Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 64,053 (Showing 26-50)

Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,563
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 3:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In Purgatory's Shadow

Brilliant! Obviously the 'A' Crew working this week!
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 3:33pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@Peter G.

Definitely, that's a story that I think should've happened. There's is this sort of gap of information about what Starfleet thinks about the Prophets. Realistically, they must see that Sisko being the Emissary helps the Federation *sometimes*, and maybe allowing Sisko some slack is part of their plan to learn about Bajor. But without more, that's just speculation on my part.
Set Bookmark
Jamie Hartley
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 3:17pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S3: The Q and the Grey

Y'all take things too seriously lol. Yeah it was a bit corny, but non stop seriousness is boring as well. I actually loved this episode. I didnt see it as lowering the Q, because all we really know about the Q is from Q himself, and given his high opinion of himself, can we really trust it? Are they really 100% God like? This sent it in a new direction, omnipotent and powerful, but no where close to perfect. And who is to say that the Q arent dependent on some kind of technology, like having to "enter" the continuum through a supernova, actually having weapons, etc. Its notimpossible, since if the Q were susceptible to stuff like that, Q certainly wouldnt have told Picard that. It's also not unusual of a story of the God falling in love with a mortal, very common in ancient mythology. Even the bitter Goddess like Suzie-Q isnt unusual. Hera was so pissed and bitter at Zeus for taking mortal lovers that she turned one of them into a cow if I'm not mistaken. I'm glad they took the direction they did though, because actually following through with Janeway and Q probably would have ruined the characters. Underlying sexual tension is usually more interesting to watch in my opinion. Although I personally find Q hot as Hell, so this episode inspired way more fantasies than I probably should admit lol
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 2:52pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: For the Uniform

From Jesus to Saddam Hussein in three episodes? At this point I am certain there were two completely separate writing teams with polar-opposite directions for the show. I've noticed a hit / miss / hit / miss pattern developing, but more than that, a real sense of being in a different reality which I mentioned before, a sense of being weirded out. Bajor must not enter the Federation or it will be destroyed, but its fine to make a maquis colony uninhabitable with chemical weapons. It really seems like separate groups of people were simply not talking to each other or watching what was going on between episodes.

Besides that, great episode and further down the rabbit hole of darkness. I only wish Dax hadn't been so chipper and at least made a show of holding Sisko's feet to the fire, or someone had resisted just a bit on the fire order. If the bridge crew had been any other race, I feel certain the story would have been about a brave mutineer.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 1:57pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@Peter G

My biggest problem with the episode was with the religion aspect of it. I agree, the wormhole aliens are real, and contact with them does grant insight, but the building of a religion around them seems a construction of the Bajorans. In TNG, characters who show up with godlike powers are always deconstructed, and Picard shows a refusal to worship any of them because "special powers" are almost always some facet of physics or technology.

The Bajorans on the other hand have vedeks, they use religion as a means of guilting and political control (especially Kai Winn) and of using "the will of the prophets" as a means to justify questionable actions. That the episode seems to feel like a recruitment drive for the Bajoran faith feels like a deparature from the "respect but don't join" attitude the Federation has always taken, choosing instead to engage with godlike beings on their own terms, without intermediaries, rites and so on that place expectations and controls on a population.

How do the Bajorans know it is in their own best interest to do what Kai Winn says on a daily basis, given her proclivity for self promotion and even acts of totalitarianism when given power? Do the wormhole aliens really care if the Bajorans worship them, or pray, or wear an earring? In general they seem to be oblivious to the fact.

