Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 167 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Edward Awesome
Sat, Apr 9, 2016, 2:25am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

A really great episode. Bad review as always jammer. Find another hobby!
Set Bookmark
Wes
Tue, Oct 27, 2015, 5:30pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

In earlier episodes Michael was complaining that in a war it should be marital law or bust. That the civilian government shouldn't exist and should have no power. Then he turns and complains that Adama and Roslin push the totalitarian strategy. Very interesting.

Soldiers follow orders as I always hear. Only the government has the authority and place to call him out of line. Clearly, the military only listens in this universe when it's convenient. The former admiral had taught him well.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Sun, Oct 25, 2015, 7:51am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

The ironic BS meter went off for me with Cavil. Cylons complain that humans don't see them as alive because they are machines. Then he butchers the raiders saying they are nothing more then tools.

That's some seriously juicy hypocrisy right there.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Fri, Oct 23, 2015, 12:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

The idiots on NC got what they deserved. There were warned about the consequences of electing baltar, and his entire platform was the thing they were warned about.

They didn't listen. They voted for a fantasy, they have only themselves to blame.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Tue, Oct 20, 2015, 3:53pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

If pilots get days off for being drunk, nice showers and cozy living spaces, you can at least give civilians a day off.

The only thing communist is forcing them to work unending 16 plus hour days because they aren't in the right social class.

War is made by people, and in this case there is a society there. Calling for the death of brutalized workers faster than a treasonous admiral says something about you.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Fri, Oct 16, 2015, 4:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@Darnell
Quite frankly, the cardassian system is more like ours than people realize. That's the whole point. It's an obvious farce, yet is believed in and supported anyway.

America is the same way.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Fri, Oct 16, 2015, 4:13pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

Great allegory for how human society handles "justice". One has to wonder if we get it wrong more than right. Anders wussed out, and failed his duties. He didn't have the spine to hold the line on his innocent vote. He walked away in a no drama attitude knowing he was condemning an innocent man to death.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Fri, Oct 16, 2015, 2:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

Roslin looses to the greatest walking catastrophe humanity has ever known and Michael cheers. The extreme nature of the "get the other guy" mentality is staggering.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Thu, Oct 15, 2015, 4:37am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

@zzybaloobah
Jailing the president doesn't actually indicate that the government lacks control of the military. It could very well have been an illegal military coup. The colonial system of law seems pretty close to American.

I suspect there is either a provision for gross negligence, or it wasn't actually legal. TV military commanders always excel at being hypocrites alot the chain of command.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 10:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Home, Part 1

You dislike unelected leaders? I didn't see anyone casting votes for tigh or adama. A military leader who remembers his first obligation is to the civilian population is one who is doing his job.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 10:43pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: The Farm

In pursuit of power and staying in power. And the investigators of a military coup were not doing just the same?

Hypocrisy runs high in Michael's psyche.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 10:26pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Resistance

If the system of law in BSG is anything like the US', marital law is inherently illegal. It is a hostile takeover and military coup in violation of their legal limits. It is also a violation of the chain of command.

The military exists to serve the people, through their government. It does not exist to serve itself. When the military stops serving both government and people, it is a rogue entity that needs to be forcefully put back in line. The military answers to the government, and soldiers are supposed to do as ordered by their superiors.

The military's ultimate commanding officer is the civilian entity as a whole, period.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 1:49pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S2: Fragged

What I would like to know is, in a realistic military situation, at what point would a CO be held accountable? Crashdown got two people killed while he sat in protection because of his own bad orders.

I always hear that soldiers obey no matter what, and the COs are the ones to bear responsibility. Yet it never seems that they actually do.
Set Bookmark
Wester
Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 5:04am (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Count me in as one of the haters.

Mirror Universe episodes - just like Holodeck episodes and Dream Sequence episodes and Travel To The 20th century episodes - are basically an admittance that the writers don't want to deal with the limitations set up by the actual established universe and just wanna have some fun. It's a cop out.

If I wanted a cartoonish Sci-Fi show, I'd watch one.
If I wanted to see everybody out of make-up working at a newspaper, I'd watch a show like this.

I'm watching DS9 precisely for everything they chose to cast aside and trample on here.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Thu, Sep 17, 2015, 10:23pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: Taking a Break from All Your Worries

Agree that Baltar's interrogation scenes were the highlight of this brilliant episode (let down a little bit by the B-story). James Callis' performance was excellent and it was very cleverly written how they wrote the outcome that the persecutors/interrogators came out of this worse than Baltar did.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Thu, Sep 17, 2015, 9:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S3: A Day in the Life

Agree with a lot of the posters here - on working through the DVD set this is the first episode of BSG that actually felt like a bit of a fail for me, until now I have found all the episodes compelling, exciting and unpredictable in some way. Although as Jammer says - the worst ep of BSG should be put in perspective if you have recently seen bad bits of Star Trek Enterprise or bad parts of Andromeda!
Set Bookmark
Wes
Tue, Sep 15, 2015, 4:09am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S4: The Best of Both Worlds, Part II

These two episodes always bothered me for the very contrived solution. Quite frankly, the enterprise should have been destroyed. The cube waltzed through 40 ships like they weren't there, but the enterprise miraculously is largely unscathed?

