Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 306 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Tidd
Wed, Sep 8, 2021, 1:44am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

“ I think it's more that those British-isms can be just jarring enough to take the viewer out of the story for a moment. Not that they wouldn't understand, but they could lose the immersion. I do a bit of a “wait what?" when Tom Scott says maths instead of math, or someone on Linus Tech Tips says zed for Z instead of zee for instance.”

While I accept your point, the same thing is true in reverse for British viewers - we have the “wait what?” moment at Patrick Stewart’s “INK-wirry”, which we don’t when that word is spoken by an American. I don’t know who Tom Scott is, but if he is British then I can’t see why anyone would do a double take at “maths” for “math”? English speakers in different parts of the world should speak English the way they normally do!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 1:05pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

@Booming

There may or may not be! (I have a poor memory retention for a lot of things...)
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Sep 7, 2021, 2:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Drumhead

Do we really believe that American TV audiences are so stupid that they would hear the word “enquiry” pronounced “in-CHOIR-y” rather than “INK-wirry”, and not understand it? I resent the fact that the producers forced Patrick Stewart to speak certain words as an American rather than as the Britisher that he is. And perhaps this is the right episode to raise this point…

The dark undercurrent of nationalist paranoia of all things foreign runs through it. I am British so I have no connection of any kind with McCarthyism and the Committee of Unamerican Activities in the Cold War, but that’s what came most to mind while watching the episode. It is quite clearly a “message” story, and one delivered with all the subtlety of a sledgehammer, which blunted my enjoyment. For “The United Federation of Planets” read “The United States of America” or NATO or any Western alliance that stands for ‘democracy’ over any other kind of government. I can’t enjoy supposedly escapist sci-fi that has been used to deliver a political message, even though I agreed throughout with Picard’s sentiments and his stance against Satie’s officious paranoia. (His use of a quote by her father to support his stance, that led to her meltdown, was a high point of the plot.)

A footnote: I wasn’t entirely comfortable with Satie being a woman. Am I myself being paranoid to think the writers decided that someone proved in the end to be irrational and emotional had to be female??

2.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Sep 6, 2021, 3:18am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Qpid

I just can’t agree with Jammer. Yes, the episode is awful from the moment they are transported to Sherwood Forest - 1 star. But before that there are some delightful scenes: the opening sexual ballet dance between Vash and Crusher is fantastic, as is the moment where Vash correctly identifies the leering Riker. Even in the awful second half there’s a moment of high comedy where Worf snarls “I am NOT a Merry Man!”

Ok, not one of TNG’s finest perhaps, but even in spite of the dreadful second half, it deserves 2 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sun, Sep 5, 2021, 5:24pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Nth Degree

An episode that began very well, became a bit silly towards the end, but ended up very well.

I only wish Reg featured more often as a regular character instead of just occasionally where he’s the entire focus.

High 3 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Sep 4, 2021, 3:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Identity Crisis

As soon as this episode began I thought “This is the one with the video reconstruction and the mysterious shadow” … and so it was! For that reason alone, i.e. a dramatic mystery that must be solved, I think this holds up, despite the rather hokey biological science.

There are a few plot holes…

1. Why is there a crew member standing there with a camera and spotlight recording everything, which is never usually a feature of away missions?

2. Riker and Worf also beamed down and are presumably affected. Would it have taken even 10 seconds for Crusher to say “…and I have examined them for any trace of the parasite and removed it”?

I also notice how many of the crew perform the Picard Manoeuvre - Riker and Geordi to name two! Could they not have subtly redesigned the uniforms to prevent it? Hahaha.

3 stars - the ending with Susanna reaching out to the altered Geordi was very affecting and one of the best such scenes in TNG.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Sep 3, 2021, 1:49pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Jason R

Thanks - I'll look out for Chiang
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Sep 3, 2021, 2:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Night Terrors

A good idea spoiled by a clumsy treatment, making the basic story ridiculous. The only moment I really enjoyed was where Picard had the hallucinations in the turbo lift and when the doors opened, he was sprawled on the floor being stared at by the bridge crew. He took a long moment to stand up, walk out of the lift, perform the Picard Manoeuvre, and say “As you were” as if nothing had happened!

