Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 60 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
elscotto
Sun, Mar 8, 2015, 1:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: The Changeling

I realize not everything has to make complete sense, but the thing with Uhura made not sense. How did she still know Swahili if her mind had been wiped? Wouldn't there be major psychological implications if she had lost all her memory? How would it be possible to relearn everything in a matter of weeks?

The joking at the end was unnecessary, too. Seems weird to make jokes about a thing that just killed 4 billion people.

Altogether, this is a pretty weak episode.
Set Bookmark
ScottieJ
Thu, Dec 4, 2014, 4:42am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S6: Aquiel

Yeah bad episode but I thought it was random/hilarious that there is a scene towards the end where Geordie is laying on his bed in his bedroom and Riker is standing over him talking about the case. So Geordi buzzes in his commanding officer and just yells "yeah I'm in the bedroom come on in"
Set Bookmark
Scott
Fri, Sep 5, 2014, 3:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Shadows and Symbols

Everyone keeps mentioning obrien leaving his family. The writers should have had Keiko and obrien divorce. They weren't happy or at least Keiko wasn't. I've noticed the show keeps making excuses for why she's not on the station. Obviously the actress was busy and they didn't want to pay her. And obrien is so eager to go on dangerous missions that it reinforces the fact that he doesn't like her. Look at the episode Homecoming. He goes to cardassia 4 with Kira to rescue Li. Kira says either we rescue him or we don't come back and obrien says ok. The exception is in Children of Time when it took some convincing but be did end up staying on the planet.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 3:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: Q-Less

Elliot can post his reviews. I like them and if you don't it's real easy to scroll down past it. Some people give a brief comment and some people go into more detail about their views on these episodes. As for me I just think if you're gonna bring Q onto Ds9 then have him snap his fingers and destroy the wormhole aliens and end that stupid storyline. Kira will be real upset and Sisko won't be an emissary but it would help the bajorans break free of their worshiping aliens who had to have a human and a ferengi explain time and profit
Set Bookmark
Scott
Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 2:32am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Visionary

I wish there were more episodes that dealt with the fact that obrien had died. They should have a memorial service or something. There should have been a scene with Keiko grieving obrien and getting to know this new obrien. There should have been some scenes with every main character helping the new obrien adjust to his new life. The show takes a brave move by killing obrien but then I guess everyone just says well this new obrien is only from a few hours in the future so he's not that different. I just can't imagine the new obrien telling Keiko her husband gave his life to save the station and her being cool with it and just accepting this obrien from the future.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Wed, Sep 3, 2014, 2:18am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

@Adrian have you seen how annoying Keiko is and how many dangerous missions O'brien volunteers for? I'm sure O'brien would be happier with the ensign and I'm sure Keiko wouldn't even shed a tear. As for the kids I'm sure the prophets would take care of them. I'm kinda kidding but in all seriousness I was proud of O'brien in the episode. At first I could understand how O'brien was really uncomfortable with the fact that he moved on and married again because for some reason he loves Keiko. But I agree with obrien when he said we can't let these people die. He comes to realize that he couldn't live with himself if he didn't try to save these people. And I think he believes Keiko would understand that he had to do the right thing and save these children's lives. His family will go on living. It's not like Keiko and the kids will die without him.

Although I didn't like it when he tells the crew that nobody has the right to tell him he can't go home to his family. Wrong. He is in starfleet and any away mission can get crazy involving these types of decisions. The captain decides. O'brien would have never questioned Picard if Picard explained the moral reasons for staying. After the mission Sisko should have taken obrien aside and asked if he wanted to remain in starfleet. I think O'brien needs to remember that any away mission can turn into some crazy problem with the space time continuum and he might get stuck in the last or something like that. O'brien should know that by now.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Tue, Sep 2, 2014, 1:05am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Rivals

I like this episode. Of course I like a lot of episodes that most fans think are cheesy. I can watch move along home, if wishes were horses, and any ferengi episode. It's not that I don't understand why people don't like these episodes. I just have fun with them. Then when I watch a serious masterpiece like rocks and shoals I change how I watch the show.

