Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 264 (Showing 51-75)

Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

It would have been a good way of rebooting the show! Take everyone to the future - let them face the Borg etc... BUT we all know Spock wouldn't be there.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 6:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

It's amazing that people keep watching things they supposedly hate. Your life is short. If you don't like Discovery, The Orville, Star Wars, Who, Potter etc... then stop watching them!

I stopped watching Discovery after S2 Ep3 and I was done. But a mate convinced me to give it another go and now I like it. Because S2 is much better than S1 and because the show works better when being binge-watched.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Apr 13, 2019, 5:56am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 1

Imagine if Michael went to the future and that's now the show! The rest of the characters are gone. The DISCO haters would really hate that. They could rename it - The Michael Burnham show! Michael TNG.

[I personally don't have a problem with her. I did at first (because the actress was in Walking Dead mode, which might have been me) but I like her now.

Also, to all the trolls who hate DISCO, the Picard show is moving forward. People on YouTube were saying it's been cancelled, but it hasn't. Rehearsals have started. They're pushing it close for a 2019 debut, no?
Set Bookmark
SC
Thu, Apr 11, 2019, 8:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

@TheGorn.

I wouldn't believe anything he is saying. Him and his followers clearly hate the show and call it 'childish STD.' They don't want a season 3 or a new Picard series to be made. Man babies, all of them. If they don't like it, no one is allowed to enjoy it.
Set Bookmark
SC
Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 6:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Through the Valley of Shadows

If the heads of CBS streaming have any sense, they'll drop the planned Georgiou spinoff and replace it with a Pike / Spock spinoff. I worry for next season when Anson Mount is no longer around.

Still:

"Can I have a time crystal?"
"No!"
"I'm not leaving without one."
"Oh, all right then!"

It was poorly written but the future scene was compelling. I don't see why Pike can't change his future if he takes a time crystal. He just needs to be wary and avoid those circumstances on that day. Assuming he can figure it out. In regards to the show, would it be so bad if he managed to change that event and stick around? It would be an alternative timeline and that would be okay.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 7:30am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I'm from the UK and sadly I am sick most of the time. No doubt part of the reason I want to watch wholesome entertainment. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sun, Apr 7, 2019, 2:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

"Is it exemplary to shy away from the things that plague human existence?"

Yes, I think so, because otherwise you risk glamorizing that behavior and being corrupted by it yourself. As you said, you do not watch Torture Porn movies and I suppose this is because the extreme violence does nothing for you. I wouldn't expect you to start watching those movies. I gave you two examples that the mass public like that I do not. Pornography and extreme horror. You disputed the second point but I don't agree. Men are often drawn to horror because they think they'll be considered a wimp if they don't like it. 165 million (Saw III) from a 10 million budget is very impressive. Then we have to add everyone who saw the movie on home video. There are many, many horror fans. It's probably mostly younger people but older people like them too.

Cody mentioned The Wire and a boy throwing his future away to Heroin. This is exactly the kind of thing I do not wish to see. The world is scary enough without watching this kind of thing for entertainment. At least, to me. It's like the news, there is some benefit to be had from listening to it. But it also reports the most negative aspects of humanity, for ratings. And TV is inherently negative anyway.

I consider Picard to be a role model. He is a man of duty and honour, a good friend, a decent human being. And he drinks Earl Grey, which is a plus :) But as you pointed out, he is flawed. Most people are. Still, in most episodes (as it is nearly always about the job) he is a role model. Nucky and Don Draper are anti-heroes in that, the audience like them and root for them, even though they are horrible people. I've often seen people say they want to be like Don or that they relate to him. He is a product of his time. Compelling maybe, but as Jon Hamm said, don't try and be like Don. Buy a nice suit of you want to, but don't smoke and drink like him, or cheat on your wife.

There are different degrees of being a do-gooder. I have argued with people online who infuriate me, because they get offended at every little thing. Worse still, they pretend to be offended! White men who get offended if there are white men in the cast. Men who think female actresses are hard done by, when there are many successful, millionaire actresses. Making a mountain out of a mole hill. However, you can be a good person without being a do-gooder or being called a snowflake if you don't like something. [The dumbest insult ever.] You can be inspired by people like Picard and Pike (without idolizing them and wanting to be them) and you can watch things with hope and idealism, and fun. People seem depressed these days and part of it, is what they watch on TV. Everything is so miserable and negative.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 5:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Gooz Chos.

This is what I'm talking about with The Wire. Yet, I don't find it to be the case with Discovery. Different perspectives.

