Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 254 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 9:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Battle

Because this episode came so early on, it wasn’t completely unfathomable to viewers when this episode first aired that perhaps Picard really did fire in a defenskess ship. We don’t know Captain very well at this point, and he’s pretty surly. I enjoyed that they’re able to lay those seeds of doubt in a way they couldn’t have later in the series when we trust Picard unquestioningly.

The little technobabble about checksums was nice, at a time when computing science wasn’t the degree of choice of every other student.

When Bok offers Picard the Stargazer, the Ferengi first officer comments “we are not selling it to HIM!”, but it was clearly meant to be “we are not SELLING it to him?”

I notice these instances of actors putting the emphasis on the wrong word all the time and it’s a little pet peeve of mine because it shows that the writers and the directors aren’t understanding the script they’re acting out.

The fact the Starfleet security crew allowed all those Stargazer belongings on board without any inspection, including a just slightly suspicious giant glowing sphere.... between that and Tasha not thoroughly researching the laws if the planet of the previous episode Justice... I think Yar was on track for a firing if she hadn’t been killed first.

For all the little gripes though, solid episode that showcased Stewart’s acting and stands out as a more complex and mature script than what had come previously. Agreed with the 2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 7:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Justice

I didn’t think this episode was so bad. I enjoyed the philosophical dilemma of whether to obey the other society’s laws or not.

I like how different Season 1 is from the others. It has its stinkers, but it also seems to have a lot of adventure. I like that there are sets in Season 1 that we never see again, and the music is great.

I’ll take the slightly heavy handed moralizing and philosophical debate over that Discovery garbage any day.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 1:08am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: Where No One Has Gone Before

I loved this one as a little kid. It gave me many fantasies wondering if there were parts of the universe where it didn’t just look like stars in the sky and if so, what else might be possible.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 1:02am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Last Outpost

The preachiness is real in this episode.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 11:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S5: Conundrum

This episode has always been a favorite if mine, probability since I first saw it as a kid and didn’t notice the plot holes.

I liked that one cheeky writer managed to get his thoughts about the episode in through Riker’s comments to Picard in one of the ending scenes: “With all the power that McDuff had to alter our brain chemistry and manipulate the computers, it’s hard to believe that he needed the Enterprise.”

I also always found it a little weird that they didn’t express more concern/guilt about destroying an innocent ship of 53 people. I know they can’t realky be blamed, but it would still be human nature to feel some guilt.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Sun, Dec 9, 2018, 5:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Extinction

I watched this episode while reading all the comments about why Archer didn't destroy the virus. Perhaps with the benefit of knowing he wasn't going to destroy the virus I paid close attention to his reasoning and his reasoning was thus;

They had passed a cure for the virus on to the other alien species who Archer believed would try to use to wipe out the virus on the planet. Archer believed the virus was created to preserve a species and their civilisation and that those people cease to exist the moment the virus is gone. Archer said they were on a mission to stop the Xindi from destroying humanity and he was damned if he was going to have a hand in destroying another race in the process. That was his reasoning for not destroying the virus. So there you go.
Set Bookmark
Mark
Wed, Sep 26, 2018, 6:39pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S5: Doctor Bashir, I Presume

I was offended by this episode. I have an autistic son and the writer is saying that it's wrong to heal someone who is mentally handicapped or has a learning disability. So we can't use this great Star Trek technology to cure people with brain disorders or mental retardation. It would have made sense if Bashir was a normal child and his parents wanted to make him superhuman. The writer, Jimmy Diggs, really needs to apologize for writing this crap.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Sep 16, 2018, 8:20am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

At first I was quite afraid of the episode being boring but it won me over. Reading in the review that this was the last episode written by a longstanding write of Trek makes everything come together. The basic story of the episode is that of the struggle between a writer and the need to a satisfy a needing patron who demands a new spectacle every week. It seems Menosky knows the Trek audience quite well, judging from the angry comments if the people who missed their hardcore “science” dose for a week ;)
This was at at the of the sixth season out of seven, so the show can be allowed some self-reflection and the writers comparing themselves with Aristophanes and Shakespeare :)
More explosions and technobabble next week!
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Sep 16, 2018, 8:07am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Muse

A couple of things:
- Beaming out in front of a not advanced civilisation: they were already believing in “Eternals”. This didn’t change much. It did help if it prevented a war.
- universal translator: it has long been established that when it works, it works flawlessly as if everyone speaks English. It is a standard Trek convention so that a story can be told in 40’
People shouldn’t get stuck in trivial issues and instead should try to enjoy the fiction part. Otherwise, Wikipedia has some amazing articles that are highly scientifically and historically accurate ;)
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Thu, Aug 16, 2018, 3:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Riddles

“Seeing an un-Tuvok-like performance by Tim Russ is an interesting experience; you realize just how perfectly controlled, pragmatic, and intentionally flat Tuvok's voice generally is, and how much range Russ milks from the Vulcan confines. ”

And for that alone that’s a 3+ episode.
Plus Neelix is not irritating for a change. Simply amazing :)
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sun, Aug 5, 2018, 5:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S1: Krill

I’ve been watching Voyager for the last couple of months (just started season 6), coming here after each episode to read up Jammer’s review and the comments. The last week I finally started with the Orville as well. I am amazed by the amount of criticism Voyager had on its plot holes (some actual issues and some imho nitpicking) while the Orville seems to get a pass by a lot of people due to its attempts to mix in some comedy.
Then again , it’s been twenty years since Voyager aired and perhaps the audience has changed these days.
Set Bookmark
Mark D
Mon, Jul 23, 2018, 11:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

It was a hard decision, but I think Janeway did the right thing. The difficulty in the decision was compounded by the fact that Tuvix was such a likable person and fit well within the crew.

