Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 248 (Showing 51-75)

Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

//Seven waits 13 years to enact her revenge//

Hank
Have you sent an email to the writers? Patrick Stewart is an EXECUTIVE Producer and he would like to hear your criticisms. Look up his agent, Hank, and send an email or even call him! Call Patrick Stewart and tell him (he is an executive producer, repeated for emphasis) that the writers are substandard and you, Hank, have a better grasp of writing the story better than those who are actually doing the job.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 2:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

For the record, check IMDb and it says Jeri Ryan is to be in all episodes till the end, since episode 4. I think Trent is seriously making unnecessary assumptions.
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Trent says //She has nothing to do with Picard's arc. This is a terrible way to integrate Seven into this story. She's a kind of throwaway McGuffin.//

I think these words are stupid and idiotic.
Jean Luc was Locutus.
Hugh is an ex-Borg.
Seven is an ex-Borg.
Icheb was an ex-Borg. This show is about artificial intelligence. This show is so far about Romulans and the Borg...
NOTHING TO DO WITH THE STORY??? Throwaway McGuffin... ???

//She just randomly turns up at the precise moment Picard needs a Borg bargaining chip to use on hokey gangsters. Then she goes.//

You mean after a decade returning from the delta quadrant, it is NOT impossible for Seven to just show up? Have you even checked IMDB if Jeri Ryan will come back or are you making unnecessary assumptions based on your stupid words?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Thu, Feb 20, 2020, 9:56am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Stardust City Rag

Spoilers
*tears for Icheb* very sad and very upsetting, very dark... like First Contact dark...
Is it really character assassination for Seven? And how does that gangster lady know about Annika? Quark's bar! Visual egg.
Since Icheb died and remember in the episode where the futuristic drone called One on Voyager... you could tell that Seven would want REVENGE.
How did it come to this? Why is Seven a vigilante?

Raffi and her son... a good character development and a good delving into her past and her relationships... her addictions and her troubles since the Mars incident...

Who did not see that coming? Dr Jurati and Maddox... that cruel end... Picard will find out soon...

Who likes Elnor? I do... We need good Romulans to fight against the bad Romulans. Hopefully Elnor stays grounded with Picard. Hopefully Laris and Zhaban
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Feb 2, 2020, 2:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Chain of Command, Part I

It's readily apparent who the authoritarians are in this thread, and who are not. Jellico was an interesting character, and a terrible captain. The humans of the 24th century, and the crew of the Enterpise, which yes had only ever know Picard to command it because he got handed it from its commisioning, are not authoritarians, do not respond to authoritarians, and would never accede to authoritarians. His posturing, power-playing, illogical and irrational decisions and orders would have been rejected by every Vulcan under his command, let alone the rest of his crews. Aside from the absuridity of the whole ops mission plot, that a man like Jellico would rise to the rank of captain is the most unbelievable part of this episode.

The Federation would have never come into existence if captains like Jellico had been the norm, because they would have ended up at war with most of the races they encountered. Put him in the shoes of every other captain in those critical moments of the other shows, and all you can see is how he would have failed.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Jan 30, 2020, 5:06pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Booby Trap

I also liked this episode. One part of it that gave me a big smile was that there was Dr. Brahms, who Geordi works with and, even though she is not real, has a successful little romance with. And in his failed date at the beginning of the episode he has the violinist play Hungarian Dance No. 5 by Brahms!
Set Bookmark
Eric
Sun, Jan 26, 2020, 9:52am (UTC -5)
Re: PIC S1: Remembrance

Concerning the Romulan spitting acid. If you look carefully, you see that he bites on a capsule of something before spitting it out. So Romulans have not started to spit out acid, he simply bit on a capsule of acid and then spit it out a her.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Fri, Oct 4, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

So the time capsule was taken from Saratoga Springs, New York, and instead of opening it there, they launch it into space, then open it on the Orville? Why?
Set Bookmark
Eric
Tue, Sep 24, 2019, 2:42pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Seeing those other union ships get blown up, reminds me of why it's always bugged me that TNG had children on board, and that the Orville carried on that tradition.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 6:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: All the World Is Birthday Cake

