Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:

Total Found: 51,311 (Showing 51-75)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 2,053
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 3:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

@mephyve

What are you even on about? Picard made an exception to the PD in this episode. Did you watch the whole thing?
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 3:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Pen Pals

@PeterG & Chrome
"There are times sir, when men of good conscience cannot blindly follow orders." Jean Luc Picard
Set Bookmark
Mallory
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 2:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Hard Time

I really wanted to love this episode, but I think it suffered - as many DS9 episodes do - from the constraints of a 45 minute time slot. Meany is an extraordinary actor, but the story just didn't have the time to be told. His cellmate - what did he mean, in detail, to O'Brien? I felt that was very missing; if you are meant to care about a character you need backstory. Much good, though - I felt like I was watching how REAL people would behave, not TV characters.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 2:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Captain's Holiday

Very good episode. Picard punches out a Ferengi on during his time of rest and relaxation on Riza. A fun time was held by all and of course, we meet Vash, a fun girl however you spell her.
3 stars
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 12:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@ Dom,

"Still, I do have to wonder how much Berg and Harberts were responsible for the problems in Season 1. It obviously wasn't the rosy situation the writers portrayed on After Trek."

I have to admit that I'd have been tempted to yell at the writers too. We don't know whether it was the case that the writers were out of line and the showrunners were fuming about it, or the showrunners were out of line and harmed the efficiency of the writing team as a consequence. Or maybe the writing is exactly what Kurtzman wanted and the showrunners were upset about it, and it was finally determined that they weren't a good fit.

This could amount to anything ranging from status quo, to an improvement, to a doubling down on the problems with the show.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 11:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

This is Kurtzman of Star Trek Into Darkness and Transformers fame. I'm not expecting much of an improvement over Season 1. Best case scenario is he's a placeholder until they find a competent showrunner.

Still, I do have to wonder how much Berg and Harberts were responsible for the problems in Season 1. It obviously wasn't the rosy situation the writers portrayed on After Trek.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Allegiance

Bravo! Bravo!
The greatest Troi episode to date!
Oh beautiful Troi, how absolutely useless you are. What did the writers have against you? I must say that your ineptitude in this episode was remarkably portrayed.
You sure are pretty though
Set Bookmark
cdrood
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:55am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Contagion

As someone who actually watched the episode when it first aired, I can tell you that "restore and reboot" was a well known concept at the time, which is why I was annoyed that it's treated like a revolutionary concept.

I
Set Bookmark
Peter
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:53am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

(too many)
Set Bookmark
Peter
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

One of most common complaints I read in the review is that the episode presents nothing new, which is true in so far that the stories elements have been done to death in all sorts of media. On one hand I feel that the writers should try to come up with new things, one the other hand the older you get and the more stories you read/view/whatever the bigger the chance that they will become boring and predictable. To you that is. People (mostly younger?) who haven't come across to many stories like this yet would probably enjoy this more. While this view may be a little depressing, I wonder what could be done about it other than complaining, blaming the writers, or become apathetic. Look for something new? I don't really know and think this is enough psychology for now. :-)
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

@mephyve - Verdict: True

I won't spoil exactly how if you haven't seen it but the DS9 episode "Tacking into the wind" dealt with that aspect really well, especially with regards to Worf's character.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Wow, that is big news. Here's a quote from the article:

"Showrunners Gretchen Berg and Aaron Harberts are out, and executive producer Alex Kurtzman will step in. Kurtzman will also run the show’s writers’ room."

The problem with any creative project (also true of business in general) usually begins at the top. The show has had the air of a Kurtzman show from the word go, so the fact of losing two showrunners does seem like it was obvious there was a problem, but Kurtzman himself stepping in likely won't fix it if he is the actual problem. Time will tell.
Set Bookmark
NCC-1701-Z
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:41am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

So a couple of STD show runners got canned:

http://www.vulture.com/2018/06/star-trek-fires-showrunners-after-complaints-of-verbal-abuse.html

Thoughts?

I hope this means we get actual good writing in season 2.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

It seems that some thought it a shame that the Klingon High Council did not live up to the high ideals we have heard so much about Klingon culture. This actually makes the empire more realistic. In most societies the ideals are usually found among the populace. The governments push the ideals as a veneer but rarely do they live up to them.
Set Bookmark
Dom
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 9:58am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

Or, it could just be that the writers room was apparently such a mess that the show runners got fired.

https://io9.gizmodo.com/star-trek-discovery-has-suddenly-changed-showrunners-a-1826848946
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 9:44am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

@Dom

"At the very least, hire writers who have read something about history, sociology, or tech. I think the show could use people who have had a dose or two of reality."

