Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 70 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Dec 28, 2020, 7:33pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

Is it time for Booming's Drama of The Week already?
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 6:38pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Su'Kal

So the sci-fi is now even worse and we have some seriously pathetic character development.

I don't see any overall improvement over S2 personally. Although mostly s2 was saved by Pike/Mount for me.

As for this episode: Not sure how this can even be even worse than the last few (or any this season to be honest) but somehow they managed it.

Such sloppy, lazy writing combined with terrible script and embarrassing acting makes it almost unwatchable. They don't even stick to their own rules let alone any of Star Trek's. A new low for DSC. 0 stars.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sun, Dec 27, 2020, 1:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

The cis thing is utterly ridiculous. If trans people want to transition to male or female then they become male or female.

People who were born male or female don't suddenly need to start a prefix cis- to differentiate. Surely the whole point is not to differentiate?

Is it possibly so trans people can still be in the LGBTQ community (while straight "cis" cannot unless they are an ally - utterly ridiculous concept in itself).

Promoting inclusivity by creating more divides doesn't seem like a smart way forward.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Dec 22, 2020, 7:46am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

@Burke

Being nerdy isn't even niche anymore (look at online gaming/twitch etc - a billion dollar industry) so Star Trek would do just fine being nerdy.

I can't see this weird mishmash of sci-fi/soap working. Obviously Star Wars was always supposed to be a space opera and that works just fine but they haven't really committed to that route either.

Harping on about The Expanse yet again... the attention to detail with the trusters, burns, radiation, gravitational effects, blood (even tears not falling in one amazing scene - season 3) is very nerdy (and great). As someone above said.. all the factions and accents. It's the fiddly little nerdy details that make it an awesome show. Even the technobabble is more believable (protomolecules etc).

The Rocinante is so much cooler than the Discovery (even with its errr detachable nacelles) - purely from this nerds perspective anyway.

I guess it has 4 seasons though and that's.. something.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Dec 21, 2020, 2:36pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Booming Wrote:

"After almost three seasons I don't know half of the people on the bridge. I know Saru and Burnham, Tilly to a far lesser degree (what is her story actually before Discovery?). In one episode Owo said that she is from a Luddite colony and with that one piece of information from the beginning of season 2 I know more about her than about most of the others on the bridge. Not that they did anything with that info."

I don't understand why they can't stick to the same way the other shows were. ie TNG has a Data episode or a Geordi episode, Crusher etc (with varying results). They usually had a b plot. DS9 did the same kind of thing. VOY turned into the trio of Janeway/7of9/Doctor show and of course ToS was the holy trinity of kirk/spock/bones. Even so you always knew the names of the other people (scotty, sulu, wesley, neelix etc etc).

I just don't think it works having the whole show based around 1 character. SMG may or may not be a good enough actress to carry this show alone. I mean Andrew Lincoln did a damn fine job carrying The Walking Dead in early seasons and I can barely remember the other characters. So I guess it CAN work. It could just literally be down to the awful writing and weak other cast members.

As someone said way up there somewhere.. you look at a scene sometimes and think "They seriously looked at that and thought: Yep that's fine, we don't need to do another take of that.". It's not like they have to produce 24 of them a year.

I can just about name most of the DSC crew I guess but I nothing about any of them or care about them at all.

Not to harp on about The Expanse but even the lesser characters are fleshed out so well (Drummer for example) that you really care about them and they seem real.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 1:18pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I was quite looking forward to Jason Isaacs bringing some quality acting to the show which is so sorely lacks but it wasn't really necessary. But then neither was this whole 2 parter into the MU. There are many ways they could have returned Georgiou back to her time.

She could have flown around the sun for example.

3 episodes left of this slightly less dire than the previous 2 season. I have low hopes.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 11:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

Maybe by season 4 it might be a decent show. ENT was a later bloomer. Too late as it happened.

Maybe, like Jammer, I've mellowed out two because I couldn't get through ENT at all when it aired. I Watched "In a Mirror Darkly" (ENT's MU 2 parter) the other night (since Netflix told me to) and I'm struck by how vastly better acted the whole show is . Ok maybe not Mayweather.. but at least the characters are something like people. And this is in an over-the-top MU 2 parter. Way better than DSC's MU 2 parter anyway.

