Comment Stream

Search and bookmark options Close
Search for:
Search by:
Clear bookmark | How bookmarks work
Note: Bookmarks are ignored for all search results

Total Found: 355 (Showing 26-50)

Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 1:07pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

In DISC Burnham serves the story, the story doesn't serve Burnham. Burnham is mocked by other characters for being a reckless, she goes through grueling struggles to reach the end of her journey, and once there it turns out that even she can't resist the temptation to ignore Starfleet regulations. If the plot and setting were twisted in unnatural, unpleasing ways to make Burnham out to be cool and heroic even when it didn't make sense, then she would be a Mary Sue. For instance, if she turned out to be a better fighter than Tyler despite spending her life in the peaceful Vulcan Academy. As is the plot is set up to make her life harder, not easier, and her judgment is far from perfect.

See how that works?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 24, 2019, 11:42am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

@Kinematic

Have you read any novels lately? I think the case you’re trying to make here could be applied to any protagonist. For example, Frodo Baggins is just so great and special. He’s probably written as a self-insert for J.R. Tolkien because they both share Judeo-Christian types of values. All the other heroes love Frodo and he’s incurruptable, fighting even the power of the One Ring that the almighty wizard Gandalf can’t fight. People are constantly praising Frodo and putting the big decisions in his hands. He doesn’t fight for glory, but for the sake of others. Basically, the typical Mary Sue.

Do you see the problem with this kind of analysis?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 23, 2019, 5:16pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Red Angel

“Michael is a self insert character”

Sorry, who is she a self-insert of? Alex Kurtzman? You keep using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Mar 22, 2019, 3:52am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Lasting Impressions

I enjoyed it. Makes you think just how we will be seen in four centuries. Although I find it hard to believe that digital data from this era would be so rare.

Would have liked a few sentences to see what happened to that person. You would think Gordon would have looked it up.

2.5 stars
Set Bookmark
Steve
Mon, Mar 18, 2019, 1:35am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Project Daedalus

Sorry if this has been asked already, but why couldn't they just beam her back from space into the ships brig?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sun, Mar 10, 2019, 12:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

“This Trek is a niche show on niche streaming service. No one in the mainstream legacy corporate media cares.”

LOL, this show is regularly reviewed and reported on by The NY Times. I think we’re getting trolled here folks...
Set Bookmark
Steven
Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 9:43pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: If Memory Serves

These cliffhangers leading into cliffhangers make the individual episodes almost impossible to gauge. I don’t envy your job here, Jammer :-)
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 2:58pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

I think the format is less germane to the story than the era when this show takes place, i.e. the TOS time period. There was a certain cavalier attitude in early Trek, something Spock later calls “Cowboy Diplomacy”. Kirk and Spock understood that inter-species problems aren’t always solved by playing by the rules. It may go against the grain of the TNG/DS9/VOY era we all might be more comfortable with, but it does fit the TOS era which this show *predates*.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Mar 2, 2019, 12:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Light and Shadows

@William W

There’s still time to tell a story like that. It’s not like DSC forgot everything from season 1 and never brought it up again. We already had two huge Saru stories this season about his culture and people. It makes sense to let that matter sit for awhile and come back after later developments.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Mar 1, 2019, 2:14am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part II

Say what you want about the episode, but that was one hell of a space battle. 3.5 stars from me.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Feb 26, 2019, 10:06am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

I think Jason’s point is the studio’s operations are different and a certain amount of quality control is in place. Perhaps “Shades of Grey” is a better example. That episode was made as fluff to accommodate the contractual demand for 22 episodes, but the current model of On-Demand rewatchable Trek leaves no room for clip shows.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 10:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Is it possible it's not even Isaac? Otherwise I cannot see how he can come back from this. He was literally part of the boarding party that killed crewmembers.