1.5 stars.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Sep 3, 2021, 2:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Booming

Oh yes - White Bear, that was it. In the end, I didn’t know whether I was more sympathetic towards the child killers, or those who had devised that “punishment”. VERY disturbing.

White Christmas gave me nightmares: they set one second to equal a thousand years then went off for Christmas, leaving the trapped man to listen to Wizzard’s song on endless repeat! Aaaaaaargh….

Yes, Shut Up and Dance would be up there too, along with Crocodile. The one that was best on the lighter side was the one with Miley Cyrus as Jackie O (can’t remember the title).
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Sep 2, 2021, 4:35pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Peter G

Yet again I've forgotten crucial details. I have to accept what you say about Booby Trap, and I agree with you that the writers did a p*ss poor job with Galaxy's Child.

@Booming

Yes, San Junipero is pretty unforgettable! But the episode that has stayed with me longest and is the most disturbing, is the one where a girl wakes up to find a deserted town.. then people gradually appear just taking pictures of her on their phones. Soon she gets caught up in a macabre chase, but it's the last 5 minutes or so, when you find out what's going on, that is really disturbing. "White (something)"?
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Sep 2, 2021, 12:52pm (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

@Jason R @Peter G @Booming

It wasn't the hologram use of me that creeped me out. It was the professional project that turned into 'something else' ("Every time you touch [the engines], you're touching me...") that I found unsettling. In other words, going beyond what was a legitimate exercise and turning it into something else.

I'm not being absolutist about it. Someone like Troi - who knows Geordi and that he is a harmless 'relationship inadequate' - MIGHT cut him some slack if it was a hologram of her .. but would the viewers? Almost certainly not. I personally think he is non-threatening, but the situation is still creepy, at least to me.

@Booming

Did you ever see the Black Mirror episode where a young widow was sold a faithful recreation of her dead husband drawn from different online sources? That's even more disturbing, though less relevant to Trek than that other one.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Sep 2, 2021, 4:40am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Galaxy's Child

I squirmed when I watched this, just waiting for the dreadful moment when Leah discovers the holographic program. “Every time you touch them, you’re…”. Shudder. It always amazes me that they become so buddy-buddy after they solve the Space Ravioli problem; I tell you what - if someone I never met created a borderline sexual fantasy of me, it would be a cold day in hell before I became even comfortable in their company. Yes, WE know Geordi is a teenage virgin with a crush who didn’t mean any harm, but I think a scene between him and Troi / Guinan trying to explain exactly why Leah was so upset might have been a preferable outcome, though not perhaps Trek-ish.

I see there are nearly 300 comments. I guess most of them are discussing whether or not what Geordi did was invasive, and if so, how far? Put me in the “yes it was” school. I haven’t the energy to trawl my way back through what amounts to an entire book.

The Space Ravioli plot had its moments. I’ll go with Jammer’s rating.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Wed, Sep 1, 2021, 2:56am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

@Booming

LOL
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Aug 31, 2021, 2:55am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: First Contact

A very mixed bag of an episode.

The positive:
A “boot’s on the other foot” story, where humanity (qua Federation) are the aliens, and another planet is “Earth”. How would first contact look from their point of view? Nicely handled with the tension between politics and science causing the dramatic arc of the story, and the ethics of medicine forming a neat sub-plot. The ending was also satisfying, with the politician making the final “We are not yet ready” decision, but the wide-eyed scientist asking to join the Enterprise crew.

The negative:
Another “aliens who look so much like humans” story begging our disbelief… though for the necessity of going undercover, I can see why it was done; I have to ask how the Federation would manage this on a world where the aliens are truly different in every way?
The head of National Security being such a walking cliche.. oh please!
But the biggest plot hole is why Riker was down there at all. We are told that the observers are there for years, so why is the first officer of a starship given such a mission? It makes absolutely no sense. Another crew member, a specialist both in undercover work and the alien culture, I could believe in, but not Riker. We are never told WHY he was chosen yet the story seems to imply he had been there some time. How does that meld with his onboard duty? Are we supposed to believe he had some special quality that no-one else could fulfill? That the Enterprise managed without him for months? Sorry, but that was such an absurd plot device it nagged at me the whole time I was watching.

