worf is incensed, but Dax plays it cool—she's explaining to Quark that his hopes of a one-night-stand are folly with most Klingons (c.f. “The Emissary”), but also subtly telegraphing to Worf that she very much understands the Klingon heart. Worf suggests bringing a carcass to the affair because, you know, Klingon.

Meanwhile, Miles is living his best Three's Company life. I'll say now that I agree with William B that this whole story idea is ill-conceived from the get-go. I just get bored when the Trek writers can't seem to treat sexuality with maturity, which is to say, most of the time. This isn't a DS9 problem—in fact DS9 probably handles sex better than the other series overall—but one of the redeeming features of early TNG was the openness with which the crew seemed to treat sexual activity. Hooking up is fine. Polyamory and open relationships are fine. Why get bent out of shape about it? If Miles and Kira are developing an attraction to each other, then they and Keiko should talk about what that means for their relationship. Keiko at least isn't acting like a fool during all this.

We cut to Worf singing along to his Klingon operas on the Defiant bridge. Quark interrupts again to report that his evening with Grilka went swimmingly.

QUARK: She spent about an hour talking about her family history. A rather long and bloody tale, but what else is new? Then we ate the lingta, which tasted really bad, listened to some noise which she called Klingon music, and I left.
WORF: A perfect evening.
QUARK: Almost. Her bodyguard was giving me threatening looks all night.
WORF: That is to be expected. The idea of a Ferengi courting a great lady is offensive.
QUARK: You know, it's attitudes like that that keep you people from getting invited to all the really good parties.

The prospect of winning Grilka's heart—even for Quark and not himself—is too tempting for Worf to refuse. Really, this is a lighter-toned version of the perspective on Worf we saw in “Apocalypse Rising”: his academic expertise in Klingon tradition and culture allows him to subvert the political structures of his own people. For Worf, it's both a thrill and a shameful burden to engage with them this way.

Act 3 : ***, 17%

So we find ourselves in what is probably one of Alexander's holodeck training programmes that Worf clutched to his chest and cried over when the boy told him he wanted to be a botanist or whatever. Worf is observing while Dax and Quark vanquish holographic Klingons. Jadzia is getting into it (performatively, it should be noted), but Quark is having a hard time enjoying himself. Given the Cyrano plot, it's actually rather hilarious that what this scene reminds me of is “The Nth Degree,” with Quark in the role of Barclay and Worf playing the overzealous director Dr Crusher. And indeed, this isn't a training programme, it's an historical reenactment of an epic Klingon Romance. Like their human counterparts, there's a lot of bloodshed preceding the boning in Klingon epic Romances.

We get an appearance from Odo as he berates Kira in his office over Miles slacking off in his maintenance duties. Kira defends him, and Odo echoes Bashir's taunting tone over their apparent intimacy.

ODO: Which part?
KIRA: What?
ODO: Which part of his family are you? Sister? Daughter? Cousin?

See, this is what I mean about ageing poorly—a *man* who a few months ago was being judged by his “family” in an ocean made of organic goo is being paternalistic towards Kira for her “unconventional” family situation. It just feels so childish. I admit that I haven't read or seen Cyrano since I was like 9 years old, and I have not bothered to revisit it, so maybe these side conversations are a symptom of replicating the source material, but that's still not an excuse.

Grilka and Quark emerge from the holosuite laughing and thirsty for some libations. She puts the question to him as to why he go to all this effort.

GRILKA: Acquire? Now you sound like a Ferengi again.
QUARK: I am a Ferengi. That means I have a talent for appreciating objects of great value.

It's interesting how much mileage this series gets out of juxtaposing Klingon and Ferengi values and their corresponding rhetorical devices. What, after all, is a courtship (in the medieval Romantic sense that Klingon customs clearly borrow from) but a ploy to acquire? Human marriage is very much about the inheritance and control of property. The feel-good love-language aspects we associate with it are very modern additions to what is, at its heart, a contract. And what's more capitalist than contracts?

