Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,170 (Showing 76-100)

Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 21, 2021, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

So McCoy tried every form of "radiation" but not "light"? Ummmmm. And then we find out only "ultraviolet" light works. Wow McCoy isn't very bright, pardon my pun.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Jan 19, 2021, 9:40am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I just watched this battle scene for the heck of it. Can I say the Klingons are absolutely repulsive. They are just ghastly. I feel like they would be better suited to Wishmaster Hellraiser. Can anyone act under all that makeup?

Regarding the battle, let me say again, what the fuck was going on? I couldn't follow anything. So many ships all firing all at once in a VFX vomitstorm. I couldn't even figure out who was who.

I just don't get it. DS9 had this sort of thing down pat. Good God just do what DS9 did but with better effects. Why is this so hard?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jan 18, 2021, 8:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Omega Glory

"So here's a bunch of asians and I'm like wow, great. But then the other captain's like "The savages are clearly more like us!" Because they're the white ones. 🙄 This episode is disappointing."

?? I don't remember that part. I thought Captain Tracey was Allied with the Kohms.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 17, 2021, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

I just rewatched this movie. The first half is actually very good. I loved the sequence on the Enterprise B even if the new Captain was a little too green (isn't Captain of the Enterprise a big deal? Why is the Captain acting like a raw cadet?

Everything with the death of Picard's family was heartfelt and impactful. The impetus for Data's decision to install the emotion chip was a little forced (seriously? Beverley just couldn't forgive him for throwing her in the water?) but some of it worked (I loved the scene where Data realizes he hates Guinan's drink). But then Data's stuff starts to deteriorate into tedium.

Still, by the point where they track down Soren and Ursa and Bator things are holding up well. But then there is this extended sequence on the planet where Picard just kind of circles the forcefield for a long time. Then he loses in a fist fight to Malcolm McDowell sigh... then the Enterprise gets defeated by an outdated Bird of Prey. Then the extended crash sequence which is just so long and boring.....

At this point things are going downhill fast. Now we are in the nexus and Picard's kids look like they are dressed out of a crazy Norman Rockwell or Thomas Kincaid painting. Seriously where did they get those ridiculous clothes? And then there is Kirk... chopping wood. And cooking eggs.... and it's just so ... lame?

And finally the two captains join forces and can go anywhere or any time... and Picard's plan is... a two on one fist fight? And it goes on. And on. And it's. So. Boriiiing.

This is a movie that had everything going for it that had a great script, great actors, great effects and yet... just terrible execution. It just falls flat on its face.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 7:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

@Peter they needed to really *tempt* Picard. The idea was great (giving him a family - especially in light of his real family's death) but the execution was lame. I don't mean to say it needed to have been a call back to Inner Light or something fans would have recognized (although that would have been awesome), but it needed to be more than the Hallmark postcard they gave us which would have been hackneyed and cheesy even for the 80s, like some Norman Rockwell painting. Right idea, wrong execution!

As for Kirk, the concept was sound but it should have been him who rescued Picard from the Nexus not the other way around; after all Kirk's entire character was to spit in the face of "paradise". He was the one guy, the only one, who should have been able to resist the allure of paradise because that was what he did his entire career. Seeing him and Guinan working as a team would have been great.

As for Soren, on paper his motivation for finding the Nexus should have been self-evident - a refugee from a world destroyed by the Borg given the chance to return to a home that no longer existed. I mean good God his motivation as an El Aurian particularly should have been obvious, even understandable to any audience with the slightest development. But somehow he just comes across as an asshole with no real motivation beyond mad obsession- just so wrong and so poorly executed!

So much potential wasted. This is a movie that gets 4 stars in my imagination if only 2 stars in execution. But again, I still want to watch it again because hey it is TNG's last hurrah.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jan 16, 2021, 6:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Generations

"I liked it more than I expected, actually. I was not overly fond of it at the time. But coming straight off the back of the TV series, I appreciated the extra money spent on the production. "

Same here. I thought little of Generations back when it came out - sort of a mediocre next gen episode. Ironically, one of the big hooks, seeing Kirk again, was not much of a draw because I grew up with TNG, not TOS, so Kirk was not my captain really. I felt at the time like Kirk was this interloper, like older people were trying to force their Star Trek on me. Of course I had watched all of TOS and all the TOS movies but it wasn't *my* Star Trek and Kirk was not *my* captain.