Thats my major issue - the wormhole aliens exist separately from the Bajoran faith, which is a construct useful to a small cross section of Bajoran society to impose its will on another cross section. Coming from TNG it feels wrong for Sisko to become its messiah.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 1:24pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@ Chrome,

What I would have liked to see isn't so much Starfleet as giving Sisko an ultimatum, as seeing an actual discussion onscreen about *why they can't* give him an ultimatum. The fact of the matter is that he has more power than they do in this situation and it's out of control to the extent that they literally can't dictate to their own officer what to do because any kind of interference will be seen by the Bajorans as sacrilege. In a funny way the admiralty has been 'prime directived' and forced not to interfere in whatever Sisko does with them. And yeah, I'd have liked *that* topic to be explored onscreen, about how we have an analog to Lieutenant Lawrence (i.e. "Lawrence of Arabia") where the British officer has gone native and is now such a player in the local politicals that he's almost a political force unto himself.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

@ Peter,

Lolled at the Mother Teresa line. I agree that the episode never gives us a reasonable explanation for what this contest was supposed to show. On the surface it looks like a cheap excuse for us to be shown some famous historical characters, and to essentially allow us to backtrace to an extent how all of us got where we did. Some parts of Earth's history, in other words, seem to favor Klingon ideals (like Ghengis Khan or Eugenics people) whereas others like Lincoln seem to have a lot in common with Vulcan ideals like those of Surak. So as an 'arena' in which to see these threads this is a really good one. And I confess that even as a kid I was impressed with the implicity mythology element in the episode.

As to the actual combat, maybe the alien was concerned with whether being a peaceful people would cripple one's ability to be strategically successful? Certainly in the case of Surak we see a failure case, but as we know Lincoln wasn't afraid of fighting, nor is Kirk. It's a bit unclear since we don't get to see all that much tactical games going on, but I guess the idea is supposed to be that certain pacifist types really are at a disadvantage, while others like Kirk and maybe Lincoln are completely capable of being both peaceful and fierce. This episode is actually a very small sample of a theme that would later be developed in DS9. If you haven't seen that series I won't spoil anything, but this issue does arise there.
Set Bookmark
Peter
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 12:32pm (UTC -5)
Re: TOS S3: The Savage Curtain

Rewatching this episode made me think about it more deeply. The rock creature’s experimental design was ridiculous. Trying to determine whether good is preferable to evil by staging a fight between representatives from history is laughable. They could have just as easily made Mother Teresa and Josef Stalin face off in a boxing ring.

Which made me wonder if that wasn’t a form of misdirection on the part of the alien. There had been a “deep probe” of the Enterprise (presumably including its library banks) as well as of Kirk’s and Spock’s historical heroes. Perhaps the alien was really observing how the Federation representatives would try to reason with their enemies first, before resorting to violence. In other words, to see if their actions would live up to their ideals.

Still, the execution was lacking somehow, with the story and side characters (especially two of the four villains) never quite coming together cogently.
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 12:27pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@Peter G.

To be fair, I think I was the one to call Sisko high so I'll take the bullet for that. My problem is not about Sisko acting differently or being anti-Federation. One could probably argue, as you have, that Sisko isn't the typical Federation guy and he's a good ambassador for people who aren't drawn to typical Federation values. I remember in the pilot where Sisko totally strong-armed Quark into staying on DS9 and Odo says something like "And I thought I wasn't going to like him". This scene is illustrative of how Odo was expecting a typical Starfleet Officer to butt heads with, but when he gets an atypical one he finds some common ground. So absolutely, Sisko often works on that level and I have no problem with that.

My main beef is the Starfleet treatment (or lack of treatment) of Sisko here. This seems like the perfect opportunity for Ross to put his foot down and say "You need to make a choice between being a religious figure and being an officer because you have a conflict of interests here". Oddly (spoiler) this happens in a later episode - an episode where I feel like Sisko did the right thing and explained that he couldn't be on the mission for basically religious reasons - something I find completely acceptable. It's the lack of that sort of explanation to Starfleet that puts Sisko on the peyote trail for me here.

What's interesting is that, unlike Elliott, I do imagine Starfleet has exceptions for religious beliefs. I.e. in order for Starfleet to function that way it purports to function, it should allow people to practice their faith and respect their religious rights and holidays within reason. I'd like to see *that* explored, but well, maybe it was too controversial to be explored in the 1990s? I'm not sure, but it's a good conversation to have!
Set Bookmark
Brian
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 12:04pm (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Acquisition

Jeez, the number of people who feel every episode must be zero or four stars is staggering. It's a bit of silly fun, that's never truly epic, but has some fun moments, a little bit of character stuff for our trio - I like watching them figure out how to work together, even without dialogue, etc.

