Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 281 (Showing 51-75)

Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Oct 1, 2017, 10:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Context Is for Kings

Pretty wild! I sure hope the writers have a better handle on this than the 'Temporal Cold War' ones did.


"The first two episodes - the pilot/prologue - seem to have been COMPLETELY AND TOTALLY UNNEEDED based upon what I've seen in this episode. While people referred to Burnham's mutiny, it wasn't discussed in enough depth that it would be hard to follow for someone just tuning in."

Except that the Burnham/Starfleet story was only half of the prologue. Surely we're going to be revisiting the Klingons, and not only when Starfleet does.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Hank, I like your latest comments on the erratic character of Burnham, and the shade on the Federation actions, which comport closely with things I've been thinking about since the premiere. I understand that these aspects may turn off some people, that it "isn't Star Trek" as they understand it, if the lead character and the Federation itself aren't ethical exemplars. For myself—and pending further development—I like the ambiguity of it all. I still want stories that make me think, but I don't need the Feds to be right, or even in the right, all the time.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Fri, Sep 29, 2017, 2:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Chrome, I invoked the “SJW” term, as a quote, to make the specific point that the people who use it, non-ironically and not quoting, have an agenda which is not necessarily much related to the subject at hand. In my experience, the non-ironic usage is a strong flag that the speaker *is* a racist troll, that they are more interested in fanning flames of polarization than in providing or receiving insight to anything.
Hank, you do realize that the Rotten Tomatoes audience score is derived from (now approaching) 2,000 ratings, the majority of which have no associated review at all, just a star rating? Although, just as I write this, the top audience comment happens to be “Terrible acting, bad special effects, a show for SJWs not SF fans.”
I’m not saying racist trolls are actually reviewing the show; I’m sure most of them have not seen it, beyond the trailer—if they even bothered watching that for themselves. I am saying, Discovery is a racist-troll Thing to mobilize on; they drop in on RT, or Youtube comments, or wherever, just to shit on the rep of anything that their online community marks as “SJW.” This has been clear since at least May; see https://www.rawstory.com/2017/05/white-genocide-in-space-racist-fans-seethe-at-diversity-in-new-star-trek-series/ for some examples, though there are innumerable other pages I could point to. (“White genocide” and “cultural Marxism” are even better flags for these people, since they literally don’t mean anything outside racist ideology.) For that matter, we were talking about it at that same time here (see the Jammer’s Blog thread following the trailer). So, of course, as soon as the RT page for the series was open, a bunch of them ran over there to give lowest-possible scores.
If you’re going to cite general-audience-website aggregate rankings as evidence for Discovery’s weakness, then it’s on-point to note the factor that has to have skewed the day-one score way down.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 10:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

A lot of people made up their minds to hate on this before they saw it (if they saw it). There is certainly a racist-troll factor in the RT ratings, given that it was labeled on racist-troll sites for months as a "SJW" manifestation.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 5:47pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

I'm pretty sure Michael is not trans, and the name's unremarked-upon (in the show) use by a woman doesn't mean anything, apart from "this is the future." Same as women characters of our time named Sidney or Ashley would indicate to a reader a hundred years ago.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 1:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

What some call padding, I call welcome breathing room, and a good pace to appreciate everything we're being given. Something is wrong with a Trek that doesn't have room for admiring the binary system, or the Beacon flyby. And things like the great single Steadicam shot, a full minute long, that introduces Burnham to Shenzhou in the flashback at the beginning of the second part, following and rotating around her and the Captain as they leave the transporter room, walk through the corridors, take the turbolift, and step out onto the bridge. (Aside to Peter G.--just before this, Georgiou does indeed welcome "Ambassador Sarek.")
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Sep 28, 2017, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

There was a tiny little shout-out to ST:Enterprise, in that one of the Federation ships that warps in is the USS Shran.


"With these Starfleet uniforms, how do we distinguish between ranks for anyone less than Captain?"