Grilka seems to be falling for Quark's overtures, but, er, Toe Pack (is that his name?) screams and breaks up their little moment. He demands that Quark kill him tomorrow or be killed himself lest the honour-less Ferengi bespoil her noble house. Toe Pack is of course not so much a character as a personification of the sociopolitical and cultural barriers that would keep this romantic pair apart, like Melot in the tale of “Tristan and Isolda.”

Act 4 : **.5, 17%

Miles and Keiko are having a romantic evening at home and Kira arrives looking exhausted. She has decided to take a few days vacation on Bajor—mostly to get away from her growing attraction to Miles. But Keiko in classic sit-com fashion insists that she not go alone but take her husband with her. Cue whacky trombone music and canned laughter. Ugh.

Having found himself in a similar spot to “The House of Quark,” the eponymous Ferengi considers replicating his unlikely victory in that episode by daring Toe Pack to kill him. Worf notes that this won't work this time. Ah, but Dax has a truly ridiculous solution up her sleeve: smash cut to Quark besting Jadzia in the holosuite. She has attached some gizmos to Quark's neck that allow Worf to control his movements. Boy, that would have been handy when Worf's spine was shattered, or in about a thousand other scenarios. But of course, we'll never see this tech again. See, DS9 is just as bad as the other series on this front. Quark goes to bed and Dax confronts Worf over his intense attraction to Grilka, and lets him know, with little ambiguity, that she's hot for him.

The next day, Quark appears to meet Toe Pack's challenge, with Worf's magical puppet strings attached. So they fight, fight, fight...but of course, something goes wrong and the link to Worf is severed by some sort of technical glitch. Ronald D Moore, everyone, master of original story-telling.

Act 5 : ***, 17%

While Dax works furiously to repair the unit, Quark stalls, using his own talents, inventing a Ferengi “rite of proclamation.” We get a mad-lib style Shakespearian sonnet that successfully allows Shimmerman to showcase his talents for a bit before the connection is restore, Toe Pack defeated (though not killed) and the fight concluded. The funniest moment has got to be when Quark and Grilka begin strangling each other (this is Klingon kink, not a lovers' quarrel); Jadzia severs the connect, denying Worf his avatar sex with Grilka and robbing Quark of the ability to match her strength.

WORF: What does she see in that parasite?
DAX: Who knows? But they're on the same wavelength, and at least Quark can see an opportunity when it's standing in front of him.
WORF: He would have to be blind not to see it.

So, Dax and Worf start fighting, then strangling, then...

We tie up Kira and O'Brien embarking on their romantic weekend—another pretty funny scene that almost manages to redeem this plot.

The coda sees the two romantic pairs being treated for Klingon sex injuries in the infirmary. They fuck so hard their bones break! Comedy!

Episode as Functionary : **, 10%

I can't say I endorse either of the non-Quark plots in this episode. Dax' and Worf's attraction to each other seems to be about nothing more than the fact that they both get hard for Klingon silliness. Similarly, Kira's and Miles' attraction is based on...um...massages? The problem is not that either of these couples would want to fuck and/or explore their unconventional pairing, it's that the episode insists that these attractions must be about something deeper. If that's going to be the premise, then the story completely fails to establish that depth. Then to reference the fact that Worf has always taken sex VERY seriously, only to dismiss it at the end feels rather cheap. All of that said, none of this was unpleasant to watch. The actors did a fine job conveying budding chemistry to my taste, and the humour and dialogue were smart and effective. The premise was bad, but the execution almost made up for it.

The Quark/Grilka romance still works for me, despite the contrived conflict and very silly deus ex Avatar resolution. What's weird is that we don't actually get any resolution to this pairing. Wasn't she having financial troubles? Are they getting married again? What gives? Did he tell her about the tech-tech?

So overall, this is an episode that almost works despite itself, thanks to some gentle character work with Worf and Quark and some very good performances, music, direction and design. Best not to think too hard about the implications of any of it, though.

