Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 77 (Showing 51-75)

Set Bookmark
Scott
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 7:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

In the first episode of the series Sisko has to explain time to the wormhole aliens. The same time in which the bajorans live. This should have been a huge topic of discussion. How are the aliens seen as gods of the bajorans if they need a human to explain the time in which the bajorans exist. And what does God even mean to the bajorans? Today the major religions believe in a God that created everything. People believe Gods can not be destroyed. Yet bajorans know that the wormhole aliens can be killed using technology. Kira has been upset a couple times when plans were being made that could harm the aliens. Ds9 talked about the wormhole aliens a lot but nobody ever asked Kira about the fact that their Gods can be killed. Worf also talks about klingon Gods being killed. So logic would say that bajorans don't think the aliens created the universe because they don't even understand the universe in which the bajorans live. This is why Sisko is the weakest captain. No other captain would be fooled into doing whatever the aliens wanted. I wish we could have gotten a scene where Quark tells Kira how the aliens evolved the Nagus and how Quark met with the prophets and explained profit. I don't think they could show that scene because Kira would have to question her whole faith with a plot that dumb.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 8:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

I'm gonna stick up for Bashir here. Now I will admit he comes off forward in the early seasons when he's hitting on women. And I also understand that most trek fans think Obrien can do no wrong. If I have to hear how obrien is the perfect "Everyman" one more time....... Anyways, Bashir has been nothing but nice to obrien the entire series. Even in the early seasons all he wanted was to be friends with obrien. Obrien played it like Bashir was annoying but he really wasn't. Obrien just came off as rude for some reason. He wouldn't have acted that way against anyone on the enterprise. Eventually obrien lightened up and they became friends. I just don't think Bashir ever did anything to make obrien act so rude to him
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 1:59am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

Those are all good points William. It does seem that both Quark and Bashir saw Ezri as a consolation prize or as some form of Jadzia. I just think it would have been cool to see Quark in a relationship. The show always made Quark into a typical ferengi who was all about profit. But he actually did care about some things above profit. I was always intrigued by how loyal he was to the Nagus. He would have done anything for that man. And he was willing to leave the station and his bar to be with Natima. I think that if Worf had never come on DS9 then Jadzia and Bashir would have gotten together. Maybe that's why they had Ezri and Bashir form a relationship. Now that women can wear clothes and earn profit they could have had Pel come back at the end of the series. That would have been interesting. Not enough time I guess.

I like your idea of Jake and Ezri. That would have been really awkward for Jake every time Sisko called his girlfriend "old man". Ha.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

I have a question for all ds9/quark fans. Would it have been ok with you if Quark had ended up with ezri? I ask this because I was reading about this epiisode on memory alpha and it says this

Armin Shimerman sees this episode as setting up his character for the rest of the season; "For the most part, the season is about Quark either mourning Jadzia or pursuing Ezri. The audience would never accept them as a couple though, so there was never a chance for that. So I spent most of the season crying into my own drinks, woeing the fact that I was getting nowhere with Ezri. Although everybody else on the show seemed to get somewhere with her!"