It's probably two, two and a half stars. Fine, not great, but not remotely terrible.

I kinda get the impression across all the series that the Ferengi pirates are supposed to be kinda dumb losers; those who couldn't hack it in the world of business or whatnot. So it all fits and makes sense to me (and really, with the Ferengi technologically way ahead of humans, why are you raiding a human ship unless you're kinda dumb and scraping the bottom of the barrel?) - the TNG Ferengi play out pretty much the same way.
Set Bookmark
Peter G.
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 11:08am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@ Bobbington,

I always did like this episode, and part of it for me has to do with its argument that there are voices out there more important that Starfleet's. It's not that Starfleet Command is bad or anything, but their policy shouldn't be a religion. Since you mentioned the Bajoran faith, I thought I'd bring up that I'm not sure why you mentioned that it struck you as "something odd that was accepted out of necessity"? Their religion far predates the Occupation, and I'm not sure which necessity you refer to. Plus their 'gods' do, you know, actually exist. You may not want to join such a religion yourself, and the episode goes quite far to present arguments for and against faith in general (and to a narrower extent, faith in it specifically).

Sisko's behavior is understandably odd; you compare it to him being high, and it's not so far from that since he got his mind zapped by an ancient artifact. He is most definitely not quite the Ben Sisko we knew from before. But what's different about him other than his hazy state? The major thing is that he doesn't take it as gospel that Bajor must join the Federation ASAP, a point which sounds like sacrilege to his Starfleet compatriots and even to the average Trek fan. And I think that's completely deliberate: it shows how much on faith everyone took it that doing the good old Federation thing was definitely what Bajor needed. Maybe it was, maybe not, but very little effort was made in S1-2 to really address the question about whether it was best for Bajor or not. Sure, the military protection was needed, but joining the Federation is not *just* about having their starships defend you.

Fact of the matter is, the Prophets are another voice in the conversation, and they're saying now that Bajor must not join. Does that mean Sisko is off his rocker, or that there may be a point of view different from (superior to?) the current Starfleet one.

But I'll be the first to agree that I've never liked from day one how the Kasidy character is written and your objection to it here is completely warranted. They did absolutely nothing with that troubled backstory and basically pressed the reset button!
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 9:23am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

"*I love Voyager* and realize that there are continuity issues, but I think people are overanalyzing the show."

I placed asterix by the part of your post that is significant. You love Voyager. The people who "overanalyze" as you say, don't. That pretty much explains everything you need to know. That is not a criticism of you. I often love fiction that others don't. We make excuses for things we love and seek to tear down things we don't.

They are not hating because they overanalyze any more than you love because you don't analyze enough.
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 8:25am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

It IS interesting that in order to keep an expensive show like this going they had to rely on a streaming service to stay alive. ... Maybe CBS wasn't so stupid with their marketing plan with Star Trek Discovery?
Set Bookmark
Yanks
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 8:00am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

JanC,

While I side with your emotions, nitpicking is what we do here... it took me awhile to get used to it when I first made myself present on the interweb. Reading these reviews should never remove the enjoyment of watching an movie or series IMO. I've watched all of them at least 4 times from stem to stern. (except Discovery, only twice for that one :-) )

...and you're right... Voyager does seem to get way too much criticism IMO, right along with Enterprise. It's a battle we must fight :-)
Set Bookmark
Jason R.
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 7:07am (UTC -5)
Re: ENT S1: Shockwave, Part I

Watching this show through for the first time feels like... desperation? Nerd homework? This season finale combines my three most hated tropes in scifi: (1) our heroes framed for a crime they didn't commit by (2) hard headed a-hole superiors with (3) alternate history time travel plot.

God I hate the temporal cold war. It just keeps rearing its ugly head hijacking the show again and again. You know that unpolluted timeline, the one Daniels is trying to protect? The one where things happened just as they were supposed to? Could we see that one? Pretty please? Just once?

And the Vulcans. Good God the Vulcans. Soval reminds me of a police commissioner from an 80s cop movie. Or maybe someone should have made him an honorary Commodore.