Final Score : ***
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 1:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

I think it has become clear that what TNG needed were 15 minutes of flashbacks in every episode.

Wouldn't that have been fantastic?!

No. #deathtoflashbacks
Set Bookmark
Springy
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 1:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

I actually think that there are episodes that do refer back to this one, and the fact that this traumatic experience has stayed with Troi.

I could only remember one instance, so I looked up the wording, in The Offspring:

TROI: Why should biology rather than technology determine whether it is a child? Data has created an offspring. A new life out of his own being. To me, that suggests a child. If he wishes to call Lal his child, then who are we to argue? 
PICARD: Well, if he must, but I fail to understand how a five foot android with heuristic learning systems and the strength of a ten men can be called a child. 
TROI: You've never been a parent.

That last line - that's a deliberate reference, I think.

I have a vague feeling I've noted others as we went along.

Not that it didn't deserve a bit more attention and emphasis for get character development, but my feeling is that it wasn't zero.

If any more examples come to me, I'll post it. I'm thinking possibly with Lwaxana . . .
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 1:01pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

I've mentioned this in other sections, but one issue with post-hoc criticism of the reset button for TNG is that it's coming from people who are streaming these in complete order or in any order they'd like -- on demand. Similarly, professional reviewers watched every single episode in order because...it was their job!

The reality of the viewing situation for the common viewer of TNG was that local networks aired episodes out of order and on weird dates. I watched TNG during its original broadcast starting around season 4, but my local networks would dance around with episode order and clump earlier season episodes with the new ones. Honestly, it was somewhat confusing what season we were on. That's the deal with syndication, it's not consistent like your Netflix stream or even your UPN-guaranteed weekly time slot.

To that end, throwing out a bunch of callbacks and continuity nods just doesn't pay off in syndication. If during "Face of the Enemy" Troi said something like "I haven't been this violated since I gave birth to an alien baby!", a large number of the audience would be scratching their heads. This is the perspective you need to keep in mind.

FWIW, TNG's writers snuck in some interesting story arcs despite the studio restrictions. Peter mentioned the Worf material but the Tasha story thread worked really well too, among others.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 12:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

@ Top Hat,

Good points about BBS's and such. In general I think fan interactions with celebrities are infinitely higher now than in the past, but it may also be true that certain niches of Hollywood workers like writers may have had less celebrity and thus more approachability in the past.

As for my nixing the criticism, I'm totally ok with not liking the rest button. I, myself, have a problem with it actually. All I'm saying is that it's not fair to call out TNG for it as if they had an artistic choice and made a decision to nix any character development episode to episode. It really wasn't their call, and if reviewers in the 80's/90's complained about it then I must surmise they were aware of this, or else they'd be complaining about the networks instead of the show. Admittedly that's a guess on my part. VOY, however, it's much more fair to call out for that since they had every opportunity to carry forward character changes but for the most part kept not only the format but the reset button TNG-style.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 12:29pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

There were already digital spaces of fan interaction in the late '80s (there were Star Trek newsgroups and BBs in the 80s -- that's where Lynch uploaded his reviews), plus "meatspace" environments like fanclubs (which distributed their own fanzines) and conventions. I know people who had lunch with the likes of Ron Moore at conventions in the early '90s... the writers were arguably more accessible then than now, when there are a thousand cameras on them. A smaller circle of interactivity, to be sure, but i don't think it's valid to construct TNG's viewers as perfect innocents, cloistered off into their own corners of ignorance.

