Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 56,184 (Showing 1-25)

Next ►Page 1 of 2,248
Set Bookmark
philadlj
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 2:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

For reference, here are the names, ranks, and positions of the main crew of the Discovery as of this week:

Captain Christopher PIKE - Acting Commanding Officer
Commander SARU - Executive Officer
Commander Michael BURNHAM - Science Officer
Lt. Commander Paul STAMETS - Chief Engineer
Ensign Sylvia TILLY - Command Trainee
Lt. Commander AIRIAM - Spore Drive Operations Officer
Lt. Keyla DETMER - Helm/Conn Officer
Lt. Gen RHYS - Tactical Officer
Lt. J. G. Joann OWOSEKUN - Operations Officer
Lt. J. G. R. A. BRYCE - Communications Officer
Lt. J. G. Dr Tracy POLLARD - Ship's Physician

Set Bookmark
Elliott
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 2:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Teaser : **.5, 5%

We begin back in Chez Sandrines with Harry, fully mammalian Tom, a few scattered Voyager extras and Ricky Lake. Tom wants to put stakes on their pool game, which Ricky notes is an obvious hustle. This tired bullshit eventually leads to Tom starting an “honest” betting pool amongst the crew (they bet in rations). The only bit I find amusing is that Tom tells Harry to write down the names of the gamblers on a PADD and he dutifully complies like the good bottom bitch he is.

Meanwhile, Neelix is being his usual charming self. Pledging to Tuvok in the Mess Hall that he has chosen to make it “his duty” to get the Vulcan to smile before they reach the AQ. This is supposed to be really annoying, so I suppose we can call it successful characterisation. The scene does eventually land on an amusing note, with Neelix suggesting resurrecting an ancient Vulcan tradition on the Voyager: greased-up orgy night. I can get behind that.

Tuvok is called away to Engineering by Torres, where we learn that a bloody corpse has been left in one of the Jeffries Tubes. People really need to learn to clean up after themselves.

Act 1 : ***, 17%

The EMH reports to Tuvok the findings of his autopsy. Lt Darwin (the corpse) was murdered, most likely by Ken Ham. In the readyroom, we learn that the only person on duty when Darwin was murdered was a man called Suder. This give Chakotay the willies.

CHAKOTAY: Around us he was the quietest, most unassuming guy you'll ever meet. Typical Betazoid, Kept to himself...In combat there was something in his eyes...Sometimes I had to pull him back, stop him from going too far. And once or twice when I did he looked at me with those cold eyes and I just knew he was this far away from killing me.

It doesn't have anything to do directly with this story, but it's good to see that the Maquis-integration issues (which as I've said, are the only viable way to explore the topic without veering off into absurdity) are not yet put to rest. Oh, I'm sorry, I'm supposed to say, “Why are there holodecks? Why haven't the Maquis mutinied? Voyager sucks.”

So Tuvok calls Suder to his office to question him. Suder is of course being played by the reliably creepy-as-fuck Brad Dourif). Suder tries to turn Tuvok's suspicion around on him by accusing him of harbouring resentment towards the Maquis, but this is pretty useless with a Vulcan.

TUVOK: I assure you, I have no feelings about the Maquis.
SUDER: No, you just spied on us and were going to turn us all over to Starfleet.
TUVOK: As hard as it may be for you to understand, that did not require any feelings on my part.

Russ and Dourif have a rather unique and enjoyable chemistry. Both are playing characters who suppress their feelings but for very different reasons, and this lends an interesting subtext to their conversation. Well it turns out that, aside from establishing the creep factor, Tuvok's interview was pointless, as the EMH has used (non technobabble, amazingly) forensics to determine that Suder is the murderer.

Tuvok confronts Suder with this news and he immediately confesses, describing in detail how he performed the murder. When Tuvok demands a motive, Suder's only reply is “I didn't like the way he looked at me.” [shudder]

Act 2 : ***.5, 17%

TUVOK: Crime must have a logical purpose.
EMH: Ah yes, I see. How to close the case without understanding the logic of the crime. For a Vulcan, that would be a dilemma, wouldn't it?

