Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 283 (Showing 51-75)

Set Bookmark
Sam
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 6:03am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Vortex

Going back through 1st season, recently tried re-watching this episode and still couldn't get into it. Even re-watched it a second time after reading this review and thinking I must be missing something. The aliens seem very uninspired in their prosthetics. I grew tired of Miradorn's childishly condescending "My pain is twice what yours would be because you don't know my species" routine, and of Croden's manipulative insinuations (not to mention the outfit he wears). Croden's reunion with his daughter was also as cloying as I remembered. At the end Odo deadpans "Home. Where is it. Someday we'll know. Cousin." Berman Trek rarely seemed to figure out that sometimes one doesn't need to say anything at all. I agree with Jammer's reviews more often than not, but upon this re-watch Q-Less and Storyteller both stuck with me better than this did.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Fri, Mar 15, 2019, 3:07am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Corbomite Maneuver

I agree with Jammer on the fact that this episode drags a bit, but I still enjoyed it!

I also wrote a short review here, if you want to have a look:

https://vengonofuoridallefottutepareti.wordpress.com/2019/03/14/star-trek-tos-s01e10-the-corbomite-maneuver/
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Sun, Mar 3, 2019, 12:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Just two things about this episode that really made it work for me:

1) The epic light show of a FIREFIGHT that you KNOW who the participants are and what they're firing

2) NO RESET BUTTON! This is the big thing here with Isaac: the fact that he won't be welcome back on his home planet, and the fact that he will have to win back the crew's trust (and ESPECIALLY that of the good Doc and her children).

I also loved how the writers and the directors utilized Yaphit and how Claire's son Ty got to be a bit of a hero too
Set Bookmark
Sam
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 4:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

@Trent

"Seth's double bluff is pretty ingenious when you think about it.

In Star Trek Discovery, as we all recall, a Federation officer called Ash Tyler is revealed to be an undercover Klingon sleeper agent. This was supposed to be a shocking plot-twist, but Trek fans figured it out fairly early.

Seth initially seemed to be paying homage to this in the Orville: he has a Krill agent infiltrate the Orville by posing as a Union officer, also called Tyler. But it seems as though Tyler's surprise revelation was a bit of neat misdirection by Seth. The surprising undercover mole was Isaac all along, a guy who well and truly endeared himself to audiences.

And virtually nobody figured this out or anticipated this, despite Isaac being introduced in the pilot as a raging racist (speciest?) on a reconnaissance/information-gathering mission. "

Isaac wasn't a mole. He wasn't anything other than what he claimed to be, a science officer from an ultra secretive world who was on board to do research. The Kaylons didn't plan to invade Earth until the events of the episode.
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 3:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Charlie X

I think that Jammer is right in saying that the point of the episode lies not so much in its plot, but rather in the theme of adolescence which is actually treated well.

I wrote about it here!

https://vengonofuoridallefottutepareti.wordpress.com/2018/12/18/star-trek-tos-s01e02-charlie-x-english/
Set Bookmark
SamSimon
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 3:26am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Man Trap

I agree with Jammer, not the best way to start the show... but hey, it's an entertaining episode after all!

I wrote about it here:

https://vengonofuoridallefottutepareti.wordpress.com/2018/12/13/star-trek-tos-s01e01-the-man-trap-english/
Set Bookmark
Sam
Fri, Feb 15, 2019, 3:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

When it boils down to it, this episode was about a bunch of sentient mushrooms kidnapping Tilly into their mushroom dimension via a mushroom transporter. Everyone has to rescue Tilly but turns out the sentient mushrooms just need help defending themselves from a dead guy who's made of shroom matter/energy who just wants to defend himself. They throw the dead guy into the mushroom transporter with a dash of his DNA to bring him back as a mushroom-human hybrid and bam the search for Spock continues...but now there might be time travel involved with the 7 signals.

- Burnham now has a fourth facial expression ("grim determination" as in the shuttle bay scene, adding to her reportoire of "difficult conversation", "intense sadness" and "plain confusion").

- Camera work is a huge improvement on the last two episodes. Lots of shakycam in the shroomverse though.

- The only acceptable colour is still blue.

- "I envy those who can believe there is a greater hand writing our story, who chooses the words to keep chaos at bay." No stop, please. Don't try to be deep when you know you don't have the writing chops.

- I am giving negative fucks about Spock at this point.

- The "three minutes" before the spores eat the ship seemed to stretched forever. This deflated all the tension and made the scene with getting Cubler back stick out awkwardly in my opinon.

