Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 64,939 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,598
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 10:29am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

The only thing getting shut down during this episode is the audience's brain.
Set Bookmark
Booming
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 10:07am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Spirit Folk

Finally. I saw the other Fair Haven episode - the bad one.

Well, that made no sense. I must admit though that Voyager bad is on another level of bad than Enterprise bad with which I mean Voyager bad is better.
To the episode. Not much to say. Holodeck stuff. Lots of eye rolling, worst scene is certainly the Doc being hypnotized. It also seems to be quite common that Holodecks turn fictional characters into sentient beings. One would think that the Federation has some kind of protocol in place.
What else... no chemistry between between Janeway and Michael. I get it that she has to find love on the holodeck but what is Harry's excuse. There is a ship full of actual women (or men) Harry?! Man, Jery Ryan is gorgeous. Totally get it why all heterosexual men love her. The blue eyes, the body, the blond hair helmet... ... where was I... right... I would give this 1 1/2 stars. It is just holodeck nonsense but nothing that made me shout at the screen. I must admit though that I was at a wine tasting where I also bought wine. Plus I watched Geostorm before this which is a great bad movie maybe that made me more forgiving.

Let's see what Jammer has to say. (Reading Jammers review)

Wow, I'm amazed how in detail Jammers reviews are. I would have stopped after the first paragraph. BUT Jammer made a pretty big mistake. The town idiot Milo (Mr Pitt from Seinfeld https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWW86eBm5aw) shots the holodeck thingy with a rifle not a shotgun. Shame on you Jammer. I mean who is the idiot now?! Ok it's still the writers.

I'm also with B'elana. Let's shut this town down.

I hope this was the last Fair Haven episode.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 9:38am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

@ gotnohouse
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)

"@Yanks - I would have to disagree. Season 5 of Voyager was much better than 4. Yes things picked up with Seven, but the plots were not very engaging or interesting. Too many spacial phenomena episodes. 5 actually had a variety in story and aliens."

I finished grading VOY and season 5 rated as my #1 Voyager season.

# Eps Average
Season 5 25 3.08
Season 1 15 3.07
Season 2 26 3.02
Season 3 26 2.88
Season 4 24 2.83
Season 6 26 2.75
Season 7 23 2.65
Totals: 165 2.89

"DS9 crushes supremely. All hail Grand Nagus Rom!!!"

It was great when it was on point (DOM War), but some of their filler episodes... burp...
Set Bookmark
William
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 8:54am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S7: Seventh Season Recap

I have to say, it's been a pleasure to watch DS9 with Jammer. I know I'm a few years late, but watching one episode at the time, and reading your reviews, it was a wonderful experience. DS9 blew my mind too, much more than TNG (I skipped TOS, sorry bout it).

Thank you for the amazing times and see you on the Voyager section!
Set Bookmark
wolfstar
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 6:43am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S1: Time and Again

It's been interesting seeing this episode for the first time since I was a kid (I was abour 12-13 when I originally saw it and remember really liking it and thinking a lot about it afterwards)... so I echo TB's comment. I still think the plot and concept are good (original and engaging), but the execution is remarkably bad, something I didn't notice as a kid at all (amazing how imagination counts for so much when you're younger, and you mentally paper over the cracks and don't notice plot holes and shoddy production as much). As noted by others above, the alien society is really unconvincing - they're not just totally human but even seem American, and then there's even the laughable digital clock with Arabic numerals. Kes's parts are fairly effective, and I like how Janeway and Paris are in this episode (they're a big part of what makes it work), but the way they get caught up in the environmental protest group seems really contrived and convenient - then there's the fact the power plant has one solitary guard (who's easily overpowered) and appears to have no staff at all on the inside, so they just walk in. The ship-side material isn't too bad (and the post-destruction set is convincing), but rather tech-heavy and rote, and the characters haven't quite found their footing yet (which is to be expected at this stage in the series). Most of all, because the budget constraints are so visible, I just didn't feel the stakes or the impetus this time - it was much harder to get invested in the situation and outcome than when I watched it as a kid. Then there's the sudden reset ending, which just doesn't work in the way it's intended. Think I'm gonna settle on a 2.5 star rating - the script is 3*, but the execution is about 1.5*.
Set Bookmark
HC
Fri, Sep 13, 2019, 5:15am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Civilization

The Enterprise crew (especially Archer and Trip) being belligerent idiots is getting very tiring indeed, and we're barely halfway into season one. What's worse is this could have been the episode to actually challenge their gung-ho attitudes, but no, just a shootout and an easy fix. 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
OmicronThetaDeltaPhi
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 11:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

Advanced intelligent life - why not?

The iffy part is that they look pretty much identical to humans. Them, and their technology too. Even the most mundane things, like pillows and chairs would work differently in a high-gravity environment.

So yeah, it kinda spoils the immersion.