We establish that most of the former Maquis have genetic markers that point towards violence and aggression, again robbing the entire premise that the Maquis themselves have any logical reason for existing, and aren't just a bunch of temperamental children.

EMH: I think you are trapped in your own Vulcan logic, Lieutenant. All of us have violent instincts. We have evolved from predators. Well, not me, of course, I've just been programmed by you predators. The question is, in a civilised world, can we suppress those instincts? Most of the time we can. Vulcans certainly can. You've got your violent feelings buried underneath centuries of control. But the rest of the humanoid races aren't always so skilled at self-discipline. Crewman Suder may have violent impulses that he just can't control.

I think most of us can admit that we have shared Tuvok's frustration over this kind of explanation. Everything has to have a reason, doesn't it? So bothered by this is he that he visits Suder in the brig to try and pry some answers out of him. What's more frustrating is Suder's lack of emotion over the incident. Vulcans objectify other cultures (one of the few phrases from Enterprise I feel is worth adopting) and thus, whatever actions they take which have no logical purpose are inevitably the result of a lack of emotional discipline. If objectifiable emotions are not responsible for an otherwise illogical crime, how can Tuvok possibly accept this situation? What's great about this setup is that this premise gives Tuvok a visceral motivation for his actions well before he is actually robbed of emotional control. With Data, it was nearly always his quest to be more human that drove his experiments. Tuvok has no such aspirations, so this is quite clever. Further complicating matters is the fact that Suder has all but volunteered to be executed for his crime, something the Federation doesn't do. With few other options, Tuvok elects to meld with Suder to understand this mystery. He justifies this approach by mentioning that some of Tuvok's mental abilities would be (temporarily) transferred to Suder, which could only aid in silencing his own demons (c.f. “Sarek”).

Act 3 : ***.5, 17%

We pick up with Paris' daily sweepstakes rewarding no one, and him making off with his booking fee to enjoy a Neelix-free lunch.

Anyway, Tuvok reports his findings to Janeway, noticeably agitated after the experience. They theorise that being cooped up on the Voyager with no regular outlet to unleash his anger is what likely drove Suder to this crime. So, they decide to coop him up indefinitely. In seriousness, I'm with Jammer on this point: executing him is barbaric and eternal confinement in his decorated cage is certainly a harsh enough punishment. SFDebris in his review suggested putting Suder in stasis, which seems very strange to me as it would mean he would sleep through his sentence. Seems much less harsh than imprisonment. Tuvok however, puts capital punishment on the table, which strikes Janeway as out of character. She wonders what side-effects may be lingering within her old friend, and orders him to mind his own needs in all this.

So Tuvok heads back to the Mess Hall for more punishment from the Morale Officer. Ethan Phillips is extraordinarily talented at playing an insufferable irritant, going so far as to shove his finger in Tuvok's mouth to prompt a smile. Then he threatens to sing, which sends Tuvok into an homicidal rage and, waddaya know, Neelix is strangled to death. Of course, this is just a holodeck simulation, but as others have noted, it is incredibly macabre and darkly humorous to assign Neelix the role of one who could affect Tuvok in this way. You have to wonder in episodes like “Rise” if this memory didn't spring up.

Act 4 : ****, 17%

We again start out with the B plot, but this time Chakotay steps in to Sandrines to put the gambling act to an end. He puts Paris on report and mentions through his teeth that Janeway will be disappointed with him. There's undoubtedly some schadenfreude involved with Chakotay confirming his own long-held suspicion that Paris is a piece of shit.

Meanwhile, Suder awakens in his cell to find Tuvok staring at him from behind the force field. Creepy is as creepy does. Suder is finding himself a bit more Tuvok-like in his objectification of his own emotions, which of course means the inverse is true of Tuvok. The Vulcan lays out the prescribed punishment for Suder, which of course in the enlightened Federation is rehabilitation; he will continue to study Vulcan discipline and be allowed the chance to exorcise his violent tendencies on the holodeck. Suder mentions that holo-violence isn't really satisfying, which of course makes one think of Worf and his Skeletor programme. In Worf's case, however, I think the programme is designed to be a work-out. Klingons have killer instincts, but they aren't blood-thirsty in the same way. Even for them, violence has to have a purpose. And Tuvok already knows first hand that holo-violence doesn't it cut it when it comes to these dark thoughts they now share.

