Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 278 (Showing 51-75)

Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

A lot of people made up their minds to hate on this before they saw it (if they saw it). There is certainly a racist-troll factor in the RT ratings, given that it was labeled on racist-troll sites for months as a "SJW" manifestation.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I'm pretty sure Michael is not trans, and the name's unremarked-upon (in the show) use by a woman doesn't mean anything, apart from "this is the future." Same as women characters of our time named Sidney or Ashley would indicate to a reader a hundred years ago.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

What some call padding, I call welcome breathing room, and a good pace to appreciate everything we're being given. Something is wrong with a Trek that doesn't have room for admiring the binary system, or the Beacon flyby. And things like the great single Steadicam shot, a full minute long, that introduces Burnham to Shenzhou in the flashback at the beginning of the second part, following and rotating around her and the Captain as they leave the transporter room, walk through the corridors, take the turbolift, and step out onto the bridge. (Aside to Peter G.--just before this, Georgiou does indeed welcome "Ambassador Sarek.")
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

There was a tiny little shout-out to ST:Enterprise, in that one of the Federation ships that warps in is the USS Shran.


"With these Starfleet uniforms, how do we distinguish between ranks for anyone less than Captain?"

There are pips along the bottom edge of the badges. The badges and trim colors gold/silver/copper correspond to TOS yellow/blue/red.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

It's difficult to conceive of Star Trek fans who actually think--out loud--that "their kind" means, not humanity, not a fellowship of sentient beings, but just the constructed tribe of "white people."
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Quick thing,

Peter G.: "As a side note, I also find it hard to believe that Sarek, the *ambassador to the Federation*, would advise Michael to a course of action that directly violates Federation law. Wtf."

I understood Sarek to have advised her *against* automatically applying the Vulcan Hello to the Federation's situation. She didn't listen.

Also, I don't recall Sarek being identified as an ambassador (yet) in this, but perhaps I missed it.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Looks like Discovery is going to fit right in to the zeitgeist of 2017: "Divisive!" ;)


I've got some trepidations about how things will play out, but I'm pretty solidly on board for now.

The biggest line of division here seems to be with the reimagined Klingons. Frankly, I love them—my favorite aspect of the show so far. I love the more-alien visualization. I love that their culture is rendered with (what felt to me like) a sense of depth and seriousness. No bloodwine keg parties for these guys, I think. T’Kuvma is a compelling character. He is alien, and mistaken (we think we know) in his interpretation of the Federation, yet his aura of faith and sincerity rings true. I hope the writing and acting of the other Klingon roles supports their apparently central place in the series. I love the alternative story perspective, very much hope that is maintained—and having them speak in subtitled Klingonese among themselves supports this feeling of looking in on the Other side. Basically, I think I have the exact opposite view of all this than Jammer (and some others). On that note—to "explain the radically reimagined Klingons in some way that holds water," vis-à-vis previous visual representations, as Enterprise did so stupidly and unnecessarily, might well ruin them for me.

The overall look of the show is pretty great. I have zero complaints about sets, costumes, makeup, props, or effects. How we might wish Trek had always had such production resources! The Crepusculans, for example, were a wonderfully-done creature cameo. I hope similar care and creativity is brought to bear in non-premiere episodes. William thought the desert looked fake? That was location shooting in Jordan (with some synthesis in the sky, obviously).

I'll leave thoughts on the character of Burnham, and the moral shading of the Federation, for another time.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Sep 19, 2017, 8:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

Trek fan: "At this very moment, in 2017, we have androids (see that freaky prototype in Japan) that look and act entirely human."

What? No we don't. There's nothing that *really* looks human. Close enough to be uncanny, but that's a valley short of passing.

The behavior, of course, is much harder and much farther away.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm actually getting a little excited about having new Trek. If this is better than Voyager and Enterprise, and I think it could be, I will be very happy.

To format, I hope for episodes that are allowed to be as long as they need to be, to each tell a little story, as well as a piece of a bigger one.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Mon, Jun 12, 2017, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

Don't get your hopes up, Skyglo. There are occasional good individual episodes, but the series as a whole never grows comparably to Next Gen or DS9.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

TB, I agree. Like the new movies, this one is "fun" and "successful" for a mass audience, but it's not really designed to work in a coherent larger Trekverse.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Mon, May 22, 2017, 12:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Oh, I think Shran is one of the best things about this series. And I like ST:E, more than a lot of people.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Mar 2, 2017, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

I don't see a problem in identifying the exocomps' choice as such. Yes, it is presumably derived from their pre-sentient engineering and programming. But so are our own impulses and choices shaped by pre-sentient evolutionary-genetic heritage, overlaid with received culture--we still assume that our basic personhood entitles our lives and decisions a kind of respect very distinct from that given to nonsentient animals. There has to be a bright line. That the exocomps are less eloquent about it than Tosk should be immaterial.