But time has improved this movie. It really was the final chance to see TNG in all its glory, especially my beloved Enterprise D. And you know what? It is a pretty decent movie. I'd rate if on the level of say Time's Arrow - not a classic but a solid episode worth watching.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 2:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Mostly it's about the money. "What do you do?" is a first question asked most of the time, and it's more or less interchangeable with "how much money do you make".

That is an oversimplification. The "importance" or status of a job may be correlated strongly to remuneration but in my experience there is a distinction.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 1:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

@Peter I am only noting that even today there are pockets of relative "paradise" here on Earth where things like hunger and deprivation are largely eliminated. They may not be post scarcity societies but they are pretty good overall. Yet we don't say that *humanity* is evolved by arbitrarily ignoring the large parts of the world that are not so lucky.

It seems to me inconsistent with Picard's claims that any human colony could be a dystopian nightmare. If that's true, then how is future human better than the one of today other than having fancier gadgets?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 15, 2021, 11:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S1: The Neutral Zone

"I think you misunderstand. This is a post-scarcity society with replicators and nearly unlimited energy. That's why there's (nominally) no money in the Federation. With no scarcity there's no reason for a medium to allocate scarce resources. Yes people have possessions, but there's no longer a materialistic drive for accumulating said possessions. If anyone can have them, there's no exclusivity or pretension, no keeping up with the Jones'. Instead that drive is turned towards self-improvement and fulfillment through other means. Generally when they do bring up money it's when exchanging with cultures outside the Federation, such as the Ferengi or the Bandi (Farpoint)."


Hmmm... what culture was Turkana IV again? Ferengi?

I always thought Tasha's home world was an odd anachronism. I mean ya, not every human world is creepy sewer rape gangland - but these are *humans* no? Same species as Picard. Where does Picard get off with his mankind has evolved BS? Maybe he should talk to Tasha.

I mean today we have states like Sweden where most everyone lives pretty well while states like Somalia are not so enlightened. Can the Swedes just wall themselves off from the rest of the world and declare *mankind* evolved because Sweden is a paradise? What about the first world generally? If nobody starves in Canada does that mean Canada is as good as the Federation?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 14, 2021, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: In the Pale Moonlight

"Man, am I ever getting annoyed by fans of the morally darker New Star Treks pointing to this and "For the Uniform" as justifications via "whataboutism" for "Discovery," "Picard" and "Lower Decks"'s reprehensible moral codes. These were the EXCEPTIONS to for Sisko, while being the rule for those series."

Yes. DS9 for all its reputation as a "dark" Trek isn't actually all that dark. We have to make a distinction between dark subject matter and what I would call a dark morality I e. nihilism. DS9 ventures into the former but almost never into the latter.

In the Berman era shows killing was a big deal and Starfleet crew almost never did it if it could be helped. Voyager was notorious for this and it even became a bit comedic as Janeway would permit the rando alien hard-ass of the week to wail on the Voyager until its shields were down to 8% before ordering the return of fire - and then she'd just target their engines or something. DS9 wasn't all that different, although given the war setting, obviously Sisko wasn't able to be as accommodating when facing a wing of Jem'Hadar fighters.

Compare this with the casual violence of 7 of 9 mowing down a dozen people in Stardust City Rag or Burnham setting her phaser to kill and shooting that Klingon in the back (no I'm never going to let that one go, cause it was way worse than the mutiny).
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jan 11, 2021, 6:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

This finale, while not perfect, packs more punch, gives us better spectacle, and carries more dramatic weight than all of the sequels put together. Good god, so Disney knows how to make a good Star Wars story after all! Imagine that: action that has tension and gravity, flowing from logical ideas and not arbitrary spectacle; a strong story with real world building in every scene that actually respects its characters; a well earned emotional payoff flowing naturally from *gasp* actual character development and growth; even a bad-ass fan servicing cameo that is perfectly set up and executed for maximum wow factor but is held back until the right moment.