I was always upset that Quark never ended up with anyone. I wouldn't have been upset with Quark and Ezri as a couple. They seemed to have some chemistry in the emperors cloak. I know that was an alternate universe episode but I could have seen them end up together. They were about the same height too. Ha I mean even rom got a woman and he was a side character. I look at the episode Rules of acquisition and the episode where quark loves the cardassian woman and I can definitely see quarks desire for a relationship. I don't agree with Armin when he says the audience would never accept that but would accept Bashir and ezri. Am I wrong? Is it better just have quark be alone running the bar forever?
Set Bookmark
Pscott
Wed, May 14, 2014, 11:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Oh and one more thing.....it wasn't just 8,000 people were affected by this. You have the thousands that have lived and died on that planet during the 200 years then you have the 8000 who died in this ep. And they did die becaue they did physically exist
Set Bookmark
Pscott
Wed, May 14, 2014, 11:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I mostly love this episode but I wanna talk about some character problems. First is Dax. I don't know if it's her acting or what but Dax has always come off as an android to me. Just the way she talks. Even when she's trying to be emotional
It comes off as stale. Anyways this all was Dax's fault. She seems to dislike the new Dax the whole episode. Maybe it's because of guilt if I'm being generous. My main problem with her is she doesn't care that not going back will make these people die. When they are all debating going back or not she says these people will cease to exist. She doesn't say die. Then at the end she coldly tells Sisko these people never existed. These are the people they just planted crops with. She saw these children playing and she again comes off like an android. She doesn't want to take responsibility for these people dying. Even obrien finally comes around and says we can't let these people die. obrien was awesome in this ep. He tried to stay distant from these people but finally realized he couldn't let these people die even if he couldn't see his family again. He is a genuinely good man.

I also had a problem with Odo. He lives with these people for hundreds of years and is ok with them dying just for Kira. It doesn't come off as romantic. It comes off as crazy obsessive. I'm surprised Kira ever hooked up with him. It reminds me of an ep in season 7 when another changeling tells Odo that when they linked he learned that if it wasn't for Kira Odo would be with the great link even with the dominion war ongoing. That was a huge statement. Odo would also be ok with the destruction of the alpha quadrant and all his friends as long as he was in the link. But he stays with the group at ds9 because of Kira. Great episode but it was very revealing for those three characters.
Set Bookmark
Scott D
Fri, Dec 13, 2013, 11:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

One interesting, and perhaps "realistic" aspect of time travel is illustrated: the timeship may be able to *go* anywhere in time; however, there is no exhaustive *record* of time to guide them, at least not to the level of detail required to just beam to X moment to stop Y event. This would explain the messiness in Relativity as they had to cast 7 of 9 about to zero in on the correct moment. It is consistent with Year of Hell, where the Krenim timeship had to tinker, and tinker again, to get the desired result.
Set Bookmark
W. Scott Richardson
Sun, Aug 11, 2013, 7:55am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

"Like Earth in the early Devonian period." That would be the period when ancient humans 'whipped it... whipped it good!'
Set Bookmark
Scott M
Thu, Jul 11, 2013, 9:06am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

This episode isn't perfect, but it certainly is enjoyable. Worf's scenes are perhaps the funniest of the entire series (or even any of the Trek series), and it's fun watching Picard grow beyond his obvious discomfort around the children. Riker and Data work well together, and it would have been nice to see more of them instead of the dull LaForge/Crusher subplot.

Anyway, this is something different, something fun -- especially considering it is essentially a bottle episode. It may not be great, but it has always been one of my favorites.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Sat, Sep 15, 2012, 1:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I'm a bit embarrassed to say, I didn't see it coming at all. I'm so used to characters doing frustrating things that I thought the writers were just being dumb when T'Pol was so helpless, turns out I was the one being dumb!

It was an alright episode, but the pacing was far too slow. I kept falling asleep.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 30, 2012, 8:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Wow, this episode stunk. It stunk even worse for me as I live in the suburbs of Detroit and work in downtown Detroit.

First, I'll tear apart the plot. So why the hell are they trying to get the virus back to the future? Wouldn't they just release it right there in 2004? Killing all the humans in 2004 would be better than killing them in 2154 when they're scattered about the universe in space ships.

I totally agree that it makes no sense that Archer would be sent to 2004 two months into the Xindi mission. It would make more sense for them to be sent right on the heels of the Xindi and to spend the episode right on the heels trying to predict their next move and stop them.

Also, I totally agree that it makes no sense whatsoever that they need to make this virus specific to all blood types. There are very few things on this Earth in present day that are specific to a blood type.


OK, now I've got to tear apart the "Detroit 2004" part.

First off, apparently in 2004 Detroit had very few black people. In fact, Detroit now only has two black people, a cop and a hooker.

