Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 44 (Showing 26-44)

◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, Apr 3, 2011, 9:08am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Kobol's Last Gleaming, Part 2

Boomer's programming was not to kill Adama, or she would have shot him in the head - surely a cylon would execute its programming it that was the intention?
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sat, Apr 2, 2011, 6:46am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Six Degrees of Separation

Shelly Godfrey = SHE GOD with the first syllables.
Fits nicely into the religious context of this episode.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Thu, Feb 10, 2011, 4:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

Well, Fenne, it looks like you are right on the money. We just finished watching the Season 4 opener, 'The Way of the Warrior': the Cardassian military gov't has been overthrown by a civilian gov't and the Obsidian Order is functionally gone because of the battle in 'The Die is Cast'. It had been so long since I'd watched DS9 that I had forgotten that plot point.

Still, I think it is weird that the entire Order came along on the assault, but I suppose that's the plot. No doubt there was much more going on behind the scenes that wouldn't have been appropriate to show on DS9 proper.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Wed, Oct 13, 2010, 1:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S3: The Die Is Cast

I think Lee and EP raise good questions about Sisko, Eddington, and Toddman. Why does Sisko get off with a pat on the back?

Well, Starfleet has a history of allowing its officers to selectively disobey or re-interpret orders. Toddman indicates his sympathy for Sisko; it isn't hard to imagine that the Admiral would have made the same choice. More importantly, Sisko returns with major results: namely, Garak and Odo's reports. Now, Starfleet knows that the Founders infiltrated the Tal Shiar, set up a devastating trap, and see the Federation and the Klingons as the next threat.*

In an odd way, Sisko proves himself more fit for his promotion by illustrating that he has the guts and the backbone to be a ship captain.

*But I have no idea why the Founders think that destroying 20 Cardassian and Romulan ships will knock them out of the fight for the Alpha Quadrant.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, May 17, 2009, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2

Yes, I'm surprised they are going to bother to air Virtuality. Why not put it up for download with a nominal fee? They might as well make some money off their investment. Further, those of us who won't be watching the tube on the Fourth might actually get to see it.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Tue, Mar 24, 2009, 5:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I think the Opera House works best as a metaphor. I would not write it off by saying that it only represents the Galactica.

I will try and be short and not expound too long!

In short: the opera house is performance. Battlestar Galactica as a tv show is a performance. The lives of the people on the ship are guided by their past choices/history, by their current choices, and perhaps by an unseen hand (I think that the show leaves the question of determinism fairly open). We as human beings are also guided by our past. There may not be a fate--like Kara says, even if we have one, we wouldn't know--but we can trace our path through the world.

The Opera House reflects BSG as a work of fiction, as a performance, and is a metaphor for reality (both for the characters and for us).
Set Bookmark
Brad
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Bah. Again with the imprecise language. I apologize for not double-checking before I post.

"That is the one thing I really applaud BSG for doing..." I didn't mean to imply that that was the ONLY thing for which I applaud BSG. There are many other things I find admirable, too. :P
Set Bookmark
Brad
Mon, Mar 23, 2009, 12:29pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Niall:

I wouldn't say the Raptors caused no damage when they jumped out. It looked to me like they blew a massive hole in the side of the pod. You can see the hole again when Adama makes his final fly-by.

That is the one thing I really applaud BSG for doing: they have a host of great "Oh, frak! Are the characters really going to do that?" moments, especially with regard to the starships. Some of them seem unplausible, but all are cool, inventive, and loads of fun to watch.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 9:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

@Ryan:

I'm sure you're not trying to say that everyone who saw the finale had to like it; surely some people who say that they thought it was horrible aren't merely being hateful?

For my part, I love the show. I watched with my girlfriend, also a big fan. But when it was over, we were both agreed: the first hour was lots of fun and the second was disappointing.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 4:08pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

Correction to my last post:

"destructive nature of violence" is an oxymoron. :P What I meant was the cyclic nature of human violence.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sun, Mar 22, 2009, 4:05pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Daybreak, Part 2 (April Fools Version)

I found BSG's ending to be ultimately bittersweet.

On one hand, I agree that it stayed true to the religious themes of the show (despite this being a 'naturalistic' science fiction program, the mystical element starts in the mini-series): they established a world of prophecy, bizarre coincidence, resurrection, etc., and they ended it by admitting that there is a higher power in the universe. BSG as a show is not as much military sci-fi as it is a modern retelling of myth (namely, the Bible and the Aeneid).