Just a question here: why is Starfleet kowtowing to these a'-holes? Who put the Vulcans in charge of Earth anyway? How do they keep Earth "bottled up"? I can understand Earth deferring to them to some extent being a peaceful benevolent advanced race, but what do the Vulcans hold over Starfleet? Do they threaten to withhold resources? Something Earth needs? I just don't get it.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 4:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

@Top Hat

The spoilers I am talking about are for several episodes down the line from this one, or even the very end of the series. Its like discussing plot points from All Good Things in the comments for "Measure of a Man". At least put a spoiler warning for something you are about to ruin 5 seasons away.
Set Bookmark
JanC
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 2:37am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S4: Year of Hell, Part II

I love Voyager and realize that there are continuity issues, but I think people are overanalyzing the show. Geez folks, it's just entertainment! Sure, there are things that could have been done better....same goes for all the Trek series. But, heck, I had a great time watching them all and will watch them all again and again. So what if they keep coming in contact with species that should probably not be in the area now? Maybe there is some other reason for their being there. Is it really THAT important? Or can we just enjoy the current episode we are watching as it is without completely nitpicking every inconsistency? Regardless of the overused reset button, I still really liked The Year of Hell. Have fun with it, folks!
Set Bookmark
Archideus
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 2:01am (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: In the Cards

This episode is a quirky, goofy, warm and fuzzy and very optimistic one. And I hate those in my Star Trek, but I like it more that I'm willing to admit, even to myself.
Set Bookmark
SlackerInc
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 1:59am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: The Road Not Taken

I think it's a smart move, similar to CBS and Trek. A small but very dedicated audience is much more valuable to a streaming service than to a broadcast network.
Set Bookmark
Todayshorse
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 12:48am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

Oh, and what is it with her eyebrows? Sir Roger Moore would be seriously impressed.
Set Bookmark
Todayshorse
Mon, Jul 22, 2019, 12:31am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S2: Non Sequitur

I had a vague memory of seeing this ages ago as soon as Kim walked into the bar, it seemed somewhat familiar. But my, who was the God awful woman in the first 20 minutes? Mr and Mrs No charisma or ability to show any emotion whatsoever. Her, despite finding out her soon to be suddenly decided he wasnt supposed to be there and was from 'another reality' is more concerned about looking exactly as she looked when they were in bed together. Terrible.
Set Bookmark
Top Hat
Sun, Jul 21, 2019, 8:37pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

A method for avoiding spoilers: do not look at the comments on reviews before you see the episode.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sun, Jul 21, 2019, 5:55pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: The Begotten

Thanks, first commenters from 2009 on this review for yet again spoiling the rest of the damn season / series. Could you seriously not just restrain yourselves or at least put a bloody spoiler warning? Honestly, after such a great episode to have such a huge spoiler within the first few comments. I am restraining swear words at this point.

To the episode, wonderful again. It seems to be the Odo episodes that bring a tear to the eye more often than not. Combining that so deftly with Kira's sense of loss was genius, and a second wave of eye-dabbing I did not see coming.
Set Bookmark
Bobbington Mc Bob
Sun, Jul 21, 2019, 5:13pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@Chrome

Thanks for the reply and its interesting to hear your take on it from a religious perspective.

In some ways I think it would have been easier to follow Sisko through this if he had been just a little uncomfortable with his position and abilities, say in a similar way to neo in the matrix. Neo does not see himself as "the one", but understands that people need him to at least play that role.

Judging from what you said, there is something of a reset button after this point anyway. I am glad, as I don't think I want to see Friar Sisko again soon!
Set Bookmark
Chrome
Sun, Jul 21, 2019, 4:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: DS9 S5: Rapture

@Bob

I didn’t catch this one in the original run, and it didn’t get rerun very often so I only saw it after Netflix but I was also really surprised the episode existed. Maybe it’s partly because I know what will happen, but none of this episode really seems to add up to much except “Wow, Sisko sure can get away with a lot without being removed from duty.”

I’m actually religious too, but even on that level nothing really resonates here. It’s more like Sisko took peyote and tripped out for a few days and everyone knew about it so they humored him.
Next ►◄ PreviousPage 2 of 2,563
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2019 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.