I'm interested to see what the next showrunner brings to DSC, since I wasn't too impressed with this episode. 1.5 stars at most for me, upgrading to 2 stars if we include the awesome visuals.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Fri, Jan 25, 2019, 11:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

Why is a midlevel ship given first contact opportunity? Give it to experienced diplomats.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Jan 6, 2019, 6:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Primal Urges

Jammer doesn’t get comedy, round two. :-p

Lighthearted episodes are the hallmark of TNG and DS9 so that the more serious content doesn’t turn away the audience (Shakespeare clowns in Hamlet?). This episode is a mix of tones for that reason.

That’s said, the episode has problems. Primarily this is all rehash of earlier Trek themes. Barclay holodeck addiction to boot, with a throwback to Quark tailoring programs, etc.

Yet this is a character episode. Much better than what passes for Trek on DSC.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Sun, Jan 6, 2019, 6:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Jammer, I love you, man. You know I have props for your writing chops. But you fundamentally just do not get lighthearted humor on sci-fi shows. DS9 ferengi episodes are exhibit A, and this is exhibit B.
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 11:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

Dave in MN

"Really enjoyed the doctor's plot .... I was pissed at those parents for easily condemning Marcus very easily and calling Claire a liar, so yes, Isaac shutting them down was very satisfying. (Great casting/ acting from all the kids)."

I agree COMPLETELY with your assessment there. Isaac's assmentment was completely on point here. (Trust me, I was rooting for Claire and Marcus the whole time, calling Jody and Nathan's BS.) The sweetest part for me was Claire asking Isaac to be her date for Bortus' Ja'loba. And the acting there was absolutely ON POINT.

"I was ready to hate the character of Cassius immediately (I like Kelly and Ed as a couple), but kudos to the actor for making him likeable and believable."

So was I, until I saw Cassius in his teaching role. Also, I LOVED when Ed came knocking, apologized to him, and showed Cassius how to make it up to Kelly. I think the two had more in common than they realized.

John as Gordon's love advisor? Almost priceless.

"Also, Topa grew!"

I just about forgot about baby Topa. Nice to see him age into a handsome ten-year-old Moclan.

I've been a lurker here for some time, but I watched all 12 episodes of the Orville's first season. And let me say that I really liked ALL the episodes. And I just watched "Ja'loba" for the second time, on demand. I enjoyed it even more than when I watched the premier yesterday. (I wonder if Alara and John were dates together for the event since the near ending showed then together at the piano.)
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Mon, Dec 31, 2018, 10:17am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

@Dougie yeah. Bortus peed.

My general thoughts on this episode
- Even in 25th century space, racism and the problematic single mother trope is inescapable. What really pissed me off (no pun intended) was Marcus' "friend" James' mom and dad acted so much like they were better than Claire.

- Ed's drive-by past the window of Kelly's quarters? Really?

- The zipper jacket John made for Gordon, and the simulator difficulty from 1 straight to 8.

- And the relationship woes continue for Alara.

All of this leading up to Bortus' Ja'loja (the Great Release). Well, at least we may see something between the captain and Lt. Janel Tyler.
Set Bookmark
Samantha Bradley
Sun, Dec 30, 2018, 10:14pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: General Discussion

Well, it's come and gone. All I will say is that it has something to do with the Great Release 😆
Set Bookmark
Sam
Sat, Dec 1, 2018, 7:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: The Reckoning

Am I the only one that enjoyed this episode in a so bad its good kind of way? I'm kind of amazed that this episode actually made it past the drawing board. It is a really bad sign if Star Trek makes me think of Ghost Busters if Ghost Busters didn't have any humor or self-awareness.

That being said, the bizarre showdown at the end of the episode was at least entertaining, even if only for the fact that I was laughing at it as opposed to with it. I would infinitely prefer being forced to sit down and watch this episode again as opposed to something like 'Let He Who is Without Sin', or indeed any episode focused on a romantic relationship (I suppose that is somewhat ironic given that the Kira Odo relationship continues where it left off in the last episode, including one of the most tacky lines of dialogue ever written).
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Fri, Nov 16, 2018, 4:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Muse

I think this one probably suffers from sitting in the middle of the superb series 4. Worst of series 4, no question, but the show has made far worse, and the very worst episode, Profit and Lace, is yet to come. The scenes between Odo and Lwaxana are sweet and have some emotional truth to them. The Jake stuff is just empty rubbish. It might be interesting if he made a choice to trade longevity for a burst of brilliance, but he never appears to understand what his happening to him, so it's just a bunch of weird nonsense with no consequences.
Set Bookmark
Sam
Wed, Oct 17, 2018, 8:21am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rules of Acquisition

^ Using left-wing sources with clear leftist biases to confirm existing leftist stereotypes of the entire right-wing political realm. Yep. Typical leftist process of dehumanizing those they don't like. Also, the alt-right, if the name itself doesn't give it up, doesn't encompass the entire right-wing.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Thu, Oct 4, 2018, 8:38am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Paradise Lost