Plenty of people keep saying "show, don't tell" about DSC. Which is very true and also makes no sense. They have enough budget to show almost anything. In 90s Trek era they often had to just do a "fire phasers" *sound effect* "ship disabled captain, they're hailing us" to save costs. And that was fine. If they couldn't get Lorca then shut up about him tbh.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 5:20am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Terra Firma, Part 2

I had a funny feeling there would be no Lorca.

Fun, kinda. Not boring at least which is about thing you can say about DSC in general. When it's boring it goes down to 1 star or below.

Shame the only other good actor on the show has left. We're down to a single decent actor now. Maybe Doug will win an Emmy just for looking so outstanding next to these incompetents.

They had a great opportunity to kill off every version of Burnham here and start again with a new crew. Mix in some people from 3100 etc.. it's near the end of the season. Who knows.

Also kill off Stamets now, he serves no useful purpose. Everyone can do engineering: Adira is obviously amazing at it, Tilly, Burnham (obviously). Even Book said he was an engineer last week. And I'm tired of seeing Stamets pull the constipated face anyway.

Kill off Bryce now too. They gave him a few lines now. Detmer has had mini plot line. Stab her too.

I can't remember anyone else's name. Kill one of them off at random though (obviously not the doctor: we still need him to pronounce them dead).

2 stars.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Dec 17, 2020, 5:07am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

SlackerInc Wrote:

"I'm not saying it's against their will, I'm saying they shouldn't be allowed to choose it. No matter how desperately they want it, no matter how they beg and plead, no matter how satisfied the vast majority are with it years later."

I agree with SlackerInc on this one.

You're not considerated responsible enough to drive a car or have childen or own a house or drink or smoke at various ages (mostly 16+) in the western world. So why on Earth should you be allowed to change something as fundamental as your sex before 16? I realise that's post puberty (so renders puberty blocker useless I guess) but the point stands.

If society doesn't consider you responsible enough to handle any of those things then you clearly don't have enough wisdom to make considered choices yet.

Unless we think kids are evolved enough now to responsibly drive at age 5 now. I mean it's not difficult to drive at all.

Personally I'd say most 16 year olds (UK law) don't seem responsible enough to be parents but that's another story.

@Booming
"luckily the medical establishment in almost all countries in the Western world doesn't share your views"

That doesn't seem very true. I see lots of evidence both ways on that one. Many doctors disagree with it. I just using Google and looking at articles/news/papers etc. I have no figures to back it up either way.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Wed, Dec 9, 2020, 10:51pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

If everyone was bi-sexual and non-binary we'd just be left with people with randomly assigned genitals.

If I prefer girls but there is the odd guy that I find attractive combined with being male not a manly macho type.. I could say I'm non-binary and also queer or bi/bi-curious maybe?

When I grew up I hung around with kids who were boys but a bit girly and girls who weren't very girly (Is tomboy an offensive term now?), I don't remember anyone caring. My point is.. how is gender non-conforming or non-binary a new thing? Just a new set of labels or even the latest fashionable thing? Neurogenders (Cloud/cat/tornado gender etc), I'm not sure they're all meant to be taken that seriously are they? Aren't we all somewhere on a male-female sliding scale and always have been?

Whoever that idiot was who said something about frothing at the mouth and ranted about transphobia is exactly why people can't talk about this stuff too very easily. The slightest misstep and you're transphobic. I'm probably now transphobic in fact.

I wonder if weapons from 3100 will still suck next episode.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 10:49am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Some good points Jason.

And very true about the cost. Netflix + Amazon + Disney is vastly cheaper than my old satellite tv package with endless channels full of stuff I never watched.

The quality of the shows is vastly better on the whole too.

So many it is kinda fair to put DSC in the middle. It never truly shines but is never truly awful enough (or maybe memberable enough) to keep me coming back.

The Expanse is just another level of brilliance compared with DSC and is very rewatchable (I think i've rewatched it 4-5 times at least and some episodes like "Doors & Corners" more times).