RE: Discovery. It was one of my main criticisms of season 1, that everyone seemed to be miserable all the time. I mean, I know there was a war on but make some time for fun and lightheartedness. TNG did! During season one, Sonequa Martin-Green was stuck in Walking Dead mode! With a miserable face. But I quite like Michael now, she has grown on me. She actually smiles and laughs! At least occasionally. The actress is showing range and different emotions. Maybe it's because I'm binge-watching the season but I don't find it to be wallowing in misery and depression any more. There is light among the darkness. I mean, it's not The Orville but there is fun to be had.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 5:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

"The structure, the narrative arcs aren't there to please you, they are there to show you why things are happening the way they do in the city of Baltimore.

First season: the projects or ghetto
Second season: The harbor
Third season: city hall
forth season: schools
fifth season: newspapers ."

True. But as so-called entertainment it just doesn't appeal to me. This is true to life (gangs are everywhere) and I'm all about escapism. As tragic as it is, I would rather not know about it. I prefer to spend my time being inspired and watching happy films and television.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 5:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

"If he would live today he would look like a naive idiot."

Why? Be the example, not part of the herd. Be the best person you can be. Question why you're doing this, what value does this bring to my life. I don't watch The Wire because I believe it has nothing to offer me, but misery and depression.

In the same way that I no longer watch pornography. The woman in the clip might be drugged, she might be under age or she might regret her decision. And yet millions of people watch pornography. I also will not watch Torture Porn films, because I have empathy and they offer no value to my life. They celebrate the worst of humanity. Does this make me a naive idiot? No. But yet, I am in the minority.

I would rather look up to someone like Pike and Picard, than Walter White and Nucky Thompson, or even Don Draper. Who are all anti-heroes. People like them even though they are essentially the bad guy and deeply flawed. It's like the people who cheer on the villain in slasher movies. The Wire is full of anti-heroes, both the drug dealers and the detectives.

"I just read the wiki page that courses about the Wire are taught at Johns Hopkins and Harvard to name a few."

Professors teach courses on many TV shows, for example: Buffy the Vampire Slayer. It doesn't mean a great deal. For the record, I like BtVS, that's not a diss.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Apr 6, 2019, 7:53am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

@Cody B.

I've never been a fan of anti-hero shows, where even the good guys are flawed (and might as well be the bad guys.) I see no hope there. Just misery and depression. We're asked to admire and like the bad guys. See Breaking Bad and The Walking Dead. Although I have watched both of those series. Breaking Bad, once (it was watchable but hardly great), and I gave up on the Walking Dead after the disgraceful baseball bat incident. I just knew down the line they'd ask us to embrace Negan (and that's what's happening now.)

The Wire is a very niche show with a few million viewers (worldwide) and a bunch of critics bigging it up. As you said, other people see the acclaim and repeat (whether they really like it or not.) I'm not saying that some people don't like it. Or that some people don't love it. I have no interest in drug dealers and I'm no longer in my twenties (or sadly thirties) so I can't relate to the youth depicted in the show, thankfully. I have seen The Wire (s1 and 2) once and it walks a fine line between dissing and glamorizing their behavior. Many gangs no doubt gravitate towards the show (seeing themselves in the characters)

I prefer good role models and admirable behavior, hope and idealism. This is why I like Pike on Discovery, because I am of a similar age to him - he is relatable and someone to look up to.
Set Bookmark
SC
Fri, Apr 5, 2019, 2:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Perpetual Infinity

I could never get into The Wire. I persevered and dropped it after season 2. If the subject matter is of no interest, then what's the point? The show is hugely overrated. Discovery however is growing on me. I stopped watching it at the beginning of this season and have been catching up. Those visuals are damn impressive! And the story line is getting better. Pike is perfectly cast and to me, easily the best character on the show - because the actor is a great actor. He doesn't look one note, he actually acts, with feeling, sometimes he smiles and laughs, other times he's serious. He could hold the show together like Stewart did with early TNG, so it's a shame he's leaving after season 2.

If CBS want a spin-off, Pike is the way to go, not Georgiou.
Set Bookmark
Douglas Schmidt
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 9:24am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I mean they don’t even show 7 of 9 getting back to the ship from the escape pod. They don’t explain what happened to the Ferengi. And how did an escape pod shake the Ferengi ship like that? Nothing about the ending made sense. Perhaps the reruns cut out scenes that aired during its initial run??
Set Bookmark
Douglas Schmidt
Tue, Apr 2, 2019, 9:21am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Inside Man

I really felt it ended abruptly without any real explanations. I feel like I wasted an hour of my time for absolutely nothing at all
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 11:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

@meister

This is where we disagree. Some of my favourite episodes are the holodeck / period play episodes.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 11:37am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: The Royale

Just adding my name to the list of people who disagree with this review. I really like this fun - fantasy adventure - episode. It's a clever idea with a decent mystery.