I liked the conflict between Martus and Quark but Martus does take away some of the mystery behind Gunans race.

House always take Blue!!!!
Set Bookmark
Scott
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Prophet Motive

Sisko had to explain time and corporeal existence to the wormhole aliens. Now we have Quark having to explain the simple concept of profit to these beings. Shouldn't this have caused some major questions on Bajor about their faith? We know that bajorans pray to their Gods. We can assume they pray about everyday things such as finances. Now Bajorans learn that since the beginning of their existence until quark went into the wormhole the wormhole aliens didn't know about earning profit. It took a ferengi to teach their Gods about earning profit. I wanted a scene where Quark told Kira that he had to teach her Gods about profit so they would evolve the Nagus. The fact is the writers couldn't have created that scene without making Kira doubt her faith because it's so silly. It would make people wonder if the wormhole aliens even hear their prayers or if they would even understand their prayers considering Sisko and quark just taught them about basic things such as time, existence and aquiring profit. The show should have shown a bajorans reaction to hearing about the ferengi bartender teaching their gods about profit
Set Bookmark
Scott
Mon, Sep 1, 2014, 7:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: Destiny

In the first episode of the series Sisko has to explain time to the wormhole aliens. The same time in which the bajorans live. This should have been a huge topic of discussion. How are the aliens seen as gods of the bajorans if they need a human to explain the time in which the bajorans exist. And what does God even mean to the bajorans? Today the major religions believe in a God that created everything. People believe Gods can not be destroyed. Yet bajorans know that the wormhole aliens can be killed using technology. Kira has been upset a couple times when plans were being made that could harm the aliens. Ds9 talked about the wormhole aliens a lot but nobody ever asked Kira about the fact that their Gods can be killed. Worf also talks about klingon Gods being killed. So logic would say that bajorans don't think the aliens created the universe because they don't even understand the universe in which the bajorans live. This is why Sisko is the weakest captain. No other captain would be fooled into doing whatever the aliens wanted. I wish we could have gotten a scene where Quark tells Kira how the aliens evolved the Nagus and how Quark met with the prophets and explained profit. I don't think they could show that scene because Kira would have to question her whole faith with a plot that dumb.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 8:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S1: The Storyteller

I'm gonna stick up for Bashir here. Now I will admit he comes off forward in the early seasons when he's hitting on women. And I also understand that most trek fans think Obrien can do no wrong. If I have to hear how obrien is the perfect "Everyman" one more time....... Anyways, Bashir has been nothing but nice to obrien the entire series. Even in the early seasons all he wanted was to be friends with obrien. Obrien played it like Bashir was annoying but he really wasn't. Obrien just came off as rude for some reason. He wouldn't have acted that way against anyone on the enterprise. Eventually obrien lightened up and they became friends. I just don't think Bashir ever did anything to make obrien act so rude to him
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sun, Aug 31, 2014, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

Those are all good points William. It does seem that both Quark and Bashir saw Ezri as a consolation prize or as some form of Jadzia. I just think it would have been cool to see Quark in a relationship. The show always made Quark into a typical ferengi who was all about profit. But he actually did care about some things above profit. I was always intrigued by how loyal he was to the Nagus. He would have done anything for that man. And he was willing to leave the station and his bar to be with Natima. I think that if Worf had never come on DS9 then Jadzia and Bashir would have gotten together. Maybe that's why they had Ezri and Bashir form a relationship. Now that women can wear clothes and earn profit they could have had Pel come back at the end of the series. That would have been interesting. Not enough time I guess.

I like your idea of Jake and Ezri. That would have been really awkward for Jake every time Sisko called his girlfriend "old man". Ha.
Set Bookmark
Scott
Sat, Aug 30, 2014, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Once More Unto the Breach

I have a question for all ds9/quark fans. Would it have been ok with you if Quark had ended up with ezri? I ask this because I was reading about this epiisode on memory alpha and it says this

Armin Shimerman sees this episode as setting up his character for the rest of the season; "For the most part, the season is about Quark either mourning Jadzia or pursuing Ezri. The audience would never accept them as a couple though, so there was never a chance for that. So I spent most of the season crying into my own drinks, woeing the fact that I was getting nowhere with Ezri. Although everybody else on the show seemed to get somewhere with her!"