I take the point that most TV was fairly unserialized in the 1980s (short of events like a character leaving or dying or whatever) other than soap operas; as an aside, I'm not sure why we always like the pretend those are complete separate to the rest of TV, especially since shows like Dynasty, Falcon Crest and Dallas essentially ported the daytime soap format over to weekly evening TV. But there were shows like Hill Street Blues and L.A. that were praised precisely because they had ongoing plot arcs and let their characters change and grow over time. As you indicate, it's a slightly different ball game in syndication. I'm just not sure why that means "I don't like the Reset Button" is thus an invalid criticism, or that it's necessarily founded in ignorance (a person can wish for something to be different while understanding why it is not, no?). After all, the reason why we see more serialization later on is in part because audiences demonstrated a taste for it.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 11:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

@ Top Hat,

That's fair, but on the other hand I doubt most reviewers back then knew much about TV executive rules. One thing that *is* post hoc is forgetting that until the mid-90's there was no internet and no access to the thought process of most people in the industry to outsiders. Now you can go read blog posts, AMA's, online reviews and other info, but back then if it wasn't in a press release it didn't exist. What we now know about 80's and 90's TV is most likely way more than the public knew at the time. Although I'm sure there were the odd people who objected to the reset button even back then, I don't know what standard they thought they were holding TNG to since all syndicated shows (and most others besides) worked the same way. DS9 was a bit groundbreaking on that front, and apparently it took some doing to get the ok to do even that.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 11:46am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

In contemporaneous reviews of TNG like those of Timothy W. Lynch, or indeed the first version of The Nitpicker's Guides, it was a common critique even when TNG was on the air that what should be life-changing events for the characters tend to get forgotten immediately afterwards. For what it's worth, this is not just a post hoc issue.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 11:34am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Peter's right; it's just one of the quirks of TNG. Keep in mind the show didn't get picked up by a major network, so doing these syndicated episodic shows were literally what kept the show in business. Sure, it would have been nice if "The Neutral Zone" and "Conspiracy" lined up better with "Q Who", but judged as episodic material it's still very high quality.

This particular episode I believe was a rewritten Phase II script. So, it makes sense that the writing team of the time would care less about charting continuity for this show and spend that effort on its original creations like the Q, Romulan, and Klingon material.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 11:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

@ Fenn,

It sounds more like you're objecting to network television in general in the 80's and 90's rather than anything TNG did. They literally were not allowed to create long-form continuity in the manner you suggest, as it would require new viewers to have seen old episodes in order to understand what's going on. They did get away from some long-term stuff, like Worf's disgrace arc, but aside from something very planned out like that they couldn't just have carry-over from one episodic adventure to the next. That's just not how the show is designed.
Set Bookmark
Fenn
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 11:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

One more note for Yanks: the fact that I've watched less than half of TNG so far means that my knowledge here isn't complete.

If you can cite at least two moments from episodes after this one in which Troi shows this was a life-altering experience for her -- whether positive, negative or a complicated bittersweet mix of both -- then I'll be proven wrong, and gladly so, because that's all I was hoping for.

From what I've seen so far (up to The Schizoid Man, plus several episodes from Seasons 3-6), there's been nothing.
Set Bookmark
Fenn
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 11:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Yanks: nothing quite that drastic. Childbirth, motherhood and losing a child are all deeply affecting experiences, ones that clearly have an impact on Troi... for the length of this episode and no further. I'm not asking that she sob about it every second of her screentime, or for the Enterprise to hire a Ship's Counsellor Counsellor just for her, but I feel putting such life-changing events in one episode and then never discussing them again... doesn't really do them justice.

"What would make you happy, that she was brutally scared for life? ... or someone was mind raped (Inner light) or everyone starts going bat-crap crazy (VOY: Memorial)?"

These are all extremely negative consequences, assuming I see it as a purely traumatising event. What Troi goes through here is more than just that, and I get the impression that you think so too. I know an experience like this would indeed change someone -- and yet, having watched several episodes ahead now, there's simply no sign of it having done so.

Consequences I *would* be interested in seeing that aren't pain and suffering like you suggest: a renewed appreciation for new life born from having birthed and nurtured new life herself; drawing upon her experience in future episodes, potentially bettering her in her role as counsellor because she now understands these experiences on a deeper level; empathy on a personal level with other crew members who've had similar experiences with motherhood or parenting in general (where's Crusher when you need her, or perhaps Keiko when she turns up).