TUVOK: I have studied violence for over a hundred years.
SUDER: Studying it and knowing it are two different things, aren't they. It's attractive, isn't it.
TUVOK: Attractive?
SUDER: Violence.
TUVOK: On the contrary. I find it disturbing.

The unique chemistry between the actors is again put to excellent use here. It's a common theme in Vulcan stories to explore the idea what makes us evolved humans is really just a concerted effort to suppress our natural instincts. In the Vulcans' case, the instincts are radically more intense, and thus the discipline must be radical to match. Seeing Tuvok so vulnerable to this beady-eyed Betazoid wonderfully disturbing. Suder wants to meld again, but Tuvok recognises that this is probably a bad idea. Feeling himself slip away, Tuvok retreats to his quarters, erects a force field and deletes his security codes.

Act 5 : ***.5, 17%

Janeway is summed to his quarters by the computer and she arrives to find the place completely trashed by the heaping mass of quiet rage which used to be her security chief. It's a very visceral little scene that relies almost entirely on the actors' delivery and the directing, with Tuvok crouched in the darkness and Janeway haloed in angelic light from the corridor.

He's sedated and brought to the sickbay, where the EMH confirms that the meld has caused some problems (duh), due to some incompatibilities with the Betazoid telepathic centre in Suder, which is a soft touch that I like very much. There's a brief moment for Picardo to be his usual grumpy self over Vulcan arrogance, which is always welcome, but his only prescribed treatment is a kind of neural shock therapy.

Tuvok is awakened. Again, I'm reminded of “Sarek” a bit; there's no more logical reason (ironically) for Tuvok to be awake for this procedure than there was for Picard after his meld, but it's a great excuse for some impressive acting. In his state, he takes the opportunity to berate Janeway for her choice of punishment regarding Suder. What's great about this is that this makes clear that the rationalisation for capital punishment is purely emotional and thus, unjustifiable:

TUVOK: Admit it! Part of you feels as I do. Part of you wants him to die for what he did...He has killed and you know he deserves to die! On behalf of the victim's family, Captain, I beg you to reconsider. Give them the satisfaction of his execution.

After the episode, Tuvok is sedated and left alone in the surgical bay. That night, unmonitored, he manages to break himself free from the Doctor's devices AND the force field. Nifty.

And where does he go but straight to the brig to resume with Suder.

SUDER: Have you come to kill me?
TUVOK: To execute you for your crime.
SUDER: To execute me. I see. And calling it that makes it more comfortable for you... Understand one thing, Tuvok. I can promise you this will not silent your demons. If you can't control the violence, the violence controls you. Be prepared to yield your entire being to it, to sacrifice your place in civilised life for you will no longer be a part of it, and there's no return.

Tuvok attempts the meld again, which may kill them both it seems, but in the end Tuvok finds himself unable to go through with it, and collapses.

There's a brief coda, where things are put back where they belong, Tuvok and Janeway make up, the EMH gets another quip and Suder is stored away for another day. A nice touch is Janeway replicating the gesture from “Twisted” that Tuvok used to demonstrate his affection for her (one of the few good moments of that trash pile).

Episode as Functionary : ***.5, 10%

Tim Russ is finally given a story that fires on all cylinders. We've got a bit of Tuvok the investigator, which were bright spots in several Season 1 stories; we've got Tuvok unhinged, which serves to show just how hard Russ is working every week to maintain that characteristic Vulcan cool; and we've got an effective message show wrapped up in a character piece. Piller's dialogue really sings when he's dealing with complex issues (as opposed to the pedestrian ones we've have often had to endure from him), and unlike last week, the familiar Voyager sets are shot in a way to make them feel fresh and engaging despite the bottleshow limitations in place. The B-story serves its purpose, but feels relatively benign in isolation, with some amusing tension arising between Chakotay and Paris. This finally feels like the show Voyager is capable of being.