There are pips along the bottom edge of the badges. The badges and trim colors gold/silver/copper correspond to TOS yellow/blue/red.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 5:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

It's difficult to conceive of Star Trek fans who actually think--out loud--that "their kind" means, not humanity, not a fellowship of sentient beings, but just the constructed tribe of "white people."
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 4:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Quick thing,

Peter G.: "As a side note, I also find it hard to believe that Sarek, the *ambassador to the Federation*, would advise Michael to a course of action that directly violates Federation law. Wtf."

I understood Sarek to have advised her *against* automatically applying the Vulcan Hello to the Federation's situation. She didn't listen.

Also, I don't recall Sarek being identified as an ambassador (yet) in this, but perhaps I missed it.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Sep 27, 2017, 11:34am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: The Vulcan Hello / Battle at the Binary Stars

Looks like Discovery is going to fit right in to the zeitgeist of 2017: "Divisive!" ;)


I've got some trepidations about how things will play out, but I'm pretty solidly on board for now.

The biggest line of division here seems to be with the reimagined Klingons. Frankly, I love them—my favorite aspect of the show so far. I love the more-alien visualization. I love that their culture is rendered with (what felt to me like) a sense of depth and seriousness. No bloodwine keg parties for these guys, I think. T’Kuvma is a compelling character. He is alien, and mistaken (we think we know) in his interpretation of the Federation, yet his aura of faith and sincerity rings true. I hope the writing and acting of the other Klingon roles supports their apparently central place in the series. I love the alternative story perspective, very much hope that is maintained—and having them speak in subtitled Klingonese among themselves supports this feeling of looking in on the Other side. Basically, I think I have the exact opposite view of all this than Jammer (and some others). On that note—to "explain the radically reimagined Klingons in some way that holds water," vis-à-vis previous visual representations, as Enterprise did so stupidly and unnecessarily, might well ruin them for me.

The overall look of the show is pretty great. I have zero complaints about sets, costumes, makeup, props, or effects. How we might wish Trek had always had such production resources! The Crepusculans, for example, were a wonderfully-done creature cameo. I hope similar care and creativity is brought to bear in non-premiere episodes. William thought the desert looked fake? That was location shooting in Jordan (with some synthesis in the sky, obviously).

I'll leave thoughts on the character of Burnham, and the moral shading of the Federation, for another time.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Sep 19, 2017, 8:51pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: What Are Little Girls Made Of?

Trek fan: "At this very moment, in 2017, we have androids (see that freaky prototype in Japan) that look and act entirely human."

What? No we don't. There's nothing that *really* looks human. Close enough to be uncanny, but that's a valley short of passing.

The behavior, of course, is much harder and much farther away.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Mon, Sep 18, 2017, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: General Discussion

I'm actually getting a little excited about having new Trek. If this is better than Voyager and Enterprise, and I think it could be, I will be very happy.

To format, I hope for episodes that are allowed to be as long as they need to be, to each tell a little story, as well as a piece of a bigger one.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Mon, Jun 12, 2017, 8:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

Don't get your hopes up, Skyglo. There are occasional good individual episodes, but the series as a whole never grows comparably to Next Gen or DS9.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Jun 11, 2017, 8:52am (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

TB, I agree. Like the new movies, this one is "fun" and "successful" for a mass audience, but it's not really designed to work in a coherent larger Trekverse.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Mon, May 22, 2017, 12:00am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: The Aenar

Oh, I think Shran is one of the best things about this series. And I like ST:E, more than a lot of people.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Thu, Mar 2, 2017, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: The Quality of Life

I don't see a problem in identifying the exocomps' choice as such. Yes, it is presumably derived from their pre-sentient engineering and programming. But so are our own impulses and choices shaped by pre-sentient evolutionary-genetic heritage, overlaid with received culture--we still assume that our basic personhood entitles our lives and decisions a kind of respect very distinct from that given to nonsentient animals. There has to be a bright line. That the exocomps are less eloquent about it than Tosk should be immaterial.