Secondly, not a single scene was from Detroit. The shot of the skyline was LA! I mean, c'mon, you couldn't even throw in a shot of the Detroit skyline?

Thirdly, on the radio there's an advertisement for a monster truck rally at the "tri-city" whatever. There is no "tri-city" in Detroit. There's the "tri-county" area of Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb. There is no tri-city.

The only thing they got right were the police cars which were either actual Detroit police cars, or extremely similar.

If you're going to say that a plot is in a certain city, you actually have to make an attempt. You can't say "Detroit" and show the LA skyline.

The only thing that seems accurate about the setting is:

1) There is a Carpenter Street in Detroit\Hamtramck (I think they just got lucky on that one)
2) Detroit did exist in 2004 and had hookers


Sucky plot. No attempt made at depicting Detroit. More time-travel wizardry.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Mon, Aug 20, 2012, 8:21pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

I did not find this episode very entertaining. My wife was having issues with the strobes, she has epilepsy.

Not much of a story at all. It was like one of those zombie-end-of-the-world movies you see.

I give it two-stars.

Watchable, but not much further than that.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 16, 2012, 9:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Wow, this episode was bad. At first it was a little interesting trying to figure out why those dudes were torching the people. At first I thought it was going to be another "ENT: Rouge Planet" episode.

As soon as the away team started to transform I immediately, and literally picture a big red "RESET" button on the TV screen that they were going to press at the very end.

The main characters always have to live, so when you do episodes like this where we know what the ending will look like, it's important for it to have interesting dialogue. However, this episode was so boring.

First off, I agree with Jammer. I don't buy into the "DNA-Rewrite". First off, you wouldn't survive. Secondly, even if it were possible, it would not happen so quickly. Thirdly, if it was to happen so quickly they would need to eat like crazy to generate the energy for their bodies to do all that transforming,

I found the ending where Archer magically storms on the bridge when just 40 seconds ago he was a weird alien to be totally bogus. I usually only roll my eyes at the T'Pol Hot Bod[TM] scenes, but this one managed to get one from me.

Also, Archer wouldn't let Phlox destroy the "last remains" of the alien race. I simply don't get it, is there not a whole %$^#ing planet of virus still left? What does one vial matter?

I really thought Archer was going to tell Phlox to save the virus so he could use it on the Xindi if negotiations didn't work, but that would have been too evil for any Trek captain to save a genocidal biological weapon for the purpose of using it. However, if you want to keep a genocidal biological weapon on your ship for the hell of it, that makes perfect sense!

1.5 stars was generous. I give it 1-star tops.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 7:33am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

I like this episode. I know that it's not a completely compatible metaphor, but I think the message is still completely applicable to the AIDS\HIV situation as well as other situations.

In the early days of AIDS\HIV it was thought of a homosexual disease. Then it turned into a disease of homosexuals, drug users, and the promiscuous.

Even today there is still a great stigma when it comes to AIDS\HIV. All though it's manageable it's a diagnosis that still caries a shorter lifespan.

AIDS\HIV is very preventable, and that combined with its profoundly negative health consequences account for the present day stigma.

This episode has some valuable lessons in it, including tolerance, acceptance, and wanting to reach out and help people even if some of those people are part of a lifestyle you may choose to not be a part of.

I also very much liked the moral lesson with Flox and Trip. To Flox it was completely normal for his wife to pursue Trip. And in the inverse it was perfectly normal for Trip to not want relations with a married woman. In the end they both understood and respected the moral differences between the two cultures.

This also applies to a society where polygamy and homosexuality is so hated. The moral lesson applies, if you don't want to have multiple partners or if you don't want to engage in relations with someone of a certain sex, then it's your choice, as it's the choice of others to do contrary.

I never watched this episode on TV, so I never got to see the HIV\AIDS hotline part at the end. However, I can see where that might be a little too "in your face" of a message. I think it also might narrow minds on what this message could apply to.