Final Score : ***.5
Set Bookmark
John Harmon
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 2:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

I feel like all that needs to be said about this episode is that Burnham had to remind Saru that his eyesight is better than everyone else's.

Burnham is so good at everything she's even better at remembering how other people's bodies work than they are.
Set Bookmark
Ian
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 2:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: Solo: A Star Wars Story

"Solo" is the first Star Wars film I did not bother to go and see in the theater. After the disappointment of the Last Jedi I didn't want to see another SW film that might be even worse.

But I watched Solo the other night on Netflix and I thought it was pretty. Certainly a lot better than I had expected. I thought Alden Ehrenreich played a very likeable and amusing young Han Solo. Lando was very well done by Glover. Just for the sake of entertainment, it's not a bad film at all.
Set Bookmark
Hank
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 2:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

I have to agree with previous comments. Not only was the "disguise yourself as another race" set up previously (Mercer does the same to her), it was also a very unsubtle jab at Discovery (which is ironically trying to be the Orville right now). And it makes much more sense. Mercer probably knows that he will not change her mind, and I guess you could argue that if he wasn't in love with her, he wouldn't have acted quite so forgivingly (on the other hand, the opposite could also be argued), and she openly says that he changed nothing. I doesn't bother me that it wasn't set up longer, it didn't have to be. The whole Tyler/Voq twist was tired by the time it was revealed, and since Tyler had no memory of being Voq, and took on a completely new personality at the end of the series (if I remember correctly, Discovery is mostly a blur, tbh), there was no opportunity for any greater moral implications. It was too narrowly focused on the Burnham/Tyler dynamic. This time, the fronts are clear, and maybe, just maybe, there is a sliver of hope planted. Without accusations, without having to rely on ultra brutal rape to garner emotional impact, and even without condescension. It really was Picardesque (soon to be: Old Picardesque, because the new Picard Series will ruin him too) in its simplicity and clarity.

The crashed landing pot was also right out of the Enterprise Episode where Tucker rescued that princess, a nice homage.

I loved the lack of forced humor this episode. No stupid jokes. Sure, the jab at Gordon could be seen as a cheap joke, maybe, but it wasn't the usual "Who farted?" joke. Oh, I forgot the new security chief, but he was on screen for 5 seconds. I liked the way they handled his request. No outright denial, just carefully pointing out to him that it might not be the right thing for him. It feels like almost everybody who had plot this episode got something out of the experience. And thank god that they handled the Kelly/Mercer stuff without having her bitch at him (which I expected they would do for comedy).

It is really interesting to make comparisons to Discovery though. While the Orville went for less jokes, quieter, more thoughtful episodes, and already touched on some real moral conflicts (i.e. the line that Non-Believers can have no morals, which you really hear constantly in the real world), Discovery went loud, wild, with totally stupid over the top humor (it even has the rescue scene from the beginning of Star Wars Episode III and a menace that destroys the whole universe). The Orville sheds its bad comedy elements which completely broke with the otherwise pretty serious and calm tone, while Discovery continues to be completely tone deaf (just 180° opposed to season 1).
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 1:57pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

@Hank But you have to ask yourself, 'Why'? Why has the number of episodes been reduced, in general. At least, 20 episodes per season used to be the norm. Besides criticism, production costs and competition have, in all probability, contributed to the reduction of episodes, also. Fact is, the writers are under more pressure than ever to produce a quality product...failure being the proverbial ax.

I miss the longer seasons, and I didn't mind the occasional 'lemons' or fillers, because I really respect the writers, and the difficult Job that they have...especially in the past...to come up with good ideas, to stay within budget over a long season, and to entertain an increasingly hard-to-please audience.
Set Bookmark
Hank
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 11:37am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Welcome to Discovery Season 2: The Orville Electric Boogaloo!

