Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 63,957 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,559
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 10:08am (UTC -5)
Re: Vote to Rename Voyager

Star Trek: UPN Deal, Star Trek: High Concepts, and Star Trek: Really Bad Trailers are among my favorites.
Set Bookmark
Walrus1701D
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 10:00am (UTC -5)
Re: Vote to Rename Voyager

Star Trek: Sparks Fly
Set Bookmark
Booming
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 9:07am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Farell's acting improved significantly over time but she started as a model and through that became an actor. Her character was fairly pleasing. A beautiful wise young woman who kicks ass and likes to have fun. Pretty easy to like.
SMG's role on the other hand...
SMG wanted to be an actor from the start and it shows. Her acting isn't great but it is far better than Farell's during the first two seasons. Farell's was so wooden. I watched her acting back then and immediately thought: she must have been a model turned actor.
By the way here is the review from Red Letter media about season 2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SHhySoXDcA
Set Bookmark
someguy
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 6:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Latent Image

This episode has one of my favorite Tuvok quotes:
"There is some logic to your logic."
I swear I heard him or another Vulcan say that somewhere else, but Google only brings up this episode.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Wed, Jul 17, 2019, 5:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

@Booming @Yanks

I’m not sure Sonequa Martin Green IS a better actress than Terry Farrell. She certainly makes more faces. But I think Terry played her part perfect to the point I couldn’t imagine anyone else in that role. SMG? I don’t think I can say the same
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 8:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: By Any Other Name

Only episode I'm skipping in my 2019 run-through. That cube crushing scene has haunted me for decades.
Set Bookmark
DataMat
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 3:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Thia episode has what I believe is one of the best scenes in the whole series. The scene I'm talking about is the one where Q quotes Hamlet and then Picard gives one of his trademark Shakespearean speeches.
Even here in Season 1 there are sprinklings ofgreatness that hint at how good TNG would eventually become.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 3:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Distant Origin

Those comments... When Voyager finally manages to manifest another Star Trek Hall of Fame episode, people have to ruin it by unnecessary nitpicking. We are now close to the end of Season 3 and I can't even count the extremely memorable ones on one hand. We should be celebrating!

This episode really stands out. As mentioned by previous comments the perspective from which it was told was most refreshing and a great deal of fun. The guest appearances were at the very least solid when not brilliant and the story in itself was daring and absolutely riveting in it's way to sculpt something unique out of the ancient aliens/lost civilizations lore.

But instead (1) the age of the Voth civilization is being questioned, (1) religious symbolism is being hastily projected, (3) and mentions of a lacking fossil record are being used as reasons to dismiss the fantastic story that it is.

(For the record: 1. We never get to see all of Voths advancements, so we don't know how developed they truly are. 2. The court is an analogy to the establishment - be it a religious, political or economic one. Science is heavily intertwined with all three btw, especially the last one. 3. Extraordinary circumstances have to happen for a biological organism to be fossilized. Add to that millions of years of environmental changes and anyone will understand why only an estimated 2% of all living creatures that have lived on earth are in our records.)

All in all it is from beginning to end pure, stellar Trek. (And anyone who disagrees can consider themselves an analogy to the female Voth.)

4 Shining stars.
Set Bookmark
Daniel B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 2:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Fascination

^ Eh, it's not nearly as bad as most of the complaints here make it sound. Dumb, somewhat silly. That's about it. Bareil trying to fight Sisko is actually hilarious - Sisko is clearly not threatened by him but isn't sure how to tactfully defuse the situation, and then Jadzia just walks up and slugs him.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 11:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

@Chrome,

I agree that this episode works pretty well if we assume Q's real target is still Picard, and it's not a stretch at all. OTOH,

(spoilers)

