Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 178 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Mon, Dec 5, 2016, 4:27am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The City on the Edge of Forever

Gotta agree with you there Skeptical, despite all the nit picking I personally loved this episode, and I haven't been a huge fan of TOS until this. The whole thing just worked, from the wonderful interplay between the characters of Spock and Kirk, and the magnetic performance of Joan Collins . The entire episode is so simple and "human' with wonderful tones of romance, humour and a slow building of tragedy that is resolved in a totally unexpected yet somehow humanly tragic way that says something about the absurdity and senselessness of mortality.

One of the few Eps of TOS that still stands up watching today and will continue to do so. Haven't seen them all yet but am not surprised that other fans rate this as one of the high water marks of TOS and you can honestly say that this episode is a very strong piece of TV considering it was made in 1967
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Sun, Dec 4, 2016, 4:39am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S1: The Alternative Factor

Lame repetitive boring sequences of SFX tied together by random generic thoughtless technobabble topped off with such obvious incredulous leaps of logic?

This is categorically the worst ep of Trek ever put together, an unredeemably sloppy lazy hot mess that must have been "phoned in" and then half heartedly put together in a week that the the technical department were all on annual leave and left it to the work experience kids

Commits the two worst sins of simultaneously boring and confusing it's audience without any unintentionally comedic moments.

Negative 5 stars
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Tue, Sep 27, 2016, 7:35am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Divergence

Agree that without Billingsleys efforts and a partially well written bunch of scenes on the Klingon colony this is a pretty empty flimsy by-the-numbets technobabble set of arbitrary set piece action scenes, very routine stuff and surprisingly boring to watch despite all the noise and movement.
Set Bookmark
Wesley C
Mon, Sep 5, 2016, 7:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S2: Time Squared

This is one of my truly favorite episodes. Like Nick P, I think there's something astonishingly awesome about letting the unknown remain unknown. Really glad Maurice Hurley didn't get his way about the ending! Jammer is right on for pointing out the pay-off of unexplained mystery in this episode as compared to "The Royale." I agree with others who said that this adds a layer of creepiness to the episode and to the idea of space travel.

As much as I enjoy the clean, technical, explanatory sci-fi of TNG's later seasons, I've also been a big fan of the way the series explores human consciousness as a complicated thing, and have always thought Troi was used to some very good effect in her confident, advisorly (versus strictly therapeutic) role of the early seasons. In this episode, the writers make her the pivot-point between the unknown event "out there" and the unravelling of real-Picard inside himself. He has a naturally difficult time confronting his own weakness, what he thinks is the cowardice of the other Picard who's only six hours older than he is. His cautious, cool-headed patience in "Where Silence Has Lease" is contrasted against Picard's second-guessing of himself in this episode. As digitaurus points out, the uncertainty leads Picard away from his natural instinct to stay and explore, and by pulling away, the ship gets sucked in. Danger increases with every effort they make to force their release. There's a kind of folkloric, even spiritual, message here about giving in, letting go, finding release ultimately by setting resistance aside. Such an interesting antidote to the idea that exploration equals acquisition. And yet, Picard kills his future self -- maybe for good reason so that the space entity doesn't think he's trying to escape (?), but which still adds a flavor of mystery to a captain celebrated for being so measured and humane.
Set Bookmark
JERR west
Thu, Aug 18, 2016, 3:32am (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S2: A Private Little War

All of you don't understand what happens if Nona lived,she would have ordered kirk to kill Tyree ,then made him her husband and went to the ship with him,for life.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Sun, Jul 31, 2016, 12:24am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Observer Effect

Wow - brilliant, 4 out of 4 stars for me! Pretty much the same opinions as Zane 314 commented on. I was enthralled from beginning to end with this witty, intelligent and rather complex episode that rewards the viewer with a great script, solid acting and heaps to say and think about with a lot of the Prime Directive issues in the ST universe.

Although on the surface it may appear a rather conventional "bottle episode" the more you look into it the more I got out of it. In my opinion.