Lets start with things I like, so that thats out of the way:
-Bridge Crew gets more scenes, and actually talks, and is given names
-We see medical personal in sickbay, yay
-I liked Stamets scenes
-We are actually investigating stuff for once

Now to the facepalming moments:
-stupid "Tilly talks to loud" joke
-Saru forgot how to handshake
-Burnham makes a completely pointless analogy: "Wow, you so smart girl"
-Stupid "entering the elevator and everybody says "excuse me"" joke
-Stupid snot joke. Jarr Jarr binks would be proud, honestly
-Stupid pinky joke, which leads to the captains personal file being on screen somehow? whatever
-stupid "I'm drunk on power" joke. Who would ever promote Tilly to anything?
-Suicidal Opera Singers(tm)
-Pikes Officer says his name on the bridge - why?
-No zoom on camera, so Saru has to look
-Going down in a landing pod... that spins ...
-"Look, I got this! i got This! Oh, I'm dead..."
-Stupid "You got this girls, right?" joke...

Honestly, I complained that Discovery was too dark... I didn't want every character to make stupid jokes all the times though... And what was up with that wooden stranded engineer? And "Evolution is a [didn't catch that] bitch?" Really? Was that line really needed? Everybody just seems completely incompetent/unprofessional. Even "Saru - just .... ah ... Saru *awkward silence*" Everybody went from dark brooding aggressive stare to wisecracking goofball.

"THE POWAH OF MATH!" - not a single line of math was uttered the entire episode... What, you are suprised that your fictional anti-gravity thing does things to that asteroid thing? Which is apparently not made of normal matter so infinite energy, and dark matter, and lets throw in some more stuff that makes no sense...

Okay, so... this asteroid is going 5000km/h in the direction of a pulsar, and will arrive in 5 hours... which means discovery is 25000km from a pulsar... Space - that infinitely small place ...

Poor Spock. Turns out, his father never loved him, and understands Burnham far better, and likes her more, too, and now he had prophetic dreams his whole life, and went off to find them, and painted a map of the galaxy showing were the "Red Explosions" or whatever were... Come on... What a cringefest. Just leave old characters alone.

So, to summarize, we get a 180° tone shift, from grimdark to parody, and nothing has really changed otherwise. Burnham was lauded for being the best at least three times, before she did anything, the universe is in mortal danger, and how is Pike in command of Discovery when he is supposed to give command to Kirk in 2265, having command of the Enterprise for at least ten years beforehand? Discovery is copying Orville - and I didn't like the humor in that series either, so stop that, please. Right down to the "Strange Alien has funny bodily fluids" jokes... Why, oh why oh why can't we just have normal people.

And to Burn em' up! above me: Fewer episodes don't necessarily have anything to do with criticism. Game of Thrones went to fewer episodes per season with longer pauses and is one of the most loved shows of all times.
Set Bookmark
Burn 'em' up!
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 10:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Just face it! Star Trek: TOS is NOT coming back! That exhilarating feeling which some of us experienced, watching the original 'Star Wars' as wide-eyed teenagers...is over! I really feel for the writers, because it's very difficult to please a saturated audience who are searching for originality, ready to pounce when their craving is not sated. And all the criticism, I'm sure, has contributed to the reduction of the number of episodes ...leaving us to enjoy a paltry ten...with longer pauses between series. (The days of Star Trek: DS9 are over, too.) Of course, I'm disappointed at times, but all-in-all, the writers have done their best in keeping us entertained…(and remember)...this is only Entertainment.

That being said...what about this Episode? First, I enjoyed Season 1, immensely!!! And Season 2 looks promising. I really liked the Captain Pike character and the new engineer. And I'm looking Forward to the Twists and turns, which is a mainstay in viewing nowadays. The main thing that I don't like about the series...and many like it...is the obvious push on social...or anti-social issues. Note: We get it.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 10:16am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Right then, I thought the episode was okay. Like many others, I enjoyed Anson Mount's Pike who ably went from both decisive and authoritative to deep and insightful. Of course there's the mandatory *crisis* that this series thrives on - like we can't go a single episode without there being something ripping at everyone both personally as well as with the entire quadrant. I've resigned myself to the fact that this is action Trek, so I won't complain too much about it. In fact, I enjoyed that there was a little more time spent on science and exploration with the coordinated asteroid rescue effort.