From the standpoint of the crew, I think their confidence and respect in Janeway were strengthened by seeing that she is fully committed and willing to do whatever it takes to make sure they get home safely...especially Tuvok and Neelix in this case.

One more thought on this episode, I wonder...if Tuvix had expressed a desire to live right from the start, would the Doctor still have tried to find a way to separate him back into Tuvok and Neelix?
Set Bookmark
Mark
Thu, Jul 5, 2018, 2:31am (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S4: These Are the Voyages...

This episode would have been a lot better if it was set in the future of the main continuity. Have RIker and Troi, but have them on a diplomatic mission negotiating something tough, like adding the Xindi to the Federation. Don't pretend that Frakes and Sirtis haven't aged in the time since, embrace that. They're the literal Next Generation of venerable statespeople, but they need to look back on a similarly difficult issue from the NX-01 to get their bearings.

If you're going to wrap up the whole franchise like this, don't tie it to a B-list Season 7 episode for no reason.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Jul 2, 2018, 1:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: In the Flesh

All the people complaining that 8472 has been turned from evil to “90210” forget that
a) the perception of 8472 has changed already since we now know they didn’t start the war and they are not some great evil as we saw in Prey (S4)
b) this an allegory on the Cold War during which Russians were being depicted by the US as a cold-hearted, evil empire (google Ronald Reagan’s speech), when in fact they aren’t.

As for the inconsistencies of the Earth replication, of course it will have errors, since 8472 have incomplete information about starfleet they are bound to have made mistakes. It’s a way for the writers to show that spying your enemy from afar is bound to create misconceptions (which is accurate)
Set Bookmark
Mark
Tue, Jun 12, 2018, 5:48am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

I hate how the ship looked inside. It looks like a fire raged thru the hole ship and that is the only way i can think that it would look that way. Ya its upkeep is going to go down hill but the sets for year of hell are way over exaggerated!!! Every cut and scar tells a story and the scars on the inside of Voyager tells an impossible tale!
Set Bookmark
Mark
Mon, Jun 11, 2018, 1:55am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S7: Masks

I agree with Trent. the episode was not taken to its full potential. MASKA! God I hate this episode!!!
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, May 12, 2018, 7:37pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Before and After

According to the episode Harry was also the best man at Tom’s and Kes’ wedding. Where I come from, the best man gets to be godfather of the first child. That would mean Harry married his goddaughter :D :D
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Apr 30, 2018, 10:57am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Fair Trade

So Neelix gets involved in drug trafficking with a dead body outcome , and endangers two Voyager officers (gets them arrested) and all he gets is two weeks of “hard work” (which as mentioned other people do already as their regular job) at late night shifts? WOW! :)
Set Bookmark
Markus
Tue, Apr 3, 2018, 4:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: Half a Life

I sincerely disagree with the review as well. I found this to be a slow, but very dense, well acted and heartbreaking episode. And I am just half-way towards sixty.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Mon, Mar 26, 2018, 2:56am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Lifesigns

I see a lot of discussion about an AI falling in love, but what about a doctor being romantically involved with his patient? I was disappointed that at no point did any of the two(!) doctors thought it might be an issue. And from what I can tell it wasn’t discussed here as well!
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Sat, Mar 24, 2018, 3:30am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

@Ruth
2 millions were the estimated casualties not the entire population. The bomb was not big enough to take an entire planet.
Set Bookmark
Markus
Thu, Mar 15, 2018, 5:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Melora

Fallit Kot's "nose" was just plain unrealistic. Why would evolution OR intelligent design prefer such an obstacle of own's mouth? Seemd to me like a mistake of the make-up-department - or an elaborate joke on their part. Somehow it made Fallit Kot even more devious.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Fri, Mar 2, 2018, 10:15pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

@Nolan
I’ll have to rewatch that part. Still , Spock is the only Vulcan on the planet.
Set Bookmark
MarkG
Wed, Feb 28, 2018, 9:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: TOS S3: All Our Yesterdays

Am I the only finding irritating that
- the portal is disguised as a door exiting the library , making it extremely easy to travel in time by accident
- sound travels between time through the portal , but only voices and none of the inhabitants of the planet are going near the portal anymore (so that they could be heard).
- Spock goes barbarian but the doctor’s psychology is unchanged, which means that humans haven’t changed in the last 5000 years?
Knit picking I know... :)
Set Bookmark
Markus
Sun, Feb 25, 2018, 4:33am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S3: The Offspring

I always feel deeply moved by Data who brings me to tears - but Lal again is very "uncanny", disturbing. She seems aggressive, cold, and still overly human at the same time.

Also I found it kind of sad that Lal was somewhat forced to settle on a gender - this seemed unnecessary because it suggested being human can only be experienced via gender.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.