I was always upset that Quark never ended up with anyone. I wouldn't have been upset with Quark and Ezri as a couple. They seemed to have some chemistry in the emperors cloak. I know that was an alternate universe episode but I could have seen them end up together. They were about the same height too. Ha I mean even rom got a woman and he was a side character. I look at the episode Rules of acquisition and the episode where quark loves the cardassian woman and I can definitely see quarks desire for a relationship. I don't agree with Armin when he says the audience would never accept that but would accept Bashir and ezri. Am I wrong? Is it better just have quark be alone running the bar forever?
Set Bookmark
Pscott
Wed, May 14, 2014, 11:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

Oh and one more thing.....it wasn't just 8,000 people were affected by this. You have the thousands that have lived and died on that planet during the 200 years then you have the 8000 who died in this ep. And they did die becaue they did physically exist
Set Bookmark
Pscott
Wed, May 14, 2014, 11:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Children of Time

I mostly love this episode but I wanna talk about some character problems. First is Dax. I don't know if it's her acting or what but Dax has always come off as an android to me. Just the way she talks. Even when she's trying to be emotional
It comes off as stale. Anyways this all was Dax's fault. She seems to dislike the new Dax the whole episode. Maybe it's because of guilt if I'm being generous. My main problem with her is she doesn't care that not going back will make these people die. When they are all debating going back or not she says these people will cease to exist. She doesn't say die. Then at the end she coldly tells Sisko these people never existed. These are the people they just planted crops with. She saw these children playing and she again comes off like an android. She doesn't want to take responsibility for these people dying. Even obrien finally comes around and says we can't let these people die. obrien was awesome in this ep. He tried to stay distant from these people but finally realized he couldn't let these people die even if he couldn't see his family again. He is a genuinely good man.

I also had a problem with Odo. He lives with these people for hundreds of years and is ok with them dying just for Kira. It doesn't come off as romantic. It comes off as crazy obsessive. I'm surprised Kira ever hooked up with him. It reminds me of an ep in season 7 when another changeling tells Odo that when they linked he learned that if it wasn't for Kira Odo would be with the great link even with the dominion war ongoing. That was a huge statement. Odo would also be ok with the destruction of the alpha quadrant and all his friends as long as he was in the link. But he stays with the group at ds9 because of Kira. Great episode but it was very revealing for those three characters.
Set Bookmark
Scott D
Fri, Dec 13, 2013, 11:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

One interesting, and perhaps "realistic" aspect of time travel is illustrated: the timeship may be able to *go* anywhere in time; however, there is no exhaustive *record* of time to guide them, at least not to the level of detail required to just beam to X moment to stop Y event. This would explain the messiness in Relativity as they had to cast 7 of 9 about to zero in on the correct moment. It is consistent with Year of Hell, where the Krenim timeship had to tinker, and tinker again, to get the desired result.
Set Bookmark
W. Scott Richardson
Sun, Aug 11, 2013, 7:55am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: The Jem'Hadar

"Like Earth in the early Devonian period." That would be the period when ancient humans 'whipped it... whipped it good!'
Set Bookmark
Scott M
Thu, Jul 11, 2013, 9:06am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S5: Disaster

This episode isn't perfect, but it certainly is enjoyable. Worf's scenes are perhaps the funniest of the entire series (or even any of the Trek series), and it's fun watching Picard grow beyond his obvious discomfort around the children. Riker and Data work well together, and it would have been nice to see more of them instead of the dull LaForge/Crusher subplot.