The Sarek/Spock material didn't do much for me. Star Trek 2009 was able to quickly show us a few scenes from Spock's childhood which concisely accented his character bible while framing the spirit of the movie. In this episode, the flashbacks have us lumber through ploddingly what should be extremely exciting material on an important Trek character. It's slow and it feels like a huge tease, and of course that's exactly what they're going for, but I'm on the fence whether Spock in this series will lead to a good payoff.

On the plus side, I liked the flavor of episode. It feels like the show is going in a different direction with a more enlightened sense of purpose for our crew. The thoughtful people who enjoy the cooperation of space exploration like Burnham, Saru, Pike, and Tilly are rewarded for their efforts. Controversially the brazen mavericks like Lt. Connolly get punished severely for their arrogance. In a way Connolly's death reminds much of Landry's in season one, but also of it reminds me how Burnham's brazen attitude got her in big trouble in the premiere. So it's good we get that a contrast of Starfleet personalities, and the feeling the crew's attitude has shifted from season one.

Like Norris, I enjoyed the visual effects, and I too felt a little bit of Metroid in the atmosphere. It seems like the effects blended a lot better than before, as if they've learned to temper the CGI so it doesn't dominate conventional staging.

So all-around a decent episode with a more promising setup.
Set Bookmark
Nicholas Sergi
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 10:14am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

it was a huge mess.
1.) I thought the Michael inner monologue that begane (I think) with her saying space the final frontier .. was not in a good place in the show.. i thought it was a new opening credit sequence. All the flashbacks to her childhood were weak.
2) treating Connelly like just some dude to be killed WTF
3) so is number one a character or not. She was.. there.. yet the camera and the characters ignored her
4) the editing sucked
5.) so the whole asteroid / crashed ship set made no sense.. one second it looks like a three story-tall set the next you are in a plastic tube a'la ET
6) Pike says.. in the middle of a scene on a bridge.. that his mission is suddenly over and gives it to Saru WTF I mean WTF
7) the very next scene he says he is staying aboard and has a Discovery uniform WTF I'm not sure if that was number one or not ebcause the camera avoided her.. as did the other charcters. The epsiode was so busy yet I have almost no more idea of what the story was about than wha tI got out of the trailers for the episode. Pulsars, stars, signal.. learned nothing at all
Set Bookmark
Landon Haynes
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 8:26am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

Worf: All our gods are dead. Klingon warriors killed them long ago. - DS9 ssn 4, Homefront
Set Bookmark
james04
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 8:17am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

@Peter G:

Thanks for replying.

“but the flaw in the episode isn't that the Federation stomped on local law. ”

It is however one of the flaws. The Federation has no right to come in and impose their laws on a planet and a people not under their lawful rule, to which they are strangers. They should have complied with the Edo’s laws.

This could have been a good episode, exploring the tension between the two, but it was mishandled, so the exploration, which could have been very creative, was incompletely realised.

As for the responsibility you refer to - in a better version of this episode, it could have been explored. The defence you make for Wesley might not convince the Edo.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 8:12am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

This episode was not very good at all, but I guess anything can look like a rose if it's surrounded by shit.
Set Bookmark
MadManMUC
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 7:38am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Right.

As many on this board know, I loathe S01 with every fibre of my being. Just about everything about it. The only indifference I've shown so far — as it relates to STD — is the shorts.

S01E02 of STD, for me, is a mixed bag at best. So let's get the thing I hate about it out of the way first.

• SMG. She still can't act her way out of wet paper bag. She manages *every* time to ensure I couldn't give the slightest shit about her character, and leaves me wishing her character would get killed off;

• For the love of all of our mothers, please, please, *please* stop it with the superficial fan service to try and convince us that STD is Genuine Trek™. For the eagle-eyed and -eared among us, the alert notification graphic on the top right of the main viewer is lifted straight out of TMP/TWOK, and most of the bridge sound effects come out of a TNG/DS9/VOY sound pack. Just. Stop. It.