The case can be made that it's very important for the human race (!!!) for Riker to get a taste of real power and to give it up, and for him to recognize that he cannot just become Picard to replace him. Arguably both are necessary for Riker to save the day in BOBW, by recognizing how to see the value in recovering Picard and how to improvise around a more powerful opponent rather than simply being him. If we view Q as at least partly enacting a plan to help humanity then he maybe is intervening to get the very result this episode gives. Death Wish also suggests that the Q recognize Riker's importance. This is hardly the episode's intent but it makes some sense anyhow.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 10:51am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

I didn't like this one when I was much younger and saw it for the first time (sort of a lesser Encounter at Farpoint). The penalty box scene is indeed bad. I think what they were trying to say is that Lt. Yar really wanted to cry because being held captive like that gave her memories of her trauma on her homeworld (this was just referenced previously in "Where No One Has Gone Before" where she really did relive the trauma). Anyway, Picard's comforting line *was* sweet and sympathetic so I could see how Tasha might want to hug him, but, I don't know - the whole conversation takes place in too silly of circumstances to be taken seriously.

Although it's true this is sort of a Riker vs. Q episode, I always kind of think of it more as Q testing Picard episode - still. First, Q gets upset that Picard won't indulge him in his fantasy. He then dresses up in old French regalia and an Admiral's uniform to taunt Picard. Then the whole test for Riker is part of a larger wager between Q and Picard over the power of humanity control its base desires. Q says he became interested in Riker at Farpoint - but he never explains why. The likely explanation to me is that he's just using Riker because he thinks Picard's resolve can be broken by insubordination and Riker's an easier target.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 10:09am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

@Springy,

The penalty box scene is so cringey. I get why Crosby wasn't happy with her role on the show.

It's probably not intended, but I like that Troi is absent for this episode "about" Riker's runaway ambition.

I think I mentioned it above, but one thing I like is how this episode shows the "way out" of the dilemma in Where No Man Has Gone Before (where Mitchell got Godlike powers and had to be killed): Riker can choose to put them aside and doesn't have to be killed. There are a few TNG eps that imagine more peaceful resolutions to TOS plots. In some cases (eg this one) it makes for worse drama.
Set Bookmark
William B
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 10:03am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

@Springy,

I think I recall you making a similar observation in Buffy, about Willow and Tara stargazing and Willow mentioning that some of the stars have since died.

I should add, this is also the first ep that suggests the possibility that a) the Ferengi are motivated by more than greed, and also b) "profit" (self-interest) is not entirely bad (Kazenga recognizing there's no profit in revenge), which are regular themes in the Quark eps.
Set Bookmark
Adrian Lopez
Tue, Jul 16, 2019, 1:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Second Chances

I give this episode two-and-a-half stars. It's an interesting premise, and somewhat entertaining, but I just can't forgive Will Riker's hostility toward Thomas Riker. Riker's animosity comes out of nowhere and vanishes just as quickly by the end of the episode. The writers could have come up with a better way to explore Will Riker's growth as a character than to have him be a jerk to the man he might have become.

Great idea with some interesting scenes, but poor execution.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 11:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: Hide and Q

Didn't like this one. Started out OK, but went off the rails as it began to focus more and more on Riker.

Q and Picard are always fun together. Q and Riker just feels forced, and Frakes just isn't very good here in Season 1.

What was with the creepy Yar and Picard stuff? "If you weren't a captain?" I guess it was meant to fit into the theme of boxes and limits, but wow. Awkward.

The "Riker becoming arrogant" business ("Jean Luc") was hokey and unconvincing.

Episode had a lot of imagery and talk about being trapped and growth - the Q-net that traps the Enterprise, the penalty box, the little girl trapped and killed (all growth arrested) under rocks, and more. Wesley growing up without "earning it" is the most obvious metaphor for what seems to be an ep theme about the need to struggle and learn and grow - to grow into your "powers" not have them thrust upon you.

Burton does a nice job as the suddenly sighted Geordi who doesn't like "who he'd have to thank" for his new found sight. A great line, well delivered.