I really wish that there was an alternate take of the scene where Sisko picks up Leyton's admiral pips, in which Sisko pins them on himself and then starts cackling maniacally.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Wed, Oct 3, 2018, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Redemption, Part II

The silly thing here is that the net that is mapped is 2D in a 3D space.The Romulans can easily fly around the net if they want to. Such a silly premise!
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Mon, Oct 1, 2018, 9:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Emissary

A lot of symbols and foreshadowing here. Kheylar arrives in a box she calls a coffin and is killed off in a later episode, looking ahead at her death. She says she won’t be so easy to get rid of and proves it by brining a child with her who is always now attached to Worf. The poker game is a game of bluffing, a new skill for Worf that he has to immediately use. The penultimate would be if we get a Captain Worf series eventually that picks up is thread. Stellar episode, folks.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Thu, Sep 27, 2018, 5:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Search, Part II

I have no qualms with the ending. But it is striking how disrespectfully the Vorta (Let’s call him “Joey”) treats Odo. After all, this is not in keeping with how Weyoun treats him most of the time.
Set Bookmark
Samuel Lawrence
Tue, Sep 11, 2018, 4:17am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

This would also explain why Goran'Agar and Bashir can't find an answer to the problem in the environment - the planet had nothing to do with Goran'Agar's ability to break the addiction. It was inside him all along, to use the cheesiest possible phrasing.
Set Bookmark
Samuel Lawrence
Tue, Sep 11, 2018, 4:14am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hippocratic Oath

Love this one. Just a theory here which I think would be consistent with, if not proved by, the content of the episode - maybe all the Jem'Hadar actually need to do to break the addiction and produce ketracel white internally is to stop taking the drug externally. They might all have some internal system which produces the drug, which temporarily shuts down when they get it from an external source, or it may be that the Dominion supplies them with a higher level of it than their body needs, so they become dependent on that higher level. (Bashir says to Goran'Agar that his body is producing exactly the amount of white he needs to survive). Don't forget that while they are genetically engineered, they must have been bred from some other naturally evolved creature - maybe production and internal consumption of ketracel white is part of that creature's natural process that the Dominion found a way to produce externally, then they manipulated their use of it.

It's implied in other episodes that if denied access to the drug they tend to go insane and kill each other - it may be that the reason Goran'Agar didn't die is just because there were no other Jem'Hadar around to kill him. So the lethal factor in losing the drug is actually the horrible withdrawal symptoms causing the Jem'Hadar to go insane in the period before their body achieves its natural ketracel white balance.

Just a fan theory - but doesn't it seem like something the Dominion would do? Telling the Jem'Hadar that only the Dominion can supply them with this vital substance, when in fact their bodies can produce it themselves.
Set Bookmark
Samuel
Wed, Aug 29, 2018, 4:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: The Way of the Warrior

@Thunderchild - As the Defiant is leaving DS9, Sisko tells Bashir that there are hundreds of Klingon ships between them and Dukat. Presumably the ones that beat the Defiant to DS9 were some of these hundreds of ships.
Set Bookmark
SamL
Wed, Jul 25, 2018, 5:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Dragon's Teeth

Janeway is mostly to blame for this whole mess. Seven may have lit the proverbial match by waking up the first Vaadwaur, but Janeway's the one who fanned that flame into an out-of-control blaze by deciding to wake up the rest of them.
Set Bookmark
Baron Samedi
Tue, Jun 26, 2018, 5:11pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

@Cody B Glad you made it through all of TNG! As an avid DS9 fan I'm excited for you to be moving onto it. As to Voyager and Enterprise, I'll throw in my ten cents.

I think that Voyager is absolutely worth it, especially if you liked TNG so much. It has its share of flops but it's also a ton of fun. The peak is probably the final stretch of episodes of season 3 through the first couple episodes in Season 6. I've grown to appreciate it more in in retrospect, especially after the constant hyperbolic filmmaking and loud action of Discovery. It has a huge variety of types of episodes, almost all self-contained, and you never know what you're going to get in terms of genre or quality. It's also a bit more of an action/adventure show than TNG overall.

As to Enterprise, I find the first two seasons to be mostly garbage, but it gets good in seasons 3 and 4. The first two seasons are mostly standalone episodes, too, so they are pretty skippable. I'd honestly recommend watching the pilot and maybe "Dear Doctor" (the most divisive episode of the series, to see what all the fuss is about), "Cogenitor", "Regeneration", the Season 2 finale and then just watching Seasons 3 and 4. But you're welcome to watch the whole thing if you feel like being a completist.

Anyhow, that's just my opinion.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.