• Tony Stark designed Starfleet's space suits. I'd like to remind all of you that every space suit from TOS straight to VOY (with the all the films in between) didn't have magically-appearing helmets. People actually had to put them on the old-fashioned way. This Iron Man stuff was just bull shit.

• The 23rd century version of Geordi LaForge's VISOR made an appearance in Discovery's transporter room. Ugh. Come on ...

• STD still wants to be an action series;

• I'm not sold on this Reno character. How many more sarcastic, curmudgeonly characters does this show actually need?

• Michael Fucking Burnham. I want her gone.

• Ensign Tilly, I'm afraid. She's just a female Wesley Crusher, and no less irritating for it;

• Sarek. He leaves me completely bored;

• Enterprise's redesign. There was absolutely no valid reason under the sun for this;

• The overall look and feel of the show. Still.

For all of that though, there were a couple of things I liked ... for once:

• Stamets. It took me a while, but he's really the only character in this show I give even the remotest shit about, until now;

• Anson Mount as Pike. If there's one thing I'm 100% sold on with this show, it's this. Casting him as Pike was a stroke of genius, and it's clear he's totally into the role. He may actually single-handed make this show semi-watchable;

• I don't know if it was fixed in post, but the bit at the end with Peck's voice as Spock was notable. I definitely heard notes of Nimoy's voice in there, and I'll say it caught me by surprise. I still don't agree with Spock being in this show to begin with, but — so far — I'm not disagreeing with Peck's execution of the character, even though it was voice-only this time around.

• The overall plot might have potential, but it's too early to tell. Still, I'm not happy with the 'fate of the whole galaxy is at stake' thing. Again.

I'll be generous, and give this thing 1.5 stars. Out of 5.
Set Bookmark
Black Jesus
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 7:20am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

Ha! The Orville did the whole season 1 of Discovery in one episode. Seth owes them some money lol
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 7:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Ok if nobody will say it I will: Go Go Power Rangers!
"Guys we have to gown down to that asteroid. Here are your new shiny space suits."
Does the Discovery have it's own uniform style or does the Enterprise? That confused me a little. Blue or like in TOS.
And because everbody gives it a star rating.
I'm giving it 7 out of 11 stars. Or maybe 9 out of 15.
I think that was an ok beginning.
Oh and is every room a holodeck now??
I am very worried how this whole angel thingy will turn out.
@midshipman: I saw the actress once in a community episode as a bartender.

Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

I'm settling on 2.5 – it's flashy as hell, all sound and fury, but nothing that happens makes any sense. Saru is solid as usual, and actually Sonequa is fine – I feel like she's settled into the role better and is more confident and assured. Low points were the action sequence with the pods, which was total nonsense, and Tig Notaro's incredibly wooden performance. I complained in S1 about Tilly being too broad and it was even more the case in this episode. None of her scenes worked or were funny (or at least sympathetic), they were all just really awkward, as was the elevator scene. Stamets still isn't working at all as a character, and the Spock material isn't working for me either (the scenes of him as a child were laughable and cringeworthy). Pike was OK, but I'm concerned that they're gonna do a Lorca on him – I have a bad feeling that being the captain of Discovery is like being the defence against the dark arts teacher at Hogwarts...

Still 2.5 despite all the above issues because this is incredibly professionally produced, well paced and acted, and very much a first chapter.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 5:19am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

@Karl Zimmerman
"I find it very implausible that two people in their situation - one of which professes to hate the other person, and the other of which found out they were horribly betrayed only five minutes before - would be able to trust one another under any circumstances"

I don't think either of them really trusted one another on the emotional level. Refraining from killing a person who may well be your only hope for survival is hardly the epitome of trust. I'm also pretty sure that Talaya wouldn't have hesitated to kill Ed if it weren't a Union Shuttle that rescued them.

So basically, Talaya had just enough doubt in her beliefs to allow Ed the chance to save them both. As for Ed, he really *really* emotionally invested in giving Talaya the benefit of the doubt. He also had a gun pointed to his face, so he had nothing to lose by clinging to this hope.

