Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 1,129 (Showing 51-75)

Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Incidentally regarding SMG, while I haven't seen the Walking Dead I suspect she was a strong secondary character who worked well in that specific context but the showrunners made the same mistake as Angel's; failing to understand the limitations of their actors. Except with Discovery they were doubly stupid because for some insane reason they decided to forego the traditional ensemble approach for Trek and just shovel the entire weight of the show on the head of one incredibly mediocre actress playing a poorly written nonsensical character.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 12:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Peter G. it is noteworthy that several main cast members on Angel (including of course the titular character) were transplanted from Buffy so calling it poor casting can't really be right entirely. It didn't help that the two initial transplants (Angel and Cordelia) were always secondary recurring characters on Buffy who served niche roles on that series. Neither character was ever intended to or capable of properly carrying a series. If it's casting then only in the sense that the showrunners tried to put too much on the shoulders of actors and characters who couldn't bare the weight.

Buffy's main cast actually wasn't that fantastic individually when you think about it. Sarah Michelle Geller let's face it was always a mediocre actress but she was perfectly casted and the story was perfectly written to her strengths. The cast just had chemistry plus fantastic writing behind them. B5 was another example of a show that was more than the sum of its parts. I mean Claudia Chrostian can't act her way out of a wet paper bag let's be honest.

I mean if someone tried to make a DS9 spinoff starring Andrew Robinson as Garak that would probably be great. Not so much if they picked, I don't know, Bashir or Jake Sisko even if those characters might work well enough in their specific context.

Regarding TNG that cast was jam packed with talent. Season 1's failings were about overarching stories; the characters themselves were bang on from the get go.

Discovery is an example of a show that has pretty much nothing going for it except really high production values and consistent low-risk storytelling. It can never be "bad" in the sense of Code of Honour or Shades of Grey but it's ceiling is so low that the characters are hitting their heads before you even get to 3 stars.

I'm with you that I will take an inconsistent product that reaches great heights (and depths) over something manufactured to never fail but also never really succeed. It is like going to McDonalds versus some brand new high end restaurant. The former will never disappoint but will never surprise or elate either. The new restaurant is a risk no doubt but no risk, no reward.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 8, 2021, 8:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

@Booming as a scientist I am also appalled.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Jan 7, 2021, 10:36am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

Just checked Rotten Tomatoes out of curiosity. 93% fresh for critics for Disc S3. Amazing.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 9:34am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 10: The Passenger

I agree with Jammer that this series is steadfast in its mission of solid storytelling using the Star Wars universe as its canvass. It isn't overly ambitious but manages to deliver on its premise episode after episode. This is true world building coupled with good stories well-executed. Good God I can't imagine what Kurtzman and crew would do with this. The fate of the galaxy would be at stake I am sure.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Wed, Jan 6, 2021, 7:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

I think I read somewhere that Kurtzman has a big picture of Michael Burnham in his office, like a shrine or something. They really are proud of this character. She's like the muse for the whole show.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sun, Jan 3, 2021, 7:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

" Picard surrounded by high achieving women, doctors, engineers, commanders, admirals, even gorgeous Klingon, Vulcan and Romulan babes, and he falls for a grifter. On Risa even! Gimme anothet break, PLEASE!"

Well to be fair she's established as an archeology expert who studied under a prominent archeologist - that isn't what I think of as a grifter. She is basically a female Indiana Jones. You can definitely see the appeal. She even wanted to donate the Tox Utat to the Daestrom museum. Well... maybe not *donate*...
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Jan 1, 2021, 8:35am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: There Is a Tide...

"A food replicator should be able to create food that can be digested without any waste. Why would you add something that cannot be digested, it just puts stress on the digestive system."

I am no doctor but I doubt permitting a part of your digestive system to go unused perpetually would be desirable or healthy.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 29, 2020, 4:15am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

" I'll be honest, English is my first language and I didn't realize that term was on the same level as the "n" word, thankfully I don't use the word but it's not something I really thought about before."