Fair enough, I don't see how that would hurt the show. Though, I think the problem with Discovery is more fundamental than adding on a NASA scientist or military veteran to fix the details. Take this episode, for example, which ends with Michael being vindicated by her peaceful actions and then honored by Starfleet. The thing is, acts I, II, III, and IV don't have anything to do with that final act. We're basically led through some Sci-Fi non-sequiturs for half the episode in order to cover up the fact that the ending wasn't fleshed out.

As I said above, Gene was first and foremost a good writer in addition to his military background. No good writer would've let this episode come to pass without some major editing. For some reason, whether it's a rushed production schedule or too many cooks in the kitchen (it's certainly not budget), the basic creative step of a coherent script is not being handled well.
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Sins of the Father

Many praised The Offspring for its emotional punch. This was bigger and better, with far more reaching consequences.
It was amusing watching Worf slowly seethe to his eventual boil and eruption just because he was being treated politely and complimented at every turn. Great stuff!
The tone gets serious though once his brother reveals himself. Worf's sacrifice to keep the empire intact was noble and honorable.
Great story, great plot, great sets, great action 5 stars
Set Bookmark
Dom
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 8:28am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S1: Will You Take My Hand?

I agree with @Astronut7 in the sense that it's helpful to get writers who have experience outside the writing room. At the very least, hire writers who have read something about history, sociology, or tech. I think the show could use people who have had a dose or two of reality. Discovery as it stands seems like the product of people who have never stepped out of a writers room and only know how to create heightened character drama. There's no sense of verisimilitudeness when it comes to the military campaigns, world-building, or technology in the show.
Set Bookmark
Owen
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 7:15am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

Is it just me, or did Spock seem really oddly angry for most of this episode?
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 5:29am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

The Riker scene was humorous but even if he had been living in a cave for a few days, the first officer should have had knowledge of the new android on the ship.
The child/parent dynamic seemed forced and heavy handed. For an unfeeling android (wink wink) Data's fixation on said dynamic seemed to be more than just the result of logical conclusions.
Interesting plot.
Set Bookmark
Cody B
Fri, Jun 15, 2018, 2:28am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Phantasms

I realized during this episode that Spot is the only main cast member to never get to be temporary captain. Spot needs to get a better agent and play hardball during contract renewal. But seriously, great episode. I loved how they had Freud trying to analyze Data’s dreams. I’m sure the writers had fun with that. Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar. Other times an android’s dreams are warnings that invisible mouths are out to destroy a spaceship
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 10:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

I wonder if people know what mirror means. A mirror shows the same picture in reverse. Why wouldn't a mirror universe have the same people?
Furthermore, the reason I like time travel stories is that they present infinite possibilities. If you understand the concepts of a multiverse and infinite timelines then it should be completely plausible that a universe or a timeline might only have subtle changes.
With this in mind, could they have shown us an alternate timeline in which an entirely different crew was on Enterprise D? Sure but what fun would that be? Could they have shown a timeline in which the Enterprise C comes through the rift and meets the Excelsior rather than Enterprise D? Of course, but what would be the point? What they did was to show the most interesting and relevant timeline to the viewers who tuned in to see Enterprise D and the familiar crew.
I don't mind nitpicking but I'd hate to watch some of the episodes that some people seem to want.
"Tune in to our next episode of STTNG when we have an entirely different crew on an entirely different ship because it's a time travel story from an entirely different alternate universe."
I pass.
Set Bookmark
Gary
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 10:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Concerning Flight

Yes, a light-hearted bit of fluff, SouthofNorth has it just right about its whole purpose. And even if they weren't going to bargain with the baddie, the least they could do was beam him into a brig so he couldn't alert his defenses, since he knew what Janeway was after.

No, wait... the LEAST they could do was take Janeway's communicator back from him, so she could be in contact with her ship instead of (as far as she knew) having her and Leonardo single-handedly rescuing the computer core on their own. (Lucky she hit upon the same method for making it more visible for beam-out). But no, she doesn't bother, doesn't tell anyone where she's going, doesn't have a com badge for the better transporter lock. It really annoys me when characters have to be stupid for the plot.

Though in response to Xylar 3 years ago: the guard wasn't aiming at Janeway, but at Leonardo (and hit him). Promotion for that one guy!
Set Bookmark
mephyve
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 10:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Yesterday's Enterprise

Yummy time distortion, butterfly effect, Klingon aggressors, … a smorgasborg (pun) for a scifi enthusiast like me. More More
Set Bookmark
Peter
Thu, Jun 14, 2018, 8:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home

"Oh, and re. the Alameda issue above, hello, it's Alameda, not New York, London or Paris... I'm sure that it's feasible for them not to have heard of it, especially Chekhov!"

Indeed. Bizarre the lack of selfawareness above, as if just because the place looms large in one person's mind it's something everyone on the planet knows and will still know in 200+ years. I worked in the US for a year and have visited about 20 states and I've never heard of Alameda either, so why would Uhura or Chekov?
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 3 of 2,053
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2018 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.