Given what we already know about these two characters from season 1, I actually find this development to be quite plausible.
Set Bookmark
Tim C
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 4:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

Three stars!

As with the high points of season 1, "Brother" does action adventure better than its television predecessors were ever able to pull off, thanks to a combo of high budget, two decades of CGI improvments, and a longer production time. Less positively, and also like season 1, though, is a lack of thoughtful character moments to elevate the action into something we're truly invested in, instead of just thrilled by.

Tig Notaro was great. Anson Mount is shaping up to be a fantastic Captain (and geez, they are digging themselves a hole by dint of canon - Pike can't be on this show for too long before he has to go back to the Enterprise, and we'll have to adapt to another new leader). Making sure there was a Starfleet science nerd angle to the asteroid chase is also a good sign.

Hopefully, the long-term arc of the season is going to allow for the show to give us more one-off adventures in the classic Star Trek mold and give the characters a bit more time to breathe between spectacular action scenes, moreso than the Klingon/Mirror stuff did last year.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 4:23am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

I mistakenly submitted my previous comment before completing the final paragraph. It was supposed to read:

I'll take "obnoxious with overt morality" over "no morality what-so-ever" any day. Agreed that Classic Trek was often too preachy and could sometimes benefit from being subtler, but at least it had a positive vision for the future.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 4:21am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: General Discussion

@Weiss

"Discovery is basically repurposing star trek for a new generation, it has to be faster and flashy than the old shows because that is what can sell in tv nowadays with so much competition."

Even the guys at CBS no longer believe that, which is why they've completely changed the tone for Discovery Season 2.

"And the complaints about this show being SJW..."

Nobody on this thread ever complained about that. Funny, how the only people here who are using the term "SJW" at all, are those who complain about these non-existent complaints. You're like the 5th person here who did that.

"(and man, star trek has always been obnoxious with their overt morality, looks at trills in next generation, and every episode with their issues)."

I'll take "obnoxious with overt morality" over "no morality what-so-ever" any day.
Set Bookmark
James
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 4:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Lonely Among Us

A planet named Parliament ? Sorry, but I just can’t take that seriously. And why is an android posing as a fictional detective ?

2 stars. mostly because the aliens were interesting enough to prevent the silliness completely ruining the episode.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 3:49am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Nothing Left on Earth Excepting Fishes

I'm conflicted on this one.

On the one hand, it has a great premise and it is an exceptionally tight story. On the the other hand, just like "Primal Urges", this episode had serious pacing issues. What is it with Bragga and pacing issues? Last season's "Into the Fold" also had this problem.

It's really strange how the quiet episodes like "Home" and "Ja'loja" could keep me riveted every single moment, yet action-packed "Fishes" had me bored half of the time. All in all, not sure how to rate this one. It's either a high 2.5/4 or a low 3/4. I'll probably decide on one of them, after we see how they callback on the events of this epiosde

Also, I wonder what kind of trees this planet has, that can withstand the boiling temperatures of high-noon on this 800-hour day planet.
Set Bookmark
Startrekwatcher
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 2:49am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

I originally hated this episode but having recently rewatched it found it wasn’t as bad as I thought

It’s entertaining enough and I loved the idea of a species using natural disaster to conquer a world. Some of the neelix stuff is annoying but not as bad as I recall

I just think coming so soon after the Borg episode anything would be a let down
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Fri, Jan 18, 2019, 2:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S2: Brother

I haven't seen the episode itself (I'm not ready to give CBS my money yet) but I'll say this much:

It is obvious that Kurtzman is trying to rectify many of the mistakes that were done in season 1. Finally "Discovery" is actually... well... discovering, instead of lense-flaring and advocating war crimes. They also got rid of those ridiculous monsters they called "klingons" in season 1. And while I normally don't like gratuitous fan service, I think that having Pike as our new "resident Captain" is an excellent idea.

Still weary because... well, Kurtzman. But at least they now have the basics right.

By the way,

I'm really *really* interested to see what those Trek veterans who disliked season 1 (like Dom and Peter and Grumpy Otter) have to say about this episode.

Next ►Page 1 of 2,248
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.