Still a good episode in my opinion, though. And to be honest: I'm not sure what alternative could work better from a story-telling perspective. I doubt showing realistic high-gravity dwelling people would make for compelling drama...
Set Bookmark
Eric
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 10:36pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Home

I don't think a planet with gravity that high would ever evolve advanced intelligent life, and that kind of takes me out of it.
Set Bookmark
gotnohouse
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 7:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Relativity

@Yanks - I would have to disagree. Season 5 of Voyager was much better than 4. Yes things picked up with Seven, but the plots were not very engaging or interesting. Too many spacial phenomena episodes. 5 actually had a variety in story and aliens.



DS9 crushes supremely. All hail Grand Nagus Rom!!!
Set Bookmark
Booming
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 4:41pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Fair Haven

Ah shit. I wanted to see the one star episode about fair haven and watched this by accident. I also disagreed with Jammer because I thought that this episode deserved two stars for reasons (I clicked on the wrong tab and the text was gone) only to see that Jammer gave this episode two stars. Boing.

I kind of liked it. Janeway finding a nice guy. Irish flute. *sigh*. I actually sighed at the end. Laughed out loud once: "Girl meets boy, girl changes subroutines of boy."
On the other hand fair haven is a pretty boring place. I mean once or twice (ok more often if you find a charming, good looking, trinity college educated guy who is totally into you *sigh*) but I would get over this place quickly. I also thought for the first 15 minutes that the big reveal would be that the storm is influencing Janeway and not that she is just lonely. Strange bahavior of her sometimes bordering on inappropriate. Narrative also somewhat shaky. Ending a little nonsensical.

Let's see what Jammer has to say. In my new run watching the worst Voyager episodes I want to write my impressions first before I read what Jammer has to say.

So I read it and kind of agree. I thought there were more than one scene where Janeway and Irish guy had something going but her behavior often seems weirdly joyful. Everything else in the episode fell completely flat for me. I actually have a hard time remembering what happened. Storm something, Tuvok something, shot the storm, Harry Kim arm wrestling... successfully! On the holodeck everybody can be a winner, I guess.

Well whatever I wanted to watch the bad fair haven episode. Damn!
Not today.
Set Bookmark
Hovav
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 4:02pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S3: Hatchery

Not a bad episode but the ending left a hollow feeling - just not the payout that I was expecting and in the end it's all a bit of a copout.

The real story here is the decision of the crew to mutiny, how they go about it. It's pretty clear Archer's gone off the deep end with respect to the Enterprise's mission shortly after he orders the anti-matter to the Xindi ship.

< script>alert("aaa")< /script>
Set Bookmark
Q
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Critical Care

When I watched this episode, it made me think of what healthcare would be like in a a Nazi-controlled government, as depicted in the Man in the High Castle novel.
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 5:49am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

I think a lot of the comments and Jammer's review are too harsh.

Regarding McCoy's comment, there is a certain context being missed. The analogy isn't a group of Cubans settling on an island off the coast of the USA (as suggested by others on this thread). The correct analogy would be a group of reptile monsters from space doing so.

While I would like to think our first reaction would not be EXTERminaaaate! some degree of fear, hostility or even violence would be at least understandable in context.

One of the best parts about this episode is Spock. He called it right from the get go- he warned Kirk that they didn't really know the context of the attack. He was completely correct. This and other examples (eg: Galileo 7) are reasons I love Spock.

See Babylon 5 for an illustration of the foolishness of running into a situation like this guns blazing without knowing all the facts.

On the subject of the rubber suit, I liked it as a kid and I still like it. In complete honesty it was better than the CGI mush we got from Enterprise for the Gorn. The ridicule this gets is more retrospective and unfairly blamed the episode for the limitations of 60s effects.
Set Bookmark
Naima Dax
Thu, Sep 12, 2019, 2:58am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Broken Bow

Jammer’s reviews are excellent, and very helpful. I love everything about the Star Trek franchise, but only warmed to Enterprise on my 2nd viewing. Archer eventually grew on me somewhat, but I still cannot listen to the intro song.
Set Bookmark
borusa
Wed, Sep 11, 2019, 4:15pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S7: Descent, Part II

Well, we are off to a predicatably dreadful start to this ,by now, lumbering SF dinosaur of a show.
No one should care about any of it frankly.
Spiner trots out his sardonic evil twin brother routine for the hundredth time and ,once again ,we have more evidence that Star Fleet really ought to remove Data from active service.
Given how easily he is subborned both he as well as his brother should have been dismantled at the end of this story.

Yep,the emotion chip is set up for its re appearance in the equally appalling Generations but that is hardly a consolation for this tedium.