Anyway, this is something different, something fun -- especially considering it is essentially a bottle episode. It may not be great, but it has always been one of my favorites.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Sat, Sep 15, 2012, 1:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Doctor's Orders

I'm a bit embarrassed to say, I didn't see it coming at all. I'm so used to characters doing frustrating things that I thought the writers were just being dumb when T'Pol was so helpless, turns out I was the one being dumb!

It was an alright episode, but the pacing was far too slow. I kept falling asleep.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 30, 2012, 8:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Carpenter Street

Wow, this episode stunk. It stunk even worse for me as I live in the suburbs of Detroit and work in downtown Detroit.

First, I'll tear apart the plot. So why the hell are they trying to get the virus back to the future? Wouldn't they just release it right there in 2004? Killing all the humans in 2004 would be better than killing them in 2154 when they're scattered about the universe in space ships.

I totally agree that it makes no sense that Archer would be sent to 2004 two months into the Xindi mission. It would make more sense for them to be sent right on the heels of the Xindi and to spend the episode right on the heels trying to predict their next move and stop them.

Also, I totally agree that it makes no sense whatsoever that they need to make this virus specific to all blood types. There are very few things on this Earth in present day that are specific to a blood type.


OK, now I've got to tear apart the "Detroit 2004" part.

First off, apparently in 2004 Detroit had very few black people. In fact, Detroit now only has two black people, a cop and a hooker.

Secondly, not a single scene was from Detroit. The shot of the skyline was LA! I mean, c'mon, you couldn't even throw in a shot of the Detroit skyline?

Thirdly, on the radio there's an advertisement for a monster truck rally at the "tri-city" whatever. There is no "tri-city" in Detroit. There's the "tri-county" area of Wayne, Oakland, and Macomb. There is no tri-city.

The only thing they got right were the police cars which were either actual Detroit police cars, or extremely similar.

If you're going to say that a plot is in a certain city, you actually have to make an attempt. You can't say "Detroit" and show the LA skyline.

The only thing that seems accurate about the setting is:

1) There is a Carpenter Street in Detroit\Hamtramck (I think they just got lucky on that one)
2) Detroit did exist in 2004 and had hookers


Sucky plot. No attempt made at depicting Detroit. More time-travel wizardry.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Mon, Aug 20, 2012, 8:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Impulse

I did not find this episode very entertaining. My wife was having issues with the strobes, she has epilepsy.

Not much of a story at all. It was like one of those zombie-end-of-the-world movies you see.

I give it two-stars.

Watchable, but not much further than that.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 16, 2012, 9:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

Wow, this episode was bad. At first it was a little interesting trying to figure out why those dudes were torching the people. At first I thought it was going to be another "ENT: Rouge Planet" episode.

As soon as the away team started to transform I immediately, and literally picture a big red "RESET" button on the TV screen that they were going to press at the very end.

The main characters always have to live, so when you do episodes like this where we know what the ending will look like, it's important for it to have interesting dialogue. However, this episode was so boring.

First off, I agree with Jammer. I don't buy into the "DNA-Rewrite". First off, you wouldn't survive. Secondly, even if it were possible, it would not happen so quickly. Thirdly, if it was to happen so quickly they would need to eat like crazy to generate the energy for their bodies to do all that transforming,

I found the ending where Archer magically storms on the bridge when just 40 seconds ago he was a weird alien to be totally bogus. I usually only roll my eyes at the T'Pol Hot Bod[TM] scenes, but this one managed to get one from me.

Also, Archer wouldn't let Phlox destroy the "last remains" of the alien race. I simply don't get it, is there not a whole %$^#ing planet of virus still left? What does one vial matter?

I really thought Archer was going to tell Phlox to save the virus so he could use it on the Xindi if negotiations didn't work, but that would have been too evil for any Trek captain to save a genocidal biological weapon for the purpose of using it. However, if you want to keep a genocidal biological weapon on your ship for the hell of it, that makes perfect sense!

1.5 stars was generous. I give it 1-star tops.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Thu, Aug 2, 2012, 7:33am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Stigma

I like this episode. I know that it's not a completely compatible metaphor, but I think the message is still completely applicable to the AIDS\HIV situation as well as other situations.