I similarly argued that Kamala's ("The Perfect Mate") agency was her own, to be respected. Yes, these beings are different from us; their programming is not ours. The point is, can we see past that?
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Feb 28, 2017, 6:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: The Omega Directive

Trek is *full* of resource scarcities. Federation worlds with mining, agriculture, manufacturing industries. They *clearly* don't use replicators for lots of things. The only rational explanation is that replication is too expensive, presumably in energy, to be economical for many applications in the normal course of things--even if they are within technical possibility. High-value mobile or remote facilities (like starships) might rely on replication much more than the Federation (and comparable powers) as a whole.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Feb 26, 2017, 2:47am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

Of course he cares. There's nothing for him to enjoy, to be interested in, no reason to engage such hobby pursuits, if he doesn't care. Data certainly 'enjoys' intellectual challenges, if maybe not in the same qualitative way as a human would.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sat, Feb 25, 2017, 9:05am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Elementary, Dear Data

Because, BC--that would be a different experience, for a different person. Would you want part of your brain temporarily wiped, to increase the edited-version-of-you's appreciation of, say, a movie you've already seen?
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Wed, Feb 22, 2017, 6:17am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Schisms

Matt: "The episode lost you in the teaser? But it set up the major plotlines of Data reads poetry and Riker has sleep apnea. Soon after, Worf gets a haircut!"

You joke, but I think the nature of this opening--shipboard life, nothing too exciting happening--actually does provide a good pad for the developing weirdness.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Tue, Feb 21, 2017, 5:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Cloud Minders

If Ardana is a Federation world, aren't all its inhabitants equally Federation citizens, and entitled to the rights enumerated in the Federation Charter and Constitution? I'd think Kirk would have had considerable leverage over Plasus just by mentioning this.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Fri, Feb 17, 2017, 9:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: To the Death

"...the show is ABOUT the main characters and they are the ones we want to actually see in these stories, rather than a bunch of one-off guest stars."

I would say that only a minority of the good Trek stories are really *about* the main characters, as opposed to the themes and concepts. Of course we want to see our main cast regularly and in many situations, but they don't all have to be foregrounded all the time. I'd still prefer to see larger and more varied ensembles as appropriate. The best of those characters need not be one-offs. TNG and DS9 both made great occasional use of recurring guests. It could have been (and could still be) stepped up a notch from there.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Mon, Feb 13, 2017, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

I was always fine with the CBS All Access plan (it should actually mean a better picture for me, broadband versus OTA), and I like the time period.

But the most important thing is the writing, followed by the acting. If those are solid, it will be a winner. Otherwise, not.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 9:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Ensign Ro

OK, I just watched the ep for the first time in a few years. While I agree that the conception of the Bajoran situation, for the writers, probably evolved between this and "The Emissary," I do *not* think that there is, within the frame of the screen, anything that represents a continuity failure with DS9. The Bajoran home world is not described as either "colonized" or "occupied"--the word here is "annexed," which just means an assertion of political sovereignty. No problem there.

I also think that most of us, including Jammer and for that matter Memory Alpha, have failed to appreciate the nuance of the usage of "Bajora." It is *not* a randomly-applied synonym for "Bajoran." The latter term clearly applies to any members of the race, but the former is used in such a way as to suggest a distinction. Orta uses both terms in the same dialogue scene. I submit that "Bajora" refers to a subset of Bajorans--either to that portion which was caught, or forced, off their world at the time of annexation, or to a further subset of a radical political faction within the exiles.
Set Bookmark
Peremensoe
Sun, Feb 12, 2017, 4:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek: Discovery

"They are planning to rebooting TOS. There can't - really - be any other reason for setting 'Discovery' in this era."

I completely disagree with the latter... but I fear you're right about the former, nonetheless.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.