One moment of laughter: Lanel craving sex with an alien! I really didn’t recognise Bebe Neuwirth, but when she spoke, I knew it was her!

Can’t agree with Jammer’s rating. 3 stars for me.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 2:42am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Clues

DR SOONG: “Relax, Data. I’m going to install a panel of totally unnecessary flashing red, green and yellow lights in your head. That will remind doctors that you are an android. If the colour of your skin and eyes hadn’t already let them know…”
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Mon, Aug 30, 2021, 2:30am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Clues

I knew I was going to enjoy this episode from the moment I saw Riker and Worf practising Tai Chi at the start!

I agree largely with Jammer’s review but not with his rating: I’d give this a high 3 stars, maybe even a bit more. The one downside - and it’s quite big - is the cause of it all, especially the takeover of Troi as a mouthpiece. It would have worked better if they had found another way of learning the truth, e.g. by accessing something in Data’s memory and then replaying it. Then they could have avoided the second encounter with the xenophobic aliens, and a completely unnecessary dramatic plot contrivance.

This aside, I loved the episode, apart from Picard telling Data “you have free will” - he doesn’t!! He’s an android… Otherwise, Data’s role in this is brilliant and compelling, as always. And the brief Dixon Hill sequence was an added bonus.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sun, Aug 29, 2021, 2:22am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Devil's Due

More like a TOS-style episode (Catspaw?) with bad elements of Encounter At Farpoint thrown in for good measure.

Typical Roddenberry “science versus magic and superstition” theme. Not very interesting, only moderately entertaining.

The best thing about it is Jammer’s review. Laughs..

1.5 stars, mainly for Data’s involvement.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sun, Aug 29, 2021, 2:16am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

@Peter G

Thanks for that. It’s a long time since I watched DS9 and I’m not so good at remembering that level of detail!
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Sat, Aug 28, 2021, 3:19am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Wounded

Was this episode suppressed in the UK because of the Irish marching song? Does anyone here know? Either that, or I have unaccountably forgotten that this was when the Cardassians were introduced.

It’s a very good episode. A Federation starship pursuing another, with representatives of the “enemy” on board; the general theme of “what aggressive action is justified to preserve peace?” and “who is the enemy?”; the whole air of mistrust and the main characters dancing delicately around each other. It was realistic in its depiction of “the uneasy peace” and the suspicions aroused, but with two leading commanders determined to preserve it as far as possible.

I actually didn’t like Maxwell’s character: there was nothing about him to justify O’Brien’s claim “I’ve served under the two finest captains…”. He just seemed like a typical obsessive, irrational and violent towards his personal enemy. Was he correct about the “supply ships “? It was a good question to leave hanging at the end, but one thing was very clearly a main point of the story: without any firm proof, suspicions do not justify killing 700 people under any circumstances; Maxwell could easily have shared his thoughts with the Enterprise first, and discussed what action was necessary - Picard was not, after all, a “time wasting bureaucrat”.

One question: how does O’Brien demote from Tactical Officer under Maxwell to Transporter Chief?

Not quite 4 stars but definitely 3.5
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Fri, Aug 27, 2021, 2:15am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Data's Day

I absolutely love this episode! A day in the life of the Enterprise from the point of view of an android… there was so much to enjoy: from the brilliantly funny dancing scene with Crusher, to the moments of confusion arising from the difference between the predicted reactions of O’Brien and Keiko and the actuality.

Moments of note:

- in the barbershop - as well as Data ‘s attempt at banter! - we got a glimpse of aliens aboard that we don’t usually see. I know the blue barber is seen again, but there was also a customer that was very different from humans who never reappears?

- continuity error: there were at least 2 occasions that crewmen (Data and Crusher) responded to communicator summons without first tapping their badge.