Serializable CAN be very rewatchable I just don't find DSC to be (I did rewatch New Eden - the only episode that resonates with me in DSC's run so far).
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Dec 8, 2020, 4:27am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Jammer

You're not in trouble haha. It just dawned on me the other day that I didn't remember seeing a low rated DSC episodes yet. It's your site, give whatever review rating you like.

@Jason R.

I find many of the episodes truly terrible. But weirdly after watching I can't even remember them well enough to say what even happened to make them truly terrible. Maybe DSC is bland enough to always seem at least ok after you watched it because it doesn't even make enough on an impression.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 10:14pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Jammer Did you realise you're on track for rating this the best first 3 seasons of any Trek ever? A few episodes to go.

I guess you like it a lot more than I do. I'm dragging myself through it. But no a single episode below 2 stars?

It certainly isn't consistent either across shows or seasons either but no Trek has been to be fair (TNGs first, ToS s3 etc).
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 11:17am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

@Yanks

"But then again, I'm one that doesn't see the need for swearing in Star Trek so..."

I didn't really notice it but actually they made a big thing of barely knowing what it even was in Star Trek IV (Save the Whale). Spock and Kirk tried to use it badly.

DSC is in the same period yet they sort of talk like people from 2020 although mostly horribly unnatural script anyway).

It's fine Star Trek making allegories of real world, current day problems but if you talk like a Twitter post about pronouns it really takes you out of 3100 and back to 2020 rather yarringly. And of course since we live to better ourselves and have moved beyond the need for personal gain (or something along those lines as Picard/Jake said) you'd think pronouns/gender/identity wouldn't really be an issue either.

I was in a casino (pre-covid) and I wasn't sure if my blackjack dealer was male or female. Not being nasty - I genuinely didn't know. I can't remember the name badge. Something like "Nic". Ambigious too. But since I didn't have to refer to them by pronoun I guess it didn't really make any difference. If however I'd accidently called them a her and they were a ze or him or something I'd just say sorry and then use the right one. Isn't that the end of it?

If someone kept deliberately calling me the wrong pronoun I don't think I'd call the police or even be offended. I'm not trans however so perhaps it's different.

Most times I venture out into the world I meet 1 or more idiots anyway. Nothing related to pronouns.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 5:39am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Wasn't the first trans actor in Forget Me Not? This one had the "Pronouns for Dummies" scene in it though so was bound to attract more comments. I do feel this kind of stuff will date as badly as the hippy episode of ToS. I guess it would require vaguely subtle writing to make it more allegorical.

incidentally DSC is still the only Star Trek series t not pick up a single 1.5 star rating (or below) in it's first 3 seasons. A few episodes to go of course.

Does that make it the best Star Trek series ever?
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 7:47pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

My first sentence was @skye francis sorry.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sat, Dec 5, 2020, 7:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: The Sanctuary

Lt Nilsson. They should get more screen time in general.

Talking of they. Adira isn't projecting the air of someone with 1000 years of memories at all. I realise the actor's is young but Trill are supposed to be a blend of the previous hosts. As depicted in that awful episode with pools. She is human of course but all we've really seen is the boyfriend. I hope they do more than just an empty gesture with the introduction of non-binary and trans actors.

Midnight Edge's in one his scathing DSC thingies pointed out that they're keeping the gay/trans crew segregated. I'm not sure that's entirely true but we have had quite a few culber, stamets, adira scenes. So what tbh? They're so damn dull. I don't watch Star Trek for sexuality lgbtqia+, straight or any other letter. Personally I just want to watch good stories and good characters.

I don't think I've given an episode 2 stars yet this season. 1 for this one. Dull.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Fri, Dec 4, 2020, 1:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Being and thinking Burnham is deeply annoying (for being close to tears constantly among other many things) is misogyny. Got it.

FInding Wesley or Neelix deeply annoying is misandry.

I was a great defender of this show at first but I'm almost on the point of giving up now largely due to the Burnham character. If he were male it would make literally no difference. Come back ENT I'm so sorry I gave up on you in season 2.. you were never this bad.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 7:55pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

And look out someone played the misogyny card. I've seen noi evidence of that? SMG is an ok actor. The character is badly written. In fact, very badly. Nothing whatsoever to do with her gender or race.