I was getting a fashy vibe from those grey uniforms in the opening scene... I knew we were dealing with a society with messed up beliefs.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I don't think a planet with gravity that high would ever evolve advanced intelligent life, and that kind of takes me out of it.
Set Bookmark
Jericho Drakane
Tue, Aug 6, 2019, 3:21am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Fallen Hero

No appreciation for Admiral Forrest in the comments? Seriously, I think that this guy gives Ross a run for his money for best Admiral in a Trek TV show.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Take Me Out to the Holosuite

Rom was more annoying than usual in this one. Seriously, can’t even throw a ball?? I just wish there was an episode where Rom would get shot by the Jem’hadar with anticoagulant rifle and die slowly like Quique Muñiz in episode “Starship Down”.
Set Bookmark
Eric S
Thu, Jul 18, 2019, 12:29am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Afterimage

I seriously hate how everyone has to accommodate Worf’s or the Klingons’ feelings/culture/customs etc... Worf should’ve been charged with assault. Who cares what Worf wants, if Julian wants to tap that a**, then he can. Afterwards, O’Brian goes to see “what’s bothering Worf” to make him feel better. Chief!! Worf just assaulted your best mate.
Set Bookmark
Maverick
Tue, Apr 23, 2019, 4:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

Wow... it's been a while since i don't post anything here.
Been watching Discovery and coming here (most times a little late) to see peoples reactions and points of view on the series.
I just realized watching the last 3 episodes whats Discovery seems to be for me: It's Enterprise on steroids.
I started getting interested in trek when a was about 10 to 12 yo, thanks to my father who loved the TOS movies. After wathing all, some years later a begin watching in that order: TNG, DS9, VOY, TOS e ENT. On every single incarnation of trek, I can point my favorite episode, i remember them in detail. Same happens with the worst of every series, except Enterprise. I enjoy the show, but i've never took a single outstanding moment from that. Never had a absolute favorite or absolute worst. Everything was kind of in between. A can't remember a single episode in detail. And mind that I've just finished watching ENT about 4 years ago. Now, Discovery gave me the exactly same feeling. I just finished watching the damn thing and i can't remember any relevant detail from 5 episodes ago (I can't even remember witch was that episode). I never rush to watch the just-released episodes (I live in Brazil, and we receive them via Netflix with 1 day delay). Theres no excitement or expectations. It was just mildly entertaining. I'll admit i just love this incarnation of capt. Pike. That was the outstanding moment of the series, and i wish they could keep with the enterprise instead of following Discovery in the future. I'll also bet that they'll problably won't last more than 4 seasons, as Enterprise, because there's little "real trek" content to keep fans interested.
All that said, i still pretend to watch it till it ends, and, just as Enterprise, with just enough curiosity and wonderment to keep me going.
Set Bookmark
Eric McDonald
Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 12:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fury

This episode was awful. That being said, Carey died in the friendship one episode.
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Apr 18, 2019, 10:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2

I’m pretty sure we just saw the series finale of Star Trek: Discovery. Oh it’ll be back next year, but starring the USS Enterprise.
Set Bookmark
Perico De Los Palotes
Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 6:23am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Babel

What strikes me is that the stubborn cargo captain said something like neither him or his crew were affected by the virus, but Odo just saves him, so his crew died in the explosion and no one batted an eye for that!!! Also, why didn't they transport the dudes off the ship?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:31am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Time crystals DO exist.
https://news.berkeley.edu/2017/01/26/scientists-unveil-new-form-of-matter-time-crystals/
"In a paper published online last week in the journal Physical Review Letters, the UC Berkeley assistant professor of physics describes exactly how to make and measure the properties of such a crystal, and even predicts what the various phases surrounding the time crystal should be — akin to the liquid and gas phases of ice."
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 4:49am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

This show is about Burnham... so to say it does otherwise isn't really thoughtful... you knew what you were getting into
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 6:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

Georgiou cares for Burnham - the hand, the fear of losing her.
I thought it was rude that Stamets brushed off Culber
Wow, Burnham's mum?
Tillys comedic moments... excellent
I liked the Spock and Burnham moment but Spock still seems snarky but a lot better this episode
That Leland and his eyes got punctured... wtf?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Fri, Mar 8, 2019, 3:46pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