(Haven't watched VOY, but it's funny you mention The Inner Light, because that's one of the scattered future episodes I have seen, and I think Picard having lived a whole other life within his life is similarly done a disservice by the show simply continuing as usual. Mentally, he's a much older man by the time that episode's done, and while he does get that fantastic scene with his flute at the end, everything's naturally reset once the next episode begins. I hear it gets a single-followup later, but having that be *all* the attention devoted to decades lived in a different life cheapens what I feel is a fantastic episode.)

"I'd say Troi gained a wonderful, life altering experience here. I'd think she'd tell you that as well."

My problem is that there's no sign of her life having been altered by this. She can't tell me this because she doesn't express a single thing about her experience after the end credits have rolled. Someone could skip this episode and notice nothing different about Troi; that proves that the show fails to treat it as a life-altering experience.

The issues I've expressed are not with the episode. They're with the ongoing show *after* the episode.
Set Bookmark
Atomguy
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 10:38am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

One sec, are you telling me that after Harry spent almost, if not more, of his life in a whole other freaking quadrant, they assigned him in a deep space mission that puts him far away from the place he just tired to get to for 23 years? And he was just like ok, totally not the one who was always for going into Borg infested nebulae to get home. Not buying it
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 8:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

Fenn,

"It feels almost irresponsible to do something like this in a show that's so episodic, where the inconceivable (heh) experience of impregnation-gestation-childbirth-childrearing-suddenly your kid's reverted to a point of light and flown off into space... has no consequences ever again? It trivialises the whole experience, really, because Troi's no different ever again. (At least, as far as I've seen.)"

I didn't care at all about this watching this episode. I really fail to see why so many have issues with this episode.

Trivializes? What would make you happy, that she was brutally scared for life? ... or someone was mind raped (Inner light) or everyone starts going bat-crap crazy (VOY: Memorial)?

I for one, am happy that an encounter with an advanced life form didn't end with a huge misunderstanding, a battle or someone dying.

I'd say Troi gained a wonderful, life altering experience here. I'd think she'd tell you that as well.

This is one of my favorite TNG episodes.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 4:54am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Singularity

Braga: What if we did "The Naked Now" but instead of the crew acting drunk, instead they're acting jacked up from 5 lines of coke?

Berman: Perfect!
Set Bookmark
P'kard
Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 12:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Prodigal Daughter

Just to clarify Ezri is from New Sydney which is not on the same planet as Trill
Set Bookmark
Fenn
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 8:11pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S2: The Child

I found myself liking Wesley's part in this episode the best, strangely enough. Guinan can basically make anyone interesting, can't she? I'm on my first full watch-through after having seen some scattered episodes, and suffice to say, I'm *very* glad to be finally encountering her.

The episode as a whole? It feels almost irresponsible to do something like this in a show that's so episodic, where the inconceivable (heh) experience of impregnation-gestation-childbirth-childrearing-suddenly your kid's reverted to a point of light and flown off into space... has no consequences ever again? It trivialises the whole experience, really, because Troi's no different ever again. (At least, as far as I've seen.)

The ending also seems kind of pointless. In-universe, they could've got the space kid off the ship rather than having him choose to fly off forever. Though out-of-universe, I guess that's a lot more time dealing with a child actor in the cast... not that they didn't keep having kids around anyway...

No judgement on Pulaski yet: this is the first I'm seeing of her. I did find the whole "dahta"/"dayta" scene amusing, though -- I'm fond of stern characters who can still chuckle now and then.

Picard needs more puppies in his life... though having said that, promo material for his upcoming series makes it look like he did take that advice in the end!
Set Bookmark
Oddish
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 6:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

I agree in retrospect that this episode wasn't that great. If nothing else, it reduced Archer to a bratty 9-year-old. But I will say that I was laughing my butt off through most of it!
Set Bookmark
Luke
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 4:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

A reference to the Eugenics Wars would indeed have been nice. But, this isn't the first time VOY has done a story set in the 1990s and completely ignored the Eugenics Wars.