Not a favorite, but onward.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 9:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

@William B

Yes, concur with all of this and especially love that last bit about the nature of the Picard maneuver. Hadn't given the maneuver a second thought, but it fits beautifully. The Old and the New, images from the past, the reality of the present, the need to live in the present to be effective.

It's a nice little ep.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

So the criminal gangsters thought V'Lar was dead after shooting up the medical pod (allegedly containing her body) and in an act of Ferengi like stupidity neglect to check the pod. Then ambassador dumbass waltzes in to show them she's alive and nya nya nya to them in their faces. Except the joke's on her because in two months she has to return to their world to testify in open court. Hey um ambassador don't you think the bad guys thinking you were dead would have been kind of sort of massively useful?
Set Bookmark
wanderer2575
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 1:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Just saw this today for the first time while home sick. Maybe 15 minutes of action and exposition spread over 45 minutes (plus commercials!). Watching paint dry would be more interesting.
Set Bookmark
William B
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 11:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

@Springy,

Good thoughts. I remember really disliking this one when I first saw it when I was a young child, but I appreciate it more now.

There's a very..."elderly parent" tinge to the Picard material -- sickened, laid back with headaches, retreating into the past, taking repetitive actions which are no longer appropriate. Picard's loss of the Stargazer and Bok's loss of his son have hurt both of them -- but of course a ship is easier to get over than a son, which is why Bok needs a mind control headache sphere to push Picard to where he is (trapped at the moment of the Stargazer/Bok's son battle). I think Picard has guilt over the loss of the Stargazer and over the loss of the enemy ship, which makes me wonder if Bok is motivated partly by guilt, too, which he projects entirely onto Picard.

The Picard maneuver relies on going to warp so that the time delay from light speed creates the appearance of two Stargazers. But one of them is no longer there -- it's from the past, just taking its time to catch up. You have to make sure you know which is really still there, and what is just a figment of the past catching up.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 9:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Gift

MadBaggins,

Care to elaborate?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 7:01am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

I watched this one while baking cookies and making sushi. I think I looked up from my work a couple times between creaming the butter and sugar and mixing in the chocolate chips but it was still some Ferenghi muttering in unsubtitled gibberish wondering around Enterprise pilfering so I quickly went back to work.

I think it was around the time I was putting my rice in the pot (after having put the cookies in the oven) that I noticed out of the corner of my eye that Trip and Archer seemed to be awake. Then I started hearing some dialogue in English so I listened and watched a little using my peripheral vision as I carefully prepared my maki rolls with both avocado and salmon.

By the time I was plating the sushi my 5 year old was staring at the cooling rack full of cookies and I heard some dialogue about selling T'Pal into slavery but sadly I remembered thinking that she's main cast so that probably wouldn't happen even if her absence would improve the show (Archer would need a new science officer and maybe she'd be played by a better actor?)

In conclusion, since no one asked the intruders what race they belonged to and no one uttered the word "Ferengi" in the episode, continuity was preserved. Don't you all feel stupid for having questioned the writing?

Still a better episode than Rogue Planet though.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 15, 2019, 5:57am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Yusef,

This IS science FICTION you know...
Set Bookmark
Sarjenka's Brother
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 10:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

This was one hot mess of an episode. Worse than I remembered.

I haven't seen "Spock's Brain" since the 1970s -- and I have a feeling I'm going to like it better than "Omega Glory."
Set Bookmark
Trish
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 7:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: Is There In Truth No Beauty?

Ah, the irony no Next Generation fan could miss:

"I realize you can do almost anything a sighted person can do, but you cannot fly a starship …"

… Geordi.
Set Bookmark
Moegreen
Sun, Jul 14, 2019, 4:54pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Pathfinder

The doctor gets the award for 'Breeching code of ethics'. He really outdoes himself; announcing Barclay's medical history to the entire crew, in a particularly smug manner also. Zimmerman must have been hungover when coding that particular 'sub-routine'.
Next ►Page 1 of 2,559
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.