This is Dec 2020 not Jan 2020.

Radical far right hate speakers like you and your pal Booming won't be free to do further violence so better get with the times.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 6:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

"Above, Booming used a slur for transgender people. The "t___ in Star Trek." I hope you will respond as you would with use of a slur for other groups."

Fuck off.

Saved Jammer the trouble.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Dec 24, 2020, 9:29am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S7: Endgame

"Because THIS is the moment that Voyager stumbles upon the nebula, wherein doth lie the transwarp hub. "

Except for the fact that Admiral Janeway herself has magic future tech that permits her shuttle to not only jump through time but also through space all the way to the Delta Quadrant instantaneously.

She could undoubtedly have just used that tech to bring Voyager home or equipped it with whatever advanced propulsion she had access to in the future.

All of which would have been simpler and less dangerous than picking fighting through a fleet of Borg cubes to use their hub.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

"If they want to make a section 31 show (I hope they don't), then why did they make Georgiou soft and peace loving? Those are not the character traits for a S31 operative ..."

My guess is they will glorify S31, make it out to be some kind of anti hero rugged protagonists who do the things no one else can for the good of the Federation or some such. Mirror Georgiou is a perfect fit because the values of the showrunners are right about on par with MU / S31 values. Basically the showrunners would turn Terran in a second for the right cause like if there were some racists or something.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 11:44am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Yanks Peter makes a good point - Disc is not only serialized but highly condensed. And Measure of a Man (arguably the first bona fide TNG classic) came just 9 episodes into Season 2.

I have made my point about the pros and cons of serialized writing in another thread so I won't belabor the point. But suffice it to say, Jammer's reviews reflect the flattening of the curve we see from a show like TNG with big highs and big lows (even in otherwise well regarded seasons like season 3) versus Discovery and Picard, which almost never escape the gravity of that 2 1/2 star baseline.

And you know I also agree with Peter G. that there is no excuse for this. We have seen how modern serialized tv drama can give us those incredible moments. Breaking Bad, Mad Men, Stranger Things, Game of Thrones - this kind of television can reach incredible heights with the right cast and writing. Certainly season 1 of Picard (which I will refer to because I watched it completely) doesn't even come close to anything resembling a great episode.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 9:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

They should make the GOF the next Price is Right host.

"And what is the next item in the showcase Guardian? *portal shimmers and fog clears...* A NEW CAR!!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 6:56am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Mal I don't really know why Byron gets so much hate. Is his story my favourite part of the series? Certainly not. But his story provided alot of compelling drama for me, putting Sheridan's feet to the fire ethically speaking in a way that even the civil war didn't do. And with Bester's centrality to the proceedings (one of my favourite villains / side characters since Gul Dukat) how can it truly be that bad? I just don't get it.

But as you noted, the telepath drama, while a significant part of the season, is what? 1/4 of the season? You still have the Minbari civil war which is good, the Centauri War and the end of Londo's story and his final parting with G'Kar (which is the climax of the entire series as far as I am concerned) and even a one-off episode like Day of the Dead, which is one of my favorites of the whole series.

And yes Sleeping in Light was filmed in season 4 (I forgot about that) but nevertheless, it is still Season 5.

You named one episode of Discovery / Picard you considered a Classic. That's over nearly three seasons of Discovery and a full season of Picard. I rest my case.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:19am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

By the way, Season 5 of Babylon 5, in addition to a perfect series finale, also had several fantastic episodes that rank as some of the best in the series. Day of the Dead? Fall of Centauri Prime? These are essential viewing episodes for any B5 fan. It was wayyyy better than season 7 of TNG.

But I digress. I haven't followed Discovery after about halfway through season 1. But I have followed Jammer's reviews religiously. I also watch all of the dreadful Picard, which nobody can accuse me of not having an open mind about (I once said they'd have my subscription if it was just Patrick Stewart sitting in his office filling out his tax returns in a Starfleet uniform).