It bothers me how many TNG loyalists refer back to this as how awesome the ship is, but it shouldn't have happened. The enterprise should be gone, and most if not all of those on board dead.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Tue, Sep 15, 2015, 2:34am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S5: Timeless

Two stars. Jammer downgrades a lot of episodes for being turn off your brain entertainment, but four stars for this? This episode has more holes than plot, bad logic and bad writing.

Time travel stories like these are cheap thrills, but no real meat.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Thu, Sep 10, 2015, 10:04pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

DLPB is a perfect example of how a blatant farce of a justice system like cardassia's could exist without resistance. The systems in some countries today, including America are already stepping over the line of credibility.

Far too often we find people wrongly convicted on so little evidence we wonder how it happened. Yet there is no real call for change or accountability.

Plant some evidence, have a sham trial, call it a day... All with majority public support. The more this happens, the less hidden the corruption becomes.

That is how cardassia's system could be as it is, and how ours often is as well.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Wed, Sep 9, 2015, 8:10pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Zero Hour

**Throws remote onto floor*

Thats it! I give up! I already am part way through Battlestar Galactica on DVD box set and I think Brannon and Braga are trying to tell me something!

They may as well have got the Fonz on his motorbike and launched him over the set of Enterprise!

From what others say I may come back after completing BSG to see S4 Ent just to see how they can possibly extract some sort of plausible storyline from here.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Wed, Jun 24, 2015, 11:07pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: The Forgotten

If I had to summarize this (and the 2 preceding episode) I would agree with most of the comments here but with the emphasis on "Understated but effective". A very solid episode where everything is constructed to take you where the plot needs to go. All the characters and written dialogue is believable and natural. A rather grim but interesting turn of events.

Nice little scenes everywhere such as between Trip and Phlox, Trip and Archer, Trip and Degra and even Trip and T'Pol, (wonderfully understated and they reseisted the temptation to throw them into each-others arms) - all well written to allow the actors to work and even used the guest actors well. Also the first time in the Xindi Arc where it seems that its all starting to pay off and begining to build towards something really interesting.

Not as good as BSG (which I am also working through) but definately a step up from some of the earlier Enterprise stuff.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Fri, Jun 12, 2015, 12:11am (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Colonial Day

What more could you want? A bar fight and a political thriller in the same episode? Some nice political background and setting the scene for other stuff to come I guess. Really expands on the character of Roslin and maybe making some back-handed commentary on politics itself.

I think its highly instructive that human politicians still resort to populism, personal agendas, economizing the truth, posturing, quid-pro-quoing and their typical shenanigans even when the species is under existential threat, with their planets destroyed and on the run from a superior enemy! I think that was the point.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Thu, Jun 11, 2015, 11:58pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: The Hand of God

Definately one of the best BSG episodes I have seen so far, as Jammer says, everything works in this one - from the smaller character pieces to the big battle scene it all just came together here. I was genuinely on the edge of my seat...
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Thu, Jun 11, 2015, 11:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: BSG S1: Tigh Me Up, Tigh Me Down

A much maligned episode that I really enjoyed - a very successful and unusual episode mixing comedy with more serious matters and pulling it all off.

Watching the whole series on DVD (our part of the world wasn't good enough to get BSG on TV) and a few things stand out already.

1. If theres a chance to do it different to Trek - they take it - from productions design onwards - everything here is different to TOS, TNG, DS9, VOY and ENT.
2. Script and storylines - complex, evolving and lots of continuity which I have found pretty involving.
3. Characters - fleshed out and explored well, characters often surprising, actors given a lot of latitude to actually act!
4. Cinematography - now highly copied but very individual, special effects pretty good considering budget and even still look OK today.
5. Sound and score - unique, sometimes quiet when you expect things to be 'noisy'
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Tue, May 26, 2015, 5:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: ENT S3: Harbinger

Provided you switch off your brain at the door before entering this was actually OK but had some dubious character motives. Some nice little moments which I did enjoy:

1. Plox's mischevious suggestion to T'Pol to "undo" thje damage that Trip did
1. Archer gets to chew out Reed and co.
2. Nice snappy dialogue written for T'Pol and Tucker

I second the notion that Archer had much more important things to do than endanger the ship and crew pull an alien out of the anomaly/goop, an alien whom never looked like offering any useful information and once again, endangered everyone aboard Enterprise
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.