Like chalk and cheese compared to the woeful episode that preceded it.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Sun, Jul 31, 2016, 12:16am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Daedalus

Unrealistic leaps of logic? Tick
Ridiculous premise? Tick
Predicatable? Tick
Lazy writing? Tick
Poor continuity? Tick
Misuse of guest actors? Tick
Bad direction? Tick
Un-necessary scenes that went nowhere? Tick
Lame laughable action scenes? Tick
Bad SFX? Tick
Been done better and before by DS9 or another ST franchise? Tick

Totally illogical episode that would have seen Archer relieved of command and in the brig for the second half of the episode. At least that would have been more interesting than this steaming pile of excrement.

As Chris says a stale, shambolic, lethargic effort which was very poorly written and it totally shows through with every facet of production. Sets a new low for Enterprise and no real excuses for this considering the general improvement and higher standards seen in S4 so far.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Sat, Jul 9, 2016, 1:04am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Borderland

Agree with a lot of the posters here, some massive plot holes and logic fails that are almost impossible to surmount, saved a bit by the shock and novelty factor of seeing Brent Spiner play Dr Soong. The Augments stuff is mostly scenery chewing and quite a lot of brainless exposition and set-up for future episodes - although I personally thought the stuff with the Orion Syndicate somehow pulled it all off at a pure entertainment level and a nice nod to TOS - which is what Enterprise should have been doing in its first 3 seasons!

You can see some sort of attempt here in this S4 of Enterprise at improvement after the debacle of the wrap-up of S3 and start of S4....
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Sat, Jul 9, 2016, 12:49am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Home

Well for me that was a bit of relief that the show may be turning around, but maybe only because the previous two episodes of Stormfront PtI and II were so bad.

It was all very much more understated with more stuff that worked than stuff that didn't. Personally I wasn't taken much by the internal mountaintop ruminations of Archer, and thought the debreifing could have been elaborated a bit more, nice scene between Soval and Archer to wrap up that story. The Trip/T'Pol B story was interesting to me if only because it was a closer look at T'Pol's past and a bit of a look at Vulcan. It was diverting enough to guess whether T'Pol would go through with the wedding (or not) and the script and acting all sort of worked for me. I liked that they inserted a bar brawl into Enterprise - a bit of a nod and a wink to other "bar room brawling" scenes in TOS.

As a lot of others have commented on - some nice character development and some nice setting up stuff for the future.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Wed, Jul 6, 2016, 11:19pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Thanks for the heads up Nolan, I didn't realise that Rick Berman and Brannon Braga were given the "ejector seat from Enterprise (although upon viewing Stormfront 1 and 2 one can see why!) - will continue throuth to Terra Prime now.

It was a messy but probably necessary effort by Manny Conto to wrap up the awful temporal Cold War arc but after seeing Conto's post Enterprise work in the form of various seasons of 24 and Dexter.

Bit of a shame that Coto wasn't brought in earlier to "save" Enterprise - might have been an interesting show if he had been given more time and a bit of leeway.
Set Bookmark
eastwest101
Wed, Jul 6, 2016, 12:51am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S4: Storm Front, Part II

Well about 12 months ago I threw the remote at the TV at the end of Stormfront Pt1 in frustration.

Since then I have had the pleasure of watching the entire Battlestar Galactica set on DVD (never made it to air here in Australia) and after that was working my way through Defiance - but a few days ago I did notice that unloved and unwatched Season 4 of Enterprise sitting there on the shelf laughing at me, so I dragged it out of storage to see Stormfront Pt2. Not. A. Good. Idea.

I don't know if I've been spoilt by BSG but this felt even more hollow and by the numbers than it did a year ago. I still have the rest of the box set but am I safe in assuming that "this" is rock bottom and the only way from here is up?

So far Andromeda and smoking are the only two thing I've ever actually "given up" on, hoping not to add Enterprise to that short list !
Set Bookmark
Edward Awesome
Sat, Apr 9, 2016, 2:25am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

A really great episode. Bad review as always jammer. Find another hobby!
Set Bookmark
Wes
Tue, Oct 27, 2015, 5:30pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: A Disquiet Follows My Soul

In earlier episodes Michael was complaining that in a war it should be marital law or bust. That the civilian government shouldn't exist and should have no power. Then he turns and complains that Adama and Roslin push the totalitarian strategy. Very interesting.