But more to the episode, I agree with others about the glaring continuity issue. T'Pol willingly started the mind-meld, so she got the disease willingly. The facts were changed to fit the plot of the episode, and they didn't even really need to be.

So really, T'Pol was the one damaging the minority more with her false mind-rape claim.

I'm also still frustrated by how much of an ass that Archer is, and how he has no respect for T'Pol's personal space. His short temper comes up again in this episode. It's so frustrating to watch this bumbling hothead-idiot commanding humanity's most prized possession.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Tue, Jul 31, 2012, 9:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

I thought this episode was above average. I found watching the crew preparing to be entertaining. It makes me think of situations at my work where I've been sent down into the data center to complete some kind of mission critical task on a short time line and everyone pulls together.

I like that a large amount of crew (extras) were used to get a feeling for the amount of folks that are on the ship. The whole "camping" aspect of the show was fun, and we can all go back to a situation where we were camping and had much less space.

The alien takeover was a little too predictable in its ending, but we can't complain too much about that, because the writers can't destroy the crew\ship.

I liked that they dug into T'pol's character a little more, and made her a little more likable.

I would give this episode 3 to 3.5 stars. It was different, fun, predictable, but enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Mon, Jul 30, 2012, 8:22pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I agree that this episode was terrible. For me it wasn't so much the cliché. The only parts that I found to be completely cliché were when their anger boiled over into romance and the "pampered" part of Kaitaama's character. Yup, it's sure believable that when two people are in a life and death survival situation that they can't even keep their pants zipped for even the first night.

What took this episode from bad to completely terrible was Padma Lakshmi. Her acting in this episode sounded like she was reading the lines for the first time and just saying the words to say them. Lakshmi reminded me of the very first Janeway that didn't work out.

As for those criticizing this review, I rather liked the review. It made me feel better about the last 43 minutes of my life. Knowing that I'm not the only one that watched this episode gives me comfort.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Sun, Jul 15, 2012, 10:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Well, I watched this episode and knew I could count on you for a scathing review.

I also rolled my eyes at the Hoshi-->T'Pol-->Archer-->Porthos rubdown scene.

Really? An episode that focuses on developing the character of the ****ing dog? And also managed to murder the character of Archer and make him more unlikable than Wesley Crusher?

Gee... here is an alien culture that is very easily offended and we need something from them. Let's go down there. I'll need my communications officer to communicate. I'll need my science officer for her wisdom. And I'll also need my dog so he can shed, s***, and p*** all over the place. No chance of anything going wrong here.

This episode was horrible, and 1-star was a very generous and forgiving rating.

I would have given it negative 1/2 star for damaging Archer's character.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Sat, Jul 7, 2012, 8:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Jamahl, I disagree with you on this episode. I rather enjoyed it.

However, your review is so hilarious and true. The episode was hokey and predictable, but still entertaining to me.

I do certainly agree with you that the Ferengi episodes in DS9 were painful after a while!
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Sat, Jul 7, 2012, 2:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S1: Shuttlepod One

I found this episode to not be very entertaining. I understand that certain episodes will focus more heavily on certain characters to build them up. However, character building should be done WITHIN a plot, not in absence of one.

The tight shots of Reed's face were disturbing, he looks too much like Michael Jackson.

The episode was tolerable for the first half, but the second half just became very redundant. We get, Reed had a bunch of people he never really connected with that he wanted close with. We get it, Trip won't give up until the end, despite the odds.

