Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 6,824 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 9:18am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

That was @ Cody B.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 9:17am (UTC -6)
Re: ORV S2: Ja'loja

I love reading the reviews as people work their way through Season 2.

You're in for a fun ride!
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Feb 13, 2021, 11:03am (UTC -6)
Re: TNG S1: The Big Goodbye

Everyone has a way they unplug from reality with some kind of plain unadulterated fun.

We saw how Picard was when he was young and his friends knew him as Johnny. I can totally believe a bar-fighting young Picard mightt get hooked on such a thing.
Set Bookmark
Sven
Sat, Feb 13, 2021, 5:33am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

I can't get into much detail, because I sadly can't spend enough time on it, but I'm disappointed in this season. It started pretty well, with a few truly Trekkian episodes, but towards the end I was profoundly bored. Discovery always feels rushed, except when it's not, when it feels like it lingers. I find it to be very unbalanced, visually overwrought and flashy (CGI is impressingly unimpressive, I never get excited over them, because they come and quickly go, without time to take them in). It looks like seasons have to end in a shipwide combat/shoot out situation, as if that's the only way to create high stakes. I've seen four seasons of new Trek (3x DIS, 1x PIC), not counting three episodes of Lower Decks so far, and I really can't say I'm fond of it. If it gets cancelled, I'd be sad for Trek, because I love Trek. As for Discovery, I like that it's there, I look forward to watching it with my family on friday nights (a tradition for more than a decade) but honestly, the series simply does not invest enough in its characters to really get me to care for them. I think it did one memorable character episode in three seasons, which they ended by jettisoning said character into space. Besides Burnham (and Saru in one of the Short Treks maybe), no one else on the show feels fleshed out beyond ‘the gimmick’. Character are only being fleshed out when it serves the plot. To me good writing does the opposite.
Like Jammer, I too hope that we’ll get there one day, but I honestly think we’re fooling ourselves into believing that, because we all WANT to love this show. It’s Trek. Initially I was sceptic about all the people who talked about how good ‘The Expanse’ was. Surely it’s darker than Trek, as was BSG, but at least it gets me to care for (most of) the characters. It has the right pacing, the right amount of awe inspiring visuals. Translate that kind of storytelling and pacing to the Star Trek Universe, oh, the wonders that could happen.
NOTE: my wife liked this season. From the both of us, I was the original Trekkie, she tagged along a bit (as do our children). It’s funny how I seem to moving away from it now and she still likes it. So it’s not an age thing, we’re practically the same age. It just seems that new Trek hasn’t got that much vintage Trek in it for me (for lack of a better description). Very unscientific and anecdotal, but not entirely uninteresting in the ‘When is something Trek?’ discussion. Another reason why I don’t expect much will change in the coming season(s).
(Looks I spent more time on this than I intended 😊 )
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 6:35pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Jammer

You've got a great point. It applies to everyone here, after all.

I doubt there's one user that agrees 100% of the time with ANY political party. INow that I think about it, I'm not even certain such a person exists .... anywhere.

It's sad that everything is just so stratified and toxic with politics nowadays because it IS an interesting subject. Humans trying different methods to solve social problems is fascinating, and it's doubly so when a new issue (cloning, AI rights, etc) comes up for debate.

Talking things out and compromising should be encouraged .(which, incidentally, is another point in your corner for leadership by example.)
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 5:50pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Jammer

You just don't seem like a guy who neatly slots into some artificial political binary, if the fair-minded way you approach reviews from multiple angles is any indication.

@ Booming

It's ironic we're discussing cancel culture and you're still using terms ("crippled" , "the homosexuals") that would have you pushed out of Hollywood so fast your head would spin.

That's the thing, in Hollywood no one would care what your intent is or if there's actual malice in your heart. They'd blacklist you and toss you out with the trash, whether you mean well or not.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 11:12am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Yanks

I think this place is pretty unique and that uniqueness starts at the top.

Jammer's insightful commentary and tolerance is commendable in this day and age. I mean, I've read hundreds of thousands of words from the man and I still have no idea of his politics. He's also even-handed in his moderation. (News people could learn a thing or two from him).

And this kind of leading by example trickles down to the users.