Soldiers follow orders as I always hear. Only the government has the authority and place to call him out of line. Clearly, the military only listens in this universe when it's convenient. The former admiral had taught him well.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Sun, Oct 25, 2015, 7:51am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S4: Six of One

The ironic BS meter went off for me with Cavil. Cylons complain that humans don't see them as alive because they are machines. Then he butchers the raiders saying they are nothing more then tools.

That's some seriously juicy hypocrisy right there.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Fri, Oct 23, 2015, 12:10pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Crossroads, Part 1

The idiots on NC got what they deserved. There were warned about the consequences of electing baltar, and his entire platform was the thing they were warned about.

They didn't listen. They voted for a fantasy, they have only themselves to blame.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Tue, Oct 20, 2015, 3:53pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Dirty Hands

If pilots get days off for being drunk, nice showers and cozy living spaces, you can at least give civilians a day off.

The only thing communist is forcing them to work unending 16 plus hour days because they aren't in the right social class.

War is made by people, and in this case there is a society there. Calling for the death of brutalized workers faster than a treasonous admiral says something about you.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Fri, Oct 16, 2015, 4:20pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S2: Tribunal

@Darnell
Quite frankly, the cardassian system is more like ours than people realize. That's the whole point. It's an obvious farce, yet is believed in and supported anyway.

America is the same way.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Fri, Oct 16, 2015, 4:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S3: Collaborators

Great allegory for how human society handles "justice". One has to wonder if we get it wrong more than right. Anders wussed out, and failed his duties. He didn't have the spine to hold the line on his innocent vote. He walked away in a no drama attitude knowing he was condemning an innocent man to death.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Fri, Oct 16, 2015, 2:23pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Lay Down Your Burdens, Part 2

Roslin looses to the greatest walking catastrophe humanity has ever known and Michael cheers. The extreme nature of the "get the other guy" mentality is staggering.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Thu, Oct 15, 2015, 4:37am (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Pegasus

@zzybaloobah
Jailing the president doesn't actually indicate that the government lacks control of the military. It could very well have been an illegal military coup. The colonial system of law seems pretty close to American.

I suspect there is either a provision for gross negligence, or it wasn't actually legal. TV military commanders always excel at being hypocrites alot the chain of command.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 10:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Home, Part 1

You dislike unelected leaders? I didn't see anyone casting votes for tigh or adama. A military leader who remembers his first obligation is to the civilian population is one who is doing his job.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 10:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: The Farm

In pursuit of power and staying in power. And the investigators of a military coup were not doing just the same?

Hypocrisy runs high in Michael's psyche.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 10:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Resistance

If the system of law in BSG is anything like the US', marital law is inherently illegal. It is a hostile takeover and military coup in violation of their legal limits. It is also a violation of the chain of command.

The military exists to serve the people, through their government. It does not exist to serve itself. When the military stops serving both government and people, it is a rogue entity that needs to be forcefully put back in line. The military answers to the government, and soldiers are supposed to do as ordered by their superiors.

The military's ultimate commanding officer is the civilian entity as a whole, period.
Set Bookmark
Wes
Wed, Oct 14, 2015, 1:49pm (UTC -5)
Re: BSG S2: Fragged

What I would like to know is, in a realistic military situation, at what point would a CO be held accountable? Crashdown got two people killed while he sat in protection because of his own bad orders.

I always hear that soldiers obey no matter what, and the COs are the ones to bear responsibility. Yet it never seems that they actually do.
Set Bookmark
Wester
Tue, Oct 6, 2015, 5:04am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S4: Shattered Mirror

Count me in as one of the haters.

Mirror Universe episodes - just like Holodeck episodes and Dream Sequence episodes and Travel To The 20th century episodes - are basically an admittance that the writers don't want to deal with the limitations set up by the actual established universe and just wanna have some fun. It's a cop out.

If I wanted a cartoonish Sci-Fi show, I'd watch one.
If I wanted to see everybody out of make-up working at a newspaper, I'd watch a show like this.

I'm watching DS9 precisely for everything they chose to cast aside and trample on here.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.