I'm not having a go at Jammer, he's entitled to his opinion, I just disagree with it.
Set Bookmark
SC
Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 8:20am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

@DAVE

NCAA playoffs. Surely not the same audience as The Orville.

@Gerontius

The show airs on FOX in the UK. There are usually three adverts. One every fifteen minutes. I've watched shows in America before and there seems to be an advert every five minutes. How anyone can follow the storyline, it must be so annoying.
Set Bookmark
SC
Fri, Mar 29, 2019, 10:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

April 11th for the next episode (in America.) This is why ratings drop on US shows, because they're not consistent, week to week, in their time slot. Even when they are, the amount of adverts and the frequency of them is madness! The show only exists to sell the product(s). In the UK, adverts are longer, which means less frequent.

I never watch the ads anyway, always wait for catch-up. As I am from the UK, I haven't seen this episode yet.
Set Bookmark
Scott B
Wed, Mar 27, 2019, 5:52am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Admiral Cornwell’s background as a counselor was a major plot point last season in one or two episodes as she was analyzing Lorca’s fitness to command and then herself becoming a POW
Set Bookmark
SC
Mon, Mar 25, 2019, 2:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

The thing I don't like about The Orville, is all the bloody relationships. The writers had the good sense to keep these away from Trek. People who are drawn to science-fiction aren't great at dating. Myself included.

1 Trek is about duty and honor.
2 The uniforms mean there's no social status - everyone dresses the same.
3 Money is obsolete - also, no social status.
4 Men are in positions of power (a reason why some don't like Discovery.)
5 The Holodeck. Fantasy life (often with a partner.) Well, that speaks for itself.

Concentrate on the sci-fi Seth.
Set Bookmark
SC
Wed, Mar 13, 2019, 7:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

Into Darkness is very good.
Set Bookmark
SC
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 2:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

I wouldn't say that's all The Orville has to offer. Look at the episode "Deflectors." The ending was powerful and the overall story was gripping and timely - showing us a gay world where someone is condemned for fancying a woman. It was extremely clever, well acted and entertaining. The Orville isn't just fun fluff any more.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

God damn! I was already loving this episode because of all of the emotional contentit. I was genuinely moved by all of Isaac's goodbyes. But then, the pivet! What was already a fantastic character episode transformed into downright terror. I was hoping this would become a two-parter. I just can't wait for the conclusion next week. Four stars, by far.
Set Bookmark
Scot
Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Deflectors

I haven't been able to catch the last few episodes of the Orville but I did manage to watch tonight's episode. I really miss this show. After watching this episode, I kind of have to sit back and calm myself. I found the ending so profoundly emotional. All I can say is, wow. Star Trek was actually never this good.
Set Bookmark
DISCO shirt
Thu, Jan 31, 2019, 9:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Point of Light

I am shocked at much I hated it, especially after last week.

Last week was, in my opinion, the best episode of the show thus far. It was tight, fun, funny, contemplative. It was everything I want the show to be.

This week was meandering, boring, inconsequential. No one learned anything. No one grew. Nothing happened.

It was also, hands down, one of the worst directed hours of television I've seen maybe ever. It was shockingly bad. Actors were stiff, delivered their lines in a rushed, awkward way, the action was clunky (especially that Klingon fight scene), and it was a guessing game for some characters motivations. When Amanda left Michael was she...mad at her? determined to find Spock? I had no idea how to read her.

And the script was horrendous. Just line after line of exposition. No depth. No nuance.

Did the Klingon Empire really change Chancellorships on account of a signed contract? Is this Ferenginar? Someone please, anyone who has been a Star Trek fan for more than...let's say, four years, defend that.

We've gone from Worf vs. Gowron in a duel to the death to decide who wins the throne to... "I'ma need your thumb print here...initial there...thanks."

I'm absolutely stunned at how much I hated it, because I LOVED last week's episode. I was lukewarm last season, unsatisfied after episode one, but all-in and on board last week. This week is in the bottom ten Star Trek episodes ever.

It wasn't insulting in its badness. That's a distinction reserved for episodes like Turnabout Intruder, Spock's Brain, Code of Honor, Sub Rosa, Move Along Home, Threshold. It was just bad for how poorly made it was, how weak the script was, how utterly inconsequential everything that happened was.

It's indefensible and no amount of fan service like Kor's daddy, or the D7, or Section 31 can change the fact that it's just a bad, bad hour of TV.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.