As for World War III - that didn't happen until the mid-21st century. This story is set at least 40 years before. And First Contact with the Vulcans didn't happen until 2063.
Set Bookmark
Andersonh1
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 2:40pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: One Little Ship

I love the runabout shooting Jem'Hadar with tiny photon torpedoes. You're right, this is just a fun episode. Silly, absurd, but loads of fun to watch and I enjoyed it tremendously.
Set Bookmark
Bucktown
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 2:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Although this show preceded the smartphone to be fair, in just a few years from 2002 we gained the ability to effectively brick our phones remotely, rendering them useless. So this episode really loses a 2019 audience. Definitely a boring, skippable episode.

How many episodes can we go until we next see Archer again shackled to a chair with a gun at his head? I'm hoping at least 5 or we really need to get him some hostage insurance.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 10:29am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: Progress

@ Jamie Mann,

For what it's worth, I think the episode's aim is a bit different than you're suggesting. One thing is that the refusal of Mullibok to leave is different from in Ensigns of Command befoer in the latter case it was about pride and fear, and mostly stupidity. In the case of Mullibok we're given a sort of metaphoric problem, since the 'energy plot' isn't really that relevant IMO. What they're trying to say through that is that Bajor is capable of becoming much more powerful and having more 'energy' if they make alliances like with the Federation and move forward, whereas what got Bajor through the Occupation was their steadfast clinging to the past. For Mullibok (and for the Bajorans) it's not so much about thinking they're so good or anything like that, but it's about knowing they're losing their identity in this move forward.

It's true that on the literal level the plot makes a bit less sense, and the idea of Kira's rebellion isn't all that much of a surprise; but where they're going with that is to show that it takes someone who both feels the pull of the past and of the future to represent Bajor with the Federation, like Kira does.
Set Bookmark
Kyle
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 8:47am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: 11:59

I was hoping the episode would make some reference to the Eugenics Wars, which happened in the mid 90s, and earth should have been recovering from, and isn,t the World War 3 nearly upon us? Or was it in the 21st century? And the reference first contact by the Vulcans, was this before the movie? It would have been nice to build on canon instead of potentially violating it as Voyager and Enterprise are won’t to do.

On another note, see The Rise and Fall of Khan Noonien Singh paperback triology for an interesting take on The Eugenics Wars and 90s issues, like nuclear testing and global warming and terrorism. It also has Gary 7, nicely conflates Trek and our past.

By the way, I know it’s an old comment from a few years back but any website they calls itself Skeptical Science is probably anything but, science is by definition skeptical and shouldn’t have to go out of its way to proclaim that. It is trying to use science to justify politics and corporate goals that are not supported by a majority of scientific opinion, as well as our own eyes and common sense. In the last ten years beaches in California and Hawaii shrink or disappear, fire season lasts all year and gets more intense as whole towns burn every year now, and hurricanes now threaten Ireland and New York City.
Set Bookmark
IoInfuriato
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 7:32am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Ah, and I forgot, why the 'doctor' tells Trip, his hand will "rematerialize" itself????????? It's a cloak, not a "dematerializer"................................
Set Bookmark
IoInfuriato
Tue, Nov 19, 2019, 7:26am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Communicator

Yet another TV show with the cartoon Soviet military dudes (yeah, take a look on the very least the uniforms, they better had said they were space Soviets from the 50's). Then the "I can't believe I'm dying protecting this people" crap? How were they protecting them???? By retrieving some 'advanced' walkie-talkie? Just idiotic.
Yeah, we're not aliens, we're genetically engineered soldiers from your enemy (wink, wink, the space USA), and we have particle weapons and stealth ships. How can that "protect" them??? The writers for sure were procrastinating until deadline was very close.
Yet, still better than STD...
Next ►Page 1 of 2,631
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.