4 stars
Saru seems more snarky, after his evolution.
That episode on Voyager, Kes returns and Tuvok could figure out why the time-line has changed, it just reminded me of that.
This episode told us that Burnham must be important somehow, or that Spock and Burnham are important to this series. Why save her then? Without the Red Angel she would have been dead...
I think the fight between Culber and Ash needed to happen.
And what is going to happen to Airium? The camera is pointing at her after all these unauthorised business so they want us to think about her... what is this three red dots? Does it mean anything?
Ok, so the crux of this episode is that Spock is now better after visiting the Talosians because they have mind powers? The change in the timeline made Spock trying to make sense of the change in the time line, then Spock was trying to make sense of it when more of the sightings were happening... Spock became affected and Talosians cured him?
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:59pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

*laughed*
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 1:39pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

Already it seems very fast paced already, Burnham wanting to go to Vulcan, the temporal distortions on the bridge and sending a probe, Pike and Ash... The way Burnham pleaded with Amanda was not that tense, I thought it could have been more tense.
"Evasive manoeuvres" lol
When Saru took charge, it was awesome. Saru knew what to do straight away. When he mentioned Mudd, it is clear he could remember things.
When we see Spock in his condition, we could see the anguish from Michael Burnham. Did Amanda mention how she found him or how Spock came to Amanda? All Amanda said was that Spock came to her for help. How did Sarek know to follow Amanda?
I did not like how Ash and Pike were arguing though...
I am confused why Sarek would turn Spock in to section 31 (but as a human)... as a Vulcan, he would do so, because of the alleged crimes he commited... Section 31 is not as mysterious yet and not as nefarious...
(If Leland allegedly killed Burnham's parents, does that not mean Leland is the killer, and not Spock?)
During the scene with Leland, Burnham and Spock, I got the sense Leland wanted something nefarious.
When Burnham found the number was backwards, I thought, why couldn't Burnham have thought of that before?
The scene with Ash and Pike in the shuttle-craft as they were being attacked - I thought it looked like a giant virus... why would the probe be sent to the future 500yrs, back again to kill them
Saru's command of Discovery was amazing, how he praised the guy who figured out the 3 plasma bursts (Rhys)
I like how Stamets helped and gave Tilly a pep talk.
The future probe trying to determine about the shuttle craft and the Discovery...
The choreography with Georgiou and Burnham was AMAZING! I alughed out loud. They did their own stunts? I expect so.
Was Airium infected by something?
When Georgiou reacted as she shot Burnham...
It's good that Pike and Ash patched things up.
That camera shot "Fight for the future" and ended up on Airium...
What is at Talos 4? *gasp*
In the preview I saw those OCTOBOTIC things attacking Earth...
Set Bookmark
Eric Jensen
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 5:46am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Quote:[lets biologically modify all the Kelpians at once, inducing horrible pain, hopefully not killing them, and overturning the balance of two species which will inevitably end up with conflict]

Devil's advocate:

I am not saying you are wrong, but the Ba'ul falsely accused of the Discovery/Federation of kidnapping Saru! The moment Ba'ul threatened Discovery/Pike, it became a Federation matter. Saru had curious instincts to explore the stars. Again, I am not defending why PD was slightly washed over, but Saru was effectively an asylum seeker on Starfleet.
1. Saru had a personal stake on this, he has a sister on the planet
2. The Red Angel is reported to have been sighted there, a Discovery mission
3. The Ba'ul (we learn now) lied about the Great Balance and is effectively oppressing the Kelpiens (apologies for previously spelling it with an a) because they were prey to the evolved Kelpiens.
4. Yes, the Kelpiens have seen warp technology, albeit very rare and occasionally.

So yes, the PD should have been explored more, but they did explain WHY they did what they did. It is not like the species were totally unknown to them and completely pre-warp. Saru was basically an ambassador and yes they did not ask for their permission to have their biology changed, but they just accelerated puberty, as it were.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.