Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 40 (Showing 26-40)

◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Jul 1, 2012, 9:39am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Revulsion

Yes, the two weaknesses were showing the murders first and the doc's lack of reaction. We didn't need the preview -- one look at Orsen told us the story. And we missed some nice character development not knowing more about the doctor's reaction other than his decision to lighten up. But there were so many other gems I'm surprised you didn't give it the full three stars.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Wed, Jun 27, 2012, 11:27am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Displaced

Too bad they didn't hook up with even more prisoners --
it would give them a chance to reuse costumes, not to mention brush up Voyager's image in the Delta quadrant. And avoid the dismissive wrap-up in the captain's log, something I always hated about TNG.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Mon, Jun 25, 2012, 11:01am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Rise

@wouter verhelst -- Thanks for defending Neelix. His character is too often misunderstood. His desperation to be needed and loved is always there under the annoying cheerfulness. Phillips shows that even when the script doesn't seem to call for it. I loved how Neelix stood up to Tuvok, and the scene in the mess hall at the end was adorable.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Jun 24, 2012, 10:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Darkling

Very entertaining. I've taught English for 35 years, but I have never heard such an impassioned discussion of diction and punctuation. And to think I found it on a Star Trek fan site.
I thought Jammer got it about right. I laughed several times, but not in a good way.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Jun 24, 2012, 10:22am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Blood Fever

I wish they had not scrimped on Voyager so much. The off-world sets are claustrophic and reused. The fight scene needed more space, and how do they always manage to beam down to the same cave entrance? But B'elana and Partial I liked, and I wish they'd kept the Enberg character longer.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Fri, Jun 22, 2012, 5:03pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Alter Ego

I liked Russ's performance in this. I saw the intellectual attraction --not the same as physical attraction. And the characterization of Harry also fit, because he just seems darker, more troubled after The Chute.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Jun 21, 2012, 9:16am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Macrocosm

Sometimes sci-fi is just fun, and this episode was. Taking off her jacket may have recalled Ripley, but it was also a rational act, given the temperature. I've always wondered why characters don't shed those things faster. She didn't strip down to her undies, thank God. The insect nature of the villains made sense in a year when Independence Day was the summer movie. And the large versions of the virus were actually interesting interpretations of what we usually see as two-dimensional. I appreciated the lighting and camera angles; the editing could have been crisper. Finally, I'm tired of Neelix bashing, just as I was with Quark-bashing. These characters are written to remind us to stop taking everything on the series so seriously. It ain't Shakespeare, much as Patrick Stewart would have liked.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Jun 17, 2012, 9:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Resolutions

I used to be kind of annoyed with Chakotay's self-righteousness, but that story ... Oh, my!
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Sun, Jun 17, 2012, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Tuvix

I am way too lazy to check, but this seem like one of the longest threads, which means the show did something right. Iwas quite disturbed by the scene on the bridge when Tuvix did not go quietly, and the dead man March down to sick bay. I knew it had to end this way, but the writers wanted it to be difficult. The crew's change in behavior was more or less them steeling themselves for the grim but necessary reality. It made me think of a lab animal -- what would happen if that rat looked up and said, "But I do not want to die." Kudos to all involved.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Jun 14, 2012, 1:44pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Dreadnought

Well, while the rest of you are debating the probabilities of multiverses, I'd like to commend this episode on its roots in real science fiction, whose purpose is not just to look at science but on the human relationship with science. The doomsday weapon here is much more believable than any from previous treks, and I appreciate the similarities to important science fiction of the past. Janeway's conversation with the First Minister is a nice nod to the one in Fail Safe between the American president and the Russian premier; quite touching, I thought. And the Cardassian and Maquis computers battling for control as well as the hypothetical puzzles B'ellana set up reminded me of some scenes in War Games. I don't think society has solved the issue of the doomsday weapon, hence it is still fair game for science fiction. Yes, we know it has to be reset by the end of the episode, but that is not the point. It's the conversations that are important. Nice job, Voyager.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Thu, Jun 14, 2012, 8:59am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Meld

Ditto, Paul. The discussion of the irony of capital punishment being an act of vengeance was worth the lukewarm B story. And Dourif is a great actor who's been underused since his part in One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest. No background extra could have pulled that off.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Mon, Jun 11, 2012, 8:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Prototype

This blog site has really influenced my Trek viewpoint. When they were first out, I hated (HATED) DS9 and its space cowtown premise, where every few days some local rowdies had to be rounded up and dealt with. I also hated Sisko and his "I'm having an anxiety attack" method of acting. But now I can appreciate its arc and character growth as superior to the Reset Button mentality of TNG and Voyager. Think of how great Voyager could have been if, instead of examining every nook and cranny of the Delta quadrant, in a paler version of TNG, we showed a ship growing progressively beaten down, held together with chewing gum and baling wire, where the focus was always on getting a few miles closer to home. The prime directive would have to be somewhat battered, and morality would take a back seat to forward momentum. Characters would grow more irascible, less Star Fleety, and there'd be a lot more pairing off. But it could have been a great series.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Fri, Jun 8, 2012, 11:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Persistence of Vision

You guys should have paid more attention in your British lit classes. Janeway's holonovel is a poorly disguised allusion to Jane Eyre: Young governess who works for the mysterious Rochester, who has his crazy wife locked up in the attic. Eyre is a strong female character in a time when females had no rights. The novel appeals to women because there is mystery, romance, fancy dresses, and British accents. Not the same type of fantasy men seek, but educated women love it. It fits Janeway's character.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Apr 24, 2012, 9:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S6: Favor the Bold

Trying to give Masterson the benefit of the doubt here, but she reminded me of Mary Tyler Moore when she was still on Dick Van Duke, only crying Rom instead of Rob.
Set Bookmark
duhknees
Tue, Apr 3, 2012, 10:01pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Nor the Battle to the Strong

I agree with the rating on this one, especially since Lofton got to do some credible acting. Most of all I like the parallels to Red Badge of Courage. Best war story ever.
◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.