I similarly argued that Kamala's ("The Perfect Mate") agency was her own, to be respected. Yes, these beings are different from us; their programming is not ours. The point is, can we see past that?
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Feb 28, 2017, 6:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Trek is *full* of resource scarcities. Federation worlds with mining, agriculture, manufacturing industries. They *clearly* don't use replicators for lots of things. The only rational explanation is that replication is too expensive, presumably in energy, to be economical for many applications in the normal course of things--even if they are within technical possibility. High-value mobile or remote facilities (like starships) might rely on replication much more than the Federation (and comparable powers) as a whole.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

Of course he cares. There's nothing for him to enjoy, to be interested in, no reason to engage such hobby pursuits, if he doesn't care. Data certainly 'enjoys' intellectual challenges, if maybe not in the same qualitative way as a human would.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

Because, BC--that would be a different experience, for a different person. Would you want part of your brain temporarily wiped, to increase the edited-version-of-you's appreciation of, say, a movie you've already seen?
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Matt: "The episode lost you in the teaser? But it set up the major plotlines of Data reads poetry and Riker has sleep apnea. Soon after, Worf gets a haircut!"

You joke, but I think the nature of this opening--shipboard life, nothing too exciting happening--actually does provide a good pad for the developing weirdness.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

If Ardana is a Federation world, aren't all its inhabitants equally Federation citizens, and entitled to the rights enumerated in the Federation Charter and Constitution? I'd think Kirk would have had considerable leverage over Plasus just by mentioning this.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

"...the show is ABOUT the main characters and they are the ones we want to actually see in these stories, rather than a bunch of one-off guest stars."

I would say that only a minority of the good Trek stories are really *about* the main characters, as opposed to the themes and concepts. Of course we want to see our main cast regularly and in many situations, but they don't all have to be foregrounded all the time. I'd still prefer to see larger and more varied ensembles as appropriate. The best of those characters need not be one-offs. TNG and DS9 both made great occasional use of recurring guests. It could have been (and could still be) stepped up a notch from there.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I was always fine with the CBS All Access plan (it should actually mean a better picture for me, broadband versus OTA), and I like the time period.

But the most important thing is the writing, followed by the acting. If those are solid, it will be a winner. Otherwise, not.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

OK, I just watched the ep for the first time in a few years. While I agree that the conception of the Bajoran situation, for the writers, probably evolved between this and "The Emissary," I do *not* think that there is, within the frame of the screen, anything that represents a continuity failure with DS9. The Bajoran home world is not described as either "colonized" or "occupied"--the word here is "annexed," which just means an assertion of political sovereignty. No problem there.

I also think that most of us, including Jammer and for that matter Memory Alpha, have failed to appreciate the nuance of the usage of "Bajora." It is *not* a randomly-applied synonym for "Bajoran." The latter term clearly applies to any members of the race, but the former is used in such a way as to suggest a distinction. Orta uses both terms in the same dialogue scene. I submit that "Bajora" refers to a subset of Bajorans--either to that portion which was caught, or forced, off their world at the time of annexation, or to a further subset of a radical political faction within the exiles.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"They are planning to rebooting TOS. There can't - really - be any other reason for setting 'Discovery' in this era."

I completely disagree with the latter... but I fear you're right about the former, nonetheless.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sat, Feb 11, 2017, 6:25pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

Really? I didn't remember it being said like that. OK.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Fri, Feb 10, 2017, 5:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

"By the way, one little tidbit I noticed was how the Bajorans were showed to be exiles and wanderers. The implication is that the Bajoran home world was empty of Bajorans."

I think the point is just that their homeland isn't a good place to go back to right then.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Feb 8, 2017, 4:09pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: A Matter of Perspective

Peter G.: "That being said I do think TNG consistently failed to show us the world Picard seemed to be talking about, where man had moved beyond violence, jealousy, and greed."

Or, Picard is actually mistaken, slightly blinded by his idealism and by spending too much time in a bubble of Starfleet's best.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.