I think the difference between this place and Twitter is we all see each other as people, not as avatars for political parties we love/hate. We can agree to disagree without campaigning to destroy our intellectual opponents.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 10:22am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

The fact remsins that Pablo Pascal made the same analogy two months ago and Pablo's included profanity. Her statement was more nuanced and less emotional than his version.

Two people, one analogy, two outcomes.

I also must object to this this notion that only goverments can censor. There's nothing in the definition of censorship that confines it to bureaucracies and historical usage of the word is not confined in such a manner.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 2:29am (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

"Going overboard with practicing a freedom"?

I don't mean to pick on you because you agree with me on principle, just intellectual curiosity.

Who gets to decide how much of a freedom being expressed is "going overboard"?

IIt seems dangerous to start putting limitations on speech. Those in power can't be trusted to constrict speech such a power is inevitabky abused.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 9:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

@ Cody and Yanks

I've never registered with a political party and I'm proud that my first vote was for Jesse Ventura, a shockingly effective outsider. Ask most Minnesotans about the job he did .... it doesn't matter the party affiliation, we all liked him.

Speaking as a guy who does his research and has no party loyalty, I'm incredibly disturbed by this Witch Hunt atmosphere permeating the air.

I thought about watching "The Drumhead" again after all the recent hubbub, but honestly, I watch entertainment to escape reality, not to remind me of it.

I also dread what will happen when the pendulum swings back the other way. Will we go back to the old paradigm or will vindictiveness rule the day?

A lot of people aren't thinking clearly, that's for sure.
Set Bookmark
Shawn Davis
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 8:46pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Scientific Method

I agree somewhat with Jammer on this. Although a bit hokey I did like Tom and Belana’s high school type romance where they are making out and trying to hide it but obviously failed. I enjoyed the part about the discovery of the aliens and Seven only being able to see them. I enjoy the nice seen between Tuvok and Janeway. I enjoyed a pissed-off Janeway too.

After the scene with the Janeway and the lead alien in the brig, the episode started to fall apart. I agree with Jammer about the aliens being good up that point of being “hard headed aliens“ of the week which makes them uninteresting. The conversation between Janeway and that alien about experiments on humans and animals was an interesting argument, but long story short the alien wasn’t trying to hear that and basically stated either you allow us to experiment on you or you and your crew will be killed. That scene to me was a big waste of time. The final act with voyager traveling through the binary star to rid themselves of the aliens was okay, but typical action stuff nothing new.

I give this episode at least 2.5 out of 4 stars.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 6:20pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

* with a current one?

Sorry for the typo.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 6:19pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

And frankly, Nazi is short for "National Socialism", which was how Germany functioned post-Weimar.

Why is it wrong to compare a historic political party advocating national socialism a current one?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Thu, Feb 11, 2021, 6:09pm (UTC -6)
Re: MAND S2: Chapter 16: The Rescue

I think it's hilarious when two people deliberately mischaractetize each other to score points. Neither of you are the partisans the other claims.

Isn't focusing on the conversation better served on by focusing on your arguments instead of on personalities?

As far as Gina getting fired, she made the exact same analogy her still-employed co-star did, the only difference being which political party they were talking about.

Why does he still have a job?

This is also the very same company defends not firing yet another employee (the host of the High Republic show) who has made openly hostile racist Tweets.

Let's call this what Iit is: absolutely demonstrable discrimination and open bias.... this is actual blacklisting.

She should be suing them right now for wrongful termination.

Personally, I don't ever want to see another celebrity pontificating on any subject if they're not speaking up now about this. If it was wrong to deny jobs to communists who sympathized with the Soviet Union, then how is this any different?
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Tue, Feb 9, 2021, 1:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: Star Trek: Nemesis

@SlackerInc
>One thing I wondered: how did Janeway get to be admiral before Picard? Isn't he older and more experienced than she is? .

She crippled the Borg and saved the galaxy from Species 8472, amongst other good deeds.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sun, Feb 7, 2021, 11:25am (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

^

I was hoping no one would point this out, simply because the resulting give-and-take will be tiresomely predictable.

Also, I wish there was a more universally accepted method about how to post spoilers. Booming did a better job than previously, but when one paragraph is directly next to another, it's still incredibly easy to inadvertently read something.

Wouldn't something like ....