And I'm willing to accept that, but I think it was about as subtle as a bullet to the brain. The last hour was too long and the notion that the survivors of the 13 colonies came to OUR planet and have become our forefathers is, frankly, silly. The ending where the two angels discuss human beings as a species on a stroll through New York was unnecessary. I argue that from the mini-series--when the bombs first dropped on Caprica--the show made its point about the destructive nature of violence. We didn't need a diatribe at the last minute. Imagine if the last scene was preceded by the title card "The Future" and the camera followed Angel Gaius and Six walking unseen through a crowd of people. I think that would have been a stronger ending but would still have made their point.

P.S. The idea that the survivors would land, abandon their tech, and live with the natives ranks as Lee's worst decision ever.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Wed, Feb 18, 2009, 9:48pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Blood on the Scales

I think the episode also answer's Bryan's (and others, I'm sure) complaints about the mutiny ending too easily by showing us that there is still a lot of fighting and resistance taking place on the Galactica. Off the top of my head, I recall the officer Lee and Starbuck run into, Baltar's group--which included soldiers of Galactica--barricading themselves, Tyrol mentions the groups communicating via handsets, Romo says that he was shot at twice while being escorted by marines, and so on and so forth. The mutiny succeeded in taking the principle areas of Galactica--the flight deck, CIC, and the Engine Room--but there were a lot of clues that there was still fighting taking place throughout the ship.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Fri, Feb 13, 2009, 12:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: The Oath

I hope you took Sideways to be a cautionary tale...!

Enjoy your weekend!
Set Bookmark
Brad
Wed, Dec 17, 2008, 6:22pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Postscript:

I reminded myself of Lee's assertion that the people of the Fleet are a gang, not a civilization. Worth noting in this context, I think.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Wed, Dec 17, 2008, 6:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

Nick makes a good point: there is often violent posturing on BSG. When it is done well, there is real threat and menace. I think the season 2 ep "Sacrifice" did this well: despite its other faults, the gunfights are fast, dangerous, and deadly. I rewatched "The Women King" last night and there is a scene where a marine puts a gun to Helo's face. He barely reacts to it.

I've never had a gun pointed at me, but I imagine my reaction would not be pretty. If a friend were to pull something like that, we would no longer be friends. I would think that a professional relationship, like the one between soldiers, would suffer similarly. Too often, it is treated as business as usual on BSG; this may well be a nihilistic streak that comes from being the last of their civilization.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Tue, Jun 17, 2008, 12:52am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

I mean that perhaps a Battlestar is built to resist a forced boarding, yes. But I agree with you that there are definitely contrivances in this episode to get to the stunt.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Sat, Jun 14, 2008, 11:21pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

It WOULD have been more interesting to see a true 'typical' day on the ship. As it was, I didn't mind this episode. The Adama flashbacks and plot were weird, mainly because I consider the hyper-realistic imaginary person scenario to be Baltar's property. To have Adama do it was just... odd.

I'm liking the break from Cylons and combat. I even liked the jeopardy premise (it makes sense in the context of the show and I definitely liked that there was no easy 'tech' answer to the problem), although I question some of the ship's safety systems. Why are there spare suits in the airlock, for example? Why no extra patches? Why does the ship lock down the air lock, but not automatically alert the CIC (note that no one higher up seems to know what's going on until the leak gets worse)? Even so, it is nice to see an episode address the practical problems surrounding families on a ship. It is also nice to see that the show recognizes that the Galactica is not in top form after two years (?) of combat, abuse, and general wear and tear.

@Sebastion, I wonder if a battleship's airlocks are meant to repel the kind of cutting tech the Raptors have.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Tue, Jun 10, 2008, 8:31pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

There are probably more significant things to remark on in this episode, but there was an exchange between Lee and Adama that'll go down as a favorite:

"I have a date with a jump rope. What? I've lost half a stone."
"Keep jumping."

It was the look on Lee's face and Adama's tone that sealed the deal.
Set Bookmark
Brad
Wed, Apr 16, 2008, 12:34am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S1: Litmus

I've only recently started watching the show, so (as of this very moment) I'm only current to 'Litmus'.

This seems the weakest episode. It was sloppy. The characters did not act with the intelligence I've come to expect. If someone had asked a simple, hypothetical question, "How many human-Cylon agents are hidden in the fleet?", the entire thing would have fallen apart, precisely because there can be no answer (and surely Gaius isn't the only one capable of imagining 'sleeper agents'). That an investigation would find someone guilty based on the fact that he admitted to leaving a door open strains all credibility. Further, I am astounded that Adama could shut down the tribunal, call it a witchhunt (accurately), and then STILL leave his man to hang. I think it would have been more daring to conclude with the President announcing that, even though there are Cylon agents, there is no way to determine their number or identify human from Cylon. It was the case before the invasion, even though humans didn't know, and it is still the case after the tribunal.

All that said, I do realize one thing: I like that the person selected to do the job turned out to be terrible at it. It is a nice cry from the Star Trek officer mold where anyone can do or be anything.
◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.