- sad that we have already lost Wesley’s replacement, Ensign (or Lieutenant?) Allenby.

- with Data’s fascination with marriage and his conversation with Troi about it, it was amusing that the Romulan ship was called The Divorce, though I’m sure it wasn’t spelled that way!

- I noticed that Data’s ridiculous grin when learning to slow-dance, was cured by the time of the actual wedding. Who taught him that?

- I know we see Keiko again but I can’t remember if it’s during TNG, or DS9.

I’m almost tempted to give 4 stars, but I thought the B story - while good - might have been better suited to a different episode? Even so, 3.5 stars at least.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Aug 26, 2021, 3:21am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

After reading the comments above I clicked on O’Brien’s name to read his comments and see what all the fuss was about. I have to say - apart from trashing Jammer occasionally I couldn’t see where all the angst about him arose from. Sure, many (by no means all) comments are negative in tone, but that’s how some people are. The guy’s clearly not a troll.

Sorry, didn’t mean to rake the ashes. Ignore my musings…
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Thu, Aug 26, 2021, 2:58am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: The Loss

I just didn’t feel involved with this episode. Troi losing her empathic abilities? I’d have thought that would be an advantage as she would no longer be able to sense how useless everyone thought her… (sorry, just my joke! Or is it…. Let me self-telepath and find out…)

The ‘2D creatures / cosmic purple string’ sub plot was only interesting towards the end. Otherwise it was just an excuse for more endless technobabble.

However, there were a few good moments: Troi’s conversations with Guinan, then Data, were enjoyable, as was Data’s earlier explanation for why he didn’t deliver timescales down to seconds anymore!

2 stars seems right - not one of TNG’s best.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Wed, Aug 25, 2021, 2:01am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Final Mission

“Wesley… you will be missed.” And you know? For the first time, I thought “Yes, you will be “! I don’t know if it’s the good hair, or the slightly less irritating mannerisms, but he doesn’t get on my nerves as much as in S1 and S2.

I don’t understand Jammer’s rating. This is a very good episode. Kind of more Star Wars in its atmosphere and concentration on relationships; more of a “slow burn “ with action sequences to lively up itself. The scenes between Picard and Wesley did indeed border on the sentimental, but they were still good, and Stewart showed his acting chops - conveying feelings with understated delivery. We even got a French song from Jean-Luc at last! “Au pres de ma blonde, Il fait bon fait bon fait bon…”

The B story was more routine, more humdrum, and prevents this from being a 4 star episode, but I would give it a high 3 - so, 3.25?
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Aug 24, 2021, 2:46am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Future Imperfect

An intriguing Outer Limits-style episode, at least for the first two thirds. Beautiful touches, e.g. subtle changes to the Enterprise, convincing ageing of the crew, even the uniforms and communicators were a bit different.

When Riker’s dead wife was referred to as “Min”, the first note of intended suspicion happened: of course, “Minuet “! Confirmed a bit later. That was when we knew (though in the context of TNG, we had always known) that it was all an illusion.

The last third was less good I think, apart from the second twist which definitely caught me out the first time I watched this episode. I was left with a question that was never answered: why did the lonely alien boy create the second illusion? There was nothing in it either for him or Riker. The episode needed a better ending to match the quality of the first two thirds.

Yes, Riker telling “Admiral” Picard to shut up was definitely the high point!

3 stars is fair, but with a better ending could have been 4.
Set Bookmark
Tidd
Tue, Aug 24, 2021, 1:43am (UTC -5) | 🔗
Re: TNG S4: Reunion

@Booming

Not so much cavemen as Vikings perhaps? Only without the art.

Which leads to another question. Why do none of the Trek alien species have a sense of humour? The Vulcans, Romulans, Klingons… all without a real laugh (the Klingons only laugh at someone else’s discomfort or dishonour which is not the same as having a GSOH). As for the Ferengi, we only laugh AT, not WITH. Creating a race that enjoyed a good joke would have been a wonderful move on the part of the creators. Unless Roddenberry lacked one himself, perhaps?
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2021 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. Terms of use.