So either he will become a villain (bold and I like it), or there will be a reset button (bad), or Isaac will have a change of heart and save Earth. The problem with the last one is that is still doesn't excuse his previous actions which was accessory to murder and technically a mutiny on top of that (unless he dies in the act of redemption like Darth Vadar)

I cannot think this is a simulation by the way.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 3:56pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Peter, I understand what you mean, but like I mentioned with “Move Along Home”, “Q-Less”, and “Meridian” getting more positive reviews in spite of themselves and certainly higher than similar TNG duds, I can’t help but conclude there’s a certain tilt towards DS9. I don’t really see a problem with that, though, and in fact enjoy reading otherwise widely criticized Trek shows in a more positive light.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 12:00pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Iceman

Do you think it’s odd for a critic to have a favorite show? I don’t, and I certainly wouldn’t knock Jammer for it. If you’ve read some of Jammer’s comments on the matter, the star ratings are based on his “feeling” about the show as it aired. He’s not running some sort mathematical Star equation to come up with his star ratings, unlike say, Elliott.

Do I think that makes Jammer’s DS9 reviews uncredible? No, I just think that he’s more likely to tilt towards a higher star rating if he’s on the fence about an episode because he enjoys the whole package overall for what it is.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 9:51am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Well Jason, let’s see how you feel about this in 10 or 20 years.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Sun, Feb 24, 2019, 11:18pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Homestead

@odysey

could have
should have
Set Bookmark
Steve
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 8:34pm (UTC -5)
Re: TNG S3: Deja Q

My wife’s favorite TNG episode and one of mine as well. Data’s laugh at the end is a tribute to Stan Laurel. There’s one flaw in the basic science of raising the orbit of a satellite. You have to apply the change in velocity (delta V) at the apogee rather than the perigee.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 7:50pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

Iceman, as much as I like DS9, if you read Jammer’s reviews of it you can tell he really likes it. I mean, he even gives episodes like “Move Along Home”, “Q-Less” and “Meridian” two or more stars. And as someone already mentioned, his DS9 reviews were from the show while it was running. On the other hand, the TNG reviews were updated 10 years after the show ended so he had to time to reflect and consider which were the best over time. You can see how it’s not really fair to compare reviews of the two shows like that.
Set Bookmark
Steven
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 10:45am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

@Mac

The numbers are interesting, but you must remember Jammer stars don’t scale across each series. Jammer judges shows on their own merits and evaluates what they’re trying to do. So, one might imagine that a 2.5 star TNG episode is equivalent to 4 star ENT episode because the bar for a TNG classic is just that high.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 2:16am (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

A better episode but what was with the camera work? Especially when the three of them were talking a the beginning and it was swinging around them like a drunken sailor. It was so jarring.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Sat, Feb 23, 2019, 12:05am (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Friendship One

Verin to Lt. Carey:

“You with the red shirt, come over here.”
Set Bookmark
Steven
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 5:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: The Sound of Thunder

"Here I fully expected the twist that the Goa-Ould are actually evolved Kelpians: The Ritual of "sacrifice" actually transforms them."

They probably didn't want to go that route because they did it already in Star Trek: Insurrection with the Ba'ku and the Son'a. It's way too derivative and I believe The Orville has dibs in that area.
Set Bookmark
Steve
Fri, Feb 22, 2019, 3:40am (UTC -5)
Re: ORV S2: Identity, Part I

Holy moly. What an episode. How can Isaac come back from this?
Set Bookmark
Steven
Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 6:26pm (UTC -5)
Re: DSC S2: Saints of Imperfection

Based on some of the comments here it seems like many of the people who don't watch the show come in to comment on it. It's their prerogative, but it does lead to some confusing discussions.

@Gil

Can there not be space for those of us who tentatively enjoy this show, but also enjoy the old shows? I fully admit there's a certain charm to the way old Trek shows are handled, but that doesn't mean I can't enjoy Discovery for trying to adapt an old show into a modern format. It's also apparent by now that the showrunners are trying to correct their previous mistakes and handle this show more in the manner of its predecessors. Let's not hang them from the gallows just for trying, shall we?
Set Bookmark
Steve
Mon, Feb 18, 2019, 11:40pm (UTC -5)
Re: VOY S7: Workforce

Stargate SG-1 “Beneath the Surface” revisited.
▲Top of Page | Menu | Copyright © 1994-2020 Jamahl Epsicokhan. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication or distribution of any content is prohibited. This site is an independent publication and is not affiliated with or authorized by any entity or company referenced herein. See site policies.