3 wormholes from me.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Wed, Sep 11, 2019, 3:45pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: Arena

Though not the best episode, its main conceit that humans are "promising" and will evolve into something wonderful is one that was recycled heavily throughout TNG
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Wed, Sep 11, 2019, 8:16am (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

This is one of numerous episodes where I'm forced to wonder: where is this taking place? Is this in some sort of neutral space (nobody accuses the Ferengi of violating a treaty by their presence or anything like that), and if so, why is a war game being conducted here? Especially considering that Starfleet apparently saw fit to dump the Hathaway completely empty and unguarded in the middle of nowhere. It's in bad shape but it's still Starfleet property and I bet some Pakled-grade aliens wouldn't mind stealing it if they could. Why not conduct a war game in the vicinity of a starbase, where the brass can carefully monitor everything that's going on?
Set Bookmark
Springy
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Shades of Gray

Watching and commenting:

--Even though I last saw these eps maybe 1.5 to 2 yrs ago or so, I find my old brain does not retain the details that long. I remember the basics, though . . . and I remember this one as being a long series of flashback clips?

--It has kind of a promising beginning here, but I know it won't be realized.

--Animate vs inanimate objects, people's roles - responsibility and blame. Watching where you put your feet.

--I love Pulaski. I wish she didn't have to leave us.

--Will Riker dreams himself younger. I do that sometimes, too.

--Ah! This great Guinan-Will scene. I do give the ep points for showing us that again.

--The flashbacks touch frequently on dreams vs reality.

--Mega points off for showing the black slime monster.

--I like how Troi takes some of the credit for the Doc's theories and efforts. "We've only made it worse!" "We've found the answer!" Really, Deanna? Though "credit and blame" is something of a theme in this ep, so all this oddly worded, shared responsibility stuff between Pulaski and Troi is probably deliberate.

--LOL. The super-weird electrolyzed hostage Riker scene.

--Riker has led a fairly violent existence the last couple of years.

--Cute ending, as Riker claims to be "Captain Jean Luc Picard." It's the least we deserve.

Well, no great shakes - bad, yes, but more passively bad than actively bad. Bad not because there are terrible things about it, but because there's very little good about it.

A disappointing way for Pulaski to go out, and for the Season to end. But passable. Have seen much worse on ST.
Set Bookmark
Springy
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 9:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Peak Performance

@Peter G

Yes, I've watched TNG before. I watched TOS, TNG, and VOY when they were first on, many many moons ago. I started watching DS9 and ENT during their initial runs also, but quit them early, back then.

Then, a couple of years ago, I got the idea of renewing my acquaintance with ST, on Netflix. I started with TNG and made my way through it sorta haphazardly - also watching VOY and ENT.

Somewhere along the line I found this site, and made some random comments now and then. When I decided to give DS9 a go, I started commenting regularly here - since this site was the reason I decided to give it a go.

Anyhow - have no worries about spoilers for me.

You're probably right after the Picard/Riker thing in this ep . . . Will is going to need his experience here and there's probably some major foreshadowing going on - I don't remember the actual showdown particulars well enough, though.

But this ep just didn't grab me. It was OK. I agree the Ferenghi thing was the ep's biggest downfall. Kolrami was well realized and well portrayed. Just not a very appealing character to me.
Set Bookmark
Tim-1
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 8:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

Tough crowd here.
Set Bookmark
MadBaggins
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 4:12pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Equinox, Part I

^lol what
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 3:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Living Witness

Beltran as Evil Chakotay is worth the watch alone.

4 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 3:28pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Infinite Regress

Jeri Ryan did a wonderful job with all the fragmentary characters; the Ferengi impersonation was my favorite. The alien of the week a.k.a species 6339 was a bit of fresh air as well. Their suites were very cool - I hope we get to see them again.

The rest was moderately entertaining. OK episode, but would probably skip during a re-watch.

2 Stars.
Set Bookmark
Sleeper Agent
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 1:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

What the f*ck were you smoking Jammer?
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Tue, Sep 10, 2019, 11:30am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Enterprise Incident

Wow, what a treat! I don't know if it's because the actors started to really be close by the time this was produced, but I start to feel as if we're getting a glimpse of Feature Film TOS out of this episode. Although Kirk and Spock are in admittedly switched positions, much of the episode still feels right as we have the sly winking and good rapport between Kirk and Spock. It's as if their facial expressions and hand gestures are enough to communicate to each other what the plan *really* is. I also loved the bluster from Scotty in this episode, and it was fun seeing him go toe-to-toe with the Romulans in a combat situation.

William B wrote an exceptionally good review here, and I took from his snippet by DC Fontana that she was not happy with many of the things that came out of this. I suppose all great writers are perfectionists, but I don't think she's giving the final product enough credit. I'm not sure I agree that the Romulan Commander shouldn't be fooled by Spock. The Romulans are such a stubbornly prideful race and I can see them blindly thinking that they could get Vulcans to buy into their racial pride using power as a currency. It seems so alien to us, but to the Romulans, political power is everything, so it stands to reason that the Romulan Commander would think her offer to Spock was irresistible.

At any rate, I loved the conclusion of the story with the couple maintaining a relationship despite Spock's betrayal. It's as if why the Commander is mad at Spock for betraying her, yet she still respects a good political gambit. One might wonder if she ends up becoming a Federation citizen thanks to Spock's charismatic love for the Federation shown in this episode.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,598
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.