What the Mandalorian got that the sequels completely missed is that we want to spend time in the Star Wars universe, to feel like it is a real place with real worlds and aliens and characters; that not everything has to be about the fate of the galaxy; that lightsabers should be used sparingly; that sometimes smaller stories are the best and to tell a big story well you do have to start small! (Or small-er at least)

From now on, I am going to file away the entire sequel trilogy into some non canon box, say along with that Jedi Academy novel series. As far as I am concerned, the Mandalorian is the sequel to the Star Wars trilogy, its proper successor. To hell with Mary Sue Ray and good-for-nothing Finn and the whole lot of them. To hell with gigantic fleets of 10,000,000,000,000,000,000 death star destroyers and bullshit casino planets and plot breaking light speed jumps through enemy capital ships and all of that tedious, unearned, vapid FX vomit spectacle.

As I see it there are two paths forward for me to enjoy Star Wars: something in that 20 something year gap before the sequels or more prequels. But the second Rey and her merry band so much as get a whisper I am bailing.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 12:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

"The ep is undoubtedly about the Cold War, but I'm not quite sure it's implying that Kirk is barely better than the Klingons. He does, after all, believe his intention is to bring about peace, whereas Kor outright wants glorious battle. So the sides are not exactly symmetrical"

Well consider that at the very outset the Organian tells Kirk that his choice is to deal with the Klingons or the Federation. I think that's a sly dig at Kirk, the implication being that the difference isn't as great as Kirk believes. Later, when we learn that Klingons and humans are "amoeba" compared to the Organians, that attitude is much easier to understand since the Organians could care less about Kirk's rationalization for his own violent behaviour.

I do think there is a cold war parallel here as you stated and note that the episode aired in 1967, right around the time that public opinion was turning against the Vietnam war. Even the name of the episode, "Errand of Mercy" is incongruous as there is nothing "merciful" about Kirk's mission, even if you accept that his goal is noble. Indeed, I see the title as another dig - basically mocking the idea that proxy wars are for the good of the people caught in the middle (another theme that emerged from Vietnam)
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 10:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Errand of Mercy

I love how backhanded the Organians are to Kirk and Spock, thanking them graciously for their "altruism". One thing that jumps out at me is just how self-serving and reckless Kirk and Spock's "help" is. They have just heard from Kor that the Klingons will punish any infraction with death. How many Organians are they sacrificing with their little munitions dump explosion? Are they helping liberate an oppressed people or seeking to use them as canon fodder in a proxy war? Even if it is in the Organians' best interests to fight back it's mighty cold to make that call for them against their will knowing that they will be the ones who pay the price. All to hobble the Klingons so that they won't have their base against the Federation. Altruism indeed! Without any revisionist cynicism I find it apparent that the episode intends for us to see Kirk's motives as barely better than the Klingons. Rather subversive!

I also think there's something to the fact that even after the Organians essentially tip their hands right from the get go (when one of the council members reveals his knowledge of the position and number of Klingon starships) Kirk and Spock remain totally oblivious until the very end. I mean supposedly these guys are at best medieval in their capabilities (notwithstanding their knowledge of space travel) yet Kirk and Spock think nothing of one of them telepathically sensing starships in orbit?! I feel like there is some kind of a metaphor there for colonial arrogance and closed mindedness when faced with a society they deem primitive or beneath them. It's hilarious that the Organians never even really conceal what is going on - they state outright "we are not in danger" . Poor Spock should have put his logic cap on and figured it out.

I also love Kor and Kirk's "you haven't the right!" tantrum when the Organians finally intervene. Coming from Kor especially it is mighty funny. This is the guy who marches onto someone else's planet and declares himself military overlord and he's making a right to self-determination pitch? It's not the argument that bothers me but the total petulance and childishness of it. I expected him to have more humor at the irony.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Jan 9, 2021, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

@Mal just a correction: the Borg Queen never appeared in Scorpion. Her introduction was in First Contact which I think preceded Scorpion didn't it? If that is correct I am grateful she was excluded from Scorpion.

I actually thought she was a decent villain in First Contact but for me she will never be equal to the Borg as they were in BOBW and Scorpion: just a single disembodied voice speaking from a vast collective consciousness.