In the early days of AIDS\HIV it was thought of a homosexual disease. Then it turned into a disease of homosexuals, drug users, and the promiscuous.

Even today there is still a great stigma when it comes to AIDS\HIV. All though it's manageable it's a diagnosis that still caries a shorter lifespan.

AIDS\HIV is very preventable, and that combined with its profoundly negative health consequences account for the present day stigma.

This episode has some valuable lessons in it, including tolerance, acceptance, and wanting to reach out and help people even if some of those people are part of a lifestyle you may choose to not be a part of.

I also very much liked the moral lesson with Flox and Trip. To Flox it was completely normal for his wife to pursue Trip. And in the inverse it was perfectly normal for Trip to not want relations with a married woman. In the end they both understood and respected the moral differences between the two cultures.

This also applies to a society where polygamy and homosexuality is so hated. The moral lesson applies, if you don't want to have multiple partners or if you don't want to engage in relations with someone of a certain sex, then it's your choice, as it's the choice of others to do contrary.

I never watched this episode on TV, so I never got to see the HIV\AIDS hotline part at the end. However, I can see where that might be a little too "in your face" of a message. I think it also might narrow minds on what this message could apply to.

But more to the episode, I agree with others about the glaring continuity issue. T'Pol willingly started the mind-meld, so she got the disease willingly. The facts were changed to fit the plot of the episode, and they didn't even really need to be.

So really, T'Pol was the one damaging the minority more with her false mind-rape claim.

I'm also still frustrated by how much of an ass that Archer is, and how he has no respect for T'Pol's personal space. His short temper comes up again in this episode. It's so frustrating to watch this bumbling hothead-idiot commanding humanity's most prized possession.
Set Bookmark
Scott of Detroit
Tue, Jul 31, 2012, 9:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: The Catwalk

I thought this episode was above average. I found watching the crew preparing to be entertaining. It makes me think of situations at my work where I've been sent down into the data center to complete some kind of mission critical task on a short time line and everyone pulls together.

I like that a large amount of crew (extras) were used to get a feeling for the amount of folks that are on the ship. The whole "camping" aspect of the show was fun, and we can all go back to a situation where we were camping and had much less space.

The alien takeover was a little too predictable in its ending, but we can't complain too much about that, because the writers can't destroy the crew\ship.

I liked that they dug into T'pol's character a little more, and made her a little more likable.

I would give this episode 3 to 3.5 stars. It was different, fun, predictable, but enjoyable.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Mon, Jul 30, 2012, 8:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: Precious Cargo

I agree that this episode was terrible. For me it wasn't so much the cliché. The only parts that I found to be completely cliché were when their anger boiled over into romance and the "pampered" part of Kaitaama's character. Yup, it's sure believable that when two people are in a life and death survival situation that they can't even keep their pants zipped for even the first night.

What took this episode from bad to completely terrible was Padma Lakshmi. Her acting in this episode sounded like she was reading the lines for the first time and just saying the words to say them. Lakshmi reminded me of the very first Janeway that didn't work out.

As for those criticizing this review, I rather liked the review. It made me feel better about the last 43 minutes of my life. Knowing that I'm not the only one that watched this episode gives me comfort.
Set Bookmark
Scott from Detroit
Sun, Jul 15, 2012, 10:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S2: A Night in Sickbay

Well, I watched this episode and knew I could count on you for a scathing review.

I also rolled my eyes at the Hoshi-->T'Pol-->Archer-->Porthos rubdown scene.

Really? An episode that focuses on developing the character of the ****ing dog? And also managed to murder the character of Archer and make him more unlikable than Wesley Crusher?

Gee... here is an alien culture that is very easily offended and we need something from them. Let's go down there. I'll need my communications officer to communicate. I'll need my science officer for her wisdom. And I'll also need my dog so he can shed, s***, and p*** all over the place. No chance of anything going wrong here.

This episode was horrible, and 1-star was a very generous and forgiving rating.

I would have given it negative 1/2 star for damaging Archer's character.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.