4 time was the count? Probably true but sounds low, I'm probably including all the times she's pulled the "brink of tears" face.

Hoshi, Dax(x2), Kira, Troi, Uhura, Janeway, Yar, Torres and err well.. 7 and T'pol (ridiculous to include those 2 I know).. all female. Various races (if someone has a race card ready). None of them cried 4 episodes in a row. Michael seems on the point of a breakdown. Maybe that's what they're going for. We still don't know what happen in her year.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Dec 3, 2020, 7:27pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Nicely written review as usual J-dogg but you obviously like something I'm not seeing in DSC.

This was a 1 star at best in my eyes. Horrible ideas, written horribly, unbelievably idiotic B plot, badly paced, edited and acted. It didn't even look nice which is usually DSC 1 redeeming feature.

They whispered a lot too. Maybe that adds a star.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 3:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@john harmon

I agree about the writing. I was making the point that I found the Tilly promotion the worse of the 2 evils.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Tue, Dec 1, 2020, 12:31pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@Booming

Burnham's mutiny and then getting released to be science officer for Lorca was weird but I saw it as a rather messy and rushed redemption. Since she was supposed to be so amazing at everything being, Spock's sister an was unable to save the universe... it sort of made sense (ok it didn't but she's the main character) so I kind of let it slide. And Lorca was shadey anyway.

Her repeatedly disobeying orders and doing her own thing is deeply annoying but again she's stopped a war and saved all life in the universe.

Now Tilly however is: inexperienced, low ranked, hasn't saved the universe and isn't the sister of someone revered AND isn't meant to be particularly brilliant anything we know of (Science or engineering but then she's not Burnham or Stamets).

So yeah zero sense minus a large imaginary number.

The rest of the crew better try and get on another ship asap if they want any realistic career progression. In 2020 everyone would hate her now. But I guess they're from the 23rd century and are above being that petty.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Sat, Nov 28, 2020, 7:45pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

@AdmiralKirk

I'm with you. It's baffling to me that anyone could give this more than half a star but it's all subjective I guess.

The A plot was utter drivel and, as you said, a massive slap in the face to Vulcans and Spock (Burnham getting yet more credit for Spock made me want to smash something. SMG's acting in this one was far worse than anything Shatner or Brooks ever did. Just dire.. that pained look with her mom at the end was so ridiculous she must have burst out laughing after the scene.

The B plot with Tilly was probably in the top 5 stupidest things to happen in Star Trek. Are they TRYING to make Saru look like a bad captain? I mean just get rid of the ranks entirely. Experience and rank count for nothing apparently.

The only decent scenes were Saru and the vulcan.

Everything else about it was bad. Weird pacing, Stupid sound (whisper than blare or music), awkward dialogue, horrible acting, crying, more crying.

PIC hasn't had an episode close to this bad yet. I thoroughly enjoyed its first season and rewatched it too. I still have only rewatched 1 DSC episode. The other series all had their 0 stars but they all had 100+ episodes so its hardly fair to compare.

Not sure I can make it to the end of this season. Michael has crossing into new levels of annoying and she's clearly going to bring the federation back together while fixing 120 years of shit because no one else is as awesome as her.

Please turn evil Goergioi into original Georgiou and make her captain before Saru is turned into a joke.

Oh. 0 stars.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 9:31am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Unification III

Not sure I can even make it through this one.

Last week was unoriginal action with 1 good scene at least (no idea how anyone gave it over 1.5 stars).

This is gonna be a 0.5 star at best.. unless it dramatically improves in the final 20 odd minutes.

I shall try again tonight. I fell asleep trying to watch it last night. OMG Burnham is just so annoying. Like really really annoying.
Set Bookmark
grey cat
Thu, Nov 26, 2020, 6:41am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: Scavengers

@SlackerInc

"LOL! Maybe in Opposite World."

Or in the real world where people have different opinions. Jammer has given pretty much ever episode 1 too many stars this season. That's just his opinion being different to mine.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.