There was not one, not one memorable episode, not one classic. And Jammer's reviews seem to corroborate that.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 4:09am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

"@John, I think we can safely think of Discovery & Picard as something like Season 5 of Babylon 5."

I actually liked alot in S5 of Babylon 5, but assuming its weak reputation is deserved, you are missing one important component: a fantastic series finale. Like Season 7 of TNG Babylon 5's fifth season didn't impress fans but it knocked it out of the park with the series finale (Sleeping in Light) which is a fan favourite.

Do you really expect Discovery to knock ot out of the park at *any* point? Remind me, how many 4 star classics have we seen from Disc in 3 seasons?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 7:22am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part II

"I'm with @Cameron. The interrogation asking about the number of lights was blatantly cribbed from Orwell's 1984."

It's not the first instance of Trek plagiarism. When Picard ripped off Shakespeare in Menage a Troi I nearly quit the show in outrage.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 5:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

"There are plenty of working fusion reactors. They are just so lousy in generating power (at present time) that they require more energy than they produce"

And none of them actually generate any electricity. They are basically just science experiments. Even ITER, the big project of a multibillion dollar international consortium (which might be online by the 2040s at this rate lol) is just a science experiment that will never so much as turn on a lightbulb. I sometimes wonder if nuclear fusion will ever happen. People are always so certain that human ingenuity will find a way. We will see. I hope so.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Tue, Dec 15, 2020, 4:12am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

"It's neither clean or cheap, though, because tritium is manufactured in fission nuclear reactors and it costs about a million bucks per ounce."

I gather they plan to breed the tritium in the fusion reactor itself with some kind of envelope that produces tritium as a byproduct when it's bombarded with neutron radiation from the fusion reaction. Reminds me of a story I read about a Soviet nuclear reactor where they discovered some casing had been transmuted into gold over time- *radioactive* gold!!

This is all hypothetical of course since no one actually has ever built a working fusion reactor. We are still at the science experiment stage of the technology which is why I guess they are going with the less challenging formula. Fusion is nut-bustingly impossible enough on easy mode - no need to get fancy.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 6:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

@Omicron, huh I stand corrected. But according to the Wikipedia page this form of fusion would require *higher* temperature but I think it produces less neutron radiation so maybe it is more practical as an energy source?
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Dec 14, 2020, 12:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: The Inner Light

"Warp drive is actually theoretically possible, the physics of it work. We just don't have the energy required to do it. Wormholes are another possibility. Transporters on the other hand..."

Just because something might not violate the laws of physics as we understand it doesn't mean it is possible, let alone that it will ever happen.

"There's also huge value out in space, even just the nearest reaches of our solar system. The moon may have vast stores of helium 3 which is incredibly valuable for fusion power."

What? What form of fusion power generation uses helium?

"Small asteroids are worth hundreds or thousands of trillions of dollars for their metal content alone. We don't even need warp drive to get these things, we just need to innovate beyond chemical rockets, which isn't that difficult considering how far we've come already. Orbital slings, ion propulsion, solar sails, nuclear propulsion are all in the works."

Sounds to me like the next big 2020 tech ipo. Just photo your sailboat on a space background, call it a "solar sail starship" and take some preorders. Should be valued at least 50 billion in today's market.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 12:41pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"I said this back then but maybe get some support. Knowing that we here will go into a hard lockdown soon"

Thanks lol about the "skin off my back" thing. Didn't even realize you misinterpreted my statement. Now I get it.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 11:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

"I won't condemn you, but I'd take a long look in the mirror if I were you. Despising someone is a very strong emotional reaction to have."

Agreed. It's unpleasant. Never used to feel that way about anyone.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Sat, Dec 12, 2020, 6:50am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Really sorry guys. Gonna dial it back here.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.