I was lucky enough to view BOBW in its original broadcast and the line "Death is irrelevant" still sends chills down my spine.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 7:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming it reminds me of that X-Men movie where a mutant assassinating a weapons scientist nobody has ever heard of supposedly causes an anti mutant backlash- not apparently the dropping a football stadium on the White House lawn lol.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 5:35pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

"LOL I thought you were still talking about Sarah Michelle Gellar when you said SMG and I kept wondering when she was on TWD."

Haha I didn't even notice the initials were the same.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Incidentally regarding SMG, while I haven't seen the Walking Dead I suspect she was a strong secondary character who worked well in that specific context but the showrunners made the same mistake as Angel's; failing to understand the limitations of their actors. Except with Discovery they were doubly stupid because for some insane reason they decided to forego the traditional ensemble approach for Trek and just shovel the entire weight of the show on the head of one incredibly mediocre actress playing a poorly written nonsensical character.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Peter G. it is noteworthy that several main cast members on Angel (including of course the titular character) were transplanted from Buffy so calling it poor casting can't really be right entirely. It didn't help that the two initial transplants (Angel and Cordelia) were always secondary recurring characters on Buffy who served niche roles on that series. Neither character was ever intended to or capable of properly carrying a series. If it's casting then only in the sense that the showrunners tried to put too much on the shoulders of actors and characters who couldn't bare the weight.

Buffy's main cast actually wasn't that fantastic individually when you think about it. Sarah Michelle Geller let's face it was always a mediocre actress but she was perfectly casted and the story was perfectly written to her strengths. The cast just had chemistry plus fantastic writing behind them. B5 was another example of a show that was more than the sum of its parts. I mean Claudia Chrostian can't act her way out of a wet paper bag let's be honest.

I mean if someone tried to make a DS9 spinoff starring Andrew Robinson as Garak that would probably be great. Not so much if they picked, I don't know, Bashir or Jake Sisko even if those characters might work well enough in their specific context.

Regarding TNG that cast was jam packed with talent. Season 1's failings were about overarching stories; the characters themselves were bang on from the get go.

Discovery is an example of a show that has pretty much nothing going for it except really high production values and consistent low-risk storytelling. It can never be "bad" in the sense of Code of Honour or Shades of Grey but it's ceiling is so low that the characters are hitting their heads before you even get to 3 stars.

I'm with you that I will take an inconsistent product that reaches great heights (and depths) over something manufactured to never fail but also never really succeed. It is like going to McDonalds versus some brand new high end restaurant. The former will never disappoint but will never surprise or elate either. The new restaurant is a risk no doubt but no risk, no reward.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming as a scientist I am also appalled.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:36am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Just checked Rotten Tomatoes out of curiosity. 93% fresh for critics for Disc S3. Amazing.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 9:34am (UTC -5)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 10: The Passenger

I agree with Jammer that this series is steadfast in its mission of solid storytelling using the Star Wars universe as its canvass. It isn't overly ambitious but manages to deliver on its premise episode after episode. This is true world building coupled with good stories well-executed. Good God I can't imagine what Kurtzman and crew would do with this. The fate of the galaxy would be at stake I am sure.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 7:20am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I think I read somewhere that Kurtzman has a big picture of Michael Burnham in his office, like a shrine or something. They really are proud of this character. She's like the muse for the whole show.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 7:19am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

" Picard surrounded by high achieving women, doctors, engineers, commanders, admirals, even gorgeous Klingon, Vulcan and Romulan babes, and he falls for a grifter. On Risa even! Gimme anothet break, PLEASE!"

Well to be fair she's established as an archeology expert who studied under a prominent archeologist - that isn't what I think of as a grifter. She is basically a female Indiana Jones. You can definitely see the appeal. She even wanted to donate the Tox Utat to the Daestrom museum. Well... maybe not *donate*...
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 8:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

"A food replicator should be able to create food that can be digested without any waste. Why would you add something that cannot be digested, it just puts stress on the digestive system."

I am no doctor but I doubt permitting a part of your digestive system to go unused perpetually would be desirable or healthy.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 4:15am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

" I'll be honest, English is my first language and I didn't realize that term was on the same level as the "n" word, thankfully I don't use the word but it's not something I really thought about before."

This is Dec 2020 not Jan 2020.

Radical far right hate speakers like you and your pal Booming won't be free to do further violence so better get with the times.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.