WARNING SPOILER AHEAD
*
*
*
*
Then spoilery statements

.... be more apropos?
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 8:28pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

This is slightly off topic (tangential anyways), but why don't these companies turn over their evidence to the police in harassment situations?

If they've found enough justification to fire someone and their behavior could be criminal, shouldn't they obligated to give that information to the authorities to determine what laws may have been broken?

There must bd a legal reason why they don't cooperate fully in such situations (protection from liability perhaps?). I'm sure a legal eagle here can tell me why.
Set Bookmark
Kevin McNamara
Fri, Feb 5, 2021, 5:32pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tinker Tenor Doctor Spy

I don't care if I've said it before, one or a number of times; I detest Robert Picardo's pantomime singing. It's the idea that there are people that think it is somehow good that riles me the most.
Set Bookmark
NeverCanGetaLock
Thu, Feb 4, 2021, 12:52pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Child's Play

...the last 10 minutes, while the first 50 exist in a world so much simpler.

Bizarre...my episode only last 40 minutes
Set Bookmark
The River Temarc
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 11:44pm (UTC -6)
Re: DS9 S2: Paradise

I just rewatched this episode, and I'm surprised at all the reviews panning it. I thought it was superb.

"Paradise" was an examination of charismatic leadership and its abuse. It was an examination of the allure of cults. These themes ought to resonate in the age of Trump and Q-Anon. Stockholm Syndrome is a thing; and of course some communities, such as the Amish (bizarre as though it might be to the rest of us) do live a luddite lifestyle.

I have no doubt that Starfleet sent a horde of counselors to this colony a couple of weeks later to deprogram them. That's not the point of the final scene. The point is that the cult can outlast its leader.

To those who say that the episode glorified luddite thought, I ask: what were you watching? Someone died from an easily-cured disease; two people were tortured, including a gallant Starfleet captain. The last shot of the two children made it clear where the episode's sympathies lie, as did Dax's line about an old Hopi adapting to the modern world by teaching a Trill rope tricks.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 3:59pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Vis A Vis

>Does he keep a toolbox full of antique tools in his quarters?

I also noticed (I think it was this episode) that Paris had oil stains on his overalls when he left the holodeck. Did he replicate oily clothing for authenticity? That's some serious dedication to his craft.
Set Bookmark
NeverCanGetaLock
Wed, Feb 3, 2021, 3:06pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S6: Tsunkatse

Very minor nitpick, but did Jammer -and some others- got different versions of the episodes? I noticed you keep talking about one hour episodes, but mine are definitely only 39-40 minutes tops :( Unless you count commercial breaks :-) But why would you count those as part of the episode. On a semi-serious note, so they did have to cram eveyrthing effectively in those 39-40 minutes - which is fairly short - instead of 60 minutes.
Set Bookmark
Neevok
Mon, Feb 1, 2021, 4:08am (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S3: Coda

People keep asking, what was the point of the time loop?

Janeway is injured in the crash. The alien invades her brain and makes her think she succumbs to her injuries, but she fights her way back to life with some mouth-to-mouth from Chakotay. So he strangles her with a Vidiian. But now she thinks she’s in a time loop and refuses to stay dead. He tries blowing her up, then giving her the phage and having the Doctor murder her, before he decides he needs to come at this from a different angle, and tries the ghost plan. Janeway is the one who has Kes sense her presence, and the alien shuts that right down afterwards. It’s a show about what a fighter Janeway is - maybe not great, but certainly not nonsensical.
Set Bookmark
EventualZen
Sun, Jan 31, 2021, 4:03pm (UTC -6)
Re: VOY S4: Prey

@Squiggy
>Janeway was a moron in this episode. How many times has she nearly gotten the entire crew killed or sacrificed a way home to help complete strangers or obey alien laws?

In 1x10 Prime Factors if Janeway had transported Voyager 40,000 light-years nearer to home, or in 3x05 False Profits if she had ignored the Ferengi and gone through the wormhole, she would have never freed Seven of Nine and would have never defeated species 8472 thus saving the galaxy.
Set Bookmark
Dave in MN
Sat, Jan 30, 2021, 7:54pm (UTC -6)
Re: DSC S3: That Hope Is You, Part 2

^

The current system works just fine.

We're all adults here, we don't need multiple people sanitizing the conversation. I think the world already has enough of that.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.