Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 54 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 3:27am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

This episode would have fit right in with season 1TNG
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:17pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: A Piece of the Action

Ditto, "spocko".
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Gamesters of Triskelion

Everyrhing you point out jammer is technically correct, but I still love this episode. The arena scene did it for me. Kirks "trainer" didnt hurt my eyes neither.

3 stars.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 10:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Deadly Years

The reason I see for the love interest was to provide contrast. Without it the story would just be enterprise old folks home. She also represented kirks youth and vibrancy, something that was still there inside him yet you couldnt see it.

Of course stocker represents any of us who has had a boss that knows much less than we do. Familiar?

I always enjoyed this ep very much. 3.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 9:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: I, Mudd

Usually one has to be in the presence of others to feel embarrassment, I was embarrassed at myself just to be watching it alone. The slapstick sequence was the worst trek ever produced, actors/characters nearly desroyed any credibility for me to continue enjoying this show.
I kindly give this zero stars.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 9, 2014, 9:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Catspaw

I havent watched this episode in quite some time and there is a reason; I dont want to.

I rate 1 star only because im still high from watching doomsday mach week before.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 9:19am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Given everything I have seen and learned about us and the leaders we have always chosen, I know where I stand. Look at our world today.

btw this is a 4 star episode. :)
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 9:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Now lets get back to mirrorx2;
Our kirk is kind and benevolent towards a race that refuses to give starfleet (it wasnt a peace mission) a resource they needed from the hulkans.

the other universe needed same,.. that kirk was willing to deal at first but in the end would use military technology and might to take it.

the two main antagonists in the absence of bad kirk was a very bad asian and Russian, this was 1966 people. A bit of expose' ?

Now lets down to nitty grit;

An imperial fleet that takes what it wants thru military might, leaders who employ bodyguards, use of torture, backstabbing, subterfuge, even goatees,..

the million dollar question is this;...

Which one of these universes really is ours?
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 8:30am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Need another example?
Here pike burns in training accident, there kirk tries to torch pike, doesnt kill him but goal is achieved. Meanwhile spock whacks #1 chapels sister and moves up to 2d in command. See how this works?

now I am going to prove my theory once n4 all;
Notice how so many redshirts die on away missions while main cast always lives? Biggest cliche huh?
Check this out...

in any drug gang, who dies, the top dog or his street dealers?
In the military who dies, the generals or the foot soldiers?
In a jihad, who dies, the mastermind or the volunteer suicide bomber?

Like I said; whatever happens in that universe happens here. Theirs die defending tyranny, ours die on away missions. Either universe views their deaths as valiant, yet serving the mission.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 7:18am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: Mirror, Mirror

Just got on this site this week n read many reviews n posts. One thing I notice about some people is they need every detail n blank filled in . I guess its good to ask questions, it makes good conversation, but sometimes ya need to do it for yourself. The writers left a lot out in TOS, if they did it under time constraint or deadline its understandable. If they did it to allow the audience a chance to think it thru 4 themselves, then those writers are geniuses.

Heres my take on mirrorx2;
Everything that happens there happens here. Enterprise goes to same places with same crew, different mission and different attitude but same outcome. Everyone who dies there dies here, just differently.

case in point; where no man has gone before... we know what happened here, but over in that universe there was a love triangle. Kirk n sally kellerman (kel) were getting it on way back when,.. remember that blond gary said he fixed kirk up with in academy? Yup thats kel.(dr dehner) Kirk almost married her but he didnt, she secretly resented his spurning. She knew gary from way back n they both had the commonality of being espers. Notice how she showed up on bridge just b4 hitting that electrical nebula? With kirk as capt n guess who as navigator? Gary. Yup the same guy that flew them to the place where only two espers would know to get godlike powers. Strange there were 7 other espers on the ship but they all died in the nebula storm. Coincidence? Nope. It was a setup by gary. Ni

just a reminder, were in the alternate universe here. Gary allows himself to get taken to planet vega#? He strangles kirks henchman kelso, unsuccessfuly elecrocutes kirk n spock, then bags ass. Notice how gary was 3d in command? Takes out 2 top dogs at same time? Kirk catches him but kel remembers love 4 kirk and zaps gary instead. Kirk kills kel cuz he loves power n green women.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 2:48am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Devil in the Dark

I always thought horta looked more like elementary school pizza. This comedy episode gets 3 slices from me.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 2:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Return of the Archons

Festival was about one thing my friends... procreation.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 2:01am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

William B. You really oughta open up with your thoughts a bit more. ;)
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 1:59am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Galileo Seven

Just got this season with CGI and watched them all. Now I feel like I lived a deprived childhood.

Yup,..4 stars
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 11:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S2: The Doomsday Machine

My personal all time favorite. I cant think anyone from that time playing playing decker like w. Windom. 5 stars.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 11:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

Solid 4 banger yup.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 10:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Operation--Annihilate!

Recently watched this, last known condition of peter he was in sick bay stabilized. If he had died im sure we would have found out when kirk did, since they found way to kill parasites its safe to assume he survived. As for kirk caring for his nephew, ncc1701c wont be around for some while.

to me this ep was a bit slow, just ok. 2 stars
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Court Martial

Jammer brings up the same points I always thought as well, but.... I love this episode anyway. Mccoy using a vibrator to silence heartbeats until u hear only finneys, best part.

3+ STARS 4 me
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 10:05pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

This episode was a 6 min Clip shown over and over again. Lazarus lurching around as a madman, newspaper spinning, video negative of 2 stuntmen rasslin in a room, kirk asking spock whats up and spock saying it all makes no scientific sense. Repeat 6 or 7x, enterprise blows up george jetsons sspacecraft, run credits.

I would not give this 1 star.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 9:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Balance of Terror

3.5 at least
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 2, 2014, 2:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Mudd's Women

One thing I like about this review board is that by reading what others see, it sometimes opens my eyes to a way of seeing a story I hadnt thought of.

I always saw it as beauty comes from the inside and still do, just never thought of it from the angle of prostitution. Which this is.

It is not an overly entertaining ep and i never liked mudd, but it does address enough about the human condition that id want to watch again. 2.5 popcorns for me.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 2, 2014, 2:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Miri

Agreed... the whole creepy kid thing worked well to me. I can see where many would be put off by this ep and rate it low but its always been 1 of my favorites. Somebody should take clips from this and set it to a rob zombie song. Id pay 99 cents for that. 3+ stars.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 2, 2014, 1:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

Dutch go back to the last act of the cage ep when nurse chapels big sis set a phaser pistol on overload. Pike even told the buttheads to beat feet cause that thing was going to take out everything around. Good continuity imo.

Btw you really believe a murderer should not spend one day in jail so long as they never do it again? Your 1st name isnt lenore is it? ;)
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 2, 2014, 12:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: The Conscience of the King

Hadnt seen this ep in a long time so just reviewed it. Great story esp morality of konos? And what he did or felt he had to do. May have been a more compelling story to explore this further and leave out the lenore/hamlet overdrama.

a poster mentioned reilly in only 2 episodes then gone. Never noticed that before. Also these two eps showed reilly at an eng console ive not seen anytime else, while someone was singing over the intercom system. I wonder if these episodes were shot within the same week so they only had to pay reilly actor once? Seems chekov took his spot seas2 on.

anyone who has the dvd check out the part where lenore is exiting the bridge and the look yeoman rand gives her in passing. Classic.

2.5 star about right but I also wouldnt say as good as bal of terror.
Set Bookmark
redshirt28
Wed, Apr 2, 2014, 8:52am (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S1: Shore Leave

Understood this was supposed to be a fun ep.
But it wasnt. 1 star to be generous.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.