Reiterating it over and over almost seemed condescending to the audience; especially since based off the character building in the episode alone we knew that those characters would not be disposed of.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Tue, Mar 6, 2012, 12:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

In the food.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Fri, Dec 23, 2011, 2:25pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S6: Waltz

@Kevin Well, it can mostly be chalked up to his emotional instability, but what Dukat seems to really want is Sisko to acknowledge he respects and admires him, and doesn't want to be rescued before he can get what he wants from Sisko. This is, of course, a crazy thing to do, since he would probably kill them both in the process, but this was his reasoning as I understood it.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Tue, Dec 6, 2011, 11:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S7: It's Only a Paper Moon

So... You're living on the holodeck in a Vegas simulation. And you have to poop. Where does the poop go?
Set Bookmark
W. Scott Richardson
Wed, Jul 6, 2011, 3:48pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

@HipsterDoofus

The locusts comment is incredibly apt, as Capt Sisko had predicted that Locusts would destroy Bajor if they signed a treaty with the Federation. This was literally what we were seeing at the end of this episode, as when the Dominion brought war to the Alpha Quadrant, Weyoun sought a peace treaty with Bajor because of their unattached status rather than subjugate them had they been part of the Federation.
Set Bookmark
Scott Fraser "A Likely Lad"
Fri, May 22, 2009, 9:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: The Motion Picture

Star Trek The Motion Picture (TMP)is my favourite film in the entire series. It is interesting that this is the only visualisation of a lost period in Star Trek's fictional timeline. Consider, we have the original 5 year mission which was followed by this movie (not counting the animated series)there is then a 14 year gap, fictionally as it were in time from the end of TMP and The Wrath of Khan (TWOK). All the remaining films are set after each other leading up to the final mission of the original crew and Kirk's death. The period of time from the end of the 5 year mission to the beginning of TWOK is an immense source of speculation and interest for fans and scores of unofficial books have been set in this period.
TMP is divorced from the rest of Kirk's time in Trek through being set in this gap and provides just a small peek at this unknown period. The script was the original pilot proposal for a new series on TV called Star Trek Phase 2 and it's interesting to speculate which way Trek would have gone had this been the start of a new series rather than the first film.

The script itself was titled "In Thy Image" for the TV pilot project but was dropped when it was decided to adapt it to movie form, I do think the title The Motion Picture is boring and I wish they had kept the original title, it gives a better indication of things than TMP which could mean anything.
The film has been remastered and looks brilliant, but it has also been re-edited to quicken the pace and make the film seem a bit busier and faster, the selling point however is that some scenes and effects have been completely replaced, one of them is a breathtaking shot of the planet Vulcan with giant statues and ancient temples and blood red skies and mountains, it is worth the purchase of this disc for this alone. Sensational.
The soundtrack of TMP is something that has always stuck in my head from the day that I first saw this in 1979, it is possibly the best music ever used on Trek, but then what do you expect being composed by the genius that gave us the Jaws theme, Jerry Goldsmith. I will never forget his Ilia's overture, the Klingon theme that became so famous and of course the Enterprise music score. World class.

TMP is more in line with the way Gene Roddenberry originally envisaged the series, by being more thoughtful, intellegent and character-led than the more grand shoot-em-ups and big battles going off in space. Stories like The City on the Edge of Forver and The Inner Light are of much more interest to me than stories like The Best of Both Worlds and Scorpion.

The special features are to die for including such gems as a documentary on the aborted Phase 2 series with some super rare test footage of various elements, documentaries are also used to cover the film itself and the reimagining of thing. Theatrical and teaser trailers are included as are 16 quite substantial deleted scenes, and storyboard archives. Great stuff.

This film is not only my favourite Trek movie but rates very highly in my all-time list of all films, but I do have one gripe however. as much as I love this version of the movie I would have like to have been given the choice to watch the original theatrical version if I so choose, and it should have been an option on this disc. You can see all the original material that was changed in one of the extras, but this is not the same as having it integrated into the movie itself.

So there we are, not only the best Trek film but for the sheer quality of the special features the best DVD release of a Trek Film. Unmissable.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sat, Mar 14, 2009, 11:44am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Islanded in a Stream of Stars

Jammer-

Will you be reviewing the finale as two parts or as one giant show? It looks like the more I think about it, it was written, cut, and put together mostly as one giant